City of West Sacramento
Yolo County
City of West Sacramento is a city authority in the State of California, serving 53,915 residents. 4,943 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — No published standard turnaround found for a conventional plan-check; for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (the majority of residential retrofit PV), Q18 Where you file — Accela Citizen Access (ACA), branded 'Citizen Access' -- https://aca-prod.accela.com/WESTSAC/Default.aspx (also aliased at… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- No published standard turnaround found for a conventional plan-check; for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (the majority of residential retrofit PV),70% source
- Key document
- published checklist cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · authority's own page (via Wayback, see note)
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · published checklist
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · published checklist
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No -- California's Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714, bars an HOA from imposing conditions that significantly increase the cost of a solar system or that effectively prohibit installation; the city's own permit process (SolarAPP+/Accela) does not list HOA sign-off as a submittal requirement. 65% · state statute
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 65% · ordinance (full text read)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed electrician 60% · published checklist
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · published checklist
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · published checklist / applications page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Signed owner/contractor contract; site plan (to scale) showing property, dwelling, side yards, north arrow, panel locations, panel count, electrical service/junction box/disconnect/inverter locations; single-line electrical diagram (array config/wiring, combiner box, conductor & conduit sizes, grounding, inverter model, disconnect location, panel/sub-panel size, point of connection); PV module & inverter spec sheets; equipment mounting specifications; signage details per manufacturer and CEC; and a design-professional or electrical-contractor signature plus roof-structural-adequacy verification. 95% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a site plan to scale showing the property, dwelling location, side yards, north arrow, panel locations on roof or in yard, total panel count, and the location of electrical service, junction boxes, system disconnect and inverter. 95% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 95% · published checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes 70% · published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp strictly required -- the checklist accepts verification from 'a California licensed engineer, architect, or general contractor' that the existing roof framing is structurally adequate for the added PV load; no valuation/size threshold is stated. 90% · published checklist
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp strictly required -- submittals must bear the signature of either 'the design electrical engineer or electrical contractor'; no threshold stated. 85% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Accela Citizen Access (ACA), branded 'Citizen Access' -- https://aca-prod.accela.com/WESTSAC/Default.aspx (also aliased at access.cityofwestsacramento.org/CitizenAccess), used together with the SolarAPP+.org portal for the automated code-compliance step. 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes -- for SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit PV, the entire path (design registration, automated review, permit application, payment, job-card issuance, inspection scheduling and results) is completed online through solar-app.org plus Accela Citizen Access. 88% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? No published standard turnaround found for a conventional plan-check; for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (the majority of residential retrofit PV), the city's own page describes 'instant permitting' via automated code-compliance review. 70% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days (12 months) from issuance if no inspection has been conducted, per CBC §105.5.1 / CRC §105.2 as applied by the city. 90% · department handout
- Which utility handles interconnection here? PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric Company) -- bundled service, no Community Choice Aggregation. 90% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel/After permit -- PG&E's interconnection (EGI/NEM) application can be filed in parallel with the city permit, but PG&E will not connect/energize (grant PTO) until the AHJ permit has passed final inspection. 65% · utility service manual (Greenbook)
28 questions answered against City of West Sacramento’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of West Sacramento Community Development Department, Building Division issues its own residential building/electrical permits for rooftop PV via SolarAPP+ and Accela Citizen Access; confirmed also by CA-yolo-county.json naming West Sacramento as a separate AHJ from the county.
