Napa County
State of California
Napa County is a county authority in the State of California, covering 6 regions, serving 138,019 residents. 1,708 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 61 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 27 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Ordinance requires expedited/'as soon as reasonably practicable' review for eligible small residential rooftop systems; Q18 Where you file — Online Permit Center Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW AC or less; $450 + $15 per kW above 15 kW for larger residential systems95% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Ordinance requires expedited/'as soon as reasonably practicable' review for eligible small residential rooftop systems;70% source
- Key document
- ordinance + published checklist cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page / ordinance
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 95% · ordinance
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 75% · published checklist (PDF, dated 08/01/2024)
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 90% · ordinance
- Is there a historic-district review? No, not for a typical unincorporated residential parcel 60% · ordinance TOC (absence checked)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 70% · ordinance (absence checked)
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Only if the building official makes a written finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system would have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety with no feasible mitigation — otherwise the permit is nondiscretionary and no Use Permit or Board of Supervisors approval is required 90% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No absolute cap, but the streamlined 'small residential rooftop' process (Ch. 15.14 Art. III) only applies to systems ≤10 kW AC nameplate (or ≤30 kW thermal); larger residential systems fall outside that expedited definition and get standard (non-AB2188) permit review 85% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed electrician 60% · published checklist
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 55% · department page (absence checked)
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Ambiguous — general CA owner-builder permitting is allowed, but the County's own checklist requires the electrical single-line be signed by a C10/licensed installer or PE, not a homeowner 50% · published checklist
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Title page; site plan; roof plan with solar layout showing all setbacks (or array layout for ground-mounted); single-line electrical (stamped by EE or signed by C10/licensed installer with license #); plan of all required labels; attachment details; footing details + signed structural calcs for ground-mounted array mounting; supplemental: equipment cut sheets, structural calcs (roof loading), completed Agent Authorization Form if applicable 95% · published checklist (PDF)
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, via the Online Permit Center: one condensed, bookmarked PDF for the plan set; supplemental documents uploaded individually; wet-signature pages must additionally be submitted as physical hard copies because the County's permitting software is not compliant with Gov. Code §16.5 e-signature rules 90% · ordinance + published checklist
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — must show the roof plan with solar layout and all required setbacks, or the array layout for ground-mounted systems 95% · published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 95% · published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Online Permit Center 95% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No 90% · ordinance
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW AC or less; $450 + $15 per kW above 15 kW for larger residential systems 95% · published fee schedule (PDF)
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 90% · published fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 65% · published fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Ordinance requires expedited/'as soon as reasonably practicable' review for eligible small residential rooftop systems; the County's general plan-review tiers are Express 3–5 business days, Quick 7–10 business days, Standard 28 business days 70% · department page + ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days (one calendar year) from issuance to commence work; the permit also expires if no inspection is requested/performed within 180 days; up to three 180-day extensions may be granted before the permit becomes null and void 95% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 65% · secondary source
27 questions answered against Napa County’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNapa County Code §15.04.050 applies building regs to all unincorporated territory; PBES Building Division is the operating department.
department page / ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/3492/Building-Division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherChapter 15.12 (Building Code) and Chapter 15.28 (Electrical Code) are both administered by the County chief building official, who §15.28.040 explicitly designates as 'chief electrical inspector.' No delegation to another agency for these trades.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCh. 15.14 Art. III governs 'the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the county' and requires the building official to 'issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit' on a complete application.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's own Solar Electronic Submittal Checklist directs applicants to file under 'Submittal Applications – Building > Building Submittal – Residential' — there is no separate stand-alone electrical-permit record type offered for solar; electrical scope is folded into the one building submittal.
published checklist (PDF, dated 08/01/2024) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Licensed electrician
Why the confidence is not higherThe submittal checklist requires the single-line electrical diagram be 'stamped by an electrical engineer, or signed by a C10 or licensed installer along with their license number' — the county does not state a homeowner may self-sign this document, though the general building permit itself does not exclude an owner-builder for the structural/building scope.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo contractor pre-registration requirement with the County was found on the Building-Permit-Process page or in the solar checklist; applicants supply a license number at time of submittal only.
