Siskiyou County
State of California
Siskiyou County is a county authority in the State of California, covering 13 regions, serving 44,076 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — 8 to 10 weeks average for a complete plan submittal (as of the 2025 code-cycle implementation surge); Q18 Where you file — Siskiyou County Public Portal, powered by SmartGov (Granicus), at co-siskiyou-ca.smartgovcommunity.com Q20
- Permit required
- Yes85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 8 to 10 weeks average for a complete plan submittal (as of the 2025 code-cycle implementation surge); separately,80% source
- Key document
- department page (absence checked) + state law context cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes, for the unincorporated area of the county only 90% · authority's own page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 85% · department page / ordinance reference
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · department page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No -- the county does not require HOA/architectural approval as a permit prerequisite 55% · department page (absence checked) + state law context
- Is there a historic-district review? Conditionally -- only if the property sits within a locally-designated design review or preservation district, or is a historic landmark 70% · department page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 60% · department page
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Not required for a typical residential rooftop PV system; a Use Permit could be triggered for a large ground-mount array or a property in a restrictive zoning district under Title 10, but no solar-specific Use Permit trigger was found 55% · department page + site search
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either (licensed electrical/solar contractor, or the homeowner as owner-builder) 55% · inference from department forms
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 60% · department page (absence checked)
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department forms
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Plot plan with elevations (true north indicated), floor plan, foundation plan, structural plan with engineering calcs, electrical plan/specs, plumbing plan/specs, energy compliance forms; for solar specifically, engineered solar system design drawings tied to Title 24 energy compliance calcs, roof-mount location per plan set or ground-mount with concrete footing calculations 75% · department guideline PDF + program page
- How many copies, and in what format? 2 identical hardcopy sets for residential projects (3 for commercial), black or blue line, minimum 18"x24" sheet size, drawn to scale 75% · archived department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes - a plot plan with elevations showing true north (18 degrees west of magnetic north unless depicted otherwise); for solar, the site plan must show roof-mounted location per the pre-approved plan set, or a ground-mount system with concrete footing calculations 78% · department page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not solar-specific, but the county's general plan-and-specifications table requires ALL residential and residential-accessory structural plans to be prepared, signed and stamped by a California-licensed architect or engineer, with no size/valuation threshold exemption stated 60% · department guideline PDF
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Siskiyou County Public Portal, powered by SmartGov (Granicus), at co-siskiyou-ca.smartgovcommunity.com 90% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No -- application and status tracking can be done online, but hardcopy plan sets (2 for residential) must still be mailed/delivered to the Building Division before review begins, and the county's own Applications and Permits page (fetched live today) still says 'In the future permits will be available online' 75% · department page
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 80% · fee schedule page
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Likely yes, as a percentage of the permit fee 55% · inference from cited model code
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 8 to 10 weeks average for a complete plan submittal (as of the 2025 code-cycle implementation surge); separately, the new online portal states a 5-business-day turnaround just for an initial response from staff 80% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Power (PacifiCorp) 78% · utility filing / CEQA record
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with a hard dependency at the end: the customer generation application/approval with Pacific Power can proceed independent of the county permit, but Pacific Power will not energize (install the net meter) until the installer submits the county's approved electrical inspection to Pacific Power 80% · utility interconnection guide
28 questions answered against Siskiyou County’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, for the unincorporated area of the county only
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Building Division pages and permit guidelines govern the unincorporated area; the guidelines PDF states the same reviews are done by the cities of Fort Jones, Etna and Montague instead of the county, and other incorporated cities (Yreka, Mount Shasta, Weed, Dunsmuir) confirmed to run their own building departments
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/permit-application-process
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe county's Building Division (a division of the Community Development Department) issues building and electrical permits together on one Building Permit Application; no separate electrical-only permitting body exists
