City of Tehachapi
Kern County
City of Tehachapi is a city authority in the State of California, serving 12,939 residents. 2,665 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — SolarAPP+-eligible systems: automatic/instant permit issuance once SolarAPP+ approval documents and fees are submitted. Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/TEHACHAPI), used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible rooftop retrofit systems. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- $287 flat for a single-family system up to 9 kW, plus $10 per additional kW, plus a separate $193 plan-review fee;90% source
- Plan review turnaround
- SolarAPP+-eligible systems: automatic/instant permit issuance once SolarAPP+ approval documents and fees are submitted.70% source
- Key document
- department handout (dated) + current portal page cited by 11 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · department page + code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · department handout
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 78% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 62% · zoning code, control-checked absence
- Is there a historic-district review? No 60% · zoning code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 68% · department handout, absence
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Possibly, only on an adverse-impact finding -- Kern County's own Sec. 65850.5 ordinance (KCC 17.57.040(C)-(D)) lets the building official require a use permit if a solar installation is found, on substantial evidence, to have a specific adverse impact on public health/safety, appealable to the Planning Commission. Whether this county chapter formally extends into city limits is itself an open question (see jurisdiction.overridden_by) since it postdates the fixed chapter list the city's incorporation clause names. 55% · county ordinance (applicability uncertain)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Codified (county) figure: 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal, single-or-duplex-family dwellings only (Kern County Code Sec. 17.57.020(B), the county's Gov. Code Sec. 65850.5 implementing ordinance) -- but its applicability inside city limits is textually uncertain (see jurisdiction note). In practice, the city's own fee schedule prices 'Single family up to 9 KW' as just the base tier with an uncapped $10/kW increment above it, and the city's SolarAPP+ program is not described as gated at 10 kW, suggesting no enforced ceiling in current city practice. 58% · county ordinance + city fee schedule
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 60% · department handout
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · inference / department handout silence
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Application indicating whether a service upgrade is included; a Site Plan; manufacturer equipment list, spec sheets, installation instructions and UL listing; plans signed by a licensed A/B/C-46/C-10 contractor or licensed electrical engineer (structural PE/architect stamp added if high-strength footings, shop-fabricated supports or field welding are shown); two complete sets of plans with a one-line diagram (min. 11x17) showing main service/AC-DC disconnects/array layout & attachment method, single-line diagram with conductor sizing/de-rating, inverter and module spec data, pathway compliance (CRC R331.4), required signage per CEC Art. 690/CRC R331.2, grounding details, disconnect locations, system calcs, and roof-loading (30 psf snow load) calcs stamped by an engineer. 92% · department handout
- How many copies, and in what format? Two complete sets of plans, minimum sheet size 11x17 inches (per the city's 2019 PV handout); current practice also allows/expects digital submittal through the online Citizen Access portal and, for SolarAPP+-eligible systems, upload of SolarAPP+ approval documents rather than paper sets. 70% · department handout (dated) + current portal page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a Site Plan is a required submittal item; separately, a roof plan must show the main electrical service, AC/DC disconnects, all PV equipment, and array locations including method of attachment. 85% · department handout
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 97% · department handout
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 95% · department handout
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes -- required for ground-mounted systems ("will require an engineered foundation design"), and for any plan showing high-strength concrete footings, shop-fabricated support structures, or field welding (stamped by a CA registered architect, structural engineer, or civil engineer); roof-loading calculations for a 30 lb ground snow load must also be stamped by an engineer. 92% · department handout
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No fixed threshold triggers a mandatory electrical PE stamp; a licensed electrical engineer's signature is offered only as an alternative to a licensed C-46/C-10/A/B contractor's signature on plans, not an added requirement above a size. 75% · department handout
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/TEHACHAPI), used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible rooftop retrofit systems. 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $287 flat for a single-family system up to 9 kW, plus $10 per additional kW, plus a separate $193 plan-review fee; a city-wide 6% technology surcharge and 7.5% long-range-planning surcharge apply to all permits. 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 95% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? SolarAPP+-eligible systems: automatic/instant permit issuance once SolarAPP+ approval documents and fees are submitted. For systems that fall outside SolarAPP+ eligibility, plans are reviewed by the building inspector under the normal building-permit process; no specific day-count turnaround is published for that path. 70% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 82% · city directory listing
28 questions answered against City of Tehachapi’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department and Development Services pages state the Tehachapi Building Department enforces state and local building code within city limits and issues residential permits directly.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/77/Development-Services
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity performs Building AND Electrical review/issuance in-house (TMC 15.04.040 makes the city Building Inspector the "chief electrical inspector" too); fire-code approval is separately delegated to Kern County Fire Department when a permit requires it.
