City of Thousand Oaks
Ventura County
City of Thousand Oaks is a city authority in the State of California, serving 126,966 residents. 5,215 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — TO/24 (Virtual Land Use Service) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- $450 base (Single-Family Residential, roof- or ground-mounted, up to 15kW) + $15 per additional kW above 15kW. SolarAPP+ permits are $206 flat.95% source
- Key document
- authority's own page (by reference to state guidebook) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · authority's own page + department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · authority's own page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 80% · permit application form
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 90% · inference (absence of a CA regulatory category)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 70% · authority's own page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No stated cap on system size; 38.4kW AC is only the eligibility threshold for the expedited SolarAPP+ pathway, not a limit on system size -- systems 38.5kW AC or larger, and all ground-mounted/carport/commercial systems, still qualify for a Standard Permit at any size. 85% · authority's own page
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 90% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 70% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 95% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Solar PV Permit Application (combined building/electrical form) plus 'plans, specifications, and calculations, if needed' per the Building Division page; digital plan set uploaded through the TO/24 portal (mandatory since 1 Sep 2025). No separate published solar-specific checklist beyond the application form and the Solar PV Systems webpage guidance. 70% · authority's own page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only, uploaded via the TO/24 portal 90% · authority's own page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan is required for solar-related permits; for a reroof-with-existing-solar electrical permit the City specifically requires a 'Site plan showing the existing roof layout.' The general new-install submittal package is not separately itemized beyond the Solar PV Permit Application and 'plans, specifications, and calculations, if needed.' 65% · authority's own page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 55% · authority's own page (by reference to state guidebook)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? TO/24 (Virtual Land Use Service) 97% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 base (Single-Family Residential, roof- or ground-mounted, up to 15kW) + $15 per additional kW above 15kW. SolarAPP+ permits are $206 flat. 95% · published fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered (flat base fee up to 15kW, then per-additional-kW above that threshold) 95% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · published fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · authority's own page (utility identification)
28 questions answered against City of Thousand Oaks’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Thousand Oaks Building & Safety Division states plainly that 'Installing solar panels on a new or existing building requires a permit from the City of Thousand Oaks Building & Safety Division,' and issues the permit itself via its TO/24 portal.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division issues a combined Solar PV Permit covering both building and electrical scope. However, fire plan review/inspection (and a separate Energy Storage Systems operational permit) is performed independently by the Ventura County Fire Protection District, which the City 'contracts... fire services from' per its Public Safety page -- this is not a City delegation of its own permit but a separate statutory fire authority reviewing in parallel (confirmed live in a TO/24 permit record showing a 'VC FIRE DISTRICT REVIEW' workflow step).
authority's own page + department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=publicsafety
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Systems page: 'Installing solar panels on a new or existing building requires a permit from the City of Thousand Oaks Building & Safety Division.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Solar PV Permit Application form is a single combined application covering PV system size, inverters, sub-panels, service upgrades and EV chargers on one form; the Master Fee Schedule likewise prices 'Solar / Photovoltaic' as one line item under Electrical Permit Fees rather than issuing a separate electrical permit.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Solar%20Permit%20Form_1724444685.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Permit Application includes both a 'California Licensed Contractor's Declaration' and an 'Owner-Builder's Declaration,' and the permit may be issued 'in the name of the Licensed Contractor or the Property Owner.'
