City of Ukiah

Mendocino County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Ukiah is a city authority in the State of California, serving 16,607 residents. 696 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2022 California Electrical Code code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 10-15 business days Q18 Where you file — Citizenserve (installationid=430) Q20

Permit required
Yes97% source
What it costs
$368.50 (statutory maximum $450, stated as 'to come into compliance with AB 1414')82% source
Plan review turnaround
10-15 business days68% source
Key document
municipal code cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · municipal code
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 68% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · department page / inference
    • Is there a historic-district review? Not required citywide for an ordinary rooftop PV retrofit. Historic review is triggered only for buildings on the City's Historical and Architectural Inventory or 50+ years old: within the Downtown Zoning Code district, Table 13 'Historical Building Standards' governs exterior modifications (UCC §9227.1); citywide, a demolition-review-committee process exists (UCC §3016) but is triggered by demolition, not by adding PV. No PV-specific exemption or carve-out was found either way. 65% · municipal code
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 80% · municipal code full-text search
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Not for typical residential rooftop PV. The zoning code's only CUP-adjacent reference near 'solar' is the 'Major Impact Services and Utilities' definition (grid-scale power generation facilities and battery energy storage systems requiring a use permit), which targets utility-scale infrastructure, not residential rooftop or accessory systems. 68% · municipal code
    • Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Two separate, coincidentally-equal 10 kW AC caps from two different authorities: (1) Planning/permitting gate — UCC §3020 defines a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' eligible for the expedited/streamlined review process as ≤ 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal (Gov. Code §65850.5); larger systems can still be permitted, just outside the expedited path. (2) Utility interconnection cap — Ukiah Electric Utility's own Interconnection Agreement (§7.3) independently limits interconnection sizing to '2x customer load up to 10 kW AC maximum,' with anything over 10 kW subject to a separate utility grid-impact/special review paid for during permitting. 88% · municipal code + utility agreement
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either (licensed contractor or homeowner as owner-builder) 50% · inference
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 68% · permit application form
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes (by state default; not separately addressed by city ordinance) 50% · inference
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed Building Permit Application; signed copy of the City's Interconnection Agreement; 3 copies of plans (2 wet-signed), 4 copies if system >10 kW; plot plan (11x17 or tabloid); 2 sets of truss calculations; PV system design and one-line drawing showing a load-side tap; if not roof-mounted, a plot plan showing system location/trenching relative to existing utilities/easements and disclosing easements. 92% · published checklist
    • How many copies, and in what format? 3 copies of plans (2 must be wet-signed); 4 copies if system size exceeds 10 kW; plot plan sized 11x17 or tabloid. 92% · published checklist
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — an 11x17/tabloid plot plan; for a non-roof-mounted (ground mount) system it must show the proposed system location and trenching relative to existing utilities/easements, and disclose easements. 90% · published checklist
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · published checklist
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No fixed PE-stamp threshold codified. For a UCC §3020-eligible small residential rooftop system (≤10 kW AC/30 kW thermal), the applicant may self-verify structural adequacy 'through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques' rather than obtaining a stamped structural review; two sets of truss calculations are required as a submittal item. 65% · municipal code
    • Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No fixed PE-stamp threshold codified. UCC §3020(E)(2) allows applicant self-verification of the existing electrical system's adequacy 'using standard electrical inspection techniques' at the applicant's cost, for eligible small residential rooftop systems. 65% · municipal code
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Citizenserve (installationid=430) 90% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Partially. The Citizenserve portal exposes an online 'Apply for Permit' action for Building/Fire permits, but the separate utility Interconnection Agreement and Meter Upgrade Application must be submitted 'via mail, email or drop off' to the Electric Utility's Customer Service Dept. — not through a single integrated online flow. 65% · published checklist
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $368.50 (statutory maximum $450, stated as 'to come into compliance with AB 1414') 82% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Flat 78% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? No separate plan-check fee identified for the solar permit itself; the $105 'additional plan review' line applies only to later changes/revisions to previously-reviewed plans. 65% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of Ukiah’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Ukiah Community Development Dept./Building Division issues residential building and electrical permits within city limits; UCC §3000 adopts the model codes for the City.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical are issued in-house by the Community Development Dept./Building Division (Chief Building Official Matt Keizer). Fire code enforcement is delegated to the Ukiah Valley Fire Authority JPA, but the same individual also holds the Fire Code Official title, so functionally it is unified.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020 codifies the state-mandated small residential rooftop solar permitting process; the City's own fee schedule carries a "Residential Solar permit" line.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building/MEP fee schedule lists a single 'Residential Solar permit' line item rather than separate building and electrical permit fees, and the PV submittal checklist calls for one 'Completed Building Permit Application' covering the whole system. Not stated as an explicit policy in any document.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/MEP-Fees.pdf

