City of San Gabriel

Los Angeles County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of San Gabriel is a city authority in the State of California, serving 39,568 residents. 1,611 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$450 total (residential, <15kW), on either track90% source
Key document
published checklist cited by 10 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes, for incorporated San Gabriel addresses 95% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · published checklist
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No HOA approval requirement stated by the City; a City Design Review (not HOA) is conditionally required if the system is street-facing 75% · published checklist
    • Is there a historic-district review? Yes 95% · published checklist
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No formal windstorm/TDI-style certification (not applicable in CA); wind-uplift structural calculations under ASCE 7-10 are required instead 60% · published checklist
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard system-size cap identified; <15kW is a fee/process tier boundary (separating the 'Residential Solar Permit' fee category from the 'Other e.g. Commercial, Multi-Family' category), not a stated ceiling on residential system size 55% · fee schedule
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · authority's own page
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · authority's own page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, on the standard (non-SolarAPP+) track only 65% · department page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist (<10kW systems): (3) sets of plans minimum 11x17, manufacturer specification sheets, installation instructions, framing layout, structural calculations (if applicable); an electrical single-line diagram showing all PV devices and total kW rating; circuit-sizing/current calculations per then-CEC Art. 690.8 signed by a CA-licensed electrical engineer or C-46/C-10 contractor; wet-stamped structural wind-uplift calculations (ASCE 7-10) from a licensed civil/structural engineer; UL 1703 fire-classification documentation; plans signed by the installing C-46/C-10 contractor with license number on every sheet. 90% · published checklist
    • How many copies, and in what format? Minimum 3 sets of plans, 11"x17" or larger, for first-time counter submittal; for digital resubmittals, plans are emailed as clouded/marked-up PDFs to commdevinfo@sgch.org 80% · department handout
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- address, APN, zone, lot size, technology type (BIPV/roof-mount/ground-mount), panel count/area/kW, whether panels sit on a permitted structure, roof height above roof-plane, panel directional orientation, and visibility from public streets 90% · published checklist
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 90% · published checklist
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 85% · published checklist
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes, for all systems the checklist covers (which the form itself limits to installations under 10 kW): wet-stamped, signed structural calculations for wind uplift based on ASCE 7-10, from a state-licensed civil or structural engineer, with all structural elements identified on the existing roof framing plans 80% · published checklist
    • Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not mandatory if a CA-licensed C-46 or C-10 contractor signs the electrical plans; an electrical PE stamp is only implicated if the applicant instead routes through a state-licensed electrical engineer 65% · published checklist
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 total (residential, <15kW), on either track 90% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered / Flat 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes on the standard track ($185 line item); No separate plan-check fee on the Automated/SolarAPP+ track 85% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of San Gabriel’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes, for incorporated San Gabriel addresses

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own SolarAPP+ page states plainly it can only offer permits for incorporated areas of San Gabriel and directs applicants to LA County's parcel service locator to rule out unincorporated county pockets before applying.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (Community Development Dept.) self-performs both building and electrical plan check/inspection in-house; no third-party plan-check firm (Willdan/CSG/4LEAF/etc.) was identified on any Building & Safety, Permits, or Forms page. Planning Division conducts a mandatory zoning/design-review gate before Building & Safety issues; the City's own Fire Prevention Bureau (not LACoFD) performs a separate percentage-based fire plan check.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/146/Building-and-Safety-Division

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page and the Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist both treat a building/electrical permit as a precondition for installation.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule folds the electrical work into a single 'Solar System Plan Check/Inspection' fee line item that already includes 'SFR Electrical Permit' language and totals to the state's $450 residential cap; there is no separate stand-alone electrical-permit fee line for solar distinct from this combined category.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ track requires a licensed contractor ('Licensed Contractors Only'). The City's general Permits page separately allows an owner-of-record homeowner to pull a permit for a 1-2 family dwelling (owner-builder route) city-wide, which the checklist and forms do not exclude for solar specifically. So licensed-contractor is mandatory only on the SolarAPP+ path.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page states 'A valid City of San Gabriel Business License is required to pull a permit in San Gabriel with SolarAPP+' and gives a workaround of uploading a receipt as temporary proof. The Master Fee Schedule also carries a dedicated 'SC-44 Solar' contractor business-license classification ($210.60 total).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes, on the standard (non-SolarAPP+) track only

