City of San Marino

Los Angeles County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of San Marino is a city authority in the State of California, serving 12,513 residents. 572 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — CommunityCore (app.communitycore.com), with residential rooftop PV additionally routed through SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) before the CommunityCore permit step. Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
Key document
authority program page + inference from SolarAPP+ platform cited by 9 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? For the SolarAPP+ path: an approved SolarAPP+ design (with its Inspection Checklist and unique SolarAPP+ ID), a business-license upload, plus the city's own 'Permit/Plan Check Application' form submitted through CommunityCore. For the standard (non-SolarAPP+/OTC) path: the same Permit/Plan Check Application form plus plan sets. 70% · authority program page + form PDF
    • How many copies, and in what format? 2 sets of plans (general plan-check submittal) or 3 copies (over-the-counter/OTC submittal, which residential solar without batteries is eligible for) plus applicable calculations; minimum sheet size 11x17. 70% · authority bulletin (PDF, extracted with pdftotext)
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site/roof plan is implicitly required as part of the SolarAPP+ submittal (a national platform requirement) and as part of standard plan sets, but no San Marino-specific document was found spelling out exactly what the site plan must show for a solar job. 55% · authority program page + inference from SolarAPP+ platform
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 55% · authority program page + inference from SolarAPP+ platform
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Not documented as a separately filed calculation package; likely embedded in SolarAPP+'s automated compliance checks rather than a discrete city-required submittal. 50% · authority program page (absence noted)
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? CommunityCore (app.communitycore.com), with residential rooftop PV additionally routed through SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) before the CommunityCore permit step. 90% · authority program page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Mostly yes for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; no for anything requiring plan check. 75% · authority department page
    • How is the fee calculated? Valuation-based, at a discount off LA County's own table 85% · fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext, not a summarizer)
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of San Marino’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building & Safety Division page describes issuing building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing permits and performing inspections directly; the city's own Solar Permitting page describes the SolarAPP+/CommunityCore process as the city's own permit process.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page: 'Permits are required for: electrical, mechanical, plumbing, reroofs, window changes, fences, pools and spas, remodels, and additions,' issued by the city itself. Fire permits/inspections are separately priced in the city's own Master Fee Schedule under a 'Fire:' heading (S-100 to S-166), performed by the city's own Fire Department (SMFD), not a delegated agency. Confidence is reduced because standard (non-OTC) plan check appears possibly contracted to a firm named on a now-dead 'VCA Code Group' link on the city's own current page -- a partial delegation of the CHECK function that could not be re-confirmed.

authority department page + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar Permitting page describes a full SolarAPP+/CommunityCore permit process for residential rooftop PV; the OTC Plan Check Guidelines list 'Residential solar panels: new or modification without batteries or accessory systems' as an eligible permit category.

authority program page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's solar page instructs applicants to 'Select SolarAPP+ permit type and One Stop category' as a single permit application in CommunityCore -- one permit type covers the PV/electrical work together. Confidence is not higher because no city document states explicitly that a homeowner could not also be issued a stand-alone electrical permit for a non-SolarAPP+ PV job.

authority program page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Any contractor

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Solar Permitting page requires a 'Valid State Contractors License' uploaded to SolarAPP+ (not electrician-specific), and the city's own Business License fee schedule (S-161) lists many separate license-class categories (Building 'A'/'B', Electrical 'C10', 'All Other Classifications') that can hold city business licenses -- consistent with any appropriately-licensed CSLB contractor (e.g., C-46 solar or C-10 electrical) being able to pull the permit, not only a C-10 electrician.

authority program page + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ process on the city's page requires the applicant to 'Upload business license for verification' before applying; the city's own Master Fee Schedule (S-161, 'BUSINESS LICENSE: CONTRACTORS') separately confirms the city licenses contractors by trade classification, including an electrical 'C10' category and an 'All Other Classifications' catch-all.

authority program page + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes, but only outside the SolarAPP+ track