department page + code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/328/Building-Department
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own "Residential Solar Photovoltaic System Permit Requirements" handout and Master Fee List both establish a required residential PV permit with plan review.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee List prices solar as a single "Photo Voltaic Solar Residential" line (permit + plan review) rather than a separate stand-alone electrical permit line, and the online portal offers a single "Solar"/"Solar with SolarAPP+" record type.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6556/Development-Services-Master-Fee-List-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's PV handout requires plans be signed by a CA-licensed contractor (A, B, C-46, or C-10) or a licensed electrical engineer, but this governs who signs plans, not literally who pulls the permit; general CA owner-builder law also allows a homeowner to self-permit. No city-specific statement singles out one path.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Building Department page (liveuptehachapi.com/328/Building-Department), Building Documents list (/338/Building-Documents), Solar APP+ page (/502) -- no statement found requiring contractor pre-registration with the City before applying for a solar permit.
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo city-specific prohibition on owner-builder solar permits was found; California's general owner-builder permitting statute would apply absent a local bar, but this is inferred rather than stated by the city.
inference / department handout silence checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Application indicating whether a service upgrade is included; a Site Plan; manufacturer equipment list, spec sheets, installation instructions and UL listing; plans signed by a licensed A/B/C-46/C-10 contractor or licensed electrical engineer (structural PE/architect stamp added if high-strength footings, shop-fabricated supports or field welding are shown); two complete sets of plans with a one-line diagram (min. 11x17) showing main service/AC-DC disconnects/array layout & attachment method, single-line diagram with conductor sizing/de-rating, inverter and module spec data, pathway compliance (CRC R331.4), required signage per CEC Art. 690/CRC R331.2, grounding details, disconnect locations, system calcs, and roof-loading (30 psf snow load) calcs stamped by an engineer.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim checklist from the City's own dated 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System Permit Requirements' handout; extracted with pdftotext -layout, not a summary.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Two complete sets of plans, minimum sheet size 11x17 inches (per the city's 2019 PV handout); current practice also allows/expects digital submittal through the online Citizen Access portal and, for SolarAPP+-eligible systems, upload of SolarAPP+ approval documents rather than paper sets.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 11x17/two-set figure is from a 2019 handout that predates the city's SolarAPP+/Citizen Access rollout described on its current Solar APP+ page, so the paper-copy instruction may be superseded in practice; both are reported.
department handout (dated) + current portal page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a Site Plan is a required submittal item; separately, a roof plan must show the main electrical service, AC/DC disconnects, all PV equipment, and array locations including method of attachment.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the city's PV Requirements handout submittal list, items 2 and 6(a).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout explicitly requires plan sets to include 'a one-line diagram' and separately a 'Single Line diagram: show array configuration, conduit and conductor sizes with de-rating calculations.'
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHandout item 6(j) requires open-circuit voltage, temperature correction factor, and conductor ampacity calculations (module interconnection cable ampacity must be >= 1.56x module Isc).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes -- required for ground-mounted systems ("will require an engineered foundation design"), and for any plan showing high-strength concrete footings, shop-fabricated support structures, or field welding (stamped by a CA registered architect, structural engineer, or civil engineer); roof-loading calculations for a 30 lb ground snow load must also be stamped by an engineer.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the city's PV Requirements handout, items 4, 5 and 6(k).
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No fixed threshold triggers a mandatory electrical PE stamp; a licensed electrical engineer's signature is offered only as an alternative to a licensed C-46/C-10/A/B contractor's signature on plans, not an added requirement above a size.
Why the confidence is not higherHandout item 4 phrases the engineer route as an 'or' alternative to a licensed contractor, not a threshold-triggered requirement.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$287 flat for a single-family system up to 9 kW, plus $10 per additional kW, plus a separate $193 plan-review fee; a city-wide 6% technology surcharge and 7.5% long-range-planning surcharge apply to all permits.
