City of Winters
Yolo County
City of Winters is a city authority in the State of California, serving 7,115 residents. 1,475 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Not stated specifically for solar. General FAQ turnaround for permits requiring plan check: 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days; Q18 Where you file — No online permit portal identified. Applications are accepted by mail, fax, or email to the Building and Code Enforcement Division, Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $345 flat (roof-mounted PV) or $408 flat (rack/ground-mounted PV), City Building Permit fee (Schedule A, Resolution 2026-31, eff.88% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Not stated specifically for solar. General FAQ turnaround for permits requiring plan check: 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days;55% source
- Key document
- department FAQ page cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department FAQ page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department FAQ page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout)
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, conditionally 65% · municipal code (archived capture)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 55% · inference from state building-code framework
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No codified residential solar system-size cap found. The city's former standalone 'Solar Energy Code' (old Ch. 15.48, two sections: 'Adoption' and 'Permit fees') never contained a size limit, and it was removed entirely from the code in a recodification on or before Sept. 2022 — the current Title 15 table of contents has no chapter between 15.40 (Moving of Structures) and 15.52 (Permit Issuance Requirements), and Title 17 (Zoning)'s current table of contents has no solar or renewable-energy chapter either. 50% · municipal code table of contents (archived capture)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 68% · municipal code (archived capture)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 82% · department FAQ page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 78% · municipal code (archived capture)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No PV-specific submittal checklist is published. The general 'larger projects' submittal per the FAQ is: site plan, floor plan (existing and proposed), elevation plans, sectional drawings, framing plan, roofing plan, structural calculations and details, energy calculations, and fire suppression plans (where Fire Dept. review applies); the FAQ notes 'some smaller projects require less information' and directs applicants to call the counter for informational handouts. 55% · department FAQ page
- How many copies, and in what format? Residential: 3 complete sets (plus 1 additional if Fire Department review is required). Commercial: 4 complete sets (plus 1 if Fire review required). Plans on minimum 18"x24" sheets, fully dimensioned and to scale, plus one additional 11"x17" set. 88% · department FAQ page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes, generally — the FAQ lists a site plan among plans required for 'larger projects' but does not specify PV-specific content (array location, disconnects, setbacks) since no dedicated solar checklist is published. 50% · department FAQ page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? No online permit portal identified. Applications are accepted by mail, fax, or email to the Building and Code Enforcement Division, or in person at the City Hall counter; qualifying permits (water heater changeouts, panel upgrades, re-roofs, etc.) can be issued over the counter while the applicant waits. 72% · department FAQ page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 70% · department FAQ page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $345 flat (roof-mounted PV) or $408 flat (rack/ground-mounted PV), City Building Permit fee (Schedule A, Resolution 2026-31, eff. 7/1/2026); a separate Winters Fire Protection District 'Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' California Fire Code §105.7 construction permit at $405 flat may also apply (Schedule E, same resolution). 88% · published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout)
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 85% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes, for standard valuation-based building permits (Plan Check Fee = 69.5% of the Building Permit fee for single-family residential, 79.5% for all other construction, per the fee schedule's Schedule A general notes). It is not stated whether this percentage also applies on top of the flat 'Photovoltaic System' Miscellaneous-Fees line, or whether that flat fee is already all-inclusive. 55% · published fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Not stated specifically for solar. General FAQ turnaround for permits requiring plan check: 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days; Major projects 15-30 working days.' Some permits requiring no plan check (e.g. water heater changeouts, panel upgrades, re-roofs) are issued same-day over the counter, but PV is not listed among those over-the-counter examples. 55% · department FAQ page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 55% · inference (no direct city or utility-map source found this run)
28 questions answered against City of Winters’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Buildings & Code Enforcement FAQ lists 'Photovoltaic systems' explicitly among construction activity requiring a building permit from the City's own Building and Code Enforcement Division.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own Community Development/Building Division issues both building and electrical permits in-house (no contract-firm names, no county delegation found for in-city-limits work); a single 'Photovoltaic System' line sits in the Building Fee Schedule rather than being split by trade. Fire code enforcement, however, sits with the separately-governed Winters Fire Protection District, not the city itself — see jurisdiction block.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/224/Building-Division
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSame FAQ: a building permit is required before any structure is 'built, enlarged, altered, removed, demolished, and/or repaired,' with photovoltaic systems named explicitly on the list of covered work.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe current (FY2026-27, Resolution 2026-31) Building Fee Schedule prices 'Photovoltaic System-Roof Mounted $345' and 'Photovoltaic System-Rack Mounted $408' as single flat 'Miscellaneous Fees' line items, distinct from and not layered on top of the separate itemized 'Electrical Permits' section (service, circuits, fixtures, etc.) — suggesting one combined permit fee covers the job. Not higher because the document never states in words that the two are combined; it is an inference from the fee table's structure.