Why the confidence is not higherThe City-wide 'Home Owner of Record' owner-builder provision on the Permits page applies to construction/alteration of a 1-2 family dwelling and is not excluded for solar; but the SolarAPP+ page explicitly restricts that automated track to 'Licensed Contractors Only', so self-install/self-permit would have to go through the manual counter process.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/396/Permits

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Per the Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist (<10kW systems): (3) sets of plans minimum 11x17, manufacturer specification sheets, installation instructions, framing layout, structural calculations (if applicable); an electrical single-line diagram showing all PV devices and total kW rating; circuit-sizing/current calculations per then-CEC Art. 690.8 signed by a CA-licensed electrical engineer or C-46/C-10 contractor; wet-stamped structural wind-uplift calculations (ASCE 7-10) from a licensed civil/structural engineer; UL 1703 fire-classification documentation; plans signed by the installing C-46/C-10 contractor with license number on every sheet.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect transcription of the City's own published checklist form. Note the form's own header restricts it to installations under 10 kW and it cites 2019 CEC/2019 CRC -- it may be a stale (pre-2022/2025 cycle) document; no newer version of this specific checklist was found.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Minimum 3 sets of plans, 11"x17" or larger, for first-time counter submittal; for digital resubmittals, plans are emailed as clouded/marked-up PDFs to commdevinfo@sgch.org

Why the confidence is not higherCombines the checklist's '3 sets minimum 11x17' language with the separate Digital Plan Check Submittal Instructions handout, which requires first-time submittals in person with plans saved as a single PDF on a flash drive, and revisions emailed thereafter.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15592

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes -- address, APN, zone, lot size, technology type (BIPV/roof-mount/ground-mount), panel count/area/kW, whether panels sit on a permitted structure, roof height above roof-plane, panel directional orientation, and visibility from public streets

Why the confidence is not higherThis is the exact applicant-completed box on the City's own Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist; a separate 'Site Plan Example' handout is also linked from Building Forms & Handouts.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 2 requires 'electrical single-line diagram clearly identifying all devices installed in the PV system and indicating total kW rating of system.'

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 3 requires the applicant to acknowledge 'correct circuit sizing and current calculations based off [then-]California Electrical Code Article 690.8' on plans signed by a licensed electrical engineer or C-46/C-10 contractor.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Yes, for all systems the checklist covers (which the form itself limits to installations under 10 kW): wet-stamped, signed structural calculations for wind uplift based on ASCE 7-10, from a state-licensed civil or structural engineer, with all structural elements identified on the existing roof framing plans

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 5, direct quote. The form's own header caps its applicability at <10 kW rooftop systems, so it is unclear whether the same PE-stamp trigger, or a different one, applies above that threshold -- no >=10kW-specific document was located.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Not mandatory if a CA-licensed C-46 or C-10 contractor signs the electrical plans; an electrical PE stamp is only implicated if the applicant instead routes through a state-licensed electrical engineer

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist items 3-4 offer 'State licensed electrical engineer OR a California licensed contractor classification C-46 or C-10' as alternative signers -- no size threshold for mandatory PE involvement is stated.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$450 total (residential, <15kW), on either track

Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule (updated 20 May 2025): standard track = Plan Check $185 + Inspection $220 + Issuance $39 + Technology fee $6 = $450; 'Automated Residential Solar Permit <15KW' (SolarAPP+) track = Inspection $400 + Issuance $39 + Technology fee $11 = $450. Both are annotated 'SFR Electrical Permit - State limit is $450 for residential', i.e. built to the state statutory cap.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered / Flat

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule sets flat dollar line-items tiered by a <15kW residential threshold vs. an 'Other (e.g. Commercial, Multi-Family, etc.)' tier priced differently ($342 plan check + $342 inspection + $0 electrical permit).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes on the standard track ($185 line item); No separate plan-check fee on the Automated/SolarAPP+ track

