City of Westmorland
Imperial County
City of Westmorland is a city authority in the State of California, serving 2,014 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — None published -- no dedicated online permit portal was found anywhere on the city's site after a full department-by-department crawl. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes80% source
- Key document
- permit application form + cross-referenced utility checklist cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 88% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 65% · permit application form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 80% · cross-referenced from utility interconnection checklist + city permit application form
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 82% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 60% · zoning ordinance amendments (control-checked)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 60% · business license application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? The only document the city publishes is the one-page 'Building Permit Application' itself (project address, owner/contractor info, workers' compensation declaration, valuation, and a fee worksheet broken out by Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Building line items). No solar-specific submittal checklist, site-plan requirement, or one-line-diagram requirement is published by the city. IID's own interconnection checklist independently confirms the city does require a stamped one-line diagram and site plan as part of its process (both diagrams must show 'Stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)'), so a fuller submittal package is expected in practice even though the city has not published its own checklist naming it. 58% · permit application form + cross-referenced utility checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan is implicitly required (per IID's cross-referencing of an AHJ-stamped site plan), and per IID's own Site-Plan Check-Sheet -- the document IID expects an applicant to have already had stamped by the city -- it must show system summary/DC and CEC-AC size, drawing number, version/date, customer and contractor information, and the electrical relationship of main/sub-panels, inverter(s), AC disconnect, and the utility meter and transformer. The city itself publishes no independent site-plan requirement or example. 55% · utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced, not a city document)
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 62% · utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not stated by the city itself; IID's own One-line Diagram and Site-Plan Check-Sheets both list 'Electrical PE stamp (required if ≥ 10 kW)' as a requirement for the diagrams submitted with an interconnection application. 55% · utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? None published -- no dedicated online permit portal was found anywhere on the city's site after a full department-by-department crawl. The Planning, Building & Engineering page links only the paper 'Building Permit Application' PDF; the site's only online-payment integration (InvoiceCloud, 'Pay Online') is for water/utility billing, not permitting. 68% · department page (full-site crawl)
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 68% · department page (full-site crawl)
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 78% · permit application form
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days 90% · permit application form
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Imperial Irrigation District (IID) 90% · utility's own website + city department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit (with a further, final utility-side step before PTO) 78% · utility DG interconnection page
28 questions answered against City of Westmorland’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Planning, Building & Engineering Department page states it reviews and approves project applications and links the city's own Building Permit Application form; no county or other agency claims jurisdiction over the incorporated city (Imperial County's own rooftop-solar program is explicitly scoped to its unincorporated area only).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's single 'Building Permit Application' form issued by its own Planning, Building & Engineering Department covers building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permits together, with no reference anywhere on the site to a contracted plan-check/inspection firm or to Imperial County performing the work. Confidence is capped in the 60s because the department page names no staff at all (no Building Official, plan checker, or inspector), unlike every other city department, so in-house performance could not be independently corroborated the way it could for e.g. Public Works (named Director) or Fire (named Chief).
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes a general 'Building Permit Application' covering building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing work, and IID's own interconnection checklist independently requires the applicant's one-line and site-plan diagrams to be 'Stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)' before IID will process a residential interconnection application -- corroborating from the utility side that the city does operate a permit-approval step for residential PV, even though the city has published no solar-specific ordinance or checklist of its own.
cross-referenced from utility interconnection checklist + city permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7262/635648001335730000
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's only published permit document is a single one-page 'Building Permit Application' with separate fee line-items for Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing permits under the same building-permit number -- there is no separate stand-alone electrical-permit application published.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Application form and full site crawl (no muni code accessible on any codifier -- see notes at q29-32) for any statement restricting who may pull the electrical permit; only a generic 'Prime Contractor / State License #' field exists, which does not exclude a homeowner
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Business License Application (administered out of the Utility Department) has a dedicated 'Subcontractors/Other business not located in Westmorland' section requiring a business license ($60/yr) for any outside contractor doing work in the city, which would include an out-of-area solar installer. Confidence is capped at 60 because the document does not explicitly state that this license is a precondition for building-permit issuance.
