City of Twentynine Palms

San Bernardino County

Verified Aug. 6, 2026

City of Twentynine Palms is a city authority in the State of California, serving 28,065 residents. 2,047 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 10 business days for photovoltaic; 15 business days for all other plan review Q18 Where you file — Citizenserve (cloud permit/plan-check/code-enforcement portal, installationID=366) Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$250.00 base permit fee (roof/ground-mount residential 'small system', under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus an $81.34 general Permit Issuance Fee90% source
Plan review turnaround
10 business days for photovoltaic; 15 business days for all other plan review92% source
Key document
municipal code cited by 9 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · municipal code + department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 95% · municipal code
    • Is there a historic-district review? Conditionally yes, if the property is a designated Landmark or within a Preservation District; no solar-specific exemption found 70% · municipal code
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No formal wind/windstorm certification; only a self-verification requirement 80% · municipal code
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — a Development Code use permit may be required if the Building Official finds a specific, adverse public-health/safety impact; separately, a Conditional Use Permit is required for an additional or taller freestanding solar collector 85% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — a GATE for Ch. 18.08's streamlined administrative pathway, not a stated hard prohibition on larger systems; also scoped to single/duplex-family dwellings only 88% · municipal code
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · department page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp threshold specified; the ordinance requires only applicant self-verification, not a licensed engineer's stamp 75% · municipal code
    • Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp threshold specified; same self-verification standard applies to electrical 75% · municipal code
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Citizenserve (cloud permit/plan-check/code-enforcement portal, installationID=366) 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $250.00 base permit fee (roof/ground-mount residential 'small system', under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus an $81.34 general Permit Issuance Fee 90% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat up to a 15kW threshold, then Tiered (per additional kW) above it 88% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee, separate from the $250.00 Solar Permit Fee 90% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 10 business days for photovoltaic; 15 business days for all other plan review 92% · department page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days from issuance (or 365 days from last work / 180 days past last inspection before abandonment); one 180-day extension allowed 85% · municipal code
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · municipal code (franchise ordinance)
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? No dependency (city permit approval is independent of, and does not include, utility interconnection approval) 80% · municipal code

28 questions answered against City of Twentynine Palms’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety Division issues building/electrical permits under Municipal Code Title 18 (California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire Codes adopted by Ord. No. 326, 12-9-2025) and Chapter 18.08 (Permitting Procedures for Small Residential Solar Energy Systems, Ord. No. 269, 9-8-2015).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical are both self-performed in-house by the City's Building & Safety Division (no named third-party plan-check/inspection firm found anywhere on the city site). Fire-code enforcement is delegated to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (SBCoFD) via TWPA MC Ch. 18.04, which adopts SBCoFD's own amended Fire Code by reference; Ch. 18.08.060 allows the solar final inspection to be a 'consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal.'

municipal code + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.04ADUNFICOUNFICOSTAM

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC Ch. 18.08 (Permitting Procedures for Small Residential Solar Energy Systems) establishes the permit/review process; the City's fee schedule carries dedicated 'Solar Energy Fees' permit and plan-review lines.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's FY2026-27 fee schedule lists 'Solar Permit Fees' (item #148-152) as its own category, separate from the general 'ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES' section — suggesting solar is issued as a single combined building+electrical permit rather than requiring a standalone electrical permit. Not stated explicitly in the ordinance text itself, so only moderate confidence.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked TWPA MC Ch. 18.04 (fire/permits-required sections), Ch. 18.08 (solar chapter, all 7 sections) and the Planning/Building/Safety Forms page for a statement on who may pull the electrical permit — none found.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety page and Planning/Building/Safety Forms page both state: 'All Contractors requesting permits or submitting plans are required to have a City of Twentynine Palms Business License... If contractor does not have a City Business License you will be asked to submit a business license application and pay the required fees.'

