City of Willows
Glenn County
City of Willows is a city authority in the State of California, serving 6,293 residents. 934 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — cityofwillowsca.municipalonlinepayments.com (Tyler Technologies online-payments portal) -- linked from the City homepage as 'Building Permits' Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for residential solar 15 kW (AC, presumed) or less; $450 + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW93% source
- Key document
- department checklist cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department form
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 72% · fee schedule
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 65% · department bulletin
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 62% · department form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 68% · department bulletin
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the City's dedicated solar checklist: a detailed site plan (clearances and overall height), manufacturer's installation instructions for the racking system, listings for racking/hardware, grounding methods, approved lug types, solar modules and inverters, and a line diagram showing the array, inverter, disconnect panel, main breaker panel, utility meter, transformers, switchboards, battery backup systems, conductor sizes and conduit type/size. Structural engineering/calculations are additionally required when racking+array exceed 3 psf, panel-to-roof angle exceeds 40 degrees, or the roof has heavy covering (clay tile or multiple composition layers). 92% · department checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? Three (3) complete sets of plans, legible and drawn to a recognized scale 60% · department checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- the solar checklist requires a 'detailed site plan which includes clearances & overall height.' The general Permit Application Checklist further specifies a site plan must show north direction/scale/street names, distances between proposed and existing structures, setbacks from all property lines, sewage/water/well locations, easements, overhead/underground electric and gas utility lines, owner name/address and APN. 88% · department checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 88% · department checklist
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Conductor sizes and conduit type/size must be shown on the line diagram; string-specific calculations are not separately named 60% · department checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes -- structural engineering/calculations required when: racking & solar array exceed 3 lbs/psf (and even below 3 lbs, calculations must still be shown on plans); panel-to-roof-plane angle exceeds 40 degrees from horizontal; or the roof has heavy covering such as clay tile or multiple layers of composition roofing. 92% · department checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? cityofwillowsca.municipalonlinepayments.com (Tyler Technologies online-payments portal) -- linked from the City homepage as 'Building Permits' 78% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 72% · department form + portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for residential solar 15 kW (AC, presumed) or less; $450 + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW 93% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered (flat fee up to 15kW, then flat + per-kW above 15kW) 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 85% · adopted budget
28 questions answered against City of Willows’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Willows is an incorporated city; its Community Development & Services Department states it handles building permit review, issuance and inspection directly, and publishes its own dedicated residential rooftop-solar permit checklist and a Master Fee Schedule line for 'Residential Solar.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwillows.org/departments/community-development-services/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application is a single City form with checkboxes for Electrical/Plumbing/Mechanical alongside Building, routed internally through Planning, Building, Engineering, Public Works, Glenn County Environmental Health, Fire, and Glenn County Air Pollution approval boxes -- all performed by City staff on cityofwillows.org emails; no contractor/firm named anywhere.
department form checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Building-Permit-Application_2026-01-26-221206_tbju.pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026) carries dedicated 'Residential Solar 15KW or less' ($450) and 'Residential Solar More Than 15KW' fee lines, and the Building Division publishes a dedicated 'Permit Checklist for Residential Roof Mount Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems.'
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-7-1-2026.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule prices 'Residential Solar 15KW or less' as one flat $450 line (distinct from the general standalone 'Electrical $129.00' line), and the Building Permit Application is a single form with an Electrical checkbox rather than a separate electrical-permit application -- inferred combined, not stated in so many words.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-7-1-2026.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application's Owner-Builder path is not excluded for solar and the City's Owner-Builder disclosure flyer describes standard Owner-as-Worker/Owner-as-Contractor/Owner-as-Employer routes with no solar carve-out; the solar checklist itself does not restrict the applicant to a licensed electrician.
department bulletin checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Owner-Builder.pdf
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application's Contractor/Architect Information section includes a required 'City Business License #: Expiration:' field for the contractor, implying a Willows business license is expected before a permit is issued to a contractor -- inferred from the form field, not from a quoted ordinance section.
department form checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Building-Permit-Application_2026-01-26-221206_tbju.pdf
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Owner-Builder disclosure flyer (a general, state-mandated Health & Safety Code §19827 disclosure) describes the standard Owner-as-Worker self-permitting route with no exclusion for solar; the dedicated solar checklist does not require a licensed contractor.