published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1697/2627-Building-Fee-Schedule
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherMunicipal Code §15.16.030 (Electrical Code, Electrical permit—Applicant qualifications) allows either (A) a validly licensed contractor, or (B) 'the bona fide owner of premises which consist of a single-family dwelling, duplex, or single unit in a condominium complex... provided the owner or an immediate family member shall perform all labor.' Sourced from a Wayback Machine capture of codepublishing.com (26 Jul 2017) because the live codepublishing.com site returns a Cloudflare 403 to automated fetches; I could not confirm this section is unchanged in 2026, though applicant-qualification boilerplate of this kind is rarely revised.
municipal code (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20170726114933/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters1516.html
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ states plainly: 'All contractors and subcontractors performing work in the City of Winters must possess a current City of Winters business license.' This is a general city business-license requirement, not a solar-specific contractor registry.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherMC §15.52.020(B)(3) exempts a homeowner improving their principal residence from the contractor-license requirement under stated conditions (12 months' residency, limited frequency), and Electrical Code §15.16.030(B) separately allows a bona fide owner of a single-family dwelling/duplex/condo unit to pull the electrical permit and perform the labor themselves. Archived capture, same caveat as q5.
municipal code (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20170726122629/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters1552.html
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No PV-specific submittal checklist is published. The general 'larger projects' submittal per the FAQ is: site plan, floor plan (existing and proposed), elevation plans, sectional drawings, framing plan, roofing plan, structural calculations and details, energy calculations, and fire suppression plans (where Fire Dept. review applies); the FAQ notes 'some smaller projects require less information' and directs applicants to call the counter for informational handouts.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the FAQ's general answer for building permits of all types, not a dedicated solar checklist — confirmed no such checklist exists via the city's own site search (21 hits for 'solar', 12 for 'photovoltaic', none a PV checklist document).
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Residential: 3 complete sets (plus 1 additional if Fire Department review is required). Commercial: 4 complete sets (plus 1 if Fire review required). Plans on minimum 18"x24" sheets, fully dimensioned and to scale, plus one additional 11"x17" set.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the FAQ's 'How many sets of plans are needed' and 'What format is required for plans' answers — general building-permit rule, not confirmed solar-specific.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes, generally — the FAQ lists a site plan among plans required for 'larger projects' but does not specify PV-specific content (array location, disconnects, setbacks) since no dedicated solar checklist is published.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral FAQ answer only; no solar-specific site-plan content requirement found in any city document.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Buildings & Code Enforcement FAQ and Permit Requirements & Checklists page — no dedicated solar/PV submittal checklist is published (confirmed via the city's own site search for 'solar' and 'photovoltaic', 21 and 12 results respectively, none a checklist document), so no PV-specific one-line-diagram requirement could be located.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/339/Permit-Requirements-Checklists
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sources as q11 — no PV-specific submittal document exists to state a string/conductor calculation requirement.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/339/Permit-Requirements-Checklists
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuildings & Code Enforcement FAQ ('Who can draw my plans?' and re-roof-weight questions) states general structural-design and re-roof-weight thresholds but never a PV-specific structural-stamp trigger; no dedicated solar checklist exists to check instead.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame FAQ and the archived Electrical Code chapter (§15.16) — neither states an electrical PE-stamp threshold specific to PV interconnection.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$345 flat (roof-mounted PV) or $408 flat (rack/ground-mounted PV), City Building Permit fee (Schedule A, Resolution 2026-31, eff. 7/1/2026); a separate Winters Fire Protection District 'Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' California Fire Code §105.7 construction permit at $405 flat may also apply (Schedule E, same resolution).
