City of San Rafael
Marin County
City of San Rafael is a city authority in the State of California, serving 61,271 residents. 3,866 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes, a building permit is required for residential rooftop PV Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined — one permit is issued (12.320.060.1: 'the building official ... shall issue a building permit'), Q4 Plan review — For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: same-day or next-day issuance for over-the-counter applications, Q18 Where you file — OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com), replacing eTRAKiT as the sole portal for new applications from 23 Feb 2026 and for inspection scheduling from 17 Feb… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes, a building permit is required for residential rooftop PV95% source
- What it costs
- Approx. $639 total for a residential PV system ≤15kW AC: $461 Building plan-check fee (Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW,90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: same-day or next-day issuance for over-the-counter applications, or within 3 business days for electronic submittals (Ch 12.320.060.1).85% source
- Key document
- adopting ordinance cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — City of San Rafael Building Division is the AHJ for residential rooftop solar 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical, combined; not delegated to the County or Fire 90% · adopting ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes, a building permit is required for residential rooftop PV 95% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined — one permit is issued (12.320.060.1: 'the building official ... shall issue a building permit'), though the fee schedule itemizes a distinct electrical-permit line ($178) alongside the building plan-check fee ($461) within that single permit 70% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No — the City will not condition its own approval on HOA/association sign-off 85% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? Conditionally yes — required only for properties on the City's list of historic resources 90% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No wind/windstorm certification requirement found 55% · checklist
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — an administrative Use Permit can be required if the Building Official finds a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety; denial requires written findings and is appealable to the Planning Commission 90% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? The streamlined/ministerial 'small residential rooftop solar' pathway caps at 10 kW AC nameplate (or 30 kW thermal) on a single-family dwelling or duplex; larger residential systems remain permittable but go through standard (non-expedited) plan review rather than being capped outright 90% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — licensed contractor or homeowner 85% · authority's own page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No separate city contractor-registration step found prior to applying 60% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes — homeowner self-install/self-permit is allowed 80% · authority's own page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Site plan (panel locations, layout, clearances); electrical details (one-line); manufacturer specifications. For ESS/EV: floor plan with device location, electrical diagram, manufacturer specs. For reroof-with-solar-tiles: same package, valued separately from the reroof permit 90% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic submittal only, via OpenGov; plans must be unsecured PDF, max file size 75MB 85% · checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — site plan required, must show panel locations, layout, and clearances 90% · checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (functionally) — 'Electrical details' are a required plan component for every solar/battery/EV submittal 75% · checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PV-specific threshold found; general city rule (Design Professional Guide, Stamp & Signature Requirements, July 2020) exempts single-family dwellings/appurtenant structures built to conventional wood-frame tables from requiring a PE/architect stamp unless the Building Official deems it necessary or the work deviates from conventional wood-frame limits 55% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com), replacing eTRAKiT as the sole portal for new applications from 23 Feb 2026 and for inspection scheduling from 17 Feb 2026 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, functionally — the full 3-step SolarAPP+/OpenGov process (SolarAPP+ review, City permit application, inspection request) is described as entirely online 70% · portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Approx. $639 total for a residential PV system ≤15kW AC: $461 Building plan-check fee (Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW, 'Renewables' plan-check line) + $178 flat Electrical Permit Fee (Photovoltaic Systems, Residential). Systems >15kW add $15/kW above 15kW to the plan-check base 90% · published fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered — flat base fee up to 15kW, then a per-kW increment above 15kW for the plan-check fee; flat fee for the electrical permit portion regardless of size 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — a separate Plan Check fee line ($461, 'Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW') is itemized apart from the Electrical Permit fee ($178) 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: same-day or next-day issuance for over-the-counter applications, or within 3 business days for electronic submittals (Ch 12.320.060.1). General (non-solar) plan-review turnaround is stated as 'up to 3 weeks' on the standard Permits-Requiring-Plan-Review page 85% · ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 2 years from issuance for a standard building permit (effective 1 Jan 2023 policy); minor permits (e.g. water heaters, furnaces) expire in 180 days 90% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric Company) 80% · utility tariff
