City of Woodlake
Tulare County
City of Woodlake is a city authority in the State of California, serving 7,419 residents. 877 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — No fixed day-count is stated for the initial plan-review stage. WMC 17.64.050(D) only requires that review 'must not be willfully avoided or delayed' and beβ¦ Q18 Where you file — No dedicated online permitting portal was found. Permits are submitted by email (jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Building; Q20
- Permit required
- Yes92% source
- What it costs
- $400 flat for 1-15 kW (itemized as $153 plan check + $247 permit/inspection); $5.50 per kW for each kW above 15 kW95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- No fixed day-count is stated for the initial plan-review stage. WMC 17.64.050(D) only requires that review 'must not be willfully avoided or delayed' and be processed 'in the same manner as anβ¦75% source
- Key document
- permit application form + municipal code cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county β but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 70% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 92% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · permit application form
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 80% · municipal code (proven absence)
- Is there a historic-district review? No 75% · municipal code TOC (proven absence)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 62% · municipal code (proven absence) + general CA practice
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally: WMC 17.64.060 requires a Conditional Use Permit only if the Building Official makes a finding, based on substantial evidence, that the proposed solar system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.' The city's own Planning Fees schedule prices a 'Conditional/Special Use Permit' at $2,500. 88% · municipal code + fee schedule
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard citywide size cap on residential solar. The 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal figure (WMC 17.64.020(B), cross-referencing Gov. Code Β§65850.5(j)(3)) only defines eligibility for THIS chapter's expedited/administrative process; larger residential systems are not prohibited, they simply fall outside the chapter's streamlined path and would be subject to ordinary review (and the conditional-use-permit trigger of 17.64.060 if an adverse-impact finding is made). 75% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 58% · permit application form
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 75% · permit application form + municipal code
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · municipal code (inference from silence)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in β the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the city's general Building Permit submittal checklist (no solar-specific checklist was found β see note): 3 full sets of plans plus 1 digital copy, including as applicable: Site Plan; Floor plan; Framing plan and/or Floors/Roof; Foundation plan; Elevation plan (N/S/E/W); Electrical plan; Plumbing plan; Mechanical/HVAC plan; Fire Sprinkler Plan (if applicable); Solar Plan (if applicable); a Site Plan to scale/dimensioned showing on-site and off-site improvements and existing water/sewer connections; curb/gutter/sidewalk/driveway approaches; Truss Calculations; complete Title 24 Energy Calculations; Recycling & Reuse Plan; Landscaping & Irrigation Plan. 78% · published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? 3 full sets of plans (paper) plus 1 digital copy, per the general Building Permit submittal checklist. 75% · published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes β the general checklist requires a 'Site Plan to Scale / Dimensioned' showing all on-site and off-site improvements and the location of all existing water and sewer service connections to each building, plus curb, gutter, sidewalks and driveway approaches. It does not itemize solar-specific content (panel layout, fire pathways, equipment locations) the way some cities' dedicated solar checklists do. 68% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Likely yes, but not stated in those words 55% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? No dedicated online permitting portal was found. Permits are submitted by email (jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Building; mrodriguez@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Utilities/Encroachment) or in person at City Hall, 350 N Valencia Blvd. The homepage 'Online Payments' button (Paymentus, ipn.paymentus.com/rotp/ckal) is a bill-payment portal, not a permit-application system. 75% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 75% · permit application form
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $400 flat for 1-15 kW (itemized as $153 plan check + $247 permit/inspection); $5.50 per kW for each kW above 15 kW 95% · published fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · published fee schedule
-
Plan review β and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? No fixed day-count is stated for the initial plan-review stage. WMC 17.64.050(D) only requires that review 'must not be willfully avoided or delayed' and be processed 'in the same manner as an application for approval of an architectural modification... administrative, nondiscretionary and similar to approval of building permits.' The chapter's only numeric timelines are for the post-application inspection stage: inspection scheduled within 5 business days of a written request (three-hour window), and the building permit issued or denied within 2 business days after the inspection (WMC 17.64.070(B)-(C)). 75% · municipal code