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'Plan Check $185' under the standard 'Residential Solar Permit <15KW' heading but the 'Automated Residential Solar Permit <15KW' heading has no plan-check line at all (only Inspection/Issuance/Technology fee), consistent with SolarAPP+'s automated code-compliance check replacing manual plan review.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPermits page, Building Forms & Handouts, SolarAPP+ page, FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule -- none publish a stated plan-review turnaround time in business days for solar or building permits generally

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/396/Permits

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPermits page, solar checklist, Master Fee Schedule -- no City-specific statement of how long an issued permit remains valid before expiration; Chapter 150 (Building Regulations) of the Municipal Code, where this would likely be codified, is Cloudflare-gated on codelibrary.amlegal.com and has no Wayback Machine capture (confirmed via CDX search of the whole codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel* prefix)

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel/latest/sangabriel_ca/0-0-0-24422

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page describes SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) as the eligible-project portal; for ineligible solar projects, the Digital Plan Check Submittal Instructions require an in-person first submittal with no named general online permitting portal -- recording q20/q21 as answered from the SolarAPP+ angle only where an actual portal exists

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as q20 -- true for SolarAPP+-eligible projects only; for non-eligible projects (batteries, ground-mount, etc.) the Digital Plan Check Submittal Instructions require the first submittal to be brought in person, so 'the whole application online' is not true City-wide

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15592

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE); no CCA

Why the confidence is not higherCity warrant registers and a City Council-approved 'SCE Facilities Relocation Agreement (Rule 20B)' both name Southern California Edison Co. as the City's electric utility/infrastructure counterparty. San Gabriel does NOT appear on Clean Power Alliance's member-agency list, so there is no CCA generation overlay -- SCE is both the interconnecting utility and the default generation provider. (PowerToChoose was not used per instructions.)

city council staff report / agreement checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/22891

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page, Building Inspections page, Permits page -- none describe where SCE interconnection/PTO sits relative to the City permit in sequence

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No HOA approval requirement stated by the City; a City Design Review (not HOA) is conditionally required if the system is street-facing

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own solar checklist's 'Design Review' section states: 'Note: If solar system is street-facing, a photo simulation will be required. The Planner will indicate if further Design Review is required.' No HOA-approval requirement appears anywhere in City documents (and California Civil Code Sec. 714's Solar Rights Act would preempt an HOA veto regardless).

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own solar-specific checklist explicitly asks the counter planner: 'Is the residence a historic/potentially historic resource? ... If yes, additional submittal requirements and a review by the City Preservation Architect may be requested.' San Gabriel also has a codified Historic Preservation and Cultural Resource ordinance (SGMC 153.600-153.631, adopted/updated 2017) establishing a Historic Preservation and Cultural Resource Commission, an Inventory and Register, and designated historic districts (the City has a real historic layer given Mission San Gabriel Arcangel).

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No formal windstorm/TDI-style certification (not applicable in CA); wind-uplift structural calculations under ASCE 7-10 are required instead

Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia does not use a TDI wind-certification regime; the closest analog found is the checklist's own item 5 requiring wet-stamped ASCE 7-10 wind-uplift structural calculations.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChapter 153 (Zoning Code) table of contents (Conditional Use Permits, Sec. 153.240-248; Variances, Sec. 153.260-269) shows a general CUP/variance process exists in the zoning code, but no PV-specific trigger for Council or CUP approval was found in the solar checklist or any Building/Planning page

http://web.archive.org/web/20240810065231/https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel/latest/sangabriel_ca/0-0-0-25627

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

No hard system-size cap identified; <15kW is a fee/process tier boundary (separating the 'Residential Solar Permit' fee category from the 'Other e.g. Commercial, Multi-Family' category), not a stated ceiling on residential system size

