City of Rosemead
Los Angeles County
City of Rosemead is a city authority in the State of California, serving 51,185 residents. 1,254 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible small residential rooftop PV; non-eligible projects submit by email to the Building & Safety Division (no… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes96% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications95% source
- Key document
- portal landing page cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — City of Rosemead (Building and Safety Division, Community Development Dept.) is the AHJ for building/electrical permitting of residential rooftop PV; Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD) is the fire AHJ and retains inspection authority over ESS >3kWh, qualifying BIPV, and PV disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding. 92% · ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 96% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 68% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — HOA/architectural approval cannot be a precondition for permit issuance 62% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, in limited cases 88% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC (or 30 kW thermal) for the local expedited 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' definition 85% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 50% · ordinance
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No separate city contractor registration found; SolarAPP+ path requires the contractor be added to the SolarAPP+ program eligibility list before submission 75% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Not explicitly addressed for solar specifically 45% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? SolarAPP+-approved plan set + SolarAPP+ compliance checklist, emailed together with the City's Permit/Plan-Check Worksheet to Building & Safety (buildinginfo@rosemeadca.gov) 80% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic (email/PDF) submittal; no copy count specified 55% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Not separately specified for solar; SolarAPP+'s own standard checklist requires a roof/site plan showing panel layout, access pathways, and setbacks as part of its nationwide code-compliance check 50% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (implicit via SolarAPP+'s and the National Electrical Code's standard compliance package) 50% · inference
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes (implicit via SolarAPP+/NEC compliance requirements) 45% · inference
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible small residential rooftop PV; non-eligible projects submit by email to the Building & Safety Division (no Accela/CitizenServe-style general permit portal identified) 85% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Partially — SolarAPP+ itself is a fully online code-compliance/permit-issuance tool, but the City still requires the SolarAPP+ output and its own paper/PDF Permit Worksheet to be emailed in and manually processed by Building & Safety before the permit is returned 75% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 78% · ordinance
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes (inferred) 60% · ordinance
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications 95% · ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days (permit becomes void if work is not commenced within one year of issuance) 85% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 78% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Rosemead’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — City of Rosemead (Building and Safety Division, Community Development Dept.) is the AHJ for building/electrical permitting of residential rooftop PV; Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD) is the fire AHJ and retains inspection authority over ESS >3kWh, qualifying BIPV, and PV disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding.
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.04.010/15.08.010 name the City's own Building and Safety Division as administering the adopted codes; RMC 8.24.010 adopts the LA County Fire Code by reference; LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects' (Rev.3, 2023-09-01) states LACoFD delegates conventional rooftop-PV review to city Building & Safety but retains ESS/BIPV/placard authority as fire AHJ.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02ADBUCO
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Rosemead's own Building and Safety Division administers both the Building Code (Ch.15.04) and Electrical Code (Ch.15.08), which it adopts by reference from LA County Titles 26/27; it is not delegated to the County to run day-to-day. Fire-code administration for conventional PV is delegated TO the city FROM LACoFD (RMC 8.24 + LACoFD Guide background section).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.020 requires a building permit for construction/electrical work generally, and Ch.15.10 (Solar Energy Systems) establishes a dedicated expedited permitting process for small residential rooftop PV, confirming a permit is required.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10SOENSY