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the current fee-schedule PDF with pdftotext -layout (not a summary). Not 95 because it is unconfirmed whether the $345/$408 Building fee already includes the separate plan-check percentage described elsewhere in the same schedule (see q17), and whether every residential rooftop job actually triggers the WFPD fire construction permit or only larger/commercial-scale systems.
published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Building PV line items and the Fire PV/Battery construction-permit line items are flat dollar amounts, not valuation-, kW-, or panel-based.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes, for standard valuation-based building permits (Plan Check Fee = 69.5% of the Building Permit fee for single-family residential, 79.5% for all other construction, per the fee schedule's Schedule A general notes). It is not stated whether this percentage also applies on top of the flat 'Photovoltaic System' Miscellaneous-Fees line, or whether that flat fee is already all-inclusive.
Why the confidence is not higherThe ambiguity is in the document itself: the plan-check-fee note appears as a general rule tied to the valuation table, while PV is priced separately as a flat 'Miscellaneous Fee' — the document does not resolve whether the two combine.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Not stated specifically for solar. General FAQ turnaround for permits requiring plan check: 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days; Major projects 15-30 working days.' Some permits requiring no plan check (e.g. water heater changeouts, panel upgrades, re-roofs) are issued same-day over the counter, but PV is not listed among those over-the-counter examples.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral building-permit answer from the FAQ; no PV-specific turnaround figure found anywhere on the site.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ describes only the extension procedure ('a one-time additional 6 months may be granted') and never states the original permit validity period; the current live Municipal Code Building Code adoption chapter (§15.08) could not be reached due to codepublishing.com returning a Cloudflare 403 to automated fetches.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
No online permit portal identified. Applications are accepted by mail, fax, or email to the Building and Code Enforcement Division, or in person at the City Hall counter; qualifying permits (water heater changeouts, panel upgrades, re-roofs, etc.) can be issued over the counter while the applicant waits.
Why the confidence is not higherThe FAQ and Permit Requirements page describe only mail/fax/email/counter intake; a targeted check of every fetched city page for common permit-portal vendor names (Accela, eTRAKiT, SmartGov, OpenGov, Citizen Access, ViewPoint Cloud) returned zero hits. Not higher because a portal could exist on a page not indexed or fetched this run.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as q20 — no online application system found; the described process is mail/fax/email submittal followed by an in-person or mailed permit.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherWinters is not a municipal-electric city (its own Environmental Services page covers only water/wastewater/recycling, with no city electric utility mentioned), and Yolo County west-side cities are within PG&E's Valley Division service territory. This is general geographic knowledge, not confirmed against PG&E's own territory map or a Winters-specific city document this run — flagging per the brief's rule not to trust utility identification without a direct source.
inference (no direct city or utility-map source found this run) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/215/Environmental-Services
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Division, Planning and Environmental Services pages — none addresses utility interconnection sequencing; this is a PG&E-side (Rule 21) process I did not fetch this run.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuildings & Code Enforcement FAQ and Building Division page — neither mentions HOA or architectural-review approval as a permit prerequisite.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Code Ch. 17.108 (Historical Preservation) requires a 'Certificate of Approval' (§17.108.040) for any exterior 'alteration' of a designated cultural resource or any property within a designated historic district — which would capture a rooftop PV installation on such a property. It does not apply citywide, only to designated sites/districts. Sourced from a 26 Jul 2017 Wayback capture of codepublishing.com because the live site 403s automated fetches; chapter number is unchanged in the most recent (13 Jan 2025) Title 17 table of contents I could reach, but the section text itself could not be re-verified as current.
