City of Ventura
Ventura County
City of Ventura is a city authority in the State of California. 5,387 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, the 2021 Edition code cycle it enforces, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 3 business days for AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems meeting the checklist/standard plan; Q18 Where you file — Ventura OPS (Online Permit Services, on the EnerGov/self-service platform) for standard permits; Symbium for the SB 379 contractor instant-permit path. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes98% source
- What it costs
- Residential PV ≤15 kW: $450 flat ($210 plan check + $240 permit). Residential PV >15 kW: $450 for the first 15 kW + $15/kW for each additional kW.92% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 3 business days for AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems meeting the checklist/standard plan;88% source
- Key document
- published checklist cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 93% · municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 98% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 80% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 88% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, conditionally — and this sits in direct tension with the city's own AB 2188 ministerial-review chapter 85% · municipal code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, in limited cases: the Building Official may require a 'use permit' (appealable to the Board of Appeals/City Council) if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, a specific adverse impact on public health/safety. 92% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No absolute cap on residential system size. The AB 2188 ministerial/expedited path (SBMC Ch. 12.145) applies only to systems ≤10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal on a single- or duplex-family dwelling. The separate SB 379/Symbium instant-permit path allows up to 38.4 kW AC. Larger systems are still permittable through the standard Ventura OPS plan-review track (the fee schedule has explicit '>15 kW' and per-kW tiers proving larger systems are routinely permitted). 85% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Any contractor 82% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes, for the Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path (must hold an active City of Ventura business license); the standard Ventura OPS path only requires creating a normal OPS portal account, not a separate pre-registration. 88% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, inferred, via the standard Ventura OPS track only (Symbium is contractor-only) 55% · municipal code (inference)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Completed permit application form; demonstrated compliance with the Photovoltaic Expedited Permit Eligibility Checklist; a completed Standard Electrical Plan (central-string or microinverter template) or an equivalent custom electrical plan; equipment cut sheets; a site diagram of panel layout, north arrow, lot dimensions and setbacks; a roof diagram showing clear access pathways and disconnect/roof-access locations; and, for non-qualifying systems, structural drawings/calcs stamped by a CA-licensed engineer. 95% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes: a site diagram showing arrangement of panels on the roof or ground, north arrow, lot dimensions, and distance from property lines to adjacent buildings/structures (existing and proposed), plus clear access pathways per the State Fire Marshal Solar PV Installation Guide. 92% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · published checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 88% · published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required only for systems that fail the Eligibility Checklist ('non-qualifying' systems): stamped and signed structural drawings/calculations by a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer. Systems that pass the checklist submit a 'Structural Criteria' form instead, only 'if required.' 85% · published checklist
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required specifically for any Line Side PV Connection (CEC 705.12/110.3): an Electrical Engineer-stamped single-line diagram with connection detail is required, along with SCE approval and a scheduled power-outage verification document. 90% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Ventura OPS (Online Permit Services, on the EnerGov/self-service platform) for standard permits; Symbium for the SB 379 contractor instant-permit path. 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 93% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Residential PV ≤15 kW: $450 flat ($210 plan check + $240 permit). Residential PV >15 kW: $450 for the first 15 kW + $15/kW for each additional kW. Ground-mounted PV support structure: additional $350 flat ($100 plan check + $250 permit). ESS/battery ≤10 kW: $216 ($100+$116); ESS 11-100 kW: $300 ($100+$200). No separate Fire Department PV/ESS fee (see Q45/46 note). Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path also carries a separate, non-city, non-refundable Symbium processing fee of an unpublished amount. 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 3 business days for AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems meeting the checklist/standard plan; 'in real time, in a matter of minutes' for Symbium/SB 379 instant permits (contractors, ≤38.4 kW AC); not separately stated for non-qualifying/standard systems. 88% · municipal code
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 95% · department document
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with a hard gate at inspection for line-side connections 62% · department document
28 questions answered against City of Ventura’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building and Safety Division issues residential solar permits directly, per SBMC Ch. 12.145 (small residential rooftop solar) and the city's Photovoltaic Information / Contractor Solar Permits pages.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/300/Photovoltaic-Information
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.115.010 adopts the CBC 'by reference' as the city's own building code and 12.125.010 does the same for the CEC; both are administered by the same Building and Safety Division, not delegated to the county or a contract firm.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.125.010
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.030: 'This Ordinance applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City.' The Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements document confirms a permit application is always required.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.030
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe FY26-27 Master Fee Schedule prices residential solar as a single 'Solar' line item inside the ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEES section (one plan-check + one permit fee covering the whole PV scope); only a ground-mounted support structure gets an additional, separate structural fee line ('Photovoltaic Ground Mounted Support System').
