City of Rio Vista

Solano County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Rio Vista is a city authority in the State of California, serving 10,005 residents. 2,605 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Real-time/same-day via SolarAPP+ for eligible systems (automated review at solarapp.nrel.gov, Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible small residential rooftop solar; MaintStar Online Permit Application Portal (h8.maintstar.co/riovista/Portal) for… Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
No fixed dollar figure: billed on a time-and-materials basis. 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems: Consultant Plan Review' = actual contractor cost + $35 administration fee;78% source
Plan review turnaround
Real-time/same-day via SolarAPP+ for eligible systems (automated review at solarapp.nrel.gov, followed by City verification of the approval document 'for accuracy').72% source
Key document
fee schedule + department FAQ (internal inference, flagged rather than resolved) cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? For the SolarAPP+ path: a SolarAPP+ Approval Document plus equipment specifications, emailed to buildingpermits@ci.rio-vista.ca.us along with the City's Building Permit Application. Every solar permit application (SolarAPP+ or standard) must also confirm an 811/USA-North underground service-alert notification was made before any excavation, 'even if it's only for a grounding rod', per a note printed directly on the City's Building Permit Application form. 70% · department page + search-indexed excerpt of permit application PDF
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Not stated by the City in its own words; likely required indirectly because SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov), which the City requires for its expedited path, itself performs string/conductor sizing calculations as part of its standard automated review. 55% · inference from linked third-party program (SolarAPP+)
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible small residential rooftop solar; MaintStar Online Permit Application Portal (h8.maintstar.co/riovista/Portal) for standard building permits generally. 88% · department page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Partially 65% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? No fixed dollar figure: billed on a time-and-materials basis. 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems: Consultant Plan Review' = actual contractor cost + $35 administration fee; 'Solar - Building Permit (if required)' and 'Solar - Electrical Permit' = each billed at 'the currently adopted Employee Billable Rate for Building Inspector' + $35 administration fee. 78% · fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09)
    • How is the fee calculated? Not one of the listed options (Flat/Valuation/Per kW/Per panel/Tiered) -- Solar permits are billed on a time-and-materials basis (actual contractor cost, or the City's hourly Employee Billable Rate for Building Inspector) plus a flat $35 administration fee per component (plan review, building permit, electrical permit). 82% · fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09)
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09)
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Real-time/same-day via SolarAPP+ for eligible systems (automated review at solarapp.nrel.gov, followed by City verification of the approval document 'for accuracy'). For standard plan-checked permits generally (not solar-specific), the Building Permit FAQs state 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days; Major projects 15-30 working days.' 72% · department page + department FAQ
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 80% · City adopted budget document (found via site search)

28 questions answered against City of Rio Vista’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Division processes residential solar permits directly (SolarAPP+ page, Building Permit FAQs listing 'Photovoltaic systems' among work requiring a City permit); no evidence of delegation to Solano County.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Master/Building Fee Schedule (Res. 2009-127) itemizes both a 'Solar - Building Permit (if required)' and a 'Solar - Electrical Permit' line, both billed and processed by the City itself; no delegation to another agency was found anywhere in the site's own pages.

fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQs explicitly lists 'Photovoltaic systems' among the construction activities requiring a City building permit.

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Fee Schedule lists 'Solar - Building Permit (if required)' and 'Solar - Electrical Permit' as two separately priced line items under one 'Solar' category, and the general Building FAQ states an electrical permit's fee 'may be added to' a building permit so 'a separate electrical permit is not required' when performed together -- suggesting one combined permit process with itemized cost components rather than two distinct permit numbers. This is inferred, not stated outright for solar specifically, so confidence is capped.

fee schedule + department FAQ (internal inference, flagged rather than resolved) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQs: 'A building permit may be applied for and obtained by the parcel owner, licensed contractor, or with an authorization letter...' -- no restriction to a licensed electrician specifically. The SolarAPP+ path additionally requires the applicant be 'a licensed contractor registered with SolarAPP+', but that is only one of two available application routes.