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1842/Building-Permit-Process
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Ambiguous — general CA owner-builder permitting is allowed, but the County's own checklist requires the electrical single-line be signed by a C10/licensed installer or PE, not a homeowner
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the ordinance nor the checklist directly addresses owner-builder solar; CA law generally allows owner-builder permits for one's own residence, but the solar-specific checklist's sign-off requirement for the single-line diagram effectively routes electrical scope through a licensed installer or engineer.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Title page; site plan; roof plan with solar layout showing all setbacks (or array layout for ground-mounted); single-line electrical (stamped by EE or signed by C10/licensed installer with license #); plan of all required labels; attachment details; footing details + signed structural calcs for ground-mounted array mounting; supplemental: equipment cut sheets, structural calcs (roof loading), completed Agent Authorization Form if applicable
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly extracted (pdftotext) from the County's own 'Solar Electronic Submittal Checklist,' dated 08/01/2024, still linked from the current Building Forms and Checklists page.
published checklist (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only, via the Online Permit Center: one condensed, bookmarked PDF for the plan set; supplemental documents uploaded individually; wet-signature pages must additionally be submitted as physical hard copies because the County's permitting software is not compliant with Gov. Code §16.5 e-signature rules
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the checklist's electronic-submittal instructions with Code §15.14.090(C), which explicitly states the county cannot yet accept electronic signatures and requires wet-signed hard copies of signature pages.
ordinance + published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — must show the roof plan with solar layout and all required setbacks, or the array layout for ground-mounted systems
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit line item in the Solar Electronic Submittal Checklist.
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist requires 'Single Line Electrical – stamped by an electrical engineer, or signed by a C10 or licensed installer along with their license number.'
published checklist checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty's Solar Electronic Submittal Checklist (DocumentCenter/View/3660) — the checklist requires a single-line electrical diagram but does not itemize separate 'string and conductor calculations' as a distinct required document
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist requires structural calcs / roof-framing info for roof-mounted arrays and stamped structural calcs for ground-mounted footings, but states no numeric valuation/weight threshold that specifically triggers a mandatory PE stamp — left out of answers as genuinely undetermined rather than forced into a number
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$450 flat for residential systems 15 kW AC or less; $450 + $15 per kW above 15 kW for larger residential systems
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly (pdftotext) from the current 'PBES/PW/Fire Fee Schedules,' effective July 1, 2026, under its 'Solar Permits' line items, distinct from the general IBC-valuation building-fee table used for other project types.
published fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35640/PBESPWFire-Fee-Schedules---Effective-07-01-2026
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherFlat $450 below the 15 kW AC threshold, then a per-kW add-on above it — a hybrid the question set's 'Tiered' option best captures.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35640/PBESPWFire-Fee-Schedules---Effective-07-01-2026
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar Permits line in the fee schedule shows a single all-in dollar figure with no separate plan-check/PLN column populated, unlike most other fee-schedule rows that break out plan review vs. inspection vs. issuance separately.
published fee schedule checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35640/PBESPWFire-Fee-Schedules---Effective-07-01-2026
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Ordinance requires expedited/'as soon as reasonably practicable' review for eligible small residential rooftop systems; the County's general plan-review tiers are Express 3–5 business days, Quick 7–10 business days, Standard 28 business days
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(A) sets the expedited-processing duty but no fixed day-count for solar specifically; the day-count tiers come from the general Building-Permit-Process page, not a solar-specific figure.
department page + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1842/Building-Permit-Process
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days (one calendar year) from issuance to commence work; the permit also expires if no inspection is requested/performed within 180 days; up to three 180-day extensions may be granted before the permit becomes null and void
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.04.070, cross-referenced by the electrical, plumbing and fire code chapters as the governing expiration rule for all permit types including solar.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04ADBURE_15.04.070EXPE
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Online Permit Center
Why the confidence is not higherNamed consistently across the Building-Permit-Process page, the Solar Electronic Submittal Checklist, and Code §15.14.090.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1842/Building-Permit-Process
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.090(C): the County's permitting software is not compliant with Gov. Code §16.5/CCR §22000-22005 for e-signatures, so applicants must submit wet-signed hard copies of signature pages alongside the otherwise-electronic submittal.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherNapa County's own site does not name its utility; confirmed via a reliable secondary source (Wikipedia's PG&E article, which places PG&E's service territory across this part of Northern California and specifically ties Napa County wildfire liability to PG&E facilities there). PG&E's own site was not used as a source per standing guidance that pge.com blocks automated reading.