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Solar%20Permit%20Form_1724444685.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Permit Application requires a 'City Business License No.' field for the contractor, indicating the contractor must hold a City business license before applying. Dated 2024 (filename timestamp) but still the live linked form as of this check.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Solar%20Permit%20Form_1724444685.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permit Application's Owner-Builder's Declaration explicitly allows 'I, as owner of the property, or my employees... will do all or portions of the work,' i.e. self-install/self-permit under CA B&P Code Sec. 7044 exemption language reproduced on the form.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Solar%20Permit%20Form_1724444685.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Solar PV Permit Application (combined building/electrical form) plus 'plans, specifications, and calculations, if needed' per the Building Division page; digital plan set uploaded through the TO/24 portal (mandatory since 1 Sep 2025). No separate published solar-specific checklist beyond the application form and the Solar PV Systems webpage guidance.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page lists 'Small Solar PV with plans, specifications, and calculations, if needed' among its listed permit types; combined with the Solar PV Systems page and the Solar Permit Form itself. No distinct multi-page 'submittal checklist' PDF was found separate from the application form.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=building
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only, uploaded via the TO/24 portal
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Starting September 1, 2025, the Building Division will only accept digital plans with permit applications. Electronic submittals must be uploaded through the TO/24 portal under the appropriate permit type.' No copy count applies to digital submittal.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=building
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan is required for solar-related permits; for a reroof-with-existing-solar electrical permit the City specifically requires a 'Site plan showing the existing roof layout.' The general new-install submittal package is not separately itemized beyond the Solar PV Permit Application and 'plans, specifications, and calculations, if needed.'
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Systems page 'Re-Roofing a Building that has Solar Panels' section explicitly lists a site plan showing existing roof layout as a required document; no equivalent explicit site-plan checklist item was found for a new roof-mount install beyond the general 'plans, specifications, and calculations' language.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly itemized by the City's own solar page or permit form, but the page directs applicants to 'The State of California Solar Permit Guidebook,' whose standard checklist (which the City references as the basis for 'necessary documentation') requires a one-line diagram for all PV submittals. Inferred from that reference rather than a City-published checklist naming the diagram directly.
authority's own page (by reference to state guidebook) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page, Solar Permit Application form, Building Handouts list -- none itemize string/conductor calculation requirements separately from the general 'plans, specifications, and calculations' language
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page, Solar Permit Application form, Structural Observation Reporting Form handout -- none state a structural PE stamp threshold specific to solar
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page, Solar Permit Application form, Electrical Service Load Calculations handout -- none state an electrical PE stamp threshold specific to solar
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 base (Single-Family Residential, roof- or ground-mounted, up to 15kW) + $15 per additional kW above 15kW. SolarAPP+ permits are $206 flat.
Why the confidence is not higherAdopted Citywide User Fee Schedule (FY 2025-26 and FY 2026-27, effective 7-1-25), 'Solar / Photovoltaic' line items under Electrical Permit Fees, cited to GOV Section 66015(a). Document is the current adopted schedule per the City's own Budget page.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Final%20Thousand%20Oaks%20FY25%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20-%20RR%207-1-25%20-%20For%20Web_1751382098.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered (flat base fee up to 15kW, then per-additional-kW above that threshold)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule: 'Single-Family Residential... 15kW or Less: Base $450... Each Additional kW Above 15kW: $15,' i.e. a base-plus-per-kW tiered structure.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Final%20Thousand%20Oaks%20FY25%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20-%20RR%207-1-25%20-%20For%20Web_1751382098.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule prices solar/PV as a single flat/tiered permit fee under Electrical Permit Fees rather than listing it under the separate 'Plan Review Fees' section (which uses an 85%-of-permit-fee formula for other trades); no distinct solar plan-check line item appears, implying plan review is bundled into the solar permit fee.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Final%20Thousand%20Oaks%20FY25%20Master%20Fee%20Schedule%20-%20RR%207-1-25%20-%20For%20Web_1751382098.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, TO/24 landing page, Solar PV Systems page -- none state a specific plan-review turnaround time in business days
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permit Application, 'Permit Extension/Reinstatement Request Form' handout title confirms permits can expire but the City's own pages do not state the specific validity period (e.g. 180 days) applicable to a solar permit; TOMC Title 8 text itself was unreachable (amlegal.com Cloudflare-blocks all fetch methods)
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
TO/24 (Virtual Land Use Service)
Why the confidence is not higherTO/24 landing page: 'TO/24 is the City's new enhanced and integrated virtual service system... submit applications, seek permits and approvals, initiate and execute plan checks, schedule inspections, view statuses and results, make payments...'