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Any contractor
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Contractor Solar Permits (SB 379) page requires an active CSLB license in classification A, B, C-10, or C-46 to pull the electrical/solar permit through Symbium; the standard Ventura OPS path does not name a narrower requirement. State law (B&P Code §7044) owner-builder exemption is not locally restricted (see Q7), so 'Any contractor' (of the listed classes) or a qualifying owner-builder may pull it.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes, for the Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path (must hold an active City of Ventura business license); the standard Ventura OPS path only requires creating a normal OPS portal account, not a separate pre-registration.
Why the confidence is not higherSB 379 page, Step 1: 'The contractor applying for the work must have an active business license with the city of Ventura.' Step 2 for the standard path is simply 'Register or already have a Ventura OPS Account.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes, inferred, via the standard Ventura OPS track only (Symbium is contractor-only)
Why the confidence is not higherThe SB 379 page states Symbium 'is currently only available to licensed contractors,' so a self-installing homeowner would have to use the standard track. Local building-code amendments (SBMC 12.115.020) do not remove or restrict the state B&P Code §7044 owner-builder exemption, but no city document explicitly confirms homeowner self-install for PV; this is inference from the absence of a local restriction rather than an affirmative city statement.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.115.020
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Completed permit application form; demonstrated compliance with the Photovoltaic Expedited Permit Eligibility Checklist; a completed Standard Electrical Plan (central-string or microinverter template) or an equivalent custom electrical plan; equipment cut sheets; a site diagram of panel layout, north arrow, lot dimensions and setbacks; a roof diagram showing clear access pathways and disconnect/roof-access locations; and, for non-qualifying systems, structural drawings/calcs stamped by a CA-licensed engineer.
Why the confidence is not higherEnumerated directly in the city's 'Submittal Requirements Document – Solar Photovoltaic Installations 10 kW or Less' and the companion Eligibility Checklist, both extracted with pdftotext -layout.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPhotovoltaic Submittal Requirements Document (residential and commercial), Eligibility Checklist, Plan Submittal Application PDF, and the Permits-Forms-Fees-and-Documents and Apply-for-Permits pages — all describe submission METHOD ('in person at 501 Poli St, room 117' or electronically to pvab2188@ci.ventura.ca.us / via Ventura OPS) but none states a required number of copies or a specific electronic file format/size limit.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes: a site diagram showing arrangement of panels on the roof or ground, north arrow, lot dimensions, and distance from property lines to adjacent buildings/structures (existing and proposed), plus clear access pathways per the State Fire Marshal Solar PV Installation Guide.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation from the Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements Document, item 1(c).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal Requirements Document requires a 'One-line diagram of system' as part of the electrical plan if the Standard Electrical Plan template is not used.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe same document requires specifying 'grounding/bonding, conductor type and size, conduit type and size and number of conductors in each section of conduit' plus module/string counts per MPPT input (per the Eligibility Checklist's electrical requirements).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required only for systems that fail the Eligibility Checklist ('non-qualifying' systems): stamped and signed structural drawings/calculations by a California-licensed Civil or Structural Engineer. Systems that pass the checklist submit a 'Structural Criteria' form instead, only 'if required.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, Submittal Requirements Document item 1 and the Eligibility Checklist's Structural Requirements section ('A completed Structural Criteria and supporting documentation is attached (if required)').
