City of Williams
Colusa County
City of Williams is a city authority in the State of California, serving 5,538 residents. 667 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Where you file — iWorQ ('Building Application' / permit portal), hosted at williamscali.portal.iworq.net Q20
- Permit required
- Yes78% source
- Key document
- codified zoning ordinance (inference from design-review exemption) cited by 4 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page + codified ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 85% · codified ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 78% · codified ordinance (inference)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (not for standard single-family/duplex rooftop PV) 68% · codified zoning ordinance (inference from design-review exemption)
- Is there a historic-district review? No 78% · codified ordinance (control-checked absence)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 78% · codified zoning ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No system-size cap on residential generation was found. 62% · codified ordinance (control-checked absence)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 55% · codified ordinance (inference from absence)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · codified ordinance + department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · codified ordinance (inference from absence)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
Nothing recorded for City of Williams on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? iWorQ ('Building Application' / permit portal), hosted at williamscali.portal.iworq.net 92% · department page + portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Likely yes for at least some permit types (the portal exposes direct permit-type application URLs, e.g. williamscali.portal.iworq.net/WILLIAMSCA/new-permit/600/7133, linked from the Forms & Permits page), but this could not be confirmed for Williams specifically: the portal returned HTTP 403 to both a direct curl fetch and the WebFetch tool in this run. 50% · portal (access blocked)
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not stated locally; likely 180 days by default of the adopted 2025 CBC/CRC's standard permit-expiration provision (Section 105.5), since Title 15 contains no local amendment to that section. 45% · codified ordinance (inferred)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 72% · department page + elimination/cross-file corroboration
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel -- utility interconnection review can proceed alongside city permitting, but Permission to Operate (PTO) specifically is gated on the city's final electrical inspection clearance. 78% · utility tariff (PG&E Electric Rule 21)
28 questions answered against City of Williams’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Williams is an incorporated city with its own in-house Building Division (Municipal Code Title 15, Ch. 15.04/15.06/15.12 adopt the CBC/CRC/CEC by reference; Building page names in-house contact stapia@cityofwilliams.org on the city domain). Colusa County's own codified ordinance (GCC §5-3) independently confirms the county's building chapter applies only to unincorporated territory, i.e. NOT to the City of Williams.
department page + codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/index.php
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding and Electrical permits are both administered in-house by the city's own Building Division (Municipal Code Ch. 15.04 Building Code, Ch. 15.12 Electrical Code, both self-adopted with no delegation language, contact on city domain, no outside contracting firm named on the Building, Administration, or contact pages). Fire is delegated: WMC §15.24.010 states the city 'delegates the authority to enforce the 2025 California Fire Code and the local amendments... to the Williams Fire Protection Authority's Fire Official' -- WFPA is a separate special district, confirmed by its own website/board/ordinances, not a city department.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24FICO_15.24.010AD
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.04.010 and §15.12.010 adopt the 2025 CBC and 2025 CEC by reference in full, both of which require a permit (their own Section 105/89) for construction and electrical work including PV; no city page or ordinance exempts residential rooftop solar from permitting. No Williams-specific 'a permit IS required for residential PV' sentence was found (the city has not codified a small-residential-rooftop-solar chapter the way Madera or Colusa County has), so this is an inference from the general code-adoption sections rather than a direct statement.
codified ordinance (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether the electrical permit for solar is separate from or combined with the building permit -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.04 (Building) and Ch. 15.12 (Electrical), the Building page, and the Forms & Permits page; no fee schedule or solar checklist exists to show whether one combined permit or two separate permits are issued for a residential PV job.
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo Williams-specific restriction on who may pull an electrical permit was found in Title 15 (checked §15.04.020-.040 and §15.12.010-.020 in full -- only enforcement/penalty language, no owner-builder or contractor-licensing clause). California's statewide default (Business & Professions Code §7044 owner-builder exemption) would apply absent a local restriction, hence 'Either,' but this is inference from the absence of a local rule, not a Williams-specific statement.
codified ordinance (inference from absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §5.04.040 (Business license certificate required): 'It is unlawful for any person to commence, transact, engage in or carry on any business, trade, profession... within the city without first having obtained a valid business license certificate.' Corroborated by the city's own Forms & Permits page, which lists a distinct 'Out of Town Contractors Business License' application (williamsca.portal.iworq.net) separate from the general Building Application -- confirming out-of-town contractors specifically must obtain a city business license before working in Williams.
codified ordinance + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT5BUTALIRE_CH5.04BULI_5.04.040BULICERE
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo Williams-specific owner-builder prohibition was found in Title 15. California's statewide default (Business & Professions Code §7044) allows homeowners to self-perform and self-permit their own work absent a local restriction; no such restriction was found here, so this is inference from a state default, not a Williams-specific statement.
codified ordinance (inference from absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO_15.04.010AD
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhat documents make up a complete solar submittal package -- checked the Building page, Building contact page, and the full Forms & Permits page link list (every PDF form named); none is titled or scoped to solar/PV/battery. Building applications are submitted entirely through the iWorQ portal (blocked, HTTP 403), which may contain a solar-specific checklist not visible to this run.