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=to24
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTO/24 page confirms online submission of permit applications, digital plan upload, online plan check, online inspection scheduling and online payment; both the Standard Permit and SolarAPP+ pathways are applied for 'with the City of Thousand Oaks TO/24 online services.'
portal checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=to24
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Thousand Oaks Utility Assistance Program page (a City-side source, not a ZIP-code lookup) requires proof of CARE-program eligibility 'with Southern California Edison (SCE) or Southern California Gas (SCG)' for city utility-bill assistance, confirming SCE as the electric utility serving Thousand Oaks residents. Thousand Oaks has no municipal electric utility.
authority's own page (utility identification) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=utilityassistance
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own Rule 21 interconnection page describes an Accelerated PTO process and the $800 interconnection application fee but does not state whether interconnection review runs before, after, or parallel to City permit issuance; SCE's actual Rule 21 tariff document and Interconnection Handbook are both hosted as gated edisonintl.sharepoint.com links (require Microsoft login) and could not be fetched, including via Wayback capture
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page and Building Handouts list -- neither mentions an HOA or architectural-review precondition to permit issuance (CA Civil Code Sec 714 limits HOA authority to block solar, which may explain the silence, but the City does not say so explicitly)
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page, Zoning Code Update page, Planning Division pages -- no historic-district review requirement for solar found; Thousand Oaks' current published planning pages do not reference a historic-district overlay process
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWind/windstorm certification (e.g. a Texas Department of Insurance-style windstorm cert) is not a California regulatory category; California instead addresses wind/seismic loading through structural engineering provisions of the California Building Code, not a separate windstorm certificate. No Thousand Oaks or VCFD document references a windstorm certification for solar.
inference (absence of a CA regulatory category) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar PV Systems page describes only two permit pathways for residential PV -- 'Standard Solar Photovoltaic (PV) Permit' and the SolarApp+ pre-approved pathway -- with no mention of a Specific Use Permit, conditional use permit, or City Council approval step for a residential rooftop or ground-mount system.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No stated cap on system size; 38.4kW AC is only the eligibility threshold for the expedited SolarAPP+ pathway, not a limit on system size -- systems 38.5kW AC or larger, and all ground-mounted/carport/commercial systems, still qualify for a Standard Permit at any size.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Systems page 'Type of Solar Permit Needed' table: '1-38.4 Kilowatts (A/C): State Solar Permit (New SolarApp+)... 38.5 Kilowatts (A/C) or more: Standard Permit,' explicitly a permit-pathway threshold, not a generation cap.
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle) 60% · adopting ordinance (fire) + statewide cycle inference
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (statewide cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026) 60% · adjacent adopting ordinance + statewide cycle inference
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (with Ventura County Fire Protection District local amendments), together with Appendix Chapters D and P, portions of the 2024 IFC, the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code, and Title 19 CCR 95% · adopting ordinance (fire)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · adopting ordinance (fire) + authority's own page (building)
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Code, California Residential Code, and California Electrical Code (as locally amended by TOMC Title 8 Sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25 and 8-7.06 for fire-rated roofing/racking), plus the Ventura County Fire Code (2025 CFC as locally amended by VCFD Ordinance 34) for fire-related aspects. 75% · authority's own page + adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? For ground-mounted arrays, VCFD Ordinance 34 Sec. 604.7.4 sets specific clearances: 10 ft around panel clusters up to 1,500 sq ft of combined panel area, 30 ft for larger clusters, 20 ft between clusters, and clusters must be 30 ft from any building unless standard building clearance (Sec. 604) is otherwise provided. For rooftop arrays, the ordinance's list of local amendments does not modify a rooftop access-pathway/ridge-setback section, so the unamended base 2025 California Fire Code pathway/ridge-setback provisions apply without local modification (base CFC text itself was not independently fetched to confirm the specific pathway dimensions). 65% · adopting ordinance (fire), with absence proven by in-run control
