City of Union City

Alameda County

Verified Aug. 4, 2026

City of Union City is a city authority in the State of California, serving 70,143 residents. 2,937 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 48 business hours for the automated SolarAPP+ review (email with the City permit number arrives within 48 business hours of submittal) Q18 Where you file — SolarAPP+ for eligible residential retrofit PV/PV+storage systems; other permits are handled over-the-counter or by email at the Building Division counter (no… Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$295.00 for the first 15kW plus $5.00 per kW above 15kW (residential), plus a $109 permit issuance fee; minimum permit fee is $20995% source
Plan review turnaround
48 business hours for the automated SolarAPP+ review (email with the City permit number arrives within 48 business hours of submittal)90% source
Key document
authority's own page + state law inference cited by 5 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building and Electrical, in-house); Fire code compliance is delegated by contract to Alameda County Fire Department 90% · authority's own page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · permit application form
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Yes, where applicable — the City's own Construction Permit Application form asks 'Is your property part of a Home Owners Association Group?' and instructs the applicant to attach HOA approval if so 80% · permit application form
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · authority's own page
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — California's Solar Rights Act (Gov. Code §65850.5) requires ministerial, non-discretionary review of compliant residential rooftop PV, which is consistent with Union City using SolarAPP+ for automated, non-discretionary permitting rather than a Council/SUP process 70% · authority's own page + state law inference
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • What documents make up a complete submittal? No solar-specific checklist is published; SolarAPP+ handles document collection for the automated track (design files uploaded to the SolarAPP+ portal). For the manual/OTC track, the general Construction Permit Application plus site plans, manufacturer spec sheets, and load calculations are the pattern the Building Division uses for comparable residential electrical work (its EV-charger handout requires: completed application, 3 sets of site/floor plans, 2 sets of manufacturer specs, 2 sets of load calcs). 55% · comparable authority document (EV charging handout)
    • How many copies, and in what format? Not specified for solar specifically; the comparable EV-charger handout from the same division calls for 3 sets of site/floor plans (8.5x11 min) and 2 sets each of specs/load calcs; fire submittals under the same City require 3 sets max 24x36. 50% · comparable authority document
    • Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Not published specifically for solar; general Building Division practice (per the comparable EV-charger handout) requires site/floor plans showing the property and equipment location as part of any electrical submittal. 50% · comparable authority document
    • Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 75% · utility tariff
    • Are string and conductor calculations required? Not published by the City as a submittal requirement; standard NEC Article 690 ampacity/conductor sizing applies as part of the adopted electrical code, but no City-specific checklist calling out string/conductor calculations was found 50% · inference from adopted code
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SolarAPP+ for eligible residential retrofit PV/PV+storage systems; other permits are handled over-the-counter or by email at the Building Division counter (no general online permitting portal is named for non-solar work) 90% · authority's own page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for eligible SolarAPP+ projects (instant automated permit); non-eligible or non-solar work requires in-person or email submittal to the Building Division counter 90% · authority's own page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $295.00 for the first 15kW plus $5.00 per kW above 15kW (residential), plus a $109 permit issuance fee; minimum permit fee is $209 95% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Per kW (tiered: flat $295 base for the first 15kW, then $5/kW above that) 90% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Ambiguous — a generic 'Plan Check: 100% of Building Permit Fee' line exists on the fee schedule, but it is not clear whether it applies on top of the flat/tiered residential Solar PV fee, which appears designed to be self-contained (especially for SolarAPP+ automated review). 55% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 48 business hours for the automated SolarAPP+ review (email with the City permit number arrives within 48 business hours of submittal) 90% · authority's own page
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (statewide default under the adopted California Building Code, absent a published local override) 60% · inference from adopted code family
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 95% · authority's own document
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel intake with permitting, but the utility's final step (Permission to Operate) does not issue until after the City's final electrical inspection is complete 80% · utility tariff

28 questions answered against City of Union City’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division page states it administers building/electrical permitting for the address; Building Division holds the counter, fee schedule and SolarApp+ portal for residential PV.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both (Building and Electrical, in-house); Fire code compliance is delegated by contract to Alameda County Fire Department

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page shows the Building Division issues both building and electrical permits directly (fee schedule has both building-valuation and electrical-apparatus fee tables). City's own Fire and Fire-Permits pages state ACFD provides fire services and fire code administration to Union City under contract.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherConstruction Permit Application form lists 'Solar Permit' as one of the permit types, and the Building page/SolarApp+ page describe the required permitting workflow for residential PV.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/167