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Required specifically for any Line Side PV Connection (CEC 705.12/110.3): an Electrical Engineer-stamped single-line diagram with connection detail is required, along with SCE approval and a scheduled power-outage verification document.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, Submittal Requirements Document, item 7: 'Any modification to new or existing electrical distribution equipment as it pertains to a Line Side PV Connection... shall have an Electrical Engineer stamped single line diagram... approval from Southern California Edison... There will be no inspections without the outage document.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Residential PV ≤15 kW: $450 flat ($210 plan check + $240 permit). Residential PV >15 kW: $450 for the first 15 kW + $15/kW for each additional kW. Ground-mounted PV support structure: additional $350 flat ($100 plan check + $250 permit). ESS/battery ≤10 kW: $216 ($100+$116); ESS 11-100 kW: $300 ($100+$200). No separate Fire Department PV/ESS fee (see Q45/46 note). Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path also carries a separate, non-city, non-refundable Symbium processing fee of an unpublished amount.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted with pdftotext -layout from the FY26-27 Master Fee Schedule (effective 1 Jul 2026), item 100 'Solar' (residential/commercial split) under Electrical Permit Fees and item 117 'Photovoltaic Ground Mounted Support System' under Small Project Permits; ESS lines 63-64 also under Electrical Permit Fees. Fire Prevention Fees section (pp. 22+) control-checked with zero PV/ESS lines.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat base fee for the first tier (≤15 kW) plus a per-kW surcharge above that threshold, per the Master Fee Schedule 'Solar' line item.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule itemizes a distinct 'Fee Plan Check' column ($210 residential ≤15kW) separate from the 'Fee Permit' column ($240) within the same Solar line item.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
3 business days for AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems meeting the checklist/standard plan; 'in real time, in a matter of minutes' for Symbium/SB 379 instant permits (contractors, ≤38.4 kW AC); not separately stated for non-qualifying/standard systems.
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.060(A): the Building and Safety Division 'shall issue a building permit... within three business days' for a qualifying application. SB 379 page: Symbium permits are 'issued in real time, in a matter of minutes.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSBMC 12.115.020 (the complete, exhaustive Building Code local-amendment list) does not amend CBC Section 105.5 (permit expiration); the base 2025 CBC's own Section 105.5 text was not independently retrieved in this run to confirm the exact validity/expiration period (typically 180 days under the ICC model code, but not verified here against the actual adopted 2025 edition text), so recording a specific figure would not meet the sourcing bar.
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Ventura OPS (Online Permit Services, on the EnerGov/self-service platform) for standard permits; Symbium for the SB 379 contractor instant-permit path.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth named repeatedly on the Contractor Solar Permits (SB 379) and Apply for Permits pages; Ventura OPS is at land.cityofventura.ca.gov/EnerGov_Prod/SelfService.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSymbium instant permits are fully online, in minutes, for qualifying contractors; the standard Ventura OPS path also supports full electronic submittal, upload, review, and payment.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements Document names Southern California Edison by name for line-side connection approval and outage verification; Ventura is within SCE's territory, not a municipally-owned electric utility city.
department document checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with a hard gate at inspection for line-side connections
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own submittal document states 'There will be no inspections without the outage document' for line-side PV connections, i.e., SCE coordination must occur before the city will inspect. For ordinary load-side interconnections the sequence is not explicitly stated by the city; SCE's own DG/NEM interconnection process (typically run in parallel with permitting, with PTO requiring a signed/finaled permit) was not independently retrieved (sce.com pages did not yield usable content within this run's tool constraints).
