City of Santa Monica
Los Angeles County
City of Santa Monica is a city authority in the State of California, serving 93,076 residents. 1,770 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Immediate/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible residential PV & ESS (permit issues on successful online submittal + fee payment); Q18 Where you file — Citizen Access (Accela) — the City's ePermit portal — used together with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential PV/ESS projects. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Immediate/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible residential PV & ESS (permit issues on successful online submittal + fee payment);78% source
- Key document
- authority's own page cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No separate HOA/ARB approval required for a standard by-right residential rooftop PV install; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and Gov. Code §65850.5 bar an HOA or the city's own Architectural Review Board from imposing conditions that significantly increase cost or decrease efficiency. Within the mapped Coastal Zone, a Coastal Development Permit issue may still apply — see q27. 55% · inference from state law + department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, for designated properties only 55% · department page + state law
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? A Coastal Development Permit (CDP) issue is live here: Santa Monica's Local Coastal Program Implementation Plan is still not fully certified (city's 2018 press release: 'Until full certification including the Implementation Plan, the Land Use Plan will serve as a basis for Coastal Commission's review of Santa Monica's Coastal Development Permits'; a June 2026 city press release still describes an MOU with the Coastal Commission 'to complete' the LCP). Within the mapped Coastal Zone this can mean CDP review sits with the Coastal Commission rather than the city; no Council/Specific-Use-Permit step was found for ordinary residential rooftop PV outside the Coastal Zone. 75% · authority's own press release
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No explicit kW/generation-size cap found; the automated SolarAPP+ path is limited to main-dwelling roof-mounted residential systems (excludes ballasted/ground-mount and new construction) and allows an associated panel/service upgrade up to a maximum of 400 amps. 65% · department page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed electrician 78% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 75% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 50% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Automated (SolarAPP+) path: SolarAPP+ approval ID number + SolarAPP+ approval document + project plans/details/specifications, uploaded in Citizen Access. Standard path: current CA contractor license, proof of Worker's Comp insurance, business license, proof of property ownership, plus a plan set, per the city's general building-permit submittal list. 70% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Citizen Access (Accela) — the City's ePermit portal — used together with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential PV/ESS projects. 85% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 82% · portal
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Immediate/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible residential PV & ESS (permit issues on successful online submittal + fee payment); turnaround for the standard, non-SolarAPP+ plan-review track is not published. 78% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · utility's own page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with energization/PTO gated on both 72% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Santa Monica’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Santa Monica's own Building & Safety Division issues residential building/electrical permits for rooftop solar via SolarAPP+/Citizen Access, and its own Fire Department (not LA County Fire) handles fire-side review, per the city's own permit and fire-code pages.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherResidential PV/ESS permits are issued as a single City 'Building' permit type (Solar Permit with SolarAPP+) covering both structural/building and electrical scope; nothing is delegated to LA County.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's automated and standard processes both describe solar installation as requiring a City of Santa Monica building permit before installation.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe SolarAPP+ pathway is a single 'Building' application type in Citizen Access covering PV and, if present, ESS/electrical scope; no separate electrical permit application is described for residential PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed electrician
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own guide requires a CA state-licensed contractor holding C-10 (electrical) and/or C-46 (solar) classification, or a B (General) license; the available Choice list has no combined option, so 'Licensed electrician' is the closest match but city text explicitly also accepts C-46/B.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's step-by-step guide lists a valid Santa Monica Business License as a required installer credential, verified as part of the permit process; this functions as authority-side registration before a permit is issued.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+'s expedited path explicitly excludes anyone but licensed SolarAPP+-registered contractors, but the city's general Building Permit Application Types page lists 'Owner-Builder' as a permitted applicant category for building permits generally (not solar-specific), implying a homeowner could self-permit through the standard (non-automated) plan-review track subject to CSLB owner-builder rules.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/building-permit-application-types