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Not locally amended; governed by the state model code default (CBC/CRC Β§105.5, incorporated by wholesale adoption) since WMC Chapter 15.04 β read in full β contains only three sections (adoption, fees, violation/penalty) and none addresses permit expiration or extension. 60% · municipal code (proven absence of local amendment)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 90% · department page
28 questions answered against City of Woodlake’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWMC Chapter 17.64 (Ord. No. 650, 4-28-2025) is titled 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems' and states in 17.64.030(A) that it 'applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city'; the city's own Building Division (350 N Valencia Blvd) processes the permits per its department page.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's Building Division issues a single Building Permit covering building and electrical trades in-house (contact jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us, city domain); no staffing appendix, contract firm, or county delegation was found anywhere in the fee schedule or department page. Not higher because no explicit staffing roster names the Building Official.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwoodlake.com/departments/planning/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.030(A) applies the chapter to 'all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the city'; the city's FAQ page states 'a construction permit is needed for all new construction' and lists only narrow exemptions (fences, small platforms) that do not include solar.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's single 'Building Permit Application' form and its submittal checklist list 'Solar Plan (If Applicable)' and 'Electrical plan' as line items under one combined Building Permit; the Fee Schedule breaks the fee out by trade (Building Fees / Electrical Fees) for calculation purposes only, not as separately-pulled permits.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Permit Application has a 'Contractor Information' section (license number, type, expiration) but no box restricting solar/electrical work to a licensed electrician only, and no owner-builder exclusion. California law generally allows an owner-builder path; Woodlake publishes no document either confirming or excluding it for solar specifically.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 5.04.050: 'it is unlawful for any person to transact and carry on any business, trade, profession, calling or occupation in the city without first having procured a license from the city'; the city's own Building Permit Application has a dedicated 'Woodlake Business License #' field for the contractor.
permit application form + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo document found that excludes owner-builders from solar permitting; WMC 17.64 imposes no contractor-only restriction. This is an inference from the absence of a restriction plus general California owner-builder practice, not a Woodlake document that says so affirmatively.
municipal code (inference from silence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the city's general Building Permit submittal checklist (no solar-specific checklist was found β see note): 3 full sets of plans plus 1 digital copy, including as applicable: Site Plan; Floor plan; Framing plan and/or Floors/Roof; Foundation plan; Elevation plan (N/S/E/W); Electrical plan; Plumbing plan; Mechanical/HVAC plan; Fire Sprinkler Plan (if applicable); Solar Plan (if applicable); a Site Plan to scale/dimensioned showing on-site and off-site improvements and existing water/sewer connections; curb/gutter/sidewalk/driveway approaches; Truss Calculations; complete Title 24 Energy Calculations; Recycling & Reuse Plan; Landscaping & Irrigation Plan.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted directly (pdftotext) from 'Building Permit App with checklist.pdf', the only permit-application document in the city's own 'Permits, Applications & Forms' Google Drive folder that references solar. WMC 17.64.050(A) requires the Building Inspector to adopt and publish a dedicated small-residential-solar checklist conforming to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook, but no such dedicated document was found in either the Permits/Forms folder or the Planning Documents folder (both fully listed) β only this generic one-line 'Solar Plan (If Applicable)' item on the general building checklist.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
3 full sets of plans (paper) plus 1 digital copy, per the general Building Permit submittal checklist.
Why the confidence is not higherSame checklist as Q8, extracted directly; no solar-specific copy count was found separately.
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes β the general checklist requires a 'Site Plan to Scale / Dimensioned' showing all on-site and off-site improvements and the location of all existing water and sewer service connections to each building, plus curb, gutter, sidewalks and driveway approaches. It does not itemize solar-specific content (panel layout, fire pathways, equipment locations) the way some cities' dedicated solar checklists do.
Why the confidence is not higherExtracted from the general Building Permit checklist; no solar-specific site-plan requirement document was found (see Q8 note on the missing dedicated checklist).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Likely yes, but not stated in those words
Why the confidence is not higherThe general checklist lists 'Electrical plan' as a required submittal item but never uses the phrase 'one-line diagram' or 'three-line diagram'; no dedicated solar checklist exists to confirm this explicitly (see Q8).