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's SolarAPP+ page describes a single permit obtained from the SolarAPP+-approved plan set plus one City permit-worksheet application — one combined permit/inspection track, not separate building vs. electrical permits. Not explicitly labeled 'combined' in the ordinance itself.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo Rosemead- or LA-County-specific text found restricting who pulls the electrical permit for solar; California Business & Professions Code §7044 generally allows a homeowner to act as their own contractor, and RMC 15.08 does not add a local restriction beyond the state license requirement for hired contractors. Inferred from state law rather than a Rosemead-specific document.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No separate city contractor registration found; SolarAPP+ path requires the contractor be added to the SolarAPP+ program eligibility list before submission
Why the confidence is not higherThe SolarAPP+ page states 'SolarAPP+ users must be a licensed contractor and must be added to the SolarAPP+ program eligibility list prior to submission to the City.' No City-run contractor registry was found elsewhere on the site.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Not explicitly addressed for solar specifically
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page requires a 'licensed contractor' for that expedited path, implying a homeowner cannot self-permit via SolarAPP+; the standard (non-SolarAPP+) permit path is not described in city documents found, so whether an owner-builder permit is accepted for solar specifically is unconfirmed.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
SolarAPP+-approved plan set + SolarAPP+ compliance checklist, emailed together with the City's Permit/Plan-Check Worksheet to Building & Safety (buildinginfo@rosemeadca.gov)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly described on the City's SolarAPP+ Submittals page as the 3-step process; for non-SolarAPP+-eligible projects the standard submittal package (site plan, one-line diagram, structural details) is not separately published.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic (email/PDF) submittal; no copy count specified
Why the confidence is not higherThe SolarAPP+ page and the Permit-Worksheet PDF both point to email submittal (buildinginfo@rosemeadca.gov); no requirement for physical copies or a specific file count was stated.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Not separately specified for solar; SolarAPP+'s own standard checklist requires a roof/site plan showing panel layout, access pathways, and setbacks as part of its nationwide code-compliance check
Why the confidence is not higherRosemead's page does not publish its own site-plan content requirements for solar; this is inferred from the general SolarAPP+ program design (NREL), which Rosemead has adopted wholesale rather than publishing its own checklist.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (implicit via SolarAPP+'s and the National Electrical Code's standard compliance package)
Why the confidence is not higherNot separately stated by the City; a one-line diagram is a standard requirement of the SolarAPP+ code-compliance check and of NEC Art. 690 plan documentation generally, but Rosemead does not publish its own explicit statement.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes (implicit via SolarAPP+/NEC compliance requirements)
Why the confidence is not higherNot separately stated locally; string/conductor sizing calculations are part of the standard CEC/NEC Art. 690 documentation that SolarAPP+ validates automatically.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 Building Code chapters (15.02, 15.04) and the Solar Energy Systems chapter (15.10) — no structural PE-stamp threshold for PV racking stated in any of these
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 Electrical Code chapter (15.08) and Solar Energy Systems chapter (15.10) — no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC 15.04.030/15.08.030 (fees tied to 'the most current fee set forth by Los Angeles County, Title 26/27, Fees...increased by fifty (50) percent') and LA County DPW's own fee-schedule pages (dpw.lacounty.gov/bsd/) — county fee-schedule PDF links returned soft-404 pages, so the underlying dollar figure could not be resolved
https://www.cityofrosemead.org/2026-27%20Fee%20Schedule%20Final.pdf?t=202607011140520
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.040(B) ties building permit fees to project 'valuation,' explicitly allowing the Building Official to reference the ICC Building Valuation Data (BVD); RMC 15.04.030/15.08.030 tie the fee level to the LA County Title 26/27 fee tables (which are themselves valuation-tiered) plus a 50% City surcharge.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.040(A) separately references 'fees for plan checks, inspections and other miscellaneous services' as distinct cost categories under the LA County Title 26 fee table structure, which conventionally itemizes plan-check and permit-issuance fees separately; the exact county table itself could not be retrieved to confirm the PV-specific line.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.10.060(A): 'The City will issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permits the same day for over-the-counter applications or within 1-3 business days for electronic applications of receipt of a complete application that meets the requirements of the approved checklist and standard plan.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10SOENSY
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days (permit becomes void if work is not commenced within one year of issuance)
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.030(B)(1): 'Every permit issued...shall expire...if...the work authorized by such permit is not commenced within one year from the date of permit issuance.' (Plan-check applications separately expire after 1 year if no permit is issued.)
