City of San Leandro
Alameda County
City of San Leandro is a city authority in the State of California, serving 91,008 residents. 3,099 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 to 7 business days for initial residential plan review (plus 3-7 more for any resubmittal); permit number assigned within 3-5 business days of fee payment Q18 Where you file — San Leandro Online Permit Portal, powered by Accela (aca-prod.accela.com/SANLEANDRO), reached via SanLeandro.org/PermitPortal Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 for a residential system up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW, plus $212 Filing/Issuance Fee, plus an applicable Plan Check Fee90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 3 to 7 business days for initial residential plan review (plus 3-7 more for any resubmittal); permit number assigned within 3-5 business days of fee payment92% source
- Key document
- department checklist cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department checklist
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 88% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No city-imposed HOA/architectural review step is documented; the City references California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714, via the AB 2188 implementation guide it publishes) which preempts most HOA disapproval of solar. 55% · referenced state-law guide
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes, for the Instant SolarAPP+ route 68% · department checklist
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 88% · department form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? One combined PDF plan set (site plan, roof framing plan, elevation/section, attachment/load calc detail, grounding detail, weatherproofing note, single-line diagram, photo of existing main panel with dead front off, labels, manufacturer spec sheets); for SolarAPP+ route, add Approved SolarAPP+ Checklist, Approved SolarAPP+ Specification Sheets, and signed Owner Acknowledgement of SolarAPP+ form. 95% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? One (1) combined PDF file under 100 MB, bookmarked by sheet number/name; if hand-drafted, one full-scale paper set 93% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — must show site address; owner/designer/contractor contact info; location of proposed/existing buildings, property lines, easements, panel installation locations, and the main service location 93% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 93% · published checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 90% · published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No numeric kW/weight threshold is published; the guideline states only that drawings 'prepared by an architect or engineer must be stamped and signed,' i.e., a PE/architect stamp is required whenever the plans were professionally prepared, and prescriptive attachment/load-calc data is otherwise submitted directly by the installer for plan-check review. 72% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? San Leandro Online Permit Portal, powered by Accela (aca-prod.accela.com/SANLEANDRO), reached via SanLeandro.org/PermitPortal 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 for a residential system up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW, plus $212 Filing/Issuance Fee, plus an applicable Plan Check Fee 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 to 7 business days for initial residential plan review (plus 3-7 more for any resubmittal); permit number assigned within 3-5 business days of fee payment 92% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Inferred 180 days (standard California Building Code default expiration), not confirmed by a San Leandro-specific document 50% · fee schedule (inference)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 82% · city page + utility document
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 55% · utility document (inference)
28 questions answered against City of San Leandro’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity operates its own Building & Safety Division permitting/inspection program for residential PV, confirmed across the PV Submittal Guidelines, fee schedule and Accela portal instructions, for addresses within city limits.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/241/Solar-Permitting-Guidelines
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines require a single combined submittal covering the structural/roof-mount detail and the electrical single-line diagram, filed as one Building permit; there is no separate city electrical-only PV permit track.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherGo Solar page states plainly 'Permits are required for solar panel installations,' and the whole Building Division apparatus (fee schedule item 1.B.ix, submittal guidelines) exists specifically for PV permits.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/823/Go-Solar
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines fold electrical (single-line diagram, conductor sizing, disconnect locations) into the one PV building permit application; there is no stand-alone electrical permit path for PV in the fee schedule (only a generic 'Stand-Alone Electrical Permit' line for non-PV work).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherStandard permit route accepts a CSLB-licensed contractor OR an owner-builder ('Look Up... in License Type choose Designer, State License Number: Owner'); the Instant SolarAPP+ route restricts to a licensed contractor holding CSLB class B, C-10 or C-46 only.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/11817/How-To-Apply-for-Revision-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes, for the Instant SolarAPP+ route
Why the confidence is not higherInstant Solar Permit guidelines require the contractor to hold 'a current San Leandro business license' in addition to CSLB licensure and SolarAPP+ registration; standard (non-instant) applications were not seen to state a business-license precondition explicitly in the documents reviewed.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Owner-Builder Acknowledgement form (Updated 6/2026) confirms a property owner can pull an Owner-Builder permit under Business & Professions Code §7044 and personally perform or oversee construction work, including for building permits generally; this is separate from (and does not require) the SolarAPP+ instant route, which is contractor-only.
