City of Rohnert Park
Sonoma County
City of Rohnert Park is a city authority in the State of California, serving 44,390 residents. 2,631 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 29 business days for initial submittal review; 20 business days for each resubmittal (standard, non-automated route) Q18 Where you file — eTRAKiT (rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3) is the City's permit-application/payment/inspection portal; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $223 plan check + $223 inspection (Building Division, 1-15 kW residential PV) = $446 total, plus a separate $261.60 Fire Services Division PV permit fee (FS18) = roughly $707.60 total for a typical…85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 29 business days for initial submittal review; 20 business days for each resubmittal (standard, non-automated route)85% source
- Key document
- inference from state statute cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · authority's own page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · authority's own page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 75% · state statute
- Is there a historic-district review? No / not indicated 55% · authority's own page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 58% · checklist/handout PDF
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, but only conditionally 80% · state statute
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 38.4 kW AC nameplate (statutory cap for the automated SB379/Symbium issuance route); no separate cap found for the standard (non-automated) Electrical-permit route 85% · state statute
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 72% · state statute
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No city-specific solar-contractor registry found; general requirements apply 65% · authority's own page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes for the standard route; No for the SB379 automated route 70% · checklist/handout PDF
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital upload only; no copy count specified for solar 60% · authority's own page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Not published by the City; implied by the SB379/Symbium compliance workflow 50% · inference from state statute
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Not published by the City; implied by the SB379/Symbium compliance workflow 48% · inference from state statute
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not specifically published for solar; general CBC/CRC structural-review process applies 45% · inference from state statute
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3) is the City's permit-application/payment/inspection portal; Symbium is the separate external SB379 automated compliance/pre-approval platform that feeds into eTRAKiT's 'Residential Solar Auto Issue' permit type 92% · authority's own page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · authority's own page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $223 plan check + $223 inspection (Building Division, 1-15 kW residential PV) = $446 total, plus a separate $261.60 Fire Services Division PV permit fee (FS18) = roughly $707.60 total for a typical <=15kW residential system 85% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered by system size (kW) for the Building Division fee; flat fee for the Fire Division fee 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 92% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 29 business days for initial submittal review; 20 business days for each resubmittal (standard, non-automated route) 85% · authority's own page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Application abandoned after 180 days if the permit is not picked up (one-time 180-day extension available on written request); an issued permit is valid for 1 year from issuance, extendable on written request made before the sixth month 90% · authority's own page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) is the interconnecting/wires utility. Sonoma Clean Power (SCP) is the Community Choice Aggregator supplying generation -- confirmed a member jurisdiction of SCP -- but SCP is not the interconnecting utility. 92% · utility's own page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit / gated on AHJ final-inspection clearance (parallel application process, but interconnection/PTO does not complete until the City's inspection is cleared) 78% · utility DG manual
28 questions answered against City of Rohnert Park’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar Permits page describes the Development Services Building Division issuing residential rooftop solar permits (via the Symbium/SB379 automated platform or eTRAKiT electrical permit); Additional Building Permit Information page confirms the Building Division issues and inspects all building/electrical permits in the city.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/229/Solar-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherDevelopment Services Building Division issues and inspects both building and electrical scope for residential PV/ESS (no delegation to Sonoma County). Separately, the Dept. of Public Safety Fire Services Division independently reviews/inspects PV, batteries and ESS under its own Fire Permit process and fee schedule (FS15/17/18) -- an internal division of labor within the City, not a delegation outward.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/696/Fire-Permits-Building-Plan-Review
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule (eff. 7/1/2026) prices 'Photovoltaic System (Residential)' plan check and inspection by kW tier; Fire Fee Schedule prices FS18 'Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' ($261.60); Solar Permits page describes the mandatory permitting pathway.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/192
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permit Services page lists 'Residential Solar Auto Issue (for Solar projects eligible for automatic issuance under SB379)' as one single online permit type; Solar Permits page states other (non-eligible) solar projects 'must submit for an Electrical permit' -- in both cases it is one permit, not a stacked building-plus-electrical pair.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/223/Online-Permit-Services
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherGC 65850.52(b)(1)(A) limits the automated/real-time SB379 issuance pathway (which Rohnert Park implements via Symbium) to 'a licensed contractor'. Separately, the City's generic Owner-Builder Disclosure Form process (used for any construction/electrical permit) allows a homeowner to self-permit via the standard, non-automated electrical-permit route through eTRAKiT.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.52.