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/planning-building-safety-forms

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08 (all 7 sections) and the Planning/Building/Safety Forms page for an owner-builder/self-install/self-permit statement — none found; California's general Contractors State License Law owner-builder allowance was not independently confirmed as applied by this city.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08.040/.050 (which state a checklist 'shall be made available on the publicly accessible City website' but do not enumerate its contents) and the Planning/Building/Safety Forms page; the actual checklist is evidently only reachable inside the Citizenserve permit portal (installationID=366), which requires an account/application session to view.

https://www.citizenserve.com/Portal/PortalController?Action=showHomePage&ctzPagePrefix=Portal_&installationID=366&original_iid=0&original_contactID=0

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q8 — number of copies/format not stated on any publicly reachable page; likely specified only inside the Citizenserve portal.

https://www.citizenserve.com/Portal/PortalController?Action=showHomePage&ctzPagePrefix=Portal_&installationID=366&original_iid=0&original_contactID=0

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08 and the Forms page for a site-plan content requirement — none stated; standard plans/checklists are referenced (18.08.030.B, citing the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook) but not published outside the portal.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08 in full — no mention of one-line/three-line diagram requirement; likely part of the portal-gated checklist, not the codified text.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08 in full — no mention of string/conductor calculation requirements.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

No PE stamp threshold specified; the ordinance requires only applicant self-verification, not a licensed engineer's stamp

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.E.1: prior to submitting, the applicant shall 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques that the support structure... is stable and adequate to transfer all wind, seismic, and dead and live loads.' No PE-stamp trigger or valuation threshold is stated anywhere in the chapter.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

No PE stamp threshold specified; same self-verification standard applies to electrical

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.E.2 requires the applicant, at their own cost, to 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction using standard electrical inspection techniques' that the existing electrical system can carry the new PV load — a self-verification, not a licensed-engineer stamp requirement.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$250.00 base permit fee (roof/ground-mount residential 'small system', under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus an $81.34 general Permit Issuance Fee

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Twentynine Palms Citywide Fee Schedule FY2026-27 (Council-approved fee document; PDF internal metadata ModDate 1 Jun 2026), Building fee schedule items #145 ($200 solar plan review, residential 'all'), #148 ($250 permit, under 15kW), #149 (+$15/kW over 15kW), plus item #1 ($81.34 general issuance fee).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat up to a 15kW threshold, then Tiered (per additional kW) above it

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee schedule: item #148 is a flat $250 for 'under 15KW'; item #149 tiers at $15.00 per additional kW over 15KW. Note this 15kW fee-tier threshold is a different, uncoordinated number from the ordinance's own 10kW AC/30kW thermal eligibility cap in Ch. 18.08.020.E — reported as two separate figures, not reconciled.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes — $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee, separate from the $250.00 Solar Permit Fee

Why the confidence is not higherFY2026-27 fee schedule lists 'Solar Plan Review Fees' (item #145, $200) as a distinct line item from 'Solar Permit Fees' (item #148, $250).

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

10 business days for photovoltaic; 15 business days for all other plan review

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Planning/Building/Safety Forms page, PLAN SUBMITTAL section: 'Plan Review time period is 10 working days for photovoltaic and 15 working days for all other plan review.'

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/planning-building-safety-forms

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

365 days from issuance (or 365 days from last work / 180 days past last inspection before abandonment); one 180-day extension allowed

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.01.020 amends CBC Section 105.5 (Expiration): 'Every permit issued shall become invalid unless the work on the site authorized by such permit is commenced within 365... days after its issuance, or if the work... is suspended, abandoned or uncompleted for a period of 365 days after the work has commenced or 180 days past the last required inspection. The building official is authorized to grant one extension of time for not more than 180 days.' This is the general building-permit rule; Ch. 18.08 does not state a solar-specific validity period.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Citizenserve (cloud permit/plan-check/code-enforcement portal, installationID=366)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety and Planning/Building/Safety Forms pages both link 'Apply ONLINE' to citizenserve.com/Portal/PortalController...installationID=366 for building permits, planning submittals, sign permits, and code enforcement complaints.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.citizenserve.com/Portal/PortalController?Action=showHomePage&ctzPagePrefix=Portal_&installationID=366&original_iid=0&original_contactID=0

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherForms page: 'All Building and Safety Application must be completed online via our online portal' and 'All Planning submittals must be completed online via our online portal.'

