City of Red Bluff
Tehama County
City of Red Bluff is a city authority in the State of California, serving 14,710 residents. 3,160 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Either Q4 Plan review — Approximately 2-3 weeks for a permitted use requiring no further Planning entitlement Q18 Where you file — eTRAKiT (redb-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- What it costs
- Approx. $760-$770 building-permit fee on a $20,000 PV system valuation, plus a plan-check deposit of 60% of that fee (~$460); actual cost varies with declared system valuation60% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Approximately 2-3 weeks for a permitted use requiring no further Planning entitlement62% source
- Key document
- municipal code (absence) cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 90% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Either 62% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 68% · department handout (PDF)
- Is there a historic-district review? Zone-dependent: RBMC §25.51 requires 'All development proposed in HR [Historic Residential] districts' to comply with the city's Design Review Guidelines (adopted by resolution under Ch. 7) — reaching rooftop PV on any parcel zoned HR, which covers much of Red Bluff's Victorian core. The same section limits mandatory Design Review elsewhere to 'Multi-family housing and nonresidential development in R-3 and R-4 districts' — ordinary single-family RE/R-1/R-2 parcels are NOT subject to mandatory Design Review. The Design Review Guidelines themselves (adopted by Council resolution) state: 'Solar heating equipment need not be screened but must be as unobtrusive as possible.' 82% · municipal code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 72% · municipal code (absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No, for a standard rooftop retrofit on RE/R-1/R-2/R-4/HR-zoned parcels 60% · municipal code (absence)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No codified kW cap found 68% · municipal code (absence)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Possibly — an 'Outside Contractors' business-license section exists but was not confirmed as a permit precondition 50% · municipal code TOC
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? The 'Preliminary Information for Permit Application' (front/back, with itemized cost-breakdown sheet including a 'Solar Units' line) plus construction plan set; no dedicated solar checklist is published. 70% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — Public Works Site Plan Requirements (03-2023) require parcel lines/dimensions/setbacks, existing and proposed structures with size/use, north arrow and street names, existing/proposed utilities (gas, electric, cable, phone, water, sewer), and major landscaping. 75% · department handout (PDF)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (redb-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT) 90% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 68% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Approx. $760-$770 building-permit fee on a $20,000 PV system valuation, plus a plan-check deposit of 60% of that fee (~$460); actual cost varies with declared system valuation 60% · fee schedule (PDF)
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 78% · fee schedule (PDF)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 85% · fee schedule (PDF)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Approximately 2-3 weeks for a permitted use requiring no further Planning entitlement 62% · department handout (PDF)
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (state CBC/CRC default; no local amendment extending or shortening it was found) 55% · municipal code (absence)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 92% · adopted budget (PDF)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (Building final inspection clearance required before PTO) 55% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Red Bluff’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Red Bluff Community Development Department, Building Division issues building and electrical permits for all construction in the city per RBMC Ch. 5, Art. II; no county or other agency retains that authority inside city limits.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCommunity Development Department, Building Division performs both plan check and inspection in-house for building and electrical; no contract firm found across fee-schedule staffing lines, permit forms, or the FY2026-27 budget.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.24(D) (added to CRC R109.1.6.3) presupposes a permit by giving 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' an expedited single-inspection path; the city's Preliminary Information for Permit Application form has a 'Solar Units' cost line feeding the required permit valuation.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Preliminary Information for Permit Application' form lists Building, Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing as separate checkable PERMIT TYPE boxes with no dedicated Solar box, so a PV job can be filed under Building and/or Electrical; no ordinance text was found stating solar must be one or the other.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Application%20Full%20Fillable%20Form.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe same application form carries a full Owner-Builder Declaration (Sec. 7044 B&P Code) alongside the standard Licensed Contractor's Declaration, so either a licensed electrician/contractor or an owner-builder may sign for the permit; no local rule was found restricting this further for solar specifically.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Application%20Full%20Fillable%20Form.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Possibly — an 'Outside Contractors' business-license section exists but was not confirmed as a permit precondition
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC Ch. 12 (Licenses) table of contents lists §12.24 'Outside Contractors' as a distinct business-license provision; I found the section by title in the chapter TOC but could not extract its operative text in this run to confirm it is a precondition to pulling a building/electrical permit rather than a separate business tax obligation.