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02ADBUCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible small residential rooftop PV; non-eligible projects submit by email to the Building & Safety Division (no Accela/CitizenServe-style general permit portal identified)
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ Submittals page: 'The City of Rosemead has partnered with SolarAPP+...' with the 3-step submit/apply/schedule-inspection process; no other permit portal is referenced anywhere else on the City's Community Development or Land Use & Permit Portal pages.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Partially — SolarAPP+ itself is a fully online code-compliance/permit-issuance tool, but the City still requires the SolarAPP+ output and its own paper/PDF Permit Worksheet to be emailed in and manually processed by Building & Safety before the permit is returned
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page step 2 ('APPLY FOR CITY OF ROSEMEAD PERMIT') requires emailing the SolarAPP+ permit and checklist plus the City's own Permit Worksheet PDF to buildinginfo@rosemeadca.gov, and a human returns the signed permit — not a single continuous online transaction end-to-end.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Energy Conservation page lists SCE-specific residential rebate programs (Smart Thermostat, appliance rebates, Home Area Network device) with a direct link to sce.com/residential/rebates-savings/rebates, and separately lists SoCalGas for gas rebates; no Community Choice Aggregator (e.g., Clean Power Alliance) is mentioned anywhere on the page. This is a city-side program page, not an explicit 'SCE is our interconnection utility' statement, and PowerToChoose was not used.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/public_works/energy_conservation.php
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRosemead Community Development/Building & Safety pages and SCE's own DG/interconnection documentation (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302-redirects to the SCE homepage with no working Wayback capture; the direct interconnection-handbook URL 404s) — no sequence statement found on either side
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No — HOA/architectural approval cannot be a precondition for permit issuance
Why the confidence is not higherState law (Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714, and Civil Code §4600 for common-interest developments) preempts HOA disapproval of solar installations and limits HOA review to 'reasonable restrictions' that don't significantly raise cost or cut efficiency; RMC 15.10.030 quotes this 'reasonable restrictions' standard directly into the local ordinance. This is a state-law-derived answer, not a Rosemead-specific rule.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10SOENSY
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 (Building) and Title 17 (Zoning, including Ch.17.29 Fire Hazard Severity Zones and historic-preservation-adjacent chapters) — no historic-district design-review trigger specific to rooftop solar found
https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT17ZO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 (Building Code adoption chapters) and Title 17 (Zoning) — no wind/windstorm certification requirement found; Rosemead is inland LA County, not a designated high-wind zone in documents reviewed
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, in limited cases
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.10.060(A): the Building Official may require a use permit if there is 'substantial evidence' the solar system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety,' appealable to the Planning Commission; RMC 15.10.060(C)-(E) sets the findings standard for denial/conditions.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10SOENSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC (or 30 kW thermal) for the local expedited 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' definition
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.10.030 defines 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' as 'no larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal' for eligibility under the City's expedited Ch.15.10 process. (Separately, the state ministerial-review cap under Gov. Code §65850.52/SB 379 is 38.4 kW AC — a different, state-level threshold not codified locally by Rosemead.)