department document checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.060(E): 'City shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association, as defined in Section 4080 of the Civil Code.' No city document requires HOA/architectural pre-approval as a permit precondition.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally — and this sits in direct tension with the city's own AB 2188 ministerial-review chapter
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 24.545.040(B)(1) exempts single- and two-family residential properties from ordinary design review 'in all cases,' EXCEPT as required by 24.545.030(A)(3), which mandates 'Historic Design Review' (referred to the Historic Preservation Committee at a noticed public hearing, per Secretary of the Interior's Standards) for any property within/adjacent to a designated Historic District (HD) overlay zone (24.340, covering parts of Downtown/Mission-era Ventura), a designated landmark, or a historic-resources-survey-eligible property. SBMC Ch. 12.145 (the AB 2188 chapter) contains no historic-district carve-out at all — 12.145.030 says the ordinance 'applies to... all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the City,' and 12.145.060(B) limits Building Official review to health/safety criteria only. Neither chapter cross-references the other; this is a real, codified, unresolved overlap, not a resolved exemption.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/24.545.030
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSBMC 12.115.020 (Building Code local amendments, full text reviewed) and SBMC 12.145 (AB 2188 chapter) — no wind/windstorm certification requirement was found for residential PV; California coastal cities do not typically carry a Texas-style wind-certification regime, but no explicit city statement of exemption or requirement was located either.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, in limited cases: the Building Official may require a 'use permit' (appealable to the Board of Appeals/City Council) if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, a specific adverse impact on public health/safety.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, SBMC 12.145.060(A) and (C).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No absolute cap on residential system size. The AB 2188 ministerial/expedited path (SBMC Ch. 12.145) applies only to systems ≤10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal on a single- or duplex-family dwelling. The separate SB 379/Symbium instant-permit path allows up to 38.4 kW AC. Larger systems are still permittable through the standard Ventura OPS plan-review track (the fee schedule has explicit '>15 kW' and per-kW tiers proving larger systems are routinely permitted).
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.020 defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' at the 10 kW AC/30 kW thermal threshold; the Contractor Solar Permits (SB 379) page states the Symbium ceiling as 'no larger than 38.4 kilowatts alternating current'; the Master Fee Schedule's per-kW-above-15kW tier confirms larger systems are permitted outside the expedited chapter.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.020
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 85% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), adopted by Ord. No. 2025-006, effective 18 Nov 2025 95% · municipal code
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, adopted by Ord. No. 2025-013, effective 18 Nov 2025 93% · municipal code
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 CBC/CEC as locally amended, plus SBMC 12.145.040's own standard: 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the Public Utilities Commission.' 90% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway amendment found; the city's own PV submittal guidance instead points applicants to the STATEWIDE Cal Fire/Office of the State Fire Marshal 'Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guide' for clear-path access-pathway requirements, and the base (locally unamended) 2025 CFC's own PV provisions apply otherwise. 78% · municipal code (absence proved)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, required per NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2023-based 2025 CEC; no local amendment alters or removes this requirement. 80% · municipal code (absence of override proved)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Equipment labeling as required by CEC Sections 690 and 705 (no additional authority-specific placard list beyond the state code's own labels). 70% · published checklist
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · municipal code (absence proved)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 78% · municipal code (absence proved)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Yes: 'A diagram of the roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points' is required, functioning as the facility/site-plan placard-equivalent document. 85% · published checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, implied 65% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, conditionally. Batteries/ESS are permitted through the standard Ventura OPS track and the Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path (which explicitly covers 'residential rooftop systems or energy storage systems'). However, the AB 2188 EXPEDITED checklist specifically requires the system be 'utility interactive and WITHOUT battery storage' to qualify for that one-page ministerial path — a battery-equipped system is routed to standard/Symbium review instead. There is no separate Fire Department PV/ESS fee (control-checked, zero PV/ESS lines in the Fire Prevention Fees section) — cost and review sit entirely with Building and Safety. 85% · published checklist
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 88% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 85% · fee schedule
