City of Pleasant Hill
Contra Costa County
City of Pleasant Hill is a city authority in the State of California, serving 34,613 residents. 2,639 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2025 edition code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — PHill Online Permit Service Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $263 flat (listed as 'Residential (SolarAPP)'), OR a tiered schedule of $391 up to 15kW plus $15 per kW above 15kW appears in the immediately adjacent rows of the same table — the schedule's own…55% source
- Key document
- fee schedule cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · fee schedule
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 85% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? Conditional — only if the specific parcel is within a mapped Historic District or Cultural Resources overlay (PHMC 18.40.020); not a general requirement for all residential parcels. 70% · municipal code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 60% · department page (absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 65% · municipal code (absence)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Any contractor 60% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 75% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Site/plot plan showing setbacks and roof plan with drainage arrows; floor/electrical plan; the Residential Building Permit & Zoning Application (or SolarAPP+ automated submittal in lieu of it); contractor CSLB license and PH business license; for non-SolarAPP submittals, Con Fire's own 'Solar Application (PV)' review form is also processed. 75% · department checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic Plan Check (EPC) accepted in lieu of paper; application can be emailed to building@pleasanthillca.org or uploaded through the PHill Online Service Center; EPC does not expedite review. 70% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — site/plot plan with setbacks, roof plan, and drainage arrows required for building permits generally; for PV specifically, Con Fire's own PV form additionally requires the plan to show pathway/setback compliance (CFC 1205) and DC conductor routing. 78% · department checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 55% · department checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? PHill Online Permit Service Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov) 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $263 flat (listed as 'Residential (SolarAPP)'), OR a tiered schedule of $391 up to 15kW plus $15 per kW above 15kW appears in the immediately adjacent rows of the same table — the schedule's own layout is internally ambiguous about which applies to a standard residential system (see why). 55% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered (Per kW appears to apply above a base tier) — but see q15 note on ambiguity; could also be read as Flat ($263). 50% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days to commence work after issuance / 12 months without an approved inspection, per unamended 2025 CBC §105.5 (no local amendment exists — PHMC 14.05.040 'Amendments to the California Building Code' was repealed by Ord. 958 in 2022 and has not been re-enacted). 65% · municipal code
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (wires, interconnection, and PTO). MCE (Marin Clean Energy) is the default Community Choice Aggregator for electricity generation/billing only — it does not touch interconnection. 95% · city utility page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (Parallel processing allowed, but PTO is gated on the AHJ's final) 85% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Pleasant Hill’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division and SolarAPP+ pages show it issuing and processing residential PV permits directly.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/243/Building-Division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division self-performs building and electrical permitting/inspection (PHMC 14.05, fee schedule 'Electrical Permits' line at 16% of building permit fee). Fire life-safety review/inspection is held by the separate Con Fire district, not delegated by the city but independently jurisdictional.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY26-27 lists a dedicated 'Photovoltaic System (Solar Panels)' permit fee line citing PHMC 14.05.030 and CBC §108.4/H&S §17951.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule prices the PV system as one line item (not broken into separate building + electrical permit numbers the way a re-roof or new construction project is), and SolarAPP+ issues one combined permit; a generic 'Electrical Permits' line (16% of building permit fee) exists separately in the schedule for non-PV electrical work, creating some ambiguity.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Any contractor