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No city-specific solar-contractor registry found; general requirements apply
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific contractor registration is published. Two generic requirements apply to any contractor working in the city: (1) a current CSLB license (the Fire Permit Application's 'License Type' dropdown explicitly recognizes '(C-46) Solar Contractor'); (2) per the Business License page, 'any person doing business within City limits is required to obtain a City of Rohnert Park Business Tax Certificate.' Confidence is not higher because I found no document stating whether the Business Tax Certificate is checked as a precondition to permit issuance specifically.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/282/Business-License
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes for the standard route; No for the SB379 automated route
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Owner-Builder Disclosure Form (generic to all construction permits, not solar-specific) allows a property owner to self-permit as owner-builder via the standard electrical-permit route. GC 65850.52(b)(1)(A), which the City implements via Symbium, limits the automated real-time SB379 permitting pathway to 'a licensed contractor', so self-install is not available on that faster track.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/231/Owner-Builder-Disclosure-Form-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building Handouts & Forms (lists remodel/ADU/tenant-improvement checklists but no PV-specific submittal checklist) and the Solar Permits page (routes document assembly to the external Symbium platform, not a City-published list).
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital upload only; no copy count specified for solar
Why the confidence is not higherApply for Building Permits Online page instructs applicants to attach plans/documents as file uploads within the online eTRAKiT application (naming-convention guide referenced); no paper-copy count or physical-format requirement is stated anywhere for the solar/electrical permit type.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/224/Apply-for-Building-Permits-Online
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Solar Permits page and Building Handouts & Forms; the only site-plan spec found ('Submittal Requirements Residential' PDF) is written for remodels/additions/alterations, not PV, and does not describe PV-specific site-plan content (module layout, fire pathways, setbacks).
https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/218/Submittal-Requirements-Residential-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Not published by the City; implied by the SB379/Symbium compliance workflow
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document states a one-line-diagram requirement for solar. The automated permitting statute GC 65850.52 requires the platform (Symbium here) to verify NEC code compliance in real time, which in practice requires a one-line diagram as part of the applicant's upload to Symbium -- but this is inferred from the statutory design of SolarAPP+-equivalent platforms generally, not stated by Rohnert Park itself.
inference from state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.52.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Not published by the City; implied by the SB379/Symbium compliance workflow
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q11: string/conductor sizing calculations are performed by the SolarAPP+-equivalent Symbium compliance engine as part of automated code-compliance verification under GC 65850.52, but no Rohnert Park document independently states this requirement.
inference from state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.52.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Not specifically published for solar; general CBC/CRC structural-review process applies
Why the confidence is not higherNo Rohnert Park document sets a solar-specific structural PE-stamp threshold. SolarAPP+/Symbium-type platforms generally require a PE/structural stamp only when a system falls outside prescriptive eligibility parameters (roof type, attachment spacing, loading); systems within those parameters are cleared by the automated engine without a stamp. This is inferred from the general design of the SB379 automated-permitting statute, not confirmed in a City document.
inference from state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.52.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building Codes, Building Handouts & Forms, and Solar Permits pages for a solar-specific electrical PE-stamp threshold; none is published (electrical work is performed by a licensed C-10/C-46 contractor under standard CEC administration, not under a stated PE-stamp trigger).
