City of Rialto
San Bernardino County
City of Rialto is a city authority in the State of California, serving 104,026 residents. 6,644 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 30 calendar days per review cycle (may repeat with each resubmittal). Q18 Where you file — City of Rialto Online Permitting Center (OPC) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov 'self-service' portal at cityofrialtoca-energovweb.tylerhost.net — used for all… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 30 calendar days per review cycle (may repeat with each resubmittal).88% source
- Key document
- authority department page cited by 11 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? No 55% · department page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No stand-alone wind/windstorm certification process; wind loading is addressed through the structural engineering package against ASCE 7-22 design criteria (wind speed varies by risk category and by location north/south of the 210 Freeway). 60% · published handout, dated 1/1/2026
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 55% · department page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 70% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 82% · published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 62% · city form, undated but current per site listing
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Direct OPC route: Engineered Stamped Plans, Engineered Stamped Calcs, Manufacturer's Specifications of products installed, and Main Panel Size shown on plans (MPU plans required even though its permit is separate). SolarAPP+ route: SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist compliance, contractor state license info, and the SolarAPP+-generated approval code submitted through OPC. 90% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only, uploaded as attachments through the Online Permitting Center — no physical/paper copy count is specified anywhere on the Building & Safety, Permits & Plan Review, or Residential Solar pages. 55% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a 'Site Plan with modular layout' is required, showing the panel/module layout on the roof or site. 78% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 65% · published handout, revised Nov 2025
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 60% · department page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required, no minimum-size threshold stated, for the direct-OPC submittal route ('Engineered Stamped Plans' and 'Engineered Stamped Calcs' listed as required documents for any residential solar/battery submittal). Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems, where NREL's automated, prescriptive review substitutes for a stamped structural package. 78% · department page
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Same bundled requirement as the structural stamp (item 13): 'Engineered Stamped Plans/Calcs' required for the direct-OPC route with no stated size threshold; not separately broken out for electrical vs. structural, and not required on the SolarAPP+ track. 62% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? City of Rialto Online Permitting Center (OPC) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov 'self-service' portal at cityofrialtoca-energovweb.tylerhost.net — used for all Building/Electrical/Fire/Planning/Business License permitting; solar additionally routes through NREL's SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for automated plan review before the permit is issued via OPC. 92% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 80% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation-based: Building fees state 'Valuations & fees based on the 1997 Uniform Building Code — Contact Building & Safety for full Code,' plus a flat $23.50 permit issuance fee and a Plan Check fee equal to 100% of the permit fee. 68% · fee schedule, updated 06/30/2022 per its own footer (labelled FY23/'Effective July 2022')
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 85% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 30 calendar days per review cycle (may repeat with each resubmittal). 88% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? A permit lapses to 'Expired' if plans are not resubmitted within 180 days of a corrections request, or if no approved inspection has occurred within 1 year (365 days) of issuance. 85% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 80% · published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit / in parallel with final inspection — the Residential Solar page's own 3-step SolarAPP+ flow has the city issue the permit and schedule inspections before any Edison meter action, and the Inspections/Pre-Construction pages describe the City coordinating an Edison 'meter release' tied to the final inspection (not done Fridays because Edison is closed that day). 58% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Rialto’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Residential Solar page, Building & Safety Division page, and Online Permitting Center all describe Rialto Building & Safety issuing and inspecting residential PV permits directly; no county or other agency named as AHJ for building/electrical.
authority department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherRialto's Community Development/Building & Safety Division issues both building and electrical review for solar itself via OPC or SolarAPP+; Fire Prevention Division (the city's own department, not county) separately reviews/inspects fire-related aspects (e.g. ESS). No delegation to San Bernardino County found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page describes a mandatory permit process (OPC or SolarAPP+) for any residential PV or PV/battery installation; no exemption is stated.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Residential Solar page issues one permit per solar/battery scope of work (kW, modules, batteries, inverters) covering structural+electrical; a Main Panel Upgrade (MPU) is called out as requiring its own SEPARATE permit, implying the base solar permit itself is combined.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ track explicitly requires 'Qualified Licensed Contractors Only (C-10 and C-46)'. The direct OPC route uses the City's standard Owner-Builder/Licensed-Contractor Declaration Form, which is required on 'all permits' per the Building & Safety and Permits & Plan Review pages, implying either path is available outside SolarAPP+.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Pre-Construction Checklist: 'the owner, agent, and/or applicant shall ensure all contractors, sub-contractors...working...in the City of Rialto shall secure a City of Rialto Business License,' tracked via a Sub-Contractor Report Form.