business license application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Business-License-2023.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Application form and Planning, Building & Engineering department page for any statement on owner-builder/self-install eligibility
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
The only document the city publishes is the one-page 'Building Permit Application' itself (project address, owner/contractor info, workers' compensation declaration, valuation, and a fee worksheet broken out by Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Building line items). No solar-specific submittal checklist, site-plan requirement, or one-line-diagram requirement is published by the city. IID's own interconnection checklist independently confirms the city does require a stamped one-line diagram and site plan as part of its process (both diagrams must show 'Stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)'), so a fuller submittal package is expected in practice even though the city has not published its own checklist naming it.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own published form is the only city-side checklist found after a full crawl of the city's site; the one-line/site-plan requirement is corroborated only indirectly, via the utility's own interconnection checklist rather than a city document.
permit application form + cross-referenced utility checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Application form and department page for a stated number of copies or submittal format (paper vs. digital vs. how many sets)
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan is implicitly required (per IID's cross-referencing of an AHJ-stamped site plan), and per IID's own Site-Plan Check-Sheet -- the document IID expects an applicant to have already had stamped by the city -- it must show system summary/DC and CEC-AC size, drawing number, version/date, customer and contractor information, and the electrical relationship of main/sub-panels, inverter(s), AC disconnect, and the utility meter and transformer. The city itself publishes no independent site-plan requirement or example.
Why the confidence is not higherNo city-published site-plan requirement exists; this answer is built entirely from the utility's cross-referencing requirement that the site plan already carry the city's stamp, and from what that same utility document requires the site plan to contain.
utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced, not a city document) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7263/635648001335730000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own interconnection package checklist lists a one-line diagram as a required document that must carry 'Stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)', which indicates the city's own permit process requires one, even though the city has not published an independent statement of this requirement.
utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/17021/636625013852000000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedIID's One-line Diagram and Site-Plan Check-Sheets (which require ampacity, wire size and AIC rating be SHOWN on the diagram) and the city's own permit application, for a separately required conductor/string calculation submittal distinct from the diagram itself
https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7262/635648001335730000
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Application form, IID's interconnection checklists (which give only an electrical PE-stamp threshold, q14) and the inaccessible city ordinance library, for a structural PE-stamp threshold
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Not stated by the city itself; IID's own One-line Diagram and Site-Plan Check-Sheets both list 'Electrical PE stamp (required if ≥ 10 kW)' as a requirement for the diagrams submitted with an interconnection application.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the utility's stated threshold on its own interconnection-package checklist, not a confirmed independent city ordinance requirement; no Westmorland ordinance or checklist addressing an electrical PE-stamp threshold was found.
utility interconnection checklist (cross-referenced) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7262/635648001335730000
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull crawl of every city department/finance/budget page (City Hall, City Budget & Audits, FY2025-26 and FY2026-27 adopted budgets, Development Impact Fee Ordinance 09-01) plus a Wayback Machine CDX full-URL-history search of the entire cityofwestmorland.net domain for 'fee', 'schedule', 'master' and 'valuation' -- no building/electrical/solar permit fee schedule exists anywhere; the permit application form itself has blank dollar-amount fields filled in per job with no published rate table
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame exhaustive fee-schedule search as q15 -- no published fee-calculation method (flat/valuation/per-kW/tiered) exists anywhere on the site
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Building Permit Application' form lists 'PLANCHECK FEE' as its own line item, separate from 'BUILDING PERMIT', 'SEISMIC FEE', and the trade-specific permit totals.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning, Building & Engineering department page and full site crawl for a stated plan-review turnaround time
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days
Why the confidence is not higherPrinted verbatim on the city's own Building Permit Application form: 'NOTICE: PERMIT BECOMES VOID IF WORK NOT COMMENCED WITHIN 180 DAYS OF ISSUANCE.'
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
None published -- no dedicated online permit portal was found anywhere on the city's site after a full department-by-department crawl. The Planning, Building & Engineering page links only the paper 'Building Permit Application' PDF; the site's only online-payment integration (InvoiceCloud, 'Pay Online') is for water/utility billing, not permitting.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed by fetching every department page under the city's own navigation menu and finding no permit-portal link anywhere; the only permit-related document is the static PDF application form.
department page (full-site crawl) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo online application system was found anywhere on the city's site; the only application document is a paper/PDF form intended to be filled out and (per its header) submitted at 355 South Center Street or by phone/email to the department.
