City of Yucaipa
San Bernardino County
City of Yucaipa is a city authority in the State of California, serving 54,542 residents. 4,527 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Yucaipa Permit Exchange — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service portal, hosted at cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net and embedded at… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Residential rooftop PV, first 15 kW: minimum $237 (calculated at $213/hr plan-review rate); each additional kW above 15 kW: $15/kW.92% source
- Key document
- fee schedule (inference) cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 88% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · checklist (absence) + state statute
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 45% · inference — department page silent on the topic
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard cap found on residential system size, but the City's own fee tiers break at 15 kW AC for both rooftop and ground-mount, matching Gov. Code §65850.5's 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' (≤15 kW AC) definition used for streamlined/ministerial review — above that, the City still permits it, just at a per-kW marginal fee rather than the flat minimum. 60% · fee schedule (inference)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 85% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 55% · department handout
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No solar-specific PE-stamp threshold is published; the City's general 'When is Engineer or Architect Required' handout (2020) triggers a PE/architect stamp for 'nonstructural components or equipment attached to buildings requiring design per [CBC] Section 1632.1 (generally equipment weighing over 400 pounds)' — this is a general-building threshold, not a solar-specific one. 45% · department handout
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Yucaipa Permit Exchange — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service portal, hosted at cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net and embedded at yucaipa.gov/building-permit-apply/ 92% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 80% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Residential rooftop PV, first 15 kW: minimum $237 (calculated at $213/hr plan-review rate); each additional kW above 15 kW: $15/kW. Residential ground-mount, first 15 kW: minimum $237, plus an additional structural plan-review minimum of $282. Residential solar water heater: $244 minimum. Residential ESS (up to 3 batteries, installed separate from PV): $244, each additional battery (1-3): $72.24. 92% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 88% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days to commence work after issuance (or resume after a suspension), per CBC §106.4.4; California AB-2913 extends this for residential permits to 1 year to pass the first inspection, then 180 days between each subsequent inspection. 90% · department handout
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 92% · city utility directory page
28 questions answered against City of Yucaipa’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Community Development and Building & Safety pages state the Building & Safety Division issues building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical and demolition permits for the City; confirmed further by a dedicated 'BUILDING AND SAFETY / Solar' fee category in the current fee schedule.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/community-development/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety Division (in-house, part of Community Development Dept.) issues building AND electrical permits per its own page; no evidence of delegation to San Bernardino County or a contracted plan-check firm anywhere on the site.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's current fee schedule (effective 1 Jul 2026) lists a priced 'Solar Energy Permit, Residential rooftop, first 15 kilowatts' line item under BUILDING AND SAFETY, proving a permit is required and charged for.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule prices a single 'Solar Energy Permit' line (tiered by kW) rather than separate building and electrical permit line items for PV; inferred from fee structure, not from an explicit ordinance statement (muni code inaccessible — see notes).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Dwellings Permit checklist, fee schedule, and Building & Safety handout list — none state which license classification (e.g., CSLB C-46/C-10) or 'who may pull' the electrical permit for a PV system specifically; the section that would state this (Yucaipa Municipal Code Title 15, Building) is on ecode360.com and returned a Cloudflare 'Just a moment...' challenge to both curl (with and without the iccsafe.org Referer) and WebFetch — no Wayback Machine capture exists either (CDX query for ecode360.com/YU* returned zero snapshots).
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Business Licenses page states that, following the 2024 Municipal Code update, Yucaipa 'only requires business licenses for sidewalk vendors, food truck operators, massage therapists, liquor stores or owners of rental dwelling units' — general contractors are not required to register/license with the City before applying for a building permit.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/business-licenses/
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building & Safety 'All Forms and Handouts' list publishes an 'Owner Builder Affidavit' as a standard document for residential permits generally (including the Residential Projects category); no solar-specific carve-out excluding owner-builder was found. Not solar-specific evidence, so confidence is capped.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/building_safety/All%20Forms%20and%20Handouts/Owner%20Builder%20Affidavit.pdf
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety 'All Forms and Handouts' categorized list (checked every category shown: ADU, Electrical, Fire Prevention, Garage/Storage, Residential Projects, etc.) — there is no 'Solar' category and no solar-specific submittal checklist; site search for 'solar' returned zero results (positive control 'electrical' returned 3 pages of hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned zero, confirming the search engine works).