municipal code TOC checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-2309
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Application Full Fillable Form contains a complete Owner-Builder Declaration under Bus. & Prof. Code §7044, allowing the property owner to self-perform work (including presumably solar) without a licensed contractor.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Application%20Full%20Fillable%20Form.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
The 'Preliminary Information for Permit Application' (front/back, with itemized cost-breakdown sheet including a 'Solar Units' line) plus construction plan set; no dedicated solar checklist is published.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the only application document linked from Forms & Applications for building-type permits; the same folder ('building handouts') lists Smoke/CO Affidavit, Encroachment Permit, Mechanical Service Outlet, Site Plan Requirements and Waste Diversion handouts but no solar-specific checklist — checked by enumerating every file in that folder.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Process Details PDF and the Forms & Applications building-handouts folder — neither states a required number of copies or digital-vs-paper format for submittal beyond the eTRAKiT portal's existence
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — Public Works Site Plan Requirements (03-2023) require parcel lines/dimensions/setbacks, existing and proposed structures with size/use, north arrow and street names, existing/proposed utilities (gas, electric, cable, phone, water, sewer), and major landscaping.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the city's own published residential site-plan checklist (Public Works handout, dated 03-2023 per pdfinfo); it is generic to all residential building permits and not solar-specific, but would govern a PV submittal's site plan.
department handout (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Public%20Works%20Site%20Plan%20Requirements%2003-2023.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Applications building-handouts folder (no solar-specific checklist exists there, confirmed by enumerating every file) and the generic Preliminary Information application form, neither of which specifies a one-line/three-line diagram requirement
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame building-handouts folder and application form; no string/conductor calculation requirement is stated anywhere city-side
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRBMC §§5.23/5.24 (CBC/CRC local amendments) and the Forms & Applications handouts; no structural PE-stamp threshold specific to residential PV was found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRBMC §5.25 (CEC adoption, plain adoption clause with no amendments) and the same handouts folder; no electrical PE-stamp threshold was found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Approx. $760-$770 building-permit fee on a $20,000 PV system valuation, plus a plan-check deposit of 60% of that fee (~$460); actual cost varies with declared system valuation
Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated 'solar' fee line exists in the Building Department fee schedule (Exhibit F, effective 7/1/2024); the figure is computed from the schedule's general valuation-based building-permit table ($165 for the first $2,000 plus $33.30 per additional $1,000 up to $25,000) applied to a representative system cost, since the city's own permit-application cost sheet has applicants declare 'Solar Units' cost as part of total project valuation. Confidence is moderate because this is an inference from the generic valuation table, not a named solar line.
fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/finance/Schedule%20of%20Fees%20and%20Charges-7.1.24.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department fee schedule (Exhibit F) is structured entirely as a permit-valuation table, and the city's own Preliminary Information application form requires an itemized 'Solar Units' cost figure to be rolled into the total declared project valuation used to compute the fee.
fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/finance/Schedule%20of%20Fees%20and%20Charges-7.1.24.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule Exhibit F, item 3: 'Plan Check Submittal Deposit — 60% of building permit fee payable as deposit with submittal of application and plans.'
fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/finance/Schedule%20of%20Fees%20and%20Charges-7.1.24.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Approximately 2-3 weeks for a permitted use requiring no further Planning entitlement
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's 'Building Permit Process' flowchart (in Building Department Process Details, Nov 2022) labels the Building/Public Works/Fire/Police comment-and-clear path as 'Approximately 2-3 weeks', reserving '1-2 months (+/-)' and '2-3 months (+/-)' for projects needing discretionary Planning approval — a typical rooftop PV retrofit would follow the faster path.