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Automated (SolarAPP+) path: SolarAPP+ approval ID number + SolarAPP+ approval document + project plans/details/specifications, uploaded in Citizen Access. Standard path: current CA contractor license, proof of Worker's Comp insurance, business license, proof of property ownership, plus a plan set, per the city's general building-permit submittal list.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the automated-solar page's itemized SolarAPP+ submittal steps with the general Building Permit Application Types submittal list; no single consolidated 'solar checklist' PDF was located.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAutomated-solar page and building-permit-application-types page describe *what* to submit but neither states a copy count or accepted file format beyond 'upload' to Citizen Access/SolarAPP+.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAutomated-solar page ('upload project plans, details, and specifications') and the general building-permit submittal list do not spell out required site-plan contents; no separate solar checklist PDF was found in the Building & Safety Information Bulletins index.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAutomated-solar page references uploading 'project plans, details, and specifications' without itemizing a one-line/three-line diagram; no solar-specific checklist PDF located.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame submittal language as q11; no city document itemizing string/conductor calculation requirements was found.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo structural PE-stamp threshold stated on the automated-solar page, step-by-step guide, or in the (unreadable) 2025 California Building Standards Code PDF on the city's own site.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo electrical PE-stamp threshold found in any city page reviewed.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the 'How to Pay Building Permit Fees' explainer and the Permit Services Center page; both describe *how* to pay but neither lists a dollar figure or links a fee schedule document; no master/consolidated fee schedule PDF was found via Wayback CDX search of santamonica.gov for fee-schedule/master-fee/consolidated-fee terms.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-pay-building-permit-fees
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q15 — automated-solar page states fees 'remain the same as regular solar permit fees' without describing the calculation method (flat/valuation/per-kW/etc.).
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo plan-check fee line item found separate from the general 'permit fees' language on the pay-fees and automated-solar pages.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-pay-building-permit-fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Immediate/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible residential PV & ESS (permit issues on successful online submittal + fee payment); turnaround for the standard, non-SolarAPP+ plan-review track is not published.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's automated-solar page states the permit 'is issued immediately upon successful completion of submittal' and payment; no published turnaround figure found for the manual/ProjectDox track.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo permit-expiration/validity duration found on the building-permit or automated-solar explainer pages.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-get-a-building-permit
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Citizen Access (Accela) — the City's ePermit portal — used together with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential PV/ESS projects.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the automated-solar page and the fee-payment page direct applicants to 'Citizen Access' for permit application, fee payment, and status; SolarAPP+ is the separate NREL front-end for code-compliance review.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFor SolarAPP+-eligible residential rooftop PV/ESS, the city's page describes submittal, SolarAPP+ approval, fee payment, and permit issuance all completed online through SolarAPP+ + Citizen Access.
portal checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherClean Power Alliance's own site states for its member communities including Santa Monica that 'SCE delivers the power, maintains the lines, and reads your meter' — CPA is a Community Choice Aggregator (generation only), not the interconnecting utility.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cleanpoweralliance.org/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with energization/PTO gated on both
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own step-by-step guide instructs applicants to 'turn on your system only after receiving City of Santa Monica permits and completing the Southern California Edison (SCE) interconnection process,' indicating the SCE interconnection application runs in parallel with the city permit but energization requires both to be complete.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No separate HOA/ARB approval required for a standard by-right residential rooftop PV install; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and Gov. Code §65850.5 bar an HOA or the city's own Architectural Review Board from imposing conditions that significantly increase cost or decrease efficiency. Within the mapped Coastal Zone, a Coastal Development Permit issue may still apply — see q27.
Why the confidence is not higherBased on the general CA Solar Rights Act framework (not a Santa Monica-specific solar exemption page) plus confirmation the city does operate an Architectural Review Board / Landmarks Commission for other project types; no SM-specific 'ARB exempts solar' page was located.
inference from state law + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, for designated properties only
Why the confidence is not higherSanta Monica maintains a Historic Districts / Designated Landmarks program with Landmarks Commission review of exterior alterations; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) permits 'reasonable' restriction of solar specifically for properties listed on a federal/state historic register, so review can still apply to those parcels even though it is barred for ordinary HOA-governed homes.