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$223 plan check + $223 inspection (Building Division, 1-15 kW residential PV) = $446 total, plus a separate $261.60 Fire Services Division PV permit fee (FS18) = roughly $707.60 total for a typical <=15kW residential system
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026, PDF title 'BLDG FEES ESCALATED EFF 2026-July-1 FY27.xlsm') lists Photovoltaic System (Residential) 1-15 kW: plan check $223, inspection $223. Fire Prevention Fee Schedule (dated 5/16/2023, still the live linked document) lists FS18 Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems at $261.60. Confidence is not higher because the City does not reconcile in one place whether both fee lines always apply together on every job.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/192
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered by system size (kW) for the Building Division fee; flat fee for the Fire Division fee
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule prices residential PV in four kW brackets (1-15, 16-31, 32-50, 50+ kW, the last routed to the non-residential table); Fire Fee Schedule prices FS18 Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems as a flat $261.60 regardless of size.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/192
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule lists 'plan check' and 'inspection' as two separate line-item fees for every PV kW tier (e.g., 1-15 kW: $223 plan check, $223 inspection).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/192
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
29 business days for initial submittal review; 20 business days for each resubmittal (standard, non-automated route)
Why the confidence is not higherAdditional Building Permit Information page: 'In order to align with Health and Safety Code Sections 17960.1 and 19837, typical turnaround time for review of the initial permit submittal is 29 days. Any additional submittals thereafter will take 20 days for review.' The same figures are repeated on the Fire Permits & Building Plan Review page. This is the general building-permit turnaround, not solar-specific; the SB379/Symbium automated route is designed for real-time/same-day issuance instead.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/220/Additional-Building-Permit-Information
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Application abandoned after 180 days if the permit is not picked up (one-time 180-day extension available on written request); an issued permit is valid for 1 year from issuance, extendable on written request made before the sixth month
Why the confidence is not higherAdditional Building Permit Information page, 'Permit Issuance' section, states these figures explicitly and generally (not solar-specific, but applies to all building/electrical permits including solar).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/220/Additional-Building-Permit-Information
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTRAKiT (rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3) is the City's permit-application/payment/inspection portal; Symbium is the separate external SB379 automated compliance/pre-approval platform that feeds into eTRAKiT's 'Residential Solar Auto Issue' permit type
Why the confidence is not higherOnline Permit Services and Apply for Building Permits Online pages both link 'Go to our application portal' -> https://rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3/. The Solar Permits page separately identifies Symbium as the SB379 automated-permitting partner used for the pre-approval step ahead of eTRAKiT submission. Note: the City's own outbound link to Symbium's apply page (symbium.com/instantpermitting/solar/apply) currently 404s when fetched directly -- a dead/moved link on the City's own page, flagged rather than treated as evidence the workflow doesn't exist.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApply for Building Permits Online page walks through a fully online process (select permit type, upload plans/documents, pay fees, receive permit number) and states explicitly: 'If you applied for a residential solar permit that was auto-issued under SB379 ... you would have paid the balance and your permit has auto-issued.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/224/Apply-for-Building-Permits-Online
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) is the interconnecting/wires utility. Sonoma Clean Power (SCP) is the Community Choice Aggregator supplying generation -- confirmed a member jurisdiction of SCP -- but SCP is not the interconnecting utility.
Why the confidence is not higherSonoma Clean Power's own 'Who We Are' page lists the City of Rohnert Park among its member jurisdictions and states plainly: 'PG&E charges you for distribution -- maintaining the poles and wires. On the same bill, SCP charges you for generation.' The City's own Utility Billing page confirms the City bills only for water/sewer (no municipal electric utility), consistent with PG&E holding the electric wires. Not sourced from PowerToChoose.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://sonomacleanpower.org/who-we-are
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit / gated on AHJ final-inspection clearance (parallel application process, but interconnection/PTO does not complete until the City's inspection is cleared)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's Greenbook (TD-7001M, Electric & Gas Service Requirements, publication date 4/22/2026) states PG&E will not establish/energize service 'before final inspections' by the Authority Having Jurisdiction, and that if the applicant's work 'is not inspected, approved, or cleared by the AHJ' service is not established. This is PG&E's statewide practice (Rohnert Park is in PG&E territory), not a Rohnert-Park-specific document.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherGov. Code 65850.5(a)-(b) prohibits local agencies from creating 'unreasonable barriers to the installation of solar energy systems, including, but not limited to, design review for aesthetic purposes' and requires administrative (ministerial) approval; the City's own Solar Permits page describes a permit process (Symbium pre-approval + eTRAKiT permit) with no HOA/architectural-review step mentioned.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.5.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No / not indicated
Why the confidence is not higherNo historic-district overlay or review step is mentioned on the Solar Permits, Zoning Regulations, or Additional Building Permit Information pages. GC 65850.5 would also confine any such review to health/safety findings rather than aesthetics/historic character. Confidence is not higher because I could not access the Title 17 zoning code text directly (Municode's Angular app would not render chapter content to either curl or headless Chrome in this session) to confirm there is no historic-district zoning overlay in the city at all.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/277/Zoning-Regulations