Why the confidence is not higherNo PH-specific restriction beyond standard CA Contractors State License Board classification (C-46 Solar or C-10 Electrical) was found in the city's application form; the Residential Building Permit & Zoning Application only requires a valid CSLB license number/class, not a specific trade.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19466/RESIDENTIAL-BUILDING-PERMIT-ZONING-APPLICATION
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Residential Building Permit & Zoning Application form has a required field 'Pleasant Hill Business License No:' in the contractor block, and the contractor signature block states the permit will not be issued without it/the license-in-force certification.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19466/RESIDENTIAL-BUILDING-PERMIT-ZONING-APPLICATION
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's generic Residential Building Permit & Zoning Application includes a full 'Owner Builder Declaration' section citing B&P Code §7031.5 and §7044, allowing an owner to self-perform and self-permit work not intended for sale.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19466/RESIDENTIAL-BUILDING-PERMIT-ZONING-APPLICATION
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Site/plot plan showing setbacks and roof plan with drainage arrows; floor/electrical plan; the Residential Building Permit & Zoning Application (or SolarAPP+ automated submittal in lieu of it); contractor CSLB license and PH business license; for non-SolarAPP submittals, Con Fire's own 'Solar Application (PV)' review form is also processed.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the general Building Division 'Check List of Required Plans and Approvals' (Nov 2020) with the SolarAPP+ page and Con Fire's own PV form; no single PV-specific city checklist was found distinct from these general documents.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic Plan Check (EPC) accepted in lieu of paper; application can be emailed to building@pleasanthillca.org or uploaded through the PHill Online Service Center; EPC does not expedite review.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states EPC is accepted and processed the same as paper; the application PDF itself (dated to the retired ci.pleasant-hill.ca.us domain) still shows the email intake address, so it may be a legacy instruction not fully updated to the new portal-first workflow — flagged for that reason.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/243/Building-Division
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — site/plot plan with setbacks, roof plan, and drainage arrows required for building permits generally; for PV specifically, Con Fire's own PV form additionally requires the plan to show pathway/setback compliance (CFC 1205) and DC conductor routing.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral checklist (Nov 2020) plus Con Fire's Solar Application (PV) form, both city/district-published documents.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated explicitly as 'one-line diagram' in a PH-specific PV document, but the general checklist requires an 'Electrical plan' for all submittals and SolarAPP+'s automated review is built around a one-line/three-line electrical diagram as a universal input; inferred, not directly confirmed by a PH document naming the diagram.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Information and Submittal Requirements checklist; SolarAPP+ page; Con Fire's Solar Application (PV) form
https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral checklist ('Structural calcs. for all bldgs. over one story' is the only structural trigger listed, not PV-specific); Title 14 Building code chapter; no PV-specific structural PE threshold published
https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame checklist and Title 14; no electrical PE stamp threshold published for residential PV
https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/19716/GENERAL-INFORMATION-AND-SUBMITTAL-REQUIREMENTS
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$263 flat (listed as 'Residential (SolarAPP)'), OR a tiered schedule of $391 up to 15kW plus $15 per kW above 15kW appears in the immediately adjacent rows of the same table — the schedule's own layout is internally ambiguous about which applies to a standard residential system (see why).
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY26-27 (creation date 20 May 2026, current) lists 'Photovoltaic System (Solar Panels)* / Residential (SolarAPP) $263' immediately followed by unindented rows 'Up to 15KW $391' and 'Per KW above 15KW $15' before a 'Commercial' sub-header with its own three-tier per-kW schedule. Rendered as an image and cross-checked against raw PDF text stream order (not just -layout reconstruction) to rule out a column-merge artifact — the ambiguity is in the source document itself, not an extraction error.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered (Per kW appears to apply above a base tier) — but see q15 note on ambiguity; could also be read as Flat ($263).