department handout (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Building%20Department%20Process%20Details.pdf
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days (state CBC/CRC default; no local amendment extending or shortening it was found)
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.23 amendments to CBC Ch.1 Div.II address enforcement, fees, work-without-permit and refunds but do not amend the standard permit-expiration section; absent a local override the 180-day CBC/CRC default applies.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTRAKiT (redb-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building Permits page states: 'You may now pay or submit for a permit online at https://redb-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/', with account setup and permit-linking instructions.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/building_permit.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's page describes creating an eTRAKiT account, linking a permit, and paying online, and invites applicants to 'submit for a permit online'; the page emphasizes payment more than upload mechanics, so confidence is not higher.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/building_permit.php
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherThe brief flagged PG&E as possibly wrong given Red Bluff's small-city profile, but the city's own FY2026-27 Adopted Budget (dated 4 Jun 2026) bills PG&E directly and by name for electricity/gas at its own facilities: Wastewater Treatment Plant 'WWTP PG&E' $431,000; Community Center 'PG&E Electric' $100,200/yr and 'PG&E Gas' $11,640/yr; Pool 'PG&E minimum monthly' $1,260/yr. The city's own Finance 'Utilities' webpage lists only water and sewer as city-billed services with zero electric content — consistent with PG&E, not a municipal utility, serving the city. Red Bluff runs no electric department of its own; the codified municipal code (all 27 chapters walked by name) contains no electric-franchise chapter and no 'Electric Utility' department.
adopted budget (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/CITY%20OF%20RED%20BLUFF%202026-2027%20BUDGET.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (Building final inspection clearance required before PTO)
Why the confidence is not higherThis is generic PG&E Rule 21 practice (§D.13.b requires evidence of the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance among the conditions for PTO processing), not a Red Bluff-specific document; no city-side statement of sequencing was found.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo provision in RBMC Ch. 5 (Construction Regulations) or Ch. 25 (Zoning) conditions permit issuance on HOA or architectural-committee approval; the city's own Building Permit Process flowchart names only Fire, Police, Public Works and Planning as commenting departments, with no HOA step.
department handout (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Building%20Department%20Process%20Details.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Zone-dependent: RBMC §25.51 requires 'All development proposed in HR [Historic Residential] districts' to comply with the city's Design Review Guidelines (adopted by resolution under Ch. 7) — reaching rooftop PV on any parcel zoned HR, which covers much of Red Bluff's Victorian core. The same section limits mandatory Design Review elsewhere to 'Multi-family housing and nonresidential development in R-3 and R-4 districts' — ordinary single-family RE/R-1/R-2 parcels are NOT subject to mandatory Design Review. The Design Review Guidelines themselves (adopted by Council resolution) state: 'Solar heating equipment need not be screened but must be as unobtrusive as possible.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly sourced from the codified §25.51 text and the city's own posted Design Review Guidelines FAQ page; the guideline document's exact scope of application to a specific PV retrofit permit (vs. new construction/remodel triggers) was not independently confirmed.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-6119
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: the full local amendment text for the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC (RBMC §§5.21-5.31, ~33,000 characters read) contains no windstorm-certification requirement; its only 'wind' references are in the §5.21 climatic-findings narrative supporting the WUI/fire-hazard amendments, not a structural wind-speed certification.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No, for a standard rooftop retrofit on RE/R-1/R-2/R-4/HR-zoned parcels
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Article VI (Residential Districts, §§25.39-25.50) and Article XIX (General Provisions) were control-checked for 'solar' (positive controls 'height'/'setback' both hit; fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned zero) with zero solar-specific use-permit trigger found; §25.52's residential-zones permit-requirements chart likewise has zero 'solar' hits (control-checked against 'accessory'/'height').
