City of Vallejo
Solano County
City of Vallejo is a city authority in the State of California, serving 126,090 residents. 6,010 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Instantaneous for Symbium-eligible (SB 379-compliant) rooftop solar/battery systems; up to about three weeks for projects requiring full manual plan review Q18 Where you file — Symbium (instant online issuance for SB 379-qualifying residential solar/battery storage permits) plus eTRAKiT (vall-trk.aspgov.com) for general permit tracking, Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for a typical residential rooftop system ≤15kW ($138 Residential Solar Plan Review + $312 Residential Solar Permit, ≤15kW), plus $54.28/kW for capacity above 15kW92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Instantaneous for Symbium-eligible (SB 379-compliant) rooftop solar/battery systems; up to about three weeks for projects requiring full manual plan review75% source
- Key document
- inference from utility requirement + general practice cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Yes, where applicable 85% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, for properties within a designated historic district/landmark (Certificate of Appropriateness); not applicable otherwise 62% · department page + document list
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · inference from absence + general CA practice
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — not for a standard residential rooftop system 78% · department page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No specific city-imposed system-size cap found 55% · fee schedule / absence across reachable pages
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 60% · department FAQ page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 65% · permit application form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · department FAQ page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? General building-permit submittal only (plans, specifications, details, Title-24 energy calculations, engineering calculations); no separate published solar/PV-specific document checklist was reachable 55% · department page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital/electronic — solar & battery permits are applied for and issued through the Symbium online portal; general permits and inspections are tracked through eTRAKiT. No physical-copy count is published. 55% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan is required as part of the general Planning/Building submittal package (the New Construction document list includes a 'Site Development Plan'); no solar-specific facility-map content spec was found published by the city. 60% · department page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes (inferred) 50% · inference from utility requirement + general practice
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes (inferred) 50% · inference from general electrical plan-check practice
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Symbium (instant online issuance for SB 379-qualifying residential solar/battery storage permits) plus eTRAKiT (vall-trk.aspgov.com) for general permit tracking, plan-check status and inspection scheduling 92% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for a typical residential rooftop system ≤15kW ($138 Residential Solar Plan Review + $312 Residential Solar Permit, ≤15kW), plus $54.28/kW for capacity above 15kW 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 92% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Instantaneous for Symbium-eligible (SB 379-compliant) rooftop solar/battery systems; up to about three weeks for projects requiring full manual plan review 75% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days from issuance (permit becomes null and void if work is not commenced within 365 days, or is suspended/abandoned for 365 days); a one-time 180-day extension may be granted. A submitted-but-unissued plan-check application itself expires after 180 days if not pursued. 82% · department FAQ PDF
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 85% · city resource page + utility interconnection page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (for final utility sign-off / Permission to Operate); interconnection application itself may be filed in parallel 75% · utility interconnection page
28 questions answered against City of Vallejo’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Vallejo's own Central Permit Center and Building Division pages state the city issues building and electrical permits and performs its own plan check/inspections; Fire Prevention is a division of the Vallejo Fire Department (city department), not a county agency. Solano County plays no role in city-limits residential solar.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/business/central_permit_center
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCentral Permit Center handles building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical and fire-prevention plan check/permitting in-house; the single Building Permit Application form has checkboxes for Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical valuation under one permit number. No delegation to county or third party found.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/Building%20Permit%20Process/Building%20Permit%20Application-Autofill_9-19-25%20revised%2009-19-2025.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY2025-2026 lists dedicated 'Residential Solar Permit' and 'Residential Solar Plan Review' fee line items (lines 36-38), and the Building Division page states contractors/homeowners apply for a permit via Symbium for rooftop solar/battery storage.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's single Building Permit Application form carries one Permit No. with checkboxes for Building/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical valuation, and the fee schedule prices a single 'Residential Solar Permit' rather than separate building and electrical solar line items — suggesting one combined permit. Not stated in so many words on any single page, so confidence is capped.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/Building%20Permit%20Process/Building%20Permit%20Application-Autofill_9-19-25%20revised%2009-19-2025.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit FAQ confirms homeowners may self-permit via an Owner-Builder declaration (CA Business & Professions Code Sec. 7044), and the same permit application's 'Who's Doing the Work' section allows either a state-licensed contractor or an owner-builder to sign. City does not itself name a specific 'electrical permit' pull rule beyond this state-law framework.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17966175
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application requires both a 'State License #' field and a separate 'City of Vallejo Business License Number' field for the contractor, implying the contractor must hold a City of Vallejo business license before/at time of applying. No separate contractor-registration database beyond this was found.