Why the confidence is not higherSame table ambiguity as q15.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule lists 'Building Plan Check Fee' at 80% of the Building Permit Fee as a distinct line item, separate from the permit fee itself.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, SolarAPP+ page, Permits and Handouts page — none publish a stated plan-review turnaround in business days (only next-business-day inspection scheduling is stated)
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days to commence work after issuance / 12 months without an approved inspection, per unamended 2025 CBC §105.5 (no local amendment exists — PHMC 14.05.040 'Amendments to the California Building Code' was repealed by Ord. 958 in 2022 and has not been re-enacted).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the state-code default because the city's own local-amendment section is confirmed repealed (checked directly on eCode360); the fee schedule's 'Reinstatement of Expired Permit' line (50% of original fee, citing CBC §106.4.4) is consistent with this but does not itself state the validity period.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658199
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
PHill Online Permit Service Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page names and links this portal directly for applying, paying, and scheduling inspections.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://selfservice.pleasanthillca.org/energov_prod/selfservice#/home
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states the portal supports 'Applying for all building permits (including uploading plans)' and 'Paying fees' end-to-end online, with account registration required.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/243/Building-Division
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (wires, interconnection, and PTO). MCE (Marin Clean Energy) is the default Community Choice Aggregator for electricity generation/billing only — it does not touch interconnection.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own utility page states plainly: 'As an MCE customer, PG&E will continue to deliver the electricity through their power lines.' MCE's own member-communities list (fetched directly) includes Pleasant Hill under Contra Costa County. PowerToChoose was not used per instructions.
city utility page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/1443/Electricity-MCE
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (Parallel processing allowed, but PTO is gated on the AHJ's final)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Section D.13.b (current tariff, effective 29 Aug 2025, fetched and grepped directly) requires 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' before Permission to Operate is granted, though the Interconnection Request itself can be filed in parallel with permitting.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherPHMC 18.120.010.B (Architectural Review Permits, current text on eCode360) explicitly states: 'An Architectural Review Permit is not required for remodeling, additions, or accessory structures' — a rooftop PV retrofit falls outside the ARP trigger (new SFR construction or a 'substantial addition'). Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) separately preempts any HOA veto.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49386103
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Conditional — only if the specific parcel is within a mapped Historic District or Cultural Resources overlay (PHMC 18.40.020); not a general requirement for all residential parcels.
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 18.40 (Overlay Districts) establishes the Historic/Cultural Resources overlay mechanism but it only attaches where the City Council has mapped it onto specific sites via zoning-map amendment — read directly on eCode360.
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49384606
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement (this is a Gulf-Coast/TDI-style requirement, not a California practice) was found anywhere in the Building Division materials, fee schedule, or municipal code reviewed.
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/243/Building-Division
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Use Permit or Council-approval trigger for residential rooftop PV was found in Title 18 (checked Chapter 18.120 Architectural Review, 18.155 Use Permit TOC, and 18.40 Overlay Districts); rooftop PV is a ministerial building-permit matter per Gov. Code §65850.52/SolarAPP+.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47659935
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot found — no local kW/size cap on residential generation appears in Title 18 (Zoning) or Title 14 (Buildings/Construction). — Checked Chapter 18.55 (General Site and Development Standards), the 'S' Definitions (18.215.190, no 'Solar' entry), and Title 14 Chapter 14.05 in full — none impose a residential system-size ceiling; below the 40-point floor so recorded as not_found rather than a scored answer.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 85% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24), adopted by PHMC 14.05.010 via Ord. 976, effective with the statewide 1 Jan 2026 triennial cycle start. 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments per attached exhibits. 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes for the fire code (four attachments of CFC amendments plus a WUI code amendment); No current local amendments for the building code or electrical code chapters — both PHMC 14.05.040 (CBC amendments) and Chapter 14.20 (CA Electrical Code) are on the books as 'Repealed' with nothing re-enacted in their place. 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? 2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and 2025 CFC as adopted by PHMC 14.05, with Con Fire's rooftop-pathway/rapid-shutdown provisions under CFC Chapter 12 (§1205) applied unamended by the city. 85% · adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Per CFC §1205 (unamended by the city): Group R-3 roofs need two 36-inch pathways from lowest eave to highest ridge on separate planes (one street/driveway side); other occupancies need a 6 ft (or 4 ft for small buildings) perimeter clearance; interior pathways at 150 ft intervals, 4 ft clear to skylights/hatches, and specific smoke-ventilation cutout patterns. 88% · fire district review form