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-6059
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No codified kW cap found
Why the confidence is not higherA full-text search of the codified 2025 code-adoption chapter (RBMC Ch. 5, Art. II, ~70,000 characters extracted) for '10 kW', '10kW', '30 kW' and 'kilowatt' returned zero hits; the only solar-specific local text (§5.24(D), CRC R109.1.6.3) refers generically to 'small residential rooftop solar energy system eligible for expedited review' without restating a numeric threshold, relying on the state statutory definition instead.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective 1/1/2026 80% · municipal code
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), based on the 2024 IBC, effective 1/1/2026 95% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 IFC, effective 1/1/2026 95% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The unamended 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) 78% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback/pathway amendment found 70% · municipal code (absence)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the unamended 2025 California Electrical Code; no local amendment addressing rapid shutdown was found 70% · municipal code (absence)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No AHJ-specific placard beyond the unamended state code baseline (CEC 690.13/690.56, CFC 605.11 disconnect/warning labels) 68% · municipal code (absence)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 68% · municipal code (absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No local letter-height/colour/material spec found 68% · municipal code (absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No local battery/ESS-specific fire-code amendment found; governed by the unamended 2025 CFC (Ch. 12) and 2025 CRC (R327) baseline 68% · municipal code (absence)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes (by inference) 52% · municipal code (inference)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No 72% · municipal code (absence)
20 questions answered against City of Red Bluff’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective 1/1/2026
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.25 adopts the 2025 CEC by reference with no listed local amendments. NOTE: the city's own §5.21 findings state the 2025 CEC 'is based on the 2020 National Electrical Code (NFPA)' — this is recorded as written, but appears to be a drafting error: the 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NFPA 70 statewide.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), based on the 2024 IBC, effective 1/1/2026
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.23, Ord. 1091 passed 11-18-2025; amlegal's own currency banner confirms 'Local legislation current through Ord. 1098, passed 6-16-2026.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 IFC, effective 1/1/2026
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.31, Ord. 1091 passed 11-18-2025.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §§5.22-5.34 each carry city amendments (enforcement authority moved to the Community Development Director, fee/refund policy, work-without-permit provisions, R109.1.6.3 solar inspection clause, NFPA 13D sprinkler amendments, CFC self-inspection program, fire-hazard-severity-zone map designation, etc.).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The unamended 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3)
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.25 adopts the 2025 CEC 'as if fully set forth' with no subsection amendments listed — unlike §§5.23/5.24/5.26/5.27/5.31 which each carry lettered local amendments, §5.25's text is a plain adoption clause only.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: RBMC §5.25 (CEC adoption) contains a plain adoption-by-reference clause with zero lettered amendments (contrast with §§5.23/5.24/5.31 which list (A)-(J) amendments each); no busbar-sizing or service-upgrade rule (Palm Springs-style) was found anywhere in the code-adoption article.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo mounting-system or attachment-spacing amendment was located in the CBC/CRC local amendments (§§5.23-5.24) or in any published handout; relies on the unamended CBC/CRC and manufacturer ICC-ES listing.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback/pathway amendment found
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: the full CFC local-amendment text (RBMC §5.31, ~32,600 characters, with 56/50/2 real hits for 'fire') returned zero hits for 'setback', 'ridge' or 'pathway'; a residential PV job is governed by the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC baseline pathway rules instead.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the unamended 2025 California Electrical Code; no local amendment addressing rapid shutdown was found
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: zero hits for '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' across the full CEC/CFC local-amendment text; rapid shutdown is a base-code requirement here, not a local add-on.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No AHJ-specific placard beyond the unamended state code baseline (CEC 690.13/690.56, CFC 605.11 disconnect/warning labels)
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: the full CFC local-amendment text (§5.31) has zero hits for 'placard'; the city's Fire Department fee schedule (Exhibit H, dated 2019) likewise has zero PV/ESS/placard line items against many real hazmat/alarm/sprinkler lines, and no PV/solar handout is published.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38 — no placard wording of the authority's own was found anywhere in the CFC/CBC/CRC local amendments or fee schedule.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No local letter-height/colour/material spec found
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence — none of the local amendments or handouts specify letter height, colour or material for a PV/ESS placard.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRBMC §5.31 CFC local amendments (full text read, zero hits for 'placard' or 'facility map') and the Forms & Applications page; no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond the unamended CFC/CEC 705.10 baseline was found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's public Electric Rule 21 tariff PDF (204 pages, downloaded and grepped) — it gives a generic Visible-Disconnect requirement (§H.1.d) but the finer meter-proximity/placard spec is inside PG&E's gated internal Greenbook (TD-2306M, 'See your PG&E Job Owner for access') and could not be retrieved
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRBMC §5.31 CFC amendments and Forms & Applications handouts; no Red-Bluff-specific label-placement rule was found beyond the unamended NEC 690.13/690.56 baseline
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city document was located requiring PV equipment to be on a specific approved list beyond ordinary CEC/UL listing requirements; no solar-specific equipment-approval handout is published.