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Yes, two local rules: (1) CEC Art. 705.12(C) is locally amended — 'Quad (space-saving) circuit breakers with a PV system backfeed of more than 20 amps shall not be permitted'; (2) CEC Art. 89.108.4.1.1 is locally added, requiring a SEPARATE electrical permit for the removal and reconstruction of any existing rooftop PV system at the same address (e.g., for a reroof), with no modification to the original AHJ-approved plan allowed. 93% · municipal code
20 questions answered against City of Ventura’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.125.010 adopts 'Part 3 of Title 24... known as the California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition' (Ord. No. 2025-008, eff. 18 Nov 2025). California's 2025 Title 24 code cycle is based on the 2023 NFPA 70 (NEC); the city's own code page does not spell out the NEC base-edition cross-reference verbatim, so this final step is inference from the known statewide code-cycle mapping rather than a direct city statement.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.125.010
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), adopted by Ord. No. 2025-006, effective 18 Nov 2025
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated at SBMC 12.115.010, current through Ord. 2026-008 (12 May 2026). This CONTRADICTS the city's own Building and Safety department web page, which as of this run still states 'Current codes effective 1-1-2023: 2022 California Building... Codes' — the department page is stale; the live, dated municipal code text is authoritative and is cited here instead.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.115.010
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, adopted by Ord. No. 2025-013, effective 18 Nov 2025
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 14.10.010, current through Ord. 2026-008 (12 May 2026). Same stale-department-page discrepancy noted at Q30 applies here too.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/14.10.010
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments exist to the Building Code (SBMC 12.115.020 — post-damage placards, permit fee/refund rules, roof-covering fire class upgrades, structural observation, geotechnical, pool rules), the Electrical Code (SBMC 12.125.020 — line-side-connection safety rule, PV backfeed/busbar limit, separate PV-reroof permit requirement), and the Fire Code (SBMC 14.10.020 — extensive administrative and sprinkler amendments). All three amendment ordinances (2025-006/-008/-013) were adopted 18 Nov 2025, inside the AB 130 residential-amendment freeze window (1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031); their compliance with AB 130's narrow exceptions was not independently verified in this run and is flagged as worth checking.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.125.020
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 CBC/CEC as locally amended, plus SBMC 12.145.040's own standard: 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the Public Utilities Commission.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, SBMC 12.145.040(C).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.040
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Yes, two local rules: (1) CEC Art. 705.12(C) is locally amended — 'Quad (space-saving) circuit breakers with a PV system backfeed of more than 20 amps shall not be permitted'; (2) CEC Art. 89.108.4.1.1 is locally added, requiring a SEPARATE electrical permit for the removal and reconstruction of any existing rooftop PV system at the same address (e.g., for a reroof), with no modification to the original AHJ-approved plan allowed.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, SBMC 12.125.020(B)(1) and (B)(6), current through Ord. 2025-008 (codified April 2026), extracted from the rendered municipal code page.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.125.020
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSBMC 12.115.020 (Building Code amendments) and SBMC 12.125.020 (Electrical Code amendments), both read in full — no specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing rule was found beyond the Eligibility Checklist's generic deferral to 'Structural Criteria and supporting documentation... (if required)' and manufacturer-engineered racking under the adopted CBC/CRC.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway amendment found; the city's own PV submittal guidance instead points applicants to the STATEWIDE Cal Fire/Office of the State Fire Marshal 'Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guide' for clear-path access-pathway requirements, and the base (locally unamended) 2025 CFC's own PV provisions apply otherwise.
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 14.10.020's amendment list is a complete, exhaustive, lettered A-through-RR enumeration of every local CFC amendment (extracted in full); none of them touch Chapter 9/12/1205 PV setback or pathway provisions — a proved absence, not a search failure. Positive control ('sprinkler', 15 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected on the same extracted text.
municipal code (absence proved) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/14.10.020
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, required per NEC 690.12 as adopted via the 2023-based 2025 CEC; no local amendment alters or removes this requirement.
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.125.020's amendment list (item-by-item, A through 6) is complete and exhaustive; none of the six enumerated amendments touch Article 690, so the base CEC's Article 690.12 rapid-shutdown rule stands unmodified. This is inference from a complete, verified amendment list rather than direct city text quoting 690.12 itself.
municipal code (absence of override proved) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.125.020
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Equipment labeling as required by CEC Sections 690 and 705 (no additional authority-specific placard list beyond the state code's own labels).