municipal code (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20170726105629/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters17/Winters17108.html
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm-certification program (TDI-style) exists under California's building-code framework; wind is handled as a design parameter within the adopted CBC/CRC rather than a separate certificate. Not city-specific evidence found, so treating as a state-level inference rather than a confirmed local absence.
inference from state building-code framework checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/224/Building-Division
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedArchived Zoning Code Ch. 17.68 (Performance Standards) — fetched in full, no mention of solar or a Use Permit trigger for it (control: 'electrical' appears in the same chapter, so the chapter's text is genuinely readable, not a fetch failure). The current live code's full-text search could not be run because codepublishing.com 403s automated tools, so this is a name/chapter-level check rather than a proven citywide absence.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No codified residential solar system-size cap found. The city's former standalone 'Solar Energy Code' (old Ch. 15.48, two sections: 'Adoption' and 'Permit fees') never contained a size limit, and it was removed entirely from the code in a recodification on or before Sept. 2022 — the current Title 15 table of contents has no chapter between 15.40 (Moving of Structures) and 15.52 (Permit Issuance Requirements), and Title 17 (Zoning)'s current table of contents has no solar or renewable-energy chapter either.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is a name-level chapter-list comparison (old TOC vs. the most recent, 13 Jan 2025, Wayback capture of the current TOC), not a full-text search of the live current code, because codepublishing.com 403s automated full-text search tools. A cap could in principle sit inside a chapter whose title doesn't say 'solar' (e.g. Performance Standards, §17.68, which I did fetch and which is silent on solar too, using 'electrical' as a working positive-control term that does appear in that chapter).
municipal code table of contents (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20250113201926/https://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters15.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 65% · department page + statewide code-cycle inference
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (California Code of Regulations, Title 24) 90% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (inferred from the statewide Title 24 cycle) 55% · municipal code (archived capture) + statewide code-cycle inference
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 65% · municipal code (archived capture)
- What is the installation judged against? The 2025 California Building Code, Residential Code, Electrical Code, and Fire Code (Title 24), as locally amended, per the city's own adoption statement. 70% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Winters on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Winters on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Winters on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 60% · municipal code (archived capture)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, conditionally — the Winters Fire Protection District's current fee schedule (Schedule E) carries a 'Battery System' California Fire Code §105.7 construction-permit line ($405), meaning battery/ESS installations are contemplated and permitted subject to that fire construction permit. No further conditions (size, location, occupancy) are stated in the fee schedule itself. 70% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes 78% · published fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, inferred 50% · published fee schedule (inference)
20 questions answered against City of Winters’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCity's live Building Division page states 'Effective January 1, 2026, the City of Winters adopted the enforcement of the 2025 California Building Code of Regulations Title 24.' California's Title 24 code parts move on one statewide 3-year cycle, and the 2025 CEC (Part 3) is based on the 2023 NEC — but this is an inference from the statewide cycle, not a direct city statement naming the NEC/CEC edition specifically; I could not reach the current 15.16 Electrical Code adoption section to confirm it in the city's own words.
department page + statewide code-cycle inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/224/Building-Division
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (California Code of Regulations, Title 24)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the city's current Building Division page: 'Effective January 1, 2026, the City of Winters adopted the enforcement of the 2025 California Building Code of Regulations Title 24.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/224/Building-Division
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (inferred from the statewide Title 24 cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherNot directly confirmed on the live site. An archived (2016) capture of MC §15.20.010 showed the 2007 CFC, many cycles stale relative to the city's current 2025 CBC adoption; I inferred the current fire-code edition from the same statewide Title 24 cycle used for q29/q30 rather than from a direct current-code statement.
municipal code (archived capture) + statewide code-cycle inference checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20160908185820/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters1520.html
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe archived Fire Code chapter (§15.20.040) shows extensive local amendments (sprinkler mandates beyond state minimums, address-numbering rules, fire-lane marking rules); the Electrical Code chapter (§15.16.030) similarly carries local service-sizing and grounding amendments. These are from a stale (2016-2017) capture but demonstrate the pattern of local amendment exists; whether every specific amendment survives in the current 2025-cycle code is unconfirmed.
municipal code (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20160908185820/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters1520.html
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 2025 California Building Code, Residential Code, Electrical Code, and Fire Code (Title 24), as locally amended, per the city's own adoption statement.