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as adopted into the California Electrical Code; the City's own Solar PV Systems page does not restate the rapid-shutdown requirement or cite a specific NEC edition, so the edition (2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC cycle) is inferred from the statewide adoption cycle rather than a Thousand Oaks-specific statement. 55% · inference from statewide code cycle; not stated by the authority directly
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Thousand Oaks on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted subject to fire-code review: VCFD's own fee schedule lists a residential-specific 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee ($352), a Planning/New-Construction ESS plan-review fee ($572/$704), and an ESS operational fire-code permit ($704), confirming ESS installations receive independent VCFD fire-code review. The City's own Solar PV Permit Application form captures battery data (Number of Batteries, kW Battery Size) on the same combined solar/electrical application. No local fire-code amendment specific to ESS chapter provisions was found beyond the ground-mount PV vegetation-control amendment (Sec. 1205.5.1), i.e. base 2025 CFC Chapter 12 ESS provisions apply. 80% · fee schedule + permit application form
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes -- VCFD requires a separate Energy Storage Systems operational fire-code permit and plan review (with its own fees), independent of the City's building/electrical solar permit, for residential ESS installations. 80% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Effectively yes -- ground-mounted PV arrays are treated as separate installations subject to their own clearance/setback regime rather than being folded into a building's standard footprint: VCFD Ordinance 34 imposes specific array-to-building and array-to-array clearances (10-30 ft) on 'freestanding photovoltaic systems,' and the City's own Solar PV Systems page requires ground-mounted, ballasted and carport systems to use the Standard (not expedited SolarAPP+) permit process, implying a higher/structure-like level of review. 65% · adopting ordinance (fire) + authority's own page
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes -- roofs and racking systems for solar arrays must be fire-rated Class A, including the racking system itself, in accordance with UL1703 as locally amended in the California Building Code and Residential Code (TOMC Sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25, 8-7.06). 90% · authority's own page
20 questions answered against City of Thousand Oaks’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherCalifornia's triennial Title 24 cycle publishes the new code editions with a mandatory statewide effective date of 1 Jan 2026 for the 2025 cycle (which adopts the 2023 NEC into the CEC); Ventura County Fire Protection District's own Ordinance 34 (adopting the 2025 California Fire Code) confirms the region is on the 2025 cycle. No Thousand Oaks-specific page was found stating the electrical code edition directly, so this is inferred from the statewide adoption schedule rather than a city document.
adopting ordinance (fire) + statewide cycle inference checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (statewide cycle, effective 1 Jan 2026)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Thousand Oaks page states the building code edition directly; inferred from the statewide Title 24 triennial cycle (2025 cycle effective 1/1/2026) and corroborated by VCFD Ordinance 34's adoption of the concurrent 2025 California Fire Code for the same jurisdictional area.
adjacent adopting ordinance + statewide cycle inference checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (with Ventura County Fire Protection District local amendments), together with Appendix Chapters D and P, portions of the 2024 IFC, the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code, and Title 19 CCR
Why the confidence is not higherVentura County Fire Protection District Ordinance No. 34, Article 1: 'adopting by reference the 2025 California Fire Code together with Appendix Chapters D and P... adopted by reference as the Ventura County Fire Code.' VCFD is confirmed as the fire authority for Thousand Oaks (City 'contracts... fire services from the County of Ventura').
adopting ordinance (fire) checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTwo confirmed sets of local amendments: (1) VCFD Ordinance 34 amends fire code Sections 903, 604.7 (adds 604.7.2-604.7.5, including a photovoltaic-specific clearance section 604.7.4), 1205.5.1 (PV vegetation control), and Article 4 Section 604.11; (2) the City's own Solar PV Systems page cites Thousand Oaks Municipal Code building/residential code amendment sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25 and 8-7.06 requiring Class A fire-rated roofing/racking per UL1703 'as locally amended.'