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit — PG&E's Rule 21 conditions Permission to Operate on the applicant first providing 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility' 85% · utility DG tariff
28 questions answered against City of San Rafael’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — City of San Rafael Building Division is the AHJ for residential rooftop solar
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own SolarAPP+/Renewable Energy program pages and Muni Code Ch. 12.320 (Expedited Permit Process for Small Residential Rooftop Solar) all place permitting and inspection with the City Building Division
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/solarapp-permits/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — Building and Electrical, combined; not delegated to the County or Fire
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.1 has 'the building official' issue a single permit; MEP fee schedule itemizes a residential PV electrical fee under the same Building & Safety/MEP schedule. Fire Dept's own Fire Permits page lists no PV/solar line at all, confirming Fire is not part of residential PV permitting
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, a building permit is required for residential rooftop PV
Why the confidence is not higherCh 12.320.030: 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City of San Rafael'; fee schedules confirm an issued permit and fee for PV
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined — one permit is issued (12.320.060.1: 'the building official ... shall issue a building permit'), though the fee schedule itemizes a distinct electrical-permit line ($178) alongside the building plan-check fee ($461) within that single permit
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance text specifies a single permit; fee schedule nonetheless splits building vs electrical fee lines internally
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/7.-mech.-elec-plumb.-permit-fees-352cffdd.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either — licensed contractor or homeowner
Why the confidence is not higherCity's SolarAPP+ page: 'Homeowners and contractors can register and submit projects' to gosolarapp.org, then apply for the City permit
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/solarapp-permits/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No separate city contractor-registration step found prior to applying
Why the confidence is not higherChecked Building Permits page, Licenses & Permits (Businesses) page, and SolarAPP+ page: contractors upload license info at time of application; a general city business license applies to any business operating in San Rafael, but no pre-registration requirement specific to building/electrical contractors was found on any of these three pages
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/licenses-permits-businesses/
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes — homeowner self-install/self-permit is allowed
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page explicitly allows homeowners (not just contractors) to register and submit projects; consistent with CA owner-builder practice generally
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/solarapp-permits/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Site plan (panel locations, layout, clearances); electrical details (one-line); manufacturer specifications. For ESS/EV: floor plan with device location, electrical diagram, manufacturer specs. For reroof-with-solar-tiles: same package, valued separately from the reroof permit
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Renewable Energy program page itemizes submittal contents by project type
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic submittal only, via OpenGov; plans must be unsecured PDF, max file size 75MB
Why the confidence is not higherPermits-Requiring-Plan-Review page states PDF/75MB limits; Muni Code 12.320.050.2 requires the City to make electronic (email/internet) submittal available to all small residential rooftop solar applicants
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/permits-requiring-plan-review/
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — site plan required, must show panel locations, layout, and clearances
Why the confidence is not higherRenewable Energy page: plans must include 'Site plan (including panel locations, layout and clearances)'
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (functionally) — 'Electrical details' are a required plan component for every solar/battery/EV submittal
Why the confidence is not higherRenewable Energy page lists 'Electrical details' as required for solar and 'Electrical diagram' for ESS/EV; city does not use the specific phrase 'one-line diagram' but this is the equivalent required drawing
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRenewable Energy submittal-requirements page and Permits-Requiring-Plan-Review page — neither itemizes string/conductor sizing calculations separately from 'electrical details'
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PV-specific threshold found; general city rule (Design Professional Guide, Stamp & Signature Requirements, July 2020) exempts single-family dwellings/appurtenant structures built to conventional wood-frame tables from requiring a PE/architect stamp unless the Building Official deems it necessary or the work deviates from conventional wood-frame limits
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Design Professional Guide: Stamp & Signature Requirements' PDF (dated July 1, 2020) sets the general stamp-exemption rule under B&P Code §§5537/6737; it does not name solar/PV specifically
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2020/07/2020-License-Design-Requirements.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDesign Professional Guide (Stamp & Signature Requirements, July 2020) and Title 12 — neither states an electrical-PE-stamp threshold for PV