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherApplications and Permits page cites CRC R105.1 that a permit is required for repairs/additions to electrical systems; the Pre-Approved Plans page separately requires engineered solar system design drawings as part of the building permit submittal for new construction
department page / ordinance reference checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherOnly one Building Permit Application form is published and it covers building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing scopes together; no standalone electrical-permit application or fee line was found
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either (licensed electrical/solar contractor, or the homeowner as owner-builder)
Why the confidence is not higherCounty publishes an Owner-Builder Form and Owner-Builder Handout allowing homeowners to pull permits themselves; no page restricts electrical permits to a specific license class, so this is an inference from the owner-builder program plus standard CA practice, not a direct statement
inference from department forms checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe published list of Building Division supporting documents (permit application, owner-builder form, ag-exemption forms, mobile home forms) contains no contractor-registration form or requirement; absence checked against the county's own forms list
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCounty publishes a dedicated Owner-Builder Form, an 'Owner-Builder Handout Read before Pulling a Permit', and an 'Owner-Builder Notice re Assembly Bill 2335' among its standard Building Division documents
department forms checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Plot plan with elevations (true north indicated), floor plan, foundation plan, structural plan with engineering calcs, electrical plan/specs, plumbing plan/specs, energy compliance forms; for solar specifically, engineered solar system design drawings tied to Title 24 energy compliance calcs, roof-mount location per plan set or ground-mount with concrete footing calculations
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the general Building Permit Guidelines document (undated beyond a 2021 revision stamp, code list in it is stale) with the separately current Pre-Approved Plans page's Step 6 solar requirement
department guideline PDF + program page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/sites/default/files/fileattachments/building/page/2091/2021_bldgpermitguidelines.pdf
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
2 identical hardcopy sets for residential projects (3 for commercial), black or blue line, minimum 18"x24" sheet size, drawn to scale
Why the confidence is not higherSheet-size/line-color rule from the (dated 2021) Building Permit Guidelines; the 2-sets-residential figure comes from the Online Permitting Portal page (via Wayback Machine capture, since the live page now requires login) describing what must still be mailed in after online submission
archived department page checked 2026-08-30 http://web.archive.org/web/20260115001302/https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/community-development/page/online-permitting-portal
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes - a plot plan with elevations showing true north (18 degrees west of magnetic north unless depicted otherwise); for solar, the site plan must show roof-mounted location per the pre-approved plan set, or a ground-mount system with concrete footing calculations
Why the confidence is not higherPlot-plan requirement from Building Permit Guidelines PDF, solar-specific addition from the current Pre-Approved Plans page
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/community-development/page/pre-approved-plans
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Guidelines PDF electrical-plan section and the Pre-Approved Plans solar page; the guideline PDF says diagrams/calcs are 'not required for residential services of 200 amperes or less' generally but does not state whether this exempts PV-specific one-line diagrams
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedsame guideline PDF and Pre-Approved Plans page as q11; no PV string/conductor calculation requirement stated either way
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Not solar-specific, but the county's general plan-and-specifications table requires ALL residential and residential-accessory structural plans to be prepared, signed and stamped by a California-licensed architect or engineer, with no size/valuation threshold exemption stated
Why the confidence is not higherTable is in the general Building Permit Guidelines document, not a solar-specific checklist, and the document's code-edition list is outdated (2021 rev shows 2014-2015 codes even though the county now enforces the 2025 cycle) -- the administrative stamp table itself is not tied to a code edition so is treated as still in force, but this is an inference
department guideline PDF checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/sites/default/files/fileattachments/building/page/2091/2021_bldgpermitguidelines.pdf
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Guidelines PDF electrical-plan section; only a structural (not electrical) PE/architect stamp table is published, and the electrical note only addresses when diagrams/calcs are required, not a stamp threshold
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFees page and the linked ICC Building Valuation Data PDFs; fees are computed from a 1997 Uniform Administrative Code valuation table applied to project valuation, but no dollar figure, worksheet or fee table itself is published on the site