department bulletin checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Owner-Builder.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the City's dedicated solar checklist: a detailed site plan (clearances and overall height), manufacturer's installation instructions for the racking system, listings for racking/hardware, grounding methods, approved lug types, solar modules and inverters, and a line diagram showing the array, inverter, disconnect panel, main breaker panel, utility meter, transformers, switchboards, battery backup systems, conductor sizes and conduit type/size. Structural engineering/calculations are additionally required when racking+array exceed 3 psf, panel-to-roof angle exceeds 40 degrees, or the roof has heavy covering (clay tile or multiple composition layers).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly enumerated, verbatim, on the City's own dated 'Permit Checklist for Residential Roof Mount Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' (extracted with pdftotext -layout).
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Three (3) complete sets of plans, legible and drawn to a recognized scale
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the City's general 'Building Permit Application Completeness Checklist' requirement for all building submittals (not solar-specific); no page-count rule specific to solar was found.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Permit-application-checklist.pdf
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- the solar checklist requires a 'detailed site plan which includes clearances & overall height.' The general Permit Application Checklist further specifies a site plan must show north direction/scale/street names, distances between proposed and existing structures, setbacks from all property lines, sewage/water/well locations, easements, overhead/underground electric and gas utility lines, owner name/address and APN.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar-specific line from the City's dedicated solar checklist, cross-checked against the general Permit Application Checklist's detailed site-plan content list and sample site plan.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar checklist requires a 'LINE DIAGRAM SHOWING' the array, inverter, disconnect panel, main breaker panel, meter, transformers, switchboards, battery backup, conductor sizes and conduit type/size -- functionally a one-line/system diagram, though the document uses the term 'line diagram' rather than 'one-line diagram.'
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Conductor sizes and conduit type/size must be shown on the line diagram; string-specific calculations are not separately named
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar checklist's line-diagram requirement lists 'CONDUCTOR SIZES' and 'CONDUIT TYPE & SIZE' as required content, but does not use the words 'string calculation' anywhere in the document (checked; 0 hits).
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes -- structural engineering/calculations required when: racking & solar array exceed 3 lbs/psf (and even below 3 lbs, calculations must still be shown on plans); panel-to-roof-plane angle exceeds 40 degrees from horizontal; or the roof has heavy covering such as clay tile or multiple layers of composition roofing.
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim, solar-specific 'ENGINEERING TO BE PROVIDED WHEN' section of the City's own dedicated solar checklist.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe City's dedicated solar checklist, Building Permit Application, and Master Fee Schedule -- none mentions an electrical PE-stamp threshold (only the solar checklist's structural-engineering triggers at 3 psf / 40 degrees / heavy roofing were found, which are structural, not electrical).
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for residential solar 15 kW (AC, presumed) or less; $450 + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule effective 7/1/2026, dated line items 'Residential Solar 15KW or less' ($450.00 flat) and 'Residential Solar More Than 15KW' ($450 + $15/kW above 15kW). The schedule does not specify whether the 15kW threshold is measured AC or DC.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-7-1-2026.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered (flat fee up to 15kW, then flat + per-kW above 15kW)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule's two residential solar lines show a flat base fee with a per-kW add-on only above the 15kW break point -- a tiered structure rather than pure flat, pure valuation or pure per-kW.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Master-Fee-Schedule-Effective-7-1-2026.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule's residential solar lines ($450 flat / $450+$15/kW) -- no adjacent 'Solar Plan Check' line exists, unlike the general Building Plan Review line under Engineering Fees (4% of Total Project Cost, which appears scoped to civil/subdivision projects rather than the flat-fee residential solar permit); ambiguous whether plan check is bundled into the $450.