permit application form checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/Building%20Permit%20Process/Building%20Permit%20Application-Autofill_9-19-25%20revised%2009-19-2025.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPermit FAQ states plainly: 'Can I as a homeowner apply for a construction permit? Yes. Home owners are required to complete an Owner-builder form.' The Building Permit Application itself has an owner-builder declaration line citing Business & Professions Code Sec. 7044.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17966175
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
General building-permit submittal only (plans, specifications, details, Title-24 energy calculations, engineering calculations); no separate published solar/PV-specific document checklist was reachable
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Process page describes the general submittal ('Plans, specifications, details, Title-24 energy calculations, and engineering calculations are submitted...'). No PV-specific checklist appears on the New Construction document list or Building Permit Process page; the city's 'Building Division Document Library' (which may hold one) is hosted on files.com as a JavaScript-only share and returned no content to curl (confirmed via its own REST API returning 401 Unauthorized rather than a document list).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967324
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital/electronic — solar & battery permits are applied for and issued through the Symbium online portal; general permits and inspections are tracked through eTRAKiT. No physical-copy count is published.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Contractors and homeowners seeking to apply for residential solar or ESS permits under SB 379 will be able to apply for instantaneous permit issuance via this Symbium portal.' No mention anywhere reachable of a required number of paper copies.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan is required as part of the general Planning/Building submittal package (the New Construction document list includes a 'Site Development Plan'); no solar-specific facility-map content spec was found published by the city.
Why the confidence is not higherNew Construction page's 'Information and Permit Applications' list includes 'Site Development Plan' and 'Floor Plan Sample' among required documents. This is the general submittal list, not a solar-specific one — the Document Library that might hold a PV-specific site-plan checklist was unreachable (files.com JS shell, 401 on its API).
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17554081
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNo Vallejo-specific solar checklist was reachable to confirm directly, but a one-line diagram is a near-universal California AHJ requirement for any interconnected PV/electrical permit and PG&E's own interconnection materials for the same projects call for a single-line diagram. Treat as inference, not a city-published statement.
inference from utility requirement + general practice checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes (inferred)
Why the confidence is not higherNot confirmed on any reachable Vallejo page; string/conductor sizing calculations are standard content of any NEC-690 electrical plan check, which the Building Division performs in-house. No dedicated PV checklist was reachable to confirm the specific requirement.
inference from general electrical plan-check practice checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, Building Permit Process page, Resources & Links page, Master Fee Schedule, and the Building Permit Application PDF — none states a structural PE-stamp threshold for residential PV; the Building Division Document Library (files.com share) that might hold this was unreachable (JS-only, its REST API returns 401 without auth).
https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as Q13 checked; no electrical PE-stamp threshold for residential PV was published on any reachable Vallejo page.