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Fees page states building permit fees are computed from the Uniform Administrative Code 1997 fee tables applied to a construction valuation, itself taken from ICC Building Valuation Data (currently the August 2025 table) or actual cost
fee schedule page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/fees
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Likely yes, as a percentage of the permit fee
Why the confidence is not higherCounty cites the 1997 Uniform Administrative Code as its fee-schedule basis; that model code's own Section 107.3 sets a separate plan-review fee (typically 65% of the permit fee), but no Siskiyou-specific document was found stating this figure directly, so this is inferred from the referenced model code rather than quoted from the county's own page
inference from cited model code checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
8 to 10 weeks average for a complete plan submittal (as of the 2025 code-cycle implementation surge); separately, the new online portal states a 5-business-day turnaround just for an initial response from staff
Why the confidence is not higher8-10 week figure is the county's own current Building landing-page statement; the 5-day figure is the portal's stated response time, not full plan-check completion, from an archived capture of the portal page since the live page now requires login
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCurrent Building Codes page, Building Permit Guidelines PDF, and Applications and Permits page; none states a permit-validity/expiration period
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Siskiyou County Public Portal, powered by SmartGov (Granicus), at co-siskiyou-ca.smartgovcommunity.com
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed live on the portal's own footer ('Powered by SmartGov... Granicus') and header ('Siskiyou County Public Portal'); a search result pointing to an Accela 'SCCGOV' portal was checked and rejected -- that is Santa Clara County's system, a contaminated/wrong-jurisdiction search hit, not Siskiyou's
portal landing page checked 2026-08-30 https://co-siskiyou-ca.smartgovcommunity.com/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No -- application and status tracking can be done online, but hardcopy plan sets (2 for residential) must still be mailed/delivered to the Building Division before review begins, and the county's own Applications and Permits page (fetched live today) still says 'In the future permits will be available online'
Why the confidence is not higherTwo sources agree the process is not fully paperless: the archived Online Permitting Portal page describes online submission plus required hardcopy plan delivery, and the live (today's) Applications and Permits page still frames online permitting as a future state, an inconsistency between two of the county's own pages that is itself worth flagging
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Power (PacifiCorp)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed via CPUC/CEQA filings describing PacifiCorp as providing retail electric service in Siskiyou County (Yreka, Mount Shasta area) and via PacifiCorp's own California interconnection materials; not taken from a ZIP-code lookup tool per instructions -- Siskiyou is one of the few CA counties served by Pacific Power rather than PG&E
utility filing / CEQA record checked 2026-08-30 https://ceqanet.lci.ca.gov/2016112057/2
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with a hard dependency at the end: the customer generation application/approval with Pacific Power can proceed independent of the county permit, but Pacific Power will not energize (install the net meter) until the installer submits the county's approved electrical inspection to Pacific Power
Why the confidence is not higherPacific Power's own interconnection brochure lays out an 8-step process where Step 2-4 (application/approval) can start early, Step 5 is county inspection, Step 6 is submitting that approval to Pacific Power, and Step 7 is meter installation within 10 days
utility interconnection guide checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/PP_Interconnection_Net_Meter_Brochure.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No -- the county does not require HOA/architectural approval as a permit prerequisite
Why the confidence is not higherNo HOA-approval requirement appears on the Building Division's applications/permits or guideline pages; California's Solar Rights Act (Civil Code 714) also preempts most HOA solar restrictions statewide, making a county-level HOA gate unlikely, but this is an inference rather than a direct county statement
department page (absence checked) + state law context checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Conditionally -- only if the property sits within a locally-designated design review or preservation district, or is a historic landmark
Why the confidence is not higherThe county's own exemption-list footnote on the Applications and Permits page states listed exemptions from permitting do not apply 'if within a design review or preservation district (or a historic landmark)', implying such districts exist and get extra review, though no separate solar-specific historic review process was found
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherSiskiyou County's own Design Information page sets a basic wind speed (95 mph V, Exposure C, effective with the 2022+ CBC cycle) that is folded into ordinary structural engineering/plan-check review; there is no separate 'windstorm certification' program of the kind used in Texas coastal counties
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/design-information
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Not required for a typical residential rooftop PV system; a Use Permit could be triggered for a large ground-mount array or a property in a restrictive zoning district under Title 10, but no solar-specific Use Permit trigger was found