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.10SOENSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 92% · ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24 Part 2), as amended/adopted via the 2026 Los Angeles County Building Code (Title 26) 93% · ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code (LACFC, LACC Title 32), itself a locally-amended version of the 2022 California Fire Code 72% · ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CEC/2023 NEC as locally amended by the 2026 LA County Electrical Code (Title 27); structurally, the 2025 CBC/2026 LA County Building Code (Title 26); and for disconnects/placarding/ESS, the 2023 LACFC (Title 32), §§105.3.6, 509–509.3, 1201.2, 1207.11 82% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Rosemead on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12, incorporated via the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC in force 82% · ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? LACoFD 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT' exterior placard(s) at each disconnect panel/enclosure, plus matching panel-interior placards identifying specific switches/breakers, per the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System 88% · fire code / AHJ guide
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 90% · fire code / AHJ guide
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Yes — Exterior placards: min. 2"x3.5" weather-resistant plastic, red letters engraved on a yellow background, solid all-capitals Arial font min. 24pt (28pt bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-interior placards: min. 7/16"x3/4" same colors, all-caps bold Arial min. 24pt; attached with permanent, weather/material-compatible epoxy 92% · fire code / AHJ guide
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not a separate 'facility map' placard found; NEC 705.10 (general requirement for a directory/plan-view identification of all power sources at service equipment, as incorporated by the 2025 CEC) is the applicable code driver, implemented locally through the LACoFD disconnect-placard numbering scheme (each disconnect labeled '#X of Y') 55% · inference
- Where must the labels be placed? Exterior placards go on/immediately adjacent to each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated; panel-interior placards go inside the panel to identify specific switches/breakers when more than one within the same enclosure must be operated; exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician and is subject to fire-code-official approval 88% · fire code / AHJ guide
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, not separated by walls/gates/fences/vegetation or architectural features — a Fire Code rule, not a utility rule 82% · fire code / AHJ guide
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes (inferred) 55% · inference
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, with conditions — max 20 kWh per individual ESS unit, 80 kWh aggregate per site (R-3/R-4), UL 9540 (unit) / UL 1741 (inverter) listing, minimum spacing (3-10 ft depending on exposure), impact protection where subject to vehicular impact, and alarm/detection where installed in an attached garage 88% · fire code / AHJ checklist
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 88% · fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Rosemead’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.08.010: '2025 California Electrical Code...as amended and adopted by the 2026 Los Angeles County Electrical Code (Title 27)...' effective 1-13-26 (Ord. No. 1030). The 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC (there is no separately-numbered '2025 NEC').
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24 Part 2), as amended/adopted via the 2026 Los Angeles County Building Code (Title 26)
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.04.010, amended by Ord. No. 1030 §3, effective 1-13-26.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2023 Los Angeles County Fire Code (LACFC, LACC Title 32), itself a locally-amended version of the 2022 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 8.24.010 adopts 'the California Fire Code as amended by Title 32 Los Angeles County [Fire Code]' by reference; the chapter's most recent amendment is Ord. No. 1017 (9-12-23) — unlike the building/electrical/plumbing/mechanical/residential chapters, Ch.8.24 was NOT touched by the Jan-2026 Ord. No. 1030 omnibus code-cycle update, so the locally codified fire-code citation on file as of this check is still the 2022/2023 cycle, not a 2025-cycle CFC. LACoFD's own PV/ESS guide independently confirms 'the 2023 edition of the Los Angeles County Fire Code' as of Sept 2023.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT8HESA_CH8.24FIPRCO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.04.020 deletes specific Chapter-1 building-code sections (106.1-107.19, 109.3-109.4); the LA County Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Fire Codes that Rosemead adopts by reference are themselves locally-amended versions of the state codes (e.g., LACFC amendments to the 2022 CFC).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CEC/2023 NEC as locally amended by the 2026 LA County Electrical Code (Title 27); structurally, the 2025 CBC/2026 LA County Building Code (Title 26); and for disconnects/placarding/ESS, the 2023 LACFC (Title 32), §§105.3.6, 509–509.3, 1201.2, 1207.11
Why the confidence is not higherComposite of RMC 15.04.010, 15.08.010, 8.24.010 and LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects (Rev.3, 2023-09-01), Authority section.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Ch.15.08 (Electrical Code) text extracted (15.08.010/.020/.030/.040) — no local busbar-sizing or 120%-rule amendment found in the sections retrieved; the full LA County Electrical Code (Title 27) text itself was not separately retrieved
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 Building Code chapters and Ch.15.10 (Solar Energy Systems) — no specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing amendment found locally
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Ch.8.24 (Fire Prevention Code) and LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects — the retrieved guide covers ESS spacing/impact-protection and disconnect placarding, not roof-access pathway/ridge-setback dimensions (that content sits in a different LACFC/CFC section, e.g. Ch.1204, not reached in this run)
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12, incorporated via the 2023 NEC/2025 CEC in force
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.08.010 adopts the 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base); LACoFD's Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects (Appendix B, Definitions) independently defines and requires placarding for a PV/BIPV 'Rapid Shutdown (RSD)' initiation device, citing (in its 2023 text) 2022 CEC §§705.10/705.20 as the authority — the equivalent sections carry forward in the 2025 CEC now in force.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
LACoFD 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT' exterior placard(s) at each disconnect panel/enclosure, plus matching panel-interior placards identifying specific switches/breakers, per the LACoFD Electrical Power Source Disconnect Placarding System
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects, Appendix B (Disconnect Placarding Requirements), Sections I-II, citing authority LACFC §§102.8, 102.9, 104.1, 105.2, 509-509.3, 1201.2, 1205.4, 1207.4.1, 1207.11.5.1 and 2022 CEC §§225.37, 230.70, 230.85, 705.10, 705.20 — this fire code is adopted by Rosemead by reference (RMC 8.24.010).