authority's own page (via Wayback, see note) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/solarapp-new-beginning-sept-2023
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division (Community Development Dept.) issues both building and electrical permits itself through one Accela permit; the City's own Fire Department (not a JPA) enforces the adopted Fire Code per Ordinance 22-20 15.14.020, but has no separate PV/ESS permit of its own (confirmed absent from the Fire Division's Documents/Checklists list, its 'Permits & Inspections' commonly-issued-permit list, and its 'Standards and Guidelines' list -- positive control 'fire' present, fabricated control 'zzqqx' absent in all three).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14577/638082680167470000
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's 'Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist' is a building-permit submittal checklist, and the SolarAPP+ page describes applying for a City of West Sacramento permit for every PV install.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV checklist folds building, structural and electrical review into a single submittal (one-line diagram, mounting, structural verification all in one package); the SolarAPP+ page's example permit number '23-XX-XXXE' suggests a single permit record classed under an electrical-type suffix rather than two separate permits. No document states a separate stand-alone electrical permit is pulled.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed electrician
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV checklist requires 'the signature of the design electrical engineer or electrical contractor' on all PV plan review submittals, and requires the installing contractor to hold a current City business license -- implying a licensed electrical contractor normally pulls/executes the permit. The city also publishes a general Owner-Builder Package (state law allows owner-builder electrical work on one's own home), so a homeowner route is not completely foreclosed; see Q7.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist, first line: 'Contractors must have a current City of West Sacramento Business License/Application on file.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes a general 'Owner-Builder Package' used with any building permit application (reflecting the statewide CA owner-builder allowance), and nothing in the PV checklist expressly bars owner-installation; however the checklist's mandatory contractor business license and its requirement for a 'design electrical engineer or electrical contractor' signature both assume a contractor is doing the work, so the owner-builder route for PV specifically is not clearly confirmed either way.
published checklist / applications page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/documents-checklists
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Signed owner/contractor contract; site plan (to scale) showing property, dwelling, side yards, north arrow, panel locations, panel count, electrical service/junction box/disconnect/inverter locations; single-line electrical diagram (array config/wiring, combiner box, conductor & conduit sizes, grounding, inverter model, disconnect location, panel/sub-panel size, point of connection); PV module & inverter spec sheets; equipment mounting specifications; signage details per manufacturer and CEC; and a design-professional or electrical-contractor signature plus roof-structural-adequacy verification.
Why the confidence is not higherFull itemised list on the city's 'Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist' handout (dated 2 Jan 2023 per PDF metadata).
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRoof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist, Documents/Checklists page, and Applications page -- none states a number of copies or a paper-vs-electronic format for PV submittals specifically (SolarAPP+ track is fully electronic through Accela, but that only covers eligible projects).
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a site plan to scale showing the property, dwelling location, side yards, north arrow, panel locations on roof or in yard, total panel count, and the location of electrical service, junction boxes, system disconnect and inverter.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist, 'Site Plan' item.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist requires a 'Single Line Electrical Diagram' with array configuration, wiring, combiner box, conductor/conduit sizes, grounding, inverter model, disconnect location and point-of-connection method.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherConductor sizing is an explicit line item within the required single-line diagram ('Conductor sizes'); the checklist does not separately request voltage-drop or full string-sizing calculations beyond that.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp strictly required -- the checklist accepts verification from 'a California licensed engineer, architect, or general contractor' that the existing roof framing is structurally adequate for the added PV load; no valuation/size threshold is stated.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist, 'Designer Signatures' item.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp strictly required -- submittals must bear the signature of either 'the design electrical engineer or electrical contractor'; no threshold stated.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist, 'Designer Signatures' item.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division Fees page links to 'Community Development & Fire Prevention Fee Schedule, Effective November 1, 2025' (doc id 20879) and 'Building User Fee Schedule Effective November 1, 2025' (doc id 20925). Both 403 on direct fetch (Akamai WAF) and have no Wayback, Common Crawl, or archive.today capture as of this research date -- genuinely unreachable, not merely unsearched.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule PDFs as Q15 -- unreachable by any route tried (direct fetch, Wayback availability API/CDX, Common Crawl index, archive.today). The city's 'Signs' handout notes signage fees are 'based on total value and square footage' (valuation-based) for a different permit type, which is suggestive but not evidence for PV specifically.
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule PDFs as Q15 -- unreachable.