department form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/670/Owner-Builder-Acknowledgement-PDF
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
One combined PDF plan set (site plan, roof framing plan, elevation/section, attachment/load calc detail, grounding detail, weatherproofing note, single-line diagram, photo of existing main panel with dead front off, labels, manufacturer spec sheets); for SolarAPP+ route, add Approved SolarAPP+ Checklist, Approved SolarAPP+ Specification Sheets, and signed Owner Acknowledgement of SolarAPP+ form.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the PV Submittal Guidelines (Updated 2/2026), which is the City's current published checklist.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
One (1) combined PDF file under 100 MB, bookmarked by sheet number/name; if hand-drafted, one full-scale paper set
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines state this explicitly under 'Submittal Requirements.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — must show site address; owner/designer/contractor contact info; location of proposed/existing buildings, property lines, easements, panel installation locations, and the main service location
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim requirement in the PV Submittal Guidelines.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines require a 'Single Line Diagram' showing panel layout, short-circuit current rating, conductor size/ampacity, wiring methods, grounding points, inverter location, DC-AC disconnect locations, battery locations, and points of connection.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSingle-line diagram requirement explicitly calls for 'conductor size and ampacity' and PV source short-circuit current rating, and the attachment section requires point-load and roof-load-per-square-foot calculations.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No numeric kW/weight threshold is published; the guideline states only that drawings 'prepared by an architect or engineer must be stamped and signed,' i.e., a PE/architect stamp is required whenever the plans were professionally prepared, and prescriptive attachment/load-calc data is otherwise submitted directly by the installer for plan-check review.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is what the City's current PV Submittal Guidelines actually say; no separate structural-engineering trigger (e.g., panel count, roof type, or weight limit) is stated anywhere in the document.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines (sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685) and Instant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines (doc 10578) — neither mentions an electrical PE stamp requirement or threshold, only that architect/engineer-prepared drawings must be stamped generally
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 for a residential system up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW, plus $212 Filing/Issuance Fee, plus an applicable Plan Check Fee
Why the confidence is not higherFY 2025-26 Adopted Building Fee Schedule, item 1.B.ix.a (Photovoltaic Systems, Residential), dated by its own document metadata to 7 Aug 2025 creation and titled 'San Leandro 2025 Adopted Fee Sched v3b'.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/13960/Building-Fee-Schedule-Adopted-2025-26-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat base fee ($450) up to 15 kW, then a per-kW increment ($15/kW) above that threshold — a tiered/stepped structure rather than pure valuation, flat, or straight per-kW.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/13960/Building-Fee-Schedule-Adopted-2025-26-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule Section C ('Plan Check Fee') is a distinct line item from Section B ('Permit Fee'), and note [5] states the plan-checking fee 'shall be paid at the time of application...in addition to the building permit fee.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/13960/Building-Fee-Schedule-Adopted-2025-26-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
3 to 7 business days for initial residential plan review (plus 3-7 more for any resubmittal); permit number assigned within 3-5 business days of fee payment
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly in the PV Submittal Guidelines (Updated 2/2026), the City's current document.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Inferred 180 days (standard California Building Code default expiration), not confirmed by a San Leandro-specific document
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule shows a 'Permit Extension' and 'Reopen Permit' fee exist, confirming permits do expire, but does not state the day count; the City adopts the 2025 CBC without a stated local amendment to the expiration section, so the statewide CBC default is assumed rather than confirmed.
fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/13960/Building-Fee-Schedule-Adopted-2025-26-PDF
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
San Leandro Online Permit Portal, powered by Accela (aca-prod.accela.com/SANLEANDRO), reached via SanLeandro.org/PermitPortal
Why the confidence is not higherNamed directly and repeatedly across the Solar Permitting Guidelines page, Applying-For-a-Permit page, and the 'How To Schedule an Inspection in San Leandro's Accela Portal' instruction PDF (Updated 05/2026).
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/1219/Applying-For-a-Permit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApplying-For-a-Permit page walks through account creation, application creation, document upload, and online payment entirely within the Accela portal; inspections are likewise booked online.
portal checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/1219/Applying-For-a-Permit
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Go Solar' page frames solar economics against 'your old monthly bill' from 'PG&E' by name; San Leandro sits in PG&E's Bay Area electric distribution territory (it is not a municipal-utility city). Ava Community Energy is San Leandro's CCA and supplies generation only — PG&E still owns the wires and is the interconnecting utility per its own Distribution Interconnection Handbook / Rule 21 documents (e.g., document 060559).