Why the confidence is not higherThe Photovoltaic Submittal Requirements Document requires 'Labeling of equipment as required by CEC, Sections 690 and 705' and the Eligibility Checklist requires 'All required markings and labels are provided,' but neither adds an authority-specific placard beyond the state code baseline.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's only locally-added placard section is CBC 101.4.9 (SBMC 12.115.020, item 1), which specifies wording for POST-DAMAGE-ASSESSMENT placards (green/yellow/red) — an unrelated life-safety/disaster-response provision, not a solar placard. Full-text review of the Building, Electrical, and Fire local-amendment chapters found no PV/solar-specific placard wording anywhere; positive control ('Building Official'/'occupancy', 36 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected.
municipal code (absence proved) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.115.020
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame absence proof as Q39 — no city document specifies letter height, colour, or material for a solar-specific placard; the base CEC's own labeling requirements (690/705) govern instead, without local elaboration.
municipal code (absence proved) checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.115.020
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes: 'A diagram of the roof layout of all panels, modules, clear access pathways and approximate locations of electrical disconnecting means and roof access points' is required, functioning as the facility/site-plan placard-equivalent document.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, Eligibility Checklist for Expedited Solar Photovoltaic Permitting, Fire Safety Requirements item D.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/805/Photovoltaic-Expedited-Permit-Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted to retrieve Southern California Edison's own interconnection/DG program pages (sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections returned HTTP 404; the generic landing page loaded but is a large JavaScript SPA shell not practically drillable within this run's tool constraints) to check for utility-specified placards beyond the AHJ's own CEC 690/705 labeling requirement. Could not confirm one way or the other.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame SCE retrieval attempt as Q42, plus the city's own Photovoltaic Information and Submittal Requirements pages, which specify labeling per CEC 690/705 generally but do not state exact label placement locations beyond the code's own text.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes, implied
Why the confidence is not higherThe Submittal Requirements Document requires 'Labeling of equipment as required by CEC, Sections 690 and 705,' which presumes equipment is on an approved/listed basis (UL-type testing per SBMC 12.145.040(C): 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories'). No standalone approved-equipment list document was found.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.040
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, conditionally. Batteries/ESS are permitted through the standard Ventura OPS track and the Symbium/SB 379 instant-permit path (which explicitly covers 'residential rooftop systems or energy storage systems'). However, the AB 2188 EXPEDITED checklist specifically requires the system be 'utility interactive and WITHOUT battery storage' to qualify for that one-page ministerial path — a battery-equipped system is routed to standard/Symbium review instead. There is no separate Fire Department PV/ESS fee (control-checked, zero PV/ESS lines in the Fire Prevention Fees section) — cost and review sit entirely with Building and Safety.
Why the confidence is not higherEligibility Checklist, General Requirements item D; SB 379 page Step 3; Master Fee Schedule Fire Prevention Fees section (pp. 22+) control-checked with 37 'inspection' hits and 0 fabricated hits, confirming a genuine absence of a PV/ESS fire fee line.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/805/Photovoltaic-Expedited-Permit-Eligibility-Checklist-PDF
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule carries two distinct ESS line items under Electrical Permit Fees — 'ESS battery back systems up to 10 KW' ($216) and 'ESS battery back systems 11 KW through 100 KW' ($300) — separate from the Solar PV line items, indicating a separately-priced (and by extension separately tracked) permit component.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule prices a 'Photovoltaic Ground Mounted Support System' as its own $350 line item (under Small Project Permits, alongside other accessory structures like patio covers and retaining walls), separate from the roof-mount Solar PV fee line — indicating it is treated as its own structure/permit component.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Photovoltaic Information page and Outside Agency material (no dedicated 'Outside Agency Checklist' page was found on cityofventura.ca.gov), plus the same blocked SCE interconnection pages as Q42 — no document specifying AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was retrieved.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Ventura OPS — 'guaranteed'), or Phone (805-654-7874, next-business-day, not guaranteed) 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? 1 business day (by 5:00 p.m. the business day before) 90% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No firm AM/PM guarantee; a 3-hour arrival window is provided the morning of, with the inspector typically arriving within the first hour. 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 92% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated 90% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems: a single consolidated final inspection (SBMC 12.145.060(G)-(I); a re-inspection is authorized if it fails, and need not conform to the expedited chapter). Separately, removal and reconstruction of an EXISTING rooftop PV system (e.g., during a reroof) requires its own separate electrical permit (SBMC 12.125.020(B)(1)), implying its own separate inspection. Sequence for non-qualifying/standard-track systems is not separately published. 80% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No, for AB 2188-eligible expedited systems — only one final inspection is required, no rough-in/mid-roof step. Not separately stated for non-qualifying/standard-track systems. 70% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes 85% · department page