secondary source checked 2026-08-30 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pacific_Gas_and_Electric_Company
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNapa County PBES pages (no mention of interconnection sequencing) and PG&E's own NEM/interconnection page, which is treated as unreachable to automated reading per standing guidance on pge.com
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(F): 'The county shall not condition approval of an application on the approval of an association' (as defined for common-interest developments/HOAs).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No, not for a typical unincorporated residential parcel
Why the confidence is not higherThe County's Landmark Preservation chapter (Ch. 15.52) only applies to formally designated Landmarks, farm centers, or Landmarks of Special Significance — no blanket historic-district review layer was found that would apply to an ordinary residential address.
ordinance TOC (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo windstorm-certification requirement (a Texas/Florida-style TDI product) appears in the 2025 CBC/CRC adoption or the County's local amendments; California does not use this mechanism.
ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12BUCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Only if the building official makes a written finding, based on substantial evidence, that the system would have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety with no feasible mitigation — otherwise the permit is nondiscretionary and no Use Permit or Board of Supervisors approval is required
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(A)-(C): use-permit review is the narrow exception, appealable to the Planning Commission.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No absolute cap, but the streamlined 'small residential rooftop' process (Ch. 15.14 Art. III) only applies to systems ≤10 kW AC nameplate (or ≤30 kW thermal); larger residential systems fall outside that expedited definition and get standard (non-AB2188) permit review
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.060(E) defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' with the 10kW AC/30kW thermal ceiling used to determine ordinance eligibility, not a hard size cap on residential generation.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on 2024 IRC), Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC), Title 24 Part 9 95% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — extensive local amendments across building, electrical and fire chapters (winery-cave provisions, roof-covering Class A requirement, sprinkler thresholds, PV working-space clarification at Art. 690.4(I), disconnect location at Art. 225.32, ground-mount vegetation/setback rule at CFC 1205.5.1, ESS scope at CFC 1207.1, etc.) 95% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? 2025 CEC (2023 NEC base) Article 690, 2025 CBC/CRC, and 2025 CFC, all as locally amended, plus the County's own Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guidelines (Ch. 15.14 Art. II, adopting the CAL FIRE/OSFM 2008 guideline 'as may be amended') and the Small Residential Rooftop Solar ordinance (Ch. 15.14 Art. III) 90% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Rooftop systems: standard 2025 CFC §605.11 pathway/setback provisions apply (adopted by reference, not locally amended). Ground-mounted arrays: a local amendment requires a 10-ft clear, brush-free perimeter around the array plus a noncombustible base (gravel or equivalent) under the array and its electrical equipment 80% · ordinance
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC Article 690.12 (Rapid Shutdown) as incorporated via the 2023 NEC / 2025 CEC, which the County adopted unamended on this point 80% · adopting ordinance
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Standard NEC Article 690 disconnect/warning labels (e.g. 690.13, 690.56) and CFC §605.11 rooftop marking, plus whatever the CAL FIRE/OSFM 'Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guideline' (2008, as amended) specifies — that guideline is adopted by reference in Ch. 15.14 Art. II but its current text could not be retrieved to confirm exact placard content 55% · ordinance (adoption only; underlying guideline unreachable)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? The County's own amendment (Art. 225.32) requires the disconnecting means be outside the building, readily accessible, and nearest the point of conductor entrance — a general rule rather than one stated relative to the utility meter specifically 55% · ordinance
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 80% · ordinance
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes — batteries/Electrical Energy Storage Systems in Group R-3 and R-4 occupancies (and accessory Group U structures) are permitted subject to compliance with California Fire Code §1207.11 85% · ordinance
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No indication of a distinct stand-alone ESS-only permit/inspection; ESS compliance is folded into the standard building/fire permit and inspection process under CFC §1207.11 55% · ordinance (absence checked)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, functionally 70% · published checklist + ordinance
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rating beyond unamended NEC 705.12; the County's only PV-specific electrical amendment is a working-space clarification (Art. 690.4(I)) requiring NEC 110.26 clearances around inverters 65% · ordinance (absence checked)
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No County-specific mounting/attachment-spacing standard found beyond requiring 'Attachment Details' and structural calculations/roof-framing information in the submittal 60% · published checklist (absence checked)
20 questions answered against Napa County’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.28.010: the 2025 California Electrical Code 'is based upon the 2023 Edition of the National Electrical Code,' adopted by Ord. No. 1516, effective 12-9-2025.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on 2024 IRC), Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.12.010, adopted by Ord. No. 1516, effective 12-9-2025.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.12BUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC), Title 24 Part 9
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.32.010, adopted by Ord. No. 1516, effective 12-9-2025.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.32FICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes — extensive local amendments across building, electrical and fire chapters (winery-cave provisions, roof-covering Class A requirement, sprinkler thresholds, PV working-space clarification at Art. 690.4(I), disconnect location at Art. 225.32, ground-mount vegetation/setback rule at CFC 1205.5.1, ESS scope at CFC 1207.1, etc.)
