City of Trinidad
Humboldt County
City of Trinidad is a city authority in the State of California, serving 307 residents. 168 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — None -- no online permitting portal exists. Applications are processed on paper through City Hall. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- What it costs
- $150 flat (photovoltaic); the parallel line for 'Hot Water' systems on the same form has no dollar figure filled in.70% source
- Key document
- published permit application (PDF), dated 2008 cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · published permit application (PDF)
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 85% · published permit application (PDF)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No local (governmental) HOA/architectural-committee referral requirement was found in the zoning code -- but note that the City's own Planning Commission performs a mandatory Design Review (TMC 17.60) that functions similarly to an architectural review unless the installation is small enough to be Coastal-Development-Permit-exempt (see Q27/Q28). 65% · ordinance (absence checked) + related finding
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, in a narrow, location-based sense 70% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · ordinance (absence checked)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, in effect: any residential rooftop PV installation whose fixed solar panels exceed 180 square feet (TMC 17.72.070(C)(2)(i)) is NOT exempt from Coastal Development Permit review, and (per TMC 17.60.030) also loses its Design Review exemption. That CDP is folded into the building-permit approval, is decided at the City level (Planning Commission/City Hall), is appealable to the City Council, and -- in the state-mapped appealable zone (roughly: seaward of the first public road, within 300 ft of the beach/bluff, or within 100 ft of a wetland/stream) -- is further appealable to the California Coastal Commission. 85% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No cap on system output/capacity, but a codified 180-square-foot fixed-solar-panel AREA threshold (TMC 17.72.070(C)(2)(i)) determines whether the installation is exempt from discretionary Coastal Development Permit/Design Review. A typical modern residential rooftop array (a 6 kW system runs roughly 300-450 sq ft of panels) exceeds 180 sq ft and therefore falls outside the exemption -- see jurisdiction.overridden_by and Q27. 85% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 55% · published permit application (PDF)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 80% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · published permit application (PDF), inference
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the City's one-page 'Solar Installation Permit Application': applicant, buyer and project-site-address fields; system type (Photovoltaic or Hot Water) with panel count and capacity per panel; installer certificate number if applicable; total project cost; plus three required attachments -- (1) all manufacturer instruction/installation manuals for equipment (panels, inverters, etc.), (2) a schematic drawing showing electrical design, amperage, grounding, and wire size/type and how the system interfaces with any existing system, and (3) an exterior plot plan for design review showing the septic-system location and how equipment will be anchored to its supporting structure. 90% · published permit application (PDF)
- How many copies, and in what format? Paper application submitted at/mailed to City Hall; no stated number of copies. There is no online permitting portal -- the site's own '/portal' page renders with no content, and the Building Official's page directs applicants to call City Hall (707-677-0223) to arrange plan check/inspection. 55% · department page (absence checked) + published permit application
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- an 'exterior plot plan for design review, including location of septic system, and explanation of how equipment will be anchored to supporting structures.' 90% · published permit application (PDF)
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes -- 'schematic drawing showing plumbing plans, electrical design, amperage, grounding, size and type of wiring and how project will interface with any existing systems.' 80% · published permit application (PDF)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? None -- no online permitting portal exists. Applications are processed on paper through City Hall. 85% · department page (absence checked)
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 85% · department page (absence checked)
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $150 flat (photovoltaic); the parallel line for 'Hot Water' systems on the same form has no dollar figure filled in. 70% · published permit application (PDF), dated 2008
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 70% · published permit application (PDF)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 120 days to commence work from permit issuance (or the permit becomes null and void); a suspended/abandoned permit may be renewed within one year at half the original fee if plans are unchanged. 80% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 75% · CCA program page + inference from statewide CCA structure
28 questions answered against City of Trinidad’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Planning & Building Services page states the city issues both planning/building approvals for the address; confirmed the county is not the AHJ inside city limits.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/planning-building-services