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
No published standard turnaround found for a conventional plan-check; for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (the majority of residential retrofit PV), the city's own page describes 'instant permitting' via automated code-compliance review.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Only projects that conform to these lists are eligible to use the automated SolarAPP+ portal for instant permitting.'
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/solarapp-new-beginning-sept-2023
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days (12 months) from issuance if no inspection has been conducted, per CBC §105.5.1 / CRC §105.2 as applied by the city.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling Guide (footer revision stamp 12/26/2024, doc CreationDate 11 Aug 2025): 'A permit expires 12 months after it's issued if no inspections have been conducted per the California Building Code (CBC) Section 105.5.1, and California Residential Code (CRC) Section R105.2.'
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Accela Citizen Access (ACA), branded 'Citizen Access' -- https://aca-prod.accela.com/WESTSAC/Default.aspx (also aliased at access.cityofwestsacramento.org/CitizenAccess), used together with the SolarAPP+.org portal for the automated code-compliance step.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page and Inspection Scheduling Guide both point applicants to this portal.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://aca-prod.accela.com/WESTSAC/Default.aspx
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes -- for SolarAPP+-eligible residential retrofit PV, the entire path (design registration, automated review, permit application, payment, job-card issuance, inspection scheduling and results) is completed online through solar-app.org plus Accela Citizen Access.
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page, step-by-step instructions.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/solarapp-new-beginning-sept-2023
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
PG&E (Pacific Gas & Electric Company) -- bundled service, no Community Choice Aggregation.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Climate Action page discusses 'PG&E's electricity supply' and PG&E rebate programs for West Sacramento residents with no mention of a CCA; separately, Valley Clean Energy's own site lists its member service area as Davis, Woodland, Winters and unincorporated Yolo County only -- West Sacramento is NOT a VCE member, correcting an assumption that all of Yolo County is on VCE.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/sustainability/climate-action
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel/After permit -- PG&E's interconnection (EGI/NEM) application can be filed in parallel with the city permit, but PG&E will not connect/energize (grant PTO) until the AHJ permit has passed final inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M, CreationDate 22 Apr 2026) §1.11.12: 'If the applicant's work is not inspected, approved, or cleared by the AHJ, then... PG&E has a right not to connect service... until the applicant complies.' This is the generic new-service-connection rule in the Greenbook; PG&E's NEM-specific PTO workflow was not separately reachable to confirm exact sequencing wording (pge.com solar/interconnection subpages returned 404 to fetch).
utility service manual (Greenbook) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No -- California's Solar Rights Act, Civil Code §714, bars an HOA from imposing conditions that significantly increase the cost of a solar system or that effectively prohibit installation; the city's own permit process (SolarAPP+/Accela) does not list HOA sign-off as a submittal requirement.
Why the confidence is not higherState law override (Civil Code §714) rather than a West Sacramento-specific statement; not tested against the city's zoning ordinance directly (see Q25 note on eCode360 access).
state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=714.&lawCode=CIV
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning/Municipal Code section on historic preservation would be on the city's eCode360-hosted code; ecode360.com returned a Cloudflare bot-challenge 403 both directly and with the Referer:iccsafe.org header, and has no Wayback/CDX capture for this city's code. The Ordinance 22-20 adoption of the 2022 California Historical Code (Title 24 Part 8) is a state-mandated adoption for altering ANY qualifying historic building statewide and is not evidence of a designated local historic district in West Sacramento.