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as q30; the current Title 15 table of contents (13 Jan 2025 capture) confirms separate 15.08 Building Code, 15.10 Residential Code, 15.16 Electrical Code and 15.20 Fire Code chapters all still exist as of that capture, each presumably updated to the same 2025 cycle the Building Division page describes.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/224/Building-Division
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedArchived Electrical Code §15.16.030(C) sets minimum service-equipment ratings for NEW residential construction generally, but nothing addressing a service upgrade or busbar-sizing rule specific to adding PV to an existing service.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo PV-specific mounting/attachment-spacing document found; no dedicated solar checklist exists (see q11), and the archived Building Code table of contents shows no separate solar-mounting section.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/339/Permit-Requirements-Checklists
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedArchived Fire Code chapter (§15.20.040), fetched in full — extensive local amendments on sprinklers, address numbering, and hydrant clearances, but nothing on PV ridge setback or roof access pathways. Not a full-text-search-proven absence on the current code, since the live site 403s automated tools; sourced from a 2016 capture only.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame archived Fire Code chapter and the Electrical Code chapter — neither mentions rapid shutdown or NEC §690.12 by name; the 2023-NEC-based 2025 CEC applies by statewide reference (see q29) but no city document states the rapid-shutdown requirement in its own words.
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (21 and 12 results), Building Division, FAQ, and archived Fire/Electrical code chapters — no city-authored placard specification found for PV service-equipment labeling.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no city-specified placard wording found anywhere.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no letter-height/color/material specification found in any Winters-authored document.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no facility-map/site-plan placard requirement (NEC 705.10-style) named in any city document.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDid not fetch PG&E's own Rule 21/interconnection handbook this run — utility-level document, out of scope of what the city itself publishes.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as q38 — no city-specified label-placement rule found.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherArchived Electrical Code §15.16.030(D)(2): 'Listing or labeling, as conforming to the standards or the Underwriters Laboratories, Inc., the United States Bureau of Standards... shall be prima facie evidence of conformity with the approved standards.' Not solar-specific and from a stale (2017) capture, but shows the general listing requirement exists.
municipal code (archived capture) checked 2026-08-31 https://web.archive.org/web/20170726114933/http://www.codepublishing.com/CA/Winters/html/Winters15/Winters1516.html
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, conditionally — the Winters Fire Protection District's current fee schedule (Schedule E) carries a 'Battery System' California Fire Code §105.7 construction-permit line ($405), meaning battery/ESS installations are contemplated and permitted subject to that fire construction permit. No further conditions (size, location, occupancy) are stated in the fee schedule itself.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the current fee-schedule PDF; the schedule states only that a permit and fee exist, not the technical conditions under which batteries are approved.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Fire schedule (Schedule E, CFC §105.7 Construction Permits) lists 'Battery System $405' as a distinct line from 'Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems $405' — i.e., a separate ESS permit/fee from the PV permit.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, inferred
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Fee Schedule prices 'Photovoltaic System-Rack Mounted' ($408) higher than 'Photovoltaic System-Roof Mounted' ($345), a fee differential consistent with (but not stated to be caused by) additional structural/foundation review for a ground/rack-mounted array. No code text found stating ground-mount is treated as an accessory structure.
published fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Division, FAQ and fee-schedule documents — none states an AC-disconnect-to-meter placement rule; this is typically a PG&E service-equipment (Greenbook/Rule 21) requirement not fetched this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 82% · department FAQ page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 75% · department FAQ page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? The city issues a job card at permit issuance listing required inspections in chronological order; the FAQ does not enumerate a solar-specific inspection sequence, so for a routine residential PV permit this is presumed to be a single final inspection by the Building Division, potentially alongside a separate Winters Fire Protection District inspection under its own CFC §105.7 permit. 50% · department FAQ page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 68% · site search results (self-verified, not a WebFetch summary)
- What must be on site at inspection? The issued job card/inspection card, generally; no PV-specific on-site document requirement (e.g. equipment spec sheets, single-line diagram) is stated by the city for inspection day. 45% · department FAQ page (inference)
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, inferred 55% · department FAQ page (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $180 (Winters Fire Protection District: 'Re-Inspection, 1 hour minimum, then actual time'). The Building Division's own current fee schedule has no line item literally named 're-inspection'; it may instead bill under the generic 'Inspection not otherwise specified-per hour $123' or 'Supplemental Inspection fee (per hour) $123' lines. 60% · published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout, with controls)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? If an inspection is not approved, the inspector writes a Correction Notice identifying the items to fix; once corrections are complete the inspection request may be 'recalled' (re-scheduled). If the applicant schedules an inspection but is not ready or has not completed prior corrections, a re-inspection fee may be assessed. 88% · department FAQ page
14 questions answered against City of Winters’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'How do I request an inspection? You may contact the Building and Code Enforcement Division at 530 794-6708 to request an inspection' — no portal or email option is described for scheduling (only for submitting applications).
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ states inspections are 'typically completed M-Th 7 a.m. - 3 p.m.' and that 'due to limited staff next day inspections can not be guaranteed,' but never states a formal minimum-notice period in days.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame FAQ — no mention of same-day booking or AM/PM inspection windows either way.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'The inspector verifies that the construction conforms to the approved plans and meets applicable Building Codes... The City of Winters inspects to the minimum standards of the codes' — the city's own Building Division performs its own final inspection. Note the separately-governed Winters Fire Protection District also issues and presumably inspects its own CFC §105.7 Solar Photovoltaic/Battery construction permits (its fee schedule includes its own 'Re-Inspection' line) — a parallel, non-delegated agency rather than a delegate of the city.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedN/A — the City's own Building Division performs its own final building/electrical inspection (see q52), so there is no delegate to name on that side. The separately-governed Winters Fire Protection District is not a delegate of the city's authority but an independent special district with its own jurisdiction (see jurisdiction block); it is not 'delegation' in the sense this question asks.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
The city issues a job card at permit issuance listing required inspections in chronological order; the FAQ does not enumerate a solar-specific inspection sequence, so for a routine residential PV permit this is presumed to be a single final inspection by the Building Division, potentially alongside a separate Winters Fire Protection District inspection under its own CFC §105.7 permit.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral FAQ process description ('You will receive a job card at the permit issuance which lists inspections in chronological order') plus inference from the two separate permits found in the fee schedule; no document lists PV-specific stages by name.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ's general inspection-sequence description (job card listing inspections 'in chronological order') never breaks out a rough-in or mid-roof stage, and no PV-specific document exists to check instead.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, inferred
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ states generally that 'the inspector verifies that the construction conforms to the approved plans and meets applicable Building Codes,' and the Electrical Code (§15.16.030(D)) requires equipment to be listed/labeled — implying an inspector would check for it — but no document states label/listing verification as a discrete PV inspection step.
department FAQ page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own site search for 'solar' (21 results) and 'photovoltaic' (12 results) surfaces only fee schedules, the Climate Action Plan, and an ADU plan set — no PV-specific inspection checklist document exists among them, and the Permit Requirements & Checklists page (built for exactly this purpose, for the 'T.I. Tuesdays Over-The-Counter Permitting Program') links only a fee schedule, no checklist PDFs of any kind.
site search results (self-verified, not a WebFetch summary) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The issued job card/inspection card, generally; no PV-specific on-site document requirement (e.g. equipment spec sheets, single-line diagram) is stated by the city for inspection day.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general FAQ description of the job-card process; no solar-specific 'what must be on site' requirement was found in any city document.
department FAQ page (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$180 (Winters Fire Protection District: 'Re-Inspection, 1 hour minimum, then actual time'). The Building Division's own current fee schedule has no line item literally named 're-inspection'; it may instead bill under the generic 'Inspection not otherwise specified-per hour $123' or 'Supplemental Inspection fee (per hour) $123' lines.
