City of Sand City
Monterey County
City of Sand City is a city authority in the State of California, serving 325 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for 'over-the-counter' applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronically submitted applications (small residential rooftop solar, per Ch.15.14). Q18 Where you file — iWorq Citizen Portal (sandcity2_buildingpermit.portal.iworq.net), linked from the City's Building Department page Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- $235.00 flat (minimum) for a Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same day for 'over-the-counter' applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronically submitted applications (small residential rooftop solar, per Ch.15.14).92% source
- Key document
- ordinance cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 92% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No 78% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 70% · ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes — the Building Official may require a discretionary use permit if the Official finds, on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety,' and any resulting denial or use-permit decision is appealable to the City Council. 90% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Yes, for eligibility under the streamlined/expedited process: no larger than 10 kW AC nameplate (PV) or 30 kW thermal (CSP), on a single- or duplex-family dwelling, and not exceeding the City's maximum legal building height. Systems above this size are not barred outright but fall outside Ch.15.14's ministerial/expedited path. 90% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? For the standard building-permit path (per the Building FAQ): a completed application, property/contractor information, project description, and (for non-solar-exempt work) six wet-signed plan sets. For small residential rooftop solar specifically, SCMC §15.14.050(B)-(C) mandates electronic submission of 'the required permit application and documents' with an accepted e-signature via the iWorq portal; the City has not published a distinct itemized solar submittal checklist as a separate document (see q57). 70% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only for small residential rooftop solar — §15.14.050(B): 'Electronic submission of the required permit application and documents shall be made available to all small residential rooftop solar energy system permit applicants,' with e-signature accepted in lieu of a wet signature (§15.14.050(C)). No copy count applies. (General, non-solar building permits instead require six wet-signed 11x17 plan sets per the Building FAQ.) 78% · ordinance
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 65% · ordinance
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Likely yes, by inference only — no Sand City document states this directly. 50% · ordinance
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? iWorq Citizen Portal (sandcity2_buildingpermit.portal.iworq.net), linked from the City's Building Department page 90% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 75% · portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $235.00 flat (minimum) for a Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat (minimum, with hourly true-up) 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 80% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for 'over-the-counter' applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronically submitted applications (small residential rooftop solar, per Ch.15.14). General (non-solar) plan review instead runs 31–45 working days for a first review per the Building FAQ. 92% · ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Ambiguous between two City sources: the codified CBC amendment (SCMC §15.06.040, amending CBC §105.5) says a permit 'shall expire...if the project...has not achieved an approval for one of the required inspections...within one year' of issuance (with extension options); the City's own Building FAQ instead states 'Building permits are effective for 180 consecutive days from the time of issuance to the first Building Department inspection.' These conflict on the same fact (1 year vs. 180 days) and the FAQ is undated. 60% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric Company (PG&E) — wires/interconnection utility. Central Coast Community Energy (3CE) is the default Community Choice Aggregator for generation only in this part of Monterey County (PG&E continues to bill and own the distribution wires). 70% · utility website
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel — PG&E interconnection approval runs alongside the City's permitting/inspection process under PG&E's Rule 21 tariff rather than gating permit issuance itself; no Sand City document states a sequencing rule. 55% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Sand City’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC Ch. 15.14 (Streamlined Permitting for Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems) directly assigns permitting, review and the single required inspection to Sand City's own Building Department; the City's Building Department page and FAQ confirm the same, over-the-counter permit process.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical are combined into one 'Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit' fee line and one consolidated Ch.15.14 review/inspection performed by the Building Department. Note: the Building Official/plan-review function is itself contracted to 4LEAF Inc. (jkuehl@4leaf.com per the City's own Building Department page), and Fire is separately delegated to the Monterey Fire Department (see jurisdiction block) though the solar chapter itself requires only one Building-Department inspection with no separate Fire component.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sandcity.org/city-hall/building-department
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.030(A): 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City' and the Building Department fee schedule lists a dedicated 'Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit' line, confirming a permit is required.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule (effective 15 Nov 2025) lists a single flat 'Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit — $235.00' line under Building Department Over-the-Counter Permits, distinct from the separate 'Electrical Permit (no plan review required) — $208.50' line used for ordinary electrical work; there is no separate electrical-permit fee charged on top of the PV line, consistent with Ch.15.14's single consolidated review.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's live iWorq 'Building Permit Application' online form (used for all permits including PV) requires the applicant to select 'Applicant Is: Authorized Agent / Licensed Contractor / Owner-Building', and requires a Contractor License Number/Class only when a contractor is used — so either a licensed contractor or the homeowner as owner-builder may pull the permit.
