City of Sebastopol

Sonoma County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Sebastopol is a city authority in the State of California, serving 7,521 residents. 3,064 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1-3 business days for electronic applications Q18 Where you file — SmartGov Community Development (e-Permitting Public Portal) Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$450 flat for systems ≤15kW; $450 base + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW (residential)95% source
Plan review turnaround
Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1-3 business days for electronic applications90% source
Key document
fee schedule (spot-check) + general inference cited by 6 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · authority department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 78% · staff directory
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 88% · municipal code
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No known requirement 50% · fee schedule (spot-check) + general inference
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Conditionally yes -- only on an adverse-impact finding 88% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Scoped to 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' as implementing Gov. Code §65850.5 (the statewide default: ≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal) 55% · municipal code + inference from state law
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SmartGov Community Development (e-Permitting Public Portal) 95% · authority permit page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? No (partially online) 80% · authority permit page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for systems ≤15kW; $450 base + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW (residential) 95% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 85% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1-3 business days for electronic applications 90% · municipal code
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) -- distribution/interconnection utility; Sonoma Clean Power is the community-choice-aggregation generation provider 95% · authority utility page

28 questions answered against City of Sebastopol’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (in-house dept.) is the City's own building/electrical permitting authority; SMC Ch. 15.100 'Expedited, Streamlined Permitting Process for Small Residential Rooftop Solar Systems' establishes the City's own review process for this exact use case. Sebastopol is a fully incorporated city (Sonoma County is not the AHJ within city limits).

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/your-government/departments/

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Dept. issues building and electrical permits in-house (SmartGov portal, single fee schedule 'Solar Permit' line covering both). No contracted plan-check/inspection firm found anywhere on the city site (staff directory, fee-schedule appendix, portal domain all checked). However, no 'Building Official' title exists anywhere on the city's own site -- only 'Sr Building Inspector' (Steven Brown) and 'Permit Technician' (Victoria Henkel) are named -- a title-absence gap (same shape as Albany/Bell in the playbook) that means this is inferred in-house status, not a confirmed named official.

staff directory checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-directory/

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSMC Ch. 15.100 exists specifically to expedite permitting of small residential rooftop solar systems, and the FY26-27 Master Fee Schedule lists a dedicated 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System - Solar Permit' fee line, confirming a permit is required and priced.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule prices solar PV as a single 'Solar Permit' fee line (Section A, item 3) rather than as separate building and electrical fee lines, and Section A's own header states these fees 'Include All Applicable Permit Issuance, Inspection, and Internal Plan Check' -- indicating one combined permit covers the work.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either

Why the confidence is not higherNo Sebastopol-specific ordinance text could be reached restricting who pulls the electrical portion (code adoption chapter 15.04.060 is unreachable -- see notes). Under California Business & Professions Code, a C-10 electrical/C-46 solar contractor or a qualifying owner-builder may pull an electrical permit statewide, and nothing found on the city's site narrows this. Recorded at reduced confidence because it rests on the state default rather than a city document.

inference from state law + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Business License page instructs contractors doing permit work to skip the business-license application entirely and instead 'contact the Building Department' -- i.e., contractor licensure is verified at permit issuance (standard CSLB check), not through a separate city registration step before applying.

authority department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/business-licenses-2/

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherNo city-specific restriction on owner-builder self-permitting was found; California Business & Professions Code §7044 allows a homeowner to self-permit work on their own primary residence statewide, and nothing on the city's Building/Permits pages narrows this for solar. Confidence reduced because this rests on the state default, not a Sebastopol document that says so explicitly.

inference from state law checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

No dedicated solar submittal checklist is published by the City

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.050 explicitly requires the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist of all requirements' for expedited solar review, substantially conforming to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook -- but no such document could be found anywhere on the city's site. Checked: WordPress site search for 'solar' and 'photovoltaic' (both return only generic pages -- EV charging, sustainability, design review -- never a checklist); the 4-page 'Find A Form' index (no solar/PV form); the Building/Permits page; and the SmartGov portal landing page. Controls: search for 'electrical' returns real results and search for the fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns 'Nothing Found,' confirming the site search itself works.