Why the confidence is not higherThe $180 Fire figure is a direct read from the current fee schedule PDF. The Building-side absence is control-checked within that same PDF (0 hits for 're-inspection'/'reinspection', vs. 4 hits for the positive control 'electrical' and 0 for the fabricated control 'zzqqx'), so the search itself is proven to work; the $123/hr line is offered as the most likely catch-all, not a confirmed re-inspection fee.
published fee schedule (extracted with pdftotext -layout, with controls) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/DocumentCenter/View/1693/Fiscal-2026-27-City-Fee-Schedule
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
If an inspection is not approved, the inspector writes a Correction Notice identifying the items to fix; once corrections are complete the inspection request may be 'recalled' (re-scheduled). If the applicant schedules an inspection but is not ready or has not completed prior corrections, a re-inspection fee may be assessed.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the FAQ's 'What happens if I fail an inspection?' answer — general building-permit process, not confirmed solar-specific but no reason to expect a different process for PV.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ describes the inspection/correction-notice process and says the inspection card 'becomes part of the property record' but never names a specific document issued on final pass (Certificate of Occupancy vs. Final vs. Green Tag vs. Letter) for a residential retrofit permit like PV.
https://www.cityofwinters.org/338/Buildings-Code-Enforcement-FAQs
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Building Division, FAQ, and Environmental Services pages — none states who submits interconnection/PTO paperwork to the utility; this is typically a PG&E-side process not addressed by any city document found this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Winters against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Winters is the authority having jurisdiction 82% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house Community Development Dept., Building and Code Enforcement Division)
- Overridden by
- Fire-code enforcement is NOT performed by the City itself. It sits with the independently governed Winters Fire Protection District (WFPD) — its own domain (wintersfire.org), its own email addresses (wfdadmin@wintersfire.org, wifd.records@wintersfire.org), and its own 'Commissioner Board Meetings' / 'WFPD Financial Information & Reserve Policy' pages linked from the city site. WFPD's own inspection-request page states it performs fire inspections 'in both unincorporated and incorporated areas in Winters' — i.e. it is the fire AHJ for the city AND the surrounding unincorporated county area, a wider footprint than the city's own Building Division. WFPD issues its own separate California Fire Code §105.7 'Solar Photovoltaic Power Systems' construction permit ($405) and its own 'Battery System' construction permit ($405), independent of the City Building Division's own PV permit fee ($345/$408). Despite this, WFPD's fee schedule (Schedule E) is published inside the same City Council-adopted 'Fiscal 2026-27 City Fee Schedule' under Resolution 2026-31 alongside Building, Police and Recreation — an unresolved tension between an independently-governed district and a jointly-published, city-resolution-set fee schedule; reporting both rather than picking one.
- Why not higher
- City's own Building Division page (building.division@cityofwinters.org) and Buildings & Code Enforcement FAQ describe an in-house Community Development Dept. Building and Code Enforcement Division that reviews plans, issues permits (explicitly naming 'Photovoltaic systems' among work requiring a permit) and performs its own inspections — no delegation to Yolo County found for Building/Electrical inside city limits. Not higher because the Fire side is a genuinely separate agency (see overridden_by) and because the city's live current municipal-code text could not be read directly (codepublishing.com/CA/Winters returns a Cloudflare 403 to both curl and WebFetch); the code-structure evidence below is the most recent Wayback Machine capture available and is dated accordingly.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $345 flat (roof-mounted PV) or $408 flat (rack/ground-mounted PV), City Building Permit fee (Schedule A, Resolution 2026-31, eff.88%
- Plan review
- Not stated specifically for solar. General FAQ turnaround for permits requiring plan check: 'Minor projects - 5-10 working days;55%
- Portal
- No online permit portal identified. Applications are accepted by mail, fax, or email to the Building and Code Enforcement Division, or in person at the City Hall counter;72%
- Electrical code
- 202365%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.