City of Orland
Glenn County
City of Orland is a city authority in the State of California, serving 8,298 residents. 2,188 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — iworQ Citizen Portal (orlandciteng.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/orlandciteng) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- Key document
- published handout + permit application form cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · department page + permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 72% · published handout + permit application form
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm certification program; wind-load compliance is addressed through the mandatory wet-stamped structural analysis report required for every roof-mount PV system. 78% · published submittal-requirements handout
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed electrician 75% · published policy handout
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 65% · site search excerpt of council minutes referencing a business-license ordinance
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? No 78% · published policy handout
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the City's 'Roofmount Photo Voltaic Submittal Requirements': (1) completed building permit application stating system size in kW; (2) site plan showing module count, roof layout/sections, and ridge/eave/valley fire setbacks; (3) roof plan showing existing roof covering; (4) mounting/racking/flashing details plus manufacturer installation instructions; (5) wet-stamped structural analysis showing wind-load compliance; (6) bonding details and manufacturer clamp installation instructions; (7) if rafter framing, member size/species/span/spacing for the added dead load; (8) a string diagram showing array wiring; (9) a line diagram showing module/inverter type & model, system size, string/array sizing, wiring size/method incl. ground AWG, conduit type/size, junction-box locations, subpanel ratings/locations, overcurrent-device ratings/locations, disconnect locations/types, grounding-electrode location/type, and ampacity of the existing main panel and service disconnect; (10) a warning-label sheet showing exact verbiage and sticker locations; (11) manufacturer technical data sheets for modules and inverter(s). 92% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — site plan must show the number of solar modules, building roof layout, roof sections, and ridge, eave and valley fire setbacks. 92% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 95% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Partially — a string diagram (item 8) and wiring size/method/AWG on the line diagram (item 9) are required; the handout does not separately ask for formal voltage-drop or short-circuit-current calculation worksheets. 65% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes, for every roof-mount PV system, with no stated size/valuation threshold — a wet-stamped structural analysis report is required outright. 88% · published submittal-requirements handout
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? iworQ Citizen Portal (orlandciteng.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/orlandciteng) 82% · department forms page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Likely yes for at least submission, unconfirmed for the full process 55% · department forms page (portal itself unreachable)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? At minimum, a City-wide $75 'Planning Clearance Fee (All Building Permits)' applies to every building permit including solar, separately from whatever the Building Department's own permit/plan-check fee is. 60% · published fee schedule (planning, not building)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 78% · county hazard mitigation plan (hosted by the City)
28 questions answered against City of Orland’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page states it 'enforces all applicable building, mechanical, energy, handicap, plumbing, electrical and housing codes and laws adopted by the City and State' and that staff 'accepts and reviews permit applications, reviews plans and inspects all building related activities within the City' — Orland is an incorporated city, so it is the AHJ within its own limits.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/building-department/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department's own description covers building, mechanical, plumbing AND electrical codes in one department; the single Building Permit Application form has one 'Permit Type' checkbox row listing Building/Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing rather than routing electrical to a separate office. No contractor firm name, outside-domain email, or county cross-reference was found anywhere I could check (staff directory page lists no individual names, so email-domain delegation tells could not be fully tested).
department page + permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/building-department/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Roofmount Photo Voltaic Submittal Requirements' handout opens by requiring a 'Completed building permit application' listing size in kW as item 1 of 11 required submittal items — a permit is plainly required for residential rooftop PV.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV submittal handout's item 1 says only 'Completed building permit application' (singular) — there is no separate electrical-permit application step described anywhere for solar. The City's one Building Permit Application form has a single 'Permit Type' section with Building/Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing as checkboxes on the same form rather than as separate applications.
published handout + permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed electrician
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Solar PV Re-roofing Policy' states plainly: 'Removal and re-installation/modification of the solar PV system must be done by a licensed C-46 solar contractor or a C-10 electrical contractor. A C-39 roofing contractor or homeowner cannot remove and re-install the solar PV system.' This is the only City document naming who may perform PV electrical work; it names two specific licensed-contractor classes (C-46 solar, C-10 electrical), not 'any contractor' generally, and explicitly excludes homeowners for this scope. The general Building Permit Application also carries a generic Owner-Builder declaration section, so this may not be an absolute bar in every circumstance outside the re-roof context, which the document I read is scoped to.