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either (licensed contractor or homeowner as owner-builder)

Why the confidence is not higherNo city-specific restriction on who may pull the electrical permit was found in the municipal code or on the Building Division page; this reflects the California state default (B&P Code licensed-contractor or owner-builder rules), not an Ukiah-specific rule.

inference checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe UVFA Fire Permit Application (rev. 7/13/23), used for solar/fire permits, requires a 'Business License #' field for the contractor in addition to the state contractor license number, implying a City of Ukiah business license is required.

permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/UVFA-Fire-Permit-Application-Update-7-13-23.pdf

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes (by state default; not separately addressed by city ordinance)

Why the confidence is not higherNo Ukiah-specific bar on homeowner self-install/self-permit was found; California's owner-builder statute generally allows it and nothing in UCC Div. 3 restricts it for solar.

inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Completed Building Permit Application; signed copy of the City's Interconnection Agreement; 3 copies of plans (2 wet-signed), 4 copies if system >10 kW; plot plan (11x17 or tabloid); 2 sets of truss calculations; PV system design and one-line drawing showing a load-side tap; if not roof-mounted, a plot plan showing system location/trenching relative to existing utilities/easements and disclosing easements.

Why the confidence is not higherTaken verbatim from the City's own PV submittal checklist, current as linked from the Building Division page.

published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

3 copies of plans (2 must be wet-signed); 4 copies if system size exceeds 10 kW; plot plan sized 11x17 or tabloid.

Why the confidence is not higherSame city PV requirements checklist.

published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Yes — an 11x17/tabloid plot plan; for a non-roof-mounted (ground mount) system it must show the proposed system location and trenching relative to existing utilities/easements, and disclose easements.

Why the confidence is not higherCity PV requirements checklist.

published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity checklist requires 'PV system design and one-line drawing showing a load side tap'; the utility's Interconnection Agreement separately requires a copy of the approved electrical one-line diagram.

published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity PV submittal checklist (Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf) and full-text search of the municipal code for 'string calculation' (0 hits, search engine control-verified working in the same session)

https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Ukiah-Building-Permit-PV-Requirements.pdf

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

No fixed PE-stamp threshold codified. For a UCC §3020-eligible small residential rooftop system (≤10 kW AC/30 kW thermal), the applicant may self-verify structural adequacy 'through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques' rather than obtaining a stamped structural review; two sets of truss calculations are required as a submittal item.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020(E)(1) allows applicant self-certification for eligible systems; no separate PE-stamp dollar/size threshold was found for non-eligible or larger systems.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

No fixed PE-stamp threshold codified. UCC §3020(E)(2) allows applicant self-verification of the existing electrical system's adequacy 'using standard electrical inspection techniques' at the applicant's cost, for eligible small residential rooftop systems.