department page (full-site crawl) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Imperial Irrigation District (IID)
Why the confidence is not higherIID is the public power utility serving the entire Imperial Valley, including all of its incorporated cities; the city's own Public Works page confirms IID as the entity that delivers the city's Colorado River water via the All American and Westmorland canals, and IID's own Solar FAQ page describes its rooftop-solar customer base as spanning 'the Coachella and Imperial Valleys' generally. No investor-owned utility (PG&E/SCE/SDG&E) or separate municipal electric utility serves this part of Imperial County. This is NOT a PowerToChoose-derived answer -- it is drawn directly from IID's own site plus the city's own Public Works page.
utility's own website + city department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit (with a further, final utility-side step before PTO)
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own interconnection checklists require the applicant's one-line diagram and site plan to already be 'Stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)' before IID will process the interconnection application, and IID's Distributed Generation Interconnection page separately instructs that after the system is installed the applicant must submit a 'Building Permit Sign-Off' to IID before net billing/PTO proceeds. So city permit approval precedes the IID application, and the city's final inspection sign-off precedes IID's grant of permission to operate.
utility DG interconnection page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/interconnection
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherRan a positive control ('setback', 15 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) against the city's Zoning Ordinance Amendments (Ord. 13-01, 2013, 42pp, OCR/text-extracted) and separately against its most recent zoning-amendment hearing packet (Jan 2025, 59pp; positive control 'electrical' 1 hit, fabricated 0 hits) -- neither contains the word 'solar' or 'photovoltaic' anywhere, so no solar-specific HOA/architectural-review gate exists in either document. Confidence is not higher because these are amendment ordinances, not a complete consolidated zoning code, so a base-code provision elsewhere cannot be ruled out.
zoning ordinance amendments (control-checked) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Ordinance_13_01_Zoning_Ordinance_Amendments.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning Ordinance Amendments (Ord. 13-01, 2013) and the Jan 2025 zoning-amendment hearing packet -- both control-checked (positive controls 'setback'/'electrical' hit, fabricated 'zzqqx' did not) with zero mentions of a historic district or historic-designation review chapter; neither document is a complete consolidated zoning code, so a base-code historic overlay elsewhere cannot be ruled out
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two zoning documents as q25, control-checked, for a wind/windstorm certification requirement -- none found, but neither document is the complete base zoning or building code
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two zoning documents as q25/26, control-checked, for any Specific Use Permit or Council-approval trigger for residential solar -- none found; full municipal code is not accessible online (see q29-32) to confirm this holds building-code-wide
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame two zoning documents plus IID's interconnection rules (which set only a utility-side 20 kVA single-phase shared-transformer cap and a 'no more than 100% of prior 12-month usage' guidance in its FAQ -- both utility, not AHJ, constraints) for any city-imposed residential generation size cap -- none found
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 5 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? The city itself specifies no placards (no ordinance or checklist found). IID's Rule 21 interconnection standard requires the visible AC/utility disconnect to carry 'markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions'; for battery/ESS installations it separately requires labeling on the exterior of all panels and on the breaker in the main panel stating that DG/ESS are connected, and placards/directories at all disconnect locations where the ESS disconnect is not within sight of the PV AC/DC disconnects. 78% · utility interconnection rules
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Partially 70% · utility interconnection rules
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No specific letter height, color or material is mandated for the standard PV AC disconnect marking. For ESS disconnect labels, IID states only a preference, not a hard requirement: 'It is preferred that these labels be engraved so that they would still be readable if painted over.' 65% · utility interconnection rules
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? IID's own Site-Plan Check-Sheet functions as the facility-map requirement for interconnection: it must show a system summary (DC size, CEC-AC size), drawing number, version/date, customer and contractor information, be stamped with local AHJ approval, and show the electrical relationship of the main/sub-panels, inverter(s), AC disconnect, solar panel array, IID meter and IID transformer, with the Rule 21/NEM note that the AC Safety Disconnect be shown 'within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter.' 76% · utility interconnection checklist
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes 85% · utility interconnection rules
- Where must the labels be placed? Per IID's Rule 21: the visible/manual AC disconnect must be located near the Point of Interconnection, within 15 feet of and within sight of the main panel (confirmed independently by the Site-Plan Check-Sheet's 'within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter'). For ESS: labels go on the exterior of all panels and the breaker in the main panel; if the ESS disconnect is not within sight of the PV AC/DC disconnects, placards/directories must be posted at all disconnect locations; if the ESS/critical-load panel is in a garage out of sight of the main service panel, a second labeled disconnect must be placed outside, next to the main service panel. 85% · utility interconnection rules
