City of San Bernardino
San Bernardino County
City of San Bernardino is a city authority in the State of California, serving 222,101 residents. 11,512 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 1–3 business days (via the Symbium instant/automated plan-review portal for eligible systems); standard (non-expedited) turnaround not separately stated. Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access ('Online Permits', https://aca-prod.accela.com/SANBERN/) for general permit search/status; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $0 / 'No Charge' for the solar-system-specific permit fee line itself; a general $60 permit issuance fee (applies to 'all permits' per the fee schedule) may still be layered on.62% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 1–3 business days (via the Symbium instant/automated plan-review portal for eligible systems); standard (non-expedited) turnaround not separately stated.85% source
- Key document
- department page cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 80% · department page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — for qualifying systems the process is administrative/ministerial via the Eligibility Checklist, with no Council or discretionary Specific Use Permit step described. 72% · checklist
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No blanket system-size cap found; the City's own expedited/ministerial fast-track is limited to systems ≤10kW AC, roof-mounted on 1-2 family dwellings, utility-interactive without battery storage — larger or non-conforming systems fall to standard (non-expedited) plan review rather than being barred outright. 80% · checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 78% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 78% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Permit application; Contractor or Owner-Builder declaration (notarized if signed by a company rep); proof of active business license; completed Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Residential Solar Voltaic Permitting; plans min. 11x17 (site/plot plan, roof plan+framing, single-line electrical diagram, structural/lateral calcs by CA PE/architect where panels >4 lbs/ft², equipment spec sheets, UL listings, structural criteria form); signed/stamped by CA-licensed B/C-46/C-10 contractor with engineered portions stamped by a CA architect/engineer. 92% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Not specified for the solar-specific expedited path; the City's general (non-solar) Plan Check Submittal Requirements (rev. 02/2023) calls for six complete sets for standard plan check. 55% · checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a plot/site plan (APN, address, all structures, setbacks, north arrow) plus a roof plan showing location/dimensions of all PV equipment and arrays. 92% · checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 95% · checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 92% · checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required generally for engineered portions (CA-licensed architect/engineer); explicit numeric trigger given for LATERAL calcs: 'For panels weighing more than 4 lbs/ft², provide lateral calculations by a licensed professional engineer or architect... showing that affected existing lateral resisting elements are no more than 10% overstressed.' 88% · checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access ('Online Permits', https://aca-prod.accela.com/SANBERN/) for general permit search/status; Symbium Solar portal for the expedited residential-solar instant plan review path. 88% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for eligible systems via Symbium (instantaneous online plan review/approval); the general Accela portal is used more for permit status/search than full application intake. 75% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $0 / 'No Charge' for the solar-system-specific permit fee line itself; a general $60 permit issuance fee (applies to 'all permits' per the fee schedule) may still be layered on. 62% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 62% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 58% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 1–3 business days (via the Symbium instant/automated plan-review portal for eligible systems); standard (non-expedited) turnaround not separately stated. 85% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (permit deemed abandoned/expired if no inspection/substantial progress within any 180-day period) 90% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · city page
28 questions answered against City of San Bernardino’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division and 'Apply for Residential Solar Permits' pages describe the City issuing and inspecting residential solar permits directly.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division page lists building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical permit issuance and inspection as in-house; only the fire-code portion is delegated to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District per 2016 annexation.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/205/Building-Safety-Division
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherDedicated 'Apply for Residential Solar Permits' page and eligibility-checklist/submittal-requirements PDFs presuppose and require a permit.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar PV permit itself covers structural+electrical review together (single eligibility checklist/submittal covers both). A SEPARATE electrical permit is only required if a service/panel upgrade accompanies the PV install ('Electric panel upgrades require separate electrical permits through the Solar Division').