Why the confidence is not higherFrom the city's current Development Services Master Fee List (Feb 2023), 'Photo Voltaic Solar Residental' line items.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6556/Development-Services-Master-Fee-List-PDF
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat base fee for systems up to 9 kW, then a fixed per-kW increment above that threshold -- a tiered/stepped structure rather than a pure per-kW or valuation basis.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6556/Development-Services-Master-Fee-List-PDF
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'Plan review $193' as a separate line under Photo Voltaic Solar Residential, distinct from the $287 permit fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6556/Development-Services-Master-Fee-List-PDF
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
SolarAPP+-eligible systems: automatic/instant permit issuance once SolarAPP+ approval documents and fees are submitted. For systems that fall outside SolarAPP+ eligibility, plans are reviewed by the building inspector under the normal building-permit process; no specific day-count turnaround is published for that path.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar APP+ page describes automatic issuance for SolarAPP+ track; no published turnaround figure was found for the non-SolarAPP+ 'Solar' permit path.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/502/Solar-APP-Instant-Solar-Permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Requirements handout (DocumentCenter/View/4690), Master Fee List, TMC Title 15.04 -- no explicit 'permit expires after N days' clause found for solar specifically; TMC 15.04.090 sets a 180-day abandonment threshold (then 120 days to renew or demolish) but that governs suspended/abandoned work generally, not a stated initial validity period.
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/TEHACHAPI), used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible rooftop retrofit systems.
Why the confidence is not higherNamed and linked directly from the city's own Solar APP+ page as 'Citizen Access' / 'online permitting system.'
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://aca-prod.accela.com/TEHACHAPI/Default.aspx
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ approval plus upload of approval documents and payment of fees in Citizen Access is described as a complete online path; non-SolarAPP+ 'Solar' applications are also submitted and paid for through the same online portal per the city's page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/502/Solar-APP-Instant-Solar-Permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the city's own Business Directory listing for Southern California Edison and a city-hosted 'Program 1.1 SCE Flyer' document -- authority-side sources, not PowerToChoose. No municipal electric division appears among the city's Public Works divisions (Facilities, Fleet, Landscape, Streets, Technology, Wastewater, Water).
city directory listing checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/businessdirectoryii.aspx?bid=53
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Solar APP+ page and PV Requirements handout -- neither states where SCE interconnection/PTO sits relative to city permit issuance; SCE's own Rule 21/DG interconnection handbook was not retrieved this run.
https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/502/Solar-APP-Instant-Solar-Permits
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Zoning Code (2021, control-checked: 'electrical' 29 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx' 0 hits) contains no HOA or homeowners-association review requirement anywhere (0 hits for 'HOA'/'homeowners'); California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code Sec. 714) independently limits HOA authority to block solar.
zoning code, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6168/Tehachapi-Zoning-Code-Updated-2021-PDF
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text review of the 2021 Zoning Code (438 pp., control-checked) turned up 'historic' only in the context of murals, density-bonus incentives for historic-register properties, and a form-based-code preservation policy -- no historic-district design-review chapter that would gate an ordinary residential rooftop PV retrofit.
zoning code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6168/Tehachapi-Zoning-Code-Updated-2021-PDF
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate 'windstorm certification' requirement (a TDI/Texas-style concept) appears in the city's PV handout or code; wind loading is handled through ordinary CBC/CRC structural engineering for ground-mount foundations, not a distinct certificate.
department handout, absence checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Possibly, only on an adverse-impact finding -- Kern County's own Sec. 65850.5 ordinance (KCC 17.57.040(C)-(D)) lets the building official require a use permit if a solar installation is found, on substantial evidence, to have a specific adverse impact on public health/safety, appealable to the Planning Commission. Whether this county chapter formally extends into city limits is itself an open question (see jurisdiction.overridden_by) since it postdates the fixed chapter list the city's incorporation clause names.
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from the county ordinance the city cites as its incorporation vehicle, but the chapter (17.57) is not in the enumerated list TMC 15.04.160 actually incorporates, so applicability inside Tehachapi is not certain.
county ordinance (applicability uncertain) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Codified (county) figure: 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal, single-or-duplex-family dwellings only (Kern County Code Sec. 17.57.020(B), the county's Gov. Code Sec. 65850.5 implementing ordinance) -- but its applicability inside city limits is textually uncertain (see jurisdiction note). In practice, the city's own fee schedule prices 'Single family up to 9 KW' as just the base tier with an uncapped $10/kW increment above it, and the city's SolarAPP+ program is not described as gated at 10 kW, suggesting no enforced ceiling in current city practice.