published policy handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherA search of the City's own site surfaced Ordinance 2016-04, described as amending OMC §5.04.460 to impose a 'Business License tax fee...on every person conducting or carrying on the business of a License Contractor' (General, Specialty and Subcontractors). I read this only via the site's own search-result excerpt of council minutes, not the ordinance or code section text itself (Municode is inaccessible — see note on q29-32), so I could not confirm this is enforced as a permit-intake gate rather than a standing tax obligation.
site search excerpt of council minutes referencing a business-license ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/?s=business+license+contractor
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Solar PV Re-roofing Policy' states outright: 'A C-39 roofing contractor or homeowner cannot remove and re-install the solar PV system' — for PV specifically, self-install/self-permit by the homeowner is disallowed by the City's own policy, even though the general Building Permit Application does carry a generic Owner-Builder declaration section for other trades.
published policy handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the City's 'Roofmount Photo Voltaic Submittal Requirements': (1) completed building permit application stating system size in kW; (2) site plan showing module count, roof layout/sections, and ridge/eave/valley fire setbacks; (3) roof plan showing existing roof covering; (4) mounting/racking/flashing details plus manufacturer installation instructions; (5) wet-stamped structural analysis showing wind-load compliance; (6) bonding details and manufacturer clamp installation instructions; (7) if rafter framing, member size/species/span/spacing for the added dead load; (8) a string diagram showing array wiring; (9) a line diagram showing module/inverter type & model, system size, string/array sizing, wiring size/method incl. ground AWG, conduit type/size, junction-box locations, subpanel ratings/locations, overcurrent-device ratings/locations, disconnect locations/types, grounding-electrode location/type, and ampacity of the existing main panel and service disconnect; (10) a warning-label sheet showing exact verbiage and sticker locations; (11) manufacturer technical data sheets for modules and inverter(s).
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the PDF with pdftotext -layout, not summarized. Document metadata (OmniPage CSDK 18) dates it CreationDate 26 Sep 2017 / ModDate 3 Oct 2017; it remains the current document linked from the City's live 'Forms, Permits & Documents' page.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout (full text extracted via pdftotext -layout) and Building Permit Application PDF — neither states a number of copies or a paper/digital format requirement for a residential solar submittal.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — site plan must show the number of solar modules, building roof layout, roof sections, and ridge, eave and valley fire setbacks.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 2 of the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements, read directly from the extracted PDF text.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherItem 9 requires 'a line diagram of the proposed PV system' specifying module/inverter type & model, string/array sizing, wiring size/method, conduit, junction boxes, subpanel ratings, overcurrent devices, disconnect locations, grounding electrode, and existing panel/service ampacity — a detailed one-line diagram requirement.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Partially — a string diagram (item 8) and wiring size/method/AWG on the line diagram (item 9) are required; the handout does not separately ask for formal voltage-drop or short-circuit-current calculation worksheets.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from items 8-9 of the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements; no explicit 'calculations' line item exists, only diagram-level wiring/sizing detail.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes, for every roof-mount PV system, with no stated size/valuation threshold — a wet-stamped structural analysis report is required outright.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 5: 'Wet stamped structural analysis report showing the roof mount PV system complies with wind loads.' This applies universally to roof-mount PV in the handout's own numbered list, not gated by a kW, weight, or valuation threshold.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout (full text extracted) and Building Permit Application PDF — both require a wet-stamped STRUCTURAL analysis (item 5) but neither mentions an electrical PE-stamp requirement or any threshold triggering one.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Forms/Permits page, Financial Information page, Planning Department Forms page, and site searches for 'fee schedule', 'building fees', 'master fee schedule' and 'valuation building permit' — found only a Planning/Development Application fee schedule (no building-permit line) and a Development IMPACT Fee Study (parks/water/sewer/transportation, not building-permit valuation fees). No Building Department fee schedule with a dollar figure for a residential solar permit could be located anywhere on the site; Municode (where a fee-setting ordinance might also be referenced) is unreachable (see the note recorded at q29).
