City of Tulelake
Siskiyou County
City of Tulelake is a city authority in the State of California, serving 902 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — None — no online permit portal exists Q20
- Permit required
- Yes68% source
- What it costs
- Not published — no dollar fee figures appear anywhere68% source
- Key document
- permit application form cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 88% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 78% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 68% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · permit application form
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 62% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? The city's single generic Construction Permit application (project identification/parcel number, licensed-contractor OR owner-builder declaration, workers' compensation declaration, construction-lending-agency declaration, valuation and signature) is the only published submittal document. No solar-specific checklist, and no requirement for plans/drawings beyond the application itself, is stated anywhere on the Building Department or Building Permits pages. 72% · permit application form
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? None — no online permit portal exists 75% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 78% · permit application form
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Not published — no dollar fee figures appear anywhere 68% · permit application form
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 55% · permit application form
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 78% · permit application form
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days 88% · permit application form
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PacifiCorp (Pacific Power) 82% · CPUC-filed utility tariff
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel 50% · CPUC-filed utility tariff
28 questions answered against City of Tulelake’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page frames all building administration as a City function ('City Hall staff handles all City building needs...'), with no reference anywhere on the site to Siskiyou County performing building or electrical functions for the city.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's single 'Construction Permit' application (GNP-103 style form) issues one permit number covering Building, Electrical, Plumbing and Heating fee lines together, processed by City Hall with guidance from the City Building Inspector. No third-party firm name appears anywhere on the site, so this reads as in-house/single-inspector administration rather than delegation, though the inspector's employment status (staff vs. individual contractor) is not stated.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes a 'Construction Permit' application and its Building Permits page names an operative building ordinance (Title 15). No solar-specific exemption language was found, but Title 15's own text (which would state this plainly) is unreachable, so this rests on the existence of the generic permit requirement rather than a specific solar clause.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's only published application is one 'CONSTRUCTION PERMIT' form with a single permit number, containing separate fee-calculation sections for Heating, Plumbing, Electrical and Building all under that one permit — no separate electrical-only application exists anywhere on the site.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSection 2a/2b of the application is a standard California Contractors' State License Law declaration (licensed contractor OR owner-builder under B&P Code §7044), applying to the whole combined permit rather than singling out electrical work.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe application only asks for the standard state CSLB license class/number (Section 2a) — no city-specific contractor registration, business license, or pre-registration step is referenced anywhere on the Building Department or Building Permits pages.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSection 2b of the application is a full standard Owner-Builder Declaration under B&P Code §7044, allowing an owner to self-perform (or exclusively contract) work, explicitly covering electrical among the trades the combined permit is used for.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
The city's single generic Construction Permit application (project identification/parcel number, licensed-contractor OR owner-builder declaration, workers' compensation declaration, construction-lending-agency declaration, valuation and signature) is the only published submittal document. No solar-specific checklist, and no requirement for plans/drawings beyond the application itself, is stated anywhere on the Building Department or Building Permits pages.
Why the confidence is not higherReviewed every document linked from the Building Department, Building Permits and Planning Department pages (the only two documents under Building Permits are the Title 15 name-reference and this 2022 application) — no dedicated solar/PV submittal checklist exists.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe 2022 Construction Permit Application PDF and the Building Permits/Building Department pages — no statement of how many copies or what format (paper vs. digital) is required for submittal.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF and Building Permits/Building Department pages — no site-plan content requirement is itemized anywhere; only the general permit application exists.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF, Building Department and Building Permits pages, and Title 15 (referenced by name but not hosted anywhere reachable — not on Municode's 237-client CA list, not resolvable on ecode360/qcode.us) — no one-line/three-line diagram requirement is stated.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q11 — no string/conductor calculation requirement appears anywhere in reachable city documents.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application PDF and Title 15 reference — no structural PE stamp threshold is stated; Title 15's own text (which would set this) is unreachable.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame review as Q13 — no electrical PE stamp threshold is stated anywhere reachable.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Not published — no dollar fee figures appear anywhere
Why the confidence is not higherThe 2022 Construction Permit Application's fee section (Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Heating/Plan Check/Issuance lines) has every dollar field left blank on the published form; the separate Misc. Fees page lists only Police/Animal Control fees; no building or electrical fee schedule was found anywhere on the site (checked Building Department, Building Permits, Misc. Fees).