published checklist checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the general Building Permit checklist ('Building Permit App with checklist.pdf') and WMC Chapter 17.64 in full β neither states a string/conductor calculation requirement; the checklist only names 'Truss Calculations' and 'Complete Energy Calculations (Title 24 forms)' as generic calc items, with nothing solar-electrical-specific.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched WMC Chapter 15.04 (3 sections, full text) and Chapter 17.64 (full text) and the general Building Permit checklist β none states a valuation, weight, or size threshold triggering a structural PE stamp for solar; the checklist requires only a 'designer name' generically for all building permits.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q13 β no electrical PE stamp threshold is stated anywhere in the corpus searched.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$400 flat for 1-15 kW (itemized as $153 plan check + $247 permit/inspection); $5.50 per kW for each kW above 15 kW
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Woodlake Fee Schedule, effective January 1, 2026 (PDF created 12/16/2025), page 17, section 'Photovoltaic System - as Set by Senate Bill SB1222' under Building Permit Fees > Electrical Fees. Read directly from a rendered page image, not a text-layer summary, because pdftotext badly garbled the $ signs on this scanned document.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat $400 for 1-15 kW, then $5.50/kW for capacity above 15 kW β a two-tier structure, not pure flat or pure per-kW.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe $400 residential/commercial 1-15kW line is itself broken out as '$153 PC + $247' in the fee schedule, i.e. a $153 plan-check component is separately identified within the total.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
No fixed day-count is stated for the initial plan-review stage. WMC 17.64.050(D) only requires that review 'must not be willfully avoided or delayed' and be processed 'in the same manner as an application for approval of an architectural modification... administrative, nondiscretionary and similar to approval of building permits.' The chapter's only numeric timelines are for the post-application inspection stage: inspection scheduled within 5 business days of a written request (three-hour window), and the building permit issued or denied within 2 business days after the inspection (WMC 17.64.070(B)-(C)).
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from WMC 17.64.050(D) and 17.64.070(B)-(C); no separate document was found stating a same-day or X-day plan-review turnaround the way some CA cities publish.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Not locally amended; governed by the state model code default (CBC/CRC Β§105.5, incorporated by wholesale adoption) since WMC Chapter 15.04 β read in full β contains only three sections (adoption, fees, violation/penalty) and none addresses permit expiration or extension.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 15.04 was read in its entirety via the Municode API (3 sections total); none amends the state's permit-validity rule, so the CBC/CRC's own default duration applies by operation of the wholesale-adoption clause in 15.04.010.
municipal code (proven absence of local amendment) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
No dedicated online permitting portal was found. Permits are submitted by email (jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Building; mrodriguez@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Utilities/Encroachment) or in person at City Hall, 350 N Valencia Blvd. The homepage 'Online Payments' button (Paymentus, ipn.paymentus.com/rotp/ckal) is a bill-payment portal, not a permit-application system.
Why the confidence is not higherPlanning & Building department page names only email/counter intake; the homepage's only other online system is the Paymentus payment link, which does not reference permits.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwoodlake.com/departments/planning/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo online application system was found (see Q20); the Building Permit Application form requires a wet or scanned signature submitted by email or in person, not an online form.
permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's own 'Energy Resources' page states plainly: 'In collaboration with Southern California Edison (SCE), SoCal Gas (SCG) and the VIEW Partnership... the city is making meaningful, cost-effective and lasting changes to the way the city uses energy,' and lists SCE-specific solar-incentive and rebate programs. City-sourced, not from PowerToChoose.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofwoodlake.com/about/energy-resources/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Energy Resources page and Planning & Building department page were checked for any statement sequencing utility interconnection against permitting; neither addresses it. SCE's own Rule 21 / net-energy-metering interconnection handbook was not fetched this run, so this is a genuine gap rather than a proven absence at the utility level.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWMC Chapter 17.64 β read in full β contains no requirement for HOA or architectural-committee approval prior to city permit issuance. 17.64.020(D)-(E) merely defines 'association' and 'common interest development' as terms (mirroring Civil Code Β§714's prohibition on HOAs unreasonably restricting solar); no operative section conditions the city's permit on HOA sign-off.
municipal code (proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo 'Historic' title, chapter, or overlay zone appears anywhere in the Woodlake Municipal Code table of contents (confirmed by walking the full TOC via the Municode API), and WMC Chapter 17.64 makes no reference to historic-district review.
municipal code TOC (proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherWMC Chapter 15.04 (the entire construction-codes chapter, 3 sections) contains no windstorm-certification requirement, and California does not operate a TDI-style wind certification program; wind loading is handled as a Title 24 design parameter, not a separate certificate.