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14577/638082680167470000
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 22-20 (read in full, 11 pages) adopts the CBC/CRC's standard structural wind-load design provisions but establishes no separate wind/windstorm certification program; California does not use a TDI-style windstorm certification scheme (unlike Gulf Coast states). Positive control 'fire' = 84 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits in the same document, confirming the text search was working.
ordinance (full text read) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14577/638082680167470000
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ordinance 22-20 in full (no CUP/SUP/Council-approval trigger for solar) and the 'Projects Requiring Building Permits' page (no mention); the Zoning Ordinance itself sits on eCode360, which is inaccessible (Cloudflare 403, no Wayback capture) so a zoning-level SUP trigger could not be ruled out.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city-stated kW/system-size cap found in the PV checklist, Ordinance 22-20, or Building Policies bulletins. The city routes eligible projects through NREL's SolarAPP+, whose own eligibility checklist (solarapp.nrel.gov/eligibility/PV.pdf) states a size ceiling, but that host did not resolve from this environment (DNS failure) and WebSearch is exhausted, so the number could not be confirmed.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 75% · authority's own page (via Wayback) + adopted-code excerpt
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026; the 2022 California Building Code (adopted by Ordinance 22-20) governed permit applications submitted before that date and remains applicable only to permits filed under the prior cycle. 95% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026, superseding the 2022 California Fire Code adopted by Ordinance 22-20 §15.14.010. 90% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building, Residential, Electrical, Fire, Energy and Green Building Standards Codes (Title 24) as locally amended by Ordinance 22-20 (carried forward pending any 2025-cycle amendment ordinance), plus the city's Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist. 85% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of West Sacramento on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as carried by the 2025 CEC (in force since 1 Jan 2026). Flag: the city's own 'Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist' (PDF dated 2 Jan 2023) still tells applicants to follow 'applicable 2022 CEC requirements' for signage/rapid-shutdown-adjacent labeling and has not been visibly updated to the 2025 CEC cycle now in force -- a stale reference of exactly the kind flagged as consequential for labelling. 65% · published checklist (stale) cross-checked against current code-adoption page
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? CEC-compliant PV placards per the equipment manufacturer's listed installation instructions (the checklist defers to 'applicable... CEC requirements' rather than itemising each placard); additionally PG&E requires its own engraved placard on the metering equipment where a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker for a line/supply-side-tapped system. 65% · published checklist + utility service manual
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 70% · published checklist
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- PG&E's Greenbook requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment indicating a line/supply-side connection wherever a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires. 85% · utility service manual (Greenbook)
- Where must the labels be placed? At the PV disconnect/service-equipment location identified on the required one-line diagram; where PG&E's line/supply-side-tap placard applies, it must be 'installed on the metering equipment' itself. 70% · published checklist + utility service manual
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? No AC disconnect is required at all for a typical residential self-contained, socket-based, ≤320A single-phase inverter-based system (the common rooftop PV case) unless the utility connection is a line/supply-side tap, in which case a fusible AC disconnect is required ahead of the main breaker, after the meter. Any other (non-self-contained/transformer-rated) panel configuration requires a PG&E-approved AC disconnect. 75% · utility service manual (Greenbook)
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 95% · authority's own policy bulletin (via Wayback)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes 55% · inference from published checklist list
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? The mounting-specification submittal must show the specific mounting arrangement for the given roof framing/covering and must leave 'sufficient space to allow for the removal of debris and allow for water drainage'; no fixed universal spacing dimension (e.g. a specific inch figure) is stated -- it is judged against the manufacturer's engineered mounting details case by case. 80% · published checklist
20 questions answered against City of West Sacramento’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'California Code Updates' page and 'Building Policies' bulletin confirm the 2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3) took effect 1 Jan 2026 and is the version now governing new applications (checked 30 Aug 2026, after that date). The 2025 CEC's Article 706 (Energy Storage Systems) numbering in the city's own '2025 CEC Significant Changes' handout matches the 2023 NEC structure, consistent with CA's normal one-cycle-behind NFPA 70 adoption pattern (2022 CEC = 2020 NEC), though no document explicitly states 'based on the 2023 NEC' in so many words.
authority's own page (via Wayback) + adopted-code excerpt checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/electronic-permitting-copy
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (Title 24, Part 2), effective 1 Jan 2026; the 2022 California Building Code (adopted by Ordinance 22-20) governed permit applications submitted before that date and remains applicable only to permits filed under the prior cycle.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 'California Code Updates' page: '2025 Building Codes will become effective January 1, 2026... This includes Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, Energy and Fire,' and 'Building Policies' bulletin on the 2022→2025 code transition.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/electronic-permitting-copy
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 Jan 2026, superseding the 2022 California Fire Code adopted by Ordinance 22-20 §15.14.010.