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Planning Division's general zoning role (plot plan / zone-use review on every building permit) plus a site-wide search of siskiyoucounty.gov for 'solar', which returned only staff reports on unrelated commercial/utility-scale projects and the Pre-Approved Plans residential program, not a residential PV use-permit trigger
department page + site search checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/planning/page/zoning
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFees/Article 16 planning fee schedule, Title 10 zoning page, and a site-wide siskiyoucounty.gov search for 'solar' (positive control 'setback' returned relevant zoning hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned nothing, so the search itself is reliable); no residential system-size cap ordinance found
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 January 2026 85% · authority's own page
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code (Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5), effective 1 January 2026 95% · authority's own page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 January 2026 95% · authority's own page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes -- local design-value amendments exist for wind speed and ground/roof snow load (a countywide basic wind speed of 95 mph V plus area-specific snow load minimums of 60 psf for McCloud, Mt. Shasta, Weed, Happy Camp and Dunsmuir vs 40 psf elsewhere, now cross-checked against the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool for the 2025 cycle) 80% · authority's own page
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/Green Code (effective 1/1/2026) plus the county's own wind-speed and snow-load design amendments 78% · authority's own page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No Siskiyou-specific ridge-setback/pathway rule was found beyond whatever the adopted 2025 California Fire Code and California Residential Code impose by reference (fire-code roof access pathway and ridge-setback provisions such as those in CFC Ch.12 / CRC R324) 50% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC) 75% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No Siskiyou-specific placard list was published; the only placard requirement documented is Pacific Power's own requirement that the AC/battery disconnect switch carry a placard (plus, by default, whatever the adopted NEC 690/705 series requires at the service equipment) 65% · utility spec
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 60% · department page (absence checked)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No -- the county does not publish its own letter-height, colour or material spec; only the utility's disconnect-placard note (battery location and shutdown-indicator wording) and whatever the adopted NEC 690/705 series specifies apply 55% · department page (absence checked)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? A rapid-shutdown/facility map placard is required as a function of the adopted NEC (705.10 / 690.56(C)) rather than any county-specific bulletin; no Siskiyou-specific facility-map spec was found 60% · inference from adopted code edition
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- Pacific Power requires its own placard at the battery/solar disconnect switch stating the battery's physical location and how field personnel can visually confirm it is shut down (e.g. LED/halo indicator), in addition to whatever the AHJ requires 90% · utility DG spec
- Where must the labels be placed? At the service equipment / next to the utility meter -- Pacific Power's spec places the solar disconnect switch and its placard next to the utility meter, and the AC disconnect must be located between the production meter and the sub-panel per Pacific Power's general interconnection requirements 75% · utility spec
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Within 3 feet of the meter in California (per Pacific Power's stated state-specific distance requirement -- Oregon uses 10 feet), lockable in the open position, with a visible open/closed indication, located between the production meter and the sub-panel 90% · utility DG spec
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? No county-specific approved-equipment list was found; standard UL-listing / NEC compliance applies by default through the adopted electrical code 55% · inference from adopted code edition
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Presumably permitted subject to the adopted 2025 California Fire Code's energy-storage-system provisions; no Siskiyou-specific battery/ESS restriction, size cap or siting rule was found 50% · inference from adopted code edition
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 75% · department page
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No county-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing standard was found; roof-mount or ground-mount systems must simply be engineered per site-specific structural calcs (with concrete footing calculations required for ground-mount), per the general design/engineering requirement rather than a prescriptive spacing table 55% · department page
20 questions answered against Siskiyou County’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 January 2026
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Current Building Codes page lists '2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3)' effective 1/1/2026; the 2025 CEC cycle is based on the 2023 NEC per the state Building Standards Commission's normal three-year adoption pattern