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm/wind-speed certification requirement (a Texas/Gulf-Coast TDI-style concept) is published. The City's general 'Submittal Requirements Residential' handout states a structural design criterion (Basic Wind Speed 110 mph / 100 mph for accessory structures, Exposure B or C) as a CBC/CRC design parameter, not a separate certification process, and that document is written for remodels/additions rather than solar.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/218/Submittal-Requirements-Residential-PDF
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, but only conditionally
Why the confidence is not higherGov. Code 65850.5(b): a city 'may require the applicant to apply for a use permit' only if the building official makes a finding, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.' Absent such a finding, administrative approval is mandatory. No Rohnert-Park-specific instance of this being invoked was found.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.5.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
38.4 kW AC nameplate (statutory cap for the automated SB379/Symbium issuance route); no separate cap found for the standard (non-automated) Electrical-permit route
Why the confidence is not higherGov. Code 65850.52(b)(1)(A) caps the automated real-time permitting requirement at 'no larger than 38.4 kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating' for both the solar system and any paired residential ESS. The City's Solar Permits page states systems above this eligibility go through the standard Electrical-permit process at eTRAKiT instead, with no separate size cap published there.
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV§ionNum=65850.52.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (in force as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 Title 24 triennial cycle) 72% · authority's own page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Building Code 92% · authority's own page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 88% · authority's own page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · checklist/handout PDF
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CFC/CALGreen) as locally amended by Rohnert Park Municipal Code Title 15; for SB379-eligible systems, additionally the Symbium automated compliance engine's code checks 82% · authority's own page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Rohnert Park on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under the 2023 NEC Sec. 690.12, as adopted into the 2025 CEC now in force; no City document independently restates this requirement 65% · adopting ordinance + corpus grep
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No City-published, solar-specific placard is described; the strongest applicable placard requirement found is the utility's (PG&E) engraved line/supply-side-connection placard, required only when a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker 70% · utility DG manual
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No (City); Yes but only as to content, not exact text (utility) 55% · utility DG manual
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes 85% · utility DG manual
- Where must the labels be placed? On the metering equipment (per PG&E, for the line/supply-side-connection placard); no City-specific label-placement rule found 70% · utility DG manual
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? For a typical residential inverter-based system on a self-contained, socket-based meter panel <=320A single-phase: no separate AC disconnect is required (any voluntarily-installed disconnect must be PG&E-approved). For all other meter-panel configurations, an AC disconnect IS required. Where the interconnection is ahead of the main breaker (line/supply-side), a fusible AC disconnect plus an engraved placard is required, installed at/near the metering equipment. 88% · utility DG manual
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No City-specific approved-equipment list found; standard NEC/CEC 'listed and labeled' (UL) requirement applies generally 60% · checklist/handout PDF
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes -- rooftop residential batteries/ESS are permitted, including when paired with solar 88% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes -- ESS/batteries carry their own separate Fire Services Division permit fee, distinct from the Building Division's PV permit fee 82% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes - a locally-amended Main Electrical Service Panel (MSP) 'serviceability' review is triggered by, among other things, adding a secondary power source (which includes PV) to the home 92% · checklist/handout PDF
20 questions answered against City of Rohnert Park’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (in force as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 Title 24 triennial cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Codes page states the current Title 24 codes include the '2025 California Electrical Code' among the 2025 CBC/CRC/CPC/CMC/CFC/CEBC/CALGreen set. California's triennial code-adoption practice amends the then-current NFPA 70 NEC edition into the CEC; the 2025 CEC amends the 2023 NEC. Confidence is not higher because the City's own page says '2025 CEC' and does not itself state the underlying NEC edition.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/221/Building-Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Building Code
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page: 'The current state codes ... [are] comprised of the 2025 California Building Code, 2025 California Residential Building Code ... and Tier 1 standards.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/221/Building-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page lists '2025 California Fire Code' among the Title 24 parts currently in force citywide; the Fire Permits & Building Plan Review page separately links to the California Building Code and Rohnert Park Municipal Code as its governing authorities without contradicting the 2025 edition.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/221/Building-Codes
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page: 'The current local codes can be found in the City of Rohnert Park Municipal Code Title 15.' A concrete example is confirmed directly: the Electrical Service Panel Policy handout states 'The Rohnert Park Municipal Code modifies the California Electrical Code (CEC) to include additional requirements for residential main electrical service replacement or upgrade.'