portal checked 2026-08-31 https://portal.iworq.net/SANDCITY/new-permit/600/10844
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Sand-City-specific contractor registration step was found anywhere in the Building Department page, FAQ, or the online application; the iWorq form only validates the contractor's state CSLB license number/class ('Contractors with expired licenses are not eligible to submit this form'), which is a state-license check, not a separate City registry.
portal checked 2026-08-31 https://portal.iworq.net/SANDCITY/new-permit/600/10844
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe online Building Permit Application form itself offers 'Owner-Building' as an Applicant-Is option, and the City separately publishes an 'Owner-Builder Acknowledgement and Verification of Information' form on its Building Forms page, confirming a homeowner self-install/self-permit path exists.
portal checked 2026-08-31 https://portal.iworq.net/SANDCITY/new-permit/600/10844
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
For the standard building-permit path (per the Building FAQ): a completed application, property/contractor information, project description, and (for non-solar-exempt work) six wet-signed plan sets. For small residential rooftop solar specifically, SCMC §15.14.050(B)-(C) mandates electronic submission of 'the required permit application and documents' with an accepted e-signature via the iWorq portal; the City has not published a distinct itemized solar submittal checklist as a separate document (see q57).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the general Building FAQ submittal description with Ch.15.14's electronic-submission mandate; no solar-specific itemized checklist document was found on the City's Building Forms page to confirm the exact document list for PV specifically.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/building-department-faqs/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only for small residential rooftop solar — §15.14.050(B): 'Electronic submission of the required permit application and documents shall be made available to all small residential rooftop solar energy system permit applicants,' with e-signature accepted in lieu of a wet signature (§15.14.050(C)). No copy count applies. (General, non-solar building permits instead require six wet-signed 11x17 plan sets per the Building FAQ.)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text for the solar-specific electronic path; the wet-signed-copies figure is from the City's general (non-solar) FAQ, included for contrast.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 in full (all six sections) and the Building Department FAQ/forms pages for a solar-specific site-plan content requirement; the FAQ's site-plan description ('foundation details, framing, sections, and floor plans') is written for general construction permits, not confirmed as applied to a PV retrofit.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.050(E) requires the City's solar permitting process to 'substantially conform to recommendations for expedited permitting, including the checklist and standards plan contained in the most current version of the California Solar Permitting Guidebook' — the Guidebook's standard plan set requires a one-line diagram; no Sand-City-specific document was found stating this directly, so this is inferred from the conformance mandate rather than a city document naming the diagram outright.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Likely yes, by inference only — no Sand City document states this directly.
Why the confidence is not higherSame Guidebook-conformance hook as q11 (§15.14.050(E)); the Guidebook's standard checklist includes conductor/string sizing, but Sand City has not published its own checklist confirming this, so confidence is low.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.06 (all CBC local amendments) and Ch.15.14 (solar chapter) in full; neither states a structural PE-stamp threshold for residential PV.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 (solar chapter, full text) and confirmed no dedicated Electrical Code local-amendment chapter exists in Title 15; no electrical PE-stamp threshold found anywhere in Sand City's own code.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$235.00 flat (minimum) for a Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit
Why the confidence is not higherFY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule (effective 15 Nov 2025), Building Department / Over-the-Counter Permits section, lists 'Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit ... $235.00' as a distinct line.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat (minimum, with hourly true-up)
Why the confidence is not higherThe $235 PV line sits under 'OVER THE COUNTER PERMITS' as a flat figure; footnote 2 clarifies it is a minimum 'based on 2-hours at $59.50/Hour (Inspector), 1-Hour at $82.00/Hour (Plan Review), 1-hour $35.00/Hour (Building Tech). Additional hours may be charged' — so it is a flat minimum fee, not valuation- or per-kW-based, with extra hourly billing only if the project exceeds the built-in time allowance.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherFootnote 2 on the Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit fee shows the $235 minimum already bundles '1-Hour at $82.00/Hour (Plan Review)' — plan review is included in the single PV fee rather than billed as a separate line, unlike the plumbing/electrical/mechanical OTC permits (footnote 1) which are billed as 'no plan review required' separately.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same day for 'over-the-counter' applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronically submitted applications (small residential rooftop solar, per Ch.15.14). General (non-solar) plan review instead runs 31–45 working days for a first review per the Building FAQ.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(A): 'The Building Department shall issue a building permit or other applicable nondiscretionary permit the same day for "over-the-counter" applications or within one to three business days for electronically submitted applications upon receipt of a complete application.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Ambiguous between two City sources: the codified CBC amendment (SCMC §15.06.040, amending CBC §105.5) says a permit 'shall expire...if the project...has not achieved an approval for one of the required inspections...within one year' of issuance (with extension options); the City's own Building FAQ instead states 'Building permits are effective for 180 consecutive days from the time of issuance to the first Building Department inspection.' These conflict on the same fact (1 year vs. 180 days) and the FAQ is undated.