published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Declaration Form (used for permits generally per Building & Safety/Permits & Plan Review pages) includes an Owner-Builder Declaration citing Bus. & Prof. Code §7044 self-build exemption. Not solar-specific confirmation, and SolarAPP+ explicitly requires a licensed C-10/C-46 contractor instead, so this applies to the direct-OPC path only.
city form, undated but current per site listing checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7177/Declaration-Form
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Direct OPC route: Engineered Stamped Plans, Engineered Stamped Calcs, Manufacturer's Specifications of products installed, and Main Panel Size shown on plans (MPU plans required even though its permit is separate). SolarAPP+ route: SolarAPP+ eligibility checklist compliance, contractor state license info, and the SolarAPP+-generated approval code submitted through OPC.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and separately for each pathway on the Residential Solar page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only, uploaded as attachments through the Online Permitting Center — no physical/paper copy count is specified anywhere on the Building & Safety, Permits & Plan Review, or Residential Solar pages.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the entirely portal-based process (OPC tutorials cover 'How to upload Document to a permit application'); the site never states a copy count because there is no paper submittal path described.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a 'Site Plan with modular layout' is required, showing the panel/module layout on the roof or site.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page, Revisions section: 'Site Plan with modular layout is required.' The general B7 handout separately requires a fully-dimensioned plot plan for new construction, but the solar-specific statement is the direct source used here.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated verbatim for solar, but the Residential Solar page requires 'Engineered Stamped Plans' for the direct-OPC route, and the general B7 Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout requires a 'Single line diagram and Load calculations' under its Electrical section — the same plan-set standard Building & Safety applies to electrical scopes.
published handout, revised Nov 2025 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5670/B7---Residential-Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Residential Solar page's requirement for 'Engineered Stamped Calcs' on the direct-OPC route, which would include string/conductor sizing; no solar-specific calculation worksheet was found distinct from the general Electrical Load Calcs Worksheet.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required, no minimum-size threshold stated, for the direct-OPC submittal route ('Engineered Stamped Plans' and 'Engineered Stamped Calcs' listed as required documents for any residential solar/battery submittal). Not required for SolarAPP+-eligible systems, where NREL's automated, prescriptive review substitutes for a stamped structural package.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page lists engineered stamped plans/calcs as required documents for the OPC path but not for the SolarAPP+ path, and SolarAPP+ nationally is designed to avoid requiring a PE stamp for code-compliant prescriptive systems.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Same bundled requirement as the structural stamp (item 13): 'Engineered Stamped Plans/Calcs' required for the direct-OPC route with no stated size threshold; not separately broken out for electrical vs. structural, and not required on the SolarAPP+ track.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page does not separate an electrical-specific PE stamp requirement from the structural one; both are covered by the same 'Engineered Stamped Plans/Calcs' line.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFY23 City Wide Department Fees PDF, Building & Safety Fees section — the document states fees are 'Valuations & fees based on the 1997 Uniform Building Code' and directs applicants to 'Contact Building & Safety for full Code' rather than printing the valuation table or a solar-specific dollar figure. Also checked the Residential Solar page and Forms & Handouts index for a solar-specific fee sheet; none exists.
https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3306/FY23-City-Wide-Department-Fees
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation-based: Building fees state 'Valuations & fees based on the 1997 Uniform Building Code — Contact Building & Safety for full Code,' plus a flat $23.50 permit issuance fee and a Plan Check fee equal to 100% of the permit fee.
Why the confidence is not higherFY23 City Wide Department Fees schedule, Building & Safety Fees section (Ord. 1414, eff. 1/2/2008 for the valuation table; Reso. 5222 for the $23.50 issuance fee). The document itself does not print the 1997 UBC Table 1-A valuation figures — it refers applicants to Building & Safety directly.
fee schedule, updated 06/30/2022 per its own footer (labelled FY23/'Effective July 2022') checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3306/FY23-City-Wide-Department-Fees
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFY23 fee schedule, Building & Safety Fees: 'Plan Check - 100% of Permit Fee' is listed as its own line item separate from the Issuance Fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3306/FY23-City-Wide-Department-Fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
30 calendar days per review cycle (may repeat with each resubmittal).