- What must be on site at inspection? Stamped/approved plans and the Inspection Checklist, plus the permit job card. The PV-specific submittal document specifies a minimum plan size of 11x17 at the job site; the general (non-solar-specific) Inspections page instead states a minimum of 18x24 for building inspections generally — the two city documents disagree on paper size and both are reported here rather than picking one. 75% · published checklist
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Yes 88% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a signed job card serves as the Certificate of Occupancy) 85% · municipal code
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/contractor (obtains SCE's outage-verification/connection approval and submits final inspection clearance; SCE then processes PTO) 55% · department document (inference)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $200 flat per hour 85% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For expedited-path deficiencies: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission (SBMC 12.145.060(F)). For the general track, plan-review comments/corrections are transmitted and tracked through the Ventura OPS portal. 78% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Ventura’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Ventura OPS — 'guaranteed'), or Phone (805-654-7874, next-business-day, not guaranteed)
Why the confidence is not higherSB 379 page: 'To ensure a guaranteed inspection, please use Ventura OPS. The building inspection request phone line does not guarantee inspections.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
1 business day (by 5:00 p.m. the business day before)
Why the confidence is not higher'Inspections must be scheduled no later than 5:00 P.M. on the city business day before the requested inspection.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No firm AM/PM guarantee; a 3-hour arrival window is provided the morning of, with the inspector typically arriving within the first hour.
Why the confidence is not higher'While we strive to accommodate your inspection request, scheduling limitations may affect our ability to fulfill your preferred time frame... The schedule will provide a 3-hour timeframe... Typically, the building inspector will arrive within the first hour of this window.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.060(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the Building and Safety Division for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review' — performed in-house, not delegated.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherFollows directly from Q52; the city's own Building and Safety Division performs solar inspections in-house.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems: a single consolidated final inspection (SBMC 12.145.060(G)-(I); a re-inspection is authorized if it fails, and need not conform to the expedited chapter). Separately, removal and reconstruction of an EXISTING rooftop PV system (e.g., during a reroof) requires its own separate electrical permit (SBMC 12.125.020(B)(1)), implying its own separate inspection. Sequence for non-qualifying/standard-track systems is not separately published.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, SBMC 12.145.060(G)-(I) and 12.125.020 item 1 (CEC Art. 89.108.4.1.1).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No, for AB 2188-eligible expedited systems — only one final inspection is required, no rough-in/mid-roof step. Not separately stated for non-qualifying/standard-track systems.
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.145.060(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required.' No document was found addressing a mid-roof/rough-in step for the standard (non-expedited) track.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPhotovoltaic Information page: 'All panels and inverters must be verified by the Field Inspector against approved plans during inspection.' The Eligibility Checklist also requires 'All required markings and labels are provided' as a precondition, which the field inspection confirms.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/300/Photovoltaic-Information
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFor Symbium/SB 379 instant permits: 'you will be able to login to Ventura OPS to view your issued permit, print your permit, and inspection checklist needed at the inspection.' The Eligibility Checklist itself doubles as a pre-inspection checklist for the standard track.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/2554/Contractor-Solar-Permits-SB-379
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Stamped/approved plans and the Inspection Checklist, plus the permit job card. The PV-specific submittal document specifies a minimum plan size of 11x17 at the job site; the general (non-solar-specific) Inspections page instead states a minimum of 18x24 for building inspections generally — the two city documents disagree on paper size and both are reported here rather than picking one.