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/planning-building-safety-forms

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Southern California Edison (SCE)

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA Municipal Code Ch. 15.01 §15.01.020 (Grant of Franchise) grants 'the franchise to use and to construct and use, for transmitting and distributing electricity for any and all purposes... to Southern California Edison Company' — a direct city-side legal source. Note the codifier has swapped this chapter's number/title with the gas franchise chapter (15.01 is titled 'Grant of Gas Company Franchise' in the TOC but its body text grants the ELECTRIC franchise to SCE, while Ch. 15.04 is titled 'Grant of Electric Company Franchise' but its body text grants the GAS franchise to Southern California Gas Co.) — a codification labeling error, not a substantive ambiguity; the SCE finding itself is unambiguous from the operative text.

municipal code (franchise ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT15UT_CH15.01GRGACOFR_15.01.020GRFR

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

No dependency (city permit approval is independent of, and does not include, utility interconnection approval)

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.B: administrative approval and permit issuance 'shall not include any necessary approval or permission by a local utility provider to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.C: 'Staff's approval of an application shall not be based or conditioned on the approval of an association, as defined in California Civil Code Section 4080.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Conditionally yes, if the property is a designated Landmark or within a Preservation District; no solar-specific exemption found

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 19.60.070 requires Planning Commission permission before altering 'any landmark, landmark structure, landmark site or any structure or site within a preservation district' — no PV/solar carve-out appears anywhere in Ch. 19.60 (read in full, all 10 sections). Moderate confidence because this only applies if the specific parcel is a designated landmark or in a preservation district, which is address-dependent and not verified here.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_ART3ADPEPR_CH19.60HIPR_19.60.070PEREREALDE

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No formal wind/windstorm certification; only a self-verification requirement

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.E.1 requires the applicant (not a certifying third party) to verify via 'standard engineering evaluation techniques' that the support structure can transfer 'all wind, seismic, and dead and live loads' — a self-attestation, not a TDI-style formal wind certification.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Yes, conditionally — a Development Code use permit may be required if the Building Official finds a specific, adverse public-health/safety impact; separately, a Conditional Use Permit is required for an additional or taller freestanding solar collector

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.A: Building Official 'may require an applicant to apply for a use permit... if... the small residential rooftop solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.' Separately, 19.68.020.C.2.b requires a CUP for a second freestanding solar collector or for height above 35 ft (up to 52.5 ft).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal — a GATE for Ch. 18.08's streamlined administrative pathway, not a stated hard prohibition on larger systems; also scoped to single/duplex-family dwellings only

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.020.E defines 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' (the only category eligible for the Chapter's expedited, one-inspection review) as 'no larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal' and 'installed on a single or duplex family dwelling.' The City's own fee schedule instead uses an uncoordinated 15kW fee-tier threshold (see Q16) — reported separately, not reconciled.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code) 90% · adopting ordinance
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code 95% · adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? Conflicting citations: 18.01.130 (Ord. 326, 12-9-2025) says the '2025 Edition' California Fire Code is adopted, but Ch. 18.04 (the SBCoFD amendment chapter, last enacted by Ord. 306, 8-22-2023, unchanged since) explicitly still operates on and amends 'the 2022 California Fire Code' throughout — a genuine, un-reconciled cross-reference. Reporting both, resolving neither. 70% · adopting ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC (as locally amended) plus TWPA MC Ch. 18.08's Title-24 solar-specific standards 90% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or PV-specific access-pathway amendment found; governed by the unamended (base) adopted Fire Code 65% · municipal code
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC (NEC §690.12); not separately re-stated or amended locally 75% · adopting ordinance / inference
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · municipal code
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material 80% · municipal code
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes — equipment must conform to standards set by accredited testing laboratories (e.g., UL) and IEEE 80% · municipal code
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, with conditions — battery/ESS construction is regulated under CFC §1207 as locally amended, but the SBCoFD operational permit for battery/energy-storage systems explicitly EXEMPTS R-3 (single-family residential) occupancies 90% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? The SBCoFD fire operational permit is waived for residential (R-3) battery/ESS, but the City itself carries a distinct 'Energy Saving Battery Fee' ($182.33) in its own building fee schedule, implying a City-level (not fire-level) permit/inspection still applies 82% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 85% · municipal code (zoning)
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found on service-upgrade or busbar sizing 85% · municipal code
    • Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing spec found beyond a general structural self-verification duty 65% · municipal code

20 questions answered against City of Twentynine Palms’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.01.040: 'The California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition... is hereby adopted... (Ord. No. 326, § 1, 12-9-2025).' California's 2025 Title 24 electrical code cycle is based on the 2023 NEC; no NEC edition number is stated verbatim in the local ordinance.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.01.010 and 18.01.030, both '...2025 Edition... adopted... (Ord. No. 326, § 1, 12-9-2025).'