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHow many copies and in what format a solar submittal requires -- same search as q8; no dedicated solar handout or checklist exists on the public site.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether a site plan is required for solar and what it must show -- same search as q8; no dedicated solar handout exists, and no generic 'Building Permit Application' PDF with a plot-plan requirement list was found (unlike other cities in this survey) because Williams' building application is iWorQ-portal-only.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether a one-line/three-line diagram is required for solar -- same search as q8; no dedicated solar checklist found on the public site.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether string/conductor calculations are required for solar -- same search as q8.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedStructural PE-stamp threshold for rooftop PV -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.04 (Building Code adoption, full text) and the Forms & Permits page; no Williams-specific threshold was found beyond the state-adopted 2025 CBC's own general engineering-referral provisions.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedElectrical PE-stamp threshold for rooftop PV -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.12 (Electrical Code adoption, full text); no Williams-specific threshold found.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhat a residential solar permit costs -- checked the Building page (no fee schedule linked, only 'Impact Fees' images with no amounts in the extractable text), the Forms & Permits page (no fee schedule PDF among the ~30 forms listed), the Finance/Financial Statements page (Financial Statements, Two-Year Budgets, and AB 1600 Development Impact Fee reports are linked, but no Master/Comprehensive Fee Schedule), and the Resolutions page (lists only 2014-2022 resolutions on grants/elections/personnel, none titled 'Fee Schedule'). No fee schedule document could be located anywhere on the public site.
https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/finance/financial_statements.php
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHow the solar fee is calculated -- same search as q15; no fee schedule exists to check.
https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/finance/financial_statements.php
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether there is a separate plan-check fee -- same search as q15.
https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/finance/financial_statements.php
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedStated plan-review turnaround time -- checked the Building page in full; it states an inspection-scheduling process (Mondays only) but no plan-REVIEW turnaround SLA.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Not stated locally; likely 180 days by default of the adopted 2025 CBC/CRC's standard permit-expiration provision (Section 105.5), since Title 15 contains no local amendment to that section.
Why the confidence is not higherNo Williams-specific permit-validity period was found anywhere in Title 15 (the chapter has no 'Amendments' section for Building/Residential, unlike Fire). This is an inference from blanket code adoption, not a city statement.
codified ordinance (inferred) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO_15.04.010AD
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
iWorQ ('Building Application' / permit portal), hosted at williamscali.portal.iworq.net
Why the confidence is not higherLinked directly as 'Online Permit Application' from the city's own Building page and as 'Building Application'/'Permit Application' from the Forms & Permits page.
department page + portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/index.php
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Likely yes for at least some permit types (the portal exposes direct permit-type application URLs, e.g. williamscali.portal.iworq.net/WILLIAMSCA/new-permit/600/7133, linked from the Forms & Permits page), but this could not be confirmed for Williams specifically: the portal returned HTTP 403 to both a direct curl fetch and the WebFetch tool in this run.
Why the confidence is not higheriWorQ is a full online-application platform elsewhere in this survey (e.g. Colusa County's instance supports full online submittal, payment, and inspection requests), but Williams' own instance could not be loaded to confirm its functional scope -- 403 on every attempt.
portal (access blocked) checked 2026-08-31 https://williamscali.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/williamscali
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherThe City of Williams' own Utilities page states the city provides only water and sewer service (no municipal electric utility), and separately links PG&E for street-light-outage reporting -- a first-party clue PG&E is the area's electric utility. Corroborated by Colusa County's own environmental document ('PG&E provides electricity and natural gas to unincorporated Colusa County') and the absence of any other electric provider (municipal, cooperative, or CCA) serving Colusa County. Not sourced from PowerToChoose.