https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for a typical residential rooftop system ≤15kW ($138 Residential Solar Plan Review + $312 Residential Solar Permit, ≤15kW), plus $54.28/kW for capacity above 15kW
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule FY2025-2026 (effective 7/1/2025, current as of this check — a further increase is only announced effective 9/14/2026), Building Division section, lines 36-38: 'Residential Solar Plan Review' $138 flat, 'Residential Solar 15kW or Less' $312 flat, 'Residential Solar Permit, per kW above 15kW' $54.28. Footnote confirms fees are capped at $450 residential per Gov. Code 66015.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule structure is flat up to a 15kW threshold ($312, plus a separate $138 flat plan-review fee), then a per-kW rate ($54.28/kW) applies only to capacity above 15kW — a tiered, not purely flat or purely per-kW, structure.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule line 36 'Residential Solar Plan Review' ($138 flat) is billed separately from line 37 'Residential Solar 15kW or Less' ($312 flat) permit/issuance fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Instantaneous for Symbium-eligible (SB 379-compliant) rooftop solar/battery systems; up to about three weeks for projects requiring full manual plan review
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: solar/ESS permits meeting SB 379 criteria get 'instantaneous permit issuance via this Symbium portal.' Building Permit Process page (general, not solar-specific): 'Many simple projects can be reviewed at the counter... while other projects may require up to three weeks to complete the review.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days from issuance (permit becomes null and void if work is not commenced within 365 days, or is suspended/abandoned for 365 days); a one-time 180-day extension may be granted. A submitted-but-unissued plan-check application itself expires after 180 days if not pursued.
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Vallejo Building Division '2025 Code Adoption FAQ' PDF, citing CBC Section 105.5 (permit expiration/365 days, 180-day extension) and CBC Section 105.3.2 (180-day plan-check application expiration). This is the standard CBC provision restated in a document dated to the current 2025/2026 code cycle.
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Symbium (instant online issuance for SB 379-qualifying residential solar/battery storage permits) plus eTRAKiT (vall-trk.aspgov.com) for general permit tracking, plan-check status and inspection scheduling
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page names both by name and links to each: Symbium apply-now link for 'Rooftop Solar or Battery Storage', and eTRAKiT for online permitting/inspection scheduling and the IVR inspection line.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'Symbium has partnered with Vallejo to enable instant permits!... Apply now for an instant permit in Vallejo' for 'Rooftop Solar or Battery Storage,' after only verifying the address is within city limits — a fully online application-to-issuance flow for qualifying systems.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Vallejo's own Building Division 'Resources & Links' page links to a 'PG&E Savings Assistance' program flyer targeted at Vallejo residents (utility-side confirmation), and PG&E's own interconnection/NEM pages describe the standard interconnection and Permission-to-Operate process that all Vallejo solar customers use. MCE (Marin Clean Energy) also appears on the same Resources page as a CCA energy-efficiency assessment program available to Vallejo customers, but PG&E's own NEM page states explicitly that even CCA customers must still go through PG&E's interconnection process and receive PG&E's Permission to Operate — MCE is not the interconnecting utility and was not used to answer this. Not derived from a ZIP-code lookup tool.
city resource page + utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967340
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (for final utility sign-off / Permission to Operate); interconnection application itself may be filed in parallel
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's NEM interconnection page lists a 'Signed-Off Building Permit' as one of the required items PG&E needs before it will issue a Permission to Operate (PTO) letter — so the utility's final approval step follows the city's completed/finaled building permit, even though the interconnection application can be started earlier.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Yes, where applicable
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Process page: 'If you live in a development regulated by a homeowner's association, you will need to submit plans that have been approved by your homeowner's association.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967324
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, for properties within a designated historic district/landmark (Certificate of Appropriateness); not applicable otherwise
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's New Construction document list includes a 'Certificate of Appropriateness Application', and the Planning & Development Services page references the Architectural Landmarks and Heritage Commission that reviews such applications. Not confirmed as solar-specific — inferred that solar installations on landmark/historic-district properties would trigger this general review.
department page + document list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17554081
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification program (of the kind seen in Texas TDI-regulated coastal counties) appears anywhere on the city's Building Division, Fire Prevention, or Resources & Links pages. California building departments address wind loads through standard CBC/ASCE 7 structural plan review rather than a separate windstorm certificate, and nothing on Vallejo's site suggests otherwise. Inference, not a page that states 'no' outright.
