City of Sierra Madre
Los Angeles County
City of Sierra Madre is a city authority in the State of California, serving 11,268 residents. 670 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Not published specifically for solar. The city's general (non-solar-specific) Plan Check Services page states the 1st Plan Check for standard building permits 'may… Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Portal (hosted at aca-prod.accela.com/COSM) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes96% source
- What it costs
- Residential Solar: $450 flat (systems up to 15 kW); $450 plus $15/kW for any capacity over 15 kW. Solar Re-Installation: $225.90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Not published specifically for solar. The city's general (non-solar-specific) Plan Check Services page states the 1st Plan Check for standard building permits 'may take from 6 to 8 weeks to…50% source
- Key document
- portal landing page cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 96% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 68% · department page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No stated size cap found; the current fee schedule's own tiering breaks at 15 kW AC (flat base rate applies up to 15 kW, with a $15/kW surcharge above it) for residential systems, and separately at 50 kW for the commercial-solar fee tier. This is a FEE-tiering breakpoint, not a confirmed ordinance-level size cap or expedited-review eligibility gate. 45% · fee schedule (inference)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 78% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 86% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Application and documents are uploaded electronically via the Accela Citizen Portal. For the physical plan-check process, the city's own text still describes paper sets: 'One set of plans is required for the first round of Plan Check,' and for each subsequent round, 'the original redlined plans along with three (3) new sets of revised (corrected) plans.' 55% · department page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Portal (hosted at aca-prod.accela.com/COSM) 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Residential Solar: $450 flat (systems up to 15 kW); $450 plus $15/kW for any capacity over 15 kW. Solar Re-Installation: $225. Energy Storage (battery): priced 'per fixture based on ELE001' (the Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing items-tier schedule, i.e. $405-$2,002 depending on item count), not a flat solar-style fee. Commercial Solar (for reference, not residential): $1,000 flat up to 50 kW, then $1,000 + $7/kW from 51-250 kW + $5/kW above 250 kW. 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Not published specifically for solar. The city's general (non-solar-specific) Plan Check Services page states the 1st Plan Check for standard building permits 'may take from 6 to 8 weeks to complete.' Separately, the city names its solar permit type 'Solar and SolarAPP+,' which implies SolarAPP+-eligible submittals may be issued same-day per that platform's design, but no dedicated SolarAPP+ turnaround statement is published on the city's site. 50% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days (12 months) from issuance; the permit is considered invalid if a 'meaningful' inspection is not conducted within 180 days of issuance, and every subsequent meaningful inspection renews that 180-day window. 82% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE), most likely -- not confirmed by a Sierra-Madre-specific document 52% · city utilities page (utility not directly named; inference flagged)
28 questions answered against City of Sierra Madre’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Building and Safety page lists 'Solar and SolarAPP+' as one of the permit types issued directly by the city (Building and Safety Division) via its Accela Citizen Portal.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building and Safety Division issues Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing (MEP), Building & Safety, and 'Solar and SolarAPP+' permits itself via its own Accela portal; nothing on the city's site or in its fee schedule points to a contract firm or county delegation for these functions. Fire plan review is also performed in-house by Sierra Madre's own Fire Department, not a district or county.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety page states outright: 'Solar and SolarAPP+ ... Required for the installation, modification, or expansion of solar photovoltaic (PV) and solar thermal systems.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higher'Solar and SolarAPP+' is listed as its own distinct permit record type, separate from the generic 'Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing (MEP)' permit type, suggesting the associated electrical work is handled within the single solar permit rather than requiring a second, separate MEP/electrical permit. Not stated explicitly either way, and the current FY2026-27 fee schedule files the 'Residential Solar' fee code (ELE035) under the 'Other Electrical Permits/Inspections' heading, which cuts slightly the other way -- hence capped confidence.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety page: 'Building & Safety permits are issued only to a State of California licensed contractor or the property owner.' This is stated as a general rule for all Building & Safety permits (which includes Solar); it is not narrowed to a licensed electrician specifically, so 'Either' (contractor or homeowner) is the closest fit among the four answer options.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety page requires every contractor applicant to supply a 'City of Sierra Madre Business License' with each application, and the FY2026-27 fee schedule carries a dedicated 'City Contractor Business License' fee (CON001 New $85 / CONR01 Renewal $85) -- i.e. a contractor must hold a city business license (a form of registration with the authority) before a permit application will be accepted.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety page has a dedicated 'Property Owners' applicant category (proof of ownership, ownership-type documentation) and requires property owners to 'complete and upload a signed Owner/Builder Affidavit' -- a standard owner-builder self-permit pathway.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page (states general applicant-type document requirements -- ID, contractor license, city business license, workers-comp proof OR proof of ownership plus Owner/Builder Affidavit -- but no itemized solar-specific submittal-package checklist); Plan Check Services page; the city's sitemap.xml (no dedicated solar/PV checklist PDF listed); the Pre-Entitlement and Post-Entitlement Checklist PDFs linked from the Plan Check Services page (both downloaded and extracted with pdftotext -layout -- zero 'solar' hits in either, confirming they are generic planning-entitlement checklists, not a solar submittal package list).