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule and the checklist's own <10kW header both use kW thresholds to route paperwork/fees, but neither states a maximum allowable residential system size; we did not locate a Chapter 150/153 zoning provision addressing this directly (that chapter was not retrievable -- see q29/q30 note).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? Other -- code-cycle in transition, exact adopting ordinance text not retrievable 50% · department handout (dated), corroborated by department page
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2022 CBC per the most recent dated handout found; City has announced transition to the 2025 CBC cycle effective 1 Jan 2026 with local structural amendments, but the adopting ordinance text could not be retrieved 50% · department page (undated announcement)
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- at minimum, local structural amendments for the 2025 code cycle 70% · department page
    • What is the installation judged against? Per the City's checklist: 2019 CEC Art. 690 (PV systems) and Art. 705 (interconnected power production sources); UL 1703 fire-classification per CBC Table 1505.1; CRC 2019 Sec. R907 fire setbacks; and general conformance to the 'California Solar Permitting Guidebook' 75% · published checklist
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Checklist requires compliance with CRC 2019 Sec. R907 fire setbacks for roof-mounted PV, but does not restate the numeric pathway/setback table itself; no separately-published local pathway-and-setback amendment was located 55% · published checklist
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes by state code (CEC Art. 690.12 rapid-shutdown applies statewide regardless of local citation), but the City's own checklist never cites Sec. 690.12 by number 55% · published checklist (absence proven by full-text grep)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of San Gabriel on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 85% · published checklist
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? A City handout ('Electrical Panel Upgrade Requirements') requires an electrical permit for any main-panel replacement/upgrade, and reprints standard NEC service-entrance, busbar-grounding and workmanship provisions -- but it contains no PV-specific busbar/backfeed sizing rule (no 705.12 or '120% rule' language) 70% · department handout

20 questions answered against City of San Gabriel’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Other -- code-cycle in transition, exact adopting ordinance text not retrievable

Why the confidence is not higherThree City documents give three different vintages: the solar checklist cites '2019 California Electrical Code'; the separate 'Electrical Panel Upgrade Requirements' handout is 'based on the 2022 California Electrical Code' (i.e. 2020 NEC); and the Building & Safety Division page announces new structural amendments 'Takes Effect on January 1, 2026' tied to the statewide 2025 code cycle (based on the 2023 NEC). San Gabriel's Municipal Code is hosted on American Legal (codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel) but Title XV Chapter 150 (Building Regulations), where the adopting ordinance would live, is behind a Cloudflare Turnstile challenge that neither plain curl nor headless Chrome could clear, and no Wayback Machine snapshot of that specific chapter exists (confirmed via CDX search across the whole codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel* prefix). We could not read the adopting ordinance itself.

department handout (dated), corroborated by department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/21159

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2022 CBC per the most recent dated handout found; City has announced transition to the 2025 CBC cycle effective 1 Jan 2026 with local structural amendments, but the adopting ordinance text could not be retrieved

Why the confidence is not higherSame code-cycle-lag pattern as q29: Building & Safety Division page confirms new structural amendments take effect 1/1/2026 as part of the statewide 2025 cycle, quoting Building Official Christopher Kalbaklian, but does not itself link the ordinance or amendment text, and Chapter 150 of the Municipal Code (American Legal) is not reachable (Cloudflare-gated live, no Wayback capture exists for that specific chapter node).

department page (undated announcement) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/146/Building-and-Safety-Division

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Department page and Fire Prevention page (San Gabriel Fire Dept.) -- neither states which fire code edition is currently adopted; Chapter 150 amendments (where fire code adoption is typically codified) are Cloudflare-gated with no Wayback capture

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/313/Fire-Prevention

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes -- at minimum, local structural amendments for the 2025 code cycle

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division page states the City, with other LA-basin cities, formed a committee that 'made a number of structural amendments due to our proximity to the seismic faults' aimed at 'minor residential additions and alterations', effective with the 1/1/2026 code-cycle changeover. We flag, but cannot resolve, a possible tension with AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22), which bars more-restrictive local residential-code amendments from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031 except under six narrow exceptions (which can include documented local geologic/seismic conditions) -- we could not obtain the amendment text itself to check which side of that line it falls on.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/146/Building-and-Safety-Division

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

Per the City's checklist: 2019 CEC Art. 690 (PV systems) and Art. 705 (interconnected power production sources); UL 1703 fire-classification per CBC Table 1505.1; CRC 2019 Sec. R907 fire setbacks; and general conformance to the 'California Solar Permitting Guidebook'