department page + elimination/cross-file corroboration checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/utilities/index.php
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel -- utility interconnection review can proceed alongside city permitting, but Permission to Operate (PTO) specifically is gated on the city's final electrical inspection clearance.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's own current Electric Rule 21 tariff, §D.13.b (Sheet 45, Cal. P.U.C. Sheet No. 59481-E, downloaded and re-verified this run): for NEM/NBT Generating Facilities <=1 MW, PTO 'shall normally be processed not later than thirty (30) Business Days' following receipt of, among other things, 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility.' A statewide PG&E tariff provision, not a Williams-specific document.
utility tariff (PG&E Electric Rule 21) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (not for standard single-family/duplex rooftop PV)
Why the confidence is not higherWilliams' Zoning Code (Title 17) subjects new construction generally to a Design Review process (§17.05.270), but its own text carves out an exception: design review is NOT required for 'small residential development on individual lots' -- i.e. individual single-family and two-family dwellings -- 'unless design review is required as a condition of a subdivision, use permit or other discretionary entitlement' or three-or-more units are proposed. Photovoltaic arrays are separately classified as an outright permitted 'accessory use' (§17.01.050.9), not a use requiring any discretionary approval. No HOA-approval requirement appears anywhere in the Zoning Code (city-imposed HOA review is not a municipal-code concept in any case; CA Civil Code §714 separately bars private CC&R solar restrictions, but that is state law).
codified zoning ordinance (inference from design-review exemption) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherA full-text search of Williams' Zoning Code (Title 17, all 66 leaf sections, 542KB extracted text) for 'historic' returns 12 hits, every one read: an ADU carve-out near designated historic sites, a landscape-standards exemption for registered historic sites, incidental references to the city's 'historic ambiance,' and a signage exemption for historical monuments/plaques -- none is a historic-DISTRICT review chapter or process that would reach a rooftop PV permit. Positive control ('accessory') returned 165 hits and fabricated control ('zzqqx') returned 0, confirming the extraction and search worked.
codified ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether a wind/windstorm certification is required -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.04 (Building Code adoption) and Title 17 (Zoning); no local wind-certification amendment was found. California does not use a TDI-style windstorm-certification scheme, and no Williams-specific analog was found.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §17.01.050.9(A): 'Photovoltaic arrays are permitted as an accessory use to residential uses' -- an outright permitted accessory use, not a conditional use or use requiring a Specific Use Permit / Council approval. No solar-specific CUP or Council-approval trigger was found anywhere in Title 17.
codified zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No system-size cap on residential generation was found.
Why the confidence is not higherWilliams has not codified a 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' chapter (of the AB 2188 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal type found in Madera, Colusa County, etc.) anywhere in Title 15 (confirmed by a full chapter-heading walk) or Title 17 (confirmed by full-text search, only 3 'solar' / 7 'photovoltaic' hits, all about accessory-use placement, none about a kW ceiling). The only quantitative limit found is a physical HEIGHT/setback rule, not a generation-capacity cap: if array height exceeds 6 ft above grade, the array must meet detached-accessory-building setbacks (§17.01.050.9(C)(2)).
codified ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, Article 89 incorporation) 97% · codified ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (incorporating the 2024 IBC) 97% · codified ordinance + department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, as locally amended by Williams Fire Protection Authority Ordinance No. 25-01 92% · codified ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, but only for Fire -- no local amendments were found for Building/Residential/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Green Building. 85% · codified ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The city-adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CGBC (Title 24, unamended for solar) plus the WFPA-amended 2025 California Fire Code (Ordinance No. 25-01) for fire/life-safety. 82% · codified ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No PV-specific ridge setback or fire-access-pathway rule was found -- WFPA's locally-amended Fire Code (Ordinance No. 25-01, ratified as WMC §15.24.010/.040) amends CFC Chapters 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 12 and Appendices C/D (fire apparatus access, hydrants, emergency/standby power) but contains no rooftop-PV pathway, hip/valley, or ridge-setback provision. 75% · codified ordinance (control-checked absence)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required to the extent the adopted 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC) requires it under NEC §690.12, but Williams has NO local citation of '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' anywhere in the corpus checked. 65% · codified ordinance (corpus-wide absence)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated AC disconnect near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions. 85% · utility tariff (PG&E Electric Rule 21)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, for ground-mounted arrays above a height threshold. 80% · codified zoning ordinance
20 questions answered against City of Williams’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, Article 89 incorporation)
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §15.12.010, verbatim: 'The California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition, including Article 89, which incorporates and amends the National Electrical Code, 2023 Edition, published by the National Fire Protection Association, is hereby adopted by this reference... as the electrical code of the city.' (Most recent amending ordinance: Ord. No. 274-25, 10-15-2025.)