Why the confidence is not higherSame section as Q13.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$368.50 (statutory maximum $450, stated as 'to come into compliance with AB 1414')

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Ukiah Building Division fee schedule, dated (pdfinfo CreationDate) 5 Mar 2020, still the document linked from the current Building Services page. AB 1414 (2013) is the act that added Gov. Code §65850.55, the residential solar permit-fee cap.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/MEP-Fees.pdf

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Flat

Why the confidence is not higherThe solar line is a single flat dollar figure, distinct from the valuation-based schedule used for general building permits in the same document, and expressly tied to the AB 1414/§65850.55 fee cap rather than valuation or per-kW/per-panel math.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/MEP-Fees.pdf

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

No separate plan-check fee identified for the solar permit itself; the $105 'additional plan review' line applies only to later changes/revisions to previously-reviewed plans.

Why the confidence is not higherMEP/Building fee schedules show the solar permit as one flat line item; the only plan-review fee is for post-submittal changes, not an initial plan-check surcharge.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/MEP-Fees.pdf

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

10-15 business days

Why the confidence is not higherGeneral figure stated on the Building Services page; not stated as solar-specific and may not reflect any faster state-mandated expedited timeline for UCC §3020-eligible small residential rooftop systems.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3030/§3036/§3037/§3038/§3039 each amend the corresponding California code section identically: a permit 'shall expire by limitation and become null and void' unless a required inspection is signed off within 180 days of issuance or of the last signed-off inspection.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Citizenserve (installationid=430)

Why the confidence is not higherLinked directly from the City's Building Services page and confirmed rendering (headless browser) with 'Building Permits' and 'Fire Permits' categories.

portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.citizenserve.com/Portal/?installationid=430

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Partially. The Citizenserve portal exposes an online 'Apply for Permit' action for Building/Fire permits, but the separate utility Interconnection Agreement and Meter Upgrade Application must be submitted 'via mail, email or drop off' to the Electric Utility's Customer Service Dept. — not through a single integrated online flow.

Why the confidence is not higherCitizenserve portal rendered via headless Chrome shows a 'showApplyPermitPage' action; the Interconnection Application Checklist explicitly instructs mail/email/drop-off submission for the utility-side paperwork.

published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Interconnection-Application-Checklist.pdf

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Ukiah Electric Utility (municipal, non-CPUC utility) — NOT PG&E

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Electric Franchise ordinance (UCC §1931, Div.1 Ch.11 Art.3) grants PG&E only the right to 'transmit... but not distribute electricity in the City' — an explicit, dated (Ord. 558, 1964), first-party carve-out proving the City itself is the distribution utility. Corroborated by the City's own rate schedules, NEM/G-1 Rider documents, and interconnection agreements, all issued by 'Ukiah Electric Utility.' The brief's 'PG&E' entry is wrong.

municipal code (franchise ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah01/Ukiah0111-0300.html

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

After permit

Why the confidence is not higherInterconnection Agreement (Residential Self Generation and ESS, eff. June 2026) §4.1-4.4 and UCC §3020(H) both make Building Division final-inspection approval and a fully executed Interconnection Agreement prerequisites to commencing parallel operation; the utility does not connect ahead of the City's permit/inspection.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo ordinance requires HOA/architectural approval before a building permit for rooftop PV; the Design Review Board's jurisdiction is scoped to Site Development Permits, Planned Developments and Precise Development Plans, not routine single-family solar installs, and Civil Code §714 independently limits HOA restriction regardless.

department page / inference checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/planning-services/

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Not required citywide for an ordinary rooftop PV retrofit. Historic review is triggered only for buildings on the City's Historical and Architectural Inventory or 50+ years old: within the Downtown Zoning Code district, Table 13 'Historical Building Standards' governs exterior modifications (UCC §9227.1); citywide, a demolition-review-committee process exists (UCC §3016) but is triggered by demolition, not by adding PV. No PV-specific exemption or carve-out was found either way.