Why the confidence is not higherPV Submittal Requirements Document, Section 4 ('A set of approved legible plans, minimum size 11x17 and the inspection card must be at job site'); general Inspections page ('Please have the stamped plans printed on minimum 18x24 paper'); SB 379 page ('The stamped/approved plans AND Inspection Checklist must be present on the jobsite').
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$200 flat per hour
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule, item 153 (and duplicated as item 14 in the Land Development section): 'Re-Inspection Fee — $200 Per Hour.' Not solar-specific, but applies to any permit type including solar.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50960/FY-26-27-Master-Fee-Schedule
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For expedited-path deficiencies: a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies is sent to the applicant for resubmission (SBMC 12.145.060(F)). For the general track, plan-review comments/corrections are transmitted and tracked through the Ventura OPS portal.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect citation, SBMC 12.145.060(F), plus the Apply for Permits page's description of the Ventura OPS submittal/review workflow.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.145.060
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a signed job card serves as the Certificate of Occupancy)
Why the confidence is not higherSBMC 12.115.020, item 10 (amending CBC 111.1): 'A signed City permit job card will serve as the Certificate of Occupancy for residential and residential accessory buildings of 2 units or less' — no separate CO is issued for a solar addition to an existing single-family home.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://sanbuenaventura.municipal.codes/SBMC/12.115.020
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/contractor (obtains SCE's outage-verification/connection approval and submits final inspection clearance; SCE then processes PTO)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own submittal document shows the contractor is responsible for obtaining SCE's approval/outage-verification document before city inspection, consistent with the general California NEM pattern where the installer coordinates with the utility for PTO after a signed permit. No SCE-side document was independently retrieved to confirm PTO-specific process (see Q42/43/48 not_found), so this is a moderate-confidence inference rather than a directly-sourced statement of who files for PTO.
department document (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofventura.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/808/Photovoltaic-Submittal-Requirements-Document-PDF
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Ventura against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Ventura is the authority having jurisdiction 95% confidence
- Holds
- Both (Building and Electrical)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (AB 2188, mandatory expedited residential solar permitting, codified as SBMC Ch. 12.145) and §65850.52 (SB 379, automated-permitting mandate, implemented via the city's Symbium platform); Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act, limits HOA/CC&R restriction, echoed in SBMC 12.145.060(E)). Fire code enforcement is also self-performed by the City ('San Buenaventura Fire Department', SBMC 14.10.020(B)) — not delegated to Ventura County Fire.
- Why not higher
- The City of San Buenaventura (d/b/a 'City of Ventura') is an incorporated city with its own Building and Safety Division inside Community Development; it is NOT delegated to Ventura County. SBMC 12.115.010/12.125.010/14.10.010 each independently adopt the CBC/CEC/CFC 'by reference' as the city's own code, and the city issues both the standard Ventura OPS renewable-energy permit and, for licensed contractors, an SB 379 'instant' Symbium permit itself. Legal name confirmed as 'City of San Buenaventura' throughout the current municipal code and its 2015 solar ordinance; the public-facing brand is 'City of Ventura'.
- Permit required
- Yes98%
- Permit cost
- Residential PV ≤15 kW: $450 flat ($210 plan check + $240 permit). Residential PV >15 kW: $450 for the first 15 kW + $15/kW for each additional kW.92%
- Plan review
- 3 business days for AB 2188-eligible small residential rooftop systems meeting the checklist/standard plan;88%
- Portal
- Ventura OPS (Online Permit Services, on the EnerGov/self-service platform) for standard permits; Symbium for the SB 379 contractor instant-permit path.95%
- Electrical code
- 202385%
- Own placard wording
- No80%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Ventura OPS — 'guaranteed'), or Phone (805-654-7874, next-business-day, not guaranteed)90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 80%
No
Size, colour & material 78%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.