Why the confidence is not higherTwo City-published sources disagree: the current codified ordinance (Ord. 25-07, 12/16/2025) sets a 1-year window to first inspection, while the Building FAQ page (undated) states 180 days. Reporting both rather than picking one.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879618
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
iWorq Citizen Portal (sandcity2_buildingpermit.portal.iworq.net), linked from the City's Building Department page
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page links 'Building Permit Application' to the iWorq portal, and the portal's own landing page offers 'Click Here to Apply' plus a permit/parcel search and map.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity2_buildingpermit.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/sandcity2_buildingpermit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe iWorq new-permit form (linked from the portal home) collects applicant/contractor/owner/project data, project description, all required disclosure questions, an e-signature field, and a file-upload ('Choose Files') step entirely online; no in-person or mail-only step is described. A separate fee-payment step was not observed within this particular form, so full online completion including payment could not be confirmed.
portal checked 2026-08-31 https://portal.iworq.net/SANDCITY/new-permit/600/10844
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric Company (PG&E) — wires/interconnection utility. Central Coast Community Energy (3CE) is the default Community Choice Aggregator for generation only in this part of Monterey County (PG&E continues to bill and own the distribution wires).
Why the confidence is not higherNo Sand-City-specific utility document was found (the City's own site search returns zero hits for 'PG&E'); this is inferred from the unanimous, independently-confirmed pattern across every neighbouring Monterey Peninsula jurisdiction in this same survey (Monterey, Seaside, Pacific Grove, Del Rey Oaks, Marina, Monterey County — all PG&E), consistent with PG&E being the sole electric IOU on the entire Monterey Peninsula (no municipal utility exists in Monterey County), and with 3CE's own site describing itself as the CCA serving Monterey County with PG&E retaining billing.
utility website checked 2026-08-31 https://www.3cenergy.org/about-us/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel — PG&E interconnection approval runs alongside the City's permitting/inspection process under PG&E's Rule 21 tariff rather than gating permit issuance itself; no Sand City document states a sequencing rule.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from PG&E's statewide Rule 21 tariff (which governs interconnection process timing for all PG&E customers, including this jurisdiction) rather than a Sand-City-specific statement; the same 'Parallel' finding was independently reached for every neighbouring Monterey Peninsula jurisdiction in this survey.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(F): 'The City shall not condition approval of an application upon the approval of an "Association," as defined in Section 4080 of the California Civil Code' — the City itself cannot require HOA/architectural sign-off as a precondition of the solar permit (consistent with Civil Code §714, the Solar Rights Act).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSand City's codified Zoning Title (Title 18, all 60 chapters read from the table of contents) contains no historic-district chapter at all, and Ch.15.14 (the solar ordinance) contains no historic-review carve-out or cross-reference; control-checked (Title 18 TOC returns 30 hits for 'coastal' district names and 0 for a fabricated term, confirming the chapter-title extraction works, while genuinely returning 0 for 'historic').