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe City issues one combined Solar Installation Permit Application covering both building and electrical scope for the address. However, both the Building function and the Planning function are staffed entirely by outside contractors per the department page's own wording ('The City of Trinidad contracts for its Planning functions'... 'contracts for its Building functions') -- legal jurisdiction and issuance stay with the City, so 'Both' is the closest fit, with delegation noted as a staffing fact rather than a jurisdictional one.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/planning-building-services
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherA dedicated 'Solar Installation Permit Application' form is published and is the operative document for residential PV; TMC 15.04.060's work-exempt-from-permit list does not include solar, so a permit is required.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Solar Installation Permit Application' is a single one-page form and fee covering the photovoltaic (or solar hot water) installation as a whole -- no separate electrical-permit line or process was found anywhere on the city's site or in its fee schedule.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe application asks for a 'Manufacturers installer certificate # (if appropriate)' -- phrasing that contemplates both a certified/licensed installer and a case where no such certificate applies (i.e., an owner or uncertified installer). No separate city statement restricts who may pull the permit; California's general contractor-licensing law (not city-specific) otherwise governs.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNot solar-specific, but the City's Business Licensing page states plainly that anyone providing goods or services within city limits needs a Trinidad business license even if not physically located there, and gives 'contractor' as one of its own examples -- so a contractor working a Trinidad solar job needs a City business license before/while working, functioning as a registration requirement.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/doing-business/page/business-licensing
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherInferred, not stated outright: the Solar Installation Permit Application does not require a contractor and treats the installer certificate number as optional ('if appropriate'), consistent with California's general statewide allowance for an owner-builder permit on one's own residence. No Trinidad-specific document affirmatively confirms or forbids homeowner self-install.
published permit application (PDF), inference checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the City's one-page 'Solar Installation Permit Application': applicant, buyer and project-site-address fields; system type (Photovoltaic or Hot Water) with panel count and capacity per panel; installer certificate number if applicable; total project cost; plus three required attachments -- (1) all manufacturer instruction/installation manuals for equipment (panels, inverters, etc.), (2) a schematic drawing showing electrical design, amperage, grounding, and wire size/type and how the system interfaces with any existing system, and (3) an exterior plot plan for design review showing the septic-system location and how equipment will be anchored to its supporting structure.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly (pdftotext) from the city's own published, currently-linked Solar Installation Permit Application PDF.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Paper application submitted at/mailed to City Hall; no stated number of copies. There is no online permitting portal -- the site's own '/portal' page renders with no content, and the Building Official's page directs applicants to call City Hall (707-677-0223) to arrange plan check/inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any online submission system (portal page checked and found empty) combined with the paper-form design of the Solar Installation Permit Application, which has no copy-count or digital-format instruction printed on it.
department page (absence checked) + published permit application checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/portal
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- an 'exterior plot plan for design review, including location of septic system, and explanation of how equipment will be anchored to supporting structures.'
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit line item on the city's Solar Installation Permit Application.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes -- 'schematic drawing showing plumbing plans, electrical design, amperage, grounding, size and type of wiring and how project will interface with any existing systems.'
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit line item on the application; the form is a shared PV/solar-water-heater template so the wording includes 'plumbing plans' as boilerplate, but the electrical design/amperage/grounding/wiring elements functionally require a one-line-equivalent diagram for a PV system.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the Solar Installation Permit Application (only 'electrical design, amperage, grounding, size and type of wiring' is itemized, with no separate string/conductor calculation line) and Title 15 Buildings and Construction chapter 15.04 (no PV-specific submittal list at all).
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the Solar Installation Permit Application (asks only for 'explanation of how equipment will be anchored to supporting structures,' no valuation/weight threshold given), the 2025 Building Permit Fee Schedule, and TMC ch. 15.04/15.16 (grading) -- no PE-stamp threshold for solar found anywhere.