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and 2025 California Residential Code (Title 24 Parts 2 and 2.5), effective 1 January 2026
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and currently on the county's Current Building Codes page
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (Title 24, Part 9), effective 1 January 2026
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and currently on the county's Current Building Codes page
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes -- local design-value amendments exist for wind speed and ground/roof snow load (a countywide basic wind speed of 95 mph V plus area-specific snow load minimums of 60 psf for McCloud, Mt. Shasta, Weed, Happy Camp and Dunsmuir vs 40 psf elsewhere, now cross-checked against the ASCE 7 Hazard Tool for the 2025 cycle)
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the county's own (currently maintained, 2025-cycle) Design Information page, which explicitly differs from the stale 90 mph figure in the 2021-revision-stamped guideline PDF -- the guideline PDF is out of date on this point and was not relied on
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/design-information
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/Green Code (effective 1/1/2026) plus the county's own wind-speed and snow-load design amendments
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of the Current Building Codes page and the Design Information page, both current authority pages
authority's own page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permit Guidelines PDF and Current Building Codes page; no local amendment to NEC 705.12/service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rules found beyond the code editions themselves
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No county-specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing standard was found; roof-mount or ground-mount systems must simply be engineered per site-specific structural calcs (with concrete footing calculations required for ground-mount), per the general design/engineering requirement rather than a prescriptive spacing table
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Pre-Approved Plans page solar requirement and the general structural-plan requirement in the Building Permit Guidelines PDF; no prescriptive attachment-spacing table or solar-specific mounting bulletin was found on the county site
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/community-development/page/pre-approved-plans
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No Siskiyou-specific ridge-setback/pathway rule was found beyond whatever the adopted 2025 California Fire Code and California Residential Code impose by reference (fire-code roof access pathway and ridge-setback provisions such as those in CFC Ch.12 / CRC R324)
Why the confidence is not higherThis is an inference from the code editions the county has adopted, not a Siskiyou-specific amendment; no local fire-code amendment or solar-specific setback bulletin was found on the county site or in a site-wide 'solar' search
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required under NEC 690.12 as incorporated in the adopted 2025 California Electrical Code (based on the 2023 NEC)
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a standard requirement of the NEC edition the county has adopted; no county-specific amendment to or exemption from 690.12 was found
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No Siskiyou-specific placard list was published; the only placard requirement documented is Pacific Power's own requirement that the AC/battery disconnect switch carry a placard (plus, by default, whatever the adopted NEC 690/705 series requires at the service equipment)
Why the confidence is not higherPacific Power's own disconnect-switch bulletin is the only concrete placard document found for this authority/utility pairing; the county published nothing solar-placard-specific despite a site-wide search
utility spec checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/Battery_ESTOP_and_Solar_Disconnect_Example_PP.pdf
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo county document (guideline PDF, current codes page, applications page) specifies its own placard wording; a site-wide search of siskiyoucounty.gov for 'solar' returned no placard-wording bulletin
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No -- the county does not publish its own letter-height, colour or material spec; only the utility's disconnect-placard note (battery location and shutdown-indicator wording) and whatever the adopted NEC 690/705 series specifies apply
Why the confidence is not higherSame absence-check as q39/q38; no county document addresses this
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/applications-and-permits
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
A rapid-shutdown/facility map placard is required as a function of the adopted NEC (705.10 / 690.56(C)) rather than any county-specific bulletin; no Siskiyou-specific facility-map spec was found
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the adopted code edition; no county-specific facility-map document exists
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- Pacific Power requires its own placard at the battery/solar disconnect switch stating the battery's physical location and how field personnel can visually confirm it is shut down (e.g. LED/halo indicator), in addition to whatever the AHJ requires
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated in Pacific Power's own 'Battery ESTOP & Solar Disconnect' bulletin
utility DG spec checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/Battery_ESTOP_and_Solar_Disconnect_Example_PP.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