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame handout list as q8 and the New Residential Dwelling checklist, which specifies portal-based single-PDF submission generally but not a solar-specific copy/format rule.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSite Plan Example handout is generic to all permits (not solar-specific); no solar-specific site-plan content requirement (array layout, setbacks from ridge, etc.) was found.
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAll Building & Safety handouts and the fee schedule — no published solar/PV-specific drawing checklist mentions one-line/three-line diagrams; the underlying ordinance (ecode360, blocked) would be the expected location.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q11 — no solar-specific drawing/calculation checklist found; ordinance inaccessible.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No solar-specific PE-stamp threshold is published; the City's general 'When is Engineer or Architect Required' handout (2020) triggers a PE/architect stamp for 'nonstructural components or equipment attached to buildings requiring design per [CBC] Section 1632.1 (generally equipment weighing over 400 pounds)' — this is a general-building threshold, not a solar-specific one.
Why the confidence is not higherHandout is generic (all trades), dated 2020, and never mentions solar/PV by name; applying its 400-lb equipment-attachment trigger to a PV array is an inference, not a direct statement.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/building_safety/All%20Forms%20and%20Handouts/When%20is%20Engineer%20or%20Architect%20Required.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we looked'When is Engineer or Architect Required' handout addresses general buildings only, never electrical PE stamps or solar specifically; ordinance inaccessible.
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Residential rooftop PV, first 15 kW: minimum $237 (calculated at $213/hr plan-review rate); each additional kW above 15 kW: $15/kW. Residential ground-mount, first 15 kW: minimum $237, plus an additional structural plan-review minimum of $282. Residential solar water heater: $244 minimum. Residential ESS (up to 3 batteries, installed separate from PV): $244, each additional battery (1-3): $72.24.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly itemized in the City's own consolidated fee schedule effective 1 Jul 2026, expressly citing Gov. Code §66015 and AB-1145 as the statutory basis for the fee-cap formula.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule prices solar per kW in tiers (first 15 kW at a stated minimum, then a per-additional-kW rate above 15 kW), per Gov. Code §66015/AB-1145.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule contains a distinct 'Solar Plan Review' line item ($213.00) separate from the permit/inspection fee lines, and the solar permit lines themselves are explicitly described as including a 'solar plan review' component priced at an hourly minimum.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety and Community Development pages, and the Permit Expiration handout — none state a plan-review turnaround time in business days.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days to commence work after issuance (or resume after a suspension), per CBC §106.4.4; California AB-2913 extends this for residential permits to 1 year to pass the first inspection, then 180 days between each subsequent inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own 'Inspection and Expiration of Building Permits' handout, revised 20 Jun 2024, states this rule verbatim and cites both CBC §106.4.4 and AB-2913 by name.
department handout checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/building_safety/All%20Forms%20and%20Handouts/Building%20Permit%20Expiration%20Handout%20Rev%206-2024.pdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Yucaipa Permit Exchange — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service portal, hosted at cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net and embedded at yucaipa.gov/building-permit-apply/
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Building & Safety and Community Development pages both link this exact portal by name and URL as the sole application route ('All applications are to be submitted through the Yucaipa Permit Exchange online portal').