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q13 checked for an electrical PE-stamp threshold -- none stated; TMC 15.04 electrical-code adoption chapter (15.04.200-.230) contains no PE-stamp threshold language at all.
https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$150 flat (photovoltaic); the parallel line for 'Hot Water' systems on the same form has no dollar figure filled in.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the only solar-specific fee the city publishes, on its 'Solar Installation Permit Application' -- but the PDF's own metadata dates it to 14 Feb 2008, and the city's separately-adopted 2025 valuation-based 'Building Permit and Plan Review Fees' schedule (Resolution 2025-07) has no PV/solar line at all (checked page-by-page after OCR; zero hits for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'electrical' across all 5 pages), so the $150 figure has not been visibly revisited in 17+ years but also has nothing published to supersede it.
published permit application (PDF), dated 2008 checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Installation Permit Application shows one flat dollar figure ($150) against 'Photovoltaic' rather than a valuation, per-kW or per-panel formula; see Q15 for the dating caveat.
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar Installation Permit Application (single $150 'Inspection/Permit fee' line, not broken into plan-check vs. inspection) and the 2025 Building Permit Fee Schedule, whose 'Plan review fee shall be 65% of the building permit fee' rule applies only to its IBC-style valuation table -- which has no solar line for the 65% rule to attach to. Could not determine whether plan check is bundled into the $150 or charged separately.
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Planning & Building Services page, the Permitting Information page, and the Solar Installation Permit Application -- none state a plan-review turnaround time in business days.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
120 days to commence work from permit issuance (or the permit becomes null and void); a suspended/abandoned permit may be renewed within one year at half the original fee if plans are unchanged.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral building-permit expiration rule at TMC 15.04.070(I), which applies to all permits issued under the chapter, including the Solar Installation Permit Application (no separate solar-specific expiration rule was found).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
None -- no online permitting portal exists. Applications are processed on paper through City Hall.
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own '/portal' navigation page returns with no substantive content, and the Building Official's process is described only as 'Contact City Hall at 707-677-0223 to arrange for a plan check or building inspection.'
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/portal
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo online application system was found; see Q20. The Solar Installation Permit Application is a static, printable PDF form designed for paper submission.
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/portal
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherTrinidad is a member jurisdiction of Redwood Coast Energy Authority (RCEA), Humboldt's Community Choice Aggregation program, per RCEA's own About page -- but RCEA is a generation-only CCA; it purchases and sells electricity over the existing grid rather than owning distribution infrastructure. PG&E remains the underlying distribution utility and the party that owns the meter and handles interconnection/NEM applications for all RCEA member jurisdictions, consistent with how every CCA in California operates. No Trinidad-specific city document names the interconnecting utility directly.
CCA program page + inference from statewide CCA structure checked 2026-08-31 https://redwoodenergy.org/about-rcea/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the city's Planning & Building Services and Permitting Information pages (silent on interconnection sequencing) and did not complete a detailed read of PG&E's own Rule 21/interconnection handbook in this run.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No local (governmental) HOA/architectural-committee referral requirement was found in the zoning code -- but note that the City's own Planning Commission performs a mandatory Design Review (TMC 17.60) that functions similarly to an architectural review unless the installation is small enough to be Coastal-Development-Permit-exempt (see Q27/Q28).
Why the confidence is not higherTMC Title 17 (zoning) was reviewed chapter by chapter; no CC&R or HOA-referral clause was found. The Design Review requirement is a separate, City-run process, not a private HOA one, and is called out here because it functionally occupies the same role for most systems.
ordinance (absence checked) + related finding checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad17/Trinidad1760.html
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, in a narrow, location-based sense
Why the confidence is not higherTMC 17.60.050(E) requires extra design-review scrutiny for any construction within 100 feet of the Tsurai Village archaeological/cultural site, the Trinidad Cemetery, Holy Trinity Church or the Memorial Lighthouse, to protect these named historic/cultural resources -- there is no separate 'historic district' overlay zone, but this proximity-triggered review functions the same way for parcels near those four sites.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad17/Trinidad1760.html
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm/TDI-style certification requirement was found anywhere in Title 15 (Buildings and Construction); California does not use the Texas/Florida TDI wind-certification mechanism.
ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, in effect: any residential rooftop PV installation whose fixed solar panels exceed 180 square feet (TMC 17.72.070(C)(2)(i)) is NOT exempt from Coastal Development Permit review, and (per TMC 17.60.030) also loses its Design Review exemption. That CDP is folded into the building-permit approval, is decided at the City level (Planning Commission/City Hall), is appealable to the City Council, and -- in the state-mapped appealable zone (roughly: seaward of the first public road, within 300 ft of the beach/bluff, or within 100 ft of a wetland/stream) -- is further appealable to the California Coastal Commission.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from TMC 17.72.070 (Coastal development permits) and 17.60.030 (Design review); cross-checked against the Coastal Zone FAQ describing the appealable-zone boundary and against TMC 15.04.070(E)'s statement that a CDP 'shall be deemed to have been issued by the City upon the granting of a building permit if such action is not appealed.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad17/Trinidad1772.html
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No cap on system output/capacity, but a codified 180-square-foot fixed-solar-panel AREA threshold (TMC 17.72.070(C)(2)(i)) determines whether the installation is exempt from discretionary Coastal Development Permit/Design Review. A typical modern residential rooftop array (a 6 kW system runs roughly 300-450 sq ft of panels) exceeds 180 sq ft and therefore falls outside the exemption -- see jurisdiction.overridden_by and Q27.
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as Q27; this 180 sq ft figure was written into the code by Ord. 166 (1979), Ord. 167 (1980), Ord. 175 (1981) and Ord. 84-180 (1984) and has not been revisited since, long before modern panel wattages/dimensions existed.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad17/Trinidad1772.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Other -- codified as the 1996 NEC (TMC 15.04.200), last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999 55% · adopting ordinance (stale)
- Which building code edition is in force? Codified text still reads the 1997 Uniform Building Code (TMC 15.04.010, last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999); by CA Building Standards Law the current 2025 California Building Code/California Residential Code cycle (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC) presumptively applies statewide, but no Trinidad-specific ordinance confirming a current-cycle local re-adoption was found. 55% · adopting ordinance (stale)
- Which fire code edition is in force? Codified text still reads the 1997 Uniform Fire Code (TMC 15.04.160, last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999); the current statewide cycle is the 2025 California Fire Code (2024 IFC base), presumptively applicable, but no Trinidad-specific confirming ordinance was found. 55% · adopting ordinance (stale, control-checked)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- for building only. TMC 15.04.030 through .090 amend the 1997 UBC's Sections 105 (Board of Appeals), 106 (permits, including a 'Design Assistance Committee'/Coastal Development Permit review layer), 106.2 (work exempt from permits), 107.3 (plan-review fees) and add Section 4401.5 (encroachment permits). No PV/solar-specific amendment to the electrical or fire code chapters was found. 80% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The California Building Standards Code (Title 24) as most recently adopted statewide, layered under Trinidad's own (stale, 1997/1996-era) local building/electrical/fire amendment chapter and its Coastal Development Permit/Design Review requirements for anything exceeding the 180 sq ft solar exemption. 55% · ordinance, synthesized
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? None found -- the city's Uniform Fire Code adoption chapter (TMC 15.04.160-.170) contains no ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway amendment of any kind (a control-checked absence: zero hits for 'setback', 'pathway', 'ridge' in that chapter), so whatever the base fire code edition provides would apply unamended -- and because the codified edition is the stale 1997 Uniform Fire Code (see Q31), it is unclear what the current, presumptively-applicable 2025 CFC's own pathway/setback provisions would require without a Trinidad-specific citation. 60% · ordinance (absence checked)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Not addressed by the city at all. The codified electrical chapter still cites the 1996 NEC (TMC 15.04.200), an edition that predates NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements entirely (first introduced in the 2014 NEC, substantially revised in 2017/2020). The 2008-dated Solar Installation Permit Application likewise never mentions rapid shutdown or Section 690.12. Whatever NEC edition California has actually adopted statewide (the 2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC) would require it as a matter of state law, but nothing Trinidad-specific confirms this locally. 55% · published permit application (PDF) + ordinance, absence checked