municipal code (proven absence) + general CA practice checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally: WMC 17.64.060 requires a Conditional Use Permit only if the Building Official makes a finding, based on substantial evidence, that the proposed solar system 'could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.' The city's own Planning Fees schedule prices a 'Conditional/Special Use Permit' at $2,500.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.060 read directly; CUP fee from the current (eff. 1/1/2026) Fee Schedule, Planning Fees section, page 7.
municipal code + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard citywide size cap on residential solar. The 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal figure (WMC 17.64.020(B), cross-referencing Gov. Code Β§65850.5(j)(3)) only defines eligibility for THIS chapter's expedited/administrative process; larger residential systems are not prohibited, they simply fall outside the chapter's streamlined path and would be subject to ordinary review (and the conditional-use-permit trigger of 17.64.060 if an adverse-impact finding is made).
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.020(B) and 17.64.030(A) read directly; no separate zoning-title provision imposes a different residential solar size cap (confirmed β the word 'solar' occurs nowhere else in Title 17 besides Chapter 17.64 itself).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 (via the currently-operative 2025 California Electrical Code) 72% · municipal code (self-updating adoption clause)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC), via the same self-updating clause described in Q29 β the chapter's literal text still reads '2022.' 72% · municipal code (self-updating adoption clause)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), via the same self-updating clause β literal chapter text reads '2022.' 72% · municipal code (self-updating adoption clause)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? No 82% · municipal code (proven absence of technical amendments)
- What is the installation judged against? The currently-operative Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CGBC etc., wholesale-adopted, unamended for solar specifically β see Q29-32), plus WMC 17.64.040's general requirement that the system 'satisfy all applicable health and safety standards and requirements enacted by the state and the city.' 78% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Woodlake on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Woodlake on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass β this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Woodlake on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Battery/ESS systems require a separate annual Fire Code operational permit β the current Fee Schedule lists 'Battery System β $18 Annual' under 'Fire Department Fees > California Fire Code Permits' (the standard CFC Table 105.6-style operational-permit list). No Woodlake-specific technical conditions (clearance, kWh threshold, R-3 exemption, etc.) were found anywhere in the municipal code β WMC Title 15 and Chapter 17.64 both return zero hits for 'battery' or 'energy storage,' so any technical conditions rest entirely on the wholesale-adopted 2025 CFC's own default provisions. 60% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes β a separate annual Fire Code operational permit ('Battery System,' $18/year) is billed distinctly from the PV installation permit in the city's own current Fee Schedule. 65% · published fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Woodlake’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 (via the currently-operative 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 15.04.010 literally lists 'Part 3 - California Electrical Code 2022' (last amended by Ord. No. 645, 4-10-2023), but the SAME section states 'Any changes made by the California Building Standards Commission applicable to the City, including new editions, shall be deemed incorporated herein.' The statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle (based on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026, so under this self-updating clause the 2025 CEC/2023 NEC is what is actually in force today, even though the chapter's own printed text still reads '2022.'
municipal code (self-updating adoption clause) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC), via the same self-updating clause described in Q29 β the chapter's literal text still reads '2022.'
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 15.04.010(B); self-updating incorporation clause in the same section.
municipal code (self-updating adoption clause) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC), via the same self-updating clause β literal chapter text reads '2022.'
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 15.04.010(J); self-updating incorporation clause in the same section.
municipal code (self-updating adoption clause) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
No
Why the confidence is not higherWMC Chapter 15.04 was read in full via the Municode API and contains exactly three sections β 15.04.010 (adoption), 15.04.020 (fees), 15.04.030 (violation/penalty) β with no technical local amendments to the state model codes. This is a materially thinner amendment chapter than most CA cities in this survey (compare Lincoln's broadened sprinkler mandate, permit-expiration and grading amendments). Positive control 'electrical' returned 16 hits and fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned 0 hits in the same extracted Title 15 text, confirming the extraction was working.
municipal code (proven absence of technical amendments) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The currently-operative Title 24 codes (CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/CGBC etc., wholesale-adopted, unamended for solar specifically β see Q29-32), plus WMC 17.64.040's general requirement that the system 'satisfy all applicable health and safety standards and requirements enacted by the state and the city.'