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, required under NEC 690.12 (2023 NEC as adopted via the 2025 CEC). 85% · fire district review form
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? DC-circuit wiring/enclosure warning markings ('WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE'); rapid-shutdown permanent label at the service equipment; PG&E-required visible AC disconnect with open/closed position markings. 85% · fire district review form
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 85% · fire district review form
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Yes — DC markings: minimum 3/8 inch letters, white on red, weather-resistant reflective material. Rapid-shutdown label: first two lines uppercase, minimum 3/8 inch height, black on yellow. 85% · fire district review form
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable AC disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions. 85% · utility tariff
- Where must the labels be placed? DC markings at: exposed raceways/cable trays, pull/junction box covers, unused conduit-body openings, every wiring section separated by enclosures/walls/floors, every 10 feet, and at all DC combiner/junction boxes. Rapid-shutdown label at the service equipment/point specified by NEC 690.56. AC disconnect marking at the visible disconnect near the point of interconnection (PG&E). 80% · fire district review form
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? AC disconnect must be visible, lockable/marked with clear open/closed positions, and reachable by Distribution Provider personnel per PG&E Rule 21 §H.1.d; the specific meter-proximity distance spec (if any) sits in PG&E's gated Greenbook document TD-2306M, which is not publicly downloadable. 55% · utility tariff (partial)
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes (general) 55% · adopting ordinance (inference)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, subject to Con Fire plan review — Battery Systems/Energy Storage plan review at a $944 minimum fee plus a separate $516 minimum UL9540A review fee, per Con Fire's current Engineering/Plan Review Fee Schedule (CCCFPD Ordinance 2026-07, adopted 12 May 2026, effective 13 Jul 2026). 90% · fire district fee ordinance
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes for batteries/ESS (separate Con Fire plan review + UL9540A review, see q45); No separate permit/inspection fee for standard rooftop PV beyond the city's own PV permit — Con Fire's role for standard PV is a no-fee 'Solar Photovoltaic Notification Form' (Eng. 026) that only feeds the dispatch system, plus (where a full plan review is triggered) Con Fire's own separate final PV inspection. 85% · fire district form
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes (by inference) 60% · municipal code (definitions)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 80% · municipal code (absence)
20 questions answered against City of Pleasant Hill’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherPHMC 14.05.010 adopts 'the California Building Standards Code, 2025 Edition... Part 3: California Electrical Code' by Ord. 976 (11/17/2025); the 2025 CEC is statewide based on the 2023 NEC (NFPA 70) per the state's standard triennial adoption pattern — the city ordinance itself does not spell out 'NEC 2023' by name, so this is one inferential step from a directly-read city ordinance.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658192
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24), adopted by PHMC 14.05.010 via Ord. 976, effective with the statewide 1 Jan 2026 triennial cycle start.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly on eCode360: '§14.05.010 ... The California Building Standards Code, 2025 Edition, California Code of Regulations, Title 24 ... is adopted by reference... (Ord. 976, 11/17/2025)'.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658192
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, with local amendments per attached exhibits.
Why the confidence is not higherPHMC 14.05.080: 'The 2025 California Fire Code is amended by the changes... set forth in this section... (Ord. 977, 11/17/2025)', read directly on eCode360.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658192
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes for the fire code (four attachments of CFC amendments plus a WUI code amendment); No current local amendments for the building code or electrical code chapters — both PHMC 14.05.040 (CBC amendments) and Chapter 14.20 (CA Electrical Code) are on the books as 'Repealed' with nothing re-enacted in their place.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly read: 14.05.040 '(Repealed by Ord. 958)'; Chapter 14.20 '(Repealed by Ord. 852)'; 14.05.080 amendments exist as live attachments (checked in full — no PV/ESS-specific rooftop or ridge-setback change found in them, only a fire-apparatus-access-road exemption for ground-mount solar generation facilities and a parking-garage sprinkler exception mentioning PV canopies).
municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658199
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
2025 CBC/CRC, 2025 CEC (2023 NEC), and 2025 CFC as adopted by PHMC 14.05, with Con Fire's rooftop-pathway/rapid-shutdown provisions under CFC Chapter 12 (§1205) applied unamended by the city.