fire code / AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide Appendix B, Section II.B: exact verbiage 'F.D. – ELECTRICAL BLDG DISCONNECT' with a '#X of Y' numbering scheme identifying each required disconnect out of the total count needed to fully de-energize the structure (including any rapid-shutdown initiation device).
fire code / AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — Exterior placards: min. 2"x3.5" weather-resistant plastic, red letters engraved on a yellow background, solid all-capitals Arial font min. 24pt (28pt bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-interior placards: min. 7/16"x3/4" same colors, all-caps bold Arial min. 24pt; attached with permanent, weather/material-compatible epoxy
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide Appendix B, Section II.B.1-4, quoted verbatim from the extracted PDF text.
fire code / AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not a separate 'facility map' placard found; NEC 705.10 (general requirement for a directory/plan-view identification of all power sources at service equipment, as incorporated by the 2025 CEC) is the applicable code driver, implemented locally through the LACoFD disconnect-placard numbering scheme (each disconnect labeled '#X of Y')
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide Appendix B cites 2022 CEC §705.10 as part of its authority list, but the guide itself only prescribes disconnect placards, not a distinct facility/site map placard; no separate facility-map requirement was found in Rosemead's own ordinance.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's DG/interconnection handbook and Rule 21 documentation — on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302-redirects to the SCE homepage, the direct interconnection-handbook page 404s, and no working Wayback capture of either was found
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Exterior placards go on/immediately adjacent to each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated; panel-interior placards go inside the panel to identify specific switches/breakers when more than one within the same enclosure must be operated; exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician and is subject to fire-code-official approval
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Guide Appendix B, Section II.B.7 (Placard locations).
fire code / AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot separately stated by Rosemead; the LACoFD Guide requires UL 9540 listing for ESS units and UL 1741 for ESS inverters, and standard CEC Art. 690 compliance (which SolarAPP+ validates) requires PV modules/inverters to be listed — no distinct 'City-approved equipment list' was found.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, with conditions — max 20 kWh per individual ESS unit, 80 kWh aggregate per site (R-3/R-4), UL 9540 (unit) / UL 1741 (inverter) listing, minimum spacing (3-10 ft depending on exposure), impact protection where subject to vehicular impact, and alarm/detection where installed in an attached garage
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Expedited Permitting Checklist for ESS/PV/Disconnects (2023-09-01), Sections I-II, citing 2023 LACFC §1207.11 and Table 1207.1.1.
fire code / AHJ checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD's own Appendix QQ fire-code fee schedule lists distinct ESS plan-review ($195, Group R-3/R-4) and ESS field-inspection ($390/$565 depending on table) fee lines separate from the PV lines, and the LACoFD Guide describes a dedicated LACoFD plan-submittal-and-inspection process for ESS regardless of whether the underlying PV installation is otherwise delegated to city Building & Safety.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRMC Title 15 (Building Code) and Title 17 (Zoning) — no explicit statement on whether a ground-mounted PV array is treated as an accessory structure was found in the sections retrieved
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within 6 feet of the main service panel, on the same wall plane, not separated by walls/gates/fences/vegetation or architectural features — a Fire Code rule, not a utility rule
Why the confidence is not higherLACFC §509.3 (quoted in full in LACoFD Guide Appendix B, Section II.A.5), adopted by Rosemead by reference via RMC 8.24.010. Flagged per the brief as a fire-code fallback for this question because SCE's own DG-manual/interconnection-handbook pages are dead (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook redirects to the SCE homepage; no working Wayback capture found).