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 15.04.010 and 17.64.040 read directly.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWMC Chapter 15.04 (all 3 sections, full text) and Chapter 17.64 (full text) contain no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule; only a generic electrical fee schedule with no accompanying technical rule.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched the general Building Permit checklist (only a bare 'Solar Plan (If Applicable)' line item, no spec) and WMC Chapter 17.64 in full β no mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement found anywhere.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWMC Chapter 15.04 (full text, 3 sections) contains no fire-code chapter of its own and no local pathway/setback amendment; the entire Municipal Code TOC has no separate Fire title (fire is adopted wholesale via 15.04.010(J) with no local amendment section). Chapter 17.64 addresses process only, not technical fire-pathway specs. Whatever the wholesale-adopted 2025 CFC/CRC prescribe by default was not independently verified this run.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched WMC 15.04 (full text) and 17.64 (full text) and the general Building Permit checklist for 'rapid shutdown' and '690.12' β zero hits in all three. Rapid shutdown is presumably required by operation of the wholesale-adopted 2023 NEC/2025 CEC (see Q29), but no Woodlake document states this in its own words.
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched WMC Title 15 (full text, all chapters) and Chapter 17.64 for 'placard' β zero hits (positive control 'electrical' = 16 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits in the same extracted text, confirming the search worked). No separate Fire title exists in the code (see Q36) to check for a placard chapter there.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 β zero hits for placard wording anywhere in the corpus checked.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 β zero hits for letter-height, colour, or material specification anywhere in the corpus checked.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 (also checked for 'facility map' and '705.10') β zero hits; the general Building checklist requires only a generic site plan (Q10), not a dedicated facility-map placard.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T37SNJUYbECoi484Bw3Tgn4bPIsjHjZX/view
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own Rule 21 / distributed-generation interconnection manual was not fetched this run; this is a utility-level document outside what the city itself publishes.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 β no label-placement rule found anywhere in the city's own documents.
https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04COCO
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched WMC Chapter 17.64 (full text) and Chapter 15.04 (full text) β neither states an equipment-listing (e.g., UL-listed) requirement in the city's own words; this presumably rests on wholesale-adopted CEC/NEC listing requirements (NEC 110.3(B)) rather than a city-specific list.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Battery/ESS systems require a separate annual Fire Code operational permit β the current Fee Schedule lists 'Battery System β $18 Annual' under 'Fire Department Fees > California Fire Code Permits' (the standard CFC Table 105.6-style operational-permit list). No Woodlake-specific technical conditions (clearance, kWh threshold, R-3 exemption, etc.) were found anywhere in the municipal code β WMC Title 15 and Chapter 17.64 both return zero hits for 'battery' or 'energy storage,' so any technical conditions rest entirely on the wholesale-adopted 2025 CFC's own default provisions.
Why the confidence is not higherFee Schedule p.24 (Fire Department Fees) read directly; zero 'battery'/'energy storage' hits confirmed across the full Title 15 and Chapter 17.64 text (positive control 'electrical' = 16 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits in the same extraction).
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes β a separate annual Fire Code operational permit ('Battery System,' $18/year) is billed distinctly from the PV installation permit in the city's own current Fee Schedule.
Why the confidence is not higherSame Fee Schedule line as Q45. Note: Woodlake Fire Protection District describes itself on its own website as an independent fire protection district (est. 1924) separate from the city, yet this fee appears inside the CITY's own published Fee Schedule under a 'Fire Department Fees' heading β an unresolved tension flagged rather than picked, similar to the Saratoga/Dixon shapes: it is unclear whether the city collects this fee on WFPD's behalf or whether the schedule is stale/inherited boilerplate.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched WMC Chapter 17.64 (titled and scoped to ROOFTOP systems only β 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems') and Chapter 15.04/Grading Fees β the term 'ground mount' / 'ground-mount' appears nowhere in either. Woodlake's expedited chapter may not even reach ground-mounted systems given its rooftop-only title and definitions; no separate ground-mount provision was found to confirm one way or the other.
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG interconnection manual (AC disconnect/meter placement rules) was not fetched this run; city documents (checklist, WMC 17.64) do not address it.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after β the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Written request (email or in person) to the Building Division, per WMC 17.64.070(B) ('an inspection will be scheduled within five (5) business days after a written request is received by the city'); general building questions are also directed to the department phone line, 559-564-8055. No online booking portal was found. 62% · municipal code + department page
- How much notice is required? Not stated as an applicant advance-notice requirement. What WMC 17.64.070(B) states is the CITY's own commitment: an inspection 'will be scheduled within five (5) business days after a written request is received by the city' (absent extraordinary circumstances). 65% · municipal code
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? A three-hour inspection window is provided ('the applicant must be provided with a three-hour inspection window,' WMC 17.64.070(B)). AM/PM-specific windows and same-day inspection are not addressed. 78% · municipal code
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? Conditionally Woodlake Fire Protection District β WMC 17.64.070(A) provides for 'a separate fire safety inspection... whenever the city does not have an agreement with a local fire authority to conduct a fire safety inspection on behalf of the fire authority.' WFPD is confirmed (from its own website) to be a legally independent fire protection district, established 1924, separate from the city. Whether the city currently HAS such an inter-agency agreement (which would mean the Building Official's single inspection already covers fire, with no separate WFPD visit) was not confirmed from any document found this run. 55% · municipal code + fire district website
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For qualifying small residential rooftop solar: one inspection performed by the Building Official (WMC 17.64.070(A)), plus a separate fire-safety inspection only if no city/WFPD agreement exists (see Q53); the Building Official then issues or denies the building permit within 2 business days after whichever inspection completes last (17.64.070(C)). 78% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 82% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 68% · document folder listing (proven absence)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Two unreconciled figures appear in the current Fee Schedule: a flat '$183 each' Re-Inspection Fee (Building Fees > Additional Inspection Fee, p.12) and a separate '$73.00 per hour (one hour minimum)' Re-inspection fee (Building Fees > Other Inspections and Fees, p.13). The schedule does not reconcile which applies to solar/electrical re-inspections specifically. 60% · published fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? If a small residential rooftop solar system fails its inspection, WMC 17.64.070(A) provides that 'a subsequent inspection must be scheduled which need not conform to the requirements of this chapter' β i.e., the re-inspection loses the chapter's expedited 5-business-day scheduling guarantee. No separate written-correction-notice procedure specific to a failed field inspection was found (WMC 15.30.040(B)'s written-correction-notice language applies to EV charging station APPLICATION completeness, not to failed solar field inspections). 62% · municipal code
14 questions answered against City of Woodlake’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Written request (email or in person) to the Building Division, per WMC 17.64.070(B) ('an inspection will be scheduled within five (5) business days after a written request is received by the city'); general building questions are also directed to the department phone line, 559-564-8055. No online booking portal was found.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(B) plus the department contact info on the Planning & Building page and FAQ page ('call the City at 559-564-8055').
municipal code + department page checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Not stated as an applicant advance-notice requirement. What WMC 17.64.070(B) states is the CITY's own commitment: an inspection 'will be scheduled within five (5) business days after a written request is received by the city' (absent extraordinary circumstances).
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(B) read directly; no separate document states how much notice an applicant must give.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
A three-hour inspection window is provided ('the applicant must be provided with a three-hour inspection window,' WMC 17.64.070(B)). AM/PM-specific windows and same-day inspection are not addressed.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(B) read directly.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(A): 'only one (1) inspection shall be required and performed by the building official' for qualifying small residential rooftop solar systems.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Conditionally Woodlake Fire Protection District β WMC 17.64.070(A) provides for 'a separate fire safety inspection... whenever the city does not have an agreement with a local fire authority to conduct a fire safety inspection on behalf of the fire authority.' WFPD is confirmed (from its own website) to be a legally independent fire protection district, established 1924, separate from the city. Whether the city currently HAS such an inter-agency agreement (which would mean the Building Official's single inspection already covers fire, with no separate WFPD visit) was not confirmed from any document found this run.
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(A) read directly; WFPD's own 'About' page confirms its independent-district status but says nothing about an inspection agreement with the city.
municipal code + fire district website checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For qualifying small residential rooftop solar: one inspection performed by the Building Official (WMC 17.64.070(A)), plus a separate fire-safety inspection only if no city/WFPD agreement exists (see Q53); the Building Official then issues or denies the building permit within 2 business days after whichever inspection completes last (17.64.070(C)).