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 15 feet of the service meter/main panel and within plain sight of the meter 88% · utility DG interconnection checklist + Rule 21 rules
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 78% · utility interconnection checklist
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted for interconnection subject to IID's own Microgrid/ESS interconnection guidelines: a Smart Contactor between the main panel and Critical Load Panel to isolate DG/ESS during a utility outage; disconnecting means and overcurrent protection at the energy-storage-device end of the circuit; a second disconnect within sight of, or within 15 feet of (at IID's discretion), the main panel; if the ESS/Critical Load Panel sits in a garage out of sight of the main panel, a second labeled disconnect must be placed outside next to the main service panel; and exterior/breaker labeling identifying DG/ESS connections. No independent city fire-code or building-code condition on batteries could be found (no municipal code is accessible online for Westmorland). 68% · utility interconnection rules
20 questions answered against City of Westmorland’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo municipal code for Westmorland is hosted on any major codifier: confirmed absent from Municode's full CA client list (237 entries, no 'Westmorland'), eCode360/General Code's own resolver returned the literal message 'Could not find westmorland', codepublishing.com 404s the jurisdiction, and amlegal.com blocked every request behind an unresolved Cloudflare challenge. The city's own 'Resolution(s) and Ordinance(s)' page lists Ordinance 2026-01 and Ordinance 2025-02 by name and date but every download link on that page is a broken PHP template producing a literal 'Warning: Undefined variable $document' string instead of a URL -- a genuine site defect, not a retrieval failure on this end -- so the adopting ordinance's text (and therefore the NEC edition it adopts) could not be read
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absent-municipal-code and broken-ordinance-download situation as q29
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absent-municipal-code and broken-ordinance-download situation as q29; the Fire Department's own page publishes only a volunteer-application form and contact information, no code-adoption reference
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/fire-department/
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absent-municipal-code and broken-ordinance-download situation as q29 -- cannot confirm or rule out local amendments without the ordinance text
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInaccessible municipal code (q29-32); IID's Rule 21 cites CEC/NEC Articles 690/705/706/708/710, IEEE 1547-2018 and UL 1741 as ITS OWN interconnection standard, but that is the utility's judging standard, not confirmed to be the AHJ's inspection standard
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInaccessible municipal code (q29-32) and IID's interconnection documents for a city-specific busbar/service-upgrade rule -- none found in either
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Permit Application and full site crawl for a mounting/attachment-spacing specification -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Fire Department page and full site crawl for a ridge-setback/access-pathway rule -- none published. (Imperial County's own unincorporated-area rooftop solar page cites CA Fire Code Section 605.11-605.11.2 for clearance, but that is the county's rule for its unincorporated territory only and does not apply to the incorporated City of Westmorland.)
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/fire-department/
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInaccessible municipal code (q29-32) means the adopted NEC edition (q29) itself could not be confirmed, so which rapid-shutdown standard (690.12 to which edition) applies to Westmorland specifically could not be established from any city document
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/resolutions-and-ordinances/
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
The city itself specifies no placards (no ordinance or checklist found). IID's Rule 21 interconnection standard requires the visible AC/utility disconnect to carry 'markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions'; for battery/ESS installations it separately requires labeling on the exterior of all panels and on the breaker in the main panel stating that DG/ESS are connected, and placards/directories at all disconnect locations where the ESS disconnect is not within sight of the PV AC/DC disconnects.
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from IID's own 'Rules for Interconnection of Distributed Generation Facilities' (effective March 7, 2023), which the question's own source list ('Ordinance / utility spec') treats as an acceptable primary source; no equivalent city-side placard requirement could be found.
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Partially
Why the confidence is not higherIID's Rule 21 does not dictate exact wording for the standard PV AC disconnect beyond requiring the marking to 'clearly indicate open and closed positions,' but for ESS it does specify exact label content -- disconnects must be labeled '1 of 2' and '2 of 2' (and so on), and panels/breakers must be labeled to the effect that 'DG and ESS are connected to them.' No city ordinance wording requirement was found.
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No specific letter height, color or material is mandated for the standard PV AC disconnect marking. For ESS disconnect labels, IID states only a preference, not a hard requirement: 'It is preferred that these labels be engraved so that they would still be readable if painted over.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect reading of IID's Rule 21 / Microgrid-ESS interconnection appendix; no city-side specification exists to check against.