Why the confidence is not higherRead the Downtown Zoning Code's Historical Building Standards article and the Building Regulations exclusions/modifications article in full; neither mentions solar, so whether mounting panels on a 50+-year-old roof counts as a reviewable 'modification' is untested.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah09/Ukiah0902-1800.html

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the municipal code for 'windstorm' returned zero hits, with the search engine control-verified in the same session (positive control 'electrical' = 40 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits). No wind-certification requirement found for residential solar.

municipal code full-text search checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Not for typical residential rooftop PV. The zoning code's only CUP-adjacent reference near 'solar' is the 'Major Impact Services and Utilities' definition (grid-scale power generation facilities and battery energy storage systems requiring a use permit), which targets utility-scale infrastructure, not residential rooftop or accessory systems.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §9 (Zoning) Art. 21 Definitions.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah09/Ukiah0902-2100.html

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Two separate, coincidentally-equal 10 kW AC caps from two different authorities: (1) Planning/permitting gate — UCC §3020 defines a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' eligible for the expedited/streamlined review process as ≤ 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal (Gov. Code §65850.5); larger systems can still be permitted, just outside the expedited path. (2) Utility interconnection cap — Ukiah Electric Utility's own Interconnection Agreement (§7.3) independently limits interconnection sizing to '2x customer load up to 10 kW AC maximum,' with anything over 10 kW subject to a separate utility grid-impact/special review paid for during permitting.

Why the confidence is not higherBoth figures read directly from the City's own code and the utility's own current (eff. June 2026) Interconnection Agreement.

municipal code + utility agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 88% · municipal code (floating adoption clause)
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24), automatically in force under Ukiah's floating adoption clause. 88% · municipal code
    • Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, including the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code 96% · municipal code (adopting ordinance)
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · municipal code
    • What is the installation judged against? The current (floating) 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC, as locally amended, plus Civil Code §714(c)(iii) cross-referenced directly in UCC §3020(A)(2), plus the Fire Code's local 'Alternate Power Sources' amendment (placard/back-feed labeling). 85% · municipal code
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    • What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No PV-specific local fire-code ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway rule found; governed by the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC baseline (e.g., CRC R324.6 / CFC 1205 pathway and setback tables). 72% · municipal code
  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required to the NEC edition in force (2023 NEC, per the floating 2025 CEC adoption); no local amendment to or citation of §690.12 was found. 78% · municipal code full-text search
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Yes — a permanent 'Alternate Power Source' warning placard on any electrical panel subject to back-feed from a permanently-installed generator, PV system, or other power source. 95% · municipal code (fire code amendment)
    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes 96% · municipal code (fire code amendment)
    • Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Red-colored, permanently engraved and affixed signage; lettering minimum 0.5" tall. 96% · municipal code (fire code amendment)
    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? No — the utility's own interconnection documents impose no signage/placard requirement of their own beyond referencing NEC/UL 1741 compliance generally. 82% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Where must the labels be placed? Permanently affixed on each electrical panel subject to back-feed from the alternate power source; associated disabling switches must be clearly labeled. 90% · municipal code (fire code amendment)
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Not a discretionary city 'approved list'; equipment must be UL 1741-listed and CEC RPS-eligible per the utility's Interconnection Agreement. 75% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, explicitly contemplated. No local capacity/location restriction found beyond the unamended 2025 CFC Ch.12/CRC R327 baseline. 80% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 88% · fee schedule
    • Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Inferred yes — no PV-specific ground-mount zoning section was found, but the general 'Required Yard Setbacks' article applies front/side/rear setbacks to 'accessory structures' generally, and the City's own PV checklist treats a non-roof-mounted system as needing a site/plot plan showing location, trenching and easements (i.e., treated as sited infrastructure, not exempt from siting review). 55% · municipal code / inference
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade amendment found (no Palm-Springs-style rule). 78% · municipal code full-text search

20 questions answered against City of Ukiah’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3000 adopts by reference 'the versions of the model codes...as they are adopted, amended, or repealed from time to time' at the state level (Title 24) — a floating/automatic adoption rather than a fixed local code-cycle ordinance. The current statewide California Electrical Code (2025 Title 24, effective 1 Jan 2026) is based on the 2023 NEC.

municipal code (floating adoption clause) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0100.html

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (Title 24), automatically in force under Ukiah's floating adoption clause.