authority website (proved absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo solar-specific submittal checklist is published (see Q8); the city's general Building/Permits page (cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/) confirms electronic submittal via the SmartGov portal is standard but does not state a required copy count or file format for solar applications specifically.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q8/Q9 -- no solar-specific checklist exists to specify site-plan content; SMC 15.100 sections .030/.040/.050/.060 (the only sections reached) contain no site-plan requirement of their own, and the Definitions section 15.100.020 (where it might otherwise sit) is unreachable -- not archived on Wayback (zero CDX snapshots) and the live sebastopol.municipal.codes 403s with a Cloudflare managed challenge to both curl and WebFetch.

https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame absence as Q10 -- no published checklist, and the accessible SMC 15.100 sections do not specify a one-line/three-line diagram requirement.

https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame absence as Q10 -- no published checklist, and the accessible SMC 15.100 sections do not specify string/conductor calculation requirements.

https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSMC 15.04 (structural code adoption/amendments) and any solar-specific checklist are both unreachable/nonexistent respectively -- see Q8 and the code-access notes on Q29/30. No structural-PE-stamp threshold could be found.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240925033940/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q13 for the electrical side -- SMC 15.04.060 (California Electrical Code adoption) is unreachable and no checklist exists to state an electrical-PE-stamp threshold.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240925033940/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$450 flat for systems ≤15kW; $450 base + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW (residential)

Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule, Section A item 3, 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System - Solar Permit': (a) 15kW or less = $450 per permit; (b) above 15kW - base = $450; (c) above 15kW - per kW = $15. Not stated whether the 15kW threshold is AC or DC.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered

Why the confidence is not higherFlat fee under the 15kW threshold, then a base fee plus a per-kW rate above it -- a tiered structure, per the FY26-27 fee schedule line quoted at Q15.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule's Section A (which contains the Solar Permit line) states its fees 'Include All Applicable Permit Issuance, Inspection, and Internal Plan Check' -- i.e., no separate plan-check fee is charged on top of the $450/tiered solar fee. (Section C's separate 75%-of-permit-fee plan-check line applies to Section B valuation-based permits, not Section A's flat/tiered ones.)

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1-3 business days for electronic applications

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'The Building Department shall issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit the same day for over-the-counter applications or within one to three business days for electronic applications of receipt of a complete application that meets the requirements of the approved checklist and standard plan.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSMC 15.04 general-provisions subsections (where permit validity/expiration would typically sit) are unreachable: only 2020-era Wayback captures exist for unrelated subsections (15.04.070/.120/.130/.170/.190), none of which is the expiration provision, and the live site 403s with a Cloudflare managed challenge.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240925033940/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SmartGov Community Development (e-Permitting Public Portal)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building/Permits page links directly to the 'e-permitting Public Portal' at ci-sebastopol-ca.smartgovcommunity.com/Public/Home, described as where residents 'Apply for permits,' 'Check on the status of applications,' 'Pay application fees online,' and 'Upload submittal documents.'

authority permit page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

No (partially online)

Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Permits page states: 'We are accepting most applications electronically via the Permitting Portal but do require hard copies for some applications... If in-person intake is needed, please contact staff to schedule an appointment.' -- i.e., most but not all of the process can be completed online.

authority permit page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/city-services/permits/

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) -- distribution/interconnection utility; Sonoma Clean Power is the community-choice-aggregation generation provider

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Utilities page, 'Energy' section: 'Energy providers for the residents of Sebastopol are: Pacific Gas Electric... Sonoma Clean Power.' PG&E is the IOU that owns the wires and handles Rule 21 interconnection; SCP is the default generation/CCA provider layered on top, standard for Sonoma County cities.

authority utility page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/our-community/utilities/