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None specified by the city -- whatever the in-force NEC edition's own default disconnect/warning-label requirements are (e.g. NEC 690.13/690.56) would apply; Trinidad adds no placard requirement of its own. 70% · published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 75% · published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Not addressed at all by the city -- its only solar-specific document (the Solar Installation Permit Application) offers just two system types, 'Photovoltaic' and 'Hot Water,' with no battery/ESS line, and its building/fire/zoning code chapters contain zero mentions of batteries or energy storage. 70% · published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit or inspection category exists -- see Q45; there is no battery/ESS provision at all to attach a separate permit or inspection stage to. 65% · published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Not explicitly resolved either way. Trinidad's zoning code treats 'accessory structures' (exempt from CDP/Design Review up to 500 sq ft floor area and 15 ft height) and 'fixed solar panels' (exempt up to 180 sq ft of panel area) as two separately-defined, differently-sized exemption categories in the same subsection (TMC 17.72.070(C)), which suggests a ground-mounted array could plausibly be tested against either or both, but no provision states which controls or whether a ground rack itself counts as an 'accessory structure.' 55% · ordinance, ambiguous
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Not specified beyond a general requirement to explain 'how equipment will be anchored to supporting structures' on the Solar Installation Permit Application -- no numeric spacing, attachment-type or wind-load standard of the city's own was found. 55% · published permit application (PDF), absence checked
20 questions answered against City of Trinidad’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Other -- codified as the 1996 NEC (TMC 15.04.200), last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own online codified text (via codepublishing.com) still names the 1996 National Electrical Code and has not been amended since 1999, five statewide triennial cycles behind the current 2025 California Electrical Code (2023 NEC base). California Building Standards Law presumptively requires the state's current published cycle to govern regardless of a stale local ordinance, but no Trinidad-specific re-adoption ordinance confirming the 2023-NEC-based 2025 CEC was found; the whole Trinidad Municipal Code is stated by its codifier to be 'current through Ordinance 2011-02, passed July 13, 2012,' and even that date is newer than the 1999 date on this specific chapter.
adopting ordinance (stale) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Codified text still reads the 1997 Uniform Building Code (TMC 15.04.010, last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999); by CA Building Standards Law the current 2025 California Building Code/California Residential Code cycle (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC) presumptively applies statewide, but no Trinidad-specific ordinance confirming a current-cycle local re-adoption was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSame staleness finding as Q29, read from the same chapter; §15.04.300 separately adopts 'Title 24, California Standards, Commission Administrative Regulations' wholesale, which is the hook that would pull in whatever the state has most recently published, but the specific 1997 UBC citation in 15.04.010 was never updated to match.
adopting ordinance (stale) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Codified text still reads the 1997 Uniform Fire Code (TMC 15.04.160, last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 1999); the current statewide cycle is the 2025 California Fire Code (2024 IFC base), presumptively applicable, but no Trinidad-specific confirming ordinance was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSame chapter and staleness finding as Q29/Q30; the fire code adoption section contains no PV/ESS-specific local amendments of its own (control-checked: zero hits for 'solar', 'battery', 'placard' or 'disconnect' across the entire chapter, against 47 hits for 'building').
adopting ordinance (stale, control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes -- for building only. TMC 15.04.030 through .090 amend the 1997 UBC's Sections 105 (Board of Appeals), 106 (permits, including a 'Design Assistance Committee'/Coastal Development Permit review layer), 106.2 (work exempt from permits), 107.3 (plan-review fees) and add Section 4401.5 (encroachment permits). No PV/solar-specific amendment to the electrical or fire code chapters was found.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from TMC ch. 15.04.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Building Standards Code (Title 24) as most recently adopted statewide, layered under Trinidad's own (stale, 1997/1996-era) local building/electrical/fire amendment chapter and its Coastal Development Permit/Design Review requirements for anything exceeding the 180 sq ft solar exemption.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from TMC 15.04.010/.200/.300 and 17.72.070; no single city document states this as cleanly as this synthesis does, hence the moderate confidence.
ordinance, synthesized checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked TMC ch. 15.04 (Buildings and Construction, incl. the electrical-code adoption sections 15.04.200-.230) in full -- no local rule on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rating was found.
https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Not specified beyond a general requirement to explain 'how equipment will be anchored to supporting structures' on the Solar Installation Permit Application -- no numeric spacing, attachment-type or wind-load standard of the city's own was found.