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
IID's own Site-Plan Check-Sheet functions as the facility-map requirement for interconnection: it must show a system summary (DC size, CEC-AC size), drawing number, version/date, customer and contractor information, be stamped with local AHJ approval, and show the electrical relationship of the main/sub-panels, inverter(s), AC disconnect, solar panel array, IID meter and IID transformer, with the Rule 21/NEM note that the AC Safety Disconnect be shown 'within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter.'
Why the confidence is not higherThis is IID's document, describing what an already-AHJ-approved site plan must contain for the utility's own purposes; no independently city-published facility-map requirement was found.
utility interconnection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7263/635648001335730000
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherIID's Rule 21 interconnection standard imposes a full set of disconnect-marking and ESS-labeling requirements (see qq.38-40, 43) that go well beyond anything found in a Westmorland city document (the city publishes no placard specification of its own at all).
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Per IID's Rule 21: the visible/manual AC disconnect must be located near the Point of Interconnection, within 15 feet of and within sight of the main panel (confirmed independently by the Site-Plan Check-Sheet's 'within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter'). For ESS: labels go on the exterior of all panels and the breaker in the main panel; if the ESS disconnect is not within sight of the PV AC/DC disconnects, placards/directories must be posted at all disconnect locations; if the ESS/critical-load panel is in a garage out of sight of the main service panel, a second labeled disconnect must be placed outside, next to the main service panel.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted/paraphrased from IID's own current (eff. 3/7/2023) Rules for Interconnection, Section D.1.f and the Microgrid/ESS appendix, corroborated by the separate Site-Plan Check-Sheet.
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own Application Package Check-Sheet requires the applicant to verify that solar panels and inverters are 'CEC approved' per www.gosolarcalifornia.org (the California Energy Commission's approved-equipment list) before submittal. No independent city ordinance was found, but CEC listing is also a general California statewide requirement for any grid-tied system, not unique to IID.
utility interconnection checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/17021/636625013852000000
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted for interconnection subject to IID's own Microgrid/ESS interconnection guidelines: a Smart Contactor between the main panel and Critical Load Panel to isolate DG/ESS during a utility outage; disconnecting means and overcurrent protection at the energy-storage-device end of the circuit; a second disconnect within sight of, or within 15 feet of (at IID's discretion), the main panel; if the ESS/Critical Load Panel sits in a garage out of sight of the main panel, a second labeled disconnect must be placed outside next to the main service panel; and exterior/breaker labeling identifying DG/ESS connections. No independent city fire-code or building-code condition on batteries could be found (no municipal code is accessible online for Westmorland).
Why the confidence is not higherThese are the utility's own interconnection-side conditions (IID Rules for Interconnection, Microgrid/ESS appendix, eff. 3/7/2023); they are not confirmed to be, and are distinct from, any AHJ fire-code condition, which could not be located.
utility interconnection rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/6309/638140618150200000
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInaccessible municipal code (q29-32) for a separate city-issued ESS permit/inspection requirement; IID does charge its own $255 'solar inspection fee' per interconnection application (effective 5/1/2025) but that is a utility fee for IID's own interconnection review, not a city building-department ESS permit
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning Ordinance Amendments (Ord. 13-01) and Jan 2025 zoning-amendment packet, control-checked, for treatment of ground-mounted solar as an accessory structure -- no mention of solar of any kind in either document
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within 15 feet of the service meter/main panel and within plain sight of the meter
Why the confidence is not higherIID's Site-Plan Check-Sheet states the AC Safety Disconnect must 'meet Rule 21 & NEM Requirements, (including: it is within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter)', and IID's Rules for Interconnection D.1.f independently requires the visible disconnect be located 'near the Point of Interconnection within 15 feet ... and within sight of the main panel.'