Why the confidence is not higherTwo different documents point two different ways -- a codified county cap of uncertain reach, versus an apparently uncapped city fee-schedule structure and SolarAPP+ practice -- reported rather than resolved, per the pattern seen elsewhere in this survey (e.g. San Bruno).
county ordinance + city fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR_17.57.020DE
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 85% · adopting ordinance (county, incorporated by city)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code, adopted as the 'Kern County Building Code' by Ord. No. G-9359 (4 Nov 2025) and incorporated by reference into the City of Tehachapi's own Building Code effective 1 Jan 2026. 85% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), adopted as the 'Kern County Fire Code' by Ord. No. G-9359, effective 4 Nov 2025. 85% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · code TOC review
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as locally amended by Kern County (incorporated by reference into Tehachapi's own Building Code), plus the city's own 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System Permit Requirements' handout, which is itself still dated 2019 and cites the 2013 CEC and 2019 CRC in places. 78% · handout + adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Per the city's PV handout, citing 2019 CRC Sec. R331.4: no access/pathway points over windows or doors; one 3 ft wide pathway on or adjacent to panels on hip roofs; two 3 ft wide pathways adjacent to panels on single-ridge roofs; and panels no higher than 3 ft below the ridge on all roofs. 82% · department handout (dated)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, required as a matter of state law under the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC now in force) -- but the city's own PV Requirements handout never mentions rapid shutdown or NEC 690.12 anywhere in its 2 pages (control-checked: '690.12' 0 hits, 'rapid shutdown' 0 hits, 'anti-islanding'/'disconnect' both present, confirming the search worked). The handout is dated 2019 and cites 2013 CEC Article 690 for signage, predating the modern rapid-shutdown regime. 72% · department handout + code inference
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? A permanent plaque at the main service panel indicating a second power source is installed; required system labels and warnings per (the handout's cited) CEC Article 690 and CRC Sec. R331.2. 80% · department handout
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 72% · department handout, absence
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 72% · department handout, absence
- Where must the labels be placed? Main service panel (permanent second-power-source plaque and ungrounded-conductor disconnecting means) and at the inverter (AC/DC disconnects). 76% · department handout
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No 68% · department handout
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Permitted under the 2025 California Fire Code / 2023 NFPA 855 as locally amended by Kern County; Kern County Fire Department (Tehachapi's contract fire provider) charges a $290 'Stationary Energy Storage Systems Permit' (to install, alter or modify a stationary storage battery system or capacitor energy storage system) -- but neither KCFD's fee schedule nor the city's own Master Fee List states whether this line is scoped to residential or only commercial/tenant installations (KCFD's separate ground-mount PV standard is explicitly commercial-only, suggesting the agency's PV/ESS documents generally target non-residential scale). 62% · fire agency fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes, at the fire-agency level -- KCFD's $290 Stationary Energy Storage Systems Permit is separate from the city's own PV building permit; the City of Tehachapi's own Master Fee List has no distinct ESS/battery line, so at the city level ESS appears to ride the general building-permit process. 62% · fire agency fee schedule + city fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 62% · department handout
20 questions answered against City of Tehachapi’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherKern County Ordinance No. G-9359 (adopted 4 Nov 2025) adopted the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) as the 'Kern County Electrical Code,' and the City of Tehachapi's own building-code chapter (TMC 15.04.160) was re-amended effective 1 Jan 2026 to incorporate that same ordinance by reference. The 2025 CEC is based on the 2023 NEC (not stated verbatim as '2023 NEC' in the text, hence not full confidence).
adopting ordinance (county, incorporated by city) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.24ELCO_ARTIINAELCO_17.24.060CAELCODO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code, adopted as the 'Kern County Building Code' by Ord. No. G-9359 (4 Nov 2025) and incorporated by reference into the City of Tehachapi's own Building Code effective 1 Jan 2026.
Why the confidence is not higherSame wholesale-incorporation mechanism (TMC 15.04.160) verified for the Electrical and Fire Codes; the Building Code chapter (KCC 17.08) sits in the identical Title 17 enacted by the same Nov 2025 ordinance.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/tehachapi/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COBURE_ARTIIIBUCO_15.04.160ADUNCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), adopted as the 'Kern County Fire Code' by Ord. No. G-9359, effective 4 Nov 2025.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from Kern County Code Sec. 17.32.001; the City of Tehachapi's contract fire provider (Kern County Fire Dept.) enforces this county-level fire code within city limits per the city's own Building Department page.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO_17.32.001CAFICODO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherKern County's Title 17 (Building Regulations) contains dozens of numbered section-by-section local amendments to the base model codes (e.g. KCC 17.32.005-17.32.335 amending/adding/deleting specific CFC sections), all of which flow through into Tehachapi via the wholesale-incorporation clause.
code TOC review checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.32FICO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes as locally amended by Kern County (incorporated by reference into Tehachapi's own Building Code), plus the city's own 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System Permit Requirements' handout, which is itself still dated 2019 and cites the 2013 CEC and 2019 CRC in places.