adopting ordinance (fire) + authority's own page (building) checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Code, California Residential Code, and California Electrical Code (as locally amended by TOMC Title 8 Sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25 and 8-7.06 for fire-rated roofing/racking), plus the Ventura County Fire Code (2025 CFC as locally amended by VCFD Ordinance 34) for fire-related aspects.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Systems page cites 'the City of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code' Building/Residential Code sections 8-1.14/8-1.25/8-7.06 and 'UL1703 as locally amended in the California Building Code and Residential Code'; VCFD Ordinance 34 supplies the fire-code side.
authority's own page + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar Permit Application, Electrical Service Load Calculations handout, Building Division page -- no explicit local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing (e.g. 120% rule) beyond the standard California Electrical Code was found published by the City
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes -- roofs and racking systems for solar arrays must be fire-rated Class A, including the racking system itself, in accordance with UL1703 as locally amended in the California Building Code and Residential Code (TOMC Sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25, 8-7.06).
Why the confidence is not higherSolar PV Systems page, 'General Requirements': 'The City of Thousand Oaks Municipal Code requires all roofs and Solar systems to be fire-rated Class A, including the racking system, in accordance with UL1703 as locally amended in the California Building Code and Residential Code sections 8-1.14, 8-1.25, and 8-7.06.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
For ground-mounted arrays, VCFD Ordinance 34 Sec. 604.7.4 sets specific clearances: 10 ft around panel clusters up to 1,500 sq ft of combined panel area, 30 ft for larger clusters, 20 ft between clusters, and clusters must be 30 ft from any building unless standard building clearance (Sec. 604) is otherwise provided. For rooftop arrays, the ordinance's list of local amendments does not modify a rooftop access-pathway/ridge-setback section, so the unamended base 2025 California Fire Code pathway/ridge-setback provisions apply without local modification (base CFC text itself was not independently fetched to confirm the specific pathway dimensions).
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD Ordinance 34, Sections 604.7.2-604.7.5 (ground-mount clearances) and Section 1205.5.1; searched the full ordinance text for 'pathway,' 'ridge,' and roof-access terms with no rooftop-PV-specific hits (positive control 'electrical' = 8 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, confirming the search itself was working).
adopting ordinance (fire), with absence proven by in-run control checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required per NEC 690.12 as adopted into the California Electrical Code; the City's own Solar PV Systems page does not restate the rapid-shutdown requirement or cite a specific NEC edition, so the edition (2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC cycle) is inferred from the statewide adoption cycle rather than a Thousand Oaks-specific statement.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Thousand Oaks page or handout mentions 'rapid shutdown' by name; inferred from standard NEC 690.12 applicability under the statewide code cycle referenced in Q29/Q30.
inference from statewide code cycle; not stated by the authority directly checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=solarsystems
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page, Building Handouts list, Solar Permit Application form, VCFD Ordinance 34 (searched for 'placard' and 'label' -- zero hits with working positive/fabricated controls) -- no City- or VCFD-published placard specification found beyond what the base (unamended) 2025 CFC/CEC would require
https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no City- or VCFD-specified placard wording found
https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no City- or VCFD-specified letter height, colour, or material found
https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page and Building Handouts do not publish a facility-map/site-plan placard specification beyond the general site-plan submittal requirement noted at Q10
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Rule 21 interconnection page references its 'Electrical Service Requirements (ESR) manual' and 'Interconnection Handbook' as the sources for placard/marking specifications, but both are hosted as edisonintl.sharepoint.com links requiring a Microsoft login and could not be fetched (confirmed dead-end in both the live page and via the known SharePoint gating noted for this utility)
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City, VCFD, or reachable SCE document specifies label placement locations for a residential PV system beyond the standard, unamended NEC/CFC requirements
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar PV Systems page and Solar Permit Application form -- no published equipment approved-list requirement found for residential PV beyond SCE's own approved-inverter list referenced for interconnection purposes (a utility, not AHJ, requirement)
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted subject to fire-code review: VCFD's own fee schedule lists a residential-specific 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee ($352), a Planning/New-Construction ESS plan-review fee ($572/$704), and an ESS operational fire-code permit ($704), confirming ESS installations receive independent VCFD fire-code review. The City's own Solar PV Permit Application form captures battery data (Number of Batteries, kW Battery Size) on the same combined solar/electrical application. No local fire-code amendment specific to ESS chapter provisions was found beyond the ground-mount PV vegetation-control amendment (Sec. 1205.5.1), i.e. base 2025 CFC Chapter 12 ESS provisions apply.