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Electrical-Service-Panel-Policy-PDF
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CFC/CALGreen) as locally amended by Rohnert Park Municipal Code Title 15; for SB379-eligible systems, additionally the Symbium automated compliance engine's code checks
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page names the 2025 Title 24 code set and Title 15 local amendments as governing; the Solar Permits page identifies Symbium as the automated code-compliance/permitting platform for eligible rooftop residential PV/ESS.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/221/Building-Codes
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes - a locally-amended Main Electrical Service Panel (MSP) 'serviceability' review is triggered by, among other things, adding a secondary power source (which includes PV) to the home
Why the confidence is not higherElectrical Service Panel Policy PDF, 'Replacement of Residential Main Electrical Service Requirements': RPMC modifies the CEC to require MSP upgrade/replacement review when (1) the panel is Federal Pacific/Zinsco or a rebranded equivalent, (2) 5+ circuits are modified, (3) 'any secondary power source is added', (4) an addition increases floor area by 50%+, or (5) 50%+ of the structure is demolished/repaired. Item (3) directly captures adding a PV/ESS interconnection. 'Serviceability' must be certified in writing by a licensed electrician at the owner's expense.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Electrical-Service-Panel-Policy-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Solar Permits page, Building Handouts & Forms, and Submittal Requirements Residential PDF for a locally specified mounting/attachment-spacing standard; none is published -- racking/attachment is left to manufacturer listing and CBC/CRC structural provisions plus the Symbium compliance engine for eligible systems.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building Codes, Fire Permits & Building Plan Review, and Building Handouts & Forms pages/PDFs for a locally amended ridge-setback/access-pathway figure (comparable to CRC R324/CFC 605.11); none is republished or amended in any City document reviewed.
https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/696/Fire-Permits-Building-Plan-Review
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under the 2023 NEC Sec. 690.12, as adopted into the 2025 CEC now in force; no City document independently restates this requirement
Why the confidence is not higherPositive control ('electrical') and fabricated control ('zzqqx') were run against the full corpus of City PDFs collected (Building Fee Schedule, Fire Fee Schedule, Submittal Requirements Residential, Electrical Service Panel Policy, Inspection Description Guide, EV Charging Checklist, Special Inspection lists): 'electrical' hit in 11 files, 'zzqqx' hit in 0 -- confirming the search itself works -- yet neither 'rapid shutdown' nor '690.12' appears anywhere in that corpus. Rapid shutdown is enforced purely as a function of the adopted 2025 CEC/2023 NEC, not restated in any Rohnert Park bulletin.
adopting ordinance + corpus grep checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/221/Building-Codes
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No City-published, solar-specific placard is described; the strongest applicable placard requirement found is the utility's (PG&E) engraved line/supply-side-connection placard, required only when a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M, section 6.3): 'A fusible AC disconnect switch is required for generator interconnections ahead of the main breaker (line/supply side connection) and after the meter. Also required is an engraved placard (signage), indicating there is a line/supply side connection, installed on the metering equipment.' No City of Rohnert Park document (Solar Permits, Building Handouts & Forms, Fire Permits page) specifies any additional or different placard.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No (City); Yes but only as to content, not exact text (utility)
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document specifies exact placard wording. PG&E's Greenbook specifies the placard must indicate 'there is a line/supply side connection' but does not dictate an exact sentence.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Solar Permits page, Building Handouts & Forms, Fire Permits & Building Plan Review page, and the PG&E Greenbook excerpt found; none specifies letter height, colour, or material for a solar placard (PG&E only says the placard must be 'engraved', implying a durable material, but gives no letter-height or colour spec).