Why the confidence is not higherThe current code cycle is established from the county/city adoption chain; the city's only dedicated solar handout has not been updated to match and still names older code sections for pathway/signage requirements -- a real internal lag, reported as found.
handout + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Requirements handout (4690), 'Guidelines for Residential Electrical Panel Upgrade' handout (OCR'd from DocumentCenter/View/3384, 2016), and Kern County Electrical Code TOC (KCC Ch. 17.24 section list) -- no local busbar/120%-rule amendment found; standard NEC 705.12 would apply by default without a local supplement.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Requirements handout (4690) -- requires the roof plan to show 'method of attachment' but specifies no particular mounting system or attachment spacing of its own.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Per the city's PV handout, citing 2019 CRC Sec. R331.4: no access/pathway points over windows or doors; one 3 ft wide pathway on or adjacent to panels on hip roofs; two 3 ft wide pathways adjacent to panels on single-ridge roofs; and panels no higher than 3 ft below the ridge on all roofs.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the city's own handout, though it cites the 2019 CRC edition, which is stale against the current 2025-cycle code adopted via TMC 15.04.160 -- flagged rather than silently updated.
department handout (dated) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, required as a matter of state law under the 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC now in force) -- but the city's own PV Requirements handout never mentions rapid shutdown or NEC 690.12 anywhere in its 2 pages (control-checked: '690.12' 0 hits, 'rapid shutdown' 0 hits, 'anti-islanding'/'disconnect' both present, confirming the search worked). The handout is dated 2019 and cites 2013 CEC Article 690 for signage, predating the modern rapid-shutdown regime.
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a state-code mandate that applies regardless of whether the local handout mentions it, but the city's own written guidance is silent/stale on it, which is itself a real, provable gap worth flagging rather than a straightforward 'yes.'
department handout + code inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
A permanent plaque at the main service panel indicating a second power source is installed; required system labels and warnings per (the handout's cited) CEC Article 690 and CRC Sec. R331.2.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the city's PV Requirements handout, page 1 item 3 and page 2 item 6(g); the code-year citations are stale (2013 CEC / 2019 CRC) against the current 2025-cycle code.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe handout points to code sections (CEC Art. 690, CRC R331.2) for signage content rather than specifying the city's own custom wording; a full read of the 2-page document found no verbatim placard text of the city's own.
department handout, absence checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo letter height, colour, or material specification appears anywhere in the city's PV handout; it only cross-references the state code sections that govern signage.
department handout, absence checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Requirements handout (4690, full 2 pages read) and Building Documents list (/338) -- no distinct facility-map/site-plan placard (705.10-style) requirement found separate from the general 'Site Plan' submittal item.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity business directory SCE listing and the linked 'Program 1.1 SCE Flyer' (DocumentCenter/View/8571, an SCE rebate/program document, not a DG interconnection placard spec) -- SCE's own Rule 21 / DG interconnection handbook was not retrieved this run.
https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/businessdirectoryii.aspx?bid=53
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Main service panel (permanent second-power-source plaque and ungrounded-conductor disconnecting means) and at the inverter (AC/DC disconnects).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines handout page 1 item 3 (main panel) and page 2 item 6(i) (inverter disconnects); no separate placard-location diagram was published.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe handout requires manufacturer spec sheets and UL listing documentation to be submitted with plans (standard code-required listing), but no city-maintained approved-equipment list was found.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Permitted under the 2025 California Fire Code / 2023 NFPA 855 as locally amended by Kern County; Kern County Fire Department (Tehachapi's contract fire provider) charges a $290 'Stationary Energy Storage Systems Permit' (to install, alter or modify a stationary storage battery system or capacitor energy storage system) -- but neither KCFD's fee schedule nor the city's own Master Fee List states whether this line is scoped to residential or only commercial/tenant installations (KCFD's separate ground-mount PV standard is explicitly commercial-only, suggesting the agency's PV/ESS documents generally target non-residential scale).