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherThe Fee Schedule lists a single 'Solar Photovoltaic Permit Fee – Residential Projects Only' line (not separate building+electrical PV lines), suggesting the electrical scope of a PV install is folded into the one solar permit. But the Construction Permit Application still lists 'Electrical Permit' and 'Solar Permit' as separate checkboxes, so this is an inference, not an explicit city statement.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either (state-licensed contractor or owner-builder)

Why the confidence is not higherConstruction Permit Application offers 'Owner-Builder Permit', 'Agent for Owner', and 'State Licensed Contractor' as the three applicant types; no trade-specific restriction to electricians alone is stated on the form.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/167

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe Construction Permit Application only asks for the contractor's California state license number/class and workers' comp info — there is no separate 'register as a Union City contractor' step. SolarAPP+'s own registration step (mentioned on the Solar-App page) is registration with the SolarAPP+ platform, not with the City.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higher'Owner - Builder Permit' is listed as a permit type on the City's own Construction Permit Application form.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/167

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

No solar-specific checklist is published; SolarAPP+ handles document collection for the automated track (design files uploaded to the SolarAPP+ portal). For the manual/OTC track, the general Construction Permit Application plus site plans, manufacturer spec sheets, and load calculations are the pattern the Building Division uses for comparable residential electrical work (its EV-charger handout requires: completed application, 3 sets of site/floor plans, 2 sets of manufacturer specs, 2 sets of load calcs).

Why the confidence is not higherInferred by analogy from the Building Division's EV-charging-station handout (same division, same counter, same OTC process) — no PV-specific submittal checklist was found published on the Building or Solar-App pages.

comparable authority document (EV charging handout) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Not specified for solar specifically; the comparable EV-charger handout from the same division calls for 3 sets of site/floor plans (8.5x11 min) and 2 sets each of specs/load calcs; fire submittals under the same City require 3 sets max 24x36.

Why the confidence is not higherNo PV-specific copy count published; figure is drawn from the Building Division's EV-charging handout and the Fire-Permits page's fire-submittal requirement, both comparable in-house processes rather than a solar-specific document.

comparable authority document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Not published specifically for solar; general Building Division practice (per the comparable EV-charger handout) requires site/floor plans showing the property and equipment location as part of any electrical submittal.

Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated solar site-plan requirement sheet found on the Building or Solar-App pages; inferred from the same division's EV-charger handout.

comparable authority document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's Rule 21 tariff (Sheet 171, Section H.1.d.v) requires the visible/lockable interconnection disconnect to be 'clearly marked on the submitted single line diagram' as part of the interconnection request — a one-line diagram is therefore a required submittal for any grid-tied PV system in Union City's PG&E territory. The City does not separately publish this requirement.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Not published by the City as a submittal requirement; standard NEC Article 690 ampacity/conductor sizing applies as part of the adopted electrical code, but no City-specific checklist calling out string/conductor calculations was found

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the adopted 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base); no dedicated City checklist item found on the Building or Solar-App pages.

inference from adopted code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched the Building Division page's adopted-codes section and the Construction Permit Application; neither states a structural PE-stamp threshold for residential rooftop PV.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched the Building Division page and Construction Permit Application; no electrical PE-stamp threshold for residential PV is published.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$295.00 for the first 15kW plus $5.00 per kW above 15kW (residential), plus a $109 permit issuance fee; minimum permit fee is $209

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Union City Building Division Fee Schedule, PDF confirmed via pdfinfo CreationDate 2 Jul 2026 and internal 'Fees Effective: July 1, 2026' / 'Fees Update: June 23, 2026' stamps — matches the webpage's own label 'Fee Schedule (Fiscal Year 2026-2027)'. Note: the file's URL slug says '070121' (implying Jul 2021) but the document itself is the current FY26-27 schedule — the date must be read from inside the PDF, not the URL.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Per kW (tiered: flat $295 base for the first 15kW, then $5/kW above that)

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule line item as Q15.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Ambiguous — a generic 'Plan Check: 100% of Building Permit Fee' line exists on the fee schedule, but it is not clear whether it applies on top of the flat/tiered residential Solar PV fee, which appears designed to be self-contained (especially for SolarAPP+ automated review).