fire code / AHJ guide checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Guide-for-ESS-PV-and-Disconnects-Rev-3-2023-09-01-w-Appendices-SECURED.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (online web form) or Email 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively next-business-day: requests must be submitted by 3:30 PM to be considered for a next-day inspection, subject to availability 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — explicit A.M./P.M. preference is collected on the inspection-request form 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated / Split 72% · fire code / AHJ checklist
- If delegated, to whom? Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division — regional inspection office (specific office assigned to Rosemead not confirmed; Rosemead is not listed by name on LACoFD's own regional-office phone/email list, whose nearest listed offices are Commerce and East Los Angeles in the 'Central Region') 58% · department directory
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not fully documented; SolarAPP+ process implies a single final inspection step after permit issuance for straightforward residential PV 50% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes for LACoFD's ESS/PV/Disconnect-placarding inspection checklist (published, extracted in this run); not found for a City of Rosemead general-building PV-specific inspection checklist 70% · fire code / AHJ checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? Digital proof of the construction permit (e.g., the SolarAPP+ approval) and, where LACoFD inspection applies, cut/spec sheets for ESS components on request and LACoFD invoicing information; the City's own rule implies the inspection record card and approved plans must be posted/available on site 72% · fire code / AHJ checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (inferred from standard final-inspection practice under the adopted Electrical/Fire codes) 55% · inference
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a signed/closed inspection card); a Certificate of Occupancy is a separate, optional document issued 'upon written request by the permit holder' and is oriented toward new construction/occupancy changes, not typically requested for a PV retrofit 55% · ordinance
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $98 (LACoFD 'additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection', Table QQ104.4(6)); City of Rosemead's own re-inspection fee amount is not published — the ordinance allows one but sets no dollar figure 72% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Not fully documented; RMC 15.02.040(C) lists the conditions that trigger a re-inspection fee (incomplete work, uncorrected items, inadequate site access, missing inspection card, unavailable approved plans, or deviation from approved plans) but does not describe a formal correction-notice/clearance process 60% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Rosemead’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (online web form) or Email
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Building Inspection Request page is an online form (posted to a Revize CMS endpoint) collecting address, permit number, inspection type/date, AM/PM preference and contact info; the same page states inspections 'may also be requested by sending an email to BuildingInspections@rosemeadca.gov.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/building_inspection_request.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively next-business-day: requests must be submitted by 3:30 PM to be considered for a next-day inspection, subject to availability
Why the confidence is not higherDecoded form-instruction text on the Building Inspection Request page: 'Your request must be submitted by 3:30 PM in order to be considered for a next day inspection, subject to availability.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/building_inspection_request.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — explicit A.M./P.M. preference is collected on the inspection-request form
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Inspection Request form includes a checkbox-group field labeled 'A.M. or P.M.'; the daily inspection time-frame list is posted on the Building Division webpage at 6:15 PM the prior evening.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/building_inspection_request.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated / Split
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Rosemead Building & Safety performs the general building/electrical final inspection for conventional rooftop PV (delegated to it by LACoFD per the Guide's background section); however, LACoFD's own Expedited Permitting Inspection Checklist separately lists 'Electrical-disconnection devices, and associated placarding' and 'Rapid-Shutdown attenuation devices, and associated placarding' as aspects of ANY PV installation 'requiring LACoFD inspection' — so the disconnect/RSD placards specifically may get a distinct LACoFD field visit even on an otherwise-delegated job. The two source documents are not fully reconciled on this point and that ambiguity is flagged rather than resolved.