Why the confidence is not higherKCFD's fee schedule and ESS Application Guide were fetched and OCR'd/extracted directly; the residential-vs-commercial scope of the $290 ESS line specifically is not stated in the fee document itself, so this is reported with the caveat rather than asserted either way.
fire agency fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://kerncountyfire.org/wp-content/uploads/FeeSchedule-KCFD_2020_Updated_Webpage.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes, at the fire-agency level -- KCFD's $290 Stationary Energy Storage Systems Permit is separate from the city's own PV building permit; the City of Tehachapi's own Master Fee List has no distinct ESS/battery line, so at the city level ESS appears to ride the general building-permit process.
Why the confidence is not higherCross-checked the city's current fee schedule (no ESS line found) against KCFD's fee schedule (one ESS line found) -- a genuine split by agency rather than a single clean answer.
fire agency fee schedule + city fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://kerncountyfire.org/wp-content/uploads/FeeSchedule-KCFD_2020_Updated_Webpage.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's PV handout requires ground-mounted PV systems on a support system to have 'an engineered foundation design,' implying structural/foundation-permit treatment consistent with a structure, though the zoning code does not separately define a solar ground-mount as an accessory structure for setback/height purposes.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPV Requirements handout (4690) -- specifies inverter-side AC/DC disconnects but not a disconnect-to-meter placement rule; that is typically an SCE Rule 21/electric-service-requirements matter, not retrieved this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? 1 business day (24 hours) 88% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department handout
- If delegated, to whom? Kern County Fire Department 88% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Default two-inspection sequence: (1) mounting/flashing/bonding inspection -- all flashings and rail bonding must be uncovered and available -- followed by (2) electrical-system and smoke/CO-detector-location inspection and final approval once the system is complete; a single consolidated inspection is used where flashings/mounting are approved on first arrival and the inspector can continue directly to the electrical portion. 85% · department handout
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Yes 82% · department handout
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 82% · department handout
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and the permit itself must be on site for all inspections; all equipment, disconnects, taps and connections must be open and accessible (with a contact number/instructions provided if the installer must be present to grant access). 90% · department handout
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 80% · department handout
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 52% · comparable county ordinance (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $96 (billed in half-hour increments) 85% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? No dedicated solar 'corrections' process is published; the PV handout states that if the system is not complete/compliant at inspection, 'another inspection will be required' -- i.e. deficiencies are cleared by re-inspection rather than through a separate documented correction-notice process for active permits (a formal Notice of Violation / Notice and Order process exists in TMC Ch. 15.04 but is written for code-enforcement violations, not routine in-progress permit corrections). 58% · department handout
14 questions answered against City of Tehachapi’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Solar APP+ page instructs applicants to 'call (661) 822-2200, ext. 116 to request an inspection.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/502/Solar-APP-Instant-Solar-Permits
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day (24 hours)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building Department page: 'The City requires inspection requests at least 24 hours prior to the desired time.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/328/Building-Department
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Solar APP+ page and Building Department page -- neither mentions AM/PM inspection windows or same-day scheduling; only the 24-hour advance-notice rule and a phone number are given.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's PV handout describes the building department's own field inspector performing the mounting/electrical/final inspections ('...we will inspect the entire system in one inspection...'); this covers building/electrical. Fire-code sign-off, where triggered, is separately delegated to Kern County Fire.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Kern County Fire Department
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page names KCFD as the contract fire service provider whose compliance document is required before the city will issue any permit needing fire approval.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/328/Building-Department
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Default two-inspection sequence: (1) mounting/flashing/bonding inspection -- all flashings and rail bonding must be uncovered and available -- followed by (2) electrical-system and smoke/CO-detector-location inspection and final approval once the system is complete; a single consolidated inspection is used where flashings/mounting are approved on first arrival and the inspector can continue directly to the electrical portion.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the 'Inspections Requirements' section of the city's PV handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe handout's default path is two inspections, with the first covering mounting/flashing/bonding (a rough-in-equivalent) before the system may be covered or finalized; only a specific on-site condition allows consolidating it with the electrical/final inspection.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked'Inspections Requirements' section of the PV handout (4690) -- lists mounting/electrical/final inspection steps but does not explicitly state the inspector checks labels/equipment listings as a distinct step (equipment listing documentation is instead required at the application stage).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's dated 'Residential Solar Photovoltaic System Permit Requirements' handout functions as a published submittal-and-inspection checklist; SolarAPP+-track applicants must also upload a 'Solar APP+ Inspection Checklist' as part of the application.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved plans and the permit itself must be on site for all inspections; all equipment, disconnects, taps and connections must be open and accessible (with a contact number/instructions provided if the installer must be present to grant access).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the 'Inspections Requirements' section, items 2-3, of the city's PV handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$96 (billed in half-hour increments)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Master Fee List, Miscellaneous Fees: 'Reinspection (half hour increments) $96' -- a general city-wide re-inspection fee, not solar-specific, but the only applicable published figure.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/6556/Development-Services-Master-Fee-List-PDF
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
No dedicated solar 'corrections' process is published; the PV handout states that if the system is not complete/compliant at inspection, 'another inspection will be required' -- i.e. deficiencies are cleared by re-inspection rather than through a separate documented correction-notice process for active permits (a formal Notice of Violation / Notice and Order process exists in TMC Ch. 15.04 but is written for code-enforcement violations, not routine in-progress permit corrections).