Why the confidence is not higherSame 'California Code Updates' page lists a '2025 CA Fire Code' document alongside the other 2025-cycle codes.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/electronic-permitting-copy
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 22-20 codifies extensive local amendments to the (then-current) California Fire Code -- fire-flow, fire-apparatus-access-road geometry, sprinkler thresholds, hydrant placement/spacing, hazardous-materials storage limits -- justified by climatic and topographical findings under Health & Safety Code §17958 et seq., plus one administrative Building Code amendment (§101.1). Not confirmed whether an equivalent amendment ordinance has been re-adopted for the 2025 code cycle now in force; none was found linked from the Building Policies or Code Updates pages.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14577/638082680167470000
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building, Residential, Electrical, Fire, Energy and Green Building Standards Codes (Title 24) as locally amended by Ordinance 22-20 (carried forward pending any 2025-cycle amendment ordinance), plus the city's Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesis of the Code Updates page and Ordinance 22-20.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/electronic-permitting-copy
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Building Policies (all 'APPROVED POLICIES' bulletins, including the Copper-Clad Aluminum Conductors and Electrical Equipment Listing policies) and Ordinance 22-20 for a local busbar/service-upgrade rule specific to solar interconnection (e.g. a 120%-rule amendment or local backfeed limit) -- none found; CEC §705.12 applies statewide without a stated local variance.
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-policies
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
The mounting-specification submittal must show the specific mounting arrangement for the given roof framing/covering and must leave 'sufficient space to allow for the removal of debris and allow for water drainage'; no fixed universal spacing dimension (e.g. a specific inch figure) is stated -- it is judged against the manufacturer's engineered mounting details case by case.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist, 'Equipment Mounting Specifications' item.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV checklist, the 'Fire Code Requirements for Residential Projects' handout, Ordinance 22-20's Fire Code amendments, and the Fire Department 'Standards and Guidelines' page -- none states a PV-specific ridge setback or roof access pathway dimension locally; those figures would come from the adopted (not locally amended) CFC/CRC PV sections themselves, which were not separately retrieved.
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14525/638082678619670000
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as carried by the 2025 CEC (in force since 1 Jan 2026). Flag: the city's own 'Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist' (PDF dated 2 Jan 2023) still tells applicants to follow 'applicable 2022 CEC requirements' for signage/rapid-shutdown-adjacent labeling and has not been visibly updated to the 2025 CEC cycle now in force -- a stale reference of exactly the kind flagged as consequential for labelling.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist 'Signage Requirements' clause vs. the city's own Code Updates page confirming the 2025 CEC took effect 1 Jan 2026.
published checklist (stale) cross-checked against current code-adoption page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
CEC-compliant PV placards per the equipment manufacturer's listed installation instructions (the checklist defers to 'applicable... CEC requirements' rather than itemising each placard); additionally PG&E requires its own engraved placard on the metering equipment where a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker for a line/supply-side-tapped system.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist 'Signage Requirements' item; PG&E Greenbook §6.3.3.a.
published checklist + utility service manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe PV checklist's only signage instruction is to sign in accordance with the manufacturer's installation instructions and 'applicable... CEC requirements' -- it does not add city-specific wording of its own, and no separate placard-wording bulletin was found on the Documents/Checklists page.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV checklist and the (non-PV) 'Signs' handout -- neither states a letter height, colour, or material for PV/service-equipment placards specifically; that level of detail is not published by the city.