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's standard 'Permit Application and Declaration' and its separate 'Owner Builder Declaration' form both include the standard California Owner-Builder exemption declaration (Bus. & Prof. Code Sec. 7044), meaning a homeowner can self-permit generally. However, the city's own SolarAPP+/Solar Permitting page requires a 'Valid State Contractors License,' so the fast, SolarAPP+-automated path is contractor-only; a homeowner would have to use the slower standard plan-check path instead.

authority form (PDF, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Community%20Development%20Department/Applications%20and%20Guidelines%20Page/Building%20Applications%2C%20Forms%2C%20Handouts/Owner%20Builder%20Declaration%20_%20Revised%2005-08-26.pdf

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

For the SolarAPP+ path: an approved SolarAPP+ design (with its Inspection Checklist and unique SolarAPP+ ID), a business-license upload, plus the city's own 'Permit/Plan Check Application' form submitted through CommunityCore. For the standard (non-SolarAPP+/OTC) path: the same Permit/Plan Check Application form plus plan sets.

Why the confidence is not higherCombines the city's Solar Permitting page process description with the current 'Permit/Plan Check Application' form. Note: the older cached copy of this same application form (filename 'Revised 01-22-25') carries an internal footer reading 'PlanningandBuilding/JForms/PermitDeclarations1_25_2017' -- i.e. its actual content dates to 2017 despite the filename's 2025 date, illustrating that filenames on this site are not reliable revision dates.

authority program page + form PDF checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

2 sets of plans (general plan-check submittal) or 3 copies (over-the-counter/OTC submittal, which residential solar without batteries is eligible for) plus applicable calculations; minimum sheet size 11x17.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page states standard submittal is '2 sets of plans and any applicable calculations'; the OTC Plan Check Guidelines (which explicitly list residential solar as an eligible category) require 'Submittal of plans (3 copies)' at the Tuesday OTC counter.

authority bulletin (PDF, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Community%20Development%20Department/Building%20Division%20Page/OTC%20Plan%20Check%20Guidelines%20Updated%20February%202026.pdf

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

A site/roof plan is implicitly required as part of the SolarAPP+ submittal (a national platform requirement) and as part of standard plan sets, but no San Marino-specific document was found spelling out exactly what the site plan must show for a solar job.

Why the confidence is not higherNo city-specific solar checklist exists (see Q57); this is inferred from the SolarAPP+ platform's standard national requirements rather than a San Marino document.

authority program page + inference from SolarAPP+ platform checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes (inferred)

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated by the city itself; SolarAPP+, which the city has adopted as its automated review platform, structurally requires electrical layout/diagram data as part of its national code-compliance checks. No San Marino-specific document independently states this requirement.

authority program page + inference from SolarAPP+ platform checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Not documented as a separately filed calculation package; likely embedded in SolarAPP+'s automated compliance checks rather than a discrete city-required submittal.

Why the confidence is not higherNo San Marino bulletin or checklist specifying string/conductor calculations was located; SolarAPP+'s software performs these checks internally as part of its national process.

authority program page (absence noted) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, OTC Plan Check Guidelines, Permit Application form, Applications & Guidelines PDF listing -- no 'when is a licensed architect/engineer required' bulletin (of the kind Riverside publishes) was located anywhere on the site

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q13 -- no electrical-PE-stamp threshold document was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFY2026-27 Schedule of Fees for Service, item S-057 (Building Plan Check/Inspection) -- the fee mechanism ('85% of the LA County Building and Grading fees' plus 9.5% General Plan Maintenance and 7% Com Dev Technology surcharges) was found and is answered under Q16, but the actual LA County Building/Grading valuation table needed to compute a specific dollar figure was not retrieved in this run

https://sanmarinoca.gov/Fine%20and%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%20July%2028%2C%202026.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation-based, at a discount off LA County's own table