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherThe application form's Building Permit Fee block is headed 'ESTIMATED VALUATION' / 'TOTAL VALUATION', indicating a valuation-based building fee; the adjoining Electrical Permit Fee block is itemized per outlet/fixture/motor-HP instead, with no PV-specific line item anywhere on the form — so a solar system's fee basis is genuinely ambiguous from this source alone.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Fee summary block on the application form has a distinct 'PLAN CK' line item separate from BLDG/ELEC/PLUMB/HEAT/ISSUANCE FEE lines, indicating plan check is billed as its own component even though the dollar amount is not published.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department and Building Permits pages, and the permit application form — no stated plan-review turnaround time anywhere on the site.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days
Why the confidence is not higherThe application form states directly: 'PERMIT EXPIRES IN 180 DAYS IF WORK IS NOT COMMENCED.'
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
None — no online permit portal exists
Why the confidence is not higherNo portal is referenced anywhere on the Building Department, Building Permits, or Planning Department pages; the only contact methods given site-wide are a phone number and a single city email address, consistent with a paper/PDF submission process at City Hall.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo online application system was found anywhere on the site; the published application form is a fillable PDF intended for in-person or mailed submission.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PacifiCorp (Pacific Power)
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp's own CPUC-filed 'Preliminary Statement Part A' states: 'The territory served by this Utility in California includes Siskiyou County, Modoc County, Del Norte County, Trinity County and Shasta County' — Tulelake sits in Siskiyou County near the Oregon border. The city's own site runs no electric utility of its own (its 'Utilities' pages cover only water, sewer and garbage), and this is consistent with two of three other Siskiyou County cities checked the same day also being on PacifiCorp rather than PG&E. Confidence is not higher because the filing names the county, not Tulelake by name specifically.
CPUC-filed utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/rates-regulation/california/statements/Preliminary_Statement_Part_A.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp's NB-136 (Net Billing Service) Special Condition 1 requires an interconnection agreement 'prior to interconnecting a generation facility' and Special Condition 4 requires the Utility's written approval of the protection-isolation method 'before service is provided' — i.e., before energization/PTO, not necessarily before the city issues a building/electrical permit. No document states the two processes must run strictly sequentially, so 'Parallel' is the best-supported reading rather than a confirmed sequence.
CPUC-filed utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/rates-regulation/california/rates/NB-136_Net_Billing_Service.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning Department page and its linked Zoning Code/Zoning Ordinance (July 2025) — the ordinance PDF itself is unreachable: not archived by the Wayback Machine (checked via CDX, no capture exists for the file even though the linking page was crawled) and the live site (cityoftulelake.com) currently resolves to an ISP 'phishing' block page on every path, verified with a direct IP request bypassing DNS.
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q24 — Zoning Ordinance/Zoning Code text unreachable.
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q24 — Zoning Ordinance/Title 15 text unreachable; no wind/windstorm provision could be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q24 — Zoning Ordinance text unreachable, so any Specific Use Permit/Council-approval trigger for solar could not be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q24 — Zoning Ordinance/Title 15 text unreachable; no residential generation size cap could be confirmed on the AHJ side (utility-side net-metering program cap of 1 MW is a different, non-AHJ figure, see Q22/Q23 sources).