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from Chapters 15.12, 15.28 and 15.32 of the current code.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
2025 CEC (2023 NEC base) Article 690, 2025 CBC/CRC, and 2025 CFC, all as locally amended, plus the County's own Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guidelines (Ch. 15.14 Art. II, adopting the CAL FIRE/OSFM 2008 guideline 'as may be amended') and the Small Residential Rooftop Solar ordinance (Ch. 15.14 Art. III)
Why the confidence is not higherSynthesized from the adoption sections of Chapters 15.12, 15.14, 15.28, 15.32.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local rule on service-upgrade sizing or busbar rating beyond unamended NEC 705.12; the County's only PV-specific electrical amendment is a working-space clarification (Art. 690.4(I)) requiring NEC 110.26 clearances around inverters
Why the confidence is not higherRead the entirety of Chapter 15.28 (Electrical Code); no busbar/service-upgrade amendment appears.
ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No County-specific mounting/attachment-spacing standard found beyond requiring 'Attachment Details' and structural calculations/roof-framing information in the submittal
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist requires the documentation but does not itself prescribe a spacing standard; presumably judged against manufacturer engineering and CBC/CRC structural provisions.
published checklist (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Rooftop systems: standard 2025 CFC §605.11 pathway/setback provisions apply (adopted by reference, not locally amended). Ground-mounted arrays: a local amendment requires a 10-ft clear, brush-free perimeter around the array plus a noncombustible base (gravel or equivalent) under the array and its electrical equipment
Why the confidence is not higherGround-mount rule read directly from Code §15.32.115 (CFC §1205.5.1 as locally amended); rooftop pathway rule inferred from the unamended 2025 CFC adoption since no local override of §605.11 was found.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.32FICO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC Article 690.12 (Rapid Shutdown) as incorporated via the 2023 NEC / 2025 CEC, which the County adopted unamended on this point
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the code adoption (§15.28.010); the County's Article 690 amendments (§15.28.080) address only working space, not rapid shutdown, so the base NEC 690.12 requirement stands.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Standard NEC Article 690 disconnect/warning labels (e.g. 690.13, 690.56) and CFC §605.11 rooftop marking, plus whatever the CAL FIRE/OSFM 'Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guideline' (2008, as amended) specifies — that guideline is adopted by reference in Ch. 15.14 Art. II but its current text could not be retrieved to confirm exact placard content
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.040 adopts the OSFM guideline by reference, but the source document (expected at osfm.fire.ca.gov) returned a 403/was unreachable, so the specific placard list from that guideline is not directly confirmed — only its adoption is.