inference from absence + general CA practice checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No — not for a standard residential rooftop system
Why the confidence is not higherVallejo processes qualifying residential rooftop solar/battery permits ministerially and instantly through Symbium per its own Building Division page, consistent with the state-law ministerial/by-right review mandated for residential solar (Gov. Code §65850.5); no Conditional/Specific Use Permit or Council hearing step appears anywhere in that process.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No specific city-imposed system-size cap found
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule prices solar permits with an open-ended 'per kW above 15kW' tier and no stated maximum kW; no ordinance or bulletin capping residential system size was found on any reachable Building Division, Planning, or Resources page. System size in practice is governed by the NEM tariff/annual usage, not a city permitting cap.
fee schedule / absence across reachable pages checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 90% · department FAQ PDF
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC), effective 1 Jan 2026 92% · department FAQ PDF
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 International Fire Code), effective 1 Jan 2026 82% · department FAQ PDF
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, in general (a local adoption ordinance exists — the FAQ says a copy of the code 'as adopted by the City of Vallejo' is on file at the counter), but the specific content of any Vallejo amendments could not be confirmed 55% · department FAQ PDF + inaccessible municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The locally-adopted 2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC etc., effective 1 Jan 2026, based on the 2024 IBC/IRC family and the 2023 NEC) 85% · department FAQ PDF
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Vallejo on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required, under NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the 2023 NEC / 2025 California Electrical Code now in force 70% · department FAQ PDF + NEC edition in force
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by the City of Vallejo on any reachable page. The interconnecting utility, PG&E, does specify lettering for its own AC-disconnect signage (minimum 3/8" letters, all capitals, engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant) — see Q42/Q48. 50% · utility technical bulletin (not the AHJ)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not published separately by the City of Vallejo as a solar-specific bulletin; the locally-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (which the city enforces per its own 2025 Code Adoption FAQ) contains the standard multiple-power-source placard/map provisions by reference. PG&E's Greenbook independently requires a location map for its own AC disconnect switch when not co-located with the meter. 55% · department FAQ PDF + utility bulletin
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes — PG&E's Greenbook (Document 060559, 'Disconnect Switch Requirements for Distributed Generation Customers,' Rev.#07, 3/25/2022) requires its own labeling: permanently attached signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter, and labeling for any Net Generation Output Meter (NGOM) installed. 90% · utility technical bulletin
- Where must the labels be placed? AC disconnect/label must be within 10 feet, in line of sight, of PG&E's electric meter (or in an approved electric meter room), at grade level if outdoors with the meter, and — if wall- or floor-mounted — between 48 and 75 inches above ground to the top of the enclosure. 90% · utility technical bulletin
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 10 feet, in line of sight, of PG&E's electric meter (or inside an approved electric meter room within that distance); at the same grade level as the meter if outdoors; never on a roof or on any floor/level above grade; mounted 48-75 inches above grade when wall- or floor-mounted. 85% · utility technical bulletin
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No 55% · inference from absence
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Permitted, subject to the locally-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC, which contains the ESS chapter) and 2025 CRC/CEC; no Vallejo-specific battery bulletin beyond the general code-adoption FAQ was found. 55% · department FAQ PDF
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit/fee category found 55% · fee schedule (absence)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, at least for commercial systems — treated as a structure requiring a valuation-based foundation/pier permit; residential ground-mount is not separately itemized but the same structural logic (CBC/CRC foundation review) would apply 62% · fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Vallejo’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Vallejo Building Division '2025 Code Adoption FAQ' PDF: 'Part 3, 2025 California Electrical Code (CEC), which is based on the 2023 National Electrical Code (NEC).' Effective January 1, 2026 for all plan-check submittals from that date; 2022 CEC/2020 NEC-based code still applies to anything submitted before 1/1/2026.
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IBC/IRC), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherSame Building Division FAQ PDF lists Part 2 (2025 CBC, based on 2024 IBC) and Part 2.5 (2025 CRC, based on 2024 IRC), both effective January 1, 2026 for new plan-check submittals; the Building Division page independently confirms '2025 Building Codes Now in Effect! Any permits applied for after January 1, 2026 must comply with adopted 2025 California Codes.'