Why the confidence is not higherSame UCC §3000 mechanism as Q29.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0100.html

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

2025 California Fire Code, including the 2025 California Wildland-Urban Interface Code

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §5200, most recently amended by Ord. 1261 §1, adopted 2025, names the 2025 editions explicitly — a fixed-edition local adoption ordinance rather than a floating clause.

municipal code (adopting ordinance) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments exist on both the building side (UCC Div.3 Ch.1 Art.3 — §3020 solar streamlining, 180-day permit expiration, Appendix G additions) and the fire side (UCC Div.6 Ch.3 Art.3 — the 'Alternate Power Sources' placard rule, fire-lane/address-sign amendments, geographic limits, Board of Appeals structure).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The current (floating) 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC, as locally amended, plus Civil Code §714(c)(iii) cross-referenced directly in UCC §3020(A)(2), plus the Fire Code's local 'Alternate Power Sources' amendment (placard/back-feed labeling).

Why the confidence is not higherSynthesis of UCC §3000, §3020, and §5200.5/§5214.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No local busbar-sizing or service-upgrade amendment found (no Palm-Springs-style rule).

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search for 'busbar' returned zero hits in the same session where the positive control 'electrical' returned 40 hits and the fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned 0 — the search engine was proven functional, so this is a genuine codified absence, not a failed search.

municipal code full-text search checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedMunicipal code Building Regulations articles (UCC Div.3 Ch.1) and the City's PV submittal checklist — neither specifies a mounting-system type or attachment-spacing standard beyond requiring truss calculations

https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

No PV-specific local fire-code ridge-setback or roof-access-pathway rule found; governed by the unamended 2025 CFC/CRC baseline (e.g., CRC R324.6 / CFC 1205 pathway and setback tables).

Why the confidence is not higherRead the Fire Code's 'Generally' and 'Amendments, Omissions and Additions' articles in full; the only 'ridge' hits in the whole code relate to hillside/open-space topography, not roof access pathways.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0300.html

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes, rapid shutdown is required to the NEC edition in force (2023 NEC, per the floating 2025 CEC adoption); no local amendment to or citation of §690.12 was found.

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search for both '690.12' and 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits against the same working search engine (controls verified: 'electrical' = 40 hits, 'zzqqx' = 0 hits).

municipal code full-text search checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes — a permanent 'Alternate Power Source' warning placard on any electrical panel subject to back-feed from a permanently-installed generator, PV system, or other power source.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §5200.5 (2025 insertion into CFC §1201.4) and UCC §5214 (§605.3.1.1 amendment) both codify this placard requirement, applicable to 'electrical generators, wind generators, or other power sources' — residential PV/battery back-feed installations are captured.

municipal code (fire code amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim required wording: "WARNING – This premise[s] is provided with an Alternate Power source, Disconnection of commercial power may not disable the electric power source."

municipal code (fire code amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Red-colored, permanently engraved and affixed signage; lettering minimum 0.5" tall.

Why the confidence is not higherSame UCC §5200.5/§5214 text.

municipal code (fire code amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Code local amendments (UCC Div.6 Ch.3), the PV submittal checklist, and both utility interconnection agreements — no dedicated posted site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond the submittal-stage plot plan was found

https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No — the utility's own interconnection documents impose no signage/placard requirement of their own beyond referencing NEC/UL 1741 compliance generally.

Why the confidence is not higherFull text of both the current (eff. June 2026, OCR'd from image-only PDF) and prior (2022/Jan-2023 'General Requirements') Interconnection Agreement documents reviewed; neither specifies a placard, disconnect marking, or signage requirement (unlike Lompoc or BEU).