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q15 — no building-permit fee schedule was found at all, so the calculation basis (flat/valuation/per-kW/tiered) could not be determined.
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
At minimum, a City-wide $75 'Planning Clearance Fee (All Building Permits)' applies to every building permit including solar, separately from whatever the Building Department's own permit/plan-check fee is.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Development Application/Planning User Fee schedule (dated as of 02/14/20) lists 'Planning Clearance Fee (All Building Permits) $75' as its own line, distinct from any building-permit fee. I could not find the Building Department's own building-permit fee schedule anywhere on the site (only this Planning fee schedule and a separate Development IMPACT fee study for parks/water/sewer/etc. exist), so I cannot say whether the Building Department itself charges a further, separate plan-check line beyond this $75 planning fee.
published fee schedule (planning, not building) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Development-Application-Fee-Schedule-3.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page (states inspection-day availability Mon-Thu, Fri by appointment, but nothing about plan-review turnaround) and the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — neither states a stated number of business days for plan review.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF and Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — neither states a permit validity/expiration period; the operative local rule would sit in OMC Title 15, which is unreachable via Municode (see q29 note), so I did not assume the unamended CBC §105.5 180-day statewide default applies locally.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
iworQ Citizen Portal (orlandciteng.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/orlandciteng)
Why the confidence is not higherLinked directly from the City's own 'Forms, Permits & Documents' page as 'Building Permit Application (Online)', alongside a separate printable PDF version. I could not open the portal itself to inspect it further — it returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch.
department forms page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/forms-permits-documents-2/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Likely yes for at least submission, unconfirmed for the full process
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's forms page distinguishes an '(Online)' iworQ portal application from a '(Printable)' PDF, implying the portal accepts online submission, but the portal itself returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch so I could not verify whether payment, plan upload, and inspection scheduling can all be completed online without an in-person step.
department forms page (portal itself unreachable) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/forms-permits-documents-2/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherGlenn County's 2025 Hazard Mitigation Plan Update (draft), hosted on the City of Orland's own website as a document the City is party to adopting, names 'Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E)' as the utility that 'provides natural gas and electric service to residential and business' across the county's stakeholder communities, including Orland. I did not independently confirm this against PG&E's own service-territory map or an Orland-specific interconnection page, per the brief's caution against relying on secondhand utility lookups, but this is a county-level planning document rather than a national utility-lookup aggregator.
county hazard mitigation plan (hosted by the City) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Glenn-County-Hazard-Mitigation-Plan-Update-2025-draft-to-be-adopted.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar-related handouts (Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements, Solar PV Re-Roofing Policy) and Building Department page — none states where PG&E interconnection sits relative to permit issuance; PG&E's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook was not fetched this run as it is a utility-level document, not a City one.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF (full text extracted) and Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — neither mentions HOA approval, CC&Rs, or architectural-committee review as a submittal or permit-issuance requirement.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Building-Permit-Application.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'historic district' (only hit: a geographic description of the 'Central Business District (historic downtown)' in the General Plan DEIR, with no review-procedure language) and the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout, which is silent on historic review. Orland's Zoning Title (where a historic-preservation overlay would be codified) is unreachable via Municode (see q29 note).
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate windstorm certification program; wind-load compliance is addressed through the mandatory wet-stamped structural analysis report required for every roof-mount PV system.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 5 of the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements requires a 'Wet stamped structural analysis report showing the roof mount PV system complies with wind loads' — California does not run a TDI-style windstorm certification program; this stamped analysis is the functional equivalent for PV specifically.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for solar-related zoning language and the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — neither describes a Specific Use Permit, Conditional Use Permit, or Council-approval trigger specific to residential solar. Orland's Zoning Title itself is unreachable via Municode (see q29 note).