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists both a flat Solar PV fee and a separate generic Plan Check line without clarifying which residential PV submittals the plan-check line applies to.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

48 business hours for the automated SolarAPP+ review (email with the City permit number arrives within 48 business hours of submittal)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own SolarAPP+ page states this turnaround explicitly for the automated review track.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (statewide default under the adopted California Building Code, absent a published local override)

Why the confidence is not higherNo Union City-specific permit-validity statement was found on the Building page, Construction Permit Application, or fee schedule; California Building Code (adopted per the Building page's own 'Adopted Codes' section) sets a 180-day default permit-expiration period for inactivity when a jurisdiction has not published its own local amendment. This is an inference from the adopted code family, not a city-specific document quote.

inference from adopted code family checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SolarAPP+ for eligible residential retrofit PV/PV+storage systems; other permits are handled over-the-counter or by email at the Building Division counter (no general online permitting portal is named for non-solar work)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building and Solar-App pages.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes, for eligible SolarAPP+ projects (instant automated permit); non-eligible or non-solar work requires in-person or email submittal to the Building Division counter

Why the confidence is not higherSolar-App page.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E is the only electric utility listed on the City's own 'Alameda County and Utility Contact List' handout (Hayward service center, customer service and emergency numbers given).

authority's own document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/175

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel intake with permitting, but the utility's final step (Permission to Operate) does not issue until after the City's final electrical inspection is complete

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Rule 21 (Sheet 45, Section D.13.b) requires 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction' before PG&E will normally process Permission to Operate (target 30 business days after that and the other NEM paperwork are complete).

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Yes, where applicable — the City's own Construction Permit Application form asks 'Is your property part of a Home Owners Association Group?' and instructs the applicant to attach HOA approval if so

Why the confidence is not higherConstruction Permit Application form.

permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/167

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Planning page (Title 18 Zoning Ordinance reference) and ran a sitemap keyword search for historic/landmark/heritage/Alvarado/Decoto district pages; found no published historic-district or design-review-overlay page for Union City (unlike Dublin's narrow Historic Overlay District finding on a sister run). The zoning ordinance text itself (qcode.us -> resolve.ecode360.com) is Cloudflare-blocked to plain fetch.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/208/Planning

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No

Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm-certification requirement is published; the Building page lists a design Basic Wind Speed of 85 mph as a structural design parameter (not a certification program, unlike Texas TDI-style regimes).

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No — California's Solar Rights Act (Gov. Code §65850.5) requires ministerial, non-discretionary review of compliant residential rooftop PV, which is consistent with Union City using SolarAPP+ for automated, non-discretionary permitting rather than a Council/SUP process

Why the confidence is not higherInference from the City's own use of SolarAPP+ (an automated, non-discretionary permitting tool) combined with the statewide statutory requirement; not a direct city statement about SUP/Council approval.

authority's own page + state law inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building page's adopted-codes section and the Fee Schedule; no residential generation system-size cap is published by the City (California's NEM/interconnection size limits, if any, would sit with PG&E/CPUC rather than the City, and were not found stated as a City-level cap).