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the adopting ordinance and Con Fire's own PV review form citing CFC §1205.2/1205.3/1205.5.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658192
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 14.20 (California Electrical Code) is codified as '(Repealed by Ord. 852)' with no replacement text — confirmed by opening the chapter directly, meaning there is no local busbar/service-upgrade amendment; the state 2025 CEC applies unamended.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658206
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot found. — No PH-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing document was found beyond the standard CBC/CRC structural chapter that already applies statewide; recorded as not_found rather than guessed.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Per CFC §1205 (unamended by the city): Group R-3 roofs need two 36-inch pathways from lowest eave to highest ridge on separate planes (one street/driveway side); other occupancies need a 6 ft (or 4 ft for small buildings) perimeter clearance; interior pathways at 150 ft intervals, 4 ft clear to skylights/hatches, and specific smoke-ventilation cutout patterns.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from Con Fire's own 'Solar Application (PV)' review form (DocumentCenter/View/209), which is the document Con Fire staff use to review PV plans for jurisdictions it serves including Pleasant Hill, and which cites CFC §1205.2.1.1, 1205.3.1–3.4 — the same chapter confirmed unamended by the city's own fire-code amendment attachments.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, required under NEC 690.12 (2023 NEC as adopted via the 2025 CEC).
Why the confidence is not higherCon Fire's PV review form has a dedicated 'RAPID SHUTDOWN TYPE' section specifying required permanent labeling for 'Buildings with rapid shutdown solar PV systems,' confirming the requirement is live and enforced for PH-area projects; the form itself is dated/cites the 2022 CFC (last updated March 2023) rather than the now-current 2025 CFC, so the citation is one code cycle behind even though the underlying 690.12 rapid-shutdown mandate is unchanged across cycles — flagged for that vintage.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
DC-circuit wiring/enclosure warning markings ('WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE'); rapid-shutdown permanent label at the service equipment; PG&E-required visible AC disconnect with open/closed position markings.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines Con Fire's PV form (DC marking + rapid shutdown label) with PG&E Rule 21 §H.1.d (visible disconnect marking), both read directly.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCon Fire's PV form specifies exact wording: DC marking 'WARNING: PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SOURCE' and the two-line rapid-shutdown label text verbatim ('SOLAR PV SYSTEM EQUIPPED WITH RAPID SHUTDOWN. TURN RAPID SHUTDOWN SWITCH TO THE "OFF" POSITION...').
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — DC markings: minimum 3/8 inch letters, white on red, weather-resistant reflective material. Rapid-shutdown label: first two lines uppercase, minimum 3/8 inch height, black on yellow.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim spec on Con Fire's PV review form, citing CEC 690.31 and CFC §1205.5.1.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot found as a distinct city/district-published facility-map placard spec beyond the standard NEC 705.10 (2023 NEC) plaque requirement that applies statewide by code adoption. — Checked Con Fire's PV form and the city's Permits and Handouts page; neither publishes a locally-specific site-plan/facility-map placard content requirement beyond referencing the DC-marking and rapid-shutdown labels above.
https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable AC disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 §H.1.d, read directly from the current tariff PDF (effective 29 Aug 2025).