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSolar landing page requires either a licensed 'Contractor' declaration or an 'Owner Builder' Permit Application Declaration; submittal requirements say plans must be signed by a CA-licensed B, C-46, or C-10 contractor (or design professional for engineered portions), but the applicant/permittee itself can be the owner-builder.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar landing page lists 'Proof of active Business License' among required submittal items for a contractor, indicating city business registration is a prerequisite to applying.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar landing page explicitly provides an Owner-Builder path requiring a completed Permit Application Declaration.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Permit application; Contractor or Owner-Builder declaration (notarized if signed by a company rep); proof of active business license; completed Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Residential Solar Voltaic Permitting; plans min. 11x17 (site/plot plan, roof plan+framing, single-line electrical diagram, structural/lateral calcs by CA PE/architect where panels >4 lbs/ft², equipment spec sheets, UL listings, structural criteria form); signed/stamped by CA-licensed B/C-46/C-10 contractor with engineered portions stamped by a CA architect/engineer.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated across the City's own Eligibility Checklist and Solar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDFs, both current, both hosted on the City's own DocumentCenter.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Not specified for the solar-specific expedited path; the City's general (non-solar) Plan Check Submittal Requirements (rev. 02/2023) calls for six complete sets for standard plan check.
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar-specific submittal PDF gives a minimum sheet size (11x17) but no copy count; the general plan-check document's '6 sets' rule is written for standard building submittals broadly, and expedited solar review is largely done in the field, so it's unclear this count still applies to the streamlined path.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/515/Plan-Check-Submittal-Requirements---022023-PDF
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a plot/site plan (APN, address, all structures, setbacks, north arrow) plus a roof plan showing location/dimensions of all PV equipment and arrays.
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit in both the Plan Check Submittal Requirements and the Solar PV Submittal Requirements PDFs.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Submittal Requirements PDF explicitly requires a 'Single Line Wiring Diagram' showing conduit/conductor sizes, OCD ratings, and derated ampacities.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal PDF requires array info (modules in series/parallel), VOC/ISC calcs, and 'Conductor Calculations' with derating factors.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required generally for engineered portions (CA-licensed architect/engineer); explicit numeric trigger given for LATERAL calcs: 'For panels weighing more than 4 lbs/ft², provide lateral calculations by a licensed professional engineer or architect... showing that affected existing lateral resisting elements are no more than 10% overstressed.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the City's own Solar PV Submittal Requirements PDF, Roof Plan item 5.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDF (electrical section)
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$0 / 'No Charge' for the solar-system-specific permit fee line itself; a general $60 permit issuance fee (applies to 'all permits' per the fee schedule) may still be layered on.
Why the confidence is not higherFee Schedule PDF (dated 07/2020, still the only one posted) lists 'Solar Energy Systems ... No Charge' under both the Electrical Fees table and again near the Plumbing Fees table, but a separate Table 8 'Permit Issuance Fee ... $60.00 (to be included on all permits)' isn't explicitly reconciled against the solar line — and the schedule itself is 6 years old.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/341/Schedule-of-Fees---Building--Safety-Division-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee schedule shows a flat '$0/No Charge' line item for Solar Energy Systems rather than a valuation-, per-kW-, or per-panel-based formula.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/341/Schedule-of-Fees---Building--Safety-Division-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo itemized separate plan-check fee for solar appears in the fee schedule (the No-Charge line appears to cover the whole solar permit); inference, not an explicit statement that plan check is bundled/free.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/341/Schedule-of-Fees---Building--Safety-Division-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
1–3 business days (via the Symbium instant/automated plan-review portal for eligible systems); standard (non-expedited) turnaround not separately stated.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the City's Apply for Residential Solar Permits page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days (permit deemed abandoned/expired if no inspection/substantial progress within any 180-day period)
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.04.050 (CBC §105.5.1 as locally added) states this explicitly, last carried through Ord. MC-1643 (2024), current in the code supplement through May 2026.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-16043
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Access ('Online Permits', https://aca-prod.accela.com/SANBERN/) for general permit search/status; Symbium Solar portal for the expedited residential-solar instant plan review path.