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42880434
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement (a concept native to Texas windstorm-inspection regimes) exists anywhere in Sand City's adopted CBC/CRC amendments or its solar chapter; California does not use a TDI-style windstorm certification scheme.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879618
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes — the Building Official may require a discretionary use permit if the Official finds, on substantial evidence, that the system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety,' and any resulting denial or use-permit decision is appealable to the City Council.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(A) and (C): both the initial use-permit trigger and the denial-appeal route to City Council are stated directly in the solar chapter.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Yes, for eligibility under the streamlined/expedited process: no larger than 10 kW AC nameplate (PV) or 30 kW thermal (CSP), on a single- or duplex-family dwelling, and not exceeding the City's maximum legal building height. Systems above this size are not barred outright but fall outside Ch.15.14's ministerial/expedited path.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.020, definition of 'Small residential rooftop solar energy system,' items 1-4.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, incorporated via the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), applicable to building-permit applications made on or after 1 January 2026 per SCMC §15.04.015. 85% · ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), applicable to applications made on/after 1 January 2026. 92% · ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? Internally inconsistent in the current code: SCMC §15.04.010(J) (general Uniform Codes adoption chapter) lists 'The 2025 California Fire Code, Title 24, Part 9' — but the Fire Code chapter's own adoption section, §15.08.010, still reads 'that certain code known as the 2022 California Fire Code... being particularly the 2022 edition thereof', even though that same section carries an Ord. 25-07 (12/16/2025) citation. The two sections of the same current code disagree on the operative Fire Code edition. 55% · ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 92% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base) generally, plus solar-specific standards named in SCMC §15.14.040(C): the California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, accredited testing laboratories such as UL, and CPUC safety/reliability rules where applicable. 85% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Sand City on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown applies via NEC §690.12 as incorporated in the 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base); no local amendment to the Electrical Code was found (Title 15 has no dedicated Electrical Code local-amendments chapter, unlike CBC/CFC/CRC), so the state-adopted rapid-shutdown requirement appears to apply unmodified. 65% · ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None specified by the City beyond whatever the adopted 2025 CEC (2023 NEC) itself requires at the service equipment (e.g., NEC §690/705 disconnect and PV-system labeling); no City-published placard/signage requirement was found. 60% · ordinance
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · ordinance
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 78% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No Sand-City-specific rule found; batteries/ESS would be judged against the adopted 2025 (or, per the §15.08.010 text conflict, 2022) California Fire Code's own energy-storage-system provisions, since no local amendment in Ch.15.08 touches ESS/battery sections at all. 55% · ordinance
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No 68% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes by default (treated as an accessory structure under the standard Building Code), but not stated directly — Ch.15.14's streamlined process is scoped explicitly to ROOFTOP systems only ('Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System'), so a ground-mount system appears to fall outside the expedited ordinance and back into ordinary CBC accessory-structure review. 50% · ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Sand City’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, incorporated via the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), applicable to building-permit applications made on or after 1 January 2026 per SCMC §15.04.015.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.04.010(D) adopts 'The 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24, Part 3' (Ord. 25-07, adopted 12/16/2025); the 2025 California Code cycle is based on the 2023 NEC per the standard triennial Title 24 adoption pattern. No chapter of local CEC amendments exists in Title 15 (only CBC, CFC, and CRC each got dedicated local-amendment chapters), so the 2025 CEC/2023 NEC applies without local modification as far as could be found.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879602
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), applicable to applications made on/after 1 January 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.06.010 (Ord. 25-07, 12/16/2025): 'that certain code known as the 2025 California Building Code...are adopted and incorporated.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879618
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Internally inconsistent in the current code: SCMC §15.04.010(J) (general Uniform Codes adoption chapter) lists 'The 2025 California Fire Code, Title 24, Part 9' — but the Fire Code chapter's own adoption section, §15.08.010, still reads 'that certain code known as the 2022 California Fire Code... being particularly the 2022 edition thereof', even though that same section carries an Ord. 25-07 (12/16/2025) citation. The two sections of the same current code disagree on the operative Fire Code edition.