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees for Service, item S-057 'BUILDING PLAN CHECK/INSPECTION', reads verbatim: 'Charge 85% of the LA County Building and Grading fees... LA County currently has an expedited plan check fee that is an additional 50% of the standard plan check fee.' This is a county-multiplier fee basis (a discount, like Cudahy's 10%-off shape in the wider CA survey), meaning the actual residential-solar permit cost is whatever LA County's own valuation-based Building/Grading fee table produces for the project's valuation, times 0.85, plus the city's own General Plan Maintenance (9.5%) and Com Dev Technology (7%) surcharges on top.

fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext, not a summarizer) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Fine%20and%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%20July%2028%2C%202026.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFY2026-27 Schedule of Fees for Service -- item S-057 is titled 'BUILDING PLAN CHECK/INSPECTION' as a single combined line item computed as 85% of LA County's schedule; whether LA County's own underlying table breaks plan check out as a separately-priced line (which S-057's wording implies but does not itself state) was not determinable without pulling the county table

https://sanmarinoca.gov/Fine%20and%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%20July%2028%2C%202026.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, Solar Permitting page, OTC Plan Check Guidelines -- none state a specific plan-review turnaround time in business days for residential solar (contrast with Riverside, which states '3 business days' directly)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page (which links a 'REQUEST A PERMIT EXTENSION' form, implying permits do expire) and the Permit Application form -- no page or form states the actual validity period before expiration; the underlying municipal code section could not be reached (see Q32's access note)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

CommunityCore (app.communitycore.com), with residential rooftop PV additionally routed through SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) before the CommunityCore permit step.

Why the confidence is not higherBoth platforms are named directly and repeatedly on the city's Building & Safety and Solar Permitting pages.

authority program page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Mostly yes for SolarAPP+-eligible systems; no for anything requiring plan check.

Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permitting page describes a fully remote process (SolarAPP+ approval -> CommunityCore application -> email invoice -> email permit documents). But the Building & Safety page states generally: 'Applications for permits that require planning review and/or plan check will be accepted online, but require hard copy submission of the plans at the public counter prior to proceeding' -- so the standard (non-SolarAPP+) path is not fully online.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the city's own Utility Providers page (not PowerToChoose), which names SCE as the electric utility for San Marino.

authority utility page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/utility_providers.php

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel, with final Permission to Operate gated on the finaled city permit

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated on any San Marino-specific page. SCE's own residential Net Energy Metering page states 'Most contractors will apply on your behalf' for interconnection, which is typically submitted independent of (parallel to) the city permit, while SCE's standard Rule 21/NEM process (not city-specific) requires proof of a finaled permit before granting PTO.

utility page (utility-level, not city-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Sometimes -- not a blanket requirement for solar specifically

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own OTC Plan Check Guidelines (which list residential solar as an OTC-eligible category) state generally: 'A Planning review may be required in addition to OTC plan check.' No document found states this is universally required for solar, nor names a private HOA/CC&R requirement (which would not be a municipal permitting requirement in any case).

authority bulletin (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Community%20Development%20Department/Building%20Division%20Page/OTC%20Plan%20Check%20Guidelines%20Updated%20February%202026.pdf

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPlanning Division page and Historic Preservation page -- neither mentions any solar-specific historic-district review trigger or exemption

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/planning.php

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, OTC guidelines, Solar Permitting page -- San Marino is inland Los Angeles County with no wind/windstorm zone; no certification requirement of this kind was found or would be expected

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPlanning page, Solar Permitting page, OTC guidelines -- no Specific Use Permit or Council-approval trigger for standard residential rooftop PV was found

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSolar Permitting page, OTC guidelines, and the Chapter XXV municipal-code text that would carry any locally-adopted system-size cap -- the code text itself could not be reached (see Q32's access note), and no city page states a residential generation size cap