department page + state law checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/historic-districts
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedStep-by-step guide and automated-solar page make no mention of wind/windstorm certification; did not check the full municipal/building code text (blocked by Cloudflare/Imperva on every route tried — qcode.us, resolve.ecode360.com) for an explicit statement either way.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
A Coastal Development Permit (CDP) issue is live here: Santa Monica's Local Coastal Program Implementation Plan is still not fully certified (city's 2018 press release: 'Until full certification including the Implementation Plan, the Land Use Plan will serve as a basis for Coastal Commission's review of Santa Monica's Coastal Development Permits'; a June 2026 city press release still describes an MOU with the Coastal Commission 'to complete' the LCP). Within the mapped Coastal Zone this can mean CDP review sits with the Coastal Commission rather than the city; no Council/Specific-Use-Permit step was found for ordinary residential rooftop PV outside the Coastal Zone.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly sourced from the city's own 2018 press release on LCP status, corroborated by a 2026 press release title indicating the LCP is still not fully complete; did not confirm whether SM or the Coastal Commission has adopted a categorical exclusion for rooftop solar on existing single-family homes within the zone.
authority's own press release checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/press/2018/10/10/city-council-approves-local-coastal-program-land-use-plan
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No explicit kW/generation-size cap found; the automated SolarAPP+ path is limited to main-dwelling roof-mounted residential systems (excludes ballasted/ground-mount and new construction) and allows an associated panel/service upgrade up to a maximum of 400 amps.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own automated-solar FAQ states the 400-amp cap for an included panel upgrade but does not state a kW ceiling for the PV system itself.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 CA Building Standards Code cycle, effective statewide 1 Jan 2026) 62% · adopting regulation (unreadable — see why)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Standards Code (based on the 2024 IBC), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026 62% · adopting regulation (unreadable — see why)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (same statewide cycle) 50% · department page (edition not stated)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · authority's own press release
- What is the installation judged against? For existing-home PV retrofits: the adopted CA Electrical/Building Code (2025 cycle) as checked by SolarAPP+'s automated compliance review or standard plan review. For new construction: also judged against Santa Monica's local Zero Emission Building Code and Energy/EV Charger Reach Code. 65% · inference from two authority sources
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Santa Monica on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — required to the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code) 60% · inference from code edition in force
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Santa Monica on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — residential battery/ESS installations are explicitly covered by the same expedited process as PV 85% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit — bundled into the same SolarAPP+ residential building permit as the PV system 75% · authority's own page
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? The city's stated local rule for a panel/service upgrade bundled into a residential solar permit is a cap of 400 amps. 68% · department page
20 questions answered against City of Santa Monica’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 CA Building Standards Code cycle, effective statewide 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherSanta Monica's own Building & Safety Information Bulletins index (found via Wayback CDX) lists a file titled '2025 California Building Standards Code.pdf', confirming the city has posted about the 2025 cycle, but every attempt to open that PDF (4 tries, live and via Wayback id_) returned only an Imperva bot-challenge page, so the edition/date given here follows the statewide default rather than the city's own text.
adopting regulation (unreadable — see why) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/media/CDD/Building%20%26%20Safety/2025%20California%20Building%20Standards%20Code.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Standards Code (based on the 2024 IBC), effective statewide 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis and same retrieval caveat as q29 — filename found on the city's own Building & Safety page but the PDF itself could not be opened (Imperva challenge on every attempt).
adopting regulation (unreadable — see why) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/media/CDD/Building%20%26%20Safety/2025%20California%20Building%20Standards%20Code.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (same statewide cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Fire Code and Regulations page links out to 'California Fire Code' generically without stating an edition or date; the 2025-cycle edition is inferred from the same statewide adoption pattern as q29/q30, not confirmed in city text.
department page (edition not stated) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSanta Monica adopted a Zero Emission Building Code and an EV Charger Reach Code (effective 1 Jan 2023, amending the state Green Building Code/CALGreen) and has required solar PV on all new buildings under its 2020 Energy Reach Code — genuine local amendments, though they target new construction rather than existing-home retrofits.