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Application and documents are uploaded electronically via the Accela Citizen Portal. For the physical plan-check process, the city's own text still describes paper sets: 'One set of plans is required for the first round of Plan Check,' and for each subsequent round, 'the original redlined plans along with three (3) new sets of revised (corrected) plans.'
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the city's general building-permit Plan Check process description (not solar-specific), and it mixes an electronic-portal submission instruction with legacy paper-set language ('one set', 'three new sets'), which may not have been updated to match the described Accela workflow -- flagged, hence capped confidence.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/plan-check-services/
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page and Plan Check Services page -- neither states a site-plan content requirement, generally or for solar specifically; the Sierra Madre Municipal Code (which would hold any codified submittal requirement) is hosted on Municode (library.municode.com/ca/sierra_madre) and returns only a client-rendered Angular app shell to curl and WebFetch alike (confirmed on multiple node URLs including the base code-of-ordinances page and the Historic Preservation ordinance node TIT17ZO_CH17.82HIPR); its content API (library.municode.com/api/*) returns HTTP 401 to every endpoint tried without an authenticated session token, so the code text could not be retrieved with available tools.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame access limitation as Q10 -- no city-published solar checklist names a one-line/three-line diagram requirement, and the Municipal Code (where such a requirement would likely be codified) could not be retrieved.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q10/Q11 -- no city-published document addresses string/conductor calculations; Municode inaccessible.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page (no structural PE-stamp threshold stated); Municode (Title 8 Building Code, presumed location of any such amendment) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page (no electrical PE-stamp threshold stated); Municode inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Residential Solar: $450 flat (systems up to 15 kW); $450 plus $15/kW for any capacity over 15 kW. Solar Re-Installation: $225. Energy Storage (battery): priced 'per fixture based on ELE001' (the Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing items-tier schedule, i.e. $405-$2,002 depending on item count), not a flat solar-style fee. Commercial Solar (for reference, not residential): $1,000 flat up to 50 kW, then $1,000 + $7/kW from 51-250 kW + $5/kW above 250 kW.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the City's currently adopted FY2026-2027 Fee Schedule, extracted with pdftotext -layout. Note: the schedule cites the Residential/Commercial Solar fee basis as 'Per State. Assembly Bill No.1414' -- that citation does not match the actual authorizing legislation for expedited residential solar permitting/fee limits (Gov. Code §65850.5, enacted via AB 2188 in 2022); recorded verbatim as the city's own document states it and flagged as a likely citation error in that document, not corrected here.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherThe Residential Solar fee is a flat base rate up to a 15 kW threshold, plus a per-kW surcharge above that threshold -- a tiered (flat + per-kW) structure rather than pure Flat or pure Per-kW.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule places 'Residential Solar' (ELE035) under the 'Other Electrical Permits/Inspections' heading, a flat-rate fee group, rather than under the separate valuation-based 'Building Plan Check Fees' heading (PC001-PC008) that applies to standard building permits elsewhere in the same document -- indicating the $450 is a single all-inclusive fee rather than permit-plus-separate-plan-check. Not an explicit statement to that effect, hence capped confidence.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Not published specifically for solar. The city's general (non-solar-specific) Plan Check Services page states the 1st Plan Check for standard building permits 'may take from 6 to 8 weeks to complete.' Separately, the city names its solar permit type 'Solar and SolarAPP+,' which implies SolarAPP+-eligible submittals may be issued same-day per that platform's design, but no dedicated SolarAPP+ turnaround statement is published on the city's site.