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Conflicting citations: 18.01.130 (Ord. 326, 12-9-2025) says the '2025 Edition' California Fire Code is adopted, but Ch. 18.04 (the SBCoFD amendment chapter, last enacted by Ord. 306, 8-22-2023, unchanged since) explicitly still operates on and amends 'the 2022 California Fire Code' throughout — a genuine, un-reconciled cross-reference. Reporting both, resolving neither.

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.01.130 text vs. 18.04.010(a)(1) and 18.04.020 heading ('Amendments to the 2022 California Fire Code') read side by side in the same Title 18.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.04ADUNFICOUNFICOSTAM

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local CBC amendments in 18.01.020 (liability, permit expiration/365-180 day rule, roof-covering Class A, grading Appendix J additions including a Western Joshua Tree clearing-permit finding) and extensive SBCoFD Fire Code amendments in 18.04.020 (e.g., 105.5.4A battery/ESS operational permit with an R-3 residential exemption).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC (as locally amended) plus TWPA MC Ch. 18.08's Title-24 solar-specific standards

Why the confidence is not higher18.08.030.A: 'All small residential rooftop solar energy systems shall comply with the applicable standards and requirements for solar energy systems as set forth in the California Code of Regulations, Title 24.' Read together with the Title 18 code-adoption chapter.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No local rule found on service-upgrade or busbar sizing

Why the confidence is not higherFull read of TWPA MC Ch. 18.01 (all adoption and amendment sections, incl. 18.01.020's extensive CBC amendments) found no busbar-minimum or service-upgrade clause of the kind Palm Springs (PSMC 8.04.055) carries. Positive control ('electrical', 27 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected across the full Title 18 text, so the absence is not a search failure.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

No specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing spec found beyond a general structural self-verification duty

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.E.1 requires only that the applicant verify the support structure is 'stable and adequate' via standard engineering evaluation — no numeric spacing, attachment type, or standard-plan detail is stated in the codified text (a standard plan may exist only inside the portal, per 18.08.030.B).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

No local ridge-setback or PV-specific access-pathway amendment found; governed by the unamended (base) adopted Fire Code

Why the confidence is not higherThe full SBCoFD Fire Code amendment chapter (18.04.020, all subsections) was read for 'ridge', 'setback', 'pathway' and related terms — none found specific to PV. The Section 503 fire-apparatus-access-road amendments do note that access roads 'shall be permitted to be exempted or modified for solar photovoltaic power generation facilities' when approved by the fire code official, but this addresses vehicle access roads (ground-mount/utility-scale context), not rooftop ridge setbacks.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.04ADUNFICOUNFICOSTAM

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC (NEC §690.12); not separately re-stated or amended locally

Why the confidence is not higherNo local text mentions '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' anywhere in Title 18 (searched in full) — the requirement is inherited wholesale from the state-adopted 2025 CEC per 18.01.040, not independently confirmed by locally quoted text.

adopting ordinance / inference checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.01CACORE

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched Ch. 18.08 (all sections) and the full SBCoFD Fire Code amendment chapter (18.04.020) for a placard/signage spec at the service equipment — none found beyond a general fire-code-official enforcement power to 'placard, post signs, erect barrier tape' (not a required PV-specific placard).

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull read of Ch. 18.08 and the fire-code amendment chapter found no city-specified placard wording anywhere; a control-proven absence across both chapters.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material

Why the confidence is not higherSame full-chapter read as Q39; no such specification found in either the solar chapter or the fire-code amendments.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched Ch. 18.08 and the fire-code amendment chapter for a site-plan/facility-map placard requirement — none found locally; likely governed only by the unamended base CEC §705.10, not independently confirmed here.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages are known to soft-404 (playbook-documented pattern); did not substitute another utility's placard spec per standing guidance. Checked sce.com generally without success within this run's time budget.

https://www.sce.com

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38/41 — no local label-placement spec found; likely base-code-only.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes — equipment must conform to standards set by accredited testing laboratories (e.g., UL) and IEEE

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.020.E.2: system must conform to 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, with conditions — battery/ESS construction is regulated under CFC §1207 as locally amended, but the SBCoFD operational permit for battery/energy-storage systems explicitly EXEMPTS R-3 (single-family residential) occupancies