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQs states plainly: 'All contractors and subcontractors performing work in the City of Rio Vista must possess a current City of Rio Vista business license.' The SolarAPP+ eligibility page repeats this specifically for solar ('Must have a current Business License with the City of Rio Vista').

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQs: 'A building permit may be applied for and obtained by the parcel owner, licensed contractor, or with an authorization letter and proof of current Workers' Compensation insurance...' -- the parcel-owner path is a general owner-builder route available for residential work, and nothing in the FAQ or the SolarAPP+ page excludes solar from it (the SolarAPP+ path specifically requires a licensed contractor, but that is a separate, optional expedited route).

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

For the SolarAPP+ path: a SolarAPP+ Approval Document plus equipment specifications, emailed to buildingpermits@ci.rio-vista.ca.us along with the City's Building Permit Application. Every solar permit application (SolarAPP+ or standard) must also confirm an 811/USA-North underground service-alert notification was made before any excavation, 'even if it's only for a grounding rod', per a note printed directly on the City's Building Permit Application form.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page names the SolarAPP+ Approval Document + Specifications as required documents. The 811/grounding-rod language was recovered only from the site search engine's indexed text of the Building Permit Application PDF (dated 1/1/21) -- the PDF itself could not be rendered/extracted directly because riovistacity.com is behind a Cloudflare challenge that blocks direct downloads of /media/* paths, and headless-Chrome print-to-pdf of that URL only captured a blank placeholder page, so this is quoted from a search-index snippet rather than the full document text.

department page + search-indexed excerpt of permit application PDF checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs, Building page, SolarAPP+ page, and Standard Building Permit Submittal Requirements page (all fetched via rendered browser since riovistacity.com sits behind a Cloudflare JS challenge) -- none states a specific number of plan-set copies or a paper/digital format requirement for solar submittals. The actual Building Permit Application PDF that might specify this could not be downloaded or rendered (Cloudflare blocks direct fetch of /media/* paths; headless-Chrome print-to-pdf of the same URL returned only a blank placeholder page).

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs ('What plans are required' list includes 'Site plan' for larger projects generally, not solar-specifically) and the SolarAPP+ page (lists only 'SolarAPP+ Approval Document' and 'Specifications' as required documents, not a site plan by name). No City document confirms whether a site plan is required for solar specifically or what it must show.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Building Permit FAQs, and site-search results for 'single line diagram' (returned no relevant City document) -- no City page states a one-line/three-line diagram requirement in its own words. SolarAPP+'s national intake process is understood to require one, but that is inferred from the third-party program, not stated by the City.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=single%20line%20diagram

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Not stated by the City in its own words; likely required indirectly because SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov), which the City requires for its expedited path, itself performs string/conductor sizing calculations as part of its standard automated review.

Why the confidence is not higherNo Rio Vista page or form states this requirement directly; inferred from what the SolarAPP+ national tool (which the City's own page directs applicants to) requires as part of its standard intake, not from a City-specific statement.

inference from linked third-party program (SolarAPP+) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs (covers plan-drawing eligibility by license type and general re-roof structural-calc triggers, but no PV-specific structural PE-stamp threshold) and site-search for 'wet stamp' (only hit was for in-ground pools/spas, not solar).

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=wet%20stamp

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs, Construction Permitting page, and site-search for 'electrical engineer' and 'PE stamp' -- no threshold or requirement found for a licensed electrical engineer's stamp on residential solar submittals.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

No fixed dollar figure: billed on a time-and-materials basis. 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems: Consultant Plan Review' = actual contractor cost + $35 administration fee; 'Solar - Building Permit (if required)' and 'Solar - Electrical Permit' = each billed at 'the currently adopted Employee Billable Rate for Building Inspector' + $35 administration fee.

Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the City's Building Fee Schedule page (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09, still the current page linked from the live 'Building and Planning Fee Schedule' nav item). The underlying hourly 'Employee Billable Rate' figure itself sits in a separate 'Employee Billable Rates' PDF (826 KB) that could not be downloaded this run because riovistacity.com's Cloudflare protection blocks direct PDF fetches and headless-Chrome print-to-pdf of that document did not render its content -- so the schedule's structure is confirmed but the current dollar-per-hour rate is not.

fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Not one of the listed options (Flat/Valuation/Per kW/Per panel/Tiered) -- Solar permits are billed on a time-and-materials basis (actual contractor cost, or the City's hourly Employee Billable Rate for Building Inspector) plus a flat $35 administration fee per component (plan review, building permit, electrical permit).

Why the confidence is not higherSame source as Q15; every non-solar permit type in the same schedule (e.g. standard building permits) IS valuation-based, but the 'Solar' category is carved out separately and priced by billable hour/actual cost instead.

fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule lists 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems: Consultant Plan Review' (billed at actual contractor cost + $35 admin fee) as a distinct line item, separate from the 'Solar - Building Permit' and 'Solar - Electrical Permit' lines.

fee schedule (Resolution No. 2009-127, dated 12/17/09) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Real-time/same-day via SolarAPP+ for eligible systems (automated review at solarapp.nrel.gov, followed by City verification of the approval document 'for accuracy'). For standard plan-checked permits generally (not solar-specific), the Building Permit FAQs state 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days; Major projects 15-30 working days.'

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page describes the automated-review step as real-time and states the City then verifies submittals and emails a fee amount, without giving its own turnaround figure for that verification step. The 5-10/15-30 working-day figures come from the City's general (non-solar-specific) Building Permit FAQ.

department page + department FAQ checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs' extension question ('A permit extension must be completed and approved prior to the expiration of the permit... a one-time additional 6 months may be granted') implies but never states the base validity period before that extension is needed; no other City page states it.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible small residential rooftop solar; MaintStar Online Permit Application Portal (h8.maintstar.co/riovista/Portal) for standard building permits generally.

Why the confidence is not higherBoth are named and linked directly from the City's own Building and Permit-Application-Online-Portal pages.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/permit-application-online-portal

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Partially

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ automates the technical plan review online, but the City's own page then requires the applicant to separately email the Building Permit Application and the SolarAPP+ Approval Document to buildingpermits@ci.rio-vista.ca.us, after which staff verify it, email back a fee amount, and require payment by counter pickup or a mailed check ('Payment is in cash or check only' per the Building page) before the permit is emailed -- so issuance and payment are not completed online.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own adopted budget documents (e.g. the FY2024-25 Budget Study Session materials) carry a revenue line item titled 'Franchise Fees - PG&E,' which is only collected from the utility holding the franchise to operate within City limits -- a first-party City-side confirmation rather than a third-party lookup tool. Not higher because I did not independently open PG&E's own service-territory map.

City adopted budget document (found via site search) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=PG%26E

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Building page, and site-search for 'PG&E' and 'interconnection' -- no City page describes where PG&E interconnection sits relative to the City's permit sequence (before/after/parallel). This is a utility-side (PG&E Rule 21/DG) process not published by the City, and PG&E's own interconnection handbook was not fetched this run.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedZoning Compliance page and Building Permit FAQs, plus site-search for 'HOA' and 'architectural review' -- no City page states an HOA or architectural-review requirement specific to solar (California's Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714, separately limits what an HOA may require statewide, but that is state law, not a City requirement, and was not surfaced in any City document this run).

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/zoning-compliance

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedZoning Compliance page and site-search for 'historic district' -- hits returned only general-plan/EIR discussion of the town's historic character, none naming a historic-district design-review trigger for solar or PV installations.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=historic%20district

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedConstruction Permitting page and site-search for 'windstorm' -- the only hits were airport liability-waiver boilerplate ('by reason of fire, theft, vandalism, windstorm, flood...'), unrelated to building/solar permitting. No wind-design-criteria handout or windstorm-certification program was found published by the City.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=windstorm

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedZoning Compliance page (describes Planning Commission review for 'commercial or non-standard residential construction' generally) and Building Permit FAQs -- neither names solar specifically as triggering a Special Use Permit or Council approval.