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Approx. $639 total for a residential PV system ≤15kW AC: $461 Building plan-check fee (Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW, 'Renewables' plan-check line) + $178 flat Electrical Permit Fee (Photovoltaic Systems, Residential). Systems >15kW add $15/kW above 15kW to the plan-check base
Why the confidence is not higherCity Council-adopted Master Fee Schedule effective 1 Jul 2026 — Building & Safety Services PDF and MEP Permit Fees PDF, both confirmed by pdfinfo creation dates of Apr/Jun 2026
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/6.-building-safety-79987031.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered — flat base fee up to 15kW, then a per-kW increment above 15kW for the plan-check fee; flat fee for the electrical permit portion regardless of size
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety fee schedule 'Renewables' section: '$450 + $15 per kW above 15kW' for larger residential PV
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/6.-building-safety-79987031.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — a separate Plan Check fee line ($461, 'Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW') is itemized apart from the Electrical Permit fee ($178)
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Services fee schedule, 'Valuation-Based Plan Check Fees > Renewables' section
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/6.-building-safety-79987031.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: same-day or next-day issuance for over-the-counter applications, or within 3 business days for electronic submittals (Ch 12.320.060.1). General (non-solar) plan-review turnaround is stated as 'up to 3 weeks' on the standard Permits-Requiring-Plan-Review page
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.1 gives the expedited-review turnaround by statute; general turnaround is from the Permits Requiring Plan Review page
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
2 years from issuance for a standard building permit (effective 1 Jan 2023 policy); minor permits (e.g. water heaters, furnaces) expire in 180 days
Why the confidence is not higherRenewable Energy page and Building Permits page both state: 'Effective 1/1/2023 all Building Permits issued after this date will be valid for 2 years'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com), replacing eTRAKiT as the sole portal for new applications from 23 Feb 2026 and for inspection scheduling from 17 Feb 2026
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page and Fire Prevention page both announce the OpenGov cutover with these exact dates
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/building/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes, functionally — the full 3-step SolarAPP+/OpenGov process (SolarAPP+ review, City permit application, inspection request) is described as entirely online
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ Permits page describes registering, submitting, and paying entirely through gosolarapp.org and OpenGov with no in-person step required
portal checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/solarapp-permits/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric Company)
Why the confidence is not higherNo competing electric utility appears on any City of San Rafael document reviewed (building, solar, or fire pages); PG&E's own Electric Rule 21 tariff (Advice 7692-E, filed under PG&E's CPUC utility number U 39) is the applicable interconnection tariff for all of PG&E's service territory, which includes Marin County/San Rafael. Marin Clean Energy (MCE) is the local Community Choice Aggregator for electricity procurement only — MCE's own service-area page confirms San Rafael has been an MCE member community since 2010, but MCE does not own distribution wires or handle interconnection; PG&E remains the distribution utility and issuer of Permission to Operate
utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit — PG&E's Rule 21 conditions Permission to Operate on the applicant first providing 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility'
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Section D General Rules ¶13.b (NEM Generating Facilities ≤1MW), current revision effective 29 Aug 2025
utility DG tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No — the City will not condition its own approval on HOA/association sign-off
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.9: 'The City shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in Section 4080 of the Civil Code'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Conditionally yes — required only for properties on the City's list of historic resources
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.5: 'A use permit and/or an environmental and design review may be required for properties on the City's list of historic resources as determined by the Community Development Director'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No wind/windstorm certification requirement found
Why the confidence is not higherChecked Renewable Energy submittal list and Title 12 Ch 12.320 — neither mentions a wind or windstorm certification; California does not use a TDI-style wind-cert regime
checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally — an administrative Use Permit can be required if the Building Official finds a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety; denial requires written findings and is appealable to the Planning Commission
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.4-6
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
The streamlined/ministerial 'small residential rooftop solar' pathway caps at 10 kW AC nameplate (or 30 kW thermal) on a single-family dwelling or duplex; larger residential systems remain permittable but go through standard (non-expedited) plan review rather than being capped outright
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.020 definition of 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (as adopted in the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026) 75% · adopting regulation
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (applications complete by 26 Dec 2025 remained under the 2022 cycle) 90% · adopting ordinance/announcement