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No local battery/ESS-specific fire-code amendment found; governed by the unamended 2025 CFC (Ch. 12) and 2025 CRC (R327) baseline
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: zero hits for 'battery', 'energy storage' or 'ESS' across the full CFC local-amendment text (§5.31, ~32,600 characters); the Fire Department fee schedule (Exhibit H) likewise has no battery/ESS line item.
municipal code (absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRBMC §5.31 CFC amendments (zero hits for 'ESS'/'battery'/'energy storage') and the fee schedule Exhibit H (Fire Dept.) which has no ESS line item; no separate ESS permit or inspection process was found
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes (by inference)
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 7's definition of 'STRUCTURES' ('All buildings and structures which by code require a building permit') is broad and there is no PV-specific carve-out anywhere in Ch. 25 (control-checked absent in Articles VI, XIX and XXV); absent an exemption, a ground-mounted array would default to being treated as an accessory structure subject to standard zoning setback/height rules.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1715
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's public Electric Rule 21 tariff (204 pages, downloaded and grepped) and the city's own site — the AC-disconnect/meter-proximity spec sits in PG&E's gated Greenbook document (TD-2306M), not publicly retrievable
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone (dedicated 24-Hour Inspection Line) 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? 24 hours advance notice (approx. 1 business day) 82% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not specified; calls are batched once daily at 7:00 am for the following work day, with no AM/PM window choice mentioned 58% · department page (inference)
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 78% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — self-performed by the City Building Division, consolidated with the Fire Chief for qualifying expedited solar jobs 75% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited review, only one inspection is required (which may be consolidated between the Building Official and Fire Chief); a failed inspection authorizes one follow-up inspection limited to the deficiency. 80% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — not for a qualifying expedited small residential rooftop solar system 78% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Red Bluff on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (Building Final / Certificate of Occupancy) 78% · department handout (PDF)
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (submits the interconnection application to PG&E, typically with proof of the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance attached) 55% · utility tariff
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $180 per inspection (Building Reinspection); Fire re-inspection billed at the Base Hourly Rate of $94/hr 85% · fee schedule (PDF)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Revised plans are resubmitted to Building Division staff and undergo subsequent plan review/field re-inspection until all department comments and conditions are cleared 58% · department handout (PDF)
14 questions answered against City of Red Bluff’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone (dedicated 24-Hour Inspection Line)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Community Development page: 'Building Department 24 Hour Inspection Line ... 530-527-2605 ext. 3069. This line is for messages only and is not answered during the work day.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
24 hours advance notice (approx. 1 business day)
Why the confidence is not higherSame page: '24-hour advance call in is required for inspections. All calls are collected only one time for each work day at 7:00 am.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Not specified; calls are batched once daily at 7:00 am for the following work day, with no AM/PM window choice mentioned
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the same 24-Hour Inspection Line description, which does not offer a window-selection option.
department page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division (Mitchell Dean, Building Inspector/Code Enforcer) performs building/electrical finals in-house; RBMC §5.24(D) additionally allows a 'consolidated inspection by the building official and fire chief' for small residential rooftop solar under the expedited path.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — self-performed by the City Building Division, consolidated with the Fire Chief for qualifying expedited solar jobs
Why the confidence is not higherNo delegation evidence found anywhere in this run; RBMC §5.24(D) names the building official and fire chief as the two possible in-house participants in a consolidated inspection.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for expedited review, only one inspection is required (which may be consolidated between the Building Official and Fire Chief); a failed inspection authorizes one follow-up inspection limited to the deficiency.