At the service equipment / next to the utility meter -- Pacific Power's spec places the solar disconnect switch and its placard next to the utility meter, and the AC disconnect must be located between the production meter and the sub-panel per Pacific Power's general interconnection requirements
Why the confidence is not higherCombination of Pacific Power's disconnect diagram bulletin and its general interconnection brochure
utility spec checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/PP_Interconnection_Net_Meter_Brochure.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
No county-specific approved-equipment list was found; standard UL-listing / NEC compliance applies by default through the adopted electrical code
Why the confidence is not higherNo 'approved products list' page or document exists on the county site; inferred default from code adoption
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Presumably permitted subject to the adopted 2025 California Fire Code's energy-storage-system provisions; no Siskiyou-specific battery/ESS restriction, size cap or siting rule was found
Why the confidence is not higherInference from code adoption only; a site-wide search for solar/battery-specific county rules returned nothing beyond Pacific Power's own battery disconnect bulletin
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCurrent Building Codes page and a site-wide search for 'solar'/'battery'/'ESS'; no separate ESS permit or inspection process was found distinct from the standard building permit
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/current-building-codes
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe county's Pre-Approved Plans page treats a ground-mount solar system as requiring its own engineered concrete footing calculations, i.e. as a structure in its own right, distinct from a roof-mount installation
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/community-development/page/pre-approved-plans
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Within 3 feet of the meter in California (per Pacific Power's stated state-specific distance requirement -- Oregon uses 10 feet), lockable in the open position, with a visible open/closed indication, located between the production meter and the sub-panel
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated across two of Pacific Power's own bulletins
utility DG spec checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/Battery_ESTOP_and_Solar_Disconnect_Example_PP.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (online webform) or Phone 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? Effectively next business day, or same day if the request is submitted online before 7:00 AM on that route's inspection day 80% · department webform page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? AM/PM preference can be selected on the request form, but it is described as 'a courtesy and not a guarantee'; same-day service is available if the request is submitted before 7:00 AM on the applicable route day 82% · department webform page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not applicable -- inspections are not delegated; the county performs them itself 85% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? General sequence published is Foundation, Concrete Slab/Underfloor, Framing (includes electrical rough-in), Insulation, Lath/Wallboard, Final; a solar-only retrofit would typically use only the Framing/rough-electrical and Final steps from this list, though the county does not publish a solar-specific subset 70% · department page
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No distinct mid-roof inspection is listed; the general 'Framing' inspection stage explicitly includes an electrical check, which is where a rooftop PV rough-in would likely be caught 60% · department page
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No -- only a general, non-solar-specific 'guideline' list of inspection stages is published; the page itself says the list 'may or may not be all inclusive' 65% · department page (absence checked)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 65% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 85% · utility DG manual
14 questions answered against Siskiyou County’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (online webform) or Phone
Why the confidence is not higherRequired Inspections page directs applicants to the online Building Inspection Request webform or the inspection line at 530-842-8270
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Effectively next business day, or same day if the request is submitted online before 7:00 AM on that route's inspection day
Why the confidence is not higherThe inspection-request webform states 'If your request is received later than 7am it will be rescheduled the next available day for that route'
department webform page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/webform/building-inspection-online-request-form
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
AM/PM preference can be selected on the request form, but it is described as 'a courtesy and not a guarantee'; same-day service is available if the request is submitted before 7:00 AM on the applicable route day
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the county's own inspection-request webform page
department webform page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/webform/building-inspection-online-request-form
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe county's Building Division performs its own inspections (foundation through final) using its own inspection staff/route system; no delegation to a third party or to the state was found for unincorporated-area work
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not applicable -- inspections are not delegated; the county performs them itself