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
DC markings at: exposed raceways/cable trays, pull/junction box covers, unused conduit-body openings, every wiring section separated by enclosures/walls/floors, every 10 feet, and at all DC combiner/junction boxes. Rapid-shutdown label at the service equipment/point specified by NEC 690.56. AC disconnect marking at the visible disconnect near the point of interconnection (PG&E).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines Con Fire's PV form marking-location list with PG&E Rule 21's disconnect location language.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes (general)
Why the confidence is not higherStandard CEC/UL-listing requirement applies via the adopted 2025 CEC; no PH-specific 'approved products list' beyond that was found.
adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/47658192
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, subject to Con Fire plan review — Battery Systems/Energy Storage plan review at a $944 minimum fee plus a separate $516 minimum UL9540A review fee, per Con Fire's current Engineering/Plan Review Fee Schedule (CCCFPD Ordinance 2026-07, adopted 12 May 2026, effective 13 Jul 2026).
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly with pdftotext from Con Fire's own current fee-schedule PDF (creation-dated 21 May 2026, PDF title 'WORKING CCCFPD Engineering Fee Schedule 2026.xlsx'), linked live from Con Fire's Fire Prevention Service Fees page as the fee schedule in effect since 13 Jul 2026 (still current as of this check). No residential PV/solar fee line exists anywhere in this same schedule — confirming standard rooftop PV gets dispatch-notification treatment only (see q46), while ESS/battery gets a genuine, separate, priced plan-review line. Positive control ('fire', 138 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both passed on this document.
fire district fee ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1f7L1Otr4s0_oJTdQKE_Zu_E-ke6xHHRR/view?usp=sharing
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes for batteries/ESS (separate Con Fire plan review + UL9540A review, see q45); No separate permit/inspection fee for standard rooftop PV beyond the city's own PV permit — Con Fire's role for standard PV is a no-fee 'Solar Photovoltaic Notification Form' (Eng. 026) that only feeds the dispatch system, plus (where a full plan review is triggered) Con Fire's own separate final PV inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherCon Fire's 'Solar Photovoltaic Notification Form' (Eng. 026, Rev 01/2020, ModDate Sep 2023) states its purpose is only 'to provide information that will be entered into the department's dispatch system' with no fee field; contrasted against the priced ESS/Battery Systems line in the current fee ordinance and the fee-computed-by-staff blank on Con Fire's 'Solar Application (PV)' review form used when a fuller plan review is needed.
fire district form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/210/Solar-Notification-Form-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes (by inference)
Why the confidence is not higherPH's Zoning Ordinance has no dedicated solar/renewable-energy chapter and no 'Solar' or 'Photovoltaic' definition anywhere in its Definitions chapter (checked §18.215.190 '"S" Definitions' directly — no entry). Its general 'Structure' definition (§18.215.190) is broad: 'Anything constructed or erected that requires a location on the ground, including a building, a deck, or a swimming pool, but not including fences or walls... eight feet... or less and access drives or walks.' A ground-mounted PV array would fall under this definition by inference; there is no explicit PV carve-out either way, so this is inference, not a direct statement.
municipal code (definitions) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/49387932
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
AC disconnect must be visible, lockable/marked with clear open/closed positions, and reachable by Distribution Provider personnel per PG&E Rule 21 §H.1.d; the specific meter-proximity distance spec (if any) sits in PG&E's gated Greenbook document TD-2306M, which is not publicly downloadable.
Why the confidence is not higherRule 21 itself (read directly, current tariff) specifies visibility/marking/accessibility requirements but not an exact distance-from-meter figure; the more granular DG placement spec is understood to live in TD-2306M, which could not be retrieved to confirm — booked as partial rather than a full answer.