Why the confidence is not higherRead both adoption sections directly (§15.04.010 and §15.08.010) as currently codified on eCode360; both carry the same 12/16/2025 ordinance citation yet state different years, which looks like a drafting/codification inconsistency rather than an intentional dual-track scheme. Flagging rather than picking one.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879624
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC Ch.15.06 amends CBC §§105.3.2, 105.5, and 1505.1.1; Ch.15.08 amends or adds roughly 15 California Fire Code sections (address ID, sprinkler thresholds, spark arrestors, alarm systems, LPG storage, etc.); Ch.15.10 amends CRC §R313.2. No local amendment chapter exists for the Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Energy, or Green Building codes.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879618
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base) generally, plus solar-specific standards named in SCMC §15.14.040(C): the California Electrical Code, IEEE standards, accredited testing laboratories such as UL, and CPUC safety/reliability rules where applicable.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.040(C) states these standards directly for electricity-producing solar systems.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead the full text of every SCMC Ch.15.06 (CBC) and Ch.15.14 (solar) section, and confirmed no Electrical Code local-amendment chapter exists in Title 15; no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule was found.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 (solar chapter) and Ch.15.06 (CBC amendments) in full; neither specifies a mounting system or attachment-spacing requirement for rooftop PV.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead all ~19 sections of SCMC Ch.15.08 (California Fire Code local amendments) in full; none address PV ridge setbacks or fire-access pathways (they cover address ID, sprinkler thresholds, spark arrestors, alarms, and LPG/flammable-liquid storage instead). The underlying CFC Section 1204 (Solar PV Access/Pathways) text itself was not independently pulled to confirm which edition's table applies, given the §15.04.010/§15.08.010 fire-code-edition conflict noted at q31.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown applies via NEC §690.12 as incorporated in the 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base); no local amendment to the Electrical Code was found (Title 15 has no dedicated Electrical Code local-amendments chapter, unlike CBC/CFC/CRC), so the state-adopted rapid-shutdown requirement appears to apply unmodified.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the 2025 CEC adoption (§15.04.010(D)) and the confirmed absence of any Electrical Code local-amendment chapter in Title 15; no Sand City document states the rapid-shutdown rule in so many words.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879602
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None specified by the City beyond whatever the adopted 2025 CEC (2023 NEC) itself requires at the service equipment (e.g., NEC §690/705 disconnect and PV-system labeling); no City-published placard/signage requirement was found.
Why the confidence is not higherFull text of SCMC Ch.15.14 (solar ordinance), the Building Forms page, and the fee schedule contain no placard or signage content at all; this is a proven absence from the City's own solar-specific materials, not an unresolved search.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC Ch.15.14 was read in full (all six sections, §§15.14.010-.060) and contains no placard-wording text; the Building Department page, Building FAQ, Building Forms page, and Master Fee Schedule likewise contain no placard-wording content. This is a proven absence across every first-party Sand City source checked, not an unsearched gap.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full read of SCMC Ch.15.14, the Building Forms page, and the fee schedule as q38/q39 found no letter-height, colour, or material specification for any placard.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 in full and the Building Forms/Department pages; no site-plan/facility-map placard (NEC 705.10-style rapid-shutdown map) requirement of any kind was found.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted to reach PG&E's own interconnection/DG/Greenbook pages directly (pge.com returns a soft-404 to every path tried, e.g. /en/clean-energy/solar/interconnections.html and the Greenbook PDF path); no PG&E utility-side placard specification could be retrieved this run.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 and the Building Forms/fee-schedule pages in full; no label-placement-location text was found in any Sand City document.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.040(C): solar electricity systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' — effectively a listing/testing-lab requirement, though not phrased as a single 'approved equipment list.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No Sand-City-specific rule found; batteries/ESS would be judged against the adopted 2025 (or, per the §15.08.010 text conflict, 2022) California Fire Code's own energy-storage-system provisions, since no local amendment in Ch.15.08 touches ESS/battery sections at all.