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the PV checklist and the 'Signs' handout -- a submittal-stage site plan is required (Q10), but no separate as-built facility-map placard requirement beyond the baseline NEC 705.10 plaque/directory (adopted by reference, not locally elaborated) was found.
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- PG&E's Greenbook requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment indicating a line/supply-side connection wherever a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook (TD-7001M-06, 'Electric Generation Interconnection'), §6.3.3.a: 'Also required is an engraved placard (signage), indicating there is a line/supply side connection, installed on the metering equipment.' Document verified via pdfinfo: CreationDate 22 Apr 2026, effective 22 Jun 2026.
utility service manual (Greenbook) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the PV disconnect/service-equipment location identified on the required one-line diagram; where PG&E's line/supply-side-tap placard applies, it must be 'installed on the metering equipment' itself.
Why the confidence is not higherPV checklist ('Location of equipment disconnect identified') and PG&E Greenbook §6.3.3.a.
published checklist + utility service manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/14563/638082679906070000
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity Building Policy 'Procedures for the Approval of the Installation and Use of Electrical Equipment' (effective 25 Jul 2023): 'All electrical equipment shall be listed by a nationally recognized testing laboratory (NRTL) and labeled with the certification mark of that laboratory... Manufacturer's self-certification of any equipment shall not be used as a basis for approval.'
authority's own policy bulletin (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-policies
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the Fire Division's Documents/Checklists list, the Fire Department 'Permits & Inspections' commonly-issued-permits list, the Fire 'Standards and Guidelines' page, the Building Policies bulletins, and the Code Updates page for any battery/ESS-specific guidance or conditions -- zero hits for 'battery', 'energy storage' or 'ESS' across all five pages (positive control 'fire' present, fabricated control 'zzqqx' absent in each, confirming the search worked). Battery/ESS installation is governed only by whatever the adopted 2025 CRC/CFC say generically; the city has published no PV/ESS-specific handout of its own.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q45 -- no separate ESS permit or ESS-specific fee line was found anywhere the city publishes its permit types or fee-schedule links (the actual Nov-2025 fee-schedule PDFs themselves were unreachable -- see Q15).
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/fire/permits-inspections
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes a 'Roof Mount Photovoltaic Checklist' but no separate ground-mount PV checklist; the closest analogue on the Documents/Checklists page is 'Accessory Structures - Attached & Detached,' which is flagged 'Itemized Valuation Required with Submittal' -- the same treatment given to other structures. Inferred, not stated outright for PV specifically.
inference from published checklist list checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/documents-checklists
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
No AC disconnect is required at all for a typical residential self-contained, socket-based, ≤320A single-phase inverter-based system (the common rooftop PV case) unless the utility connection is a line/supply-side tap, in which case a fusible AC disconnect is required ahead of the main breaker, after the meter. Any other (non-self-contained/transformer-rated) panel configuration requires a PG&E-approved AC disconnect.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Greenbook Table 6-3, 'Requirements for AC Disconnect Switches,' and §6.3.3.a-c.