city page + utility document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/823/Go-Solar
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherStandard PG&E Rule 21/NEM practice lets the interconnection application run in parallel with the building permit; PTO is withheld until the City's final inspection is complete. No San Leandro-specific document states the exact sequencing, so this is inferred from PG&E's general interconnection process description referenced in the Greenbook (doc 060559).
utility document (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/060559.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No city-imposed HOA/architectural review step is documented; the City references California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714, via the AB 2188 implementation guide it publishes) which preempts most HOA disapproval of solar.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the City hosting the 'AB 2188: Implementation of the Solar Rights Act' guide on its Solar Permitting Guidelines page rather than from an explicit City statement that it does not require HOA sign-off.
referenced state-law guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/745/Senate-Bill-AB-2188-Solar-Guidelines-PDF
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Codes page (sanleandro.org/212), Planning department landing page (sanleandro.org/196), Solar Permitting Guidelines page — none mention a historic-district overlay or review process for solar; San Leandro's municipal code (Title 3 zoning / historic preservation chapter) is hosted at qcode.us/codes/sanleandro, which returns a Cloudflare 403 challenge on every route tried live, and Wayback CDX has zero 200 captures of that path ever archived
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines, Building Codes page, and city Go Solar page — none reference a wind/windstorm certification for PV; California is not a TDI-regulated wind zone state so this may simply not apply, but I could not confirm that from an AHJ document
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permitting Guidelines page, Building Codes page, Applying-For-a-Permit page — none mention a Specific Use Permit or Council-approval pathway for residential PV; zoning-chapter text itself is unreachable at qcode.us (Cloudflare 403, no Wayback 200 captures)
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines, fee schedule, Go Solar page — none state a system-size cap on residential generation; the zoning ordinance that would set any such cap is unreachable at qcode.us (Cloudflare 403 live; zero 200 Wayback captures of the /codes/sanleandro/ path)
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective January 1, 2026 88% · adopting ordinance/department page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (CBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (CRC), effective January 1, 2026 92% · adopting ordinance/department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (CFC), effective January 1, 2026 90% · adopting ordinance/department page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 82% · department page
- What is the installation judged against? 2025 CRC/CBC/CEC as locally adopted (SLMC Title 7, Ch. 7-5), with PV-specific labeling judged against 2025 CRC §R330.11 78% · checklist citing code section
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of San Leandro on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the 2025 CEC (built on 2023 NEC), effective 1 Jan 2026 75% · adopting ordinance (inference)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Code-mandated PV/rapid-shutdown disconnect placards per adopted NEC (690.56(C)/705.10), plus a City-required label carrying the qualified maintenance/service provider's contact information per 2025 CRC §R330.11(2) 78% · checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 68% · checklist
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E requires its own AC disconnect switch labeling: permanent signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant, minimum 3/8-inch capital lettering, plus a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter 88% · utility DG manual
- Where must the labels be placed? Utility AC disconnect label must be on the front of the switch itself; if the disconnect is not grouped with the PG&E meter, a location map and directional signage are also required at the meter 85% · utility DG manual
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? 10 feet or less, in line of sight, from PG&E's electric meter at the point of common coupling; must be at the same grade level as the meter if outdoors; wall/pad-mounted units installed at 48-75 inches above grade; never on a floor/level above grade, on a roof, or in a non-approved meter room 88% · utility DG manual
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No dedicated City-approved product list; standard NRTL/UL-listed equipment is required, with manufacturer spec sheets submitted in the plan set for the panel, inverter, attachment system and any ESS 58% · checklist (inference)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — energy storage system batteries are permitted and are processed through the same PV/ESS submittal and permit process (including the SolarAPP+ instant-permit route, which lists 'Energy storage system batteries' as a checkable work type) 62% · department form
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — ESS is processed as an added scope item on the same PV permit ('Residential Solar Permit with SolarAPP' covers roof PV, ESS batteries and Main Panel Upgrade as checkbox options), not as a separate permit type 65% · checklist (inference)
20 questions answered against City of San Leandro’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective January 1, 2026
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page lists '2025 California Electrical Code (CEC)' among codes effective 1 Jan 2026 under SLMC Title 7, Ch. 7-5; the 2025 CEC is the state's adoption cycle built on the 2023 NEC (NFPA 70).
adopting ordinance/department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/212/Building-Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (CBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (CRC), effective January 1, 2026
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the City's Building Codes page, which cites SLMC Title 7, Chapter 7-5 as the adopting ordinance.