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 55% · department page + statewide code cycle
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (by statewide default; city does not name an edition) 55% · department page + statewide code cycle
- What is the installation judged against? The California Building Standards Code (Title 24), per the city's own general statement — no more specific local standard is published; Title 15 (Buildings and Construction), the city's own ordinance that would state this precisely, is referenced by name but not published online anywhere I could reach. 58% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Tulelake on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, by operation of NEC 690.12 (rapid shutdown) via whichever California Electrical Code edition the city has adopted — the city does not state its edition (see Q29), so this rests on the statewide default rather than a confirmed local citation. 50% · inference from statewide code adoption
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PacifiCorp's own 'Engraved Placard Examples' spec, independent of any city requirement 92% · utility DG/interconnection manual
- Where must the labels be placed? Per PacifiCorp: engraved labels on or next to the utility meter base, on or next to the AC knife-blade disconnect for the solar system, and on the battery disconnect (combinable if solar and battery share one DC-coupled disconnect). The city's own AHJ-side placement requirement, if any, is not published (Title 15 unreachable). 80% · utility DG/interconnection manual
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within sight and within 10 feet of the utility meter (or at a PacifiCorp-approved alternate location with signage at the meter indicating the disconnect's location); must be accessible to PacifiCorp personnel, capable of being locked open, and gang-operated. 90% · utility DG/interconnection manual
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Utility-side accommodation confirmed (PacifiCorp's NB-136 tariff and DER Interconnection Policy Appendix H both define solar+ESS and standalone-ESS disconnect configurations, including DC-coupled and AC-coupled designs); the city's own building/fire-code stance on residential battery/ESS permitting could not be confirmed — Title 15 and any local fire-code amendments are unreachable. 48% · utility DG/interconnection manual
20 questions answered against City of Tulelake’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherThe city states only that it 'follows all California Building Standard Code regulations' without naming an edition; statewide, the 2023 NEC (as the California Electrical Code) became effective 1 Jan 2026 as part of the 2025 CBC cycle, and no local amendment to the contrary was found (Title 15's own text is unreachable, so a contrary local amendment cannot be ruled out).
department page + statewide code cycle checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (by statewide default; city does not name an edition)
Why the confidence is not higherSame basis as Q29 — the city's own statement is edition-silent ('follows all California Building Standard Code regulations'); 2025 CBC is the current statewide cycle effective 1 Jan 2026.
department page + statewide code cycle checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity site-wide search for a Fire Department page (none exists in the site navigation) and the Resolution 20-03 special-tax document naming the 'Tulelake Multi-County Volunteer Fire Department' — no fire-code edition or adopting document was found for that department anywhere online.
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTitle 15 (Buildings and Construction) is named on the Building Permits page but its text is not hosted anywhere reachable (not on Municode, not resolvable on ecode360/qcode.us after controlled checks, not linked from the city's own site, live site currently down) — so local amendments could not be checked directly.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The California Building Standards Code (Title 24), per the city's own general statement — no more specific local standard is published; Title 15 (Buildings and Construction), the city's own ordinance that would state this precisely, is referenced by name but not published online anywhere I could reach.
Why the confidence is not higherOnly the single sentence on the Building Department page addresses this; the underlying ordinance text is unreachable (not on Municode, not on ecode360/qcode after controlled checks, not linked from the city's own site, and the live site is currently down).
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q32 — Title 15 text unreachable, so any service-upgrade/busbar rule could not be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q32 — Title 15 text unreachable; no mounting/attachment-spacing requirement could be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q32/Q31 — neither Title 15 (building) nor any fire-code document for the Tulelake Multi-County Volunteer Fire Department is reachable, so ridge setback/access-pathway requirements could not be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, by operation of NEC 690.12 (rapid shutdown) via whichever California Electrical Code edition the city has adopted — the city does not state its edition (see Q29), so this rests on the statewide default rather than a confirmed local citation.
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own building-code text (Title 15) is unreachable, so no local rapid-shutdown citation could be confirmed directly; this is an inference from the statewide-adopted electrical code the city says it follows.
inference from statewide code adoption checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department, Building Permits and Planning Department pages, and the Title 15 reference — no city-specific placard requirement is published (see Q42 for the utility's own, separate, well-documented placard spec).
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no city-specific placard wording found.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no city-specific letter-height/colour/material spec found (PacifiCorp's own spec is recorded separately at Q42).