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCommunity Development & Services department page, all-resources document index, and every downloaded Building Division PDF (solar checklist, permit application, permit checklist, exempt-work bulletin) -- none states a plan-review turnaround time in business days.
https://www.cityofwillows.org/departments/community-development-services/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAll downloaded Building Division documents and both ordinance-adoption summary sheets (767-2026, 768-2026) -- neither the summaries nor any published handout states a permit-validity/expiration period; the full Title 15 administrative chapter (WMC 15.10) that would normally carry this was not reachable (eCode360/ecode360.com and resolve.ecode360.com both returned a Cloudflare 'Just a moment...' JS challenge to curl even with the iccsafe.org Referer header, and returned HTTP 403 to the fetch tool).
https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/768-2026-Summary-After-Adoption.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
cityofwillowsca.municipalonlinepayments.com (Tyler Technologies online-payments portal) -- linked from the City homepage as 'Building Permits'
Why the confidence is not higherThe City homepage's 'Building Permits' quick link goes to this Tyler Technologies municipalonlinepayments.com portal; the portal itself describes its function as 'our online payments website' with no application-management features described.
portal landing page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillowsca.municipalonlinepayments.com/cityofwillowsca
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe linked portal (municipalonlinepayments.com) presents itself purely as a payments website with no plan upload, application-submission or inspection-scheduling functions described; the actual Building Permit Application is a fillable PDF form, not a web application, and inspections are booked by phone via a stated 24-hour request line -- consistent with a paper/PDF submittal workflow, not a full online application.
department form + portal checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Building-Permit-Application_2026-01-26-221206_tbju.pdf
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherPowerToChoose-type data was NOT used. Confirmed from the City's own FY2026-27 Adopted Budget: a 'Franchise - Gas & Electric' revenue line ($85,425 budgeted) and numerous departmental expenditure lines coded '45100 - PG&E' for the City's own electric/gas utility costs across multiple funds.
adopted budget checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-ADOPTED-BUDGET-PUBLICATION-1.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's finance/administration pages and the FY2026-27 Adopted Budget (which confirms PG&E as the utility) -- no City or PG&E document specific to Willows describing where interconnection sits relative to permit issuance was located; PG&E's own solar/interconnection landing pages (pge.com/en/clean-energy/solar.html and related paths) returned no procedural sequence detail through the fetch tool.
https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/FY-2026-27-ADOPTED-BUDGET-PUBLICATION-1.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Building Permit Application, Permit Application Checklist -- none mentions HOA or architectural-review approval as a submittal requirement; the City's own zoning/development code was not reachable (see eCode360 note at Q19) to confirm a citywide HOA-referral rule either way.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and the City's published 'Historic Downtown and Wood Street Design Guidelines' -- the guidelines are scoped to the commercial downtown district and do not address residential rooftop solar; no solar-specific historic-review trigger was found, and the zoning code itself was not reachable (see eCode360 note at Q19).
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist -- no wind/windstorm certification requirement is mentioned; California jurisdictions generally do not run a Texas-TDI-style wind-certification regime, using CBC structural engineering instead, but no City document confirms this explicitly for Willows.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Building Permit Application, and Planning fee schedule (Use Permit/Variance categories) -- none states that a Specific Use Permit or Council approval is ever required specifically for residential rooftop solar; the zoning code itself was not reachable (see eCode360 note at Q19).
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule and solar checklist -- the fee schedule's 15kW break point is a fee-tier boundary, not a stated generation cap; no codified system-size cap (e.g., an AB 2188-era 10kW figure) was found because the Title 15 zoning/development-code text was not reachable (see eCode360 note at Q19).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code, 13th edition) 82% · ordinance adoption summary
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (13th edition California Building Standards Code cycle) 85% · ordinance adoption summary
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code 85% · ordinance adoption summary
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 80% · ordinance adoption summary
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Code / California Electrical Code / California Residential Code as locally amended in WMC Title 15, plus a UL/NRTL-listing requirement for all PV equipment and components stated in the City's own solar checklist ('California Electrical Code (NEC) for Photovoltaic Power Systems and the California Building Code (CBC) Chapter 16, Structural Design Requirements'). 85% · department checklist
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Willows on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Willows on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · department checklist
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 76% · department checklist
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No -- only a general UL/NRTL-listing requirement, not a City-maintained approved-products list 78% · department checklist
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No fixed spacing/attachment figure is stated; instead the City triggers structural engineering review when racking+array loading exceeds 3 lbs/psf, panel angle exceeds 40 degrees from horizontal, or the roof has heavy covering (clay tile / multiple composition layers). 78% · department checklist
20 questions answered against City of Willows’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code, 13th edition)
Why the confidence is not higherCity Ordinance 768-2026 (adopted 13 Jan 2026, first reading 9 Dec 2025) 'adopts by reference the 2025 California Building Standards Code ... and adopts local amendments thereto in Title 15.' The 2025 CBSC statewide cycle incorporates the 2023 NEC as the California Electrical Code base text (effective 1 Jan 2026). Only the adoption-summary sheet was retrievable, not the full ordinance text (Willows' municipal code is hosted on an eCode360/Cloudflare-protected site that returned a JS challenge to both curl and the fetch tool), so the specific NEC-edition wording inside the ordinance itself was not directly read.