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's own Utilities page names PG&E and Sonoma Clean Power as the energy providers but makes no statement about permit-vs-interconnection sequencing; PG&E's Rule 21 / DG interconnection handbook, which would normally answer this, was not fetched this run.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/our-community/utilities/

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'A City shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in Section 4080 of the Civil Code' -- the city's own solar ordinance expressly bars HOA/architectural sign-off as a precondition.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSMC Title 17 (Zoning) table of contents lists Ch. 17.150 'Cultural Heritage' as the likely historic-review chapter, but its full text is unreachable -- not archived on Wayback for that chapter and the live sebastopol.municipal.codes 403s with a Cloudflare managed challenge to both curl and WebFetch.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240226052301/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/17

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No known requirement

Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement was found anywhere checked (fee schedule has no such line; California does not use the Texas-style windstorm-certification regime). Confidence is moderate because this rests on a spot-check of the fee schedule plus general knowledge that this is not a California requirement, not a full read of the city's structural/building amendments (unreachable -- see notes).

fee schedule (spot-check) + general inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Conditionally yes -- only on an adverse-impact finding

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: a Building Official 'may require an applicant to apply for a use permit' only if the Official 'finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety,' with the decision appealable to the Planning Commission. Absent such a finding, no use permit or Council approval is required.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Scoped to 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' as implementing Gov. Code §65850.5 (the statewide default: ≤10kW AC / 30kW thermal)

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.030 applies the chapter to 'small residential rooftop solar energy systems' and Ord. 1077 (2015) implements Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.55, whose statewide definition caps the expedited-process class at 10kW AC / 30kW thermal. The chapter's own Definitions section (15.100.020), which would state Sebastopol's own wording, could not be reached: not archived on Wayback (checked CDX, zero snapshots) and the live sebastopol.municipal.codes returns a Cloudflare managed-challenge 403 to both curl and WebFetch. Recorded at reduced confidence because it rests on the state default rather than the city's own definition text.

municipal code + inference from state law checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240804232154/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.030

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Sebastopol on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    Nothing recorded for City of Sebastopol on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · municipal code
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Likely permitted for review/inspection through the Fire Prevention fee schedule's 'Battery Storage Systems' line, but residential scope and current administering agency are both unconfirmed 55% · fee schedule (ambiguous scope)
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Likely yes -- a separate Fire plan-review and inspection line exists for 'Battery Storage Systems' 55% · fee schedule (ambiguous scope)

20 questions answered against City of Sebastopol’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)

Why the confidence is not higherThe 2025 California Building Standards Code cycle (2023 NEC as the basis for the 2025 CEC) became effective statewide 1 Jan 2026 by operation of Title 24, applying automatically in every CA jurisdiction including Sebastopol regardless of local-ordinance timing. Sebastopol's own local-amendment chapter (SMC 15.04.060, Adoption of the California Electrical Code) could not be reached to confirm whether the city has yet adopted the matching local-amendment ordinance for this cycle -- the most recent 'current through' ordinance found on any cached page of the code (Ord. 1155, passed 1 Apr 2025) predates the 1 Jan 2026 effective date, so the city's own local text is unconfirmed for this cycle even though the base code applies by state law.

inference from state code-cycle law; local ordinance unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (based on the 2021 IBC/IRC)

Why the confidence is not higherSame statewide Title-24 code-cycle reasoning as Q29: the 2025 CBC/CRC became effective 1 Jan 2026 in every California jurisdiction by operation of law. Sebastopol's own local-amendment chapters (SMC 15.04.040 Building Code, 15.04.050 Residential Code) could not be reached to confirm the city's own amendment ordinance for this cycle.

inference from state code-cycle law; local ordinance unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedThe City's own Fire Reorganization page states fire/EMS responsibility transferred to the Gold Ridge Fire Protection District by 1 Jul 2025; SMC 15.04.120 (California Fire Code adoption) has only a 2020 Wayback capture, which predates both the current code cycle and the 2025 reorganization, so it cannot be relied on as current. Gold Ridge Fire District's own site (goldridgefire.org) publishes no fire-code-adoption page or fee schedule to check instead.