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no city-specific site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PacifiCorp's own 'Engraved Placard Examples' spec, independent of any city requirement
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp publishes a dedicated Engraved Placard Examples document specifying: lettering 3/8 inch high on all placards; red background with white lettering; separate engraved labels required at the utility meter base, at the AC knife-blade disconnect for the solar system, and at the battery disconnect; an optional 'director placard' at minimum 9mm (1/4 inch) lettering, ~5x5 inches; plus a standard NEMA hazard label ('HAZARD OF ELECTRICAL SHOCK OR BURN... SERVICE BY UTILITY AUTHORIZED PERSONNEL ONLY') at the service equipment. Effective 11/1/2025, PacifiCorp also requires close and distant photos of the meter base/disconnect with the placards visible as part of the interconnection close-out.
utility DG/interconnection manual checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pp-rmp/customer-generation/Engraved_Placard_Examples.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Per PacifiCorp: engraved labels on or next to the utility meter base, on or next to the AC knife-blade disconnect for the solar system, and on the battery disconnect (combinable if solar and battery share one DC-coupled disconnect). The city's own AHJ-side placement requirement, if any, is not published (Title 15 unreachable).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in PacifiCorp's Engraved Placard Examples document; no city-side placement requirement could be located to compare or supplement it with.
utility DG/interconnection manual checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pp-rmp/customer-generation/Engraved_Placard_Examples.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application, Building Department/Building Permits pages — no equipment-listing requirement (e.g. UL-listed, CEC-approved list) stated anywhere.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Utility-side accommodation confirmed (PacifiCorp's NB-136 tariff and DER Interconnection Policy Appendix H both define solar+ESS and standalone-ESS disconnect configurations, including DC-coupled and AC-coupled designs); the city's own building/fire-code stance on residential battery/ESS permitting could not be confirmed — Title 15 and any local fire-code amendments are unreachable.
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp's documents are current and explicit about ESS interconnection, but say nothing about the city's own permitting posture, which is the actual subject of the question; recorded at reduced confidence for that reason rather than omitted, since the utility-side half is well sourced.
utility DG/interconnection manual checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pp-rmp/customer-generation/Facility_Interconnection_Requirements_for_Distribution.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department/Building Permits pages and Title 15 reference — no separate ESS permit or inspection process is stated anywhere reachable.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q32 — Title 15 (which would define 'structure') and the Zoning Ordinance are both unreachable, so whether a ground mount is treated as a structure could not be checked.
http://web.archive.org/web/20251112083033/https://cityoftulelake.com/planning-department/
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within sight and within 10 feet of the utility meter (or at a PacifiCorp-approved alternate location with signage at the meter indicating the disconnect's location); must be accessible to PacifiCorp personnel, capable of being locked open, and gang-operated.
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp's Distributed Energy Resource (DER) Interconnection Policy, 'Visible Disconnect' section (Rev. 12, dated 5/26/2026 in the document's own footer), states this requirement verbatim for the customer-side disconnect switch (MDS2).
utility DG/interconnection manual checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pp-rmp/customer-generation/Facility_Interconnection_Requirements_for_Distribution.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone (inferred) 55% · inference from department page
- How much notice is required? 24 hours 82% · permit application form
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 70% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Tulelake on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Tulelake on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (inferred) 45% · inference from utility tariff
14 questions answered against City of Tulelake’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo online booking portal or email-based inspection request process was found anywhere on the site; the single phone number (530) 667-5522 is the sole point of contact given on every department page, so phone is the best-supported inference for how the 24-hour-advance inspection request (see Q50) is actually made — but no page states the booking method explicitly.
inference from department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
24 hours
Why the confidence is not higherThe Construction Permit application states directly: 'INSPECTION MUST BE REQUESTED 24 HOURS IN ADVANCE.' The form does not specify whether these are business hours or calendar hours.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20230604223216/https://cityoftulelake.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/12/Building-Permit-Application-2022.pdf
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application and Building Department page — the only scheduling detail published is the 24-hour advance-notice rule (Q50); no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department page frames inspection/permitting as performed by City Hall staff 'with the help and guidance of the City Building Inspector' — no county or third-party firm is named anywhere on the site as performing final inspections.