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 International Fire Code), effective 1 Jan 2026
Why the confidence is not higherSame FAQ PDF lists 'Part 9, 2025 California Fire Code (CFC), which is based on the 2024 International Fire Code (IFC)' as part of the same locally-adopted 2025 code cycle. The local fire-code adoption ordinance itself (with any Vallejo-specific amendments) sits in the Vallejo Municipal Code on library.municode.com, which is a JavaScript-only Angular app that returned no rendered content to curl (its /api/Clients endpoint 401s without a session) — so this is confirmed only via the Building Division's own code-cycle summary, not the ordinance text itself.
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, in general (a local adoption ordinance exists — the FAQ says a copy of the code 'as adopted by the City of Vallejo' is on file at the counter), but the specific content of any Vallejo amendments could not be confirmed
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Division FAQ PDF phrase 'as adopted by the City of Vallejo' implies a local adopting ordinance (as is standard practice for every California city under Health & Safety Code Sec. 17958 et seq.), but the ordinance/amendment text lives in the Vallejo Municipal Code on library.municode.com, which loaded only as an empty Angular shell to curl (confirmed via CDX/Wayback captures of the same URL, all 1.8-3KB shell pages) and could not be read.
department FAQ PDF + inaccessible municipal code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The locally-adopted 2025 California Building Standards Code (2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC etc., effective 1 Jan 2026, based on the 2024 IBC/IRC family and the 2023 NEC)
Why the confidence is not higherPer the Building Division's 2025 Code Adoption FAQ, all permits submitted for plan check after January 1, 2026 must comply with the new 2025 California Building Standards Code as adopted by the City of Vallejo.
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, Building Permit Process page, Resources & Links page, and Master Fee Schedule checked for a local service-upgrade/busbar-sizing rule; none published. The Vallejo Municipal Code (where such an amendment would live) is on library.municode.com, an Angular JS shell that returns no content to curl and 401s on its API.
https://library.municode.com/ca/vallejo/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT12BUCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages checked as Q34; no Vallejo-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing bulletin was found published outside the unreachable Municipal Code / Document Library.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Department and Fire Prevention Division pages checked directly for a ridge-setback/access-pathway bulletin; none is published there. This would normally sit in the locally-adopted Fire Code amendments in the Vallejo Municipal Code (library.municode.com), which returned only an empty Angular shell to curl.
https://www.cityofvallejo.net/our_city/departments_divisions/fire_department/fire_prevention/
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required, under NEC 690.12 as incorporated by the 2023 NEC / 2025 California Electrical Code now in force
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a mandatory NEC 690.12 requirement built into the 2023 NEC, which the city's own 2025 Code Adoption FAQ confirms is the basis of the 2025 CEC now in force in Vallejo (effective 1 Jan 2026). No Vallejo-specific rapid-shutdown bulletin or amendment was found, so this is the statewide code requirement rather than a city-specific statement.
department FAQ PDF + NEC edition in force checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division, Fire Prevention, Resources & Links and Master Fee Schedule pages checked; none publishes a placard list for residential PV service equipment beyond what the adopted NEC/CFC require by reference. The Document Library (files.com share) that might hold a placard bulletin returned no content to curl (401 on its API).
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as Q38 checked; no Vallejo-specific placard wording was found published.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the City of Vallejo on any reachable page. The interconnecting utility, PG&E, does specify lettering for its own AC-disconnect signage (minimum 3/8" letters, all capitals, engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant) — see Q42/Q48.