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC currently (as part of the 2022 California Electrical Code cycle); 2023 NEC from 1 January 2026 (as part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code cycle) 60% · authority department page (inference on NEC year)
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2022 California Building Code now; 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24) for all permit applications submitted on or after 1 January 2026 90% · authority department page
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, generically -- Chapter XXV (Uniform Codes) of the San Marino Municipal Code contains locally-added sections (e.g., Sec. 25.01.07 'Expedited Electric Vehicle Charging Station Permitting'), and the fee schedule shows locally-set fee amounts on top of the (85%-of-county) building fee basis. 60% · municipal code (Internet Archive capture; live host blocked)
    • What is the installation judged against? The 2022 California Building Code / California Electrical Code (2025 editions from 1 Jan 2026), as locally amended in San Marino Municipal Code Chapter XXV (Uniform Codes) 75% · authority department page
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of San Marino on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    Nothing recorded for City of San Marino on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of San Marino on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted but are explicitly excluded from the expedited/OTC path -- the city's OTC Plan Check Guidelines list 'Residential solar panels: new or modification WITHOUT batteries or accessory systems' as the OTC-eligible category, implying a system with batteries must go through standard (non-OTC) plan check submittal. 75% · authority bulletin (PDF)
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Likely yes (inferred) -- since a system with batteries is excluded from the OTC/expedited path, it would require the standard plan-check submittal and standard inspection sequence rather than the single streamlined solar review, though no city document uses the words 'separate ESS permit.' 60% · fee schedule PDF (controlled absence) + inference

20 questions answered against City of San Marino’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2020 NEC currently (as part of the 2022 California Electrical Code cycle); 2023 NEC from 1 January 2026 (as part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code cycle)

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Building & Safety page states construction must comply with 'the 2022 California Building Codes' now, and 'the 2025 California Building Standards Codes' for applications filed on/after 1 Jan 2026 -- but it names only the CBC cycle, not the CEC/NEC edition by name. The NEC year is inferred from California's standard three-year adoption lag (2022 CBC cycle -> 2020 NEC; 2025 CBC cycle -> 2023 NEC), the same inference method used elsewhere in this survey where a city states only its Title 24 cycle.

authority department page (inference on NEC year) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2022 California Building Code now; 2025 California Building Standards Code (Title 24) for all permit applications submitted on or after 1 January 2026

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated, with an effective date, on the city's own Building & Safety page: '2022 California Building Codes' locally amended in Chapter 25 of the San Marino City Code, and 'All permit applications submitted on or after January 1, 2026 must comply with the 2025 California Building Standards Codes.'

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Department index and Fire Prevention pages -- neither states which edition of the California Fire Code SMFD currently enforces; the Chapter XXV municipal-code Fire Code adoption article could not be reached live (Cloudflare-blocked, robots.txt disallows automated access) and no Wayback capture of that specific article was available

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/fire/fire_prevention.php

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes, generically -- Chapter XXV (Uniform Codes) of the San Marino Municipal Code contains locally-added sections (e.g., Sec. 25.01.07 'Expedited Electric Vehicle Charging Station Permitting'), and the fee schedule shows locally-set fee amounts on top of the (85%-of-county) building fee basis.

Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed the existence and general shape of local amendments (Chapter XXV, Article 01) via Internet Archive captures of the current code host (codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanmarinoca), current through Ord. O-24-1417 (passed 20 Nov 2024). Could NOT confirm whether any of the amendments are PV-specific: the live AmLegal site returned HTTP 403 (Cloudflare bot-challenge) on every direct-fetch attempt, and its own robots.txt explicitly disallows automated crawlers (naming ClaudeBot specifically) -- so this was deliberately not bypassed. Available Wayback Machine snapshots of this code only reached Chapter XXV's general-provisions article and two isolated sections (25.01.07 EV charging, 25.11.04 Compliance); neither contained the words 'solar' or 'photovoltaic', but that is not a controlled negative because the Building/Electrical/Fire-Code adoption articles themselves were never captured.

municipal code (Internet Archive capture; live host blocked) checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260302084502/https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/sanmarinoca/latest/overview

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The 2022 California Building Code / California Electrical Code (2025 editions from 1 Jan 2026), as locally amended in San Marino Municipal Code Chapter XXV (Uniform Codes)