ordinance adoption summary checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/768-2026-Summary-After-Adoption.pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (13th edition California Building Standards Code cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 768-2026's own title and summary: 'AN ORDINANCE ... ADOPTING BY REFERENCE THE 2025 CALIFORNIA BUILDING STANDARDS CODE AND ADOPTING LOCAL AMENDMENTS THERETO IN TITLE 15 ... REPEALING AND RE-ENACTING CHAPTERS 15.10, 15.11, 15.20, 15.30, 15.35, 15.70, 15.75, 15.80, 15.85, 15.90, 15.91 AND 15.95,' adopted 13 Jan 2026 (first reading 9 Dec 2025).
ordinance adoption summary checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/768-2026-Summary-After-Adoption.pdf
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 767-2026's own title and summary: 'AN ORDINANCE ... TO ADOPT BY REFERENCE AND AMEND CERTAIN PORTIONS OF THE 2025 CALIFORNIA FIRE CODES AND APPROVE THE LOCAL FINDINGS ... REPEALING, REPLACING, AND/OR AMENDING CERTAIN SECTIONS OF CHAPTER 15.15,' adopted 13 Jan 2026 (first reading 9 Dec 2025). The Fire Department's own FPI-002 fee-schedule document independently confirms 'Chapter 15.15 Municipal Fire Code Fee Schedule' as the same chapter.
ordinance adoption summary checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/767-2026-Summary-After-Adoption.pdf
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBoth Ordinance 767-2026 (fire) and 768-2026 (building) summaries state they 'approve the local findings' / 'adopt local amendments' to the state model codes, and 768-2026 repeals and re-enacts eleven separate Title 15 chapters. Only the adoption-summary sheets were reachable, not the full amendment text itself (the Willows municipal code library is behind a Cloudflare JS challenge that blocked both curl and the automated fetch tool, including with the eCode360 iccsafe.org Referer header).
ordinance adoption summary checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/768-2026-Summary-After-Adoption.pdf
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Code / California Electrical Code / California Residential Code as locally amended in WMC Title 15, plus a UL/NRTL-listing requirement for all PV equipment and components stated in the City's own solar checklist ('California Electrical Code (NEC) for Photovoltaic Power Systems and the California Building Code (CBC) Chapter 16, Structural Design Requirements').
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the notes section of the City's dedicated residential-solar checklist, cross-referenced against Ordinance 768-2026 adopting the 2025 CBSC.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule (which has a generic 'Main Panel Upgrade $106' fee line but no technical rule) and the solar checklist -- neither states a busbar-sizing or service-upgrade technical rule; the full Title 15 electrical-amendment text was not reachable (see eCode360 note at Q19).
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No fixed spacing/attachment figure is stated; instead the City triggers structural engineering review when racking+array loading exceeds 3 lbs/psf, panel angle exceeds 40 degrees from horizontal, or the roof has heavy covering (clay tile / multiple composition layers).
Why the confidence is not higherSame 'ENGINEERING TO BE PROVIDED WHEN' section of the dedicated solar checklist as Q13 -- these are load/angle/roofing-material triggers rather than a stated attachment-spacing rule (e.g., inches on-center), so answered as a structural-review trigger rather than a spacing spec.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and the Fire Department's own FPI-002 Fire Code Fee Schedule -- neither document contains the words 'ridge,' 'setback' or 'pathway' (control-checked: positive control 'fire' = 10 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits on the fire fee schedule); no ridge-setback or fire-pathway figure is published by this authority.
https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/FPI-002-Fire-Code-Fee-Schedule-002.pdf
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist -- searched for 'rapid shutdown' and '690.12' (0 hits each); the City's own solar document does not reference rapid shutdown at all, even though the 2023 NEC (adopted statewide via the 2025 CBSC, per Ordinance 768-2026) requires it under §690.12. This is a genuine gap between the adopted code and the City's own published guidance, not a confirmed absence of the requirement itself (which exists by operation of the adopted NEC).