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — the City has locally-adopted amendments layered on the state model codes, e.g. Ch 12.320 (Expedited Permit Process for Small Residential Rooftop Solar) and CRC R902.1.3/CBC 1505.1.3 Wildland-Urban Interface Fire Area roofing requirements (fire-retardant/Class-A roof covering) 85% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as locally adopted in Title 12, plus Ch 12.320's own criteria (state fire, structural, electrical and other building codes 'as adopted or amended by the City,' UL/IEEE/CPUC standards for PV electrical equipment). No separate PV-specific technical amendment beyond Ch 12.320 was found in Title 12 80% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of San Rafael on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required as a function of whichever NEC edition is in force (NEC 690.12) — San Rafael has not published a separate rapid-shutdown-specific statement; it flows through from the 2025 California Electrical Code adoption (Q29) 55% · inference from adopting regulation
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No — no city-specific placard wording found 55% · ordinance/checklist (absence)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? The required site plan doubles as the facility map for permitting purposes — it must show 'panel locations, layout and clearances' — but this is a submitted drawing, not a field-posted placard; no separate physical facility-map placard requirement was found 65% · checklist / 705.10 inference
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated isolating disconnect device near the Point of Interconnection bearing 'markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ requirement 75% · utility DG tariff
- Where must the labels be placed? The utility-required visible-disconnect marking must be located near the Point of Interconnection, positioned so it can be reached by PG&E personnel 24 hours a day for emergency, construction, operation, maintenance, inspection, or testing purposes 65% · utility DG tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? PG&E's Rule 21 requires a visible, lockable/isolating disconnect switch located at or near the Point of Interconnection, reachable by PG&E personnel 24/7; the tariff text located does not give an exact 'X feet from the meter' dimension — that level of detail sits in PG&E's gated Distribution Interconnection Handbook (TD-2306M), which was not reachable this run 60% · utility DG manual/tariff
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No city-specific approved-equipment list found; Ch 12.320.040.3 requires only that electricity-producing solar equipment meet 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' — a listing requirement, not a proprietary city equipment list 60% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries are permitted. The MEP fee schedule prices 'EES Battery Storage – Residential (Up to Two)' as a flat $141 electrical-permit fee. Separately, the Fire fee schedule lists a 'Battery Systems' construction-permit fee ($339) under Fire Inspections-Construction Permits, which is not shown on any residential PV/ESS city page as residential-specific — it is not clear from city documents whether typical 1-2 unit residential ESS ever trigger the Fire fee, versus only larger/aggregate-capacity systems 65% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes — battery storage has its own dedicated Electrical Permit fee line, distinct from the PV fee, and Fire separately fees a 'Battery Systems' construction permit that may apply above a fire-code capacity threshold not specified in any city document reviewed 70% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes — ground/yard-mounted solar is treated as an accessory structure, subject to the underlying zoning district's development standards and accessory-structure setback/height/coverage rules; only roof-mounted solar is allowed by right (subject to height limits) 85% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of San Rafael’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (as adopted in the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Upcoming Building Code Update' announcement (posted 3 Dec 2025) names the '2025 California Electrical Code' by title as part of the 2025 Title 24 triennial cycle effective 1 Jan 2026; the 2023 NFPA 70 base-edition mapping follows the state's established triennial CEC/NEC pairing pattern but was not independently re-verified against CEC text this run
adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/upcoming-building-code-update-effective-january-1-2026/
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code, effective 1 Jan 2026 (applications complete by 26 Dec 2025 remained under the 2022 cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherCity post 'Upcoming Building Code Update – Effective January 1, 2026' (dated 3 Dec 2025), naming the full 2025 Title 24 code list and the submittal cutover dates
adopting ordinance/announcement checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/upcoming-building-code-update-effective-january-1-2026/
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Ordinance is codified at Title 4, Ch 4.08 (Municode nodeId=TIT4FI_CH4.08FICO); Municode's Angular front end returns no chapter text to a direct fetch (JS shell only, 403 on retry), and the one Internet Archive capture of that exact node returned a 503 'temporarily offline' during this session rather than content
https://www.municode.com/library/ca/san_rafael/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT4FI_CH4.08FICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes — the City has locally-adopted amendments layered on the state model codes, e.g. Ch 12.320 (Expedited Permit Process for Small Residential Rooftop Solar) and CRC R902.1.3/CBC 1505.1.3 Wildland-Urban Interface Fire Area roofing requirements (fire-retardant/Class-A roof covering)
Why the confidence is not higherTitle 12 (Buildings Regulations) municipal code text, sections 12.320 and R902.1.3/1505.1.3
