Suisun City
Solano County
Suisun City is a city authority in the State of California, serving 29,518 residents. 2,465 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Same day (if the application meets the approved checklist) or within 3 business days for electronic applications after a complete application is received Q18 Where you file — Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service Q20
- Permit required
- Yes90% source
- What it costs
- $196 flat (residential photovoltaic electrical permit fee)85% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Same day (if the application meets the approved checklist) or within 3 business days for electronic applications after a complete application is received90% source
- Key document
- ordinance, control-proven absence cited by 10 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · authority's own department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 82% · authority's own department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · ordinance
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · fee schedule + ordinance inference
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes (administrative-level review) 88% · ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 75% · ordinance, control-proven absence
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally 85% · ordinance
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal cap for the expedited 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' pathway; system must also not exceed the maximum legal building height and must be on a single or duplex-family dwelling. This is a gate to the expedited path, not an absolute ceiling — larger systems simply route to standard plan review (not explicitly detailed in any document found). 90% · ordinance
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? General building-permit submittal package (from the 'Get a Building Permit' page / 'Requirements to Obtain a Building Permit' handout, ModDate 26 Jun 2024): permit application, electronic construction drawings (plot plan, foundation detail, framing detail, floor plan, 2-4 elevations), and Title 24 energy compliance. No solar-specific checklist was found published anywhere on the site (see not_found), despite SCMC 15.04.390(E)(1) requiring the building official to publish one. 70% · authority's own handout, dated
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Plot plan showing position of proposed project relative to existing buildings, property lines, and public utility easements, at 1/8"=1'0" minimum scale (general building-permit requirement; no solar-specific site-plan content — e.g. panel layout, fire-access pathways — is specified in any city document found). 65% · authority's own handout
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No fixed valuation/size threshold is codified; SCMC 15.04.110(B) gives the building official discretion to require plans 'prepared and designed by an engineer or architect licensed by the state' where needed for code enforcement, and 15.04.120 requires state Building/Professional Code-compliant design only for occupancy groups A,B,E,F,H,I,M,S,R-1 (not R-3 single-family). 62% · ordinance
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service 92% · authority's own department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 62% · portal landing page, inferred from platform type
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $196 flat (residential photovoltaic electrical permit fee) 85% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat 82% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 58% · fee schedule inference
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Same day (if the application meets the approved checklist) or within 3 business days for electronic applications after a complete application is received 90% · ordinance
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 2 years (730 days) from date of issuance 78% · ordinance
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 85% · adopted General Plan background report
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel, with PTO gated on the AHJ's final inspection clearance 75% · utility tariff
28 questions answered against Suisun City’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department page states its Building Division 'safeguards the health, safety and welfare of Suisun City residents...by effective administration and enforcement of city building codes'; SCMC Title 15 Ch. 15.04 codifies the building official's authority citywide.
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherCity issues its own building and electrical permits (SCMC 15.04); the Building Division consists of an in-house Permit Technician plus 'a contract Inspector, and contract plan check services' per the Building Department's own page, so permitting is self-performed but inspection/plan-check staffing is contracted out (firm not named on any city page found).
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390 (Residential Solar Projects, adopting AB 2188/Solar Rights Act expedited process) presupposes and requires a permit ('the building official shall issue a building permit or other nondiscretionary permit'); general building permit chapter 15.04 requires permits for construction/electrical work.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe codified solar-permitting section (15.04.390.F.1) speaks of the building official issuing 'a building permit' (singular) for a qualifying small residential rooftop system, and the Master Fee Schedule lists a single 'Photovoltaic Systems Residential' line under Electrical Permit Fees ($196) rather than a separate PV-specific building fee — suggesting one combined application, though this is inferred rather than stated outright.
fee schedule + ordinance inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/finance-department/documents/master-fee-schedules/2023-90-master-fee-schedule-for-fiscal-year-2023-24-exhibit-a-2023-06-27.pdf
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.010 (Purpose) expressly preserves that 'nothing in the codes adopted in this chapter shall be construed to prevent any person from performing his own building, mechanical, plumbing or electrical work when performed with the permits in compliance with this chapter' — i.e., owner or licensed contractor.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.100: 'Any contractor or subcontractor who applies for permits to do work within the city limits...shall be denied permits if he does not possess current valid city business licenses.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.010 preserves an owner's right to perform 'his own building, mechanical, plumbing or electrical work' with permits in compliance with the chapter; 15.04.110.A allows applications to be 'signed by the property owner or a duly licensed contractor, engineer or architect.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
General building-permit submittal package (from the 'Get a Building Permit' page / 'Requirements to Obtain a Building Permit' handout, ModDate 26 Jun 2024): permit application, electronic construction drawings (plot plan, foundation detail, framing detail, floor plan, 2-4 elevations), and Title 24 energy compliance. No solar-specific checklist was found published anywhere on the site (see not_found), despite SCMC 15.04.390(E)(1) requiring the building official to publish one.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the generic building-permit package, not a solar-specific one; the codified solar ordinance requires a dedicated checklist be published on the city website and none was found in a full sitemap crawl (515 URLs) or on the two most likely pages.
authority's own handout, dated checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGet-a-Building-Permit page and the generic 2024 building-permit handout (ModDate 26 Jun 2024) — neither specifies a required number of copies beyond a general '3 sets of plans' rule in SCMC 15.04.110(B) that applies to building permits generally, and the solar ordinance instead calls for electronic submittal without specifying a copy count.
https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Plot plan showing position of proposed project relative to existing buildings, property lines, and public utility easements, at 1/8"=1'0" minimum scale (general building-permit requirement; no solar-specific site-plan content — e.g. panel layout, fire-access pathways — is specified in any city document found).
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from the generic building-permit handout, not a solar-specific submittal list, which was not found to exist.
authority's own handout checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.04.390 (solar ordinance, full text read), the generic 2024 building-permit handout, and a full sitemap crawl of suisun.com (515 URLs) for a dedicated solar checklist/handout — none specify a one-line/three-line diagram requirement.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q11 — no solar-specific submittal checklist exists to specify string/conductor calculations.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No fixed valuation/size threshold is codified; SCMC 15.04.110(B) gives the building official discretion to require plans 'prepared and designed by an engineer or architect licensed by the state' where needed for code enforcement, and 15.04.120 requires state Building/Professional Code-compliant design only for occupancy groups A,B,E,F,H,I,M,S,R-1 (not R-3 single-family).
Why the confidence is not higherDiscretionary standard, not a numeric threshold; no solar-specific PE-stