City of Vacaville
Solano County
City of Vacaville is a city authority in the State of California, serving 102,386 residents. 13,102 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 5 business days for the City to issue a written correction notice if a solar application is deemed incomplete; Q18 Where you file — eTRAKiT (City of Vacaville Community Development portal) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 5 business days for the City to issue a written correction notice if a solar application is deemed incomplete; no separate published number found for a complete application's plan-review turnaround.72% source
- Key document
- adopting ordinance cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · adopting ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 92% · adopting ordinance
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Ground-mounted systems require Planning Division review/approval (zoning) before a building permit can issue; no Council/SUP approval is described for typical roof-mount residential PV. 85% · published handout
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard kW cap for the online/expedited process ('of any KW size'); the local ordinance's 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition (which is what qualifies for the expedited/ministerial path) is capped by structure type (single/duplex-family dwelling or residential accessory structure) and by not exceeding the maximum legal building height, not by a kW number. 75% · adopting ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 82% · adopting ordinance
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 78% · published form list
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Roof/site plan (panel location, street/front-of-parcel orientation); elevation view (finished array height); electrical line diagram (existing main/subpanel amperage, main OCPD, proposed breaker sizes, load calcs if derating); manufacturer specs for inverter and panels; connection/attachment details (panel-to-rail-to-support-to-foundation) with the manufacturer's installation manual and wind-zone span/anchorage tables; structural and electrical 'standard engineering evaluation' self-certifications. 90% · published handout
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — a roof plan identifying panel location on the roof and the location of the street relative to the front of the parcel (for orientation). 85% · published handout
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 90% · published handout + adopting ordinance
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes, when applicable 78% · adopting ordinance
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No formal PE stamp threshold is stated. The ordinance requires the applicant, at their own cost, to self-verify structural adequacy 'through standard engineering evaluation techniques' (§15.20.250.102(D)(4)(a)); a licensed third-party (e.g., UL) panel re-certification LETTER is required only if the original nameplate bus-bar rating is no longer available. 78% · published handout + ordinance
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? eTRAKiT (City of Vacaville Community Development portal) 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 92% · department page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 5 business days for the City to issue a written correction notice if a solar application is deemed incomplete; no separate published number found for a complete application's plan-review turnaround. 72% · adopting ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Work must commence within 12 months of issuance (or be suspended/abandoned no longer than 12 months), with Building-Official-approved extensions of up to 180 days at a time, not exceeding 2 calendar years total. A permit APPLICATION (pre-issuance) is deemed abandoned after 180 days with one 180-day extension allowed. 90% · adopting ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric) 92% · utility territory page
28 questions answered against City of Vacaville’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Division page states it reviews/inspects all construction within City limits and implements Title 24 with local amendments (Ord. 2006, 11/19/2025).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.20.250.050(C): a single permit covers building+electrical+mechanical+plumbing for residential work; solar permit 'automatically includes a Main Panel change out.' No delegation to county or fire district found for residential PV.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page and the expedited-solar ordinance both treat rooftop PV as requiring a permit (the expedited process governs how, not whether).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higher§15.20.250.050(C): 'Where an application for a building permit includes electrical, mechanical, and/or plumbing work, a single permit shall be issued for all work specified in the application, except for commercial and industrial projects.'
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higher§15.20.250.050(E): permits issued only to a State-licensed contractor 'or to a person exempt from the contractor's licensing requirements of the State of California' (i.e., the CSLB owner-builder exemption).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page: 'Contractors please contact the Building Division at (707) 449-5152 to register and get a password for online access' before they can submit through eTRAKiT.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherAn 'Owner-Builder Declaration Form' is a published Building Forms application, and §15.20.250.050(E) allows permits to persons exempt from CSLB licensing (owner-builders); no city text bars self-install for solar specifically.
published form list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/forms-fees-building-division/building-forms
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Roof/site plan (panel location, street/front-of-parcel orientation); elevation view (finished array height); electrical line diagram (existing main/subpanel amperage, main OCPD, proposed breaker sizes, load calcs if derating); manufacturer specs for inverter and panels; connection/attachment details (panel-to-rail-to-support-to-foundation) with the manufacturer's installation manual and wind-zone span/anchorage tables; structural and electrical 'standard engineering evaluation' self-certifications.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated in the City's own 'Residential Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements' handout (extracted from the PDF's actual text layer, not a summary).
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits page and 'Electronic Plan, Document, and Signature Submittal Guidelines' handout link (title only captured); eTRAKiT is confirmed as electronic-only, but a specific copies/format spec beyond 'electronic submittal' was not extracted.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — a roof plan identifying panel location on the roof and the location of the street relative to the front of the parcel (for orientation).
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim in the Residential Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements handout under 'Roof Mount Systems: Roof Plan.'
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar handout requires an 'Electrical line diagram' with amperage of main/subpanel, main OCPD, and proposed breaker sizes; the CEC local amendment (§15.20.256.020, Art. 89.108.4.3) separately requires 'single line diagrams' as part of electrical submittal documents.
published handout + adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes, when applicable
Why the confidence is not higherSolar handout requires load calculations 'if the main breaker is being derated'; the citywide CEC amendment lists load, wire-sizing, conduit-sizing and derating calculations as standard submittal documents for electrical work generally.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426351
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No formal PE stamp threshold is stated. The ordinance requires the applicant, at their own cost, to self-verify structural adequacy 'through standard engineering evaluation techniques' (§15.20.250.102(D)(4)(a)); a licensed third-party (e.g., UL) panel re-certification LETTER is required only if the original nameplate bus-bar rating is no longer available.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the local expedited-solar ordinance and the solar submittal handout; neither names a valuation/size threshold that triggers a stamped structural calc package.
published handout + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar submittal handout, expedited-solar ordinance (§15.20.250.102), and CEC local amendments (§15.20.256.020) — none specify an electrical PE-stamp threshold.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Fees page, 'Building Plan Check & Inspection Fees' (Building Fees FY27.pdf, 74 PDF objects / 9 text-bearing pages programmatically text-extracted and searched for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' — zero hits after a working positive control confirmed real text was being decoded) and 'Typical Fees for Single Family Dwellings' PDF (covers new whole-house construction valuation tiers, not a solar retrofit line item). The City directs applicants to its eTRAKiT Fee Estimator or to call (707) 449-5152 for an exact quote — no published flat/per-kW solar figure exists.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee documents as Q15 — no solar-specific calculation method stated; the general residential permit fee schedule (Typical Fees for SFD PDF) scales 'Building Fee'/'Plan Check Fee' by declared valuation/floor area, suggesting a valuation-based method, but this was not confirmed for solar-specific permits.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/25875/639160943459230000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked'Typical Fees for Single Family Dwellings' PDF shows a distinct 'Plan Check Fee' line item separate from 'Building Fee' for new-construction permits; not confirmed this applies identically to a solar retrofit permit.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/25875/639160943459230000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
5 business days for the City to issue a written correction notice if a solar application is deemed incomplete; no separate published number found for a complete application's plan-review turnaround.
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim in §15.20.250.102: 'Said written correction notice shall be issued within five business days of the date of determination of an incomplete application.' This is the statutory AB 2188/SB 379 standard adopted locally.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Work must commence within 12 months of issuance (or be suspended/abandoned no longer than 12 months), with Building-Official-approved extensions of up to 180 days at a time, not exceeding 2 calendar years total. A permit APPLICATION (pre-issuance) is deemed abandoned after 180 days with one 180-day extension allowed.
Why the confidence is not higher§15.20.250.050 subsections I and M, amending CBC/CRC 105.3.2 and 105.5.1.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
eTRAKiT (City of Vacaville Community Development portal)
Why the confidence is not higherNamed on the Building Fees page with the live portal link.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://vcvll.csqrcloud.com/community-etrakit/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page: 'Residential Rooftop Solar Permits of any KW size are available on line' via eTRAKiT, including online payment.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric)
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own service-area page lists Vacaville under Solano County, and Vacaville ZIP codes 95687/95688/95696 appear in PG&E's filed electric service territory listing; the City's own Building Permits/Inspections pages also reference PG&E directly (811/digging notice).
utility territory page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/featured/pge-service-area.html
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits and Inspections pages (no utility-sequencing statement found); would require PG&E's Rule 21 / Generation Interconnection Handbook, which was not consulted this session.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar submittal handout and expedited-solar ordinance (§15.20.250.102) — neither mentions HOA/architectural review as a submittal prerequisite (CA Civil Code §714/801.5 Solar Rights Act limits HOA restriction generally, but no city-specific statement found).
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two solar-specific sources as Q24 — no historic-district review mentioned.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPartially answered under Q26 as 'Yes' via wind-zone span tables; recorded here only if a distinct, separate 'windstorm certification' document (e.g., a signed TDI-style form) is meant — no such separate certificate was found beyond the engineered span-table requirement.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Ground-mounted systems require Planning Division review/approval (zoning) before a building permit can issue; no Council/SUP approval is described for typical roof-mount residential PV.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar handout: 'All ground mount systems must be reviewed and approved by the Planning Division before a building permit can be issued. Please contact the Planning Division at (707) 449-5140 to discuss zoning requirements.'
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard kW cap for the online/expedited process ('of any KW size'); the local ordinance's 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' definition (which is what qualifies for the expedited/ministerial path) is capped by structure type (single/duplex-family dwelling or residential accessory structure) and by not exceeding the maximum legal building height, not by a kW number.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page ('of any KW size') plus the ordinance's definitional scope in §15.20.250.102(B).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 82% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (2025 Triennial Edition, Title 24), locally adopted by Ord. 2006, effective 11/19/2025. 88% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), adopted under the same Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025). 78% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · adopting ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The locally-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical Code (Title 24), as adopted by Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025). 85% · adopting ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Vacaville on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required as a function of the adopted 2023 NEC (Art. 690.12) via the 2025 California Electrical Code; no local amendment altering or exempting rapid shutdown was found in the CEC amendment section reviewed (§15.20.256.020). 55% · adopting ordinance (inferred)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Vacaville on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, in substance — solar electricity-producing systems must meet CEC, IEEE, and accredited testing-laboratory (e.g., UL) standards and, where applicable, CPUC safety/reliability rules; water-heating solar systems must be certified by an accredited listing agency under the CA Plumbing/Mechanical Code. 75% · adopting ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — the City's eTRAKiT permit type is explicitly named 'Residential Solar and Battery Storage,' with its own contact line (707-449-5140); specific fire-code/ESS conditions were not captured in this session's sources. 62% · department page
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No — batteries appear to be permitted under the same combined 'Residential Solar and Battery Storage' application/permit rather than a separate ESS permit, consistent with the citywide single-permit rule for residential electrical/mechanical work. 55% · published form list (inference)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 88% · published handout
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes — nameplate bus-bar ratings must be identified in the electrical line diagram; where the nameplate rating is no longer available, a registered third-party (e.g., UL) panel re-certification letter is required before the service panel can be reused (or it must be replaced). 85% · published handout
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Yes — rail spans/anchorage must be designed to the City's specific wind-load requirements and manufacturer's installation manual, with distinct span tables required for flush-mount vs. tilted arrays. 90% · published handout
20 questions answered against City of Vacaville’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not highereCode360 Chapter 15.20.256 is titled 'Adoption of the California Electrical Code' and its search-indexed text begins 'Adopt the California Electrical Code (CEC), 2025 Edition, based on...' (page rendering cut off before the NEC year in this session, so the exact 'based on 2023 NEC' clause was not itself read verbatim). The 2025 CEC statewide cycle is based on the 2023 NEC per the CA Building Standards Commission's own 2025 Triennial cycle, consistent with the City's parallel adoption of 2025-Edition CMC/Energy/Existing/Historical codes, all under Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025).
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426351
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code / California Residential Code (2025 Triennial Edition, Title 24), locally adopted by Ord. 2006, effective 11/19/2025.
Why the confidence is not highereCode360 Chapter 15.20.252 'CALIFORNIA BUILDING CODE ADOPTED AND AMENDED' and Chapter 15.20.253 'CALIFORNIA RESIDENTIAL CODE ADOPTED AND AMENDED' both fall under the same Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025) that explicitly adopts 2025-Edition CMC, Energy, Existing-Building and Historical-Building codes; the City's own webpage separately confirms the 2025 Triennial code mandate takes effect statewide 1/1/2026. Note: the City's public 'Title 24 - CA Building Standards' webpage still links the SUPERSEDED 2022-cycle documents as of this check — the live ordinance (eCode360) is the current authority.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426257
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), adopted under the same Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025).
Why the confidence is not highereCode360 Chapter 15.20.271 'CALIFORNIA FIRE CODE' (§15.20.271.010 'Code Adopted') sits in the same Division 15.20 whose sibling chapters all show 2025-Edition adoption dated Ord. 2006, 11/19/2025; the specific 'Code Adopted' section text itself was not directly extracted in this session.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426257
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments confirmed directly: CEC amendments (grounding/UFER access, temporary service, submittal documents — §15.20.256.020), CBC/CRC/CEC administrative amendments (permit conditions, expiration, expedited solar/EVCS processes — §15.20.250), all under Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025). Note per statewide AB 130 (Stats. 2025 Ch. 22), no NEW more-restrictive residential amendment may be adopted through 1 Jun 2031.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426351
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The locally-amended 2025 California Building/Residential/Electrical Code (Title 24), as adopted by Ord. 2006 (11/19/2025).
Why the confidence is not higherDirect read of the Title 15 Division 15.20 chapter structure and its amendment sections.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426257
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes — nameplate bus-bar ratings must be identified in the electrical line diagram; where the nameplate rating is no longer available, a registered third-party (e.g., UL) panel re-certification letter is required before the service panel can be reused (or it must be replaced).
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim in the Residential Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements handout.
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Yes — rail spans/anchorage must be designed to the City's specific wind-load requirements and manufacturer's installation manual, with distinct span tables required for flush-mount vs. tilted arrays.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly from the solar submittal handout's 'Connection details' and 'max rail spans/anchorage' requirements.
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCEC local amendments (§15.20.256.020) and the Fire Code chapter listing (§15.20.271) — chapter titles were confirmed but the Fire Code's specific amendment text (which would carry any ridge-setback/access-pathway rule) was not extracted in this session.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required as a function of the adopted 2023 NEC (Art. 690.12) via the 2025 California Electrical Code; no local amendment altering or exempting rapid shutdown was found in the CEC amendment section reviewed (§15.20.256.020).
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed code edition rather than from an explicit rapid-shutdown clause read directly in the ordinance text.
adopting ordinance (inferred) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426351
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCEC amendments, expedited-solar ordinance, and solar submittal handout — none specify a City-specific placard beyond what the adopted NEC edition itself requires at the service equipment (e.g., NEC 690/705 markings).
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame three sources as Q38 — no City-authored placard wording found.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame three sources as Q38 — no letter-height/color/material specification found.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame three sources as Q38 — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond the general NEC 705.10 baseline was found stated locally.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits/Inspections pages reference PG&E generally (811 digging notice) but no PG&E Rule 21/Greenbook placard specification was retrieved this session.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as Q38 — no label-placement clause found locally.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes, in substance — solar electricity-producing systems must meet CEC, IEEE, and accredited testing-laboratory (e.g., UL) standards and, where applicable, CPUC safety/reliability rules; water-heating solar systems must be certified by an accredited listing agency under the CA Plumbing/Mechanical Code.
Why the confidence is not higher§15.20.250.102(D)(2)-(3) of the expedited solar ordinance.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — the City's eTRAKiT permit type is explicitly named 'Residential Solar and Battery Storage,' with its own contact line (707-449-5140); specific fire-code/ESS conditions were not captured in this session's sources.
Why the confidence is not higherNamed on the Building Permits and Building Handouts pages; no dedicated battery/ESS handout or checklist was found among the published Building Forms.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/building-permits
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No — batteries appear to be permitted under the same combined 'Residential Solar and Battery Storage' application/permit rather than a separate ESS permit, consistent with the citywide single-permit rule for residential electrical/mechanical work.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the combined permit-type naming and the general single-permit rule in §15.20.250.050(C); no ESS-specific permit or checklist was found.
published form list (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/forms-fees-building-division/building-forms
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar handout: 'All ground mount systems must be reviewed and approved by the Planning Division before a building permit can be issued' — i.e., treated like an accessory structure/use subject to zoning review, not merely equipment.
published handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/home/showpublisheddocument/4257/638158657193100000
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar submittal handout and CEC amendments — AC-disconnect-to-meter placement is typically governed by the utility's interconnection handbook (PG&E), which was not consulted this session.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (eTRAKiT), Phone (IVR at 707.317.1070), or Text (SelecTXT at 866.752.4311) 95% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM preference (8:00 AM–12:00 PM) or PM preference (12:00 PM–3:30 PM); not guaranteed, and applicants must be available 8:00 AM–3:30 PM. 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · adopting ordinance
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; performed by the City Building Official (occasionally jointly with the City Fire Marshal for solar). 85% · adopting ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Vacaville on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 80% · department page
- What must be on site at inspection? The building permit, approved plans, and supporting documentation must be on site; 'No inspections will be conducted without these required documents.' 95% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Not stated explicitly, but implied — the ordinance requires equipment to meet CEC/IEEE/UL/testing-lab standards, which the final inspection would need to verify. 55% · adopting ordinance (inferred)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
Nothing recorded for City of Vacaville on this step yet — 4 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
14 questions answered against City of Vacaville’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (eTRAKiT), Phone (IVR at 707.317.1070), or Text (SelecTXT at 866.752.4311)
Why the confidence is not higherListed directly on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page — states inspections are booked via IVR/SelecTXT/eTRAKiT and that a cancellation 'after 6:00 AM' triggers a re-inspection fee (implying same-day cutoff), but no explicit 'X business days' advance-notice figure was published.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM preference (8:00 AM–12:00 PM) or PM preference (12:00 PM–3:30 PM); not guaranteed, and applicants must be available 8:00 AM–3:30 PM.
Why the confidence is not higherStated on the Building Division main page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Division performs inspections; the expedited-solar ordinance additionally allows 'a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal (where applicable)' for solar systems — still an in-house City inspection, not a delegated one.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; performed by the City Building Official (occasionally jointly with the City Fire Marshal for solar).
Why the confidence is not higherSame solar-ordinance inspection clause as Q52.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page and expedited-solar ordinance — only the final (possibly consolidated building-official/fire-marshal) inspection is described; a full ordered list of required inspection stages for a rooftop PV retrofit was not published where checked.
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as Q54 — no mid-roof/rough-in inspection requirement mentioned for solar.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Not stated explicitly, but implied — the ordinance requires equipment to meet CEC/IEEE/UL/testing-lab standards, which the final inspection would need to verify.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from §15.20.250.102(D)(2)-(3); no inspection checklist item explicitly naming label/listing verification was captured.
adopting ordinance (inferred) checked 2026-08-30 https://ecode360.com/48426258
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City publishes 'Building Inspection Checklists' ('reference material only, not inclusive') on its Inspections page — general building checklists, not confirmed to include a solar-specific one.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/inspections/building-inspection-checklists
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The building permit, approved plans, and supporting documentation must be on site; 'No inspections will be conducted without these required documents.'
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim on the Building Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page states a re-inspection fee 'may be applied' for listed reasons (job not ready, no site access, incomplete work, missing permit card/plans onsite, cancellation after 6:00 AM) but does not publish a dollar figure; the two fee PDFs checked for Q15 also do not name a re-inspection dollar amount.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building/inspections
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspections page — describes plan-review-stage correction notices (5 business days, per the solar ordinance) but not a post-inspection field-correction process.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedeCode360 Division 15.20 table of contents confirms a '§15.20.250.090 Certificate of Occupancy' section exists, but its substantive text (and whether it applies to a PV retrofit on an existing home vs. new construction) was not extracted this session.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits and Inspections pages — no City statement on who files for PTO with PG&E; this is typically an installer-driven step under PG&E's NEM/Rule 21 process, not documented by the City itself.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Vacaville against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Vacaville is the authority having jurisdiction 95% confidence
- Holds
- Both
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act / AB 2188) mandates a ministerial, expedited permit process, which the City has codified verbatim at Vacaville Municipal Code §15.20.250.102 (added CBC/CRC §[A]120/R120). CA AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) also freezes any new more-restrictive local residential code amendment through 1 Jun 2031.
- Why not higher
- The City's own Building Division page states it 'reviews and inspects all new construction and improvements to existing structures within City limits' and implements Title 24 CCR with local amendments. Vacaville Municipal Code §15.20.250.050(C) requires a SINGLE combined permit for building+electrical+mechanical+plumbing work on residential projects (separate permits are only for commercial/industrial), and the Building Permits page confirms 'Residential Rooftop Solar Permits of any KW size are available on line and a solar permit automatically includes a Main Panel change out.' No county or other agency involvement was found for residential rooftop PV within city limits.
https://www.cityofvacaville.gov/government/community-development/building
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Plan review
- 5 business days for the City to issue a written correction notice if a solar application is deemed incomplete;72%
- Portal
- eTRAKiT (City of Vacaville Community Development portal)95%
- Electrical code
- 202382%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (eTRAKiT), Phone (IVR at 707.317.1070), or Text (SelecTXT at 866.752.4311)95%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.