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and Fire Code Fee Schedule -- no placard content beyond the diagram's generic 'DISCONNECT PANEL' component label is specified; no AHJ-specific placard beyond baseline NEC/CFC requirements was found.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence proven on the single relevant document: the City's dedicated residential solar checklist was searched for 'sign' (2 hits, both 'Signature' -- unrelated), 'placard' (0 hits), 'disconnect' (1 hit, only as a diagram-component label 'DISCONNECT PANEL'), and a fabricated control 'zzqqx' (0 hits, confirming the search itself works). No placard-wording requirement of the City's own appears anywhere in its solar documentation.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame document and controls as Q39 -- no letter-height, colour or material specification for any placard appears in the City's dedicated solar checklist, its Master Fee Schedule, or its Fire Code Fee Schedule.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist -- no mention of a site plan / facility map placard (NEC 705.10) requirement; the required 'detailed site plan' is a plan-submittal document, not a posted field placard.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's public solar/clean-energy landing pages (pge.com/en/clean-energy/solar.html and related interconnection pages) -- returned only high-level program descriptions through the fetch tool, with no residential DG manual or placard specification page located.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and Fire Code Fee Schedule -- neither states a label-placement rule (e.g., at the meter, at the main disconnect, at the point of interconnection).
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No -- only a general UL/NRTL-listing requirement, not a City-maintained approved-products list
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar checklist requires listings for racking/hardware, grounding methods, lugs, modules and inverters, and states 'All equipment and components shall be listed and labeled by Underwriters Laboratories or other recognized agency' -- a generic code-based listing requirement, not evidence of a City-specific approved-equipment list.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist -- 'BATTERY BACKUP SYSTEMS' appears only as one of the components to be shown on the required line diagram; no separate conditions, clearances, or fire-code requirements for batteries/ESS are stated anywhere in the City's published solar or fire documents.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Master Fee Schedule, and Fire Code Fee Schedule -- no separate ESS/battery permit or inspection line or requirement appears in any of the three documents.
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe City's only published solar document is expressly titled 'PERMIT CHECKLIST FOR RESIDENTIAL ROOF MOUNT SOLAR PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER SYSTEMS' -- scoped to roof-mount only; no ground-mount-specific document or provision was found anywhere on the City's site.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's public solar/interconnection pages -- no residential DG/electric-service-handbook document specifying AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter was reachable through the fetch tool (only high-level program pages loaded).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 72% · department handout
- How much notice is required? 24 hours 75% · department handout
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 80% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Willows on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No -- only a submittal checklist is published, not a field-inspection checklist 65% · document index page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes at submittal; not explicitly confirmed for the field inspection itself 55% · department checklist
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
Nothing recorded for City of Willows on this step yet — 4 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
14 questions answered against City of Willows’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's 'Residential Work Exempt From Permits' bulletin header states '24 hour Inspection Request Line: (530) 934-2465 call 24 hours before' -- a general Building Department line, not solar-specific, but the only stated inspection-booking channel found.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Residential-Work-Exempt-From-Permits.pdf
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
24 hours
Why the confidence is not higherSame handout header: 'call 24 hours before' the requested inspection -- general Building Department policy, not stated as solar-specific.
department handout checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Residential-Work-Exempt-From-Permits.pdf
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe 'Residential Work Exempt From Permits' bulletin and the Community Development & Services page -- neither states whether same-day or AM/PM inspection windows are offered; only the 24-hour-notice phone line is stated.
https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/Residential-Work-Exempt-From-Permits.pdf
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo delegation evidence found anywhere (staff, forms, fee-schedule staffing) -- Building Division staff are all on cityofwillows.org emails and the City publishes its own localized solar checklist and inspection-request line, consistent with a self-performing, in-house final inspection.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwillows.org/departments/community-development-services/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A -- Q52 found the City self-performs its own final solar inspection (in-house Building Division, no delegation evidence found anywhere in staffing, forms or fee-schedule appendices).
https://www.cityofwillows.org/departments/community-development-services/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Building Permit Application, and exempt-work bulletin -- none lists the sequence/stages of solar-specific inspections (e.g., rough-in vs. final); only a single general 24-hour inspection-request line is published.