Why the confidence is not higherFull text of all ~19 SCMC §15.08.0xx Fire Code local amendments was read; none mention batteries, ESS, or energy storage (control-checked: 'fire' appears 24 times in the chapter's HTML, a fabricated term 0 times, and 'batter/storage/ESS' also 0 times), so the City appears to rely entirely on the unmodified state Fire Code for battery/ESS rules.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879624
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule's Building Department section (Over-the-Counter Permits through Miscellaneous Fees) contains no battery, ESS, or energy-storage fee line of any kind (checked directly, control term 'building' present dozens of times, fabricated term absent) — only the PV, EV-charging, and generic valuation-based lines exist, implying no separate ESS permit/fee track.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes by default (treated as an accessory structure under the standard Building Code), but not stated directly — Ch.15.14's streamlined process is scoped explicitly to ROOFTOP systems only ('Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System'), so a ground-mount system appears to fall outside the expedited ordinance and back into ordinary CBC accessory-structure review.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from Ch.15.14's rooftop-only title and definitions (§15.14.020); no Sand City document directly states how a ground-mounted array is classified.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted PG&E's Greenbook / interconnection pages directly (soft-404s, see q42); no Sand City ordinance or form addresses AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter either.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 72% · department page
- How much notice is required? For small residential rooftop solar specifically: within 2 business days of request (SCMC §15.14.060(I)). The City's general (non-solar) FAQ instead asks for 24 hours' advance notice for ordinary building inspections. 85% · ordinance
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? A 2-hour-or-less inspection window is guaranteed for small residential rooftop solar systems. 85% · ordinance
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · ordinance
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for the solar-specific inspection itself — SCMC §15.14.060(H) names only the Building Department for the sole required PV inspection. (Fire code enforcement generally is delegated to the Monterey Fire Department, and the Building Official function is contracted to 4LEAF Inc., but neither performs a separate inspection under the solar chapter.) 75% · ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single consolidated Building Department inspection covers the whole small residential rooftop solar installation; if it fails, one subsequent (unrestricted-timing) re-inspection is authorized. 85% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 70% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (final building-inspection sign-off/permit closure) — inferred; no Sand City document uses the word 'Final,' 'CO,' 'green tag,' or 'letter' specifically for solar. 45% · ordinance
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A written correction notice is provided to the applicant detailing all deficiencies and the additional information/documentation needed for the application to become complete and eligible for expedited issuance; the applicant then re-submits. 85% · ordinance
14 questions answered against City of Sand City’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Building Department FAQ states inspections are booked by calling '(831) 646-3890 ... with at least 24 hours advance notice' — that number is the City of Monterey's own Building Department line (confirmed via a 2024 Wayback capture of monterey.org showing 'building 831.646.3890'), reflecting a cross-jurisdiction inspection-scheduling arrangement alongside the fire delegation to Monterey.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/building-department-faqs/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
For small residential rooftop solar specifically: within 2 business days of request (SCMC §15.14.060(I)). The City's general (non-solar) FAQ instead asks for 24 hours' advance notice for ordinary building inspections.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(I): 'An inspection shall be scheduled to occur within two business days of a request.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
A 2-hour-or-less inspection window is guaranteed for small residential rooftop solar systems.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(I): '...said scheduling shall provide a two hour or less inspection window.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(H): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department' — self-performed by the City's own Building Department (functionally staffed via its 4LEAF Inc. contract, per the Building Department page), with no Fire Department component named in the solar chapter itself.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for the solar-specific inspection itself — SCMC §15.14.060(H) names only the Building Department for the sole required PV inspection. (Fire code enforcement generally is delegated to the Monterey Fire Department, and the Building Official function is contracted to 4LEAF Inc., but neither performs a separate inspection under the solar chapter.)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect reading of §15.14.060(H), cross-referenced against the jurisdiction-level delegation findings for Fire (Monterey Fire Dept.) and Building Official staffing (4LEAF Inc.).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single consolidated Building Department inspection covers the whole small residential rooftop solar installation; if it fails, one subsequent (unrestricted-timing) re-inspection is authorized.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(H) and (J): 'Only one inspection shall be required...' and 'If a small residential rooftop solar system fails inspection, a subsequent inspection is authorized, and need not conform to the requirements of this chapter.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(H) specifies only one inspection is required for eligible small residential rooftop solar systems; no rough-in or mid-roof inspection is described anywhere in Ch.15.14.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 §15.14.060 (Permit Review and Inspection, full text) and the Building FAQ; neither states what the single required inspection specifically checks (labels/listings vs. general safety), only that review is 'limited to...whether the application meets local, state, and federal health and safety requirements' (§15.14.060(B)).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.050(D) requires the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements' for expedited solar review, but no such checklist document was found published on the City's Building Department page or its Building Forms page (which lists only a generic Building Permit Application, an Owner-Builder Acknowledgement form, and an Agent Authorization form) as of this run.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://sandcity.org/docs/building-forms/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRead SCMC Ch.15.14 and the Building Department/FAQ pages in full; no list of documents required to be on-site at inspection was found.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the full FY2025-26 Master Fee Schedule Building Department section; it has no explicit re-inspection fee line (only Engineering & Public Works has a $108 'Reinspection fee (per inspection)' line, which sits under site-improvement inspections, not building/solar permits, so it is not clearly applicable).