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permitting Center page: '"In review": Plans are in review with specified departments. Review time is 30 days.' Confirmed independently by the B7 Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout: 'Timeframe for review is 30 calendar days. Plans review timeframe may repeat with each plan review submittal.' Note this is calendar days, not business days.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
A permit lapses to 'Expired' if plans are not resubmitted within 180 days of a corrections request, or if no approved inspection has occurred within 1 year (365 days) of issuance.
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permitting Center 'Permit Status Definitions' table: 'Expired — Plans have not been resubmitted within 180 days or Permit has no approved inspection completed in 1 year.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
City of Rialto Online Permitting Center (OPC) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov 'self-service' portal at cityofrialtoca-energovweb.tylerhost.net — used for all Building/Electrical/Fire/Planning/Business License permitting; solar additionally routes through NREL's SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for automated plan review before the permit is issued via OPC.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page and Online Permitting Center page both describe this two-part flow; the OPC self-service link on department pages resolves to cityofrialtoca-energovweb.tylerhost.net.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOPC page states applicants can apply, upload documents, pay fees, and schedule inspections entirely online; SolarAPP+ track adds an external NREL step but issuance/payment/inspection scheduling all happen in OPC.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherRialto's own Building & Safety Pre-Construction Checklist and Inspections page both name 'Edison' directly ('No meter releases will be done on Fridays due to Edison being closed'). Rialto's Utilities Department page only covers water/sewer service, confirming the city has no municipal electric utility of its own.
published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit / in parallel with final inspection — the Residential Solar page's own 3-step SolarAPP+ flow has the city issue the permit and schedule inspections before any Edison meter action, and the Inspections/Pre-Construction pages describe the City coordinating an Edison 'meter release' tied to the final inspection (not done Fridays because Edison is closed that day).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the sequence described across the Residential Solar and Inspections pages; SCE's own interconnection handbook/Rule 21 documentation was unreachable this session to confirm SCE's side of the sequence independently.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Residential Solar page nor the Planning Division's list of applications (which has no HOA/architectural-review item) mentions an HOA or architectural-review step in the solar permitting sequence.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/265/Planning-Division
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo historic district or historic-preservation program appears in the city's sitemap or on the Planning Division page's list of applications/programs; California Historical Building Code is listed only as an available code option in the Building Code Design Criteria handout, not tied to a designated district in Rialto.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/265/Planning-Division
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No stand-alone wind/windstorm certification process; wind loading is addressed through the structural engineering package against ASCE 7-22 design criteria (wind speed varies by risk category and by location north/south of the 210 Freeway).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Code, Climatic and Geographic Design Criteria handout (ASCE 7-22 wind speed table) and the Pre-Construction Checklist's 'Projects North of the 210 Freeway' Special Wind Region note; neither describes a separate certification akin to a state wind-inspection program.
published handout, dated 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/6166/Current-Building-Code-and-Design-Criteria-2025
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherResidential solar is processed as a ministerial building/electrical permit through OPC or SolarAPP+; the Planning Division's list of discretionary applications (CUP-type items, e.g. Entitlement, Conditional Development, Variance) does not include a category for residential rooftop solar.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/265/Planning-Division
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Residential Solar page, Building Code Design Criteria handout, and Planning Division applications list for a residential system-size cap; none published. Sizing/interconnection limits would sit with SCE's Rule 21 tariff/NEM successor tariff, which was unreachable this session (SharePoint SSO redirect on the ESR link; no working direct or Wayback capture of Rule 21 found).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as adopted/amended in the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 2026. 88% · published handout, dated 02/2026
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (adopted alongside the 2025 CA Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green/Historical/Existing Building Codes and the 2024 IPMC). 92% · published handout, dated 1/1/2026
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026. 75% · department page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 82% · published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026
- What is the installation judged against? The current California Building Code, California Electrical Code, and California Fire Code (2025 cycle, effective 1/1/2026) as locally amended, plus the Rialto Municipal Code. 85% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Rialto on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (in force from 1 Jan 2026). 68% · published handout, dated 02/2026