fire code / AHJ checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division — regional inspection office (specific office assigned to Rosemead not confirmed; Rosemead is not listed by name on LACoFD's own regional-office phone/email list, whose nearest listed offices are Commerce and East Los Angeles in the 'Central Region')
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Fire Prevention Division Regional Units — Inspection Offices phone/email list (rev. 2023-09-01) does not itemize a Rosemead-specific office; Rosemead does appear under LACoFD 'Division 9' station coverage (with Bell, Bell Gardens, Commerce, El Monte, South El Monte, Temple City) on the LACoFD contracting page, which is an operational (not fire-prevention-office) grouping.
department directory checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/LACoFD-Fire-Prevention-REGIONAL-Inspection-Office-PHONE-EMAIL-List-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Not fully documented; SolarAPP+ process implies a single final inspection step after permit issuance for straightforward residential PV
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's SolarAPP+ page's 3-step process ends at 'SCHEDULE THE INSPECTION ONLINE' (singular) with no separate rough-in step described; no published multi-stage inspection sequence for PV specifically was found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolarAPP+ Submittals page and Building Inspection Request/Schedule pages — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement for PV specifically
https://www.cityofrosemead.org/services/community_development/solarapp_submittals.php
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (inferred from standard final-inspection practice under the adopted Electrical/Fire codes)
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly stated by the City; verifying labels/listings is inherent to any final inspection performed under the adopted 2025 CEC and 2023 LACFC (which mandate the disconnect/RSD placards and UL-listed equipment this survey is about), but no city document says so in as many words.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.08ELCO
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes for LACoFD's ESS/PV/Disconnect-placarding inspection checklist (published, extracted in this run); not found for a City of Rosemead general-building PV-specific inspection checklist
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD's 'Expedited Permitting Process — LACoFD Inspection Checklist for Group R-3/-4 ESS, PV, and Electrical-Disconnect Placarding' (2023-09-01) is a public, published PDF; no equivalent Rosemead Building & Safety checklist was found on the city site.
fire code / AHJ checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Digital proof of the construction permit (e.g., the SolarAPP+ approval) and, where LACoFD inspection applies, cut/spec sheets for ESS components on request and LACoFD invoicing information; the City's own rule implies the inspection record card and approved plans must be posted/available on site
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD Checklist Section I.1.a-c (documents to have ready before requesting a LACoFD inspection); RMC 15.02.040(C)(1)(d)-(e) lists 'the inspection record card is not posted' and 'the approved plans are not available for the inspector' as grounds the Building Official may cite to charge a re-inspection fee, implying both must normally be on site.
fire code / AHJ checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2023/09/Expedited-Permitting-Checklist-LACoFD-ESS-PV-Disconnects-2023-09-01-SECURED.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$98 (LACoFD 'additional inspections after initial inspection and one reinspection', Table QQ104.4(6)); City of Rosemead's own re-inspection fee amount is not published — the ordinance allows one but sets no dollar figure
Why the confidence is not higherLACoFD 2023 LACFC Appendix QQ, Table QQ104.4(6) lists this figure exactly. RMC 15.02.040(C) authorizes the City to assess a re-inspection fee under listed conditions but does not itself state an amount, and no specific building re-inspection dollar figure was found in the City's FY2026-27 Comprehensive Fee Schedule.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://fire.lacounty.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/2023-LACFC-Appendix-QQ-Certified-Ord-Eff.-2024-01-11-Secured.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Not fully documented; RMC 15.02.040(C) lists the conditions that trigger a re-inspection fee (incomplete work, uncorrected items, inadequate site access, missing inspection card, unavailable approved plans, or deviation from approved plans) but does not describe a formal correction-notice/clearance process
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.040(C)(1)(a)-(f).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02ADBUCO
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a signed/closed inspection card); a Certificate of Occupancy is a separate, optional document issued 'upon written request by the permit holder' and is oriented toward new construction/occupancy changes, not typically requested for a PV retrofit