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.04.020(a)(1), adding SBCoFD Fire Code §105.5.4A: 'An operational permit is required for a battery system or electrical energy storage system as regulated by section 1207 of the California Fire Code. Exception: This Section does not apply to systems in R-3 occupancies.' This also explains why SBCoFD's own fee schedules (FY2022-23 and FY2023-24 both checked) carry only 'Inspection, Battery System' and 'Lithium Ion Battery' lines with no residential-labeled fee — the R-3 exemption is the reason, not an unconfirmed gap.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.04ADUNFICOUNFICOSTAM

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

The SBCoFD fire operational permit is waived for residential (R-3) battery/ESS, but the City itself carries a distinct 'Energy Saving Battery Fee' ($182.33) in its own building fee schedule, implying a City-level (not fire-level) permit/inspection still applies

Why the confidence is not higherSee Q45 citation for the R-3 fire-permit exemption; City of Twentynine Palms FY2026-27 fee schedule item #187, 'Battery Backup, ESS System Fee... $182.33', sits in the City's own Building fee schedule (not SBCoFD's), confirming the City's Building & Safety Division — not the fire district — is the one charging for residential battery/ESS.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 19.68.020.C.2.b treats a freestanding 'solar energy collector' as a height- and setback-regulated structure: 'may be permitted up to 35 feet in height... set back from all property lines at least 1.25 times the height of the structure... Additional windmills or solar collectors shall require a Conditional Use Permit.'

municipal code (zoning) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_ART4SIDERE_CH19.68GEDESTEX_19.68.020HEMEEX

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages soft-404 (a known pattern for this utility); did not substitute another utility's AC-disconnect-location spec per standing guidance, and no city-side document was found addressing this either.

https://www.sce.com

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · municipal code
    • If delegated, to whom? SBCoFD fire marshal, for the fire-code component only (optional/consolidated); the building inspection itself is not delegated 78% · municipal code
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? One consolidated inspection (Building Official, optionally joined by the fire marshal) for systems eligible under Ch. 18.08's expedited pathway; a failed inspection allows one subsequent re-inspection 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    Nothing recorded for City of Twentynine Palms on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/applicant 82% · municipal code
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $119.54 (general Reinspection Fee) 80% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? Written correction notice at the application-review stage, detailing deficiencies; a failed field inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection 82% · municipal code

14 questions answered against City of Twentynine Palms’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone

Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety page: 'To request inspections please call the City's 24-hour building inspection request line... (760) 361-5140.' No portal-based inspection-scheduling function was found described on the public pages (the Citizenserve portal is described only for permit/plan applications).

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building & Safety page and Ch. 18.08 for a stated notice period for booking an inspection — none found.

https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building & Safety page for AM/PM or same-day inspection windows — none stated.

https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.060.A: 'One inspection shall be required and performed by staff for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review... which may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal.' 'Staff' = City Building & Safety personnel, so the City self-performs, optionally joined by the (SBCoFD) fire marshal for the fire-code component.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

SBCoFD fire marshal, for the fire-code component only (optional/consolidated); the building inspection itself is not delegated

Why the confidence is not higherSame citation as Q52 — 'may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal' implies SBCoFD's fire marshal (per Ch. 18.04's adoption of the SBCoFD Fire Code) may jointly participate, but does not replace the City's own building inspector.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

One consolidated inspection (Building Official, optionally joined by the fire marshal) for systems eligible under Ch. 18.08's expedited pathway; a failed inspection allows one subsequent re-inspection

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.060.A-C: single inspection requirement, with 18.08.060.C allowing 'a subsequent inspection... authorized but need not conform to the requirements of this Section' if the first fails.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No

Why the confidence is not higherCh. 18.08.060 provides for only ONE inspection for eligible small residential rooftop solar systems — no separate rough-in or mid-roof inspection is mentioned or required by the codified text.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08.060 (the inspection section) — it does not describe what is checked at inspection (labels, listings, etc.); presumably standard practice but not documented publicly.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published inspection checklist was found on the Building & Safety page, the Forms page, or via filename-pattern probing of the uploads directory; likely portal-gated (Citizenserve) if it exists.

https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked Ch. 18.08 and the Building & Safety page for a 'what must be on site' requirement — none found.

https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$119.54 (general Reinspection Fee)

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Twentynine Palms FY2026-27 Fee Schedule, Building fee section, item #2: 'Reinspection Fee... $119.54.' Not a solar-specific line, but the generally applicable building reinspection fee; also amended in 18.01.020 (CBC 110.1) to authorize a reinspection fee 'as determined by the Building Official' if work isn't ready/plans not on site.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/vertical/sites/%7BAE145833-008D-4FBA-AEC7-7D0EBD90E334%7D/uploads/Exhibit_A_-_Citywide_Fee_Schedule_FY_2026-27.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Written correction notice at the application-review stage, detailing deficiencies; a failed field inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.A: 'Upon receipt of an incomplete application, the building official shall issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies... and any additional information required.' 18.08.060.C covers the inspection-stage equivalent ('a subsequent inspection is authorized').