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as locally adopted in Title 12, plus Ch 12.320's own criteria (state fire, structural, electrical and other building codes 'as adopted or amended by the City,' UL/IEEE/CPUC standards for PV electrical equipment). No separate PV-specific technical amendment beyond Ch 12.320 was found in Title 12
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.040 and 12.320.060.2
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 12 (Buildings Regulations) and the Renewable Energy submittal page — both mention that a service-panel upgrade done at the same time as solar 'can be included' on the solar permit, but neither states a local busbar-sizing or 120%-rule amendment beyond the state code
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 12 (Buildings Regulations) full text and Renewable Energy submittal page — neither specifies a city-particular mounting system or attachment-spacing rule beyond requiring 'manufacture specs'
https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 12 (Buildings Regulations) full text (searched for 'ridge', 'setback', 'pathway', 'access') and the Fire Ordinance (Title 4, inaccessible this run per Q31) — no PV-specific ridge-setback or roof access-pathway amendment was located in the city code text that was retrievable
https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required as a function of whichever NEC edition is in force (NEC 690.12) — San Rafael has not published a separate rapid-shutdown-specific statement; it flows through from the 2025 California Electrical Code adoption (Q29)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from Q29 code-adoption finding; no dedicated city rapid-shutdown page or amendment was found
inference from adopting regulation checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/upcoming-building-code-update-effective-january-1-2026/
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 12 Ch 12.320 full text, Renewable Energy submittal page, and Forms & Handouts page — none publishes a specific placard/label list for PV service equipment beyond what the adopted NEC/CEC already requires by default (690.56, 705.12 marking sections)
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — no city-specific placard wording found
Why the confidence is not higherSame pages checked as Q38 (Ch 12.320, Renewable Energy page, Forms & Handouts) contain no custom wording requirement
ordinance/checklist (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as Q38/39 — no letter-height, colour, or material specification found on any city solar page or in Ch 12.320
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The required site plan doubles as the facility map for permitting purposes — it must show 'panel locations, layout and clearances' — but this is a submitted drawing, not a field-posted placard; no separate physical facility-map placard requirement was found
Why the confidence is not higherRenewable Energy page submittal list
checklist / 705.10 inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated isolating disconnect device near the Point of Interconnection bearing 'markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ requirement
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Section H.1.d 'Visible Disconnect Required'
utility DG tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The utility-required visible-disconnect marking must be located near the Point of Interconnection, positioned so it can be reached by PG&E personnel 24 hours a day for emergency, construction, operation, maintenance, inspection, or testing purposes
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Section H.1.d
utility DG tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No city-specific approved-equipment list found; Ch 12.320.040.3 requires only that electricity-producing solar equipment meet 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' — a listing requirement, not a proprietary city equipment list
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.040.3
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries are permitted. The MEP fee schedule prices 'EES Battery Storage – Residential (Up to Two)' as a flat $141 electrical-permit fee. Separately, the Fire fee schedule lists a 'Battery Systems' construction-permit fee ($339) under Fire Inspections-Construction Permits, which is not shown on any residential PV/ESS city page as residential-specific — it is not clear from city documents whether typical 1-2 unit residential ESS ever trigger the Fire fee, versus only larger/aggregate-capacity systems
Why the confidence is not higherMEP Permit Fees PDF and Fire Prevention & Inspection Services fee PDF, both from the Master Fee Schedule effective 1 Jul 2026
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/7.-mech.-elec-plumb.-permit-fees-352cffdd.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes — battery storage has its own dedicated Electrical Permit fee line, distinct from the PV fee, and Fire separately fees a 'Battery Systems' construction permit that may apply above a fire-code capacity threshold not specified in any city document reviewed
Why the confidence is not higherMEP Permit Fees PDF ('EES Batery Storage - Residential - (Up to Two)', $141 flat) and Fire fee schedule ('Battery Systems', $339 flat)
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/7.-mech.-elec-plumb.-permit-fees-352cffdd.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes — ground/yard-mounted solar is treated as an accessory structure, subject to the underlying zoning district's development standards and accessory-structure setback/height/coverage rules; only roof-mounted solar is allowed by right (subject to height limits)
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Code §14.16.307 (Solar installations), as summarized on the City's Single-Family Zoning Additional Regulations page
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/single-family-zoning-additional-regulations-3/
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
PG&E's Rule 21 requires a visible, lockable/isolating disconnect switch located at or near the Point of Interconnection, reachable by PG&E personnel 24/7; the tariff text located does not give an exact 'X feet from the meter' dimension — that level of detail sits in PG&E's gated Distribution Interconnection Handbook (TD-2306M), which was not reachable this run