https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Solar Permits, Building Handouts & Forms, and Fire Permits & Building Plan Review pages for a site-plan/facility-map placard specification comparable to NEC 705.10; none is published locally (the requirement, if any, flows from the adopted 2025 CEC/NEC 705.10 itself, not a City restatement).
https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/696/Fire-Permits-Building-Plan-Review
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M section 6.3) requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment for line/supply-side-connected generating facilities, and defers additional disconnect/placard detail to TD-2306M, 'Distribution Interconnection Handbook' (a gated PG&E document, 'see your PG&E Job Owner for access').
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
On the metering equipment (per PG&E, for the line/supply-side-connection placard); no City-specific label-placement rule found
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook: the engraved line/supply-side-connection placard must be 'installed on the metering equipment.' No Rohnert Park document adds a different or additional placement requirement.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No City-specific approved-equipment list found; standard NEC/CEC 'listed and labeled' (UL) requirement applies generally
Why the confidence is not higherNo Rohnert Park document (Building Handouts & Forms, Solar Permits page) maintains or references a City-specific approved-products list for PV equipment; the Electrical Service Panel Policy handout does state generically that 'all new electrical equipment must be listed/approved for use as service equipment', which is the standard NEC listing requirement rather than a city-curated list.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/235/Electrical-Service-Panel-Policy-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes -- rooftop residential batteries/ESS are permitted, including when paired with solar
Why the confidence is not higherSolar Permits page: 'The City of Rohnert Park offers automated permits for residential rooftop solar energy systems, including those with energy storage systems (ESS).' The Fire Services Division fee schedule separately prices FS15 'Lithium Batteries' and FS17 'Energy Storage System' at $261.60 each as distinct, routinely permitted categories.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/229/Solar-Permits
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes -- ESS/batteries carry their own separate Fire Services Division permit fee, distinct from the Building Division's PV permit fee
Why the confidence is not higherFire Prevention Fee Schedule lists FS15 Lithium Batteries ($261.60) and FS17 Energy Storage System ($261.60) as line items separate from FS18 Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems ($261.60); the Building Division's Building Fee Schedule prices only 'Photovoltaic System (Residential)' by kW tier and does not separately itemize ESS, so the ESS-specific fee/review sits with the Fire Services Division even when the PV+ESS system is bundled together under the SB379 auto-issue pathway.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://ca-rohnertpark.civicplus.com/DocumentCenter/View/667/Fire-Prevention-Fee-Schedule-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Solar Permits page, Building Codes page, and Building Handouts & Forms; the City's automated SB379/Symbium pathway is explicitly limited to 'rooftop' systems on single-family homes and duplexes, so ground-mount systems fall outside it and use the standard Electrical-permit route -- but no document states whether a ground-mount array is classified/reviewed as an accessory structure.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
For a typical residential inverter-based system on a self-contained, socket-based meter panel <=320A single-phase: no separate AC disconnect is required (any voluntarily-installed disconnect must be PG&E-approved). For all other meter-panel configurations, an AC disconnect IS required. Where the interconnection is ahead of the main breaker (line/supply-side), a fusible AC disconnect plus an engraved placard is required, installed at/near the metering equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M, section 6.3, Table 6-3 'Requirements for AC Disconnect Switches'): explicit table by meter-panel type and phase, plus narrative requirements for line/supply-side connections referencing Electric Rule 21 and PG&E Electric Design Standard 060559.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 92% · authority's own page
- How much notice is required? Effectively next business day; cutoff is 3:00pm each day for scheduling 75% · authority's own page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM/PM windows only (8:30am-noon or 1-3pm); no exact-time or guaranteed-same-day appointments 90% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · authority's own page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated -- performed in-house by the City's own Building Division (general/electrical) and Fire Services Division (PV/ESS/battery) 80% · authority's own page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? No solar-specific inspection sequence is separately published; the general applicable stages from the City's inspection-type guide are Rough Electrical (236) if roof/structural work is involved, then Final Electrical (291) and Electric Meter Authorization (262); Fire Services Division separately conducts its own PV/ESS/battery inspection under FS15/17/18 60% · checklist/handout PDF
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Not clearly required as a distinct stage; only if concurrent roof/structural work triggers the generic Rough Electrical/Rough Framing categories 55% · checklist/handout PDF