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 80% · authority's own page + statewide code-cycle inference
    • Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Volumes 1 & 2) 90% · authority's own page
    • Which fire code edition is in force? Contradicted between the City's own pages: the Building page lists the 2025 California Fire Code as part of its adopted-codes family, while the separate Fire-Permits page states 'Union City adopted the 2013 California Fire Code.' Not resolved — the municipal code itself (Title 15) could not be reached to check the actual current adopting ordinance. 45% · authority's own page (contradicts another authority page)
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · authority's own page
    • What is the installation judged against? The locally-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green Building Standards Codes (Volumes 1 & 2), plus the 1997 California Administrative/Abatement/Housing/Security codes, per the Building Division's own adopted-codes statement 90% · authority's own page
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Union City on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes — rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code (built on the 2023 NEC); no Union City amendment to the rapid-shutdown requirement was found, but the ordinance text itself could not be reached to fully rule one out 70% · authority's own page + adopted-code inference
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Not separately specified by the City beyond what NEC Article 690/705 (2023 NEC, as adopted) requires by default (main service disconnect PV labeling, rapid-shutdown label, multiple-source-of-power placard, etc.); no City-specific placard bulletin was found on the Building or Solar-App pages 55% · inference from adopted code
    • Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not separately published by the City; the NEC's own rapid-shutdown labeling requirements (690.56/705.10, as adopted in the 2023 NEC base of the 2025 CEC) are the applicable baseline in the absence of a local facility-map placard bulletin 50% · inference from adopted code
    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 tariff requires the interconnection disconnect switch to carry open/closed position markings, and if it is not adjacent to the point of common coupling, permanent signage identifying its location (and, if inside a locked premises, a PG&E-approved locking device plus contact-information signage) 85% · utility tariff
    • Where must the labels be placed? At or near the Point of Common Coupling / point of interconnection, in a location reachable by PG&E personnel 24/7 without keys or special clearance for emergencies, and during normal business hours otherwise; if the disconnect is not adjacent to the PCC, PG&E requires separate location signage 75% · utility tariff
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not given as a specific distance from the meter; PG&E's Rule 21 requires the visible/lockable disconnect to be near the Point of Common Coupling, readily accessible, and clearly marked, but does not state a fixed clearance from the meter itself in the sections reviewed 65% · utility tariff
    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, in the sense that interconnection/service equipment must be Certified/Listed (per NEC Article 100) suitable for its application and available fault current — the City has no separate 'approved products list' beyond that adopted-code and utility-tariff listing requirement 70% · utility tariff
    • Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — the City's own SolarApp+ page states the automated portal covers 'residential, roof-mounted, retrofit photovoltaic (PV) systems or photovoltaic (PV) systems with battery storage,' so battery/ESS is permitted bundled with a PV installation up to SolarAPP+'s national eligibility limits; the City does not publish its own separate ESS conditions beyond that 75% · authority's own page
    • Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — the Building fee schedule has only one 'Solar Photovoltaic Permit Fee' line (no separate battery/ESS fee), and the Solar-App page describes PV-with-storage as within the same SolarAPP+ track, implying a combined rather than separate ESS permit 80% · fee schedule + authority's own page
    • Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No PV-specific rule published. The Building Division's comparable EV-charging handout (same division/process) requires a load calculation for circuits ≥30A and a separate permit if the service panel must be upgraded — the same general practice would plausibly apply to a PV/battery interconnection needing a panel upgrade, but this is analogy, not a PV-specific city statement. 50% · comparable authority document

20 questions answered against City of Union City’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2023

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page states the City has adopted 'Volumes 1 and 2 of the 2025 California Building, Residential, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Energy, Fire and[...] Green Building Standards Codes.' California's 2025 Code cycle (effective statewide 1 Jan 2026) is based on the 2023 NEC as the California Electrical Code's base text. The City page itself doesn't spell out the NEC edition number, so this is one inferential step from a direct city statement.

authority's own page + statewide code-cycle inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2025 California Building Code (Volumes 1 & 2)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page's own 'Adopted Codes & General Design Information' section.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Contradicted between the City's own pages: the Building page lists the 2025 California Fire Code as part of its adopted-codes family, while the separate Fire-Permits page states 'Union City adopted the 2013 California Fire Code.' Not resolved — the municipal code itself (Title 15) could not be reached to check the actual current adopting ordinance.

Why the confidence is not higherTwo City of Union City pages give different fire-code editions; the Fire-Permits page text may simply be stale. The adopting ordinance (qcode.us/eCode360 Title 15) is behind a Cloudflare managed challenge that blocks plain fetch even with the iccsafe.org Referer header, so I could not check the ordinance directly to resolve the conflict.

authority's own page (contradicts another authority page) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/271/Fire-Permits

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page publishes locally-set design parameters that function as local amendments to the base state code: Basic Wind Speed 85 mph, Building Exposure B, Climate Zone 3, Rainfall 1.5 in/hr, Seismic Site Class D, presumptive soil bearing 1500 psf, mapped Soils Hazard Zones and a Wildland-Urban-Interface Zone east of Mission Boulevard.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The locally-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Energy/Green Building Standards Codes (Volumes 1 & 2), plus the 1997 California Administrative/Abatement/Housing/Security codes, per the Building Division's own adopted-codes statement

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding page.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

No PV-specific rule published. The Building Division's comparable EV-charging handout (same division/process) requires a load calculation for circuits ≥30A and a separate permit if the service panel must be upgraded — the same general practice would plausibly apply to a PV/battery interconnection needing a panel upgrade, but this is analogy, not a PV-specific city statement.