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD Fee Schedule FY2026-27 line items ('Energy Storage Systems' $572 plan review, $704 fire code permit, 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' $352); Solar PV Permit Application battery fields; VCFD Ordinance 34 Chapter 12 text (only one amendment, unrelated to ESS specifically).
fee schedule + permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes -- VCFD requires a separate Energy Storage Systems operational fire-code permit and plan review (with its own fees), independent of the City's building/electrical solar permit, for residential ESS installations.
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD Fee Schedule FY2026-27: 'Energy Storage Systems' listed separately under both 'Planning, New Construction, and Building Plan Reviews' ($572) and 'Fire Code Permits / Operational Fire Code Permits' ($704), plus a residential-specific 'Energy Storage Systems - UL9450A Test Review (Residential Only)' fee ($352) under Miscellaneous Fees and Reviews.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2026/06/Fee-Schedule-2026-2027.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Effectively yes -- ground-mounted PV arrays are treated as separate installations subject to their own clearance/setback regime rather than being folded into a building's standard footprint: VCFD Ordinance 34 imposes specific array-to-building and array-to-array clearances (10-30 ft) on 'freestanding photovoltaic systems,' and the City's own Solar PV Systems page requires ground-mounted, ballasted and carport systems to use the Standard (not expedited SolarAPP+) permit process, implying a higher/structure-like level of review.
Why the confidence is not higherVCFD Ordinance 34 Sec. 604.7.4 ('Photovoltaic systems' clearance requirements for freestanding arrays); Solar PV Systems page 'Ballasted, ground-mounted, and carport systems require a standard solar permit... and are not eligible for the SolarAPP+ permit type.' No City document explicitly uses the word 'structure' for ground-mount racking.
adopting ordinance (fire) + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://s48417.pcdn.co/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Ordinance-34.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's Rule 21 interconnection page does not state AC-disconnect-to-meter placement; SCE's Electrical Service Requirements (ESR) manual, which would normally answer this, is hosted only as an edisonintl.sharepoint.com link requiring Microsoft login and could not be fetched (confirmed both live and via the pattern noted for this utility's gated documents)
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 90% · authority's own page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not same-day/AM-PM windows in the traditional sense; the City instead publishes a daily 'Estimated Inspection Arrival Window' per scheduled inspection, updated by 8:00 AM the day of inspection, viewable on the TO/24 portal. 75% · authority's own page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page / official inspection card
- If delegated, to whom? Fire-related aspects (fire sprinklers, general fire/life-safety sign-off, and ESS operational permit inspection) are delegated to/held independently by the Ventura County Fire Protection District, contacted directly at (805) 389-9744/9738 for those specific inspections; building/electrical/solar (PV) inspections are performed by the City itself. 85% · department page / official inspection card
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a residential rooftop PV installation, the City's Inspection Card lists (in order under Electrical Inspections) 'Electric Solar Rough' followed by 'Electrical Meter Release' as applicable, then under Final Inspections 'Final Solar (PV)' and 'Final Electric.' Fire-related final sign-offs ('Final Fire Sprinklers,' 'Fire Life Safety') are requested separately from VCFD where applicable. 75% · official inspection card
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Yes 85% · official inspection card
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved permit copy must remain on the construction site at all times; the Solar PV Permit Application/Combination Permit itself also requires the owner/agent to 'ensure that the work remains visible and accessible for inspection purposes' per CBC Sec. 110.1/CRC Sec. R109.3. 85% · official inspection card + authority's own page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes (by standard practice) 55% · inference from official inspection card + standard code practice