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(A)-(C) read directly.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(A) specifies only one inspection for qualifying systems; no rough-in or mid-roof stage is mentioned anywhere in the chapter.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWMC 17.64 and the department pages describe the inspection process (Q52-55) but never state as a discrete step that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific inspection checklist was found. The city's two relevant Google Drive folders β 'Permits, Applications & Forms' (41 files) and 'Planning Documents' (14 files) β were both listed in full; neither contains an inspection-day checklist for solar. The only solar-adjacent document is the generic Building Permit submittal checklist (Q8), which covers what to submit, not what an inspector checks on-site.
document folder listing (proven absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1i3isVvXBg-abut1BEiUA73pyfsspXim3
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning & Building department page and FAQ page were checked for an inspection-day requirements list (e.g., ladder, signed access form) β neither states what must be on site at inspection.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Two unreconciled figures appear in the current Fee Schedule: a flat '$183 each' Re-Inspection Fee (Building Fees > Additional Inspection Fee, p.12) and a separate '$73.00 per hour (one hour minimum)' Re-inspection fee (Building Fees > Other Inspections and Fees, p.13). The schedule does not reconcile which applies to solar/electrical re-inspections specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth lines read directly from the current (eff. 1/1/2026) Fee Schedule, Building Fees section, via page-image inspection (pdftotext badly garbled currency symbols on this scanned document).
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZwDdVzWgx9NfCUigSo8pZVL4cVoTU5xu/view
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
If a small residential rooftop solar system fails its inspection, WMC 17.64.070(A) provides that 'a subsequent inspection must be scheduled which need not conform to the requirements of this chapter' β i.e., the re-inspection loses the chapter's expedited 5-business-day scheduling guarantee. No separate written-correction-notice procedure specific to a failed field inspection was found (WMC 15.30.040(B)'s written-correction-notice language applies to EV charging station APPLICATION completeness, not to failed solar field inspections).
Why the confidence is not higherWMC 17.64.070(A) read directly; compared against 15.30.040(B) to confirm the correction-notice language does not carry over to Chapter 17.64.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/woodlake/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT17ZOOR_CH17.64SMREROSOENSY
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWMC 17.64.070(C) states only that 'the building official shall issue or deny a building permit' after the inspection β it never names a specific final document (CO / Final / Green Tag / Letter) issued on a passing inspection.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo city document addresses who submits interconnection/PTO paperwork to SCE; this is typically an SCE-side process not fetched this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Woodlake against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Woodlake is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, issued as a single combined Building Permit by the city's own in-house Building Division/Building Official; fire life-safety review sits partly with the city and partly with the legally separate Woodlake Fire Protection District (est. 1924).
- Overridden by
- State-mandated expedited small-residential-rooftop-solar process (Gov. Code Β§65850.5 / AB 2188), codified locally at WMC Ch. 17.64 (Ord. No. 650, 4-28-2025). Fire-safety inspection may fall to Woodlake Fire Protection District rather than the city 'whenever the city does not have an agreement' with WFPD (WMC 17.64.070(A)) β whether such an agreement currently exists was not confirmed from any document found this run.
- Why not higher
- WMC 17.64.030(A) applies the chapter to all small residential rooftop solar in the city, and the Building Division (350 N Valencia Blvd, jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us) processes permits directly with no evidence of delegation to Tulare County or a contract plan-check firm. However, Woodlake Fire Protection District's own website describes itself as an independent fire protection district separate from the city, while the city's OWN current Fee Schedule nonetheless publishes a 'Fire Department Fees' section (including a residential-relevant 'Battery System β $18 Annual' operational-permit line) β an unresolved tension between the two sources, reported rather than picked, similar to the Saratoga/Dixon fire-district shapes documented in the GovBot playbook. Not higher than 85 because that tension was not independently resolved.
- Permit required
- Yes92%
- Permit cost
- $400 flat for 1-15 kW (itemized as $153 plan check + $247 permit/inspection); $5.50 per kW for each kW above 15 kW95%
- Plan review
- No fixed day-count is stated for the initial plan-review stage. WMC 17.64.050(D) only requires that review 'must not be willfully avoided or delayed' and be processed 'in the same manner asβ¦75%
- Portal
- No dedicated online permitting portal was found. Permits are submitted by email (jbocanegra@ci.woodlake.ca.us for Building;75%
- Electrical code
- 2023 (via the currently-operative 2025 California Electrical Code)72%
- Booking an inspection
- Written request (email or in person) to the Building Division, per WMC 17.64.070(B) ('an inspection will be scheduled within five (5) business days after a written request is received byβ¦62%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Average approval time β application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.