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with q52; no delegation arrangement found
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
General sequence published is Foundation, Concrete Slab/Underfloor, Framing (includes electrical rough-in), Insulation, Lath/Wallboard, Final; a solar-only retrofit would typically use only the Framing/rough-electrical and Final steps from this list, though the county does not publish a solar-specific subset
Why the confidence is not higherSequence is the general Required Inspections list, not solar-specific; no separate PV inspection sequence was found
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No distinct mid-roof inspection is listed; the general 'Framing' inspection stage explicitly includes an electrical check, which is where a rooftop PV rough-in would likely be caught
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general Required Inspections list, which has no separate mid-roof/rough-in category
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRequired Inspections page; the page lists inspection stages but does not state whether the inspector specifically verifies equipment labels/listings
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No -- only a general, non-solar-specific 'guideline' list of inspection stages is published; the page itself says the list 'may or may not be all inclusive'
Why the confidence is not higherThe Required Inspections page's own language disclaims completeness and is not a detailed checklist
department page (absence checked) checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRequired Inspections and Applications and Permits pages; neither states what documents (permit card, approved plans, etc.) must be physically on site at inspection
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFees page; no re-inspection fee dollar amount is published (a $150 figure found in search results belongs to Loomis, CA, a different jurisdiction, and was discarded per the rule against inheriting another authority's figures)
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedRequired Inspections and Applications and Permits pages; no description of how correction notices are issued or cleared was found
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherThe published inspection sequence ends in a 'Final' inspection stage ('After finish grading and the building is complete'); no separate Certificate of Occupancy process was found for a residential retrofit like a solar addition
department page checked 2026-08-30 https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/required-inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherPacific Power's interconnection brochure Step 6 has the customer/installer submit the approved local electrical inspection to Pacific Power, which then installs the net meter (Step 7) -- the utility does not pull this itself
utility DG manual checked 2026-08-30 https://www.pacificpower.net/content/dam/pcorp/documents/en/pacificpower/savings-energy-choices/customer-generation/PP_Interconnection_Net_Meter_Brochure.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Siskiyou County against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Siskiyou County is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (combined, plus Planning/zoning setback review internally) for the UNINCORPORATED area of the county only
- Why not higher
- Building sits, together with Planning and Environmental Health, as a division of the Community Development Department (confirmed via the county's own site nav and PDF letterhead), not a standalone 'Building Department' as a name alone might suggest -- correcting that is itself a finding. The county's own permit guidelines state that the incorporated cities of Fort Jones, Etna and Montague perform their own permit review rather than the county doing it for them, and independent research confirmed Yreka, Mount Shasta and (per general CA municipal practice) Weed and Dunsmuir each run their own city building departments and are therefore separate AHJs -- the county's rules apply only outside those city limits. Electric utility for the unincorporated area is Pacific Power (PacifiCorp), not PG&E, confirmed via CPUC/CEQA filings rather than a ZIP-code lookup tool.
https://www.siskiyoucounty.gov/building/page/permit-application-process
- Permit required
- Yes85%
- Plan review
- 8 to 10 weeks average for a complete plan submittal (as of the 2025 code-cycle implementation surge);80%
- Portal
- Siskiyou County Public Portal, powered by SmartGov (Granicus), at co-siskiyou-ca.smartgovcommunity.com90%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (adopted as the 2025 California Electrical Code, Title 24 Part 3), effective 1 January 202685%
- Own placard wording
- No60%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (online webform) or Phone90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 60%
No
Size, colour & material 55%
No -- the county does not publish its own letter-height, colour or material spec; only the utility's disconnect-placard note (battery location and shutdown-indicator wording) and whatever the adopted NEC 690/705 series specifies apply
Where they go 75%
At the service equipment / next to the utility meter -- Pacific Power's spec places the solar disconnect switch and its placard next to the utility meter, and the AC disconnect must be located between the production meter and the sub-panel per Pacific Power's general interconnection requirements
What the utility wants on top 90%
Yes -- Pacific Power requires its own placard at the battery/solar disconnect switch stating the battery's physical location and how field personnel can visually confirm it is shut down (e.g. LED/halo indicator), in addition to whatever the AHJ requires
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.