Why the confidence is not higherSame application form as Q8/Q10; TMC 15.04 and 15.16 (Grading) contain no PV mounting-spacing rule either.
published permit application (PDF), absence checked checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
None found -- the city's Uniform Fire Code adoption chapter (TMC 15.04.160-.170) contains no ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway amendment of any kind (a control-checked absence: zero hits for 'setback', 'pathway', 'ridge' in that chapter), so whatever the base fire code edition provides would apply unamended -- and because the codified edition is the stale 1997 Uniform Fire Code (see Q31), it is unclear what the current, presumptively-applicable 2025 CFC's own pathway/setback provisions would require without a Trinidad-specific citation.
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text read of TMC 15.04.160-.170, the entirety of the city's fire-code adoption chapter.
ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Not addressed by the city at all. The codified electrical chapter still cites the 1996 NEC (TMC 15.04.200), an edition that predates NEC 690.12 rapid-shutdown requirements entirely (first introduced in the 2014 NEC, substantially revised in 2017/2020). The 2008-dated Solar Installation Permit Application likewise never mentions rapid shutdown or Section 690.12. Whatever NEC edition California has actually adopted statewide (the 2023 NEC via the 2025 CEC) would require it as a matter of state law, but nothing Trinidad-specific confirms this locally.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: zero hits for 'rapid shutdown' or '690' across TMC ch. 15.04 and the solar application PDF.
published permit application (PDF) + ordinance, absence checked checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None specified by the city -- whatever the in-force NEC edition's own default disconnect/warning-label requirements are (e.g. NEC 690.13/690.56) would apply; Trinidad adds no placard requirement of its own.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence across the only two documents that could plausibly carry it: the Solar Installation Permit Application (zero hits for 'placard', 'disconnect' or 'label') and TMC ch. 15.04 (same, zero hits), against a nonzero 47 hits for 'building' in the same chapter, confirming the search itself was working.
published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38 -- no placard wording of any kind appears in any Trinidad document reviewed.
published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q38/Q39 -- no letter-height, colour or material specification appears anywhere in the city's documents.
published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar Installation Permit Application and TMC ch. 15.04 for a facility-map/site-plan placard rule (NEC 705.10) -- none found locally, but could not confirm whether the base (unamended) NEC edition's own 705.10 would apply because the currently-effective local NEC edition itself is unconfirmed (see Q29).
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDid not complete a detailed read of PG&E's own interconnection handbook/Rule 21 'Greenbook' in this run; Trinidad's own pages are silent on any utility-specific placard requirement.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar Installation Permit Application and TMC ch. 15.04 -- neither states where labels must be physically placed.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Solar Installation Permit Application (asks only for 'manufacturers instruction/installation manuals,' not a listing/UL certification) and TMC ch. 15.04 -- no equipment-listing requirement stated by the city specifically for solar equipment.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Not addressed at all by the city -- its only solar-specific document (the Solar Installation Permit Application) offers just two system types, 'Photovoltaic' and 'Hot Water,' with no battery/ESS line, and its building/fire/zoning code chapters contain zero mentions of batteries or energy storage.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked absence: zero hits for 'batter*', 'energy storage' or 'ESS' across the Solar Installation Permit Application, TMC ch. 15.04, and TMC 17.72/17.56 (zoning).
published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit or inspection category exists -- see Q45; there is no battery/ESS provision at all to attach a separate permit or inspection stage to.
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as Q45.
published permit application + ordinance, control-checked absence checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Not explicitly resolved either way. Trinidad's zoning code treats 'accessory structures' (exempt from CDP/Design Review up to 500 sq ft floor area and 15 ft height) and 'fixed solar panels' (exempt up to 180 sq ft of panel area) as two separately-defined, differently-sized exemption categories in the same subsection (TMC 17.72.070(C)), which suggests a ground-mounted array could plausibly be tested against either or both, but no provision states which controls or whether a ground rack itself counts as an 'accessory structure.'