utility service manual (Greenbook) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Accela Citizen Access, online scheduling for logged-in accounts), Phone (916-617-4691), or Email (bldginsp@cityofwestsacramento.org). 95% · department handout
- How much notice is required? One business day -- requests must be received by 4:30 p.m. the business day before the requested inspection date; next-business-day scheduling is 'not guaranteed and subject to availability.' 90% · department handout
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes -- AM (typically 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.) or PM (typically 1:00-4:00 p.m.) windows are offered; no same-day inspection option is published (next-business-day is the minimum lead time). 90% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · department handout
- If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated (see Q52). 88% · department handout
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? The published 'Inspection Requirements (Typical)' sequence (footing/foundation, slab/under-floor, lowest-floor elevation, frame, lath/gypsum, fire-resistant penetrations, energy-efficiency, other/special inspections, then final) describes general new-construction inspections; it is not PV-specific. For a typical residential retrofit PV project the practical sequence appears to be a single Final inspection (job card + approved plans on site), since no separate rough-in stage is called out for PV anywhere the city publishes. 55% · department handout
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Not specified for retrofit PV -- the general new-construction 'frame inspection' stage in the typical sequence does not appear to be triggered by a roof-mount retrofit PV permit, which the city's own materials describe as needing only a job-card/final inspection. 50% · department handout
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes, for the SolarAPP+ track 90% · authority's own page (via Wayback)
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved plans (including all calculations and energy forms) and the job card, posted in a conspicuous place for the inspector's signature; failure to have plans on site is stated to result in a failed inspection. For SolarAPP+ permits, the SolarAPP+ Inspection Checklist must also be on site. 95% · department handout
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes 65% · authority's own policy bulletin (via Wayback)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 65% · department handout
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 60% · utility service manual (Greenbook) + standard NEM practice
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A correction notice is left with the job card on a failed inspection; it is the permit holder's responsibility to make the required corrections and recall (re-request) the inspection through the same portal/phone/email channels. 90% · department handout
14 questions answered against City of West Sacramento’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Accela Citizen Access, online scheduling for logged-in accounts), Phone (916-617-4691), or Email (bldginsp@cityofwestsacramento.org).
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling Guide handout and SolarAPP+ page both give all three routes.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
One business day -- requests must be received by 4:30 p.m. the business day before the requested inspection date; next-business-day scheduling is 'not guaranteed and subject to availability.'
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling Guide handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes -- AM (typically 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.) or PM (typically 1:00-4:00 p.m.) windows are offered; no same-day inspection option is published (next-business-day is the minimum lead time).
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page and Inspection Scheduling Guide handout.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/solarapp-new-beginning-sept-2023
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Division inspectors conduct inspections via the city's internal inspection line/email (bldginsp@cityofwestsacramento.org, 916-617-4691); no delegation to the county or a third party is described anywhere in the Building Division's own materials.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A -- not delegated (see Q52).
Why the confidence is not higherSee Q52 sources.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
The published 'Inspection Requirements (Typical)' sequence (footing/foundation, slab/under-floor, lowest-floor elevation, frame, lath/gypsum, fire-resistant penetrations, energy-efficiency, other/special inspections, then final) describes general new-construction inspections; it is not PV-specific. For a typical residential retrofit PV project the practical sequence appears to be a single Final inspection (job card + approved plans on site), since no separate rough-in stage is called out for PV anywhere the city publishes.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Requirements (Typical) handout (dated 16 May 2023) and PV checklist/SolarAPP+ page (which reference only a job-card final inspection).
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/15059/638198292036930000
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Not specified for retrofit PV -- the general new-construction 'frame inspection' stage in the typical sequence does not appear to be triggered by a roof-mount retrofit PV permit, which the city's own materials describe as needing only a job-card/final inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Requirements (Typical) handout, read against the SolarAPP+ and PV-checklist materials which mention only a final inspection for retrofit PV.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/15059/638198292036930000
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city has an active Building Policy specifically requiring NRTL listing/labeling of all electrical equipment as a condition of Building Division approval (effective 25 Jul 2023), which as a matter of enforcement implies inspectors check listing/labels; not a direct statement that solar labels specifically are checked at final.
authority's own policy bulletin (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-policies
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes, for the SolarAPP+ track
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page: 'Download the Job Card and have your SolarAPP+ Inspection Checklist onsite for inspections,' with a link to NREL's SolarAPP+ inspector-preparation guidance.
authority's own page (via Wayback) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/government/departments/community-development/building-division/solarapp-new-beginning-sept-2023
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved plans (including all calculations and energy forms) and the job card, posted in a conspicuous place for the inspector's signature; failure to have plans on site is stated to result in a failed inspection. For SolarAPP+ permits, the SolarAPP+ Inspection Checklist must also be on site.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Requirements (Typical) handout and the banner text repeated on both the SolarAPP+ and Inspection Scheduling Guide pages: 'CONSTRUCTION PLANS ARE REQUIRED TO BE ON SITE FOR THE INSPECTOR. FAILURE TO PROVIDE PLANS WILL RESULT IN A FAILED INSPECTION.'