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (incorporating the 2024 IBC)
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §15.04.010, verbatim: 'The California Building Code, 2025 Edition, Volumes 1 and 2, including Chapter 1, which incorporates and amends the International Building Code, 2024 Edition... is hereby adopted by this reference... as the building code of the city.' (Ord. No. 274-25, 10-15-2025.) Corroborated by the city's own Building page: '2025 California Building Codes are effective January 2026.'
codified ordinance + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO_15.04.010AD
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, as locally amended by Williams Fire Protection Authority Ordinance No. 25-01
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §15.24.010, verbatim: 'The California Fire Code, 2025 Edition... is hereby adopted... The city has ratified Williams Fire Protection Authority Ordinance No. 25-01, which adopted the 2025 California Fire Code and each of its appendices with local amendments... and delegates the authority to enforce [it]... to the Williams Fire Protection Authority's Fire Official.' Fire code ADOPTION and ENFORCEMENT sit with WFPA, a separate special district, not the city.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24FICO_15.24.010AD
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, but only for Fire -- no local amendments were found for Building/Residential/Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical/Green Building.
Why the confidence is not higherOnly Ch. 15.24 (Fire Code) has a dedicated 'Amendments' section (§15.24.040, 56KB of text amending CFC Chapters 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 12 and Appendices C/D, sourced verbatim from WFPA Ordinance No. 25-01). Every other Title 15 chapter (Building 15.04, Residential 15.06, Plumbing 15.08, Green Building 15.10, Electrical 15.12, Mechanical 15.26) consists only of a bare 'Adopted' section plus a 'Violation-Penalty' section -- no amendment section exists for any of them, confirmed by reading each chapter's full section list and content.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24FICO_15.24.040AM
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The city-adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CGBC (Title 24, unamended for solar) plus the WFPA-amended 2025 California Fire Code (Ordinance No. 25-01) for fire/life-safety.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly assembled from Title 15's individual adoption sections (§§15.04.010, 15.06.010, 15.08.010, 15.10.010, 15.12.010, 15.24.010, 15.26.010); no separate 'installation shall be judged against' clause exists because there is no local small-residential-solar ordinance.
codified ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAny local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.12 (Electrical Code) in full; unlike Fire (Ch. 15.24.040), Electrical has no 'Amendments' section at all -- only 'Adopted' and 'Violation-Penalty' -- so there is no local amendment chapter to search for a busbar/service-upgrade rule.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAny specific mounting system or attachment-spacing (structural) requirement for rooftop PV -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.04/15.06 (Building/Residential Code, no local amendments) and the Forms & Permits page (no solar structural checklist). The one PV-related zoning rule found (§17.01.050.9, height/setback for the array's LOCATION on the lot) is a siting rule, not a structural attachment-spacing specification, and is reported separately under q47.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No PV-specific ridge setback or fire-access-pathway rule was found -- WFPA's locally-amended Fire Code (Ordinance No. 25-01, ratified as WMC §15.24.010/.040) amends CFC Chapters 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 12 and Appendices C/D (fire apparatus access, hydrants, emergency/standby power) but contains no rooftop-PV pathway, hip/valley, or ridge-setback provision.
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 56KB amendment document (§15.24.040) for 'solar', 'photovoltaic', 'rapid shutdown', '690.12', 'ridge', 'setback', and 'pathway' returned zero hits. Positive control ('fire'/'Chapter') returned 95 hits and fabricated control ('zzqqx') returned 0, confirming the search worked. This is a control-proven absence, not a retrieval failure.
codified ordinance (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.24FICO_15.24.040AM
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required to the extent the adopted 2023 NEC (via the 2025 CEC) requires it under NEC §690.12, but Williams has NO local citation of '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' anywhere in the corpus checked.
Why the confidence is not higherCorpus-wide search (Title 15's Electrical/Building/Fire chapters and the full Zoning Code, Title 17) for both 'rapid shutdown' and '690.12' returned zero hits, control-checked against the same positive/fabricated controls used for Q36. Williams' electrical code section (§15.12.010) only generically adopts the 2025 CEC/2023 NEC by reference, without naming a specific NEC section.