Why the confidence is not higherNo City of Vallejo document (Building Division, Fire Prevention, Resources & Links, Document Library attempt) states a letter-height/colour/material spec of its own; this answer is reporting the absence and pointing to the utility spec found instead, per PG&E Greenbook Document 060559 Rev.#07 (3/25/2022), page 2, 'Labeling' section.
utility technical bulletin (not the AHJ) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/060559.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not published separately by the City of Vallejo as a solar-specific bulletin; the locally-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (which the city enforces per its own 2025 Code Adoption FAQ) contains the standard multiple-power-source placard/map provisions by reference. PG&E's Greenbook independently requires a location map for its own AC disconnect switch when not co-located with the meter.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Vallejo-specific facility-map placard bulletin was found on the Building Division, Fire Prevention or Resources & Links pages, nor in the unreachable Document Library. The city's own FAQ confirms it enforces the current adopted CFC, which is where a 705.10-style placard requirement would sit; PG&E's Greenbook page 2 separately requires 'a clear map showing the location' when its disconnect switch is not grouped with the meter panel.
department FAQ PDF + utility bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes — PG&E's Greenbook (Document 060559, 'Disconnect Switch Requirements for Distributed Generation Customers,' Rev.#07, 3/25/2022) requires its own labeling: permanently attached signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter, and labeling for any Net Generation Output Meter (NGOM) installed.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly from the Greenbook PDF text layer with pdftotext -layout (clean text-layer PDF, no OCR needed). This is a utility-level requirement layered on top of, not replacing, whatever the AHJ requires.
utility technical bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/060559.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
AC disconnect/label must be within 10 feet, in line of sight, of PG&E's electric meter (or in an approved electric meter room), at grade level if outdoors with the meter, and — if wall- or floor-mounted — between 48 and 75 inches above ground to the top of the enclosure.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook Document 060559 Rev.#07 (3/25/2022), 'Location' section, extracted with pdftotext -layout.
utility technical bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/060559.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo 'approved equipment list' concept appears on any reachable Vallejo page; the city's requirement (implicit in adopting the 2025 CEC/NEC) is UL/NRTL listing generally, not a jurisdiction-specific approved-products list. Absence-based inference, not a page that states this outright.
inference from absence checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Permitted, subject to the locally-adopted 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC, which contains the ESS chapter) and 2025 CRC/CEC; no Vallejo-specific battery bulletin beyond the general code-adoption FAQ was found.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Division's 2025 Code Adoption FAQ confirms the city enforces the current 2025 CFC/CRC/CEC as a package (which includes ESS provisions by reference), but no separate battery/ESS-specific bulletin from Vallejo itself was reachable.
department FAQ PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/UserFiles/Servers/Server_16925367/File/%20City%20Hall/Departments%20&%20Divisions/Planning%20and%20Development%20Services/Building%20Division/2025%20Code%20Adoption%20QandA.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit/fee category found
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule's Building Division fee section lists 'Residential Solar Permits' and 'Commercial Solar Permits' fee categories only; there is no separate 'ESS' or 'battery storage' permit line item, suggesting batteries are folded into the same solar/electrical permit rather than requiring a distinct permit.
fee schedule (absence) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, at least for commercial systems — treated as a structure requiring a valuation-based foundation/pier permit; residential ground-mount is not separately itemized but the same structural logic (CBC/CRC foundation review) would apply
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule line 43: 'Commercial Ground Mount Solar Piers/Foundation Permit' is Valuation-based, explicitly 'Separate from Solar,' i.e. billed and reviewed as its own structural permit. No equivalent residential line item was found, so the residential answer is extrapolated rather than directly confirmed.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/common/pages/GetFile.ashx?key=LuI%2bAe8c
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within 10 feet, in line of sight, of PG&E's electric meter (or inside an approved electric meter room within that distance); at the same grade level as the meter if outdoors; never on a roof or on any floor/level above grade; mounted 48-75 inches above grade when wall- or floor-mounted.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook Document 060559 Rev.#07 (dated 3/25/2022 — this is the current live document at this URL as of the date checked, but the revision itself is a few years old and could since have been superseded without the URL changing), 'Location' section, extracted with pdftotext -layout.