https://sandcity.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/SC-25-53-Fee-Schedule-FY-25-26.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A written correction notice is provided to the applicant detailing all deficiencies and the additional information/documentation needed for the application to become complete and eligible for expedited issuance; the applicant then re-submits.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC §15.14.060(G).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879693
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (final building-inspection sign-off/permit closure) — inferred; no Sand City document uses the word 'Final,' 'CO,' 'green tag,' or 'letter' specifically for solar.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general CBC administrative-permit-closure framework (SCMC §15.06.040 amending CBC §105.5, referencing 'required inspections' under CBC §110.3) rather than any Sand City document naming the specific document issued on a passed PV inspection.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://ecode360.com/42879618
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building Department page, FAQ, solar ordinance, fee schedule, and iWorq portal; none state who — AHJ, installer, or utility — formally notifies PG&E for Permission to Operate. PG&E's own Rule 21/interconnection pages were reachable in part (the tariff PDF) but the specific PTO-notification-responsibility text was not located within the scope of this run.
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Sand City against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Sand City is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical — single consolidated permit and inspection for small residential rooftop solar (SCMC Ch. 15.14); the Building Official / plan-review function is itself contracted to 4LEAF Inc.
- Delegated to
- Fire code adoption/enforcement is delegated wholly to the Monterey Fire Department, a regional department (not a separate legal district) that also serves Monterey, Pacific Grove, Carmel-by-the-Sea, the Naval Postgraduate School, La Mesa Village and Monterey Regional Airport; SCMC §15.08.020 itself defines 'Fire Department' as 'the Fire Department contracted with the City of Sand City for Fire Protection Services.' Separately, the Building Official role is contracted to 4LEAF Inc. (named contact on the City's own Building Department page), and general building-inspection scheduling is routed through the City of Monterey's own Building Department phone line (831-646-3890) per Sand City's Building FAQ — though SCMC §15.14.060(H) names only Sand City's own 'Building Department' for the single required solar inspection, with no Fire Department role in that specific inspection.
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.55 (state mandate for ministerial, expedited residential rooftop solar permitting), codified locally as SCMC Ch. 15.14; Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act) cited directly at §15.14.060(F).
- Why not higher
- SCMC Ch. 15.14 (adopted by Ord. 15-04, still in force) directly names Sand City's own Building Department as the permitting and inspecting authority for small residential rooftop solar, confirmed by the City's live Building Department page and Building FAQ. The brief's hint about a peninsula-neighbour fire merger checked out: Sand City's own Fire Department page states outright it 'does not operate its own fire department' and that fire service is provided by the Monterey Fire Department. A second, less obvious delegation was found on the City's own Building FAQ page: building-inspection scheduling for Sand City permits is done by calling the City of Monterey's Building Department line, and the Building Official itself is a 4LEAF Inc. contract position — a delegation shape not visible anywhere in the codified ordinance text.
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- $235.00 flat (minimum) for a Residential Rooftop Photovoltaic Permit92%
- Plan review
- Same day for 'over-the-counter' applications; 1 to 3 business days for electronically submitted applications (small residential rooftop solar, per Ch.15.14).92%
- Portal
- iWorq Citizen Portal (sandcity2_buildingpermit.portal.iworq.net), linked from the City's Building Department page90%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, incorporated via the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), applicable to building-permit applications made on or after 1 January 2026 per SCMC §15.04.015.85%
- Own placard wording
- No75%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone72%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 75%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.