Why the confidence is not higherDrawn from the EV-charging-station handout; no solar/battery-specific busbar or service-upgrade bulletin was found.

comparable authority document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building page's document list and the Solar-App page; no PV-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing bulletin is published.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building page (fire code listed as part of the 2025 code family, contradicted by the Fire-Permits page's 2013 reference) and the Fire-Permits page itself; neither publishes a ridge-setback/access-pathway bulletin, and the Title 15 ordinance text (qcode.us -> resolve.ecode360.com) is blocked by a Cloudflare managed challenge that a plain fetch/Referer header could not pass.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/271/Fire-Permits

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Yes — rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2025 California Electrical Code (built on the 2023 NEC); no Union City amendment to the rapid-shutdown requirement was found, but the ordinance text itself could not be reached to fully rule one out

Why the confidence is not higherSame adopted-code basis as Q29/Q30; Title 15 ordinance was inaccessible (Cloudflare-blocked) to check for a local amendment.

authority's own page + adopted-code inference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not separately specified by the City beyond what NEC Article 690/705 (2023 NEC, as adopted) requires by default (main service disconnect PV labeling, rapid-shutdown label, multiple-source-of-power placard, etc.); no City-specific placard bulletin was found on the Building or Solar-App pages

Why the confidence is not higherNo dedicated placard/signage handout found; answer rests on the adopted electrical code baseline rather than a City-published placard spec.

inference from adopted code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building Division's full document list (fee schedule, applications, checklists, handouts) and the Solar-App page; no placard-wording document was found.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame document review as Q39; no letter-height/colour/material specification was found published by the City.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not separately published by the City; the NEC's own rapid-shutdown labeling requirements (690.56/705.10, as adopted in the 2023 NEC base of the 2025 CEC) are the applicable baseline in the absence of a local facility-map placard bulletin

Why the confidence is not higherNo City-specific facility-map/site-plan placard document found; this is the adopted-code baseline, not a local document.

inference from adopted code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 tariff requires the interconnection disconnect switch to carry open/closed position markings, and if it is not adjacent to the point of common coupling, permanent signage identifying its location (and, if inside a locked premises, a PG&E-approved locking device plus contact-information signage)

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 171, Section H.1.d ('Visible Disconnect Required').

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

At or near the Point of Common Coupling / point of interconnection, in a location reachable by PG&E personnel 24/7 without keys or special clearance for emergencies, and during normal business hours otherwise; if the disconnect is not adjacent to the PCC, PG&E requires separate location signage

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 171, Section H.1.d.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes, in the sense that interconnection/service equipment must be Certified/Listed (per NEC Article 100) suitable for its application and available fault current — the City has no separate 'approved products list' beyond that adopted-code and utility-tariff listing requirement

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 171, Section H.1.c ('Suitable Equipment Required') requires PCC circuit breakers/interrupting equipment to be Certified or Listed; no separate City-approved-equipment list was found.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Yes — the City's own SolarApp+ page states the automated portal covers 'residential, roof-mounted, retrofit photovoltaic (PV) systems or photovoltaic (PV) systems with battery storage,' so battery/ESS is permitted bundled with a PV installation up to SolarAPP+'s national eligibility limits; the City does not publish its own separate ESS conditions beyond that

Why the confidence is not higherSolar-App page's own description of SolarAPP+ scope.

authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/836/Solar-App

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

No — the Building fee schedule has only one 'Solar Photovoltaic Permit Fee' line (no separate battery/ESS fee), and the Solar-App page describes PV-with-storage as within the same SolarAPP+ track, implying a combined rather than separate ESS permit

Why the confidence is not higherCross-referenced Fee Schedule (no separate ESS line item) with the Solar-App page's description of combined PV+storage eligibility.

fee schedule + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building page and the Planning page (Title 18 Zoning Ordinance is referenced but the ordinance text itself is Cloudflare-blocked at qcode.us/resolve.ecode360.com); no statement on ground-mount PV as an accessory structure was found in what is reachable.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/208/Planning

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Not given as a specific distance from the meter; PG&E's Rule 21 requires the visible/lockable disconnect to be near the Point of Common Coupling, readily accessible, and clearly marked, but does not state a fixed clearance from the meter itself in the sections reviewed