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/zoning-compliance

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ eligibility list (limits use of that specific expedited path to 'Main Dwelling Rooftop, Permitted structures only' and excludes main-service-panel changes, but states no kW ceiling), Building Fee Schedule (no kW break point in the Solar fee lines), and site-search for 'kW' -- no citywide residential system-size cap was found.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    Nothing recorded for City of Rio Vista on this step yet — 5 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Rio Vista on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    Nothing recorded for City of Rio Vista on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of Rio Vista on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    Nothing recorded for City of Rio Vista on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

20 questions answered against City of Rio Vista’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedThe City's live 'Construction Permitting' page (states codes are 'reviewed and updated annually' but names the 2007 CCR Title 24 cycle) and a second City page found via site search ('Fee Schedules', Finance Department) which instead names the 2013 CCR cycle in the same boilerplate paragraph -- the City's own published descriptions conflict and are both clearly stale relative to the current 2025 cycle (2023 NEC basis) that took effect statewide 1 Jan 2026. I could not reach the current adopting ordinance itself: Rio Vista's municipal code is hosted on eCode360 (RI4996), whose table-of-contents is a JavaScript single-page app that did not expose Title 15 chapter content to the rendering tools available this run (only top-level title names/section ranges loaded, e.g. 'Title 15 Buildings and Construction, §15.04.010-§15.20.080', with no chapter-level detail). Value given in the answer above rests on the statewide-mandatory-baseline inference, not a Rio Vista ordinance citation, and confidence is set accordingly (not a bare 'not found', but not a city-sourced fact either) -- listed here to be transparent that the specific adopting ordinance number was not located.

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/construction-permitting-0

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame investigation as Q29: the City's live 'Construction Permitting' page names the 2007 CCR Title 24 cycle for 'California Building Code' among others; a second City page (Finance Department 'Fee Schedules', same boilerplate paragraph) instead names the 2013 cycle. Both are clearly stale relative to the current statewide 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC), effective 1 Jan 2026. Rio Vista's municipal code (eCode360, RI4996) did not expose Title 15 chapter-level content to the rendering tools available this run -- only the title name and section range ('Title 15 Buildings and Construction, §15.04.010-§15.20.080') loaded; the chapter tree appears to require in-app navigation/AJAX calls that a headless dump-dom pass does not trigger. The specific adopting ordinance was not located.

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/construction-permitting-0

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame investigation as Q29/Q30 -- the 'Construction Permitting' page lists 'California Fire Code' among the adopted codes (2007 cycle reference, stale) but the current cycle/local amendments could not be confirmed via eCode360's JavaScript table of contents this run. Rio Vista Fire Department's own 'Fire Department Standards' series (numbered 3.x/4.x) covers apparatus access, weed abatement, hydrants, above-ground tanks, etc., but none of the numbered standards found via site search addresses PV/ESS or references a specific CFC edition.

https://www.riovistacity.com/fire

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedThe 'Construction Permitting' page states codes are 'reviewed and updated annually' but does not itself describe any local amendments to the adopted state codes, and the actual Title 15 chapter text (where local amendments would be codified) was not reachable through eCode360's JavaScript-rendered table of contents this run (see Q29/Q30 notes for the retrieval limitation).

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/construction-permitting-0

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs states generally that 'The City of Rio Vista inspects to the minimum standards of the California Standards Building Codes,' but does not name a specific code edition or cite IEEE/UL/CPUC-type standards the way some comparable cities' solar ordinances do. Because the underlying code-edition question (Q29-31) could not be confirmed this run, I am not asserting a specific 'judged against' standard beyond this generic City statement.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedConstruction Permitting page and site-search for 'busbar' and 'service upgrade' -- no local amendment on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rules found; only a general FAQ note that 'Upgrading or replacement of electrical service panels' requires a permit, with no technical rule stated.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs, SolarAPP+ page -- neither states a mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement. The Building Permit Application PDF that might contain this (as it does in comparable cities) could not be downloaded or rendered this run (Cloudflare blocks direct fetch; headless-Chrome print-to-pdf returned a blank placeholder).