ordinance (adoption only; underlying guideline unreachable) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 15.14 Art. II (§15.14.040) — adopts the CAL FIRE/OSFM 2008 'Solar Photovoltaic Installation Guideline' by reference rather than writing the County's own placard wording; the referenced guideline itself returned a 403/could not be retrieved (attempted at osfm.fire.ca.gov)
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame OSFM 2008 guideline referenced above (unreachable); no letter-height/color/material spec appears in the County's own electrical or building code amendments
https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChapters 15.14 and 15.28 — no local amendment to NEC 705.10 facility-map/site-plan placarding was found; would default to the unamended NEC provision but that isn't a County-sourced answer
https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's interconnection/NEM and Rule 21/'Greenbook' pages, which are treated as unreachable to automated fetching per standing guidance on pge.com
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 15.28 (Electrical Code amendments) — only the general disconnect-location rule (Art. 225.32) was found; no solar-specific label-placement rule distinct from that
https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.080(C): solar electricity-producing systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories,' i.e. equipment must be listed/tested.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes — batteries/Electrical Energy Storage Systems in Group R-3 and R-4 occupancies (and accessory Group U structures) are permitted subject to compliance with California Fire Code §1207.11
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.32.117 locally amends CFC §1207.1 to this scope-and-compliance rule.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.32FICO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No indication of a distinct stand-alone ESS-only permit/inspection; ESS compliance is folded into the standard building/fire permit and inspection process under CFC §1207.11
Why the confidence is not higherNo separate ESS permit type or inspection stage was found in the ordinance or on the department's permit-process pages.
ordinance (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.32FICO
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, functionally
Why the confidence is not higherThe submittal checklist requires footing details and signed structural calculations for the array mounting system specifically for ground-mounted systems, and the Fire Code amendment (§1205.5.1) imposes a structure-like clearance/noncombustible-base requirement around ground arrays.
published checklist + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
The County's own amendment (Art. 225.32) requires the disconnecting means be outside the building, readily accessible, and nearest the point of conductor entrance — a general rule rather than one stated relative to the utility meter specifically
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.28.060 amends NEC 225.32's location language; it does not separately address meter adjacency, which for PG&E territory is typically governed by the utility's own interconnection handbook (unreachable — see not_found).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.28ELCO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Online Permit Center (registered users), automated phone system (707-253-4416, call or text), or text line (866-307-2630) 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? 2 business days 90% · ordinance
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Ordinance guarantees a 2-hour inspection window for eligible solar inspections; general department practice otherwise is to call between 7:45-8:30 a.m. on the inspection day for a same-day estimated arrival time rather than a fixed AM/PM slot system 75% · department page + ordinance
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · ordinance
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for building/electrical/fire in general; the one carve-out is that unincorporated land within the American Canyon Fire Protection District follows that district's own fire ordinances rather than the County Fire Code 75% · ordinance
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For systems eligible for the expedited process: only one consolidated inspection by the Building Division (plus a separate fire inspection only if no Cal Fire agreement exists) 85% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 80% · ordinance
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The issued permit posted at the job site, the approved plans, and the inspection card 85% · department page
- Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Likely yes, though not stated as a discrete checklist item 60% · published checklist (inference)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 75% · department page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Hourly rate, currently $257/hr ($276.28/hr including the 7.5% General Plan Surcharge) for 'Additional Inspections or Re-Inspections' under the Building Division 80% · published fee schedule (PDF)
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Incomplete applications receive a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies for resubmission; if an inspection fails, a subsequent (re-)inspection is authorized (but need not carry the expedited-process guarantees of the first) 80% · ordinance
14 questions answered against Napa County’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Online Permit Center (registered users), automated phone system (707-253-4416, call or text), or text line (866-307-2630)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the department's Building Inspection page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1858/Building-Inspection
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
2 business days
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(I): 'An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request' for eligible small residential rooftop solar systems.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Ordinance guarantees a 2-hour inspection window for eligible solar inspections; general department practice otherwise is to call between 7:45-8:30 a.m. on the inspection day for a same-day estimated arrival time rather than a fixed AM/PM slot system
Why the confidence is not higherCombines Code §15.14.100(I)'s 'two hour inspection window' with the general confirmation-call practice on the Building Inspection page.
department page + ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1858/Building-Inspection
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(H): the county building division performs the (single) required inspection; a separate fire inspection is contemplated only 'if an agreement with Cal Fire does not exist' — largely moot since Napa maintains its own County Fire Marshal's Office rather than a Cal Fire contract (per §15.04.020's definitions).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for building/electrical/fire in general; the one carve-out is that unincorporated land within the American Canyon Fire Protection District follows that district's own fire ordinances rather than the County Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.32.030's exception for the American Canyon Fire Protection District; otherwise all functions sit with County departments per §15.04.020.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.32FICO
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For systems eligible for the expedited process: only one consolidated inspection by the Building Division (plus a separate fire inspection only if no Cal Fire agreement exists)
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(H)-(I).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(H) caps eligible expedited small-residential solar systems at a single required inspection, implying no separate rough-in/mid-roof stage.