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 171, Section H.1.d — general accessibility/marking requirement, not an explicit meter-relative dimension. PG&E's more detailed Greenbook/Electric & Gas Service Requirements manual (which typically pins down exact meter-panel layout) could not be retrieved: pge.com serves a JavaScript application and every guessed static URL for it returned 404 to a plain fetch.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Phone — (510) 487-0711 for Building inspections, (510) 675-5470 for Fire inspections 95% · department handout
    • How much notice is required? 1 business day — inspections are scheduled for the next business day only, and must be called in before 3:00 p.m. the day before 95% · department handout
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM (8:00am-12:00pm) or PM (12:00pm-4:00pm) windows can be requested, though the handout notes this is 'a request only' and not guaranteed 90% · department handout
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Building/Electrical: No (performed in-house by the Building Division's own inspectors, confirmed by phone the day before). Fire: Delegated to Alameda County Fire Department under contract. 90% · department handout + authority's own page
    • If delegated, to whom? Alameda County Fire Department (fire-related inspections/plan review only; building and electrical inspections remain in-house) 90% · authority's own page + delegate's own page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    • Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not published as a numbered sequence for solar specifically. By analogy to the Building Division's comparable EV-charger process: a single final inspection is performed unless the installation also requires a service-panel upgrade, in which case a rough inspection precedes the final. 55% · comparable authority document
    • Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Only if a service-panel upgrade is part of the scope (per the comparable EV-charger process); otherwise a single final inspection is the norm for a retrofit PV system 55% · comparable authority document
  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (a final electrical/building inspection clearance) — inferred as the 'final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority' that PG&E's own Rule 21 requires the applicant to submit before Permission to Operate is issued, but the City itself does not name the exact document type (e.g., 'green tag' vs. a letter) it issues on that pass 65% · utility tariff (inference); City itself is silent on the document form
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (Applicant) — PG&E's Rule 21 places the burden on the interconnection Applicant to submit the completed NEM interconnection request, the signed Generator Interconnection Agreement, and evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance to PG&E in order to obtain Permission to Operate 80% · utility tariff
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $220.00 per hour, 1-hour minimum 95% · fee schedule

14 questions answered against City of Union City’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone — (510) 487-0711 for Building inspections, (510) 675-5470 for Fire inspections

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Scheduling Your Inspection' handout.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

1 business day — inspections are scheduled for the next business day only, and must be called in before 3:00 p.m. the day before

Why the confidence is not higherSame handout.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Yes — AM (8:00am-12:00pm) or PM (12:00pm-4:00pm) windows can be requested, though the handout notes this is 'a request only' and not guaranteed

Why the confidence is not higherSame handout.

department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Building/Electrical: No (performed in-house by the Building Division's own inspectors, confirmed by phone the day before). Fire: Delegated to Alameda County Fire Department under contract.

Why the confidence is not higherInspection handout (Building Division schedules and confirms its own inspections) plus the City's Fire and Fire-Permits pages (ACFD provides fire services/fire prevention under contract, located at City Hall).

department handout + authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Alameda County Fire Department (fire-related inspections/plan review only; building and electrical inspections remain in-house)

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Fire and Fire-Permits pages; ACFD's own Fire Code Administration page confirms it serves Union City under contract.

authority's own page + delegate's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/271/Fire-Permits

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Not published as a numbered sequence for solar specifically. By analogy to the Building Division's comparable EV-charger process: a single final inspection is performed unless the installation also requires a service-panel upgrade, in which case a rough inspection precedes the final.

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the EV-charging handout (same division/process); no solar-specific inspection-sequence document was found.

comparable authority document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Only if a service-panel upgrade is part of the scope (per the comparable EV-charger process); otherwise a single final inspection is the norm for a retrofit PV system

Why the confidence is not higherSame inference as Q54 — not a solar-specific city statement.

comparable authority document checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3354/Handout---Electric-Vehicle-Charging-Station-for-Single-Family-Homes

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Request Handout and the Building page's document list; neither states whether the field inspector specifically verifies labels/equipment listings (as distinct from general code-compliance inspection).

https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Division's own published document list (fee schedule, applications, owner-builder notes, CalGreen checklists, etc.) includes only a generic 'Inspection Request Handout' covering scheduling logistics — no solar/PV-specific inspection checklist appears anywhere on the Building page or the Solar-App page.

authority's own page (absence proven against its full document list) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Inspection Request Handout in full; it covers scheduling only (permit number, address, inspection type, AM/PM preference, callback number) and does not list documents required to be on site at the time of inspection.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4652/FINAL-Inspection-Handout