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Baseline NEC/CEC Article 690 & 705 placards (PV disconnect identification, rapid-shutdown label, AC/DC disconnect labeling, point-of-interconnection marking) apply through the city's adoption of the 2025 CEC; no additional city-specific placard specification document was found. 55% · absence proven across department page + handout list; positive-control term 'business license' and fabricated-control term 'zzqqx' both behaved as expected in t
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 62% · absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by the city 55% · absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not confirmed as a field placard: the city requires a 'Site Plan with modular layout' as a plan-check SUBMITTAL document for solar (per the Residential Solar page), but no source found requires an equivalent physical facility-map placard mounted at the equipment beyond the baseline NEC 705.10 requirement. 50% · department page
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified by the city beyond the baseline CEC Article 690/705 requirement that labels be placed at each disconnecting means and point of interconnection; no Rialto-specific siting rule was found. 50% · absence proven across department page + handout list
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No city-maintained approved-equipment list found; standard code-listing (UL/NRTL) applies through the adopted 2025 CEC. SolarAPP+ track additionally restricts eligible system types (e.g. no BIPV, no ballasted systems) but that is NREL's national eligibility screen, not a Rialto equipment list. 50% · department page
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — batteries/ESS are permitted together with solar under a combined 'Solar/Battery' scope of work on both the direct-OPC and SolarAPP+ tracks (the application asks for '# of batteries'). Energy Storage is, however, separately listed as its own permit type distinct from Solar in the Pre-Construction Checklist, and requires its own separate permit. 78% · department page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 80% · published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No published local rule beyond requiring a Main Panel Upgrade (MPU) to be its own separate permit from the solar/battery permit; no local amendment to NEC 705.12 busbar/120%-rule sizing was found. 60% · department page
20 questions answered against City of Rialto’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as adopted/amended in the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Electrical Load Calcs Worksheet is headed '2025 CEC 220.82' and dated 02/2026; the Building Code, Climatic and Geographic Design Criteria handout separately lists '2025 California Electrical Code' among the codes in force from 1/1/2026. The 2025 CEC cycle is based on the 2023 NEC.
published handout, dated 02/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8121/Electrical-Load-Calcs-Worksheet
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (adopted alongside the 2025 CA Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green/Historical/Existing Building Codes and the 2024 IPMC).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Code, Climatic and Geographic Design Criteria handout lists this full code set with an effective date of 1/1/2026; corroborated by the Building & Safety Division page's own banner: '2025 Building Standards January 1, 2026.'
published handout, dated 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/6166/Current-Building-Code-and-Design-Criteria-2025
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherFire Prevention Division page carries the same '2025 Building Standards January 1, 2026' banner as the Building & Safety Division page. The Building Code Design Criteria handout does not itself list the CFC by name (it lists CBC/CRC/CEC/CMC/CPC/Energy/WUI/CALGreen/Historical/Existing-Building), so this is inferred from the Fire Prevention Division's own adoption notice rather than a single document naming the CFC explicitly.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/918/Fire-Prevention-Division
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Pre-Construction Checklist cites a local amendment to the California Fire Code: fire apparatus access roadway turnaround requirements 'pursuant to the California Fire Code, Chapter 5 & Appendix D and as amended locally by Ordinance No. 1706.'
published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The current California Building Code, California Electrical Code, and California Fire Code (2025 cycle, effective 1/1/2026) as locally amended, plus the Rialto Municipal Code.
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permitting Center page: 'The Building Department handles plan check, permits, and inspections for Building Permits within the City of Rialto in compliance with the California Building Code, the Rialto Municipal Code, and other local regulations.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No published local rule beyond requiring a Main Panel Upgrade (MPU) to be its own separate permit from the solar/battery permit; no local amendment to NEC 705.12 busbar/120%-rule sizing was found.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page states plainly, in both submittal tracks, 'No Main Panel Upgrades, City of Rialto requires a separate permit,' but no additional busbar-sizing amendment was located in the documents reviewed (Pre-Construction Checklist, B7 handout, Design Criteria handout).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Forms & Handouts (865) — no PV-specific mounting/attachment-spacing handout exists among the listed forms/handouts (block wall, patio cover, and roof-framing handouts exist for other trades but none for solar racking); also checked the Residential Solar page and both Pre-Construction Checklists.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building & Safety Pre-Construction Checklist and Fire Pre-Construction Checklist for a ridge-setback/roof-access-pathway table; the only fire-access dimension found concerns ground-level fire-apparatus roadway design (150 ft/12% grade), not roof pathway/ridge setback. CFC 605.11 (the section that would carry these dimensions) is ICC-copyrighted model-code text and not reproduced in any Rialto-published document found.