https://www.goldridgefire.org/fire-prevention

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCould not confirm local amendments to any of the codes in Q29-31 because the relevant SMC 15.04 subsections are unreachable (Cloudflare-blocked live site; incomplete/stale Wayback coverage -- see Q29/30/31 notes).

https://web.archive.org/web/20240925033940/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The California Building Code / California Residential Code and California Electrical Code as locally adopted (SMC Ch. 15.04), plus NEC Article 690

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.040 requires solar PV systems to 'meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories.' The specific current-cycle citation in SMC 15.04 could not be independently confirmed (see Q29/Q30 notes), so this is recorded at moderate confidence.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20221128012347/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.040

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSMC 15.04 amendment subsections (service-upgrade/busbar rules would sit here if they exist) are unreachable -- same access problem as Q29/30/32.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240925033940/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo mounting-system/attachment-spacing rule could be found; the relevant SMC 15.04/15.100 subsections are unreachable and no solar-specific handout exists to check instead (see Q8).

https://web.archive.org/web/20250623215828/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire code text (SMC 15.04.120 current version) and any local amendments are unreachable (see Q31); no ridge-setback/pathway rule could be confirmed either way.

https://www.goldridgefire.org/fire-prevention

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Required, under whichever NEC edition is currently in force (2023 NEC per the 2025 CEC, statewide as of 1 Jan 2026)

Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown (NEC 690.12) is a mandatory statewide requirement under every recent California Electrical Code cycle; no Sebastopol-specific local amendment to Article 690 could be located because the electrical-code adoption chapter (15.04.060) and any amendments could not be reached (Cloudflare-blocked live site; not archived on Wayback). No PV-specific local rule was found anywhere that was checked (fee schedule, SMC 15.100 sections, WordPress site search).

inference from state code; local amendments unreachable checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20221128012347/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.040

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo signage/placard requirement specific to solar was found. SMC Ch. 15.74 'Safety Assessment Placards' was checked by name and ruled out -- it governs post-disaster building safety-assessment tagging (green/yellow/red placards), not solar equipment labeling. WordPress site search for 'solar,' 'photovoltaic,' and 'disconnect' returns no signage handout; the fee schedule has no placard fee line; and SMC 15.100's reachable sections (.030/.040/.050/.060) contain no signage clause.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no city-specified placard wording found anywhere checked.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no letter-height/colour/material spec found anywhere checked.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found; SMC 15.100's accessible sections are silent on this and no solar handout exists to check instead.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPG&E's own DG interconnection/Rule 21 placard requirements were not fetched this run; only the city's own site was searched (see Q38), which has nothing to say about utility-specified placards.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no label-placement rule found anywhere checked on the city's site.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.040 requires PV equipment to meet standards from 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' and IEEE, and water-heating solar systems must be 'certified by an accredited listing agency as defined by the California Plumbing and Mechanical Code' -- an approved-listing requirement, though not a single named 'approved equipment list.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20221128012347/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.040

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Likely permitted for review/inspection through the Fire Prevention fee schedule's 'Battery Storage Systems' line, but residential scope and current administering agency are both unconfirmed

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own FY26-27 Master Fee Schedule, Fire Prevention Fees §4(a), groups 'Battery Storage Systems' with LPG, cryogenics, compressed/medical gas and industrial ovens under 'Other Fire Construction Reviews and Inspections' (Plan Review $363 / Inspection $363), which does not state a residential exemption or scope. Confidence is reduced by two open questions this run could not resolve: (1) whether this line is meant to be commercial-only given its company on the list, and (2) whether the City's Fire Prevention division still performs this function at all, since the City's own 'Fire Reorganization' page states fire/EMS responsibility transferred to the Gold Ridge Fire Protection District by 1 Jul 2025, yet the FY26-27 (dated Jul 2026) fee schedule still publishes a full city-titled Fire Prevention Fees section.

fee schedule (ambiguous scope) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Likely yes -- a separate Fire plan-review and inspection line exists for 'Battery Storage Systems'