Why the confidence is not higherBlends the city's general (not solar-specific) stated turnaround with an inference drawn only from the SolarAPP+ branding of the permit type; no city document states a solar-specific review timeline outright.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/plan-check-services/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days (12 months) from issuance; the permit is considered invalid if a 'meaningful' inspection is not conducted within 180 days of issuance, and every subsequent meaningful inspection renews that 180-day window.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral Building & Safety permit-expiration rule stated on the city's own page; not solar-specific, but applies to all building permits including solar since the city publishes no separate solar permit-validity rule.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Portal (hosted at aca-prod.accela.com/COSM)
Why the confidence is not higherNamed directly and repeatedly across the Building and Safety, Applications/Licenses/Permits, and Plan Check Services pages as the portal for all Plan Check, Building, and Zoning applications.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Safety page: 'All Plan Check, Building, and Zoning applications must be submitted through the Accela Citizen Portal... The portal enables users to submit applications, upload required documentation, pay fees, track permit status, and receive issued permits and approved documents electronically.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE), most likely -- not confirmed by a Sierra-Madre-specific document
Why the confidence is not higherSierra Madre is a San Gabriel Valley foothill city with no municipal electric utility of its own -- the city's own Utilities page states the City itself provides only water and sewer service, ruling out a city-owned electric utility (unlike nearby Pasadena, Glendale, Azusa, or Burbank). SCE's own general description states it serves 'more than 180 incorporated cities' across this exact region, excluding the City of Los Angeles, consistent with SCE serving Sierra Madre, but no Sierra-Madre-side or SCE territory-map document naming Sierra Madre specifically was reachable with available tools -- flagged per the known risk of inferring utility territory rather than confirming it.
city utilities page (utility not directly named; inference flagged) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/our-community/utilities/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's own interconnection/NEM pages (https://www.sce.com/residential/solar, https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections, https://www.sce.com/about-us/reliability/net-energy-metering) all returned HTTP 404 to the fetch tool used; the city's Building and Safety and Plan Check Services pages make no mention of interconnection sequencing relative to the building permit.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page and Historic Preservation page -- neither states an HOA/architectural-review-first requirement, generally or for solar; the Zoning Code (SMMC Title 17, which would hold any Architectural Review Board provision) is on Municode and could not be retrieved -- see Q10 note.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHistoric Preservation page (confirms a Designated Historical Properties List and a Mills Act Program exist, and links to the governing 'Historic Preservation Ordinance' at Municode node TIT17ZO_CH17.82HIPR, i.e. SMMC Title 17, Ch. 17.82) -- but the ordinance text itself could not be retrieved (Municode client-rendered shell only, API returns 401 without a session token -- see Q10 note), so whether it treats rooftop solar/PV as a reviewable exterior alteration on a designated landmark could not be confirmed.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page -- no wind/windstorm certification requirement mentioned; Municode (Title 8 Building Code) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page and the FY2026-27 fee schedule (Design Review Permit, Conditional Use Permit, Variance, and Hillside Development Permit fee lines exist as general discretionary-review categories, but nothing states that solar specifically triggers any of them or requires City Council approval); Municode Title 15/17 inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No stated size cap found; the current fee schedule's own tiering breaks at 15 kW AC (flat base rate applies up to 15 kW, with a $15/kW surcharge above it) for residential systems, and separately at 50 kW for the commercial-solar fee tier. This is a FEE-tiering breakpoint, not a confirmed ordinance-level size cap or expedited-review eligibility gate.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred only from the shape of the city's own current fee schedule; the actual 'small residential rooftop solar system' size-cap definition (if any, likely codified in SMMC Title 15 alongside the Fire Code, per the pattern in comparable California cities implementing Gov. Code §65850.5/AB 2188) could not be confirmed because the Municipal Code was not reachable with available tools (see note on Municode access, e.g. Q29-32 not_found).
fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- What is the installation judged against? The applicable California Building Standards Code as adopted by the City 62% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Sierra Madre on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Sierra Madre on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Sierra Madre on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/energy storage systems are permitted -- the City's current fee schedule carries a live 'Energy Storage' fee line (priced 'per fixture based on ELE001,' the Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing items-tier schedule) -- but the specific conditions (clearances, UL 9540 requirements, occupancy or location limits) are not published on the city's website and would sit in the Fire Code (SMMC Title 15) or Building Code amendments, which could not be retrieved. 62% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Possibly -- the fee schedule lists 'Energy Storage' as its own line, separate from and priced differently than 'Residential Solar,' which suggests a distinct fee assessment for battery/ESS work, but this does not confirm whether it is issued as a fully separate permit record (vs. a line item added to the same Solar/electrical permit application) or whether a separate inspection is required. 55% · fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Sierra Madre’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page and Fire Prevention page (the latter names Title 15 of the SMMC as 'the Sierra Madre Fire Code' but states no edition); the adopting ordinance for the current California Title 24 code cycle could not be located on the city's site, and the Municipal Code itself is on Municode and could not be retrieved -- see Q10 note. (Context only, not recorded as an answer: California's statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle, which bases the CEC on the 2023 NFPA 70/NEC, took effect 1 Jan 2026 for jurisdictions that did not delay adoption -- but this was not confirmed as Sierra Madre's adopted edition.)
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q29 -- no city-published building-code adopting ordinance or edition statement found; Municode inaccessible.
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Prevention page states 'The Sierra Madre Fire Code can be found under Title 15 of the Sierra Madre Municipal Code' but does not state which edition; Municode (Title 15) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety, Fire Prevention pages -- neither states whether local amendments exist; Municode inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The applicable California Building Standards Code as adopted by the City
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building and Safety page describes the MEP permit category (which covers PV/solar per the city's own 'Solar and SolarAPP+' permit type) as required for work on 'regulated systems governed by the California Building Standards Code.' This is the city's own general framing; the specific locally-amended code editions and any solar-specific installation standard could not be confirmed because the Municipal Code was not reachable (see Q29-32, Q37 not_found).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page (fee schedule confirms 'Service Panel Upgrade' -- ELE030 -- is a recognized permit category, but no busbar-sizing or service-upgrade local rule is stated); Municode (Title 8 Electrical Code amendments) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page -- no mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement stated; Municode inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Prevention and Fire Permits and Inspections pages (confirm Sierra Madre sits in a designated Fire Hazard Severity Zone and that the Fire Prevention Division 'conducts plan reviews' and 'enforcement of fire code regulations,' but neither states a ridge-setback or pathway dimension); Municode Title 15 (Fire Code) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page -- no rapid-shutdown or NEC 690.12 statement found; Municode (Title 8 Electrical Code) inaccessible -- see Q10 note. (Not recorded as context: the 2020 and later NEC editions require module-level rapid shutdown by default nationwide, but this was not confirmed as Sierra Madre's locally adopted rule.)