Why the confidence is not higherAccela URL confirmed by rendering the City's Online Permits page; Symbium named on the Residential Solar Permits landing page as the primary expedited-review method.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/801/Online-Permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes, for eligible systems via Symbium (instantaneous online plan review/approval); the general Accela portal is used more for permit status/search than full application intake.
Why the confidence is not higherCity page describes Symbium pathway as producing approval without an in-person visit for eligible systems; Accela's exact application-submission capability wasn't independently verified on-page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Utilities' page names SCE as the electric utility (phone 800-655-4555); corroborated by San Bernardino County's SCE service-territory GIS layer.
city page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1267/Utilities
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE grid-interconnections, NEM, and submit-documents pages; City solar landing page
https://www.sce.com/customer-service-center/help-center/solar/submit-documents
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity solar landing page, eligibility checklist, submittal requirements, Title 19 land-use overview
https://www.sanbernardino.gov/1650/Apply-for-Residential-Solar-Permits
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 15 (incl. Ch. 15.37 Historic Building Demolition Ordinance), solar checklist/submittal PDFs
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-15963
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 15 building codes chapter, solar checklist/submittal PDFs
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-15963
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No — for qualifying systems the process is administrative/ministerial via the Eligibility Checklist, with no Council or discretionary Specific Use Permit step described.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the eligibility-checklist and submittal-requirements PDFs describe a purely administrative plan-check/inspection path with no legislative or discretionary approval step; consistent with SB 379's ministerial-review mandate.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No blanket system-size cap found; the City's own expedited/ministerial fast-track is limited to systems ≤10kW AC, roof-mounted on 1-2 family dwellings, utility-interactive without battery storage — larger or non-conforming systems fall to standard (non-expedited) plan review rather than being barred outright.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated as eligibility criteria on the Eligibility Checklist and Submittal Requirements PDFs; note this 10kW ceiling is narrower than the 38.4kW SB 379 references on the City's own solar landing page — worth flagging as a possible local-vs-state scope mismatch.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (2022 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3, based on 2017 NEC) 80% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2022 California Building Code (Title 24 Part 2, based on 2021 IBC) 80% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 California Fire Code (Title 24 Part 9); amendments to it are adopted by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, not the City directly. 80% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 92% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? 2022 California Electrical Code Article 690 (per the City's general Plan Check Submittal Requirements cover-sheet rule, which lists '2022 CEC' among the applicable codes/editions). 62% · checklist (dated/stale)
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? By reference to CA Residential Code §R324 and California Fire Code §1204 fire-safety access-pathway requirements; eligibility checklist requires 'clear access pathways provided' but no city-specific numeric ridge-setback amendment was found beyond the state-code default. 62% · checklist
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required under the adopted 2022 CEC (based on 2017 NEC) Article 690.12 rapid-shutdown provisions. 58% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? (1) Permanently affixed metal placard at the service panel stating the down-sized main breaker rating; (2) system labels/warnings per NEC Article 690; (3) fire-classification and required markings/labels checked at final inspection per the eligibility checklist. 80% · checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes — exact required wording for the breaker placard: "The main service breaker has been down sized to ____ Amps." 85% · checklist
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Material specified ('permanently affixed metal placard'); letter height/color not specified in any City document reviewed. 55% · checklist
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof-layout diagram showing all panels/modules, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points is required as part of the Fire Safety Requirements section of the eligibility checklist. 85% · checklist
- Where must the labels be placed? At/inside the main service equipment panel for the breaker-derating placard; system labels per NEC Article 690 shown 'on the plans' implying placement at the inverter, disconnects, and array per code. 65% · checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 88% · checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Systems 'with battery storage' or that 'utilize storage batteries, charge controllers, or tracker' are explicitly EXCLUDED from the expedited/ministerial checklist path and would require standard (non-expedited) plan review; no outright City prohibition on batteries was found. 70% · checklist
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No specific numeric busbar/120%-rule found, but the City's solar handout requires: no derating of the service panel for solar interconnection is permitted, and a permanent placard must state the main breaker has been down-sized to a specific amp rating with no up-sizing allowed. 68% · checklist
20 questions answered against City of San Bernardino’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (2022 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3, based on 2017 NEC)
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.04.020(B)(3), last amended by Ord. MC-1643 (Oct. 2024), current in the supplement through May 2026, explicitly names '2022 California Electrical Code... based on 2017 NEC.' Flag: California's next triennial Title 24 cycle (2025 code) took effect statewide 1/1/2026 and the codified ordinance text hasn't visibly been re-published to reflect that yet — worth confirming directly with the Building Official.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-16043
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 California Building Code (Title 24 Part 2, based on 2021 IBC)
Why the confidence is not higherSame §15.04.020(B)(2); same currency caveat as Q29 applies re: the 2025 statewide cycle.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-16043
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2022 California Fire Code (Title 24 Part 9); amendments to it are adopted by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, not the City directly.