Why the confidence is not higherSame city page as Q30; the specific local-amendment text of Chapter XXV's Building/Electrical articles could not be retrieved (see Q32's access-blocked note), so this answer names the code basis but not any local technical amendment text.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and the Permit Application form -- neither states a local busbar/service-upgrade rule; the relevant Chapter XXV Electrical Code article could not be reached (see Q32's access note)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q34 -- no mounting-system/attachment-spacing amendment was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Prevention page and Fire Department index -- neither states a ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule; the Chapter XXV Fire Code article could not be reached (see Q31/Q32's access note)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/fire/fire_prevention.php

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, Fire Prevention page -- neither confirms or denies a local amendment to NEC 690.12; the Chapter XXV Electrical Code article could not be reached to grep for 'rapid shutdown'/'690.12' (see Q32's access note), so this could not be confirmed either way and is not being recorded as an absence

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, Solar Permitting page, generic Solar Permitting Guidebook PDF (confirmed non-localized, see Q57) -- no San Marino-specific placard requirement was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q38 -- no city-specified placard wording was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q38 -- no letter-height/colour/material spec was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q38 -- no facility-map/site-plan placard requirement was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's residential NEM page and general SCE site -- SCE's Rule 21/DG interconnection manual (which would carry any additional utility-specific placard requirements) was not pulled in this run

https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document set as Q38/Q42 -- no label-placement location requirement was located

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, Solar Permitting page -- no city-specific 'approved equipment list' requirement beyond the general implication of code compliance (UL listing etc. is a code-wide, not solar-specific, requirement not separately documented here)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Batteries/ESS are permitted but are explicitly excluded from the expedited/OTC path -- the city's OTC Plan Check Guidelines list 'Residential solar panels: new or modification WITHOUT batteries or accessory systems' as the OTC-eligible category, implying a system with batteries must go through standard (non-OTC) plan check submittal.

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own current OTC Plan Check Guidelines PDF. No separate battery/ESS-specific ordinance text was located (the relevant Fire Code chapter could not be accessed -- see Q32).

authority bulletin (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Community%20Development%20Department/Building%20Division%20Page/OTC%20Plan%20Check%20Guidelines%20Updated%20February%202026.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Likely yes (inferred) -- since a system with batteries is excluded from the OTC/expedited path, it would require the standard plan-check submittal and standard inspection sequence rather than the single streamlined solar review, though no city document uses the words 'separate ESS permit.'

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the OTC exclusion in Q45; the city's Master Fee Schedule (Fire section, S-100-S-166) has zero PV/ESS-specific lines, control-checked (positive controls 'fire'/'inspection' present throughout; fabricated control absent), so no distinct city-published ESS fee exists either.

fee schedule PDF (controlled absence) + inference checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Fine%20and%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%20July%2028%2C%202026.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page, Solar Permitting page, OTC guidelines -- none address ground-mount PV specifically; the Chapter XXV/zoning code text that might classify a ground mount as a structure could not be reached (see Q32's access note)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/services/permits_and_forms.php

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's residential NEM page -- the specific Rule 21 DG interconnection manual with AC-disconnect placement-relative-to-meter specifications was not pulled in this run

https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (CommunityCore) or Phone 90% · authority department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No booked AM/PM window; inspections are placed on a list finalized at 7:30 AM the day of inspection, and the applicant is told to call back after 7:30 AM that same day to confirm/get an approximate time (leaving a voicemail asking for a time window is explicitly discouraged). 80% · authority department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single final solar inspection, requested via the dedicated 'REQUEST A SOLAR INSPECTION' link (distinct from the general building-inspection request), consistent with the OTC/expedited single-review model. 55% · authority department page (inference)
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No (inferred) 55% · authority department page (inference)
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? No -- the city has not published its own solar-specific submittal/inspection checklist. The only 'solar' document linked from its own Applications & Guidelines page is the generic, un-customized statewide 'California Solar Permitting Guidebook (4th Edition)' (Winter 2019, Governor's Office of Planning and Research). 75% · document review (PDF extracted with pdftotext/pdfinfo, controlled absence)
    • What must be on site at inspection? The city's approved plans and the permit inspection card, which must remain on the job site 80% · authority department page
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

14 questions answered against City of San Marino’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (CommunityCore) or Phone