utility tariff (partial) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal or Phone 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? 1 business day 80% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM or PM window may be requested. 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for building/electrical (self-performed). Con Fire independently performs its own separate final PV inspection where its review applies, booked directly with Con Fire at 925-941-3300 ext. 3902 (minimum two working days' notice, Monday–Thursday). 80% · fire district review form
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Pleasant Hill on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated public PV inspection checklist found on the city's own site; Con Fire's 'Solar Application (PV)' document functions as its own internal plan-review/inspection sign-off form (not published as a homeowner/contractor-facing checklist). 40% · department page (absence)
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (standard practice) 55% · fire district review form (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 70% · utility tariff (inference)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 60% · utility tariff (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $206/hour (Building Re-inspections, CBC §108.8) 85% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are emailed to the applicant with required changes; applicant uploads revised plans/application through the PHill Online Service Center for re-review. 85% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Pleasant Hill’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal or Phone
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: PHill Online Service Center supports 'Scheduling building inspections' online; SolarAPP+ page separately gives a phone number '(925) 671-5200 > OPTION 1' for booking inspections with a voicemail protocol.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/1465/SolarApp-For-Solar-Installers
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page states: 'City of Pleasant Hill building inspections are typically carried out the next business day after the request unless otherwise noted.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/1465/SolarApp-For-Solar-Installers
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM or PM window may be requested.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page inspection-request instructions explicitly include 'You may request AM or PM.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/1465/SolarApp-For-Solar-Installers
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division self-performs its own building/electrical final inspection via its own inspectors (Kieran Mone, Fred Powell Jr.). Separately and in addition, Con Fire performs its OWN independent final PV inspection where its review applies (see q53) — this is not a delegation but a second, concurrent AHJ sign-off.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/1465/SolarApp-For-Solar-Installers
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for building/electrical (self-performed). Con Fire independently performs its own separate final PV inspection where its review applies, booked directly with Con Fire at 925-941-3300 ext. 3902 (minimum two working days' notice, Monday–Thursday).
Why the confidence is not higherCon Fire's own 'Solar Application (PV)' review form gives this exact scheduling instruction under 'Additional comments' near the bottom of the form.
fire district review form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division and SolarAPP+ pages do not publish an ordered list of required PV inspection stages beyond 'inspections are typically carried out the next business day' and Con Fire's separate final; no stage-by-stage sequence document found
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Con Fire PV form — no mid-roof/rough-in inspection requirement stated for a rooftop retrofit
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (standard practice)
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated as a checklist item in a PH-specific document, but Con Fire's PV review form embeds compliance checks (markings, rapid-shutdown labels) that an inspector must verify at final, and standard CBO practice under the adopted CEC/CFC includes listing/labeling verification; inferred rather than found as an explicit city statement.
fire district review form (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cccfpd.org/DocumentCenter/View/209/Solar-Application-PV-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated public PV inspection checklist found on the city's own site; Con Fire's 'Solar Application (PV)' document functions as its own internal plan-review/inspection sign-off form (not published as a homeowner/contractor-facing checklist).
Why the confidence is not higherChecked Building Division, Permits and Handouts, and SolarAPP+ pages for a standalone inspection checklist — none found distinct from the SolarAPP+ national eligibility/inspection-prep links (which are NREL/national, not city-specific).
department page (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/247/Permits-and-Handouts
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division and SolarAPP+ pages; no PV-specific 'documents required on site at inspection' list found beyond the general CBC §105.3.5 approved-plans-on-site default
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$206/hour (Building Re-inspections, CBC §108.8)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY26-27 lists 'Building Re-inspections' at $206 per hour citing CBC §108.8 — not PV-specific but the general re-inspection fee that would apply.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/23619/Master-Fee-Schedule-FY26-27
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are emailed to the applicant with required changes; applicant uploads revised plans/application through the PHill Online Service Center for re-review.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page describes this workflow explicitly: 'If corrections are required, a notification will be sent to the applicant, using the email address provided... The applicant must make the necessary corrections, and upload the revised application or plans to the PHill Online Service Center.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.phillca.gov/243/Building-Division
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherNo explicit 'Certificate of Occupancy' language found for a PV retrofit (which doesn't create a new occupancy); standard CA practice and the Rule 21 reference to 'final electric inspection clearance' both point to a Final inspection sign-off rather than a CO, green tag, or letter.
utility tariff (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Rule 21 places the burden of submitting the completed Interconnection Request (including evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance) on the 'Applicant' — in practice the installer submits this to PG&E for PTO; the city does not itself notify PG&E per any document found.
utility tariff (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Pleasant Hill against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Pleasant Hill is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, self-performed in-house by the Public Works and Community Development Department's Building Division (NOT a separate 'Community Development' agency as commonly assumed for CA jurisdictions — staff directory shows Building Inspectors and the Chief Building Official filed under 'Public Works and Community Development'). Fire/life-safety plan review and a SEPARATE final fire inspection for rooftop PV are held independently by Contra Costa County Fire Protection District (Con Fire), a special district, not a city department.