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety, Fire Prevention, and Fire Permits and Inspections pages -- none publishes a placard list for PV service equipment; the city's sitemap.xml has no dedicated solar-signage handout; Municode (Title 15 Fire Code) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as Q38 -- no placard-wording specification found on the city's site; Municode inaccessible.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38/Q39 -- no letter-height/colour/material specification found on the city's site; Municode inaccessible.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38-Q40 -- no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found on the city's site; Municode inaccessible.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's own DG/interconnection pages, which returned HTTP 404 to the fetch tool used (see Q23) -- could not confirm any utility-side placard specification beyond the AHJ's.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame SCE access limitation as Q42, plus the city's own Building and Safety and Fire pages, which contain no label-placement specification.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page and FY2026-27 fee schedule -- neither states an equipment-listing requirement; Municode inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/energy storage systems are permitted -- the City's current fee schedule carries a live 'Energy Storage' fee line (priced 'per fixture based on ELE001,' the Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing items-tier schedule) -- but the specific conditions (clearances, UL 9540 requirements, occupancy or location limits) are not published on the city's website and would sit in the Fire Code (SMMC Title 15) or Building Code amendments, which could not be retrieved.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 'permitted: yes' half rests on direct, current, primary evidence (the fee schedule); the 'under what conditions' half is unanswered because the Municipal Code (Title 15 Fire Code / Title 8 Building Code) was not reachable with available tools.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Possibly -- the fee schedule lists 'Energy Storage' as its own line, separate from and priced differently than 'Residential Solar,' which suggests a distinct fee assessment for battery/ESS work, but this does not confirm whether it is issued as a fully separate permit record (vs. a line item added to the same Solar/electrical permit application) or whether a separate inspection is required.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fee schedule's line-item structure only; no department page or checklist confirms whether ESS is a standalone permit type in the Accela system.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety page -- silent on whether a ground-mounted array is classified as an accessory structure; the Zoning Code (SMMC Title 17) is on Municode and could not be retrieved -- see Q10 note.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's own DG/interconnection pages, which returned HTTP 404 to the fetch tool used (see Q23) -- no AC-disconnect-placement specification could be retrieved.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (electronic request form) 80% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 1 business day (Monday inspections must be requested by 5:00 p.m. the previous Thursday) 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not stated -- the Inspections page describes only the advance-notice rule and does not mention same-day service or AM/PM arrival windows. 62% · department page (absence noted)
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 90% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Sierra Madre on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Sierra Madre on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $203 75% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For plan-check corrections: the applicant is notified that redlined plans are ready for pickup at the Planning & Community Preservation Department counter; corrected plans (the original redlines plus three new sets of revised plans) are resubmitted to start the next plan-check round. 60% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Sierra Madre’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (electronic request form)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Inspections page states: 'To schedule a Building & Safety inspection: Submit your request via the electronic form below.' Building & Safety inspections are the category that explicitly includes 'Solar & SolarAPP+.' (Separately, Fire & Safety inspections and Public Works inspections -- neither of which is the solar-inspection category -- are booked by phone.)
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/inspections/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 1 business day (Monday inspections must be requested by 5:00 p.m. the previous Thursday)
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page: 'Inspections are available Monday through Friday and must be requested at least one business day in advance. Monday inspections must be scheduled by 5:00 p.m. the previous Thursday.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/inspections/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Not stated -- the Inspections page describes only the advance-notice rule and does not mention same-day service or AM/PM arrival windows.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is a controlled absence: the full Inspections page was read and it is silent on same-day or AM/PM windows, unlike some comparable cities that publish an estimated-arrival-time feature.
department page (absence noted) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/inspections/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInspections page lists 'Solar & SolarAPP+' explicitly among the permit types inspected under 'Building & Safety Inspections,' which the same page states are performed once a permit is issued -- with no indication of delegation to an outside firm (contrast: Fire Sprinkler inspections are explicitly delegated to Dennis Grubb & Associates on the same page, which shows the city DOES flag delegation where it exists).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/inspections/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A -- not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherFollows directly from Q52: solar inspections are performed by the city's own Building & Safety Division, not delegated.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/inspections/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page lists 'Solar & SolarAPP+' as one of the categories inspected under Building & Safety Inspections but does not itemize an inspection sequence (rough-in vs. final) for it; the Municipal Code, where a codified 'single consolidated inspection' rule for small residential solar (common in comparable California cities implementing Gov. Code §65850.5) would likely sit, could not be retrieved -- see Q10 note.