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Permanently affixed on each electrical panel subject to back-feed from the alternate power source; associated disabling switches must be clearly labeled.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §5200.5/§5214.

municipal code (fire code amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Not a discretionary city 'approved list'; equipment must be UL 1741-listed and CEC RPS-eligible per the utility's Interconnection Agreement.

Why the confidence is not higherInterconnection Agreement §7.6 and Definitions section.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes, explicitly contemplated. No local capacity/location restriction found beyond the unamended 2025 CFC Ch.12/CRC R327 baseline.

Why the confidence is not higherThe utility's Interconnection Agreement is titled 'Residential Self Generation AND ENERGY STORAGE SYSTEMS' with a 'BATTERY' checkbox on the application itself; the fire fee schedule separately prices battery construction permits (see Q46).

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherThe Fire Prevention Office fee schedule lists separate fire construction permits: 'Battery System; CFC 105.7.2' ($165) and 'Capacitor energy storage systems; CFC 105.7.3' ($165), distinct from 'Solar photovoltaic power systems; CFC 105.7.21' (Residential $165 / Commercial $330). Document is OCR'd from an image-only PDF, titled 'Proposed Line Items and Fee Schedule 2019-2020' (pdfinfo CreationDate 6 Apr 2020) but is the schedule currently linked from the Building Services page.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/Fire-Prevention-Office-Fee-Schedule-2020-for-Inspections-and-Permits.pdf

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Inferred yes — no PV-specific ground-mount zoning section was found, but the general 'Required Yard Setbacks' article applies front/side/rear setbacks to 'accessory structures' generally, and the City's own PV checklist treats a non-roof-mounted system as needing a site/plot plan showing location, trenching and easements (i.e., treated as sited infrastructure, not exempt from siting review).

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §9020 (R-1 yard setbacks) plus the PV Requirements checklist's ground-mount clause; no zoning section names ground-mount PV directly as a 'structure.'

municipal code / inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah09/Ukiah0902-0300.html

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBoth Interconnection Agreements (2022/Jan-2023 'General Requirements' and current eff. June 2026), the Interconnection Application Checklist, and the Meter Upgrade Application — none specify an AC-disconnect distance or location relative to the meter

https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone 80% · department page
    • How much notice is required? Conflicting figures on the City's own page: 'a minimum of 48 hours notice is required prior to each inspection' in one place, and 'Inspections must be requested 24 hours in advance' in another. Reported as-is; not resolved. 75% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Not explicitly offered as an AM/PM choice; inspections are conducted in two daily blocks, Mon-Fri 8:00am-noon and 1:00-4:00pm. 55% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · municipal code
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; performed in-house by the City Building Official, consolidated with the Fire Code Official function (same individual, per the Building Services staff listing). 85% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a UCC §3020-eligible small residential rooftop system, only ONE inspection is required, after permit issuance, which may be a consolidated Building + Fire inspection; that final passes before the Electric Utility will execute/finalize interconnection. 85% · municipal code
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No, not for a UCC §3020-eligible system — only one final inspection is required by ordinance. No document addresses the sequence for non-eligible, larger, or ground-mount systems. 68% · municipal code
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? No 65% · department page
    • What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and the issued permit card, by general inference ('the required inspections are listed on your copy of the permit... all work must be inspected before it is covered up'); not solar-specific. 50% · department page / inference
    • Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Inferred yes, as standard field-inspection practice (verifying UL 1741/CEC-listed equipment and the required Fire Code placards), but no document explicitly states this as an inspection line-item. 50% · inference
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final 90% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Applicant 88% · municipal code
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $105.00 80% · fee schedule
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? For application-stage deficiencies, UCC §3020(G) requires the Building Official to issue 'a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies.' For field-inspection failures, standard practice is fail/correct/re-inspect (subject to the $105 re-inspection fee); no dedicated field-correction-notice document was found. 55% · municipal code

14 questions answered against City of Ukiah’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Services page: 'Building inspections may be scheduled or canceled by calling our inspection line at (707) 463-6739.' The Citizenserve portal may also support inspection requests but this is not confirmed as the emphasized method.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Conflicting figures on the City's own page: 'a minimum of 48 hours notice is required prior to each inspection' in one place, and 'Inspections must be requested 24 hours in advance' in another. Reported as-is; not resolved.