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes (general, not solar-specific) 78% · checklist/handout PDF
- What must be on site at inspection? The permit inspection record card and approved job-site copies of plans 88% · authority's own page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Not explicitly stated in writing, but implied by standard CEC/NEC final-inspection practice 55% · inference from adopted code
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (passed final electrical inspection closes the permit); no distinct 'Green Tag' or CO terminology found for solar 58% · inference from authority's own page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Not stated by the City; by standard PG&E process the installer/applicant submits the Permission to Operate (PTO) request to PG&E once the City's final inspection has cleared 55% · inference from utility DG manual
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Yes -- $200 minimum (actual costs thereafter) for Building Division reinspections; $130.80/hour for Fire Services Division reinspections 92% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? The inspector signs off on each inspection or notes corrections; a re-inspection (and its fee) is required once corrections are completed 88% · authority's own page
14 questions answered against City of Rohnert Park’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'Building Inspections should be scheduled through the City's Online Inspection Request Portal' (eTRAKiT); step-by-step instructions describe logging into eTRAKiT, selecting Schedule under Inspections, and submitting the request there.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively next business day; cutoff is 3:00pm each day for scheduling
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'The cut-off time for scheduling inspections is 3 pm each day. Requests made after 3 pm will be processed the next business day.' No separate minimum-business-days lead time is stated beyond this same/next-day cutoff.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM/PM windows only (8:30am-noon or 1-3pm); no exact-time or guaranteed-same-day appointments
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'Inspections are offered Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to noon and 1 to 3 pm. When scheduling inspections, it is required to request either an am or a pm time slot. Exact times will not be offered.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Rohnert Park's own Building Division inspectors perform final electrical inspections via the eTRAKiT-scheduled process described on the Inspections page; the Fire Services Division separately performs its own PV/ESS/battery inspections under FS15/17/18 (not delegated to a county or outside agency).
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated -- performed in-house by the City's own Building Division (general/electrical) and Fire Services Division (PV/ESS/battery)
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q52: no outside agency or county is named as performing solar inspections; both applicable City divisions (Development Services Building Division; Dept. of Public Safety Fire Services Division) conduct their own inspections.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
No solar-specific inspection sequence is separately published; the general applicable stages from the City's inspection-type guide are Rough Electrical (236) if roof/structural work is involved, then Final Electrical (291) and Electric Meter Authorization (262); Fire Services Division separately conducts its own PV/ESS/battery inspection under FS15/17/18
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's 'Inspection Description guide' PDF (dated 2016) lists generic inspection-type codes including 236 Rough Electrical, 291 Final Electrical, and 262 Electric Meter Authorization, but has no PV-specific category; confidence reflects that this document predates the current solar-permitting workflow and does not name a PV stage explicitly.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/248
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Not clearly required as a distinct stage; only if concurrent roof/structural work triggers the generic Rough Electrical/Rough Framing categories
Why the confidence is not higherThe 2016 Inspection Description Guide has no 'mid-roof' or PV-specific rough inspection category; for a straightforward rooftop retrofit, a final electrical inspection alone would typically apply, with rough inspections triggered only if structural/roof work is also being permitted concurrently.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/248
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Not explicitly stated in writing, but implied by standard CEC/NEC final-inspection practice
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document states in writing that the inspector checks labels/listings for solar specifically. Verifying 'listed and labeled' equipment and required code placards (e.g., NEC 690/705 markings) is standard practice at a Final Electrical (291) inspection under the adopted CEC, but this is inferred rather than confirmed from a City-published policy statement.
inference from adopted code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/248
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes (general, not solar-specific)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City publishes an 'Inspection Description guide (PDF)' linked from the Inspections page, listing definitions for dozens of inspection-type codes; it is general to all construction/electrical permits, not a solar-specific checklist.