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 -- Inspections page does not state whether a rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required for solar; Municode inaccessible.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page describes booking/notice rules for Building & Safety inspections but does not itemize what the inspector checks (labels, listings, or otherwise) for any permit category, solar included.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety, Plan Check Services, and Inspections pages, plus the city's sitemap.xml -- no published solar-specific inspection checklist PDF was found on the city's own site. (If SolarAPP+ is actually used for eligible submittals -- as its inclusion in the 'Solar and SolarAPP+' permit-type name suggests -- that third-party platform generates its own inspection checklist, but the city does not host or link one directly.)
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety and Inspections pages -- neither states what must be physically present on site at the time of inspection; Municode (general Building Code administrative chapter) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$203
Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 fee schedule, code BP030: 'Request for Re-Inspection (no show or additional inspection) -- $203, each.' This is the general re-inspection fee (not solar-specific); no solar-only re-inspection line exists in the schedule.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://media-002-us.cdn.govstack.com/sierramadreca-004-us/media/acqlv4ek/fy26-27-adopted-fee-schedule-after-july-14-council-meeting.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For plan-check corrections: the applicant is notified that redlined plans are ready for pickup at the Planning & Community Preservation Department counter; corrected plans (the original redlines plus three new sets of revised plans) are resubmitted to start the next plan-check round.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the city's general Plan Check Services process description (not solar- or inspection-specific); how field-inspection corrections specifically are issued and cleared is not separately documented.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/plan-check-services/
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding and Safety and Inspections pages -- neither states what document is issued upon a passed final inspection (CO, Final, Green Tag, or Letter); Municode (Building Code administrative chapter) inaccessible -- see Q10 note.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSouthern California Edison's own interconnection/PTO pages, which returned HTTP 404 to the fetch tool used (see Q23); the city's Building and Safety and Inspections pages are silent on who notifies the utility for Permission to Operate.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Sierra Madre against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Sierra Madre is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (self-performed); Fire also self-performed by the City's own Fire Department
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 / §65850.52 (AB 2188 expedited residential solar permitting mandate, and the SolarAPP+ authorization referenced by the city's own 'Solar and SolarAPP+' permit-type naming); Civil Code §714 (Solar Rights Act, limits HOA/architectural-review restrictions); Gov. Code Ch. 22 Stats. 2025 (AB 130) freezing more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; CPUC Rule 21/NEM governs Southern California Edison interconnection as a parallel, non-city track
- Why not higher
- The City's own Building and Safety Division, seated inside the Planning & Community Preservation Department (not a separate 'Building' or 'Community Development' department, and not Los Angeles County), issues 'Solar and SolarAPP+' permits itself through its Accela Citizen Portal, alongside MEP, Building & Safety, Sewer and Demolition permits. Sierra Madre also runs its own municipal Fire Department (Chief Brent Bartlett; not LA County Fire) which enforces the Fire Code codified at SMMC Title 15 and is one of five in-house divisions (Planning, Public Works, Structural, Fire, Building) that route every plan-check submittal. The only documented delegation found anywhere on the city's site is narrow and unrelated to solar: NFPA 13D/13R fire-sprinkler inspections are referred to a named outside firm, Dennis Grubb & Associates. Confidence is capped at 85 because the city's own Municipal Code (hosted on Municode, library.municode.com/ca/sierra_madre) could not be retrieved with available tools (see note in multiple not_found entries below), so this rests on the department/permit/fee pages rather than the codified ordinance itself.
https://www.sierramadreca.gov/building-planning/building-and-safety/
- Permit required
- Yes96%
- Permit cost
- Residential Solar: $450 flat (systems up to 15 kW); $450 plus $15/kW for any capacity over 15 kW. Solar Re-Installation: $225.90%
- Plan review
- Not published specifically for solar. The city's general (non-solar-specific) Plan Check Services page states the 1st Plan Check for standard building permits 'may take from 6 to 8 weeks to…50%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Portal (hosted at aca-prod.accela.com/COSM)95%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (electronic request form)80%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.