codified ordinance (corpus-wide absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12ELCO_15.12.010AD
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhich placards are required at the service equipment -- checked the Building page, Forms & Permits page, and Title 15 Fire Code amendments (§15.24.040, control-checked, 0 solar/photovoltaic hits); no placard specification found in any of them.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether the authority specifies placard wording of its own -- same search as q38.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether the authority specifies placard letter height, colour or material -- same search as q38.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether a site plan / facility map placard is required and what it must show -- same search as q38.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated AC disconnect near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E's current Electric Rule 21 tariff, §D 'Visible Disconnect Required' (re-downloaded and verified this run): Producer must furnish a device that (i) 'allow[s] visible verification that separation has been accomplished' and (ii) 'include[s] markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions,' reachable 24 hours a day by PG&E personnel. A statewide PG&E requirement, not a Williams-specific document -- the city itself publishes no placard rule of its own (see q38-41, not_found).
utility tariff (PG&E Electric Rule 21) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhere labels must be placed -- checked the Building page, Forms & Permits page, and PG&E Electric Rule 21 (which specifies disconnect marking content at q42 but not a placement-distance rule); per the pattern confirmed elsewhere in this survey, a finer placement spec would sit in PG&E's access-gated 'Greenbook' interconnection document, not in Rule 21 or any Williams document.
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether equipment must be on a specific approved list -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.04/15.12 (Building/Electrical Code adoption, full text) and Title 17 Zoning; no Williams-specific equipment-listing requirement beyond the state-adopted codes' own generic UL/NRTL-listing requirements was found.
https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether batteries/ESS are permitted and under what conditions -- checked Title 15 Ch. 15.24.040 (Fire Code amendments, control-checked: 0 hits for 'battery'/'energy storage' against the amendment's own Chapter 12 'Energy Systems' amendment, which addresses only standby/emergency generator shunt-trip requirements, not batteries) and Title 17 Zoning (0 hits). No Williams-specific ESS rule was found; batteries would be governed by the state-adopted 2025 CFC/CRC's own generic ESS provisions only.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether there is a separate ESS permit or inspection -- same search as q45; no Williams-specific ESS permit type was found.
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, for ground-mounted arrays above a height threshold.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC §17.01.050.9(C)(2): 'If the highest point on the panels is more than six feet above grade, the panels shall be set back as if they were detached accessory buildings' (cross-referencing §17.01.050.3, Accessory buildings and structures, which sets front/side/rear setbacks for detached accessory structures). Arrays at or below 6 ft above grade are not explicitly addressed as structures. This is Williams' own explicit rule, not an inference from a generic 'structure' definition.
codified zoning ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/williams/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZO
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhere the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter -- checked PG&E Electric Rule 21 (full text, re-downloaded this run, grepped for 'meter'); no AC-disconnect-to-meter distance/location spec found. Per the pattern confirmed elsewhere in this survey, that finer spec sits in PG&E's access-gated 'Greenbook' interconnection document.
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone or email to the Building Division 78% · department page
- How much notice is required? All field inspections are scheduled for Mondays only; requests must be received by 6:00 a.m. the same Monday, or they roll to the following Monday -- effectively up to 7 calendar days' notice depending on when the request is made. 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No -- no AM/PM or same-day inspection windows are offered. Inspections happen only on Mondays, by appointment only ('no walk-in immediate inspection requests till further notice'). 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes (probable in-house self-performance), though no named Building Official was found to confirm this with certainty. 55% · department page (absence of delegation evidence)
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Williams on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Williams on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer (as the customer's applicant/agent) -- PG&E's Rule 21 interconnection process is applicant-driven throughout. 50% · utility tariff (inference)
14 questions answered against City of Williams’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone or email to the Building Division
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building page: 'Requests inspections by phone or email' -- (530) 235-3276 / stapia@cityofwilliams.org. No online inspection-request function was confirmed (the iWorQ portal, which may support this, returned HTTP 403 in this run).
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/index.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
All field inspections are scheduled for Mondays only; requests must be received by 6:00 a.m. the same Monday, or they roll to the following Monday -- effectively up to 7 calendar days' notice depending on when the request is made.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's own Building page: 'All field inspections are scheduled for Mondays... Request deadline: 6:00 AM on the current Monday. Requests after 6:00 AM will be scheduled for the following Monday.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/index.php
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No -- no AM/PM or same-day inspection windows are offered. Inspections happen only on Mondays, by appointment only ('no walk-in immediate inspection requests till further notice').
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the city's own Building page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/index.php
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes (probable in-house self-performance), though no named Building Official was found to confirm this with certainty.