Why the confidence is not higherDirect citations from the Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist, items 6-12. Note this document cites the 2019-cycle codes and the checklist itself is undated beyond that; whether it has been updated for the 2022 or 2025 cycle is unconfirmed.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

A City handout ('Electrical Panel Upgrade Requirements') requires an electrical permit for any main-panel replacement/upgrade, and reprints standard NEC service-entrance, busbar-grounding and workmanship provisions -- but it contains no PV-specific busbar/backfeed sizing rule (no 705.12 or '120% rule' language)

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 25-page handout for '690', 'busbar', '120%', 'backfed', and 'derate' surfaced only generic NEC busbar-grounding and service-mast language, not a PV interconnection-specific amendment; the document is explicitly 'based on the 2022 California Electrical Code' and does not reference solar at all.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/21159

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar checklist references 'SGMC Section 150.162' for framing/installation compliance as a yes/no checkbox but does not restate its content; Chapter 150 (Building Regulations) itself is Cloudflare-gated on codelibrary.amlegal.com with no Wayback capture of that node (confirmed via CDX search)

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel/latest/sangabriel_ca/0-0-0-24422

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Checklist requires compliance with CRC 2019 Sec. R907 fire setbacks for roof-mounted PV, but does not restate the numeric pathway/setback table itself; no separately-published local pathway-and-setback amendment was located

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 12: 'Proposed project meets Fire Code set-backs for roof mounted photovoltaic system requirements and code section R907 CRC 2019' -- a compliance checkbox, not the underlying table. Chapter 150 (building regs) and the fire-code amendments, where a local table would live, were not retrievable (Cloudflare-gated, no Wayback capture for that node).

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes by state code (CEC Art. 690.12 rapid-shutdown applies statewide regardless of local citation), but the City's own checklist never cites Sec. 690.12 by number

Why the confidence is not higherWe grepped every extracted City PDF (the solar checklist, the panel-upgrade handout, the fee schedule) for '690.12' and 'rapid shutdown' and got zero hits in all of them, even though the checklist cites 690.7 and 690.8 by number elsewhere -- i.e. this is a real, checked absence in the City's own documents, not a failure to look. Rapid shutdown is nonetheless a mandatory NEC/CEC requirement independent of local citation.

published checklist (absence proven by full-text grep) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Forms & Handouts list, solar checklist, EV Charger page -- no dedicated placard/signage bulletin for PV service-equipment labeling was found

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1275/Building-Forms-Handouts

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q38 -- no City-authored placard wording found

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1275/Building-Forms-Handouts

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q38 -- no letter-height/colour/material spec found

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1275/Building-Forms-Handouts

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q38; the checklist's own site-plan requirements (q10) do not describe a distinct facility-map/placard document

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedAttempted www.sce.com pages for a DG/Rule 21 interconnection handbook (generating-your-own-power/interconnections, regulatory/tariff-books/rules) -- all returned 403/404/timeout; treating as access-gated rather than a proven absence

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as q38 -- no City document specifies label placement location

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1275/Building-Forms-Handouts

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherChecklist item 6: 'rooftop mounted photovoltaic systems shall be tested, listed and identified with a fire classification in accordance with UL 1703. The fire classification shall comply with Table 1505.1 of the California Building Code...'

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule (full-text grepped for 'batter', 'energy storage', 'ess') and Building Forms & Handouts -- no dedicated battery/ESS permitting bulletin found; the solar checklist itself is PV-only and predates common battery attachment (2019-cycle citations, no battery field on its applicant box)

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame full-text grep of the FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule as q45 -- zero hits for battery/storage/ESS anywhere in the fee document (positive control 'electrical' hit 12x, fabricated control 'zzqqx' hit 0x in the same file, confirming the grep methodology works)

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar checklist distinguishes 'Ground-Mounted Panel' as a technology option but does not state whether it is treated as an accessory structure for zoning/setback purposes; Chapter 153 Zoning Code's General District Requirements (accessory buildings/structures, Sec. 153.126) and Chapter 150 (Building Regulations) were not retrievable in full text to confirm

https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sangabriel/latest/sangabriel_ca/0-0-0-24422