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule line as Q45 prices Plan Review and Inspection separately ($363 each) from the Building solar-PV permit fee, implying a distinct fire-side ESS permit/inspection step -- but the same residential-scope and post-reorganization-agency caveats from Q45 apply.

fee schedule (ambiguous scope) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSMC Title 17 zoning chapters that would classify a ground-mount system as a structure (e.g. Ch. 17.100 General Height/Yard regulations) were identified by name in the Title 17 TOC but their full text is unreachable (Cloudflare-blocked live site, not archived for that chapter).

https://web.archive.org/web/20240226052301/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/17

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPG&E's own Electric Rule 15/16 or DG interconnection handbook, which specifies AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter, was not fetched this run; the city's own site has no equivalent statement.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/our-community/utilities/

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How much notice is required? Inspections are scheduled within 2 business days of the request 85% · municipal code
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- a 2-hour inspection window is provided 85% · municipal code
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 92% · municipal code
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single, consolidated final inspection performed by the Building Department (for systems on the expedited path) 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 80% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

14 questions answered against City of Sebastopol’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedThe city's Permits page and SmartGov portal landing page both describe applying for permits and paying online, and the portal is described as linking to 'inspection results,' but neither source confirms whether a NEW inspection request is booked through the portal itself versus by phone to Building Safety (707-823-8597) -- both channels exist on the city's site and this run could not determine which is actually used to book.

https://ci-sebastopol-ca.smartgovcommunity.com/Public/Home

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Inspections are scheduled within 2 business days of the request

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request and provide a two-hour inspection window' -- for small residential rooftop solar systems on the expedited path.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Yes -- a 2-hour inspection window is provided

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060, same sentence as Q50: '...and provide a two-hour inspection window.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNot applicable -- Q52 establishes the Building Department performs the sole required inspection itself in-house per SMC 15.100.060; there is no delegate to name for that function.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

A single, consolidated final inspection performed by the Building Department (for systems on the expedited path)

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building Department... The inspection shall be done in a timely manner and should include consolidated inspections.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060's 'only one inspection shall be required' language for the expedited-review class implies no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is mandated for systems that qualify for that path.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo Sebastopol document found states explicitly that the inspector checks labels/listings as part of the solar inspection; SMC 15.100.060 describes the inspection process but not its specific checklist items, and no published inspection checklist exists (see Q57).

https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.050 requires the Building Department to adopt and publish a 'standard plan and checklist,' but no such published inspection checklist could be found anywhere on the city's site (see Q8 for the same absence and the controls that proved the site search itself works: 'electrical' returns real results, the fabricated term 'zzqqx' returns 'Nothing Found').

authority website (proved absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/?s=solar

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo solar-specific checklist or inspection-day document list is published (see Q8/Q57); SMC 15.100's accessible sections do not specify what must be on-site at inspection.

https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$95, but only from the third re-inspection onward

Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule, Section D item 16: 'Re-inspection Fee (3rd Time or More) (each) $95,' with footnote [c]: 'Reinspection fee applies after second re-inspection.' The first and second re-inspections carry no separate fee.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

A written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission

Why the confidence is not higherSMC 15.100.060: 'If an application is deemed incomplete, a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information or documentation required to be eligible for expedited permit issuance shall be sent to the applicant for resubmission.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20240420174103/https://sebastopol.municipal.codes/SMC/15.100.060

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (inspection approval)

Why the confidence is not higherNo Sebastopol document was found stating the exact instrument issued on a passed solar inspection (no 'green tag' or solar-specific completion certificate language found). Recorded as 'Final' at moderate confidence as the standard California building-department outcome for an equipment permit of this kind, distinguished from the fee schedule's separate 'Certificate of Occupancy' line, which applies to new buildings rather than equipment permits like a PV system.

inference from fee-schedule structure checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY26-27-Fee-Schedule_FINAL.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer