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCh. 18.08 does not name what document/tag is issued on a passing inspection (no 'Final', 'green tag', or 'CO' language appears anywhere in the chapter); not found on the Building & Safety page either.

https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer/applicant

Why the confidence is not higherTWPA MC 18.08.040.B: city approval/permit issuance 'shall not include any necessary approval or permission by a local utility provider... The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/twentynine_palms/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=CD_ORD_TIT18BUCO_CH18.08PEPRSMRESOENSY

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Twentynine Palms against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Twentynine Palms is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
Holds
Both (building and electrical, self-performed in-house); fire code enforcement delegated to San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (SBCoFD), which jointly participates in the solar final inspection when applicable
Delegated to
San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (fire-code component only)
Overridden by
State Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714, AB 2188/Gov. Code §65850.5 family) constrains the City's discretion (codified into Ch. 18.08 itself); no county or other agency overrides the City's own building/electrical jurisdiction inside city limits. Federal land occupied by the Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC), which dominates the area north of the city, is outside city (and county) jurisdiction entirely — no city page was found that explicitly instructs applicants to verify jurisdiction/land ownership before applying, which is itself worth flagging as an absence.
Why not higher
City's own Building & Safety department page describes issuing building permits and performing inspections; TWPA Municipal Code Title 18 codifies the City's adoption of the CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC and its own Ch. 18.08 solar-permitting chapter; Ch. 18.04 shows fire-code enforcement running through the County fire district by reference rather than a self-standing city fire department.

https://ci.twentynine-palms.ca.us/building-safety

Check the code edition before you build

This authority's published code edition does not match what the state has adopted. That usually means the authority's ordinance has not been updated for the current cycle — but a local amendment can also be lawful. Confirm with the building department before you submit.

Fire code
This authority publishes 2022 Conflicting citations: 18.01.130 (Ord. 326, 12-9-2025) says the '2025 Edition' California Fire Code is adopted, but Ch. 18.04 (the SBCoFD amendment chapter, last enacted by Ord. 306, 8-22-2023, unchanged since) explicitly still operates on and amends 'the 2022 California Fire Code' throughout — a genuine, un-reconciled cross-reference. Reporting both, resolving neither. 70% · source
The state has adopted 2024/2025 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), based on the 2024 International Fire Code, adopted by the Office of the State Fire Marshal with BSC approval. 90% · source
Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$250.00 base permit fee (roof/ground-mount residential 'small system', under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus an $81.34 general Permit Issuance…90%
Plan review
10 business days for photovoltaic; 15 business days for all other plan review92%
Portal
Citizenserve (cloud permit/plan-check/code-enforcement portal, installationID=366)95%
Electrical code
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)90%
Own placard wording
No80%
Booking an inspection
Phone75%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 80%

No

Size, colour & material 80%

Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
San Bernardino County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Twentynine Palms · city
Solar Requirements
Separate roof inspection
(Closed from 1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m.). You may submit your plans via our online portal for plan check or for permits via the link click HERE . To contact the Building and Safety Department call 760-367-6799 ext. To request inspections please call the City's 24-hour building inspection request line, Per
Authority Contact
Address
6136 Adobe Road, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Main Phone
(760) 367-6799
Building Department
Department
Building and Safety Division
Direct Phone
(760) 367-6799 ext. 1005
Portal Software
CitizenServe
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
online
Notes
Schedule inspections online via Citizenserve portal (installationID=366) or call the 24-hour inspection request line at (760) 361-5140. Building clerk available Mon–Thu 7am–6pm (closed Fri). Building Official available for consultation Mon–Thu 7–9am and 3–5pm (closed 1–2pm). Citizenserve portal supports online permit applications, status checks, fee payments, and inspection scheduling. Real-time notifications available by email, text, or phone upon inspection completion. (collected Jul 2026)