checklist/handout PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/248
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The permit inspection record card and approved job-site copies of plans
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'The permit inspection record card and all approved job-site copies of plans must remain on the jobsite and readily accessible by the building inspector' and, further down, 'make sure that the inspection card and approved plans are available at your project site.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Yes -- $200 minimum (actual costs thereafter) for Building Division reinspections; $130.80/hour for Fire Services Division reinspections
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Fee Schedule: 'Reinspection Fee $200 minimum fee, actual costs thereafter.' Fire Prevention Fee Schedule: 'FS 81 Re-Inspection Fee $130.80 per hour.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/192
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
The inspector signs off on each inspection or notes corrections; a re-inspection (and its fee) is required once corrections are completed
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'The building inspector will sign off on each inspection or indicate corrections to be made; a re-inspection is required when corrections are completed.' A reinspection fee may also be assessed for being unprepared when the inspector arrives.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (passed final electrical inspection closes the permit); no distinct 'Green Tag' or CO terminology found for solar
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document uses 'Green Tag' or issues a Certificate of Occupancy for a solar-only permit (COs apply to new buildings, not retrofits); the described end-state is a passed Final Electrical inspection that closes the permit in eTRAKiT. This is inferred from the general inspection-sign-off language on the Inspections page, not stated in those exact terms for solar.
inference from authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.rpcity.ca.gov/226/Inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Not stated by the City; by standard PG&E process the installer/applicant submits the Permission to Operate (PTO) request to PG&E once the City's final inspection has cleared
Why the confidence is not higherNo Rohnert Park document assigns responsibility for utility notification. PG&E's Greenbook establishes that PG&E will not energize/interconnect a generating facility until AHJ final inspection is cleared, which is standard practice for installer-submitted PTO requests across PG&E territory (as also confirmed in the Petaluma GovBot run), but this is inferred rather than confirmed for Rohnert Park specifically.
inference from utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Rohnert Park against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Rohnert Park is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (Development Services Building Division), for both the SB379/Symbium automated rooftop pathway and the standard eTRAKiT Electrical-permit pathway. The Dept. of Public Safety Fire Services Division independently reviews and inspects PV, batteries and ESS under its own Fire Permit process and fee schedule (FS15/17/18) -- an internal split of labor, not a delegation to another agency.
- Overridden by
- Gov. Code 65850.5 and 65850.52 constrain the City to ministerial/administrative approval (barring aesthetic design review, capping discretionary use-permit review to health-and-safety findings) and mandate an automated real-time permitting platform (Symbium) for systems <=38.4 kW AC. Separately, PG&E (the interconnecting utility, not a AHJ) gates Permission to Operate on the City's final-inspection clearance per its Greenbook/Rule 21, and Sonoma Clean Power (the CCA) has no permitting role at all.
- Why not higher
- City's own Solar Permits page (Development Services > Building) confirms the City issues residential rooftop solar/ESS permits via Symbium (SB379 automated pathway) or eTRAKiT (standard Electrical permit); the Fire Permits & Building Plan Review page confirms the Dept. of Public Safety Fire Services Division separately reviews and prices PV/ESS/battery permits. No county or other agency was found to hold building or electrical authority for Rohnert Park addresses -- this is not an Alameda-CDA-style misattribution.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $223 plan check + $223 inspection (Building Division, 1-15 kW residential PV) = $446 total, plus a separate $261.60 Fire Services Division PV permit fee (FS18) = roughly $707.60 total for a…85%
- Plan review
- 29 business days for initial submittal review; 20 business days for each resubmittal (standard, non-automated route)85%
- Portal
- eTRAKiT (rpccrw.rpcity.org/etrakit3) is the City's permit-application/payment/inspection portal; Symbium is the separate external SB379 automated compliance/pre-approval platform that feeds…92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (in force as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 Title 24 triennial cycle)72%
- Own placard wording
- No (City); Yes but only as to content, not exact text (utility)55%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal92%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 55%
No (City); Yes but only as to content, not exact text (utility)
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 70%
On the metering equipment (per PG&E, for the line/supply-side-connection placard); no City-specific label-placement rule found
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.