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page: registered CommunityCore users 'may request inspections through CommunityCore'; otherwise 'REQUEST A BUILDING OR SOLAR INSPECTION' web form or calling (626) 300-0753.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page -- it describes only a day-of-inspection confirmation process ('Inspection lists are completed at 7:30 AM'; call after 7:30 AM the day of) rather than stating a required advance-notice period in business days

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No booked AM/PM window; inspections are placed on a list finalized at 7:30 AM the day of inspection, and the applicant is told to call back after 7:30 AM that same day to confirm/get an approximate time (leaving a voicemail asking for a time window is explicitly discouraged).

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own Building & Safety page: 'Inspection lists are completed at 7:30 AM... you may call after 7:30 AM on the day of the inspection (please do not leave a voicemail requesting a time window but rather call back and speak to someone directly).'

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe city performs its own solar inspections (a 'REQUEST A SOLAR INSPECTION' link exists alongside the general Building Inspection request), and general Building Inspections are performed by a named in-house city employee (Peter Flores, per the staff directory). Confidence is reduced because the page gives 'SOLAR INSPECTOR' its own separate heading from 'BUILDING INSPECTOR', with different scheduling rules (solar inspections are available on Fridays when general Building Inspections are not) -- a signal, not proof, that solar inspection may run through a different arrangement (possibly the same contracted plan-check party referenced elsewhere) than routine building inspection.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page and staff directory -- no named delegate for solar inspection specifically was confirmed; the only lead (a 'VCA Code Group' plan-check-status link) 404s live and could not be verified as still operative

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

A single final solar inspection, requested via the dedicated 'REQUEST A SOLAR INSPECTION' link (distinct from the general building-inspection request), consistent with the OTC/expedited single-review model.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the existence of exactly one solar-specific inspection request link on the city's own page, with no separate 'rough' or 'mid-roof' solar inspection link found. Not confirmed against code text (Chapter XXV's inspection article could not be accessed -- see Q32).

authority department page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No (inferred)

Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q54 -- only one solar inspection link exists on the city's page, suggesting a single-inspection model rather than a separate rough-in/mid-roof step for a standard flush-mount system. Not confirmed against code text.

authority department page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page -- states generally that inspectors validate code compliance but does not specifically say labels/listings are checked (contrast with Riverside, which has an explicit PV Re-Roof bulletin naming this)

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No -- the city has not published its own solar-specific submittal/inspection checklist. The only 'solar' document linked from its own Applications & Guidelines page is the generic, un-customized statewide 'California Solar Permitting Guidebook (4th Edition)' (Winter 2019, Governor's Office of Planning and Research).

Why the confidence is not higherDownloaded and read the linked PDF directly (not summarized): its PDF metadata reads Title 'Solar Permitting Guidebook 4th Edition', Author 'Office of Planning and Research', and a full-text search of all 114 pages for 'San Marino' returns zero hits -- it is the unmodified statewide template, not a localized city document, the same pattern flagged elsewhere in this survey (e.g. Dinuba's 'Solar Photovoltaic Workbook'). A full listing of every PDF linked from the city's Applications & Guidelines page turned up no other solar-specific checklist.

document review (PDF extracted with pdftotext/pdfinfo, controlled absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/California%20Solar%20Permitting%20Guidebook%20%284th%20Edition%29.pdf

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The city's approved plans and the permit inspection card, which must remain on the job site

Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the city's own Building & Safety page under 'CONSTRUCTION SITES': 'The City's approved plans and permit inspection card must remain on the job site for use by City inspection personnel.'

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Not published as a distinct Building re-inspection fee. The FY2026-27 Schedule of Fees only prices a Fire Re-Inspection fee (S-102, $83, effective 28 Jul 2026); there is no comparable Building/Electrical re-inspection line item.