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-application-residential

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'ridge setback', 'fire pathway', and 'access pathway' -- no hits naming a City-specific ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway dimension for rooftop PV. Positive control ('solar'/'photovoltaic') returned many relevant hits and fabricated control ('zzqqx') returned zero, confirming the search index itself is working.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=zzqqx

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'rapid shutdown' and '690.12' -- no relevant City hits (the only 'rapid' hits were unrelated Fire Department job-posting physical-requirement boilerplate). No City page states a rapid-shutdown requirement in its own words; it would apply only by reference through the state-adopted NEC, which the City's own code-adoption description could not be current-dated this run (see Q29 not_found note).

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=rapid%20shutdown

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'placard' -- hits were airport parking placards and a Fire Code Variance form's approval stamp, none naming a solar/PV/service-equipment placard. No signage/labelling requirement was found published by the City.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=placard

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no City-specified placard wording found.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=placard

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no letter-height/colour/material specification found in any Rio Vista document reachable this run.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=placard

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and Building Permit FAQs -- neither names a facility-map/site-plan placard (NEC 705.10-style) requirement.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPG&E's own DG interconnection/Greenbook manual was not fetched this run -- utility-level document, out of scope of what the City itself publishes; the City's own pages are silent on utility-specified placards.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no City-specified label-placement location found beyond the general disconnect-location item implicit in a single-line diagram (itself unconfirmed, see Q11).

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=placard

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs, Construction Permitting page, and SolarAPP+ page -- none states an 'approved equipment list' or UL-listing requirement in its own words for solar equipment specifically.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'battery' (30 Fire Department hits, all HR job-posting/FAQ boilerplate about batteries in smoke detectors and vehicles, none about ESS/PV battery storage conditions) and for 'energy storage' -- no City document addresses residential battery/ESS conditions. Positive control ('solar') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') both behaved as expected, confirming the search index works.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=battery

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Fee Schedule -- lists only 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems' fee lines (Consultant Plan Review, Building Permit, Electrical Permit); no separate ESS/battery fee line exists in the same schedule.

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/building-fee-schedule

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'ground mount' -- hits were sign-permit and waste-management pages, none about ground-mounted PV as a structure. Building Permit FAQs' generic 'when is a permit not required' list mentions detached accessory structures/sheds under 120 sq ft but does not address ground-mount solar arrays specifically.

https://www.riovistacity.com/search?text=ground%20mount

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and Building Permit FAQs -- neither states an AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule; this is typically a PG&E Rule 21/service-equipment requirement, and PG&E's own DG manual was not fetched this run.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not solar-specific in the City's own documents. For solar specifically, the SolarAPP+ page implies a single final-inspection visit ('Have your Construction Permit printed and available on-site for an inspector'). For building permits generally, a 'job card' is issued at permit issuance listing inspections 'in chronological order,' and each permit covers a limited number of inspections per category (commonly 2, e.g. 'Foundation inspections: 2 max', 'Under-slab inspection: 2 max'). 58% · department page + department page (inferred, not solar-specific)
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • What must be on site at inspection? The issued Construction/Building Permit, printed and available on-site for the inspector. 78% · department page
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $90 minimum 92% · department policy page
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? The inspector writes a 'Notice of Corrections' identifying the items to fix. Work may not proceed and no further inspections occur until corrections are completed; if a reinspection is needed because work was 'not ready' or corrections were incomplete, a 'Reinspection Fee slip' ($90 minimum) is left at the job site and must be paid -- by 8:30 a.m. the morning of a rescheduled inspection -- before any further inspection will occur. 88% · department policy page + department FAQ page

14 questions answered against City of Rio Vista’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQs: 'You may contact the Building Department at 707-374-6448 to request an inspection or email inspections@ci.rio-vista.ca.us.' Both phone and email are offered; recorded as Phone since it is listed first and is the primary number given.