Why the confidence is not higher§15.04.020(B)(8) states this explicitly, consistent with the City's 2016 annexation into the County Fire Protection District.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-16043
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 15.04 itself lists numerous local amendments to the CBC (abandonment/expiration §105.5.1, Board of Appeals §112.1.1, fence exemption §105.2, welding operator qualification §2204.1.1, pool barriers §3109.1.1, Alquist-Priolo Appendix J sections, grading/on-site improvement provisions, etc.).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-15963
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
2022 California Electrical Code Article 690 (per the City's general Plan Check Submittal Requirements cover-sheet rule, which lists '2022 CEC' among the applicable codes/editions).
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's DEDICATED Solar PV Submittal Requirements handout itself still cites '2019 California Building Code' / '2019 California Electrical Code' / '2019 CEC Article 690' throughout, and even retains an un-edited reference to 'City of Buena Park' in its System Calculations section — clear evidence that handout is stale boilerplate carried over from another city and not updated to the currently codified 2022 cycle. Treating the City's current adopted ordinance (2022 CEC) as authoritative over the stale handout, but confidence is reduced accordingly.
checklist (dated/stale) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No specific numeric busbar/120%-rule found, but the City's solar handout requires: no derating of the service panel for solar interconnection is permitted, and a permanent placard must state the main breaker has been down-sized to a specific amp rating with no up-sizing allowed.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the (dated, see Q33 caveat) Solar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDF, Electrical item 12.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDF (Roof Plan section)
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
By reference to CA Residential Code §R324 and California Fire Code §1204 fire-safety access-pathway requirements; eligibility checklist requires 'clear access pathways provided' but no city-specific numeric ridge-setback amendment was found beyond the state-code default.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Submittal Requirements PDF cites 'R324 of the California Residential Code and section 1204 of the [2019-cited] California Fire Code' (see Q33 currency caveat — code edition citation in this doc is stale) for this requirement, without adding a City-specific numeric amendment.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required under the adopted 2022 CEC (based on 2017 NEC) Article 690.12 rapid-shutdown provisions.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the code edition formally adopted by the City (§15.04.020); no City document reviewed used the term 'rapid shutdown' explicitly — the closest City-specific language is 'electrical disconnecting means' in the eligibility checklist.
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanbernardinoca/latest/sanbernardino_ca/0-0-0-16043
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
(1) Permanently affixed metal placard at the service panel stating the down-sized main breaker rating; (2) system labels/warnings per NEC Article 690; (3) fire-classification and required markings/labels checked at final inspection per the eligibility checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the Solar PV Submittal Requirements and Eligibility Checklist PDFs (Fire Safety Requirements section, item C: 'All required markings and labels are provided').
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — exact required wording for the breaker placard: "The main service breaker has been down sized to ____ Amps."
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim quote from the City's own Solar PV Submittal Requirements PDF, Electrical item 12.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Material specified ('permanently affixed metal placard'); letter height/color not specified in any City document reviewed.