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout, Solar PV Re-Roofing Policy, and a site search for solar/zoning language — no system-size cap (kW) on residential generation was found anywhere on the City's own site. The Zoning Title itself is unreachable via Municode (see q29 note).
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Not confirmed for the current code cycle; last documented local adoption (Ord. 2020-02, Feb 2020) was for the 2019 cycle (2019 CEC, based on the 2017 NEC). Statewide, the 2023 NEC is in force via the 2025 CEC, effective 1 Jan 2026, and California jurisdictions are required to update on the same statewide effective date. 50% · council meeting minutes referencing the local code-adoption ordinance; Municode itself unreachable
- Which building code edition is in force? Not confirmed for the current cycle; last documented local ordinance (2020-02, Feb 2020) adopted the 2019 California Building Code. Statewide, the 2025 California Building Code is in force effective 1 Jan 2026. 50% · council meeting minutes referencing the local code-adoption ordinance; Municode itself unreachable
- Which fire code edition is in force? Orland Municipal Code §15.15 adopts the California State Fire Code(s), per a third-party reference; the specific edition currently in force could not be confirmed. 45% · county hazard mitigation plan referencing the City's own code section; Municode itself unreachable
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, at least historically 60% · council meeting minutes; Municode itself unreachable
- What is the installation judged against? The California Building Code / California Residential Code / California Electrical Code as locally adopted under OMC Title 15 (last confirmed cycle: 2019, via Ord. 2020-02), plus the City's own roof-mount PV submittal handout's structural (wind-load) and bonding requirements. 55% · published handout + inferred code-adoption chapter (Municode unreachable)
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? The site plan must show ridge, eave and valley fire setbacks/pathways (item 2 of the submittal requirements), but the handout does not itself state a numeric setback dimension — the applicant appears to design to whatever the adopted fire/residential code's pathway standard is. 55% · published submittal-requirements handout; code text itself unreachable
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Not stated by the City in its own documents; rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12 applies by virtue of the state-adopted NEC regardless of local silence. 55% · site search (controlled) + published handout
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Not named specifically by the City; the applicant must submit a 'warning label sheet' showing whatever verbiage and label locations the design requires, rather than the City naming particular placards itself. 65% · published submittal-requirements handout
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · site search (controlled) + published handout
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 78% · site search (controlled) + published handout
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No City-mandated proprietary mounting system; the applicant must submit mounting/racking/flashing details and the manufacturer's own installation instructions, plus (if the roof framing is rafters) the rafter size, species, span and on-center spacing for the added dead load. 82% · published submittal-requirements handout
20 questions answered against City of Orland’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Not confirmed for the current code cycle; last documented local adoption (Ord. 2020-02, Feb 2020) was for the 2019 cycle (2019 CEC, based on the 2017 NEC). Statewide, the 2023 NEC is in force via the 2025 CEC, effective 1 Jan 2026, and California jurisdictions are required to update on the same statewide effective date.
Why the confidence is not higherCity council minutes (searched via the City's own site) show Ordinance 2020-02 'adopting the 2019 California Building Code and repealing previously adopted editions of the Code and amending Title 15 of the OMC' — the most recent local code-adoption ordinance I could find evidence of. I could not confirm whether a newer ordinance (for the 2022 or 2025 cycle) has since been adopted, because Orland's Municode library (library.municode.com/ca/orland) is an Angular single-page app that returns only an empty app shell to every route I tried — direct WebFetch, curl with a browser user-agent, curl with an iccsafe.org Referer header, the api.municode.com client-lookup endpoints (found ClientID 3711 but no reachable code-content endpoint), and the closest Wayback Machine capture (25 Aug 2025) all returned the same content-free shell.
council meeting minutes referencing the local code-adoption ordinance; Municode itself unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/February-3-2020.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Not confirmed for the current cycle; last documented local ordinance (2020-02, Feb 2020) adopted the 2019 California Building Code. Statewide, the 2025 California Building Code is in force effective 1 Jan 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherSame source and same Municode-access limitation as q29 — Orland's Title 15 (where the current adoption would be codified) could not be reached by any route tried.