Why the confidence is not higherRMC 15.02.050(A): 'Upon passing final inspection...the Building Official MAY issue a Certificate of Occupancy upon written request by the permit holder' — implying it is not automatically issued on every passed inspection.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/rosemead/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15BUCO_CH15.02ADBUCO
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity of Rosemead Building & Safety pages and SCE's DG/interconnection documentation — no statement found on either side of who transmits proof of final inspection/PTO eligibility to SCE; SCE's own interconnection-handbook page is dead (302-redirects to homepage, no Wayback capture)
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Rosemead against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Rosemead is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (City of Rosemead Building and Safety Division, within Community Development); fire-code administration for conventional rooftop PV is delegated to the same city division by LACoFD, but LACoFD (Los Angeles County Fire Department) remains the Fire Code AHJ and retains direct plan-review/field-inspection authority over Energy Storage Systems >3 kWh, qualifying Building-Integrated PV, and PV disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding
- Delegated to
- Los Angeles County Fire Department (LACoFD), Fire Prevention Division — for ESS/qualifying-BIPV/disconnect-placard review & inspection specifically; the underlying Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Residential/Green-Building/Energy/Historical-Building/Existing-Building codes are themselves LA County Titles 26-33 codes adopted by the City by reference, though the City's own Building and Safety Division administers permitting and inspection under them directly
- Overridden by
- LACFC/CFC §105.3.6 ('Permits presuming to give authority to violate or cancel the provisions of this code...shall not be valid') preserves LACoFD's fire-code authority over ESS/BIPV/placarding even where plan review is otherwise delegated to the city; California AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch.22) also freezes any more-restrictive local residential-code amendment from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031
- Why not higher
- RMC 15.04.010/15.08.010 (Municode, Ordinance No. 1030, eff. 1-13-26) show the City's own Building and Safety Division administers the Building and Electrical Codes it adopts by reference from LA County Titles 26/27. RMC 8.24.010 adopts the LA County Fire Code (Title 32) by reference. LACoFD's own 'Guide for ESS, PV, and Disconnects' (Rev.3, 2023-09-01) states in its Background section that LACoFD 'has historically delegated fire-official authority, for plan review and inspection of conventional residential solar-on-roof installations...to the jurisdictional building and safety department,' but that this delegation 'does not extend to' ESS or qualifying BIPV, and that LACoFD's own Expedited-Permitting Inspection Checklist separately lists disconnect/rapid-shutdown placarding as an aspect of ANY PV installation requiring LACoFD inspection. Rosemead is confirmed by name (raw HTML grep, not a summary) on LACoFD's contracting page as one of the 47 'Property Tax Cities' served by the Fire District (not a fee-for-service city) — https://fire.lacounty.gov/contracting/. The city's own nav is a minor trap worth flagging: the Public Works 'Schedule an Inspection' page is a red herring for building/PV inspections — those are actually booked under Community Development's 'Building Inspection Request/Schedule' pages, which is where SolarAPP+ inspections are routed.
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes96%
- Plan review
- Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1–3 business days for electronic applications95%
- Portal
- SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) for eligible small residential rooftop PV; non-eligible projects submit by email to the Building & Safety Division (no Accela/CitizenServe-style general permit…85%
- Electrical code
- 202392%
- Own placard wording
- Yes90%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (online web form) or Email90%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Rosemead writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 90%
Yes
Size, colour & material 92%
Yes — Exterior placards: min. 2"x3.5" weather-resistant plastic, red letters engraved on a yellow background, solid all-capitals Arial font min. 24pt (28pt bold for 'F.D.' and '#X of Y'); Panel-interior placards: min. 7/16"x3/4" same colors, all-caps bold Arial min. 24pt; attached with permanent, weather/material-compatible epoxy
Where they go 88%
Exterior placards go on/immediately adjacent to each panel/enclosure or standalone disconnect switch that must be operated; panel-interior placards go inside the panel to identify specific switches/breakers when more than one within the same enclosure must be operated; exact placement is determined by a C-10 electrician and is subject to fire-code-official approval
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.