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$220.00 per hour, 1-hour minimum

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division Fee Schedule, 'Reinspection' line under Building Inspection Fees.

fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.unioncityca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5860/Building-Fee-Schedule-070121-002

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedChecked the Building page's document list and the Inspection Request Handout; no correction-notice/re-submittal process description was found published.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (a final electrical/building inspection clearance) — inferred as the 'final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority' that PG&E's own Rule 21 requires the applicant to submit before Permission to Operate is issued, but the City itself does not name the exact document type (e.g., 'green tag' vs. a letter) it issues on that pass

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 45, Section D.13.b references a required 'final electric inspection clearance' — the City's own pages do not separately describe the physical form of what is issued.

utility tariff (inference); City itself is silent on the document form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer (Applicant) — PG&E's Rule 21 places the burden on the interconnection Applicant to submit the completed NEM interconnection request, the signed Generator Interconnection Agreement, and evidence of the AHJ's final inspection clearance to PG&E in order to obtain Permission to Operate

Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Sheet 45, Section D.13.b.

utility tariff checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Union City against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Union City is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
Holds
Building and Electrical (in-house); Fire code administration/inspection delegated by contract to Alameda County Fire Department
Delegated to
Alameda County Fire Department (fire plan check and fire inspections only, under a service contract; building and electrical remain with Union City's own Building Division)
Overridden by
California's Solar Rights Act (Gov. Code §65850.5) requires ministerial, non-discretionary review of compliant residential PV, which the City's use of SolarAPP+ is consistent with; and PG&E's CPUC-approved Rule 21 controls the utility Permission-to-Operate step, which is conditioned on receiving proof of the City's own final inspection clearance first.
Why not higher
Union City's own Building Division page (Economic & Community Development dept, not a separate CDA) administers both building and electrical permits and fees directly, matching the brief's caution to verify which department actually holds these — here the brief's assumed structure (a city building department) checked out, unlike the Alameda County CDA case. Fire is confirmed delegated to Alameda County Fire Department by the City's own Fire and Fire-Permits pages, and independently confirmed on ACFD's own Fire Code Administration page, which names Union City as one of five contract cities.

https://www.unioncityca.gov/210/Building

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$295.00 for the first 15kW plus $5.00 per kW above 15kW (residential), plus a $109 permit issuance fee; minimum permit fee is $20995%
Plan review
48 business hours for the automated SolarAPP+ review (email with the City permit number arrives within 48 business hours of submittal)90%
Portal
SolarAPP+ for eligible residential retrofit PV/PV+storage systems; other permits are handled over-the-counter or by email at the Building Division counter (no general online permitting…90%
Electrical code
202380%
Booking an inspection
Phone — (510) 487-0711 for Building inspections, (510) 675-5470 for Fire inspections95%
Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go 75%

At or near the Point of Common Coupling / point of interconnection, in a location reachable by PG&E personnel 24/7 without keys or special clearance for emergencies, and during normal business hours otherwise; if the disconnect is not adjacent to the PCC, PG&E requires separate location signage

What the utility wants on top 85%

Yes — PG&E's Rule 21 tariff requires the interconnection disconnect switch to carry open/closed position markings, and if it is not adjacent to the point of common coupling, permanent signage identifying its location (and, if inside a locked premises, a PG&E-approved locking device plus contact-information signage)

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Alameda County
Regions served
1
Regions covered
City of Union City · city
Solar Requirements
Authority Contact
Address
34009 Alvarado-Niles Road, Union City, CA 94587
Main Phone
(510) 471-3232
Building Department
Department
Building Division
Direct Phone
(510) 675-5313
Booking & Scheduling
Preferred channel
phone
Book in advance
next business day
Request an inspection
Notes
Call the building inspection hotline at (510) 487-0711 before 3:00 PM the day before the desired inspection. Leave: permit number, project address, type of inspection, and AM or PM preference. AM inspections 8:00 a.m.–12:00 noon; PM inspections 12:00 noon–4:00 p.m. No inspections on alternating Fridays (every other Friday the counter is only open 9am–12pm). Building Dept caps daily inspection slots — call early. Solar permits can be applied for via SolarAPP+ at https://solarapp.nrel.gov/; permit number arrives by email within 48 business hours. No online inspection scheduling portal found — all scheduling is by phone. (collected Jul 2026)