council meeting minutes referencing the local code-adoption ordinance; Municode itself unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/February-3-2020.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Orland Municipal Code §15.15 adopts the California State Fire Code(s), per a third-party reference; the specific edition currently in force could not be confirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherGlenn County's 2025 Hazard Mitigation Plan Update (hosted on the City's own site) states: 'Municipal Code 15.15 regulates fire codes for buildings and construction, including adopting California State Fire Codes' — this confirms the chapter number and that it adopts the state fire code by reference, but not which edition/cycle is currently codified, because Orland's Municode library returned no content by any route tried (see q29 note).
county hazard mitigation plan referencing the City's own code section; Municode itself unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Glenn-County-Hazard-Mitigation-Plan-Update-2025-draft-to-be-adopted.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, at least historically
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 2020-02 is described in council minutes as both 'repealing previously adopted editions' AND 'amending Title 15 of the OMC' in the same action — i.e. it did not simply readopt the model code verbatim but amended the title. Separately, Ordinance 2016-04 amended OMC §5.04.460 (business license tax on contractors), showing the City actively maintains local amendments to its code generally. I could not read the current amendment text itself because Municode is unreachable (see q29 note).
council meeting minutes; Municode itself unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/February-3-2020.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Building Code / California Residential Code / California Electrical Code as locally adopted under OMC Title 15 (last confirmed cycle: 2019, via Ord. 2020-02), plus the City's own roof-mount PV submittal handout's structural (wind-load) and bonding requirements.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the confirmed local code-adoption chapter (Title 15, per q29-31) with the City's own PV-specific structural and bonding submittal items; I could not read Title 15's own 'installation judged against' language directly because Municode is unreachable.
published handout + inferred code-adoption chapter (Municode unreachable) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout and Solar PV Re-Roofing Policy (which does mention that 'Upgrading the existing electric service panel' requires 'a separate permit' but states no technical busbar/sizing rule) — no City-authored service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule was found. OMC Title 15 (Electrical Code adoption/amendments) is unreachable via Municode (see q29 note).
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No City-mandated proprietary mounting system; the applicant must submit mounting/racking/flashing details and the manufacturer's own installation instructions, plus (if the roof framing is rafters) the rafter size, species, span and on-center spacing for the added dead load.
Why the confidence is not higherItems 4 and 7 of the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements, read directly from the extracted PDF.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
The site plan must show ridge, eave and valley fire setbacks/pathways (item 2 of the submittal requirements), but the handout does not itself state a numeric setback dimension — the applicant appears to design to whatever the adopted fire/residential code's pathway standard is.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 2 requires the site plan to show 'ridge and eave and valley fire setbacks' but gives no dimension itself; the governing numeric standard would sit in the adopted CFC/CRC (Title 15), which is unreachable on Municode (see q29 note).
published submittal-requirements handout; code text itself unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Not stated by the City in its own documents; rapid shutdown per NEC 690.12 applies by virtue of the state-adopted NEC regardless of local silence.
Why the confidence is not higherA site-wide search for 'rapid shutdown' (23 hits, none about PV/690.12) and for the City's own PV submittal handout (created 2017, silent on 690.12 by name) found no explicit City statement of a rapid-shutdown requirement. Positive control ('electrical', 96 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected, so the site's search function is working and this is a real absence in the City's own text — not a search failure. California's statewide NEC adoption still makes 690.12 mandatory regardless.
site search (controlled) + published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/?s=rapid+shutdown
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not named specifically by the City; the applicant must submit a 'warning label sheet' showing whatever verbiage and label locations the design requires, rather than the City naming particular placards itself.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 10 of the Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements: 'Warning label sheet which shows exact verbiage and locations of all required warning label stickers' — this places the burden of naming/placing labels on the applicant's submittal, not on a City-published placard list.