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from TMC 17.72.070(C)(1)-(2); the ordinance simply does not address the ground-mount case explicitly.
ordinance, ambiguous checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad17/Trinidad1772.html
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked TMC ch. 15.04 (electrical-code adoption/amendments) and the Solar Installation Permit Application -- neither addresses AC-disconnect placement relative to the utility meter; did not complete a detailed read of PG&E's own interconnection requirements in this run.
https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Trinidad/html/Trinidad15/Trinidad1504.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 85% · department page
- How much notice is required? 48 hours 90% · published permit application (PDF)
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 75% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? A single inspection, following submittal and City approval of the Solar Installation Permit Application -- the application and department page describe only one inspection step ('Inspector requires 48 hours notice'), with no rough-in or multi-stage sequence mentioned. 65% · published permit application (PDF), inference
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 55% · published permit application (PDF), absence checked
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 70% · document library search (absence checked)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $50 minimum (half-hour) for 'Inspections for which no fee is specifically indicated,' or the City's actual fully-burdened hourly cost if greater -- not labelled specifically as a 're-inspection' fee, but this is the general catch-all inspection charge in the current fee schedule that would apply to a return trip. 60% · published fee schedule (image-only PDF, OCR'd)
14 questions answered against City of Trinidad’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Official's process is described on the department page as: 'Contact City Hall at 707-677-0223 to arrange for a plan check or building inspection.' No portal, email address or walk-in-only process is offered for this step.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/planning-building-services
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
48 hours
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim at the bottom of the city's Solar Installation Permit Application: 'Inspector requires 48 hours notice.'
published permit application (PDF) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Planning & Building Services page and the Solar Installation Permit Application -- neither states whether same-day or AM/PM inspection windows are offered.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city performs its own final inspection (via its contracted Building Official, Dan Dimick) rather than delegating to another agency such as the county or a fire district -- the department page and the Solar Installation Permit Application ('Inspector requires 48 hours notice') both describe a single city-side inspector, not an outside agency.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/planning-building-services
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot applicable -- inspection is not delegated to another agency (see Q52); this question does not apply.
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
A single inspection, following submittal and City approval of the Solar Installation Permit Application -- the application and department page describe only one inspection step ('Inspector requires 48 hours notice'), with no rough-in or multi-stage sequence mentioned.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of any second inspection stage anywhere in the city's documents; TMC 15.04.070 describes only a single final-inspection-style step for building work generally.
published permit application (PDF), inference checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage is mentioned anywhere in the city's solar or building documents; only a single post-installation inspection with 48 hours' notice is described.
published permit application (PDF), absence checked checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/2706
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo labelling/placard requirement exists locally to check an inspector's verification of it against (see Q38-Q40); no inspection checklist exists either (see Q57) to confirm what an inspector actually checks in practice.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherOnly the single one-page Solar Installation Permit Application exists; no separate field-inspection checklist for solar was found on the Planning & Building Services page, the document library, or elsewhere on the city's site.
document library search (absence checked) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/document-library?search=&category%5B236%5D=236
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Planning & Building Services and Building Inspection-equivalent pages -- Trinidad has no dedicated 'Building Inspection' page (unlike larger jurisdictions) stating what must be posted/on-site at inspection.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$50 minimum (half-hour) for 'Inspections for which no fee is specifically indicated,' or the City's actual fully-burdened hourly cost if greater -- not labelled specifically as a 're-inspection' fee, but this is the general catch-all inspection charge in the current fee schedule that would apply to a return trip.