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Section H.1.d
utility DG manual/tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (OpenGov) — as of 17 Feb 2026 all inspections must be scheduled through OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com); a phone Inspection Line, (415) 485-3365, remains listed for the Fire Prevention Bureau's own scheduling 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: within 1 business day of request (Ch 12.320.060.11). General OpenGov inspection requests are entered into the queue at 6:00am each inspection day; a request made after 6:00am is scheduled for the following day 85% · department page / ordinance
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes for solar — a 4-hour inspection window is guaranteed for expedited-eligible small residential rooftop PV systems 90% · ordinance
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes — the Building Division performs its own final solar inspection 95% · ordinance
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; the Building Division performs its own inspection (see Q52). Fire is not involved in residential PV inspection: the Fire Permits page lists no solar/PV/residential-battery item among its construction or operational fire permits 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For expedited-eligible small residential rooftop PV: a single consolidated final inspection, no staged sequence. For systems outside the expedited pathway (>10kW AC / non-conforming), standard multi-stage building-permit inspections would apply, but no city document itemizes a solar-specific staged sequence for that case 80% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No — for expedited-eligible systems, no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required; only the single final/consolidated inspection 80% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes — the Building Division is required by ordinance to maintain a standard checklist, and SolarAPP+ submittals must include 'the inspection checklist' as part of the OpenGov upload 80% · department page / ordinance
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final — the city's own language refers to a permit being 'Finaled'; this is not a Certificate of Occupancy (solar is not new construction) and no 'green tag' terminology appears on any city page 75% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (or homeowner applicant) submits the interconnection/NEM application and supporting documents to PG&E, but PG&E will not issue Permission to Operate until it also has 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' — i.e., the City's Building Division final sign-off feeds into, but does not itself trigger, PG&E's PTO notice 70% · utility DG tariff
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $195/hour, 1-hour minimum 90% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For the pre-permit application stage, Ch 12.320.060.3 requires a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, sent to the applicant for resubmission. The city's post-inspection field-correction process is not separately documented on any page found; the existence of a per-hour Reinspection Fee implies a re-inspection is booked the same way as an original inspection once corrections are made 55% · ordinance / fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of San Rafael’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (OpenGov) — as of 17 Feb 2026 all inspections must be scheduled through OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com); a phone Inspection Line, (415) 485-3365, remains listed for the Fire Prevention Bureau's own scheduling
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page and Fire Prevention & Inspections page both confirm the OpenGov cutover date
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/scheduling-inspections/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: within 1 business day of request (Ch 12.320.060.11). General OpenGov inspection requests are entered into the queue at 6:00am each inspection day; a request made after 6:00am is scheduled for the following day
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.11 and Construction Inspections Information page
department page / ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/construction-inspections-information/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes for solar — a 4-hour inspection window is guaranteed for expedited-eligible small residential rooftop PV systems
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.11: 'the applicant shall be provided with a four-hour inspection window'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes — the Building Division performs its own final solar inspection
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.10: 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; the Building Division performs its own inspection (see Q52). Fire is not involved in residential PV inspection: the Fire Permits page lists no solar/PV/residential-battery item among its construction or operational fire permits
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.10 and Fire Permits page (absence of any PV line)
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/fire-permits/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For expedited-eligible small residential rooftop PV: a single consolidated final inspection, no staged sequence. For systems outside the expedited pathway (>10kW AC / non-conforming), standard multi-stage building-permit inspections would apply, but no city document itemizes a solar-specific staged sequence for that case
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.10-11
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No — for expedited-eligible systems, no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required; only the single final/consolidated inspection
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.10: 'Only one inspection shall be required'