Why the confidence is not higherBoth sentences appear on the same Building Services department page.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Not explicitly offered as an AM/PM choice; inspections are conducted in two daily blocks, Mon-Fri 8:00am-noon and 1:00-4:00pm.

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Services page states these hours but does not describe a same-day or AM/PM window booking feature.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPerformed in-house by the City Building Official; UCC §3020(F) confirms the final inspection for an eligible system 'may include a consolidated inspection by the Building Official and Fire Chief' — both in-house roles are in fact held by the same individual (Matt Keizer).

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A — not delegated; performed in-house by the City Building Official, consolidated with the Fire Code Official function (same individual, per the Building Services staff listing).

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Services page lists Matt Keizer as both 'Chief Building Official / Fire Code Official.'

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

For a UCC §3020-eligible small residential rooftop system, only ONE inspection is required, after permit issuance, which may be a consolidated Building + Fire inspection; that final passes before the Electric Utility will execute/finalize interconnection.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020(F) plus the utility Interconnection Agreement's §4.1-4.4 sequencing.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

No, not for a UCC §3020-eligible system — only one final inspection is required by ordinance. No document addresses the sequence for non-eligible, larger, or ground-mount systems.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020(F): 'only one inspection shall be required.'

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Inferred yes, as standard field-inspection practice (verifying UL 1741/CEC-listed equipment and the required Fire Code placards), but no document explicitly states this as an inspection line-item.

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the Interconnection Agreement's UL 1741/CEC-listing requirement and the codified placard rule; no dedicated field-inspection checklist was found to confirm directly.

inference checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Building Services department page and the City's PV submittal-requirements handout; both provide a submittal/document checklist but no separate published field-inspection checklist exists at either location.

department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Approved plans and the issued permit card, by general inference ('the required inspections are listed on your copy of the permit... all work must be inspected before it is covered up'); not solar-specific.

Why the confidence is not higherGeneric language on the Building Services page, not a solar-specific document.

department page / inference checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/community-development/building-services/

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$105.00

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding/MEP fee schedules: 'Reinspection fees assessed under provisions of section 305.8/305.5, per inspection: $105.00.' Document dated (pdfinfo) 5 Mar 2020, but is the schedule currently linked from the Building Services page.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/Building-Fees.pdf

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

For application-stage deficiencies, UCC §3020(G) requires the Building Official to issue 'a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies.' For field-inspection failures, standard practice is fail/correct/re-inspect (subject to the $105 re-inspection fee); no dedicated field-correction-notice document was found.

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020(G) plus the re-inspection fee line.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final

Why the confidence is not higherThe utility's Interconnection Agreement conditions operation on 'Approval of final inspection by the City of Ukiah Community Development Department, Building Division' — a Final, not a CO (PV addition to an existing dwelling does not trigger a Certificate of Occupancy).

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofukiah.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/Interconnection-Agreement-G1-Rate-Residential.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer/Applicant

Why the confidence is not higherUCC §3020(H): 'The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.' The Customer-Generator (owner/applicant), not the City, signs and submits the Interconnection Agreement to Ukiah Electric Utility.

municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah03/Ukiah0301-0300.html