Why the confidence is not higherMaterial requirement quoted from the submittal-requirements PDF; no city-specific typography spec found (defers to NEC 690 marking requirements generally).
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — a roof-layout diagram showing all panels/modules, clear access pathways, and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points is required as part of the Fire Safety Requirements section of the eligibility checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the City's Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Residential Solar Voltaic Permitting, Fire Safety Requirements item D.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedsce.com interconnection, distribution-manuals, and submit-documents pages
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At/inside the main service equipment panel for the breaker-derating placard; system labels per NEC Article 690 shown 'on the plans' implying placement at the inverter, disconnects, and array per code.
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit for the breaker placard ('placed for clear visibility inside the electrical panel'); the Article 690 labeling placement is by reference to code rather than independently specified by the City.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal requirements PDF requires 'U.L. listings' attached to the plans for all solar equipment.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Systems 'with battery storage' or that 'utilize storage batteries, charge controllers, or tracker' are explicitly EXCLUDED from the expedited/ministerial checklist path and would require standard (non-expedited) plan review; no outright City prohibition on batteries was found.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated as a disqualifying condition on the Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Residential Solar Voltaic Permitting.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Document Library and solar-specific PDFs
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedEligibility Checklist and Submittal Requirements PDFs (both roof-mount-only in scope)
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity submittal requirements PDF; SCE public interconnection pages
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone — via 'SB Direct' at (909) 998-2000, with the permit number ready. 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 80% · department page + checklist
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for building/electrical (City Building & Safety performs it directly); the fire-code portion is administered by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, which the City annexed into in 2016. 75% · council record
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a qualifying expedited residential system (≤10kW AC, roof-mount, no battery storage): plan review and final inspection occur TOGETHER as one combined field inspection. If a service/panel upgrade is also involved, that work must already be inspected or ready for inspection concurrently with the solar final. 82% · department page
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — for the expedited path there is a single combined final inspection, not a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection. 75% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 92% · checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? The permit, approved plans, and the eligibility checklist must be on site; the Solar landing page separately notes hard copies of an 11x14 site map, single-line diagram, and 8x11 spec sheets should be available at inspection. 85% · checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 90% · checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Approved/passed final inspection sign-off on the permit (not a separate Certificate of Occupancy — the CO fee in the schedule applies to new construction/occupancy changes, not a PV retrofit on an existing dwelling). 55% · inference
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 58% · utility page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $118.35 75% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of San Bernardino’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone — via 'SB Direct' at (909) 998-2000, with the permit number ready.
Why the confidence is not higherExplicitly stated on the Building & Safety Division page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/205/Building-Safety-Division
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety Division page
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety Division page
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division performs the combined plan-review/final field inspection for expedited residential solar itself; fire-safety-pathway compliance is checked at the same visit, though fire-code enforcement authority for amendments sits with San Bernardino County Fire Protection District rather than a city fire department.
department page + checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for building/electrical (City Building & Safety performs it directly); the fire-code portion is administered by the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District, which the City annexed into in 2016.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed via San Bernardino LAFCO 3258 and the City Council's own Feb. 2016 revenue-transfer-agreement presentation regarding annexation into the County Fire Protection District, consistent with Municipal Code §15.04.020(B)(8).
council record checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2820/Council-Presentation-tax-transfer-itm-022916-13-pages-PDF
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a qualifying expedited residential system (≤10kW AC, roof-mount, no battery storage): plan review and final inspection occur TOGETHER as one combined field inspection. If a service/panel upgrade is also involved, that work must already be inspected or ready for inspection concurrently with the solar final.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in the Solar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDF, 'Plan Review and Final Inspection' section.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No — for the expedited path there is a single combined final inspection, not a separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the same 'one inspection for both' language in the Submittal Requirements PDF; standard (non-expedited) path sequence not documented.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/527/Solar-Photovoltaic-System-Submittal-Requirements-PDF
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist Fire Safety Requirements item C explicitly requires the inspector to confirm 'All required markings and labels are provided.'