authority's own press release checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/press/2022/09/28/santa-monica-adopts-zero-emission-building-code-and-ev-charger-reach-code
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
For existing-home PV retrofits: the adopted CA Electrical/Building Code (2025 cycle) as checked by SolarAPP+'s automated compliance review or standard plan review. For new construction: also judged against Santa Monica's local Zero Emission Building Code and Energy/EV Charger Reach Code.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesizes the automated-solar page (compliance via SolarAPP+/CEC) with the Zero Emission Building Code press release (new-construction local amendments); no single city document states this for retrofits explicitly.
inference from two authority sources checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
The city's stated local rule for a panel/service upgrade bundled into a residential solar permit is a cap of 400 amps.
Why the confidence is not higherExplicitly stated on the city's automated-solar FAQ; not confirmed whether this cap also applies outside the SolarAPP+ pathway.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city document found specifying a required mounting system or attachment spacing for residential PV; Information Bulletins index (Wayback CDX) contains no such bulletin.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo SM-specific ridge-setback/access-pathway bulletin located; per brief, the underlying CFC §605.11 dimension table is ICC-copyrighted and not independently retrievable, and no local amendment document was found either.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes — required to the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a function of the NEC edition in force; city text does not restate NEC 690.12 explicitly, so this is inferred from the code edition finding in q29, which itself carries reduced confidence because the underlying PDF was unreadable.
inference from code edition in force checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo fire-department or Building & Safety placard specification found; Fire Code and Regulations page only links out to the California Fire Code generically, and the Information Bulletins index has no placard bulletin.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no city-authored placard wording located.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no letter-height/color/material specification located.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond generic NEC §705.10 found in any city document reviewed.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Interconnection Handbook and Rule 21 are the expected source per the brief; both were unreachable during this run (SharePoint SSO wall live, and the Wayback fetch for a Rule 21 PDF timed out without returning content), so this could not be checked.
https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city or (reachable) utility document specifying label placement beyond generic NEC references was found.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAutomated-solar page and step-by-step guide reference contractor licensing but no equipment approved-list requirement beyond standard NEC/UL listing.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — residential battery/ESS installations are explicitly covered by the same expedited process as PV
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's automated-permit page is titled 'Express Residential Photovoltaic and Energy Storage System Permits on SolarAPP+' and repeatedly describes 'solar panel and energy storage system installations' as one bundled eligible project type.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit — bundled into the same SolarAPP+ residential building permit as the PV system
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as q45; the page describes one permit application covering 'solar panel and energy storage system installations' with no separate ESS permit step mentioned.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAutomated-solar page excludes ground-mounted systems from the expedited SolarAPP+ path (routing them to standard plan review) but does not state whether a ground mount is classified as an accessory structure for zoning/setback purposes; the Zoning Ordinance page itself returned only an Imperva bot-challenge on every fetch attempt.
https://www.santamonica.gov/departments/pcd/zoning/zoning-ordinance
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE DG interconnection manual (Rule 21 / Interconnection Handbook) — the expected source for AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter — was unreachable in this run (see q42).