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh 12.320 ordinance text, Scheduling Inspections page, and Construction Inspections Information page — none states explicitly that the field inspector checks labels/equipment listings (this is standard practice under the adopted CEC/CBC but is not spelled out on any city page)
https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/construction-inspections-information/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes — the Building Division is required by ordinance to maintain a standard checklist, and SolarAPP+ submittals must include 'the inspection checklist' as part of the OpenGov upload
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.050.4 ('adopt and maintain standard plans and checklists') and SolarAPP+ Permits page (3-step process, step 2)
department page / ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/solarapp-permits/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedConstruction Inspections Information page and Scheduling Inspections page — neither lists specific documents/materials required to be on-site at the time of inspection
https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/construction-inspections-information/
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$195/hour, 1-hour minimum
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Services fee schedule, 'Reinspection Fee' line, effective 1 Jul 2026
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/2026/06/6.-building-safety-79987031.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For the pre-permit application stage, Ch 12.320.060.3 requires a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies, sent to the applicant for resubmission. The city's post-inspection field-correction process is not separately documented on any page found; the existence of a per-hour Reinspection Fee implies a re-inspection is booked the same way as an original inspection once corrections are made
Why the confidence is not higherMuni Code 12.320.060.3 and Building & Safety fee schedule (Reinspection Fee)
ordinance / fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final — the city's own language refers to a permit being 'Finaled'; this is not a Certificate of Occupancy (solar is not new construction) and no 'green tag' terminology appears on any city page
Why the confidence is not higherRenewable Energy / Building Permits pages: 'If your permit is not Finaled by the expiration date you will need to pay a renewal fee'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofsanrafael.org/renewable-energy/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (or homeowner applicant) submits the interconnection/NEM application and supporting documents to PG&E, but PG&E will not issue Permission to Operate until it also has 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' — i.e., the City's Building Division final sign-off feeds into, but does not itself trigger, PG&E's PTO notice
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21 tariff, Section D ¶13.b
utility DG tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of San Rafael against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of San Rafael is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined single permit for residential PV; Fire Dept plays no role in residential solar plan review or inspection)
- Overridden by
- California Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) and Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.55 constrain the City's review/fee authority for small residential rooftop solar; PG&E's Electric Rule 21 tariff gates Permission-to-Operate on the City's own final electrical-inspection clearance, so utility PTO sits downstream of, not competing with, City sign-off
- Why not higher
- City runs its own Building Division (permits/inspects both building and electrical for residential PV under Muni Code Ch 12.320) and its own Fire Department (confirmed by name on the City's 'About the Fire Department' and Fire Prevention pages), but the Fire Department's own Fire Permits/fee-schedule pages list no residential PV or ESS line at all — Ch 12.320.060.10 explicitly assigns the sole required inspection to 'the Building Division.' Marin Clean Energy (MCE) is the Community Choice Aggregator for electricity commodity only (confirmed on MCE's own service-area page, member since 2010); PG&E remains the distribution utility that owns the wires and issues Permission to Operate. Marin County government has no jurisdictional role inside San Rafael city limits for this process.
https://storage.googleapis.com/proudcity/sanrafaelca/uploads/2023/01/Title-12-January-2023.pdf
- Permit required
- Yes, a building permit is required for residential rooftop PV95%
- Permit cost
- Approx. $639 total for a residential PV system ≤15kW AC: $461 Building plan-check fee (Photovoltaic Residential System ≤15kW,90%
- Plan review
- For small residential rooftop PV eligible for expedited review: same-day or next-day issuance for over-the-counter applications,85%
- Portal
- OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com), replacing eTRAKiT as the sole portal for new applications from 23 Feb 2026 and for inspection scheduling from 17 Feb 202695%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (as adopted in the 2025 California Electrical Code, effective 1 Jan 2026)75%
- Own placard wording
- No — no city-specific placard wording found55%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (OpenGov) — as of 17 Feb 2026 all inspections must be scheduled through OpenGov (cityofsanrafaelca.portal.opengov.com);90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 55%
No — no city-specific placard wording found
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 65%
The utility-required visible-disconnect marking must be located near the Point of Interconnection, positioned so it can be reached by PG&E personnel 24 hours a day for emergency, construction, operation, maintenance, inspection, or testing purposes
What the utility wants on top 75%
Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 requires a visible, manually-operated isolating disconnect device near the Point of Interconnection bearing 'markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' independent of any AHJ requirement
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.