published submittal-requirements handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame item 10 language as q38 — the City requires the applicant's submittal to specify wording and locations ('shows exact verbiage'), rather than the City itself dictating the wording. A site search for 'placard' (23 hits) returned only disabled-parking-permit and police-operations content, no City-authored solar placard wording.
site search (controlled) + published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/?s=placard
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document found specifies letter height, colour, or material for solar warning labels; the site search for 'placard' (23 hits, positive control 'electrical' 96 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' 0 hits — search function confirmed working) returned nothing on point, and the PV submittal handout's item 10 leaves 'exact verbiage' to the applicant.
site search (controlled) + published handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/?s=placard
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — requires a site plan showing module count/locations but names no dedicated NEC 705.10-style on-site 'facility map' placard as a distinct deliverable; no other City document addresses this.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's own solar handouts and Building Department page — none references PG&E's own DG interconnection/Greenbook placard specifications; PG&E's Greenbook itself was not fetched this run (utility-level document, out of scope of what the City publishes; a City-hosted construction-bid document referenced 'PG&E Greenbook Standard J-95' only for a gas-meter guard installation, unrelated to solar).
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout item 10 requires the applicant's own label sheet to show label 'locations' but the City does not itself prescribe WHERE labels must go (e.g., at the meter, at the main panel, at the disconnect) — that determination is left to the applicant's submittal.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoofmount PV Submittal Requirements handout — requires manufacturer technical data sheets (item 11) but does not state that equipment must appear on any specific City- or state-approved equipment list (e.g., a CEC-approved-equipment list).
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'battery storage' (positive control 'electrical' 96 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' 0 hits — search confirmed working) returned only a passing reference to the 2022 statewide Energy Standards in an environmental-review document (Quiet Creek Draft IS/MND), not a City ordinance or handout addressing residential battery/ESS conditions. OMC Title 15's fire-code chapter (§15.15, per q31) is unreachable via Municode, so a local ESS amendment there could not be ruled out.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo fee schedule was found at all (see q15), and no City handout mentions a separate ESS/battery permit or inspection distinct from the PV permit.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe only PV-specific City document is titled 'Roofmount Photo Voltaic Submittal Requirements' and is scoped entirely to roof-mount systems; no ground-mount-specific document, checklist, or code excerpt was found anywhere on the City's site.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handouts and Building Department page — none states an AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule; a City-hosted construction-bid document mentions 'PG&E Greenbook Standard J-95' only in the context of an unrelated gas-meter guard installation. PG&E's own DG/Rule 21 manual (where this rule would actually live) was not fetched this run.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 78% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 80% · published policy handout + department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For PV installed/modified concurrently with a re-roof: an initial inspection of the rack anchors (verifying proper attachment to structural framing members), then a final inspection of all PV components once installation is complete. For a re-roof over an EXISTING PV system (no modification): a roof-deck inspection once the PV system and old roofing are removed, then a final roofing inspection, at which the inspector also verifies the panels were reinstalled in their original location per the roof-layout placard on the electric panel. No sequence is separately published for a stand-alone new PV installation not tied to a re-roof. 68% · published policy handout
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Yes, for PV work performed under a re-roof or PV-modification permit — a rack-anchor inspection is required before the roofing/PV installation is completed. 70% · published policy handout
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Orland on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (permit is 'finaled') 62% · published policy handout
14 questions answered against City of Orland’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department page states plainly to 'call the Building Department for assistance at (530) 865-1606' for inspection services; the iworQ online portal exists for permit applications but I could not confirm from the (403-blocked) portal itself whether it also supports online inspection-scheduling.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/building-department/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page — states inspection-day availability (Mon-Thu, Fri by appointment only) but never states a minimum advance-notice period in days for booking.