Why the confidence is not higherControlled search of the full extracted fee-schedule text: positive controls ('electrical'/'building') return 12 hits and are clearly present throughout the document; a fabricated control ('zzqqx') returns 0 hits, confirming the search itself works; 'reinspection'/'re-inspection' appears only twice, both under Fire (S-102) and Weed Abatement (S-110), never under the Building/Community Development section that contains S-057 (the solar/building permit line).

fee schedule PDF (extracted with pdftotext, controlled absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanmarinoca.gov/Fine%20and%20Fee%20Schedule%20Effective%20July%2028%2C%202026.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page -- no description of how correction notices are issued or cleared was found

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page -- describes a Certificate of Occupancy process (separately booked, and only after 'all building inspections must be completed') but does not name what document/tag is issued specifically on passing a residential solar final inspection

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer

Why the confidence is not higherNot stated on any San Marino-specific page (the city's own final-inspection process makes no mention of notifying SCE). SCE's own residential Net Energy Metering page states 'Most contractors will apply on your behalf' for the interconnection/PTO paperwork, which is the standard IOU-territory pattern (contrast with Riverside's own municipal utility, where the city inspector notifies the utility directly).

utility page (utility-level, not city-specific) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sce.com/residential/generating-your-own-power/net-energy-metering

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of San Marino against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of San Marino is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
Both Building and Electrical (plus Mechanical/Plumbing) in-house via the Community Development Department's Building & Safety Division, AND Fire, via the City's own municipal San Marino Fire Department (SMFD) -- San Marino is NOT an LA County Fire (LACoFD) contract city, unusual for a city of only ~14,500 residents. Standard (non-over-the-counter) plan check MAY be contracted out: the Building & Safety page's own linked 'Plan Check Status' page names a firm/portal at megaagent.com/vca/codegroup ('VCA Code Group'), but that specific status-check URL now 404s live, so this delegation is only weakly evidenced and could not be independently re-confirmed today.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety page states the Building Division itself issues Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing permits and performs inspections (Peter Flores, Building Inspector, is a named in-house staffer on the city's own domain per the staff directory); the city's own Fire Department page confirms SMFD is the City's own department (21 personnel, its own apparatus), not a county or JPA arrangement. The Master Fee Schedule separately prices Fire permits/inspections (S-100 through S-166) distinct from Building (S-057), confirming both functions sit with the city. Confidence is not higher because the plan-check delegation to 'VCA Code Group' is evidenced only by an old, now-dead link on the city's own current page, and could not be independently corroborated.

https://sanmarinoca.gov/government/departments/community_development/building_and_safety.php

Permit required
Yes95%
Portal
CommunityCore (app.communitycore.com), with residential rooftop PV additionally routed through SolarAPP+ (gosolarapp.org) before the CommunityCore permit step.90%
Electrical code
2020 NEC currently (as part of the 2022 California Electrical Code cycle); 2023 NEC from 1 January 2026 (as part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code cycle)60%
Booking an inspection
Portal (CommunityCore) or Phone90%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Los Angeles County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of San Marino · city
Solar Requirements
Separate fire inspection
Any Fire and Solar inspections are available to be scheduled as normal. Inspection lists are completed at 7:30 AM If you would like to confirm your inspection is scheduled and request a time window, you may call after 7:30 AM on the day of the inspection (please do not leave a voicemail requesting a
Authority Contact
Address
2200 Huntington Drive, San Marino, CA 91108
Main Phone
(626) 300-0700
Building Department
Department
Building Division, Community Development Department
Direct Phone
(626) 300-0753
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online
Notes
Solar inspections scheduled via dedicated online form (Revize portal). Required info: permit number (format: 17-00111), property address, desired inspection date, inspection type (dropdown), requester name, email, and phone. No more than 10 inspections scheduled per day. Solar inspections available Monday-Thursday (no Friday inspections). Building Inspector direct line: (626) 300-0753, office hours Mon-Thu 7:00-9:00 AM. Inspection lists finalize at 7:30 AM — call after 7:30 AM on the day of inspection to confirm and request a time window. Building Division hours: Mon-Thu 7:00 AM-5:00 PM, Fri 7:00 AM-11:00 AM. Community Development Director: Isidro Figueroa. (collected Jul 2026)