https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (in force from 1 Jan 2026).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the city's adoption of the 2025 CEC (Electrical Load Calcs Worksheet and Design Criteria handout); no Rialto-specific document was found stating the rapid-shutdown requirement in those words — this is code-adoption inference, not a local restatement of 690.12.
published handout, dated 02/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8121/Electrical-Load-Calcs-Worksheet
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Baseline NEC/CEC Article 690 & 705 placards (PV disconnect identification, rapid-shutdown label, AC/DC disconnect labeling, point-of-interconnection marking) apply through the city's adoption of the 2025 CEC; no additional city-specific placard specification document was found.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Residential Solar page, both Pre-Construction Checklists, and both Forms & Handouts pages (865, 978) for a placard/label handout — none exists. Grepped extracted text of every downloaded PDF for 'placard'/'label'; the only hit was an unrelated disabled-parking-placard fee line.
absence proven across department page + handout list; positive-control term 'business license' and fabricated-control term 'zzqqx' both behaved as expected in t checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo placard-wording document found on the Residential Solar page, either Pre-Construction Checklist, or either Forms & Handouts index (865, 978).
absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/865/Forms-Handouts-Links
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the city
Why the confidence is not higherSame search as items 38–39 (Forms & Handouts indexes, Residential Solar page, both Pre-Construction Checklists) turned up no letter-height/colour/material specification for solar placards.
absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/865/Forms-Handouts-Links
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not confirmed as a field placard: the city requires a 'Site Plan with modular layout' as a plan-check SUBMITTAL document for solar (per the Residential Solar page), but no source found requires an equivalent physical facility-map placard mounted at the equipment beyond the baseline NEC 705.10 requirement.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page, Revisions section, is the only mention of a modular/site layout plan, and it is presented as a submittal item, not an installed placard.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Electrical Service Requirements (ESR) page (linked from Rialto's own Forms & Handouts index) provides only a SharePoint URL (edisonintl.sharepoint.com) that requires authenticated SSO login. Direct guesses at sce.com PDF paths returned 404, and CDX/Wayback searches for the SCE Rule 21/ESR/DG-manual PDFs at wwwsysb.sce.com and sce.com returned either no captures or only pre-2006 tariff snapshots — none usable for current utility-specific placard requirements.
https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the city beyond the baseline CEC Article 690/705 requirement that labels be placed at each disconnecting means and point of interconnection; no Rialto-specific siting rule was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSame document set checked for items 38–41 contains no city-specific label-placement rule.
absence proven across department page + handout list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No city-maintained approved-equipment list found; standard code-listing (UL/NRTL) applies through the adopted 2025 CEC. SolarAPP+ track additionally restricts eligible system types (e.g. no BIPV, no ballasted systems) but that is NREL's national eligibility screen, not a Rialto equipment list.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page's SolarAPP+ eligibility bullets ('No building-integrated photovoltaic systems (BIPV)', 'No ballasted systems') are the closest equivalent found; no separate city equipment list exists.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — batteries/ESS are permitted together with solar under a combined 'Solar/Battery' scope of work on both the direct-OPC and SolarAPP+ tracks (the application asks for '# of batteries'). Energy Storage is, however, separately listed as its own permit type distinct from Solar in the Pre-Construction Checklist, and requires its own separate permit.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Solar page repeatedly frames the submittal as 'Solar or Solar/Battery'; the Pre-Construction Checklist lists 'Energy Storage' as a separate bullet from 'Solar' under 'Other permits required.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/871/Residential-Solar
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Pre-Construction Checklist lists 'Energy Storage' as its own line item, separate from 'Solar,' under components/building elements that 'require their own permit.'
published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Residential Solar page, Building Code Design Criteria handout, B7 Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements, and both Forms & Handouts indexes for ground-mount-specific guidance; none address whether a ground-mounted PV array is treated as an accessory structure for setback/permit purposes.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Electrical Service Requirements page only offers the SharePoint SSO-gated PDF (see item 42); no Rialto-side document (Residential Solar page, Pre-Construction Checklist, B7 handout) specifies AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter.