https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No published AM/PM window selection; jobsite must simply be available 8:00 AM–5:00 PM Monday–Friday, with the specific inspector assigned and the property owner notified 'on the morning of' the scheduled date. 75% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; City of Santa Monica Building & Safety Division performs its own inspections 82% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Santa Monica on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated, published solar-specific inspection checklist was located 55% · department page (absence — see why)
- What must be on site at inspection? Page does not itemize documents required at the inspection itself, but lists pre-final clearances a project must clear first: Business License release, Water Resources clearance (310-458-8355), Fire Department approval (310-458-8669), and Public Works approval for runoff/landscaping work. 65% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (permit 'finaled' in Citizen Access); no separate Certificate of Occupancy is described for a like-for-like PV retrofit on an existing single-family home 55% · inference from department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/contractor — files the SCE interconnection application directly; the city does not notify the utility. 60% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Santa Monica’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherCity's inspection-scheduling page directs applicants to https://einspections.smgov.net to schedule by permit number and address; phone (310-458-2202) and limited in-person counter hours are also offered as alternatives.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection-scheduling page describes same-morning inspector assignment and notification but does not state a minimum advance-booking notice period in business days.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No published AM/PM window selection; jobsite must simply be available 8:00 AM–5:00 PM Monday–Friday, with the specific inspector assigned and the property owner notified 'on the morning of' the scheduled date.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's inspection-scheduling explainer page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Santa Monica Building & Safety performs its own final inspections (scheduled via the city's own einspections.smgov.net); no reference anywhere in city material to delegation to LA County or any other agency for standard rooftop PV.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; City of Santa Monica Building & Safety Division performs its own inspections
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with q52 finding; no delegation language found in any city source reviewed.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection-scheduling page describes how to book but does not enumerate the required inspection stages/sequence specific to a solar/PV/ESS installation.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement for PV in the inspection-scheduling page or the automated-solar page.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city page states explicitly that the final inspector checks labels/listings for solar; general 'construction proceeds according to approved plans and minimum code requirements' language on the inspection page does not itemize this.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated, published solar-specific inspection checklist was located
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the city's Building & Safety Information Bulletins index (Wayback CDX enumeration of /media/CDD/Building & Safety/Information Bulletins/) and the inspection-scheduling explainer; neither lists or links a solar/PV inspection checklist. A general checklist may exist behind the bot-protected live site that could not be retrieved.
department page (absence — see why) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Page does not itemize documents required at the inspection itself, but lists pre-final clearances a project must clear first: Business License release, Water Resources clearance (310-458-8355), Fire Department approval (310-458-8669), and Public Works approval for runoff/landscaping work.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's inspection-scheduling explainer page; it addresses pre-final sign-offs rather than an on-site document list.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection-scheduling page states a re-inspection fee applies if the site isn't ready but gives no dollar amount, and no fee schedule document could be located (see q15).
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo published corrections/re-inspection-clearing process document was found beyond the general re-inspection-fee sentence on the inspection-scheduling page.
https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-schedule-a-building-permit-inspection
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (permit 'finaled' in Citizen Access); no separate Certificate of Occupancy is described for a like-for-like PV retrofit on an existing single-family home
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general permit-finaling language used across the city's process-explainer pages; no page states this explicitly for solar.
inference from department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/how-to-submit-for-automated-solar-panel-permits
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/contractor — files the SCE interconnection application directly; the city does not notify the utility.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's step-by-step guide tells the homeowner/contractor to 'complete the Southern California Edison (SCE) interconnection process' themselves before energizing, with no mention of the city relaying anything to SCE.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.santamonica.gov/process-explainers/step-by-step-guide-to-going-solar
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Santa Monica against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Santa Monica is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined residential permit); Fire is the City of Santa Monica's own Fire Department, not LA County Fire
- Overridden by
- None as to permitting authority itself. California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and Gov. Code §65850.5 limit how restrictive the city's own conditions (HOA/ARB/historic review) can be. Within the mapped Coastal Zone, Coastal Development Permit review may still sit partly with the California Coastal Commission because Santa Monica's Local Coastal Program Implementation Plan is not yet fully certified (city's own 2018 and 2026 press releases).
- Why not higher
- City's own Building & Safety Division issues the combined residential building/electrical permit via SolarAPP+/Citizen Access, and the city's own Fire Department (sm.fireprevention@santamonica.gov, 310-458-8915) handles fire-side review — confirmed on the city's own Fire Code and Regulations page, which lists 'Fire Department' as a City department, not LA County Fire. No LA County role was found anywhere in the sources reviewed for building or electrical.
https://www.santamonica.gov/topic-explainers/fire-code-and-regulations
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Plan review
- Immediate/same-day for SolarAPP+-eligible residential PV & ESS (permit issues on successful online submittal + fee payment);78%
- Portal
- Citizen Access (Accela) — the City's ePermit portal — used together with SolarAPP+ (solarapp.nrel.gov) for eligible residential PV/ESS projects.85%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the 2025 CA Building Standards Code cycle, effective statewide 1 Jan 2026)62%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.