utility technical bulletin checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/about/doing-business-with-pge/060559.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (eTRAKiT online) is the primary method; phone and an IVR phone system are also explicitly offered as alternatives 88% · department page
- How much notice is required? At least 3 business days recommended (no formal minimum enforced, but the city advises scheduling 3+ business days ahead and states no guarantee of next-day service); online requests must be made by 3:00 PM the evening before. 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — AM (8am-12pm) or PM (12pm-4pm) 4-hour windows are offered, though not guaranteed 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; performed by the City of Vallejo Building Division's own inspectors 88% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? Not itemized specifically for solar. General process (Building Permit Process page): permit issuance, then on-site inspections requested at 'various stages' during construction, concluding with a Final Approval when construction is complete and code compliance verified. 55% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? Approved plans and the printed inspection permit card must be on site and available to the inspector 88% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 80% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 80% · utility interconnection page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $204.48 90% · department page + fee schedule cross-check
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A correction list is issued when code-compliance issues are found at plan review or inspection; cleared by resubmittal/re-inspection. No dedicated solar-specific corrections procedure was found. 55% · department page
14 questions answered against City of Vallejo’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (eTRAKiT online) is the primary method; phone and an IVR phone system are also explicitly offered as alternatives
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: '...LOGGING IN TO YOUR PERMIT SITE AT https://vall-trk.aspgov.com/eTRAKiT/ OR BY CALLING THE IVR at (707) 648-4384,' plus a direct phone line (707) 648-4522.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
At least 3 business days recommended (no formal minimum enforced, but the city advises scheduling 3+ business days ahead and states no guarantee of next-day service); online requests must be made by 3:00 PM the evening before.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'AS OF AUGUST 1ST 2023 THERE IS NO GUARANTEE OF NEXT DAY INSPECTIONS... WE RECOMMEND SCHEDULING AT LEAST THREE (3) BUSINESS DAYS IN ADVANCE... ONLINE INSPECTION REQUESTS MUST BE MADE NO LATER THAN 3:00 PM THE EVENING PRIOR.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — AM (8am-12pm) or PM (12pm-4pm) 4-hour windows are offered, though not guaranteed
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'WE ACCEPT AM & PM INSPECTION REQUESTS BUT CANNOT GUARANTEE THE REQUEST. YOU WILL RECEIVE AN AM (8AM-12PM) OR PM (12PM-4PM) WINDOW... PLEASE NOTE INSPECTION REQUESTS ARE FOR A 4 HOUR WINDOW.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page lists its own in-house Building Inspector I staff (Chris Johnson, Jarad Adams, JR Bennett) performing inspections; no mention anywhere of delegating solar/PV final inspection to a third party or another agency.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; performed by the City of Vallejo Building Division's own inspectors
Why the confidence is not higherSame Building Division staff listing as Q52; no delegation arrangement found.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Not itemized specifically for solar. General process (Building Permit Process page): permit issuance, then on-site inspections requested at 'various stages' during construction, concluding with a Final Approval when construction is complete and code compliance verified.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Process page describes the general (not solar-itemized) sequence: 'Permit Application Submittal' -> 'Plan Review Process' -> 'Inspection Process' (inspections at various stages) -> 'Final Approval.' No solar-specific stage list (e.g., rough vs. final only) was published.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967324
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Process page and Building Division page checked for a rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement specific to rooftop PV; neither states one. The unreachable Document Library may hold a PV-specific inspection checklist.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division, Fire Prevention, Permit FAQ and Online Permits FAQ pages checked; none states explicitly whether the inspector verifies labels/equipment listings at final. This is standard NEC-enforcement practice everywhere but was not found stated as Vallejo policy.
https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building Division page, Building Permit Process page, and attempted the Building Division Document Library (files.com share, JS-only, returned no content to curl and 401s on its own REST API without authentication) for a published inspection checklist; none was reachable.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Approved plans and the printed inspection permit card must be on site and available to the inspector
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page: 'PERMIT CARDS ARE REQUIRED TO BE PRINTED AND AVAILABLE ON-SITE FOR THE INSPECTOR WHEN HE OR SHE ARRIVES,' and the Building Permit Process page: 'it is also important to have the APPROVE[D] plans and the inspection job card available for the Building Inspector when they arrive on the job site.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$204.48
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page states directly: 'IF THE INSPECTION IS NOT CANCELED BY PHONE PRIOR TO 8AM THE DAY OF THE INSPECTION... YOU MAY BE REQUIRED TO PAY A RE-INSPECTION FEE OF $204.48.' This matches the Master Fee Schedule's generic hourly Inspection/Plan Review rate of $204.48 (line 44 area of the Building Division fee-calculation table).