utility DG interconnection checklist + Rule 21 rules checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/home/showpublisheddocument/7263/635648001335730000
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Westmorland on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 68% · department page (full-site crawl)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 80% · utility FAQ page
14 questions answered against City of Westmorland’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning, Building & Engineering department page and full site crawl for a stated inspection-booking method -- only a generic department phone (760-344-3411) and email are published, with no explicit statement that this line is used for inspection requests
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame department page and full site crawl for a stated inspection-notice period -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame department page and full site crawl for same-day/AM-PM inspection window language -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and full site crawl for a statement on who performs the final solar inspection; the absence of any named Building Official, plan checker or inspector anywhere on the city's site (unlike every other department) means self-performance could not be confirmed and delegation could not be ruled out either
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q52 -- no delegation is confirmed, so there is no named delegate to report; not established either way
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and inaccessible municipal code (q29-32) for a stated inspection sequence -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and inaccessible municipal code for a rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and full site crawl for an inspector-facing statement on verifying labels/listings at inspection -- none published (no inspection checklist exists at all, per q57)
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherA full crawl of the city's Planning, Building & Engineering page and every linked document found only the one-page Building Permit Application; no inspection checklist of any kind is published on the city's site.
department page (full-site crawl) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and full site crawl for a stated list of documents required on-site at inspection -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame exhaustive fee-schedule search as q15/q16 (full department/budget crawl plus Wayback CDX domain-wide search for 'fee') -- no re-inspection fee line exists anywhere
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Building_Permit_Application.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page and inaccessible municipal code for a stated corrections process -- none published
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDepartment page, permit application form and inaccessible municipal code for the term used on a passed final inspection (no 'CO'/'Final'/'Green tag'/'Letter' terminology found anywhere on the city's site)
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherIID's own Solar FAQ states outright that 'you are ultimately responsible to obtain the proper building permit from your local jurisdiction (city/county) and to submit the required interconnection application to IID,' and its Distributed Generation Interconnection page instructs that after installation the applicant/installer submits a 'Building Permit Sign-Off' directly to IID via PowerClerk -- the city takes no active role in notifying IID.
utility FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.iid.com/power/rooftop-solar/solar-faqs
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Westmorland against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Westmorland is the authority having jurisdiction 78% confidence
- Holds
- Building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing permitting for the incorporated city, all via a single combined 'Building Permit Application' issued by the city's own Planning, Building & Engineering Department. No named Building Official, Building Inspector or Plan Checker appears anywhere on the city's site (contrast: City Hall, Public Works and the Fire Department each name a specific person) -- so whether the day-to-day plan-check/inspection work is genuinely in-house or quietly contracted out could not be confirmed either way from public sources.
- Overridden by
- Grid interconnection and permission-to-operate sit entirely with Imperial Irrigation District (IID), a separate public utility, not the city -- IID's own Rule 21 interconnection process requires the applicant's diagrams to already be 'stamped with local permit jurisdiction approval (AHJ)' before IID will act, and requires the city's Building Permit Sign-off be submitted to IID after installation before net billing/PTO is granted.
- Why not higher
- The city's own Planning, Building & Engineering Department page (its only building-related page) states the department 'reviews project applications, processing entitlements, and approvals' and links a city-issued 'Building Permit Application' covering building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing on one form at the city's own address (355 South Center Street). Imperial County's own Rooftop Solar page (icpds.com/building/rooftop-solar) explicitly scopes its $500 fee and process to 'County of Imperial (unincorporated)' only and does not list Westmorland among any contract-city roster, which rules out the county as a competing or delegated AHJ for this incorporated city. Confidence is not higher because no named Building Official/plan-checker/inspector could be found anywhere on the city's own site to confirm the work is performed in-house rather than by an unnamed contractor.
https://www.cityofwestmorland.net/departments/planning-building-engineering/
- Permit required
- Yes80%
- Portal
- None published -- no dedicated online permit portal was found anywhere on the city's site after a full department-by-department crawl.68%
- Own placard wording
- Partially70%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 70%
Partially
Size, colour & material 65%
No specific letter height, color or material is mandated for the standard PV AC disconnect marking. For ESS disconnect labels, IID states only a preference, not a hard requirement: 'It is preferred that these labels be engraved so that they would still be readable if painted over.'
Where they go 85%
Per IID's Rule 21: the visible/manual AC disconnect must be located near the Point of Interconnection, within 15 feet of and within sight of the main panel (confirmed independently by the Site-Plan Check-Sheet's 'within 15' of service meter panel and within plain site of meter'). For ESS: labels go on the exterior of all panels and the breaker in the main panel; if the ESS disconnect is not within sight of the PV AC/DC disconnects, placards/directories must be posted at all disconnect locations; if the ESS/critical-load panel is in a garage out of sight of the main service panel, a second labeled disconnect must be placed outside, next to the main service panel.
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.