Why the confidence is not higherNo delegation evidence was found anywhere checked (Building contact page, Administration staff page, Forms & Permits page) -- the only contact is a generic department email on the city domain (stapia@cityofwilliams.org) with no individual name or title given, and no outside contracting firm (Willdan, Transtech, CSG, 4LEAF, Interwest, Bureau Veritas, EsGil, Charles Abbott) appears anywhere. This matches the 'Bell' shape in the GovBot playbook -- absence of delegation evidence, but also absence of a named official -- so flagged as inference rather than a confirmed in-house statement.
department page (absence of delegation evidence) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/contact_us.php
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNot applicable given q52 (probable Yes, self-performed, though not confirmed with a named official) -- no outside delegate was named anywhere checked (Building contact page, Administration page, Forms & Permits page).
https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/building/contact_us.php
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhich inspections are required and in what order for a solar job -- checked the Building page (general inspection-scheduling process only, no stage-by-stage sequence) and Forms & Permits page (no solar checklist).
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether a rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required for solar -- same search as q54.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether the inspector verifies labels and listings as a matter of practice -- same search as q54; no inspection checklist exists to confirm this.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether there is a published inspection checklist -- checked the Building page and Forms & Permits page (full link list, ~30 documents); none is an inspection checklist.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhat must be on site at inspection -- checked the Building page in full; it describes the Monday-only scheduling process but not what must be on site.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhether there is a re-inspection fee -- no fee schedule exists on the public site (see q15 for the full search).
https://www.cityofwilliams.org/services/finance/financial_statements.php
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHow corrections are issued and cleared -- checked the Building page and Forms & Permits page; neither describes a correction-notice process.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWhat is issued on a passed final inspection (CO / Final / Green tag / Letter) -- checked the Building page and Forms & Permits page; neither states what document/tag is issued.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer (as the customer's applicant/agent) -- PG&E's Rule 21 interconnection process is applicant-driven throughout.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from PG&E Electric Rule 21's applicant-driven process language (re-verified this run, §D.13.b: the 'Applicant' submits evidence of final inspection clearance to trigger PTO processing). Rule 21 does not use the word 'installer' specifically, and no Williams-specific document names the notifying party.
utility tariff (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Williams against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Williams is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house Building Division, no named Building Official found and no outside contract firm found anywhere checked). Fire code adoption and enforcement is delegated to the Williams Fire Protection Authority (WFPA), a separate special district, not a city department.
- Delegated to
- Williams Fire Protection Authority (fire code only)
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52 (ministerial solar permitting) applies directly by state law even though Williams has NOT codified a local 'small residential rooftop solar' streamlining chapter (confirmed absent from Title 15 by full table-of-contents walk); PG&E Electric Rule 21 (Sheet 45, current filing, downloaded and re-verified this run) gates Permission to Operate on the AHJ's final electrical inspection clearance.
- Why not higher
- Williams Municipal Code Title 15 (Buildings and Construction) adopts the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CPC/CMC/CGBC by reference at the city's own Building Division (contact stapia@cityofwilliams.org, city domain, no outside firm name found on the Building, Administration, or contact pages) -- confirming the city itself is AHJ for building/electrical. But WMC §15.24.010 states explicitly: 'The city has ratified Williams Fire Protection Authority Ordinance No. 25-01... In doing so, the city adopts [WFPA] Ordinance No. 25-01 as its own fire code, and delegates the authority to enforce the 2025 California Fire Code and the local amendments... to the [WFPA]'s Fire Official.' WFPA is confirmed as a genuinely separate special district (its own website, board, Fire Chief, separate ordinance filings for 'City of Williams' and 'County of Colusa' territories) at williamsfireprotectionauthority.org, not a city department -- corroborated by the city's own Fire page routing to WFPA's site. A genuine finding: Williams has NOT locally codified a small-residential-rooftop-solar streamlining ordinance of the kind found in Madera (Ch. 9-4), Colusa County (Art. IV) or City of Colusa (fee schedule) -- confirmed by a full chapter-heading walk of Title 15 (Buildings and Construction) turning up only bare 'Adopted' + 'Violation-Penalty' sections for Building/Residential/Plumbing/Green/Electrical/Mechanical, with the sole 'Amendments' section (15.24.040) belonging to Fire. Residential PV here is governed by the state-mandated ministerial review process directly, not by a local ordinance restating it.
- Permit required
- Yes78%
- Portal
- iWorQ ('Building Application' / permit portal), hosted at williamscali.portal.iworq.net92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code, Article 89 incorporation)97%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone or email to the Building Division78%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 85%
Yes -- PG&E requires a visible, manually-operated AC disconnect near the Point of Interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.