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the handout's plain statement with the general (non-solar-specific) violation-notice chapter of the municipal code; no solar-specific corrections procedure was found.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherHandout: 'Final approval will be granted provided the system is complete and all panels are installed.'
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.liveuptehachapi.com/DocumentCenter/View/4690
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherNot stated on the city's own Solar APP+ page; inferred from Kern County's Sec. 65850.5 ordinance (KCC 17.57.040(E)), which states the applicant/installer is responsible for obtaining utility approval to interconnect, consistent with standard SCE Rule 21 practice. City-specific confirmation was not found.
comparable county ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/kern_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17BUCO_CH17.57SMREROSOENSYREPR_17.57.040PEREIN
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Tehachapi against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Tehachapi is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house City Building Department; TMC 15.04.040 defines "building official," "administrative authority," "plumbing official" and "chief electrical inspector" as all being the same city Building Inspector). Fire-code approval is contracted to the Kern County Fire Department.
- Delegated to
- Kern County Fire Department for fire-code approval/compliance on permits that require it (the city's own Building Department page states: "The contract fire service provider for the City of Tehachapi is the Kern County Fire Department... The City of Tehachapi will not issue a permit requiring fire approval until we receive the appropriate compliance document from Kern County."). Building/Electrical/Fire/Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy code TEXT itself is also wholesale-adopted by reference from Kern County's Ordinance Code (TMC 15.04.160 incorporates by reference Kern County Ordinance No. G-9359's Chapters 17.04 through 17.56, with future county amendments "automatically incorporated herein without further action of the city council").
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (expedited, fee-influenced residential solar review) and the AB 130 freeze (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) on new more-restrictive local residential amendments, 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031. Also notable: Kern County's own §65850.5 implementing ordinance, KCC Ch. 17.57 "Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System Review Process" (10 kW AC/30 kW thermal cap, single/duplex only, 1-3 business day review, one consolidated building+fire inspection), was added to county code in 2015 by Ord. G-8581 -- AFTER the fixed chapter list (17.04-17.56) that TMC 15.04.160 names as incorporated by reference. Chapter 17.57 is not in that enumerated list, so whether it applies inside city limits by the same wholesale-incorporation mechanism is a genuine, unresolved textual gap; the city instead runs SolarAPP+ directly through its own Building Department rather than pointing applicants to KCC 17.57.
- Why not higher
- Multiple first-party City documents (Building Department page, Development Services page, PV Requirements handout) state the City self-performs Building/Electrical review and issuance and separately identify Kern County Fire as the contracted fire authority. The wholesale county-code-adoption mechanism and the KCC 17.57 gap were confirmed directly from Municode's API for both the City of Tehachapi (clientId 4598, productId 16648) and Kern County (clientId 6459, productId 16251) code databases, not inferred.
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- $287 flat for a single-family system up to 9 kW, plus $10 per additional kW, plus a separate $193 plan-review fee;90%
- Plan review
- SolarAPP+-eligible systems: automatic/instant permit issuance once SolarAPP+ approval documents and fees are submitted.70%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Access (aca-prod.accela.com/TEHACHAPI), used together with SolarAPP+ for eligible rooftop retrofit systems.95%
- Electrical code
- 202385%
- Own placard wording
- No72%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 72%
No
Size, colour & material 72%
No
Where they go 76%
Main service panel (permanent second-power-source plaque and ungrounded-conductor disconnecting means) and at the inverter (AC/DC disconnects).
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.