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar checklist, Building Forms & Handouts, and attempted SCE pages (see q42) -- no City or utility document specifying AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was retrievable

https://www.sce.com/regulatory/tariff-books/rules

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (online form), with a direct phone/text line to the assigned inspector 80% · department page
    • How much notice is required? Effectively next business day: cut-off is 4:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 3:00 PM Friday for the next day's schedule 75% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No stated AM/PM window selection; the daily schedule (not a time slot) posts at 7:30 AM the day of inspection and applicants check it to see where they fall 60% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? Not delegated -- performed in-house by the City's own Building Inspector 80% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single final inspection appears to be the norm for rooftop PV (no staged sequence is published for solar specifically) 45% · inference from department page silence
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (closed/approved inspection card on the permit); a separate Certificate of Occupancy is a distinct, separately-fee'd product not typically triggered by a PV retrofit on an existing residence 45% · inference from fee schedule + department page
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? Cost-recovery ('Staff Full Burden Rate plus outside costs'), not a flat dollar figure 65% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? For plan-check corrections: revisions are emailed to commdevinfo@sgch.org with changes clouded on the plans and each comment individually addressed on both plans and a comment sheet, including the last City review set 70% · department handout

14 questions answered against City of San Gabriel’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (online form), with a direct phone/text line to the assigned inspector

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'We encourage you to use the online request form to schedule inspections' (FormCenter/General-3/Request-an-Inspection-104), and separately lists a direct call/text number for Inspector Daniel.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Effectively next business day: cut-off is 4:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 3:00 PM Friday for the next day's schedule

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page states these as the 'Inspection request cut-off times' and that the daily inspection schedule (built from requests received by those cut-offs) posts at 7:30 AM the next business day.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No stated AM/PM window selection; the daily schedule (not a time slot) posts at 7:30 AM the day of inspection and applicants check it to see where they fall

Why the confidence is not higherPage states: 'The daily building inspection schedule is available to be viewed at 7:30AM, Mondays - Fridays... Schedule is subject to change without notice' -- there is no mention of the applicant choosing a morning/afternoon window.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page names a specific City building inspector (Daniel, direct call/text line) who performs inspections; no delegation to a third party is mentioned anywhere on the Building & Safety, Permits, or Inspections pages.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Not delegated -- performed in-house by the City's own Building Inspector

Why the confidence is not higherSame source as q52; no third-party inspection contractor identified anywhere in Building & Safety materials.

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

A single final inspection appears to be the norm for rooftop PV (no staged sequence is published for solar specifically)

Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Building Inspections page nor the solar checklist publishes a staged inspection sequence for PV specifically (unlike, e.g., a framing/rough/final sequence for a full structure); this is an inference from the SolarAPP+ single-inspection national model plus the absence of any stage-naming in City documents, not a direct City statement.

inference from department page silence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page and solar checklist -- neither mentions a rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage for PV; absence noted but not asserted as a confirmed 'No' given no document affirmatively addresses the question either way

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Likely yes, though not stated as an explicit inspection-day checklist item

Why the confidence is not higherThe submittal checklist requires UL 1703 listing/fire-classification documentation up front (item 6), which final inspection would need to reconcile against installed equipment, but no City document explicitly states 'inspector verifies labels/listings' as a field-inspection step.

inference from submittal checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe 'Residential Solar Power Systems Permit Issuance Checklist' is itself the published checklist referenced throughout this survey.

published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15861

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Approved plans and the inspection card

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspections page: 'The building inspector will need to see the approved plans and the inspection card at the time of inspection.'

department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/150/Building-Inspections

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Cost-recovery ('Staff Full Burden Rate plus outside costs'), not a flat dollar figure

Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule's 'Reinspection fee' line item sits in a merged table cell with 'Regular Inspection' and other items valued at 'Staff FBR plus outside costs' rather than a specific dollar amount; the Building Inspections page separately confirms a re-inspection fee exists ('Multiple failed or "not ready" inspections may result in a re-inspection fee, which must be paid before scheduling another inspection') without stating the amount.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