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page states the portal 'allows residents to apply for permits, schedule inspections, make payments, and track their project all from the comfort of their home ... 24/7 online.' Not verified end-to-end since it requires an account/login to test a real submittal.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the City's OWN Utilities page, which lists 'Electric Utility: Southern California Edison (SCE)' with no CCA/Community Choice program listed for the area; also corroborated by a city-hosted excerpt of SCE's own 'Electrical Service Requirements' manual. Not sourced from PowerToChoose.
city utility directory page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/utilities/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's own pages describe the permit process and separately list SCE as the utility, but nowhere sequence permit issuance against SCE interconnection approval; SCE's own interconnection handbook links are dead (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302s to the SCE homepage; the direct sce.com interconnections page 404s).
https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo City checklist or fee-schedule line requires HOA/architectural approval as a permit precondition, and CA Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempts HOA disapproval of solar statewide in any case. Inference from absence in submittal checklists plus state law, not an explicit City statement.
checklist (absence) + state statute checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/building_safety/All%20Forms%20and%20Handouts/1.%20Residential%20Dwellings%20Permit%20-%20Plan%20Review%20Checklist.pdf
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPlanning page and General Plan links list overlay districts (College Village Overlay, Oak Glen Creek Specific Plan) but no historic-district overlay; ordinance (ecode360, blocked) would be the definitive location for zoning-map historic designations.
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo Yucaipa document mentions a wind/windstorm certification requirement for residential PV; California generally does not use a separate wind-certification regime for rooftop solar the way some Gulf-Coast/wind-zone jurisdictions do. This is inference from comparable CA practice, not a Yucaipa-specific statement.
inference — department page silent on the topic checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee schedule's Planning-tied fire-review line references 'Special Use Permit' generically for various planning case types but does not tie an SUP/Council-approval requirement specifically to residential rooftop or ground-mount solar; ordinance inaccessible to confirm whether Yucaipa has a GC §65850.5-style 'specific adverse impact' escape valve.
https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard cap found on residential system size, but the City's own fee tiers break at 15 kW AC for both rooftop and ground-mount, matching Gov. Code §65850.5's 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' (≤15 kW AC) definition used for streamlined/ministerial review — above that, the City still permits it, just at a per-kW marginal fee rather than the flat minimum.
Why the confidence is not higherFee-schedule tier break at 15 kW strongly tracks the state statutory definition, but the City's own document never states a cap in words — inferred alignment, not an explicit cap statement.
fee schedule (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 5 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Batteries/ESS are permitted; City's fee schedule prices a residential ESS permit (up to 3 batteries) at $244, requiring 'Solar Plan review,' with $72.24 per each additional battery (1–3), specifically 'when installed separate from PV installation' (implying it is folded into the PV permit when installed together with PV). No Fire Department ESS fee line exists at all — Fire's only PV-related fee is for commercial structure-mounted systems. 75% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes, when installed separate from the PV system (a distinct ESS permit fee applies); when installed together with PV it appears to be covered under the Solar Energy Permit rather than a separate ESS permit. 70% · fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 72% · fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Yucaipa’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City page or handout states the NEC/CEC edition currently in force or its effective date; the adopting ordinance lives in Yucaipa Municipal Code Title 15 on ecode360.com, which 403'd with a Cloudflare challenge on every attempt (curl with iccsafe.org Referer, WebFetch, and alternate hosts codepublishing.com [404] and library.municode.com [empty Angular shell, no direct API access]); no Wayback Machine capture exists.
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame access failure as q29 — building code edition/cycle not stated on any reachable City page or PDF.
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame access failure as q29; additionally the Fire Prevention handout (2019-dated generic Fire Marshal application form) does not state a fire code edition.
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame access failure as q29 — cannot confirm or rule out local amendments without the ordinance text. Note: California AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) froze the ability to adopt MORE-restrictive residential amendments 1 Oct 2025–1 Jun 2031 regardless of what Yucaipa's ordinance says.
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame access failure as q29.