department page checked 2026-08-31 http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot applicable — Q52 was answered Yes (in-house), so there is no delegate to name.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department/Building Permits pages and the permit application — no published sequence of required inspections (e.g. rough-in, final) for any trade.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department/Building Permits pages — no statement of what an inspector checks (labels, listings, or otherwise) was found.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedReviewed every document linked from Building Department, Building Permits, Planning Department and Misc. Fees pages — no published inspection checklist of any kind exists on the city's site.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application and Building Department/Building Permits pages — no statement of what documents must be present on site at inspection time.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Application (all fee fields, including any re-inspection line, are blank on the published form) and the Misc. Fees page (covers only Police/Animal Control fees) — no re-inspection fee is published anywhere.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department/Building Permits pages — no description of how corrections are issued or cleared.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department/Building Permits pages and the permit application — no terminology (CO, Final, Green Tag, Letter) for what is issued on a passed final inspection appears anywhere.
http://web.archive.org/web/20260611101551/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-permits/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherPacifiCorp's NB-136 tariff requires the Customer to complete an interconnection agreement before interconnecting, which in ordinary industry practice is submitted by the installer on the customer's behalf; no PacifiCorp or city document explicitly names who submits the PTO/interconnection paperwork.
inference from utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/rates-regulation/california/rates/NB-136_Net_Billing_Service.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Tulelake against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Tulelake is the authority having jurisdiction 82% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical — administered directly by City Hall staff with the guidance of a City Building Inspector; the city has no separate departmental structure, but the function is retained by the city itself, not delegated to Siskiyou County. The county ordinance found on the city's own site (Siskiyou Co. Ordinance 18-08) applies only to encroachment/right-of-way permits, confirmed unrelated to building or electrical work. Fire protection is provided by the city-funded Tulelake Multi-County Volunteer Fire Department (Resolution 20-03 special tax), a separate function from Building.
- Overridden by
- Statewide: AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) bars the city from adopting any residential building-code amendment more restrictive than the state code from 1 Oct 2025 to 1 Jun 2031. On the utility side, PacifiCorp (Pacific Power) sets its own interconnection, disconnect-location and placard specifications that apply regardless of city sign-off (see Q22, Q42, Q48).
- Why not higher
- The city's own Building Department page states plainly: 'Tulelake is a small city of about 1010 people and does not have an actual Building Department. City Hall staff handles all City building needs with the help and guidance of the City Building Inspector. Tulelake follows all California Building Standard Code regulations.' This wording is stable across every Wayback capture from 2023 through 18 May 2026 (last available). The Building Permits page names 'City of Tulelake Ordinance Book Title 15: Buildings and Construction' as the operative ordinance, but the ordinance itself is not linked or hosted anywhere on the city's site, is not on Municode (confirmed absent from Municode's 237-client California list, positive control on 'Alturas' succeeded), and my ecode360/qcode.us checks (curl_cffi impersonate=chrome124, positive/fabricated controls both returned clean 404s) found no listing either — so I could not read Title 15's own DEFINITIONS section to independently verify the county-delegation question the brief asked me to check. Confidence is 82, not higher, because that specific check remains unverified at the source-text level; it rests instead on the department page's plain first-party statement plus the absence of any county building-department reference anywhere on the city's own site. NOTE: cityoftulelake.com is currently dead — it now resolves to an ISP/security 'phishing' block page across every path (verified with a direct IP override and multiple DNS resolvers, ruling out a local DNS issue) — so all city-side answers here are sourced from Wayback Machine captures, the most recent being 18 May 2026 (Building Department) and 11 June 2026 (Building Permits, meeting minutes still being captured that month).
http://web.archive.org/web/20260518025637/https://cityoftulelake.com/building-department/
- Permit required
- Yes68%
- Permit cost
- Not published — no dollar fee figures appear anywhere68%
- Portal
- None — no online permit portal exists75%
- Electrical code
- 202355%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone (inferred)55%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 80%
Per PacifiCorp: engraved labels on or next to the utility meter base, on or next to the AC knife-blade disconnect for the solar system, and on the battery disconnect (combinable if solar and battery share one DC-coupled disconnect). The city's own AHJ-side placement requirement, if any, is not published (Title 15 unreachable).
What the utility wants on top 92%
Yes — PacifiCorp's own 'Engraved Placard Examples' spec, independent of any city requirement
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.