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Building Department page as q50 — no mention of same-day booking or AM/PM inspection windows either way.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Solar PV Re-roofing Policy describes 'the inspector' performing rack-anchor and final inspections without naming any outside agency, and the Building Department page describes staff who 'inspects all building related activities within the City' directly — no delegation to a contractor or the county was found anywhere I could check.
published policy handout + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A — not applicable. Q52 found the City's own Building Department performs its own final PV inspection directly (Solar PV Re-roofing Policy describes 'the inspector' with no outside agency named), so there is no delegate to identify.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For PV installed/modified concurrently with a re-roof: an initial inspection of the rack anchors (verifying proper attachment to structural framing members), then a final inspection of all PV components once installation is complete. For a re-roof over an EXISTING PV system (no modification): a roof-deck inspection once the PV system and old roofing are removed, then a final roofing inspection, at which the inspector also verifies the panels were reinstalled in their original location per the roof-layout placard on the electric panel. No sequence is separately published for a stand-alone new PV installation not tied to a re-roof.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the City's Solar PV Re-roofing Policy (pdftotext -layout, not summarized) — this document only describes the re-roof-adjacent scenarios; the general Building Department page gives no separate stage list for a standalone new PV permit.
published policy handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Yes, for PV work performed under a re-roof or PV-modification permit — a rack-anchor inspection is required before the roofing/PV installation is completed.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Re-roofing Policy: 'An initial inspection of the rack anchors is required to ensure they are properly attached to structural framing members' before the final PV inspection. Whether this rough-stage inspection also applies to a stand-alone new PV permit outside the re-roof context is not stated.
published policy handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and both PV handouts — none explicitly states that the inspector checks equipment labels/listings as a discrete inspection step, even though manufacturer data sheets (item 11) are required at submittal.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe only checklists the City publishes (Roofmount PV Submittal Requirements; Solar PV Re-Roofing Policy) are pre-submittal/plan-check checklists, not an on-site inspection-day checklist; no separate published inspection checklist was found on the Building Department page or Forms page.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page — describes inspection availability days only; does not state what documents/access must be on site at the time of inspection.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Building Department fee schedule was found at all (see q15), so a re-inspection fee figure could not be located anywhere on the City's site.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and both PV handouts — none describes a correction-notice process (how corrections are issued to the applicant/contractor or how they are cleared) beyond the general statement that re-inspection follows correction of failed items.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (permit is 'finaled')
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Re-roofing Policy states 'The contractor is responsible for scheduling the required inspections and ensuring the permit is finaled' — implying a Final inspection sign-off rather than a distinct CO, green tag, or letter; no City document names a specific issued document by title.
published policy handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Solar-PV-Re-Roofing-Policy-Form.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's solar handouts and Building Department page — neither states who (installer, homeowner, or the City) submits interconnection completion paperwork to PG&E for Permission to Operate; this is typically a utility-side process and PG&E's own documentation was not fetched this run.
https://www.cityoforland.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Roofmount-PV-Submittal-Requirements.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Orland against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Orland is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined, in-house Building Department)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act) constrains the City's discretion to deny or condition residential solar permits; AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes the City from adopting any MORE restrictive residential building-code amendment from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031. Neither statute removes the City's own permitting/inspection authority.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building Department page states the department 'enforces all applicable building, mechanical, energy, handicap, plumbing, electrical and housing codes and laws adopted by the City and State' and that staff 'accepts and reviews permit applications, reviews plans and inspects all building related activities within the City' — a single in-house department, city phone/email domain (orlandbuilding@cityoforland.com), no firm name or county cross-reference found anywhere I could check. Orland is an incorporated city in Glenn County, so the county is not AHJ within city limits for this function. Not higher because the City's staff-directory page lists no individual names or their email domains (I could only confirm the department's generic contact), so a scoped or individual-level delegation (per the playbook's email-local-part tell) could not be fully ruled out, and Glenn County's own building-department page was not independently checked to confirm it disclaims jurisdiction inside Orland.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Portal
- iworQ Citizen Portal (orlandciteng.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/orlandciteng)82%
- Electrical code
- Not confirmed for the current code cycle; last documented local adoption (Ord. 2020-02, Feb 2020) was for the 2019 cycle (2019 CEC, based on the 2017 NEC).50%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone78%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 78%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.