department page + fee schedule cross-check checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17871722
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A correction list is issued when code-compliance issues are found at plan review or inspection; cleared by resubmittal/re-inspection. No dedicated solar-specific corrections procedure was found.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Process page (general, not solar-specific): 'If code compliance issues are found, you will be provided with a correction list.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967324
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permit Process page: 'The Building Division will provide final approval when construction is complete and code compliance is verified' — closest match to the 'Final' option among the choices offered; no separate 'green tag' or 'Certificate of Occupancy' terminology was used for a standard residential PV permit.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofvallejo.net/cms/One.aspx?portalId=16925451&pageId=17967324
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's NEM interconnection page lists the items required for PG&E to issue Permission to Operate (PTO), including a 'Signed-Off Building Permit' submitted by/through the contractor, and its Authorization form lets the contractor 'submit the Standard NEM Interconnection Application... on the customer's behalf and receive... the Permission to Operate (PTO) Letter, once issued' — i.e., the installer/contractor is the party that notifies/applies to the utility, not the city.
utility interconnection page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/en/about/doing-business-with-pge/interconnections/net-energy-metering-program.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Vallejo against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Vallejo is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- building and electrical
- Overridden by
- California state law: Gov. Code §65850.5 mandates ministerial/instant review for qualifying residential solar (implemented here via the Symbium portal, per the Building Division's own page), and the state-adopted 2025 California Building Standards Code (effective 1 Jan 2026) sets the code editions the city enforces.
- Why not higher
- City of Vallejo's own Central Permit Center, Building Division and Fire Prevention pages confirm the city (not Solano County) issues building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical and fire-prevention permits and performs its own inspections within city limits; Fire Prevention is a division of the city's own Fire Department, not a county fire agency. No delegation to Solano County was found anywhere on the reachable pages.
https://www.cityofvallejo.net/business/central_permit_center
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for a typical residential rooftop system ≤15kW ($138 Residential Solar Plan Review + $312 Residential Solar Permit, ≤15kW), plus $54.28/kW for capacity above 15kW92%
- Plan review
- Instantaneous for Symbium-eligible (SB 379-compliant) rooftop solar/battery systems; up to about three weeks for projects requiring full manual plan review75%
- Portal
- Symbium (instant online issuance for SB 379-qualifying residential solar/battery storage permits) plus eTRAKiT (vall-trk.aspgov.com) for general permit tracking,92%
- Electrical code
- 202390%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (eTRAKiT online) is the primary method; phone and an IVR phone system are also explicitly offered as alternatives88%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material 50%
Not specified by the City of Vallejo on any reachable page. The interconnecting utility, PG&E, does specify lettering for its own AC-disconnect signage (minimum 3/8" letters, all capitals, engraved phenolic or ANSI Z535.4-compliant) — see Q42/Q48.
Where they go 90%
AC disconnect/label must be within 10 feet, in line of sight, of PG&E's electric meter (or in an approved electric meter room), at grade level if outdoors with the meter, and — if wall- or floor-mounted — between 48 and 75 inches above ground to the top of the enclosure.
What the utility wants on top 90%
Yes — PG&E's Greenbook (Document 060559, 'Disconnect Switch Requirements for Distributed Generation Customers,' Rev.#07, 3/25/2022) requires its own labeling: permanently attached signage reading e.g. 'UTILITY AC DISCONNECT SWITCH,' a location map if the switch is not grouped with the meter, and labeling for any Net Generation Output Meter (NGOM) installed.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.