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Electrical Requirements and SCE Electrical Service Requirements handouts cover general service-drop/riser construction but say nothing about PV-triggered service upgrade or busbar-sizing rules (e.g., 120% rule); ordinance inaccessible.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City handout addresses PV mounting systems or attachment spacing; ordinance inaccessible.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Hazard Severity Zones page discusses WUI/defensible-space rules generally (citing 'Yucaipa Municipal Code 15.04.115, subsection 4905.5' for fire-hardening) but does not state a PV-specific ridge setback or roof access pathway requirement; the codified section itself is on ecode360 and was inaccessible.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City document mentions rapid shutdown or NEC 690.12 by name; ordinance inaccessible. (NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown is a statewide-mandatory CEC requirement regardless of local amendment, but I could not confirm Yucaipa's specific code-edition citation of it.)
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo solar-specific placard/signage handout exists in the Building & Safety forms list (checked every category); site search for 'solar' returned zero hits (controls passed — see q8 note); SCE's own interconnection/DG documents are dead links (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook redirects to homepage, direct page 404s).
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence as q38.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence as q38.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence as q38; Site Plan Example handout is generic, not a 705.10/facility-map placard spec.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own interconnection/DG manual pages are dead (on.sce.com/interconnectionhandbook 302s to sce.com homepage; https://www.sce.com/business/generating-your-own-power/interconnections 404s); the one SCE document the City hosts (Electrical Service Requirements excerpt, p.2-19) covers overhead service-drop risers only, not PV placards.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence as q38.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City document states an approved-equipment-list requirement for solar; ordinance inaccessible.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Batteries/ESS are permitted; City's fee schedule prices a residential ESS permit (up to 3 batteries) at $244, requiring 'Solar Plan review,' with $72.24 per each additional battery (1–3), specifically 'when installed separate from PV installation' (implying it is folded into the PV permit when installed together with PV). No Fire Department ESS fee line exists at all — Fire's only PV-related fee is for commercial structure-mounted systems.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly itemized under BUILDING AND SAFETY / Solar in the current fee schedule; the 'separate from PV' qualifier and the complete absence of any ESS/battery line under FIRE PREVENTION AND PLANNING (checked line-by-line) are both read directly from the same document.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes, when installed separate from the PV system (a distinct ESS permit fee applies); when installed together with PV it appears to be covered under the Solar Energy Permit rather than a separate ESS permit.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the fee schedule's ESS line items and their 'when installed separate from PV installation' qualifier; no ordinance text was reachable to confirm the procedural mechanics behind the fee distinction.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule prices 'Solar Energy Permit, Residential ground mount' with an ADDITIONAL 'minimum structural plan review fee' line beyond the base solar permit — meaning ground-mount is billed for extra structural review the rooftop permit is not, consistent with treating it as a structure. Inferred from fee structure since the ordinance itself was not reachable.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE interconnection/DG manual dead links (see q42); no City document states AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal 88% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Inspection Hours are Mon–Fri, 8:30 AM–12:00 PM and 1:00 PM–4:00 PM (i.e., an AM and a PM window each weekday); Fire Marshal inspections are PM-only, Mon–Thurs. 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 80% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated — City of Yucaipa Building & Safety Division (building/electrical) and the City's own Fire Marshal/Fire Department (fire-related conditions), both in-house. 78% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Yucaipa on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $219 (general Building re-inspection fee) 82% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Yucaipa’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page states 'Building Inspection Requests: Use the convenient online request or (909) 797-2489 Ext. 500' and separately 'Fire Marshall Inspection Requests: Use the convenient online request or ... Ext. 246' — portal is the primary route, phone is the fallback.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding & Safety page states how to request an inspection (portal or phone) but not how much advance notice is required.
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Inspection Hours are Mon–Fri, 8:30 AM–12:00 PM and 1:00 PM–4:00 PM (i.e., an AM and a PM window each weekday); Fire Marshal inspections are PM-only, Mon–Thurs.
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the City's Building & Safety page under 'Inspection Hours' and 'Fire Marshall Inspections.'