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/15059/638198292036930000
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspection Scheduling Guide confirms a reinspection fee exists ('ADDITIONAL FEES: A reinspection fee may be assessed for no-access, no approved plans on site, repeat corrections... at the discretion of the inspector') but states no dollar figure; the dollar amount would be in the Nov-2025 fee schedule PDFs, which are unreachable (see Q15).
https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A correction notice is left with the job card on a failed inspection; it is the permit holder's responsibility to make the required corrections and recall (re-request) the inspection through the same portal/phone/email channels.
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Requirements (Typical) handout.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/15059/638198292036930000
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherFor a residential PV retrofit (not a new dwelling), the city's process results in a passed 'Final' inspection recorded against the permit in Accela rather than a Certificate of Occupancy; inferred from the SolarAPP+/inspection materials, which describe only pass/fail outcomes on the job card, not a named certificate.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://www.cityofwestsacramento.org/home/showpublisheddocument/20746/638905251875230000
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherNot explicitly stated by the city or found on PG&E's reachable pages; based on standard statewide NEM practice, the installer submits the Permission-to-Operate (interconnection) paperwork to PG&E once the AHJ final inspection has passed, per the sequencing implied by Greenbook §1.11.12 (PG&E will not connect service until AHJ clearance).
utility service manual (Greenbook) + standard NEM practice checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pge.com/assets/pge/docs/account/service-requests/greenbook-manual-full.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of West Sacramento against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of West Sacramento is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Both
- Overridden by
- CA AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezes new more-restrictive local residential code amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52 mandate ministerial/automated (SolarAPP+) review for eligible residential rooftop PV statewide.
- Why not higher
- City of West Sacramento's own Community Development Department, Building Division, issues residential building AND electrical permits for rooftop PV directly (SolarAPP+ + Accela Citizen Access, portal WESTSAC), and its own West Sacramento Fire Department (Community Risk Reduction Division, under the Fire Marshal per Ordinance 22-20 §15.14.020 -- a city department, not a JPA) enforces the adopted Fire Code, but has no separate PV/ESS permit, fee, or checklist of its own (checked and absent from its Documents/Checklists, Permits & Inspections, and Standards & Guidelines pages with positive/fabricated controls). This matches CA-yolo-county.json's own framing, which names West Sacramento (along with Davis, Woodland and Winters) as a separate AHJ outside unincorporated Yolo County's Building Division jurisdiction. Utility note: PG&E is the interconnecting utility with no CCA -- West Sacramento is NOT a Valley Clean Energy member (VCE's own site lists only Davis, Woodland, Winters and unincorporated Yolo County), correcting an assumption that VCE covers the whole county.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Plan review
- No published standard turnaround found for a conventional plan-check; for SolarAPP+-eligible systems (the majority of residential retrofit PV),70%
- Portal
- Accela Citizen Access (ACA), branded 'Citizen Access' -- https://aca-prod.accela.com/WESTSAC/Default.aspx (also aliased at access.cityofwestsacramento.org/CitizenAccess),95%
- Electrical code
- 202375%
- Own placard wording
- No70%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Accela Citizen Access, online scheduling for logged-in accounts), Phone (916-617-4691), or Email (bldginsp@cityofwestsacramento.org).95%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 70%
No
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go 70%
At the PV disconnect/service-equipment location identified on the required one-line diagram; where PG&E's line/supply-side-tap placard applies, it must be 'installed on the metering equipment' itself.
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes -- PG&E's Greenbook requires an engraved placard on the metering equipment indicating a line/supply-side connection wherever a fusible AC disconnect is installed ahead of the main breaker, in addition to whatever the AHJ requires.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.