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 70% · official inspection card
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Applicant 65% · utility's own page
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are tracked and communicated through the TO/24 portal, where applicants can 'review status, submit plans, and make necessary corrections' and view 'Plan Statuses and Definitions.' No separate written correction-notice process specific to solar was found. 60% · portal / department page
14 questions answered against City of Thousand Oaks’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherTO/24 portal's 'Request Inspection' tool ('Click here to request an inspection on an existing record') is the City's stated inspection-booking mechanism; Building Division page states 'Inspections can now only be scheduled through your TO/24 portal.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=building
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTO/24 'How to Schedule an Inspection' guide states inspection requests may be made up to 10 days in advance but does not state a minimum notice period required before an inspection date; Building Division and TO/24 pages likewise do not state a minimum-notice figure
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Not same-day/AM-PM windows in the traditional sense; the City instead publishes a daily 'Estimated Inspection Arrival Window' per scheduled inspection, updated by 8:00 AM the day of inspection, viewable on the TO/24 portal.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Find Your Inspection Time Window -- View your Estimated Inspection Arrival Window on your TO/24 portal.' TO/24 page: 'Inspection times are updated daily by 8:00 AM.'
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=building
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Inspection Card (2025-07) lists 'Electric Solar Rough' and 'Final Solar (PV)' as City-performed Building/Electrical inspection stages, distinct from the fire-specific 'Final Fire Sprinklers*' and 'Fire Life Safety*' rows which are separately marked '*Contact Ventura County Fire Department.' The City performs its own final electrical/solar inspection; fire-code aspects are inspected by VCFD in parallel.
department page / official inspection card checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Fire-related aspects (fire sprinklers, general fire/life-safety sign-off, and ESS operational permit inspection) are delegated to/held independently by the Ventura County Fire Protection District, contacted directly at (805) 389-9744/9738 for those specific inspections; building/electrical/solar (PV) inspections are performed by the City itself.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Card 2025-07: 'Final Fire Sprinklers*' and 'Fire Life Safety*' rows marked '*Contact Ventura County Fire Department at (805) 389-9738'; VCFD Fee Schedule confirms VCFD's own ESS and fire-protection-system inspection fee lines.
department page / official inspection card checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a residential rooftop PV installation, the City's Inspection Card lists (in order under Electrical Inspections) 'Electric Solar Rough' followed by 'Electrical Meter Release' as applicable, then under Final Inspections 'Final Solar (PV)' and 'Final Electric.' Fire-related final sign-offs ('Final Fire Sprinklers,' 'Fire Life Safety') are requested separately from VCFD where applicable.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Card 2025-07 (official City form) lists these named inspection types grouped under Electrical Inspections and Final Inspections columns.
official inspection card checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Card 2025-07 lists 'Electric Solar Rough' as a distinct row under Electrical Inspections, separate from 'Final Solar (PV)' under Final Inspections, confirming a rough-in inspection stage precedes the final.
official inspection card checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes (by standard practice)
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly stated as a checklist item on any City page found, but is implicit in the 'Final Solar (PV)' inspection stage on the official Inspection Card and standard California Building/Electrical Code final-inspection practice (verification of listed equipment/labeling is a routine part of any electrical final). No City document was found that spells this out explicitly.