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page lists a dedicated 'Building Inspection Requests' contact (city staff, ext. 500) distinct from Fire; the fee schedule shows Fire only bills for commercial-mounted PV plan review, with no residential PV/ESS fire fee line at all — together indicating the City's own Building & Safety Division performs the final residential solar inspection itself.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated — City of Yucaipa Building & Safety Division (building/electrical) and the City's own Fire Marshal/Fire Department (fire-related conditions), both in-house.
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as q52/jurisdiction: both a 'Building Inspection Requests' and a separate 'Fire Marshall Inspection Requests' line exist on the City's own page, both staffed by City extensions, with no county or third-party inspector named anywhere on the site.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/building-safety/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo solar-specific inspection-stage sequence (e.g., rough electrical vs. final) is published anywhere on the Building & Safety pages or in the fee schedule beyond a generic 'all building permits require at least one inspection' statement in the Permit Expiration handout.
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q54 — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection stage for solar specifically.
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo published statement that the inspector verifies labels/listings; not stated on Building & Safety page or in any handout reviewed.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the full 'All Forms and Handouts' list by category (which includes plan-review CHECKLISTS for submittal, but no INSPECTION checklist for any trade, solar or otherwise) — no published inspection checklist exists for solar.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo document states what must be physically on site at time of inspection (approved plans, listing labels, etc.) for solar specifically.
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$219 (general Building re-inspection fee)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'BUILDING AND SAFETY / Inspection / Re-inspection fee — $219.00' as a general line applicable across trades (no solar-specific re-inspection fee exists separately).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://yucaipa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/User-Fees-Effective-7.1.26.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo published correction-notice process found; presumably handled inside the EnerGov/Yucaipa Permit Exchange portal's correction-comments workflow, but this requires an account to verify and was not confirmed.
https://cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City document states what document/tag is issued on a passing final for an existing-home PV retrofit (Certificate of Occupancy applies to new dwellings per the New Residential checklist, but that is a different scenario); not stated for solar-on-existing-home finals.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo City document addresses who submits PTO paperwork to SCE; SCE's own interconnection guidance pages are dead (see q42).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Yucaipa against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Yucaipa is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- building, electrical, and fire (own Fire Department, staffed via a CAL FIRE staffing agreement) — all in-house within the Community Development Department (Building & Safety Division) and the Fire Department; nothing delegated to San Bernardino County
- Overridden by
- State law sets floors the City cannot go below on residential PV: Gov. Code §65850.5 (ministerial review, fee cap via §66015/AB-1145 cited directly in the City's own fee schedule), AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) freezing more-restrictive local residential amendments 1 Oct 2025–1 Jun 2031, and Civil Code §714/§4600 (Solar Rights Act) preempting HOA disapproval. SCE (not the City) governs interconnection sequencing and Rule 21 requirements.
- Why not higher
- City's own Community Development page states the department 'oversee[s] Planning, Economic Development, Housing, and Building and Safety services' and that Building & Safety 'issu[es] building, plumbing, electrical, mechanical and demolition permits.' The Fire Department page states fire/paramedic service is provided by the City's OWN Yucaipa Fire Department 'through a staffing agreement with CAL FIRE' — this is a correction to the brief's lead that fire is 'very likely San Bernardino County Fire Protection District (SBCoFPD)': Yucaipa is NOT contracted to SBCoFPD. It runs its own Fire Marshal/Fire Prevention function (confirmed separately by 'Fire Marshall Inspection Requests' contact info on the Building & Safety page, and by a dedicated 'Fire Plan Review — Commercial Structure Mounted Photovoltaic Systems' line in the City's own fee schedule). Yucaipa is an incorporated city, so the County is not the AHJ here at all.
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Residential rooftop PV, first 15 kW: minimum $237 (calculated at $213/hr plan-review rate); each additional kW above 15 kW: $15/kW.92%
- Portal
- Yucaipa Permit Exchange — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service portal, hosted at cityofyucaipaca-energovweb.tylerhost.net and embedded at yucaipa.gov/building-permit-apply/92%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal88%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.