Why the confidence is not higherNo Sebastopol or utility document was checked this run that states who submits the PTO request. Recorded at moderate confidence as the near-universal California practice (the installer submits the utility's Rule 21/interconnection paperwork, including the city's final-inspection approval, directly to PG&E), not as a city-confirmed fact.

inference from general CA practice checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/our-community/utilities/

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Sebastopol against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Sebastopol is the authority having jurisdiction 82% confidence
Holds
Building and electrical (self-performed, in-house Building & Safety Division); fire prevention/inspection historically sat with the City's own volunteer Fire Department but transferred to the Gold Ridge Fire Protection District no later than 1 Jul 2025 per a City Council-approved reorganization
Delegated to
Fire only: Gold Ridge Fire Protection District (goldridgefire.org), per the City's own 'Fire Reorganization' page. Building/electrical: no delegation found -- but no 'Building Official' title exists anywhere on the city's site either (only 'Sr Building Inspector' Steven Brown and 'Permit Technician' Victoria Henkel are named), which is a title-absence gap rather than confirmed in-house or confirmed contracted-out status.
Overridden by
SMC Ch. 15.100 (implementing Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.55/§65850.55) constrains the City to a nondiscretionary, expedited review process for small residential rooftop PV, including a Civil Code §714/§4080 bar on HOA conditions. Separately, the City's FY2026-27 Master Fee Schedule (dated Jul 2026) still publishes a full city-titled 'Fire Prevention Fees' section including PV/ESS-adjacent lines, even though the City's own site states fire services moved to Gold Ridge FPD over a year earlier (1 Jul 2025) -- an unresolved lag between the two documents that this run could not settle either way.
Why not higher
Building & Safety Dept. page and city staff directory confirm in-house building/electrical permitting, and SMC Ch. 15.100 exists specifically to process residential rooftop solar permits, establishing the City as AHJ for that scope. The fire-side picture is genuinely split: the City's own 'Fire Reorganization' page documents the 1 Jul 2025 transfer of fire/EMS responsibility to Gold Ridge FPD, but the City's own current fee schedule has not visibly been updated to remove its Fire Prevention Fees section, and Gold Ridge's own site publishes no fee schedule or fire-code-adoption page to check instead. Sonoma County is not the AHJ for any part of incorporated Sebastopol.

https://www.cityofsebastopol.gov/your-government/departments/

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$450 flat for systems ≤15kW; $450 base + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW (residential)95%
Plan review
Same day for over-the-counter applications; 1-3 business days for electronic applications90%
Portal
SmartGov Community Development (e-Permitting Public Portal)95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)65%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Sonoma County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Sebastopol · city
Solar Requirements
Required placards
The Department is also responsible for consultation with architects, engineers, contractors, and property owners concerning building construction and land development. Services/Programs Building Construction Permitting CALGreen Special Inspection Agency Recognition List Code Enforcement Disability Complaint Outreach Disaster Preparedness Utilities Resources Contractor’s Business License Applicatio
Reinspection fee
Building & Safety - City of Sebastopol, California Building & Safety Overview The Building and Safety Department is responsible for administrating and enforcing the City of Sebastopol’s construction c
Authority Contact
Address
7120 Bodega Ave., Sebastopol, CA 95472
Main Phone
(707) 823-1153
Building Department
Department
Building & Safety
Direct Phone
(707) 823-8597
Portal Software
SmartGov
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Book in advance
1-2 business days
Notes
Call the Building & Safety department at (707) 823-8597 to schedule a final solar inspection. The SmartGov portal (ci-sebastopol-ca.smartgovcommunity.com) is used for permit applications, status checks, fee payment, and document uploads — it does not offer inspection scheduling. Per municipal code (SMC 15.100.060), inspections for small residential rooftop solar systems are scheduled within two business days of request and include a two-hour inspection window; only one inspection is required. Department hours: Monday–Thursday 7:00 AM–12:00 PM and 12:30–5:30 PM; closed Fridays and lunch 12:00–12:30 PM. Have permit number and site address ready when calling. (collected Jul 2026)