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Ukiah against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Ukiah is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (in-house, Community Development Dept./Building Division); Fire code enforcement is held by the Ukiah Valley Fire Authority, a JPA between the City of Ukiah and the Ukiah Valley Fire Protection District (effective 1 Jul 2017, "Agreement for Shared Management of Fire Departments")
Delegated to
Fire only, to Ukiah Valley Fire Authority (UVFA). Note: the codified Fire Code (UCC §5202, amended as recently as Ord. 1261, 2025) still names the enforcing chief as the "Chief of the Ukiah Valley Fire District" and the Board of Appeals as the District's Board of Directors — a stale legal-name reference surviving the 2017 JPA reorganization; UVFA is the current public-facing name confirmed on its own site and on the 2023-revised UVFA Fire Permit Application. In practice the same individual, Matt Keizer, holds both the Chief Building Official and Fire Code Official titles, so Building and Fire plan review/inspection are effectively unified in one office.
Overridden by
Ukiah Electric Utility's own interconnection rules (not Rule 21 — Ukiah runs a municipal, non-CPUC electric utility) require final Building-Division inspection approval before the utility will execute the Interconnection Agreement or energize the system, and replace true NEM with a G-1 Rider avoided-cost export credit for any system installed/operational on or after 1 Jul 2021 (NEM closed, 5% cap met Q2 2021). This does not override the City's building/electrical permitting authority but sits downstream of it and imposes its own separate sizing cap.
Why not higher
City of Ukiah Municipal Code §3000 (model code adoption) and §5200/§5202 (fire code adoption/enforcement) establish the City, via its Building Division, as issuer of building/electrical permits, with UVFA performing fire code enforcement under a named JPA. The City's own Electric Franchise ordinance (UCC §1931) proves PG&E holds only a transmission (not distribution) franchise inside city limits, confirming Ukiah Electric Utility, not PG&E, is the interconnecting utility — the brief's utility field was wrong.

https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Ukiah/html/Ukiah06/Ukiah0603-0100.html

Permit required
Yes97%
Permit cost
$368.50 (statutory maximum $450, stated as 'to come into compliance with AB 1414')82%
Plan review
10-15 business days68%
Portal
Citizenserve (installationid=430)90%
Electrical code
202388%
Own placard wording
Yes96%
Booking an inspection
Phone80%
Labels & placards for this authority

City of Ukiah writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.

Wording 96%

Yes

Size, colour & material 96%

Red-colored, permanently engraved and affixed signage; lettering minimum 0.5" tall.

Where they go 90%

Permanently affixed on each electrical panel subject to back-feed from the alternate power source; associated disabling switches must be clearly labeled.

What the utility wants on top 82%

No — the utility's own interconnection documents impose no signage/placard requirement of their own beyond referencing NEC/UL 1741 compliance generally.

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Mendocino County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Ukiah · city
Solar Requirements
Code cycle
2022 California Electrical Code
Separate roof inspection
Do I need a permit for residential solar panels? The City of Ukiah offers expedited building permits for small residential roof-top solar energy systems. Contact the Building department for a Solar Program Guide Book. Each year, Ukiah increases our renewable portfolio and has various solar projects
Separate fire inspection
We are looking out at the hillsides and open spaces, putting in fire breaks, undergrounding power lines, and clearing fuel. We also swapped out the fire-fighting foam for non-toxic alternatives that are free from the PFAS and PFOS chemicals. We have also streamlined how our fire response teams are s
Authority Contact
Address
300 Seminary Avenue, Ukiah, CA 95482
Main Phone
(707) 463-6200
Building Department
Department
Building Services Division
Direct Phone
(707) 467-5786
Portal Software
CitizenServe
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Book in advance
48 hours
Notes
Call inspection line (707) 463-6739 to schedule; minimum 48 hours notice required. Inspection services hours: M-F 8:00am-noon and 1:00pm-4:00pm. Building counter hours: M-F 8:00am-11:30am and 1:00pm-4:30pm. CitizenServe online portal listed at cityofukiah.com (installationid=430) but URL returned error when tested — phone is the reliable channel. Solar-specific: all PV systems require pre-approval before submitting for a building permit; city offers expedited permits for small residential rooftop solar. Contact building dept for Solar Program Guide Book. (collected Jul 2026)