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Likely yes, though not stated as a discrete checklist item
Why the confidence is not higherInferred: the submittal package requires a 'Plan of all the required labels' and equipment must meet UL/listing standards (§15.14.080C); the single consolidated inspection would reasonably confirm as-built matches the approved plan, including labeling, but no inspection-specific checklist confirms this explicitly.
published checklist (inference) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3660/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Forms and Checklists page and Building Inspection page — a submittal checklist exists, but no distinct published field-inspection checklist for solar was found
https://www.napacounty.gov/1890/Building-Forms-and-Checklists
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The issued permit posted at the job site, the approved plans, and the inspection card
Why the confidence is not higherExplicit requirements on the Building Inspection department page.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1858/Building-Inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Hourly rate, currently $257/hr ($276.28/hr including the 7.5% General Plan Surcharge) for 'Additional Inspections or Re-Inspections' under the Building Division
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the current fee schedule's hourly-rate table (BLD column) and its 'Additional Inspections or Re-Inspections' line, cross-checked against the Building Inspection page's statement that 'a Re-Inspection Fee may be assessed.'
published fee schedule (PDF) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/DocumentCenter/View/35640/PBESPWFire-Fee-Schedules---Effective-07-01-2026
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Incomplete applications receive a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies for resubmission; if an inspection fails, a subsequent (re-)inspection is authorized (but need not carry the expedited-process guarantees of the first)
Why the confidence is not higherCode §15.14.100(G) and (J).
ordinance checked 2026-08-30 https://library.municode.com/ca/napa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.14GRBUSTSOPHSMRESOENSY
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection page: 'A Building Permit Final and/or Certificate of Occupancy will not be issued until the construction is complete' — for a solar retrofit on an existing home this is ordinarily a Building Final rather than a new Certificate of Occupancy.
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.napacounty.gov/1858/Building-Inspection
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNapa County PBES/Building Division pages (no mention of PTO notification) and PG&E's NEM page, treated as unreachable per standing guidance on pge.com
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 61-question set, answered for Napa County against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Napa County is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and (via the County's own Fire Marshal's Office) fire/life-safety review for residential rooftop solar in the unincorporated territory
- Overridden by
- CA Solar Rights Act / Gov. Code solar-permitting statutes (AB 2188, Ch.521 Stats. 2014) constrain the County's discretionary review to 'specific, adverse impact' findings only; also, land within the American Canyon Fire Protection District (an unincorporated pocket) follows that district's own fire ordinances rather than the County Fire Code for fire-code purposes
- Why not higher
- Napa County Code §15.04.050 states the building regulations 'apply to all buildings and structures in the unincorporated territory of Napa County,' and PBES's own Building Division page confirms it issues building/electrical permits and inspections for a representative unincorporated address (e.g. a parcel on St. Helena Hwy/Silverado Trail outside the city limits of Napa, American Canyon, Calistoga, St. Helena, or Yountville). Chapter 15.14 Art. III (the County's AB 2188 ordinance) is the AHJ's own express adoption of the state solar-permitting mandate, including the 'specific adverse impact' limitation on local discretion (§15.14.100).
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $450 flat for residential systems 15 kW AC or less; $450 + $15 per kW above 15 kW for larger residential systems95%
- Plan review
- Ordinance requires expedited/'as soon as reasonably practicable' review for eligible small residential rooftop systems;70%
- Portal
- Online Permit Center95%
- Electrical code
- 202395%
- Booking an inspection
- Online Permit Center (registered users), automated phone system (707-253-4416, call or text), or text line (866-307-2630)90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.