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist -- does not state whether a rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required separately from a final inspection for roof-mount PV.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes at submittal; not explicitly confirmed for the field inspection itself
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar checklist requires the applicant to provide 'listings' for racking, hardware, grounding, lugs, modules and inverters, verified 'by the Applicant at counter with Permit Technician' at submittal -- this is a plan-check/intake verification, not an explicit statement that the field inspector re-checks labels/listings at final inspection.
department checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/10/City-of-Willows-Res-solar-requirements-checklist.pdf
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No -- only a submittal checklist is published, not a field-inspection checklist
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's full published 'All Documents & Forms' listing was captured and reviewed in full; it contains the 'Permit Checklist for Residential Solar' (a submittal/plan-content checklist) but no separately named inspection-day or field checklist for solar or for building generally.
document index page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwillows.org/all-resources/
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, exempt-work bulletin, and Permit Application Checklist -- none states what documents (approved plans, permit card, manufacturer spec sheets, etc.) must be physically on site at the time of inspection.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule contains two different, ambiguous re-inspection-type lines under different sections -- 'Additional Inspection Fee' ($102.00, 'Each Permit', under Building Permit Fees) and 'Additional Inspections' ($99.00, 'Per Inspection', under Other Building Fees) -- neither is labeled 're-inspection' or scoped to solar, and it is unclear which (if either, or both) applies to a failed solar inspection.
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Building Permit Application, and Permit Application Checklist -- none describes how corrections are issued to an applicant or how they are cleared/re-verified.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and exempt-work bulletin -- neither states what document (Certificate of Occupancy, Final, green tag, letter) is issued upon a passed final solar inspection.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist, Community Development & Services page, and PG&E's public solar pages -- no City or PG&E document specific to Willows states who (AHJ, installer, or the utility itself) submits the notification that triggers Permission to Operate.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Willows against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Willows is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (all performed in-house by the City's own Community Development & Services Department / Building Division); Fire Department is also an in-house City department that signs off as one of several agency-approval boxes on the building permit application
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5/§65850.52 (streamlined, fee-capped residential solar permitting) and AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22), which bars any new more-restrictive local residential amendment 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031
- Why not higher
- City of Willows is an incorporated city and the county seat of Glenn County. Its own Community Development & Services Department page states the department 'handles ... [b]uilding permit reviews, issuance, and inspections' directly, with named in-house staff (Joe Bettencourt, Director; Tara Rustenhoven, Technician) all on @cityofwillows.org addresses -- no firm name (Willdan/Transtech/CSG/4LEAF/etc.) appears anywhere in the department page, fee schedule staffing, or forms. The City publishes its OWN localized 'Permit Checklist for Residential Roof Mount Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' (not a generic statewide template), which is strong first-party evidence the City itself administers solar permitting rather than delegating it. The Fire Department is also a City department (Chief Nathan Monck, @cityofwillows.org) with its own Municipal Code Chapter 15.15 fee schedule -- it also separately serves the outside-city 'Willows Rural Fire Protection District,' which is irrelevant to in-city jurisdiction. Glenn County's only roles visible on the City's own Building Permit Application form are Environmental Health (septic/well) and Air Pollution District sign-off boxes -- unrelated to building/electrical/PV review. Utility (PG&E) confirmed from the City's own FY2026-27 Adopted Budget (franchise-fee and PG&E-vendor GL lines), not from PowerToChoose.
https://www.cityofwillows.org/departments/community-development-services/
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for residential solar 15 kW (AC, presumed) or less; $450 + $15/kW for each kW above 15kW93%
- Portal
- cityofwillowsca.municipalonlinepayments.com (Tyler Technologies online-payments portal) -- linked from the City homepage as 'Building Permits'78%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC, as incorporated into the 2025 California Electrical Code (part of the 2025 California Building Standards Code, 13th edition)82%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone72%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 76%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.