Why the confidence is not higherRBMC §5.24(D), CRC R109.1.6.3, added by Ord. 1091 (11-18-2025).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No — not for a qualifying expedited small residential rooftop solar system
Why the confidence is not higherSame §5.24(D) text: 'only one inspection shall be required' for eligible expedited systems, precluding a separate rough-in/mid-roof stage for those jobs.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Community Development page and Building Permit Process handout; neither states explicitly whether the inspector verifies labels/listings as a discrete checklist item
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/index.php
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Applications building-handouts folder, enumerated in full — no published inspection checklist (solar or general) was found among Smoke/CO Affidavit, Encroachment Permit, Mechanical Service Outlet, Site Plan Requirements or Waste Diversion handouts
https://www.cityofredbluff.org/departments/community_development/forms___applications.php
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Process Details PDF and the building-handouts folder; neither states what documents must be physically on site at inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$180 per inspection (Building Reinspection); Fire re-inspection billed at the Base Hourly Rate of $94/hr
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule Exhibit F item 7 'Building Reinspection $180.00 per inspection' (effective 7/1/2024); Exhibit H item 1 'Base Hourly Rate (Plan Check/Inspection/Re-inspection) $94' (effective 7/6/2019).
fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/finance/Schedule%20of%20Fees%20and%20Charges-7.1.24.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Revised plans are resubmitted to Building Division staff and undergo subsequent plan review/field re-inspection until all department comments and conditions are cleared
Why the confidence is not higherGeneric process described in the city's Building Permit Process flowchart ('Subsequent plan reviews ... as necessary to ensure compliance with all previous comments, conditions, and mitigations'); not solar-specific.
department handout (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Building%20Department%20Process%20Details.pdf
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (Building Final / Certificate of Occupancy)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Building Permit Process flowchart: 'Building Final (or Certificate of Occupancy) issued by Building Department following approval by all commenting departments.'
department handout (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofredbluff.org/Departments/community%20development/building%20handouts/Building%20Department%20Process%20Details.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (submits the interconnection application to PG&E, typically with proof of the AHJ's final electrical-inspection clearance attached)
Why the confidence is not higherGeneric PG&E/Rule 21 practice, not a Red Bluff-specific document; no city-side statement on who notifies the utility was found.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Red Bluff against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Red Bluff is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Both
- Why not higher
- RBMC §5.21/§5.23 (amlegal, Ord. 1091, passed 11-18-2025) define the 'Community Development Director' as the Building Official who enforces the adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC for the city; the city's own Community Development page names Beth Lindauer as Community Development Director and Mitchell Dean as Building Inspector/Code Enforcer, both on @cityofredbluff.org with local phone extensions. No delegation to a contract firm was found in the fee schedule's staffing lines, the permit application form, the Forms & Applications page, or the FY2026-27 Adopted Budget — every named person and portal (eTRAKiT, a software vendor, not a staffing firm) is city-side. Fire is a separate but equally in-house city department (RBMC Ch. 8, headed by its own Fire Chief; RBMC §5.31(A) creates a Fire Prevention Division within the City enforcing the CFC). The brief's utility field (PG&E) is CONFIRMED correct, not a municipal-utility case: the city's own FY2026-27 Adopted Budget bills PG&E directly for electric/gas at its own Wastewater Treatment Plant ($431,000), Community Center (~$100,200/yr electric) and Pool — see Q22.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/redbluff/latest/redbluff_ca/0-0-0-1458
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Permit cost
- Approx. $760-$770 building-permit fee on a $20,000 PV system valuation, plus a plan-check deposit of 60% of that fee (~$460); actual cost varies with declared system valuation60%
- Plan review
- Approximately 2-3 weeks for a permitted use requiring no further Planning entitlement62%
- Portal
- eTRAKiT (redb-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT)90%
- Electrical code
- 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), effective 1/1/202680%
- Own placard wording
- No68%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone (dedicated 24-Hour Inspection Line)85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 68%
No
Size, colour & material 68%
No local letter-height/colour/material spec found
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.