adopting ordinance/department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/212/Building-Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (CFC), effective January 1, 2026
Why the confidence is not higherListed on the Building Codes page among the codes adopted effective 1 Jan 2026.
adopting ordinance/department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/212/Building-Codes
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Codes page states the codes 'have been modified by the State of California and the City of San Leandro to include various additional requirements based on local conditions,' and specifically calls out local modification of structural/seismic provisions. I could not retrieve the specific amendment text itself: San Leandro's municipal code is hosted at qcode.us/codes/sanleandro, which returns a Cloudflare 403 challenge on every route tried (live and via Wayback CDX, which has zero 200 captures of that path ever archived).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/212/Building-Codes
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
2025 CRC/CBC/CEC as locally adopted (SLMC Title 7, Ch. 7-5), with PV-specific labeling judged against 2025 CRC §R330.11
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines cite '2025 CRC R330.11 #2' directly for the maintenance-contact label requirement, and the Building Codes page confirms the adopted code set.
checklist citing code section checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Codes page confirms local amendments exist generally but does not itemize them; San Leandro Municipal Code Title 7, Ch. 7-5 text is unreachable at qcode.us/codes/sanleandro (Cloudflare 403 on every live route tried; CDX shows zero 200 captures for that path, only 301/revisit records from Dec 2024)
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines require the installer to specify actual attachment-point spacing and provide load calculations, but do not mandate a fixed City-set spacing value or a specific approved mounting system; SLMC amendment text (if any) unreachable at qcode.us as above
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines and Building Codes page do not state ridge-setback dimensions or fire-access pathway widths; the governing text (2025 CFC §605.11 and any local amendment in SLMC Ch. 7-5) is ICC-copyrighted and/or unreachable — qcode.us is Cloudflare-blocked with zero Wayback 200 captures
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the 2025 CEC (built on 2023 NEC), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Building Codes page's adoption of the 2025 CEC/2023 NEC cycle; no San Leandro document quotes NEC 690.12 by number, but rapid shutdown has been a mandatory 2023 NEC provision statewide and the City states no exemption.
adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/212/Building-Codes
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Code-mandated PV/rapid-shutdown disconnect placards per adopted NEC (690.56(C)/705.10), plus a City-required label carrying the qualified maintenance/service provider's contact information per 2025 CRC §R330.11(2)
Why the confidence is not higherThe maintenance-contact label is explicitly required in the PV Submittal Guidelines with the CRC citation; the disconnect/rapid-shutdown placards are inferred from the adopted 2025 CEC/NEC rather than quoted directly by the City.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe one label the City calls out by name (maintenance/service-provider contact label) is required by citing the state 2025 CRC §R330.11(2) rather than by the City authoring its own wording; no City-drafted placard wording was found elsewhere.
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines and Building Codes page do not specify a City-mandated letter height/color/material for its own placards (only the state-code-derived maintenance-contact label is named); PG&E's Greenbook (doc 060559) does specify its own AC-disconnect label spec (min 3/8in, all caps, engraved phenolic/ANSI Z535.4) but that is a utility, not AHJ, requirement — see q42/q43
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines require a site plan showing panel/service locations at application time, but no City document describes a distinct physical 'facility map placard' mounted at the equipment (as opposed to NEC 690.56(C)/705.10 code-driven disconnect labeling, itself not quoted by any City document)
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PG&E requires its own AC disconnect switch labeling: permanent signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant, minimum 3/8-inch capital lettering, plus a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Document 060559 ('Disconnect Switch Requirements for Distributed Generation Customers'), Rev. #07 dated 3/25/2022 (PDF metadata ModDate 15 Oct 2023 — cited as the utility's requirement, not the AHJ's), fetched live from pge.com.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/060559.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Utility AC disconnect label must be on the front of the switch itself; if the disconnect is not grouped with the PG&E meter, a location map and directional signage are also required at the meter
Why the confidence is not higherSame PG&E document 060559, 'Labeling' and 'Location' sections.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/060559.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No dedicated City-approved product list; standard NRTL/UL-listed equipment is required, with manufacturer spec sheets submitted in the plan set for the panel, inverter, attachment system and any ESS
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the PV Submittal Guidelines' requirement for manufacturer spec sheets rather than any published 'approved equipment' registry; no such registry was found on the City's site.
checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — energy storage system batteries are permitted and are processed through the same PV/ESS submittal and permit process (including the SolarAPP+ instant-permit route, which lists 'Energy storage system batteries' as a checkable work type)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed only that ESS is an eligible work type on the same permit; the City's own documents do not spell out separate ESS-specific siting/fire conditions (e.g., UL 9540A, separation distances) — those would sit in the 2025 CFC as adopted and administered by Alameda County Fire under its service contract, which does not publish San Leandro-specific ESS guidance on its own site.
department form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10562/Owner-SolarAPP-Acknowledgement
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — ESS is processed as an added scope item on the same PV permit ('Residential Solar Permit with SolarAPP' covers roof PV, ESS batteries and Main Panel Upgrade as checkbox options), not as a separate permit type
Why the confidence is not higherBased on the checkbox structure in the SolarAPP Owner Acknowledgement and Instant Solar Permit guidelines; not stated as an explicit policy sentence.
checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Submittal Guidelines are roof-mount specific and do not address ground-mounted PV; zoning/building code text that would classify a ground mount as a structure is unreachable at qcode.us (Cloudflare 403, zero Wayback 200 captures)
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
10 feet or less, in line of sight, from PG&E's electric meter at the point of common coupling; must be at the same grade level as the meter if outdoors; wall/pad-mounted units installed at 48-75 inches above grade; never on a floor/level above grade, on a roof, or in a non-approved meter room
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Document 060559, 'Location' section — a utility (PG&E), not AHJ, requirement.
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/060559.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 92% · department page
- How much notice is required? 2 business days 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM/PM windows offered (Mon-Fri 8:30am-noon or 1-4pm); after-hours and weekend inspections available at additional cost 88% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes for building/electrical (performed by City Building & Safety Division inspectors); fire-related review/inspection is delegated to Alameda County Fire Department under contract 80% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Alameda County Fire Department (fire code administration and inspection only, under a services contract) 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Typically a single final PV/electrical inspection after installation is complete; if underground trenching to the service is involved, a separate Underground Electrical Inspection is scheduled and paid for before further inspections can be booked 65% · department checklist
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? Printed permit and job card; for the SolarAPP+ route, also the Approved SolarAPP+ Checklist and Approved SolarAPP+ Specification Sheets (or latest revised versions if a post-approval revision was made) 78% · department checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 65% · department checklist (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 75% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 50% · utility process (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $319/hour (1-hour minimum) under the 'Miscellaneous Inspections — Fees for Inspection not otherwise set forth' line item; after-hours/weekend re-inspections are $606/hour (2-hour minimum) 62% · fee schedule (inference)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are issued as plan-check comments emailed from NoReply@SanLeandro.org to the project contact; the applicant responds/uploads revisions through the Accela portal per the City's 'How To Respond to Comments' guide 72% · department page
14 questions answered against City of San Leandro’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Services page states 'Inspections are scheduled by the contractor or the homeowner online at www.SanLeandro.org/PermitPortal,' with a dedicated Accela how-to guide.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/238/Inspection-Services
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
2 business days
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Services page: 'A two-business day advance notice is requested.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/238/Inspection-Services
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM/PM windows offered (Mon-Fri 8:30am-noon or 1-4pm); after-hours and weekend inspections available at additional cost
Why the confidence is not higherStated on the Inspection Services page and confirmed by Step 8 of the 'How To Schedule an Inspection' guide ('Choose the time frame of your inspection: Morning vs. Afternoon').
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/238/Inspection-Services
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes for building/electrical (performed by City Building & Safety Division inspectors); fire-related review/inspection is delegated to Alameda County Fire Department under contract
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own PV documents route final building/electrical inspections through the City's Accela portal and City inspectors (Building Inspectors phone line 510-577-3435); the City's Fire Services page confirms fire is provided under a separate ACFD contract.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/238/Inspection-Services
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Alameda County Fire Department (fire code administration and inspection only, under a services contract)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Fire Services page: 'Fire protection services are provided under contract with the Alameda County Fire Department (ACFD)'; ACFD's own Fire Code Administration page lists San Leandro among the cities it serves 'under contract with each community.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/794/Fire-Services
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Typically a single final PV/electrical inspection after installation is complete; if underground trenching to the service is involved, a separate Underground Electrical Inspection is scheduled and paid for before further inspections can be booked
Why the confidence is not higherInstant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines describe scheduling 'your inspection(s)' after installation and specifically flag an 'Underground Electrical Inspection' as a distinct, separately-fee'd step; no numbered general sequence (e.g., rough vs. final) is published for standard roof-mount PV.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection Services page, PV Submittal Guidelines, and Instant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines all describe scheduling 'inspection(s)' after full installation with no mention of a required rough-in/mid-roof inspection for standard roof-mount PV (only a separately-triggered Underground Electrical Inspection for trenching); could not confirm a definitive citywide policy statement either way
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInstant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines require the printed permit, job card, and Approved SolarAPP+ Checklist/Specification Sheets to be at the jobsite specifically so the inspector can verify the installed system matches them, which functionally includes label/listing verification.
department checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection Services page and both PV submittal guideline PDFs — no standalone, City-published 'inspection checklist' document (distinct from the pre-permit submittal checklist, or from the contractor-generated SolarAPP+ approval checklist) was found
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Printed permit and job card; for the SolarAPP+ route, also the Approved SolarAPP+ Checklist and Approved SolarAPP+ Specification Sheets (or latest revised versions if a post-approval revision was made)
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit list in the Instant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines' 'Schedule your Inspection' section.
department checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$319/hour (1-hour minimum) under the 'Miscellaneous Inspections — Fees for Inspection not otherwise set forth' line item; after-hours/weekend re-inspections are $606/hour (2-hour minimum)
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV SolarAPP guidelines confirm 'Failed Inspections are subject to additional Inspection fees' without stating an amount; the FY 2025-26 fee schedule's generic miscellaneous-inspection line is the most likely applicable rate, but no line item is titled 're-inspection fee' specifically.
fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/13960/Building-Fee-Schedule-Adopted-2025-26-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are issued as plan-check comments emailed from NoReply@SanLeandro.org to the project contact; the applicant responds/uploads revisions through the Accela portal per the City's 'How To Respond to Comments' guide
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines describe the instructional-email correction process; a dedicated how-to PDF (doc 9325) confirms the portal-based response mechanism exists, though I did not extract that PDF's full text.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Guidelines: 'The Project is considered complete when the Final Inspection result is Pass'; the Accela portal issues a permit report/job card reflecting Final status rather than naming a certificate of occupancy or green tag for single-family PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/685/PV-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated by a San Leandro document; inferred from standard PG&E Rule 21/NEM practice in which the installer/customer submits proof of the passed final inspection to PG&E to request Permission to Operate.
utility process (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/dih/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of San Leandro against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of San Leandro is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (Division of Building & Safety Services, Community Development). Fire code administration/inspection for the city is delegated by contract to the Alameda County Fire Department (ACFD).
- Delegated to
- Alameda County Fire Department (fire code administration and fire-related inspection only, under a services contract)
- Overridden by
- Alameda County is AHJ instead of the City for any parcel in the unincorporated 'San Leandro' area (city's own PV Submittal Guidelines tell applicants to check GeoSL.org and contact Alameda County if unincorporated). Utility interconnection sits with PG&E, not the City, for anything on the utility side of the meter.
- Why not higher
- City's Instant PV SolarAPP Submittal Guidelines (Revised 3/2026) explicitly states the instant-permit program is 'for a residence located in the incorporated part of San Leandro... If you are in the unincorporated part of San Leandro, please contact Alameda County,' confirming the City is AHJ only inside its own limits. City's own 'Fire Services' page states fire protection 'is provided under contract with the Alameda County Fire Department (ACFD)', and ACFD's Fire Code Administration page lists San Leandro among the cities it serves under contract. Building & Safety Division (Community Development) is confirmed as the building/electrical permitting authority throughout every permit/fee/submittal document.
https://www.sanleandro.org/DocumentCenter/View/10578/PV-SolarAPP-Submittal-Guidelines-PDF
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 for a residential system up to 15 kW, plus $15 per additional kW over 15 kW, plus $212 Filing/Issuance Fee, plus an applicable Plan Check Fee90%
- Plan review
- 3 to 7 business days for initial residential plan review (plus 3-7 more for any resubmittal); permit number assigned within 3-5 business days of fee payment92%
- Portal
- San Leandro Online Permit Portal, powered by Accela (aca-prod.accela.com/SANLEANDRO), reached via SanLeandro.org/PermitPortal95%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), effective January 1, 202688%
- Own placard wording
- No68%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal92%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 68%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 85%
Utility AC disconnect label must be on the front of the switch itself; if the disconnect is not grouped with the PG&E meter, a location map and directional signage are also required at the meter
What the utility wants on top 88%
Yes — PG&E requires its own AC disconnect switch labeling: permanent signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant, minimum 3/8-inch capital lettering, plus a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.