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Residential Solar Voltaic Permitting IS the published inspection checklist: 'the inspector will conduct a plan review and inspection of the system and compare it to the checklist above.'
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The permit, approved plans, and the eligibility checklist must be on site; the Solar landing page separately notes hard copies of an 11x14 site map, single-line diagram, and 8x11 spec sheets should be available at inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth requirements are explicit and independently stated on the City's own eligibility checklist and solar landing page.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/381/Solar-Permitting-Eligibility-Checklist-for-Expedited-Residential---Fillable-PDF
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$118.35
Why the confidence is not higherFee Schedule Table 8 (Miscellaneous Fees) lists 'Reinspection Fee $118.35' matching the hourly inspection rate; schedule is dated 07/2020 and may be stale after 6 years, hence confidence is capped.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/341/Schedule-of-Fees---Building--Safety-Division-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Photovoltaic System Submittal Requirements PDF; Building & Safety Division page
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Approved/passed final inspection sign-off on the permit (not a separate Certificate of Occupancy — the CO fee in the schedule applies to new construction/occupancy changes, not a PV retrofit on an existing dwelling).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from context — no City document names the specific document/tag issued on a passing solar final inspection.
inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanbernardino.gov/DocumentCenter/View/341/Schedule-of-Fees---Building--Safety-Division-PDF
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherSCE's own customer-service page states 'most contractors will apply on your behalf' for the interconnection/PTO paperwork; not a City-side responsibility. Not independently confirmed on a City document.
utility page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/customer-service-center/help-center/solar/submit-documents
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of San Bernardino against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of San Bernardino is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (self-performed by City Building & Safety Division). Fire code enforcement/amendments are NOT held by the city itself — the City annexed into the San Bernardino County Fire Protection District in 2016 (LAFCO 3258 / Feb 2016 revenue-transfer agreement), and the City's own adoption ordinance says CFC amendments are "adopted by district for the greater County Fire District."
- Delegated to
- San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (fire-code portion only)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov Code §65850.5 (SB 379, as amended) mandates ministerial/instant review for eligible systems up to 38.4kW; the City's OWN expedited checklist caps its instant/no-plan-review path at 10kW AC — narrower than what state law entitles, which is itself a finding worth flagging, not necessarily noncompliance (larger systems likely still get standard, non-ministerial-fast-track review). AB 130 (2025) also now freezes local residential code amendments through 2031.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building & Safety Division page and Residential Solar Permits landing page both affirmatively describe the City issuing building+electrical permits and performing inspection for residential PV; the fire-service delegation is separately confirmed by the City's own LAFCO/annexation record and by its own building-code-adoption ordinance text.
Check the code edition before you build
This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $0 / 'No Charge' for the solar-system-specific permit fee line itself; a general $60 permit issuance fee (applies to 'all permits' per the fee schedule) may still be layered on.62%
- Plan review
- 1–3 business days (via the Symbium instant/automated plan-review portal for eligible systems); standard (non-expedited) turnaround not separately stated.85%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Access ('Online Permits', https://aca-prod.accela.com/SANBERN/) for general permit search/status;88%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (2022 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3, based on 2017 NEC)80%
- Own placard wording
- Yes — exact required wording for the breaker placard: "The main service breaker has been down sized to ____ Amps."85%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone — via 'SB Direct' at (909) 998-2000, with the permit number ready.90%
Labels & placards for this authority
City of San Bernardino writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 85%
Yes — exact required wording for the breaker placard: "The main service breaker has been down sized to ____ Amps."
Size, colour & material 55%
Material specified ('permanently affixed metal placard'); letter height/color not specified in any City document reviewed.
Where they go 65%
At/inside the main service equipment panel for the breaker-derating placard; system labels per NEC Article 690 shown 'on the plans' implying placement at the inverter, disconnects, and array per code.
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.