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

At least 24 hours in advance (except emergency/life-safety issues)

Why the confidence is not higherThe Planning Department's separate 'Inspections' page states: 'An appointment request must be made at least 24 hours in advance unless it is an emergency issue.' This conflicts with the Building Permit FAQs page, which instead describes fixed 'Tuesday and Thursday' inspection days with AM/PM windows and gives no advance-notice figure -- the two City-published pages disagree, and I am reporting the one that states a specific notice period rather than silently picking one.

department page (conflicts with Building Permit FAQs page) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/inspections

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Conflicting: Building Permit FAQs states inspections are done 'on Tuesday and Thursdays' with an 'AM time slot from 8 AM-12 PM or a PM from 1 PM-4 PM'; the separate Planning 'Inspections' page instead states appointments run 'Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.' only, with no PM window and no restriction to two specific days.

Why the confidence is not higherTwo of the City's own current pages describe materially different inspection-scheduling windows (different days of the week, and one offers a PM slot the other does not). Reporting both rather than resolving the conflict, per instructions not to inherit or manufacture a single answer where sources disagree.

department FAQ page (conflicts with Planning 'Inspections' page) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherAll inspection-related pages (Building Permit FAQs, Inspections, SolarAPP+) describe the City's own Building Division/Building Inspector performing inspections directly; no reference anywhere to a delegated inspection agency.

department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNot applicable -- rests on Q52 (answered 'Yes': the City's own Building Division performs the final solar inspection itself; no delegation to another agency was found in any Building/Planning/SolarAPP+ page), so there is no delegate to name.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Not solar-specific in the City's own documents. For solar specifically, the SolarAPP+ page implies a single final-inspection visit ('Have your Construction Permit printed and available on-site for an inspector'). For building permits generally, a 'job card' is issued at permit issuance listing inspections 'in chronological order,' and each permit covers a limited number of inspections per category (commonly 2, e.g. 'Foundation inspections: 2 max', 'Under-slab inspection: 2 max').

Why the confidence is not higherNo City document names a solar-specific inspection sequence; this combines the general job-card/number-of-inspections model with the SolarAPP+ page's singular reference to 'an inspector' (singular), which suggests but does not confirm a single-inspection model for rooftop PV.

department page + department page (inferred, not solar-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page (implies a single final-inspection visit, singular 'an inspector') and Building Permit FAQs (general job-card sequence, not solar-specific) -- no City document explicitly confirms or rules out a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection for solar.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs' 'What does the inspector look for?' answer ('verifies that the construction conforms to the approved plans and meets applicable Building Codes') describes general code-conformance checking but never explicitly states that equipment labels or UL listings are checked as a discrete inspection step.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPlanning's 'Typical Standard Inspection Examples' page exists and lists general inspection types (e.g. Foundation, Under-slab) with visit-count limits, but it is not solar-specific, and no dedicated solar/PV inspection checklist was found published anywhere on the site.

https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/typical-standard-inspection-examples

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The issued Construction/Building Permit, printed and available on-site for the inspector.

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page, 'Getting an Inspection' step: 'Have your Construction Permit printed and available on-site for an inspector.' The general Building Permit FAQs similarly implies the job card/permit documentation must be on hand ('Do not conceal any work prior to passing the required inspections').

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$90 minimum

Why the confidence is not higherPlanning 'Reinspection policy' page states plainly: 'A minimum reinspection fee of $90.00 will be assessed... Please make your check in the amount of $90.00 payable to the City of Rio Vista.' The separate Building Fee Schedule instead describes reinspections as billed at the (unspecified) hourly Employee Billable Rate for Building Inspector -- the $90 appears to be the practical minimum charge applied at the counter.

department policy page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/reinspection-policy

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

The inspector writes a 'Notice of Corrections' identifying the items to fix. Work may not proceed and no further inspections occur until corrections are completed; if a reinspection is needed because work was 'not ready' or corrections were incomplete, a 'Reinspection Fee slip' ($90 minimum) is left at the job site and must be paid -- by 8:30 a.m. the morning of a rescheduled inspection -- before any further inspection will occur.

Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Building Permit FAQs ('If your requested inspection is not approved, the inspector will write a Correction Notice... After all corrections have been completed, the inspection request may be recalled') with the Reinspection Policy page's detail on the fee slip and payment deadline.

department policy page + department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.riovistacity.com/planning/page/reinspection-policy

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Permit FAQs describes the inspector signing a 'job card' at the site and results being entered into the computer so 'your building permit and office inspection card become part of the property record,' but never names a specific document (CO / Final / Green tag / Letter) issued to the applicant on passing a solar inspection specifically.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/building-permit-faqs

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and Building page -- neither states who submits interconnection/PTO paperwork to PG&E (installer vs. AHJ vs. utility-pulled); this is typically a PG&E-side Rule 21 process not published by the City, and PG&E's own manual was not fetched this run.

https://www.riovistacity.com/building/page/solarapp

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Rio Vista against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Rio Vista is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (self-performed; no delegation to Solano County found)
Overridden by
CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act, AB 2188) and §65850.52 (SB 379) require nondiscretionary/automated permitting for small residential rooftop solar; the City implements this via SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) rather than its own automated portal. AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) also freezes the City from adopting any more-restrictive residential building-code amendment from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031.
Why not higher
The City's own 'Building' department page and SolarAPP+ page (both under riovistacity.com/building) show the City issuing, plan-checking and inspecting residential solar permits itself via its own Building Division/MaintStar portal and buildingpermits@ci.rio-vista.ca.us, with no reference anywhere to Solano County performing this function. However, the brief's assumption that 'Community Development' is the operating department needs a correction: the City's own Staff Directory (riovistacity.com/directory) lists NO 'Community Development' department at all -- Building and Planning are separate directory entries -- and Building's only listed staff are a generic 'Building Department - Front Desk' and an Administrative Assistant. The actual named contact on every Building, SolarAPP+, and Planning permitting page is Krystine Ball, whose title is 'Public Works Program Manager,' not Building Official or Community Development Director; no 'Building Official' title exists anywhere in the directory. Confidence held at 88 rather than higher because of that unresolved title/department mismatch.

https://www.riovistacity.com/directory

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
No fixed dollar figure: billed on a time-and-materials basis. 'Solar Photovoltaic Systems: Consultant Plan Review' = actual contractor cost + $35 administration fee;78%
Plan review
Real-time/same-day via SolarAPP+ for eligible systems (automated review at solarapp.nrel.gov, followed by City verification of the approval document 'for accuracy').72%
Portal
SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible small residential rooftop solar; MaintStar Online Permit Application Portal (h8.maintstar.co/riovista/Portal) for standard building permits…88%
Booking an inspection
Phone88%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Solano County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Rio Vista · city
Solar Requirements
Notes
Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.riovistacity.com/building
Authority Contact
Address
One Main Street, Rio Vista, CA 94571
Main Phone
(707) 374-6451
Building Department
Department
Building Division
Direct Phone
(707) 374-6448
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Book in advance
1
Notes
Call (707) 374-6448 or email buildinginspections@ci.rio-vista.ca.us to schedule the final solar inspection with at least 24 hours advance notice. Inspections are conducted Tuesday and Thursday only, 8:30 AM–12:00 PM and 12:30 PM–2:00 PM. Have permit number and site address ready. Rio Vista participates in SolarAPP+ for instant permit approval on eligible small residential rooftop solar systems; only one final inspection is required for those permits. Solar permit revision requests go to buildingpermits@ci.rio-vista.ca.us. Building inspector office hours are Monday–Thursday 8:00 AM–5:00 PM. Community Development Dept front desk: (707) 374-6451 ext. 1104. (collected Jul 2026)