For plan-check corrections: revisions are emailed to commdevinfo@sgch.org with changes clouded on the plans and each comment individually addressed on both plans and a comment sheet, including the last City review set

Why the confidence is not higherDigital Plan Check Submittal Instructions, 'Resubmittal Requirements' section, dated 1/1/23. This describes the plan-check correction loop specifically; no separate document was found describing field-inspection correction/re-inspection procedure beyond the fee-triggering language on the Building Inspections page.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/15592

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (closed/approved inspection card on the permit); a separate Certificate of Occupancy is a distinct, separately-fee'd product not typically triggered by a PV retrofit on an existing residence

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fee schedule listing 'Certificate of Occupancy $132' as a distinct line item generally tied to new construction/occupancy changes, and the Building Inspections page's framing of pass/fail against an inspection card -- no City document explicitly states what document/status is issued specifically upon a passed solar final.

inference from fee schedule + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sangabrielcity.com/DocumentCenter/View/23906/FEE-SCHEDULE-FY25-26

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolarAPP+ page and Building Inspections page -- neither states who is responsible for notifying SCE for Permission to Operate after final sign-off

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of San Gabriel against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of San Gabriel is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical
Overridden by
LA County retains jurisdiction over any unincorporated pockets addressed as "San Gabriel"; the City's own SolarAPP+ page tells applicants to verify incorporation status at LA County's parcel locator before applying because some San Gabriel-addressed parcels are unincorporated LA County land. Also: the Building Official announced new structural amendments effective with the 2025 code cycle (1 Jan 2026) explicitly targeting "minor residential additions and alterations" for seismic reasons -- this is in tension with AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22), which bars MORE-RESTRICTIVE local residential amendments from 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031 subject to six narrow exceptions (seismic/geologic findings can qualify). We could not retrieve the adopting ordinance text (Title XV, Ch. 150 of the Municipal Code is not reachable -- see note in q32/q29/q30) to confirm which side of that line the 2025-cycle amendments fall on.
Why not higher
City of San Gabriel Building & Safety Division (within the Community Development Department) issues its own building and electrical permits in-house for residential rooftop PV and runs the City's SolarAPP+ program; this is confirmed directly on the City's own SolarAPP+ page and Building and Safety Division page. San Gabriel is also NOT an LACoFD contract city -- it has run its own municipal Fire Department since well before this brief (Fire Chief Steven Wallace, Station 51, member of the Verdugo Fire Communications dispatch consortium alongside Burbank/Monrovia/Montebello) -- this corrects the brief's LACoFD lead, which does not apply here. The Master Fee Schedule shows a distinct 'FIRE PLAN CHECK' line (15% of Plan Check Fee, both Commercial and Residential) under the City's own Fire Prevention Bureau, separate from LACoFD's Appendix QQ fee structure.

https://www.sangabrielcity.com/1740/Solar-APP

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$450 total (residential, <15kW), on either track90%
Electrical code
Other -- code-cycle in transition, exact adopting ordinance text not retrievable50%
Booking an inspection
Portal (online form), with a direct phone/text line to the assigned inspector80%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Los Angeles County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of San Gabriel · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
425 S Mission Drive, San Gabriel, CA 91776
Main Phone
(626) 308-2800
Building Department
Department
Building and Safety Division
Direct Phone
(626) 308-2806
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online
Book in advance
1
Notes
Book online via the Inspection Request form at sangabrielcity.com/FormCenter or the eTRAKiT portal (etrakit.sgcityhall.com). Provide permit number, property address, contact name, contact phone, and inspection type (e.g. "Solar Final"). Requests require at least 24 hours advance notice; cutoff to get on next day's schedule is 4:00 PM Mon–Thu and 3:00 PM Fri — no same-day bookings. Approved plans and inspection card must be present on-site. Inspections have daily caps — book well ahead. Daily schedule posted at 7:30 AM on day of inspection. Solar installers eligible for Solar APP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for instant permit issuance; then use the same inspection request process for the final inspection. Building counter walk-in hours: 8–11:30 AM; appointments: 1–5 PM. Direct inspector contact: Daniel Hernandez, dhernandez@sgch.org, 626-476-7960 (call/text). (collected Jul 2026)