inference from official inspection card + standard code practice checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, Building Handouts list, Solar PV Systems page -- no published solar-specific inspection checklist (beyond the generic Inspection Card listing inspection-type names) was found
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved permit copy must remain on the construction site at all times; the Solar PV Permit Application/Combination Permit itself also requires the owner/agent to 'ensure that the work remains visible and accessible for inspection purposes' per CBC Sec. 110.1/CRC Sec. R109.3.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Card 2025-07 footer: 'PERMIT COPY IS TO REMAIN ON CONSTRUCTION SITE AT ALL TIMES.' Solar PV Systems page SolarAPP+ disclaimer section cites the same code sections for site accessibility.
official inspection card + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule (City) and VCFD Fee Schedule FY2026-27 were both searched for a line item labelled 're-inspection fee' for residential solar/building work; neither publishes one by that name (the City schedule has only a generic 'Inspection' hourly rate of $168/hr with no stated linkage to re-inspections specifically)
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are tracked and communicated through the TO/24 portal, where applicants can 'review status, submit plans, and make necessary corrections' and view 'Plan Statuses and Definitions.' No separate written correction-notice process specific to solar was found.
Why the confidence is not higherTO/24 landing page: 'Allows applicants to review status, submit plans, and make necessary corrections,' and lists a 'How to Read Plan Statuses and Definitions' user guide.
portal / department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.toaks.gov/index.php?section=to24
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Card 2025-07 lists 'Final Solar (PV)' and 'Final Permit' as the concluding inspection line items for a solar job; the City's Solar PV Systems / Certificate of Occupancy pages distinguish this from a full Certificate of Occupancy (which applies to new buildings/occupancy changes, not typically a PV retrofit on an existing single-family home).
official inspection card checked 2026-08-30 https://toaks.gov/corecode/storage/uber_resource/uploaded_pdfs/Inspection%20Card%202025-07_1755017971.pdf
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/Applicant
Why the confidence is not higherSCE's Rule 21 interconnection page describes the applicant submitting the Interconnection Request package (single-line diagrams, site plans, application fee) directly to SCE via the Grid Interconnection Processing Tool or email to Rule21@sce.com, and describes an 'Accelerated Permission-To-Operate (PTO) Process' the applicant can pursue -- i.e. the installer/customer, not the City, initiates and drives the SCE interconnection/PTO process. SCE's own detailed Rule 21 tariff (which would state this more formally) is SharePoint-gated and could not be fetched to confirm verbatim.
utility's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.sce.com/business/smart-energy-solar/solar-for-business/grid-interconnections/interconnecting-generation-under-rule-21
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Thousand Oaks against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Thousand Oaks is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical
- Overridden by
- Fire-code review, inspection, and a separate Energy Storage Systems operational permit are held independently by the Ventura County Fire Protection District (VCFD), not delegated by the City -- the City's own Public Safety page states it 'contracts police and fire services from the County of Ventura,' its 'Fire Department' link on toaks.gov goes directly to vcfd.org, and a real TO/24 permit record for a residential Tesla Energy Storage System shows a distinct 'VC FIRE DISTRICT REVIEW' workflow step run in parallel with the City's own building/electrical review.
- Why not higher
- City of Thousand Oaks Building & Safety Division issues the combined building/electrical Solar PV Permit and performs its own final electrical/solar (PV) inspection per the official Inspection Card, confirming it is the AHJ for the building/electrical scope of residential rooftop and ground-mount solar. Fire-code aspects (Class A roofing/racking, ground-mount PV clearances, ESS permitting/inspection, fire sprinklers/life-safety sign-off) sit with VCFD, a special district serving Thousand Oaks and several other Ventura County cities, confirmed via VCFD Ordinance 34's local fire-code amendments and the VCFD fee schedule's residential ESS-specific line items.
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- $450 base (Single-Family Residential, roof- or ground-mounted, up to 15kW) + $15 per additional kW above 15kW. SolarAPP+ permits are $206 flat.95%
- Portal
- TO/24 (Virtual Land Use Service)97%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, part of the statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle)60%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.