https://www.sce.com/regulatory/distribution-manuals/electrical-service-requirements
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? 2–3 business days advance notice requested; next-day inspection requests cut off at 3:00 PM. 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM (8am–12pm) or PM (12pm–5pm) windows only, assigned the morning of the inspection; no true same-day booking (next-day earliest, cut off 3pm the day before), and no meter releases at all on Fridays because Edison is closed. 82% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; Building & Safety Division performs its own final inspections for residential solar. (Fire Prevention Division, also an in-house city department, separately inspects fire-related scopes such as ESS.) 78% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No dedicated rough-in/mid-roof inspection is described for a standard rooftop-retrofit solar permit — the Inspections and Pre-Construction Checklist pages describe a single inspection-to-final/meter-release cycle for permits generally, with no solar-specific rough stage named. 52% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated solar inspection checklist found — only Pre-Construction Checklists (Building and Fire), which apply before construction begins, not at inspection. 60% · absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved, printed set of plans (24x36 if approved electronically) must be on site and available to the inspector; an adult (18+) must be present for interior-space inspections. 88% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (inferred) 55% · inference from code adoption, not a direct department statement
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? 'Finaled' status in OPC (a final sign-off equivalent, not a new Certificate of Occupancy for a solar retrofit on an existing single-family home). 68% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? AHJ facilitates the physical meter action (Building & Safety coordinates an Edison 'meter release' tied to the final inspection, and does not submit these on Fridays because Edison is closed); the installer separately handles SCE's Rule 21 interconnection agreement/PTO paperwork, which is a utility-side process this session could not independently verify. 55% · published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 + inference (utility-side source unreachable)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are flagged in OPC and colour-coded by department on the plan set ('redlines': Building & Safety = purple, Fire = red, Planning = green, Public Works = blue, Utilities = orange); the applicant clears them by resubmitting through OPC, often using the city's Correction Response Sheet form. 82% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Rialto’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Inspections page and Pre-Construction Checklist direct applicants to request inspections through the Online Permitting Center (OPC); a Tyler EnerGov self-service link for 'Today's Inspections' is provided from the same pages.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/195/Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
2–3 business days advance notice requested; next-day inspection requests cut off at 3:00 PM.
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'We ask that you schedule 2 or 3 business days in advance...If the inspection is available for the next day the cut off time for scheduling is 3pm.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/195/Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM (8am–12pm) or PM (12pm–5pm) windows only, assigned the morning of the inspection; no true same-day booking (next-day earliest, cut off 3pm the day before), and no meter releases at all on Fridays because Edison is closed.
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page and Pre-Construction Checklist both state the AM/PM window structure and the Friday/Edison meter-release restriction in identical language.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/195/Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division page states inspectors are city staff available by phone 7–8am and 5–6pm daily, and the OPC/Inspections pages describe Building & Safety scheduling and performing the inspection directly — no third-party or delegated inspection agency is named for standard building/electrical/solar work.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/192/Building-Safety-Division
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; Building & Safety Division performs its own final inspections for residential solar. (Fire Prevention Division, also an in-house city department, separately inspects fire-related scopes such as ESS.)
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as item 52; no delegation to San Bernardino County or a third-party inspection agency appears anywhere in the Building & Safety, Fire, or OPC materials reviewed.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/192/Building-Safety-Division
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Inspections page and both Pre-Construction Checklists for a numbered inspection-stage sequence specific to solar; all three describe the booking/access/re-inspection process generically but do not enumerate ordered inspection stages (e.g. rough vs. final) for any permit type, solar included.
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No dedicated rough-in/mid-roof inspection is described for a standard rooftop-retrofit solar permit — the Inspections and Pre-Construction Checklist pages describe a single inspection-to-final/meter-release cycle for permits generally, with no solar-specific rough stage named.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any rough/mid-roof stage in the Inspections page or either Pre-Construction Checklist; neither document lists inspection stages by permit type, so this is an inference from a generic process description rather than a solar-specific statement.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/195/Inspections
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated as a discrete checklist item, but verifying labels/listings is inherent to a code-compliance final inspection under the adopted 2025 CEC (Art. 690/705); no Rialto document was found that separately confirms or denies this practice.
inference from code adoption, not a direct department statement checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8121/Electrical-Load-Calcs-Worksheet
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated solar inspection checklist found — only Pre-Construction Checklists (Building and Fire), which apply before construction begins, not at inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherChecked both Forms & Handouts indexes (865, 978) in full; no item titled as an inspection checklist exists, solar-specific or general.
absence proven — Forms, Handouts & Links index checked in full checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/865/Forms-Handouts-Links
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved, printed set of plans (24x36 if approved electronically) must be on site and available to the inspector; an adult (18+) must be present for interior-space inspections.