- Overridden by
- PG&E Electric Rule 21 (D.13.b) requires evidence of the AHJ's final electric inspection clearance before Permission to Operate is issued — the city's building/electrical final gates PG&E interconnection; Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA/architectural veto of solar, consistent with PHMC 18.120.010.B already exempting remodels/additions/accessory structures from Architectural Review; Gov. Code §65850.52 (SB 379) mandates the automated SolarAPP+ ministerial pathway the city has adopted.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building Division page (phillca.gov/243/Building-Division) and its SolarAPP+ page (phillca.gov/1465/SolarApp-For-Solar-Installers) show the city issuing and inspecting building/electrical permits for residential PV directly through its 'PHill Online Permit Service Center' (EnerGov). The city's own Permits-and-Handouts page (phillca.gov/247/Permits-and-Handouts) explicitly names 'CONTRA COSTA COUNTY FIRE' (linking to cccfpd.org) and 'CENTRAL SANITARY DISTRICT' as separate agencies whose approval is needed for SOME projects, confirming Con Fire is a distinct AHJ holding fire matters, not a city function. Cross-verified from Con Fire's own side: Con Fire Station 02 is physically located at 2012 Geary Road, Pleasant Hill, CA (cccfpd.org/Facilities/Facility/Details/Station02-2), and Con Fire's own 'Solar Application (PV)' form (DocumentCenter/View/209) and 'Solar Photovoltaic Notification Form' (Eng. 026, DocumentCenter/View/210) instruct applicants to schedule Con Fire's OWN separate final PV inspection (925-941-3300 ext. 3902), independent of the city's building final. Staff directory (phillca.gov/directory.aspx?eid=111 and eid=3) shows Building Inspectors Kieran Mone and Fred Powell Jr. at plain @pleasanthillca.org addresses under 'Public Works and Community Development – Building Division' — no third-party plan-check/inspection firm domain found (no @caa, @willdan, @trbassociates, etc.), a clean in-house signal, though an older undated 'Agency Checklist' PDF (DocumentCenter/View/218, superseded content) once named a contracted plan checker 'Todd Bailey/TRB & Associates' at a since-changed Con Fire address — that reference did not appear in the current (Nov 2020, still-linked) General Information checklist, which lists Plan Checking without a named contractor, so I did not carry the TRB reference forward as current.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $263 flat (listed as 'Residential (SolarAPP)'), OR a tiered schedule of $391 up to 15kW plus $15 per kW above 15kW appears in the immediately adjacent rows of the same table — the…55%
- Portal
- PHill Online Permit Service Center (Tyler Technologies EnerGov)95%
- Electrical code
- 202385%
- Own placard wording
- Yes85%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal or Phone85%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Pleasant Hill writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 85%
Yes
Size, colour & material 85%
Yes — DC markings: minimum 3/8 inch letters, white on red, weather-resistant reflective material. Rapid-shutdown label: first two lines uppercase, minimum 3/8 inch height, black on yellow.
Where they go 80%
DC markings at: exposed raceways/cable trays, pull/junction box covers, unused conduit-body openings, every wiring section separated by enclosures/walls/floors, every 10 feet, and at all DC combiner/junction boxes. Rapid-shutdown label at the service equipment/point specified by NEC 690.56. AC disconnect marking at the visible disconnect near the point of interconnection (PG&E).
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes — PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated, lockable AC disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.