Why the confidence is not higherRead (via OCR of the image-only fee-schedule pages) from the current 2025 Building Permit and Plan Review Fee Schedule's 'Other Inspections and Fees' line; the schedule also carries a general hourly 'Code Enforcement Assessment' / 'Special Services' rate at 'actual cost at fully burdened hourly rate' as an alternative basis.
published fee schedule (image-only PDF, OCR'd) checked 2026-08-31 http://www.trinidad.ca.gov/media/8451
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Planning & Building Services page and the Solar Installation Permit Application -- neither describes how corrections are issued or cleared.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Planning & Building Services page, the Solar Installation Permit Application, and the building-permit-fee-schedule page -- none state what document or tag (CO, final sign-off, green tag, letter) is issued upon a passed final inspection.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the city's own pages (silent on PTO/utility notification) and did not complete a detailed read of PG&E's own NEM/PTO process in this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Trinidad against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Trinidad is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical permitting (issued together on a single application/fee for solar) and fire-code adoption for the city-owned Trinidad Volunteer Fire Department (TVFD, ~10 volunteers, no dedicated fire-prevention bureau). BOTH Planning and Building are staffed by outside contractors, stated in the department's own words: 'The City of Trinidad contracts for its Planning functions' (SHN, a Eureka consulting firm; Trever Parker is City Planner, reached at a firm phone line distinct from City Hall's) and 'The City of Trinidad contracts for its Building functions' (Dan Dimick, Building Official, reached only via City Hall's own number, 707-677-0223, with no separate line or domain found). Neither Dan Dimick nor Trever Parker appears in the city's own staff directory under Planning & Building Services -- only Planning Commissioners are listed there, which is itself the tell that both functions are contracted out rather than staffed in-house. Legal jurisdiction and the permit itself remain the City's. Trinidad also holds Coastal Development Permit (CDP) authority: its Local Coastal Program was the first in California certified (1980, per the city's own Coastal Zone FAQ), so a CDP is deemed issued concurrently with the building permit (TMC 15.04.070(E), 17.72.070(A)) unless appealed to the CA Coastal Commission.
- Overridden by
- Humboldt County is NOT the AHJ inside city limits -- Trinidad's own department page confirms the city runs its own (contracted) Building function, consistent with Humboldt County's own building-codes page listing Trinidad among the incorporated cities with their own building departments. Within the coastal-review layer: TMC 17.72.070(C)(2)(i) exempts only 'solar heating systems with fixed solar panels not to exceed 180 square feet' from needing a Coastal Development Permit and from Design Review (TMC 17.60.030, which cross-references the same exemption). A typical modern residential rooftop PV array (a 6 kW system runs roughly 300-450 sq ft of panel area) exceeds that 180 sq ft threshold, so it falls OUTSIDE the exemption and must go through the City's CDP process -- administered by City Hall/Planning Commission, appealable to the City Council and, in the appealable zone, to the CA Coastal Commission (Pub. Res. Code Section 30603). This is a real discretionary-review trigger particular to Trinidad's near-total Coastal Zone coverage that has not appeared in this survey's other coastal cities. The CA Solar Rights Act's nondiscretionary-review mandate (Gov. Code Section 65850.5) reaches the building-permit side of the process but does not override the separate Coastal Act CDP regime. Humboldt's CCA, Redwood Coast Energy Authority (RCEA), lists Trinidad as a member jurisdiction but is a generation-only Community Choice provider; PG&E remains the distribution utility and the party that handles interconnection for net energy metering.
- Why not higher
- Direct quotes from the City's own 'Planning & Building Services' page ('The City of Trinidad contracts for its Planning functions... Dan Dimick serves as our Building Official... The City of Trinidad contracts for its Building functions'), cross-checked against the Contact Us staff directory (no Dimick/Parker listed) and the Trinidad Municipal Code (TMC 15.04.070(E), 17.72.070, 17.60.030) via codepublishing.com. The 180 sq ft solar exemption figure is read directly from the codified zoning ordinance.
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Permit cost
- $150 flat (photovoltaic); the parallel line for 'Hot Water' systems on the same form has no dollar figure filled in.70%
- Portal
- None -- no online permitting portal exists. Applications are processed on paper through City Hall.85%
- Electrical code
- Other -- codified as the 1996 NEC (TMC 15.04.200), last touched by Ord. 99-3 in 199955%
- Own placard wording
- No75%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone85%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 75%
No
Size, colour & material 75%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.