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'The approved set of plans must be on site...a hard copy of the plans must be made available to the inspector'; 'An adult (18 years or older) must be present to allow inspections for interior spaces.' Pre-Construction Checklist specifies the 24x36 print size.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/195/Inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFY23 City Wide Department Fees PDF lists a 'Reinspections' line item under Building & Safety Fees with a resolution/date citation (Reso. 5222, 5/3/2005) but no dollar amount printed — the amount column is blank for that row, unlike most other rows on the same page.
https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3306/FY23-City-Wide-Department-Fees
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are flagged in OPC and colour-coded by department on the plan set ('redlines': Building & Safety = purple, Fire = red, Planning = green, Public Works = blue, Utilities = orange); the applicant clears them by resubmitting through OPC, often using the city's Correction Response Sheet form.
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permitting Center page's status table ('Corrections Required') and its redline-colour-key section list this directly; the Correction Response Sheet form is listed on the Forms & Handouts index.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
'Finaled' status in OPC (a final sign-off equivalent, not a new Certificate of Occupancy for a solar retrofit on an existing single-family home).
Why the confidence is not higherOPC 'Permit Status Definitions' table: 'Finaled — Final inspection has been completed[,] project has been Finaled.' No separate CO process is described for solar-only permits on an existing residence.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/913/Online-Permitting-Center
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
AHJ facilitates the physical meter action (Building & Safety coordinates an Edison 'meter release' tied to the final inspection, and does not submit these on Fridays because Edison is closed); the installer separately handles SCE's Rule 21 interconnection agreement/PTO paperwork, which is a utility-side process this session could not independently verify.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Pre-Construction Checklist / Inspections page language about Edison meter releases tied to final inspection; SCE's own interconnection handbook and Rule 21 tariff were both unreachable this session (SharePoint SSO redirect and Wayback captures failed), so the utility side of this answer is not independently confirmed.
published handout, revision stamp 1/1/2026 + inference (utility-side source unreachable) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rialtoca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/8128/BS-Pre-Construction-Checklist
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Rialto against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Rialto is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical (Community Development Dept./Building & Safety Division), plus its own Fire Prevention Division for fire-related plan review/inspection (e.g. ESS, fire-access)
- Overridden by
- California Building Standards Code (Title 24, 2025 cycle) sets the code baseline the city applies; SCE governs interconnection timing/PTO under its own Rule 21 tariff (unreachable this session); CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (ministerial/expedited solar permitting) is reflected in the city's adoption of SolarAPP+ as one of its two permitting tracks.
- Why not higher
- City's Residential Solar, Building & Safety Division, Permits & Plan Review, Inspections, and Online Permitting Center pages consistently describe the City of Rialto's own Community Development/Building & Safety Division issuing, plan-checking, and inspecting residential solar permits directly (via OPC and/or SolarAPP+), with no county or other agency named. The Fire Department is Rialto's own department (5 fire stations, its own Fire Chief) — not a county or regional fire authority — so Fire Prevention Division's construction-permit/inspection role (Fire-Construction-Permits-Plan-Review, Fire-Construction-Inspections pages) also sits with the city, not San Bernardino County.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Plan review
- 30 calendar days per review cycle (may repeat with each resubmittal).88%
- Portal
- City of Rialto Online Permitting Center (OPC) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov 'self-service' portal at cityofrialtoca-energovweb.tylerhost.net — used for all…92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as adopted/amended in the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective 1 Jan 2026.88%
- Own placard wording
- No62%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 62%
No
Size, colour & material 55%
Not specified by the city
Where they go 50%
Not specified by the city beyond the baseline CEC Article 690/705 requirement that labels be placed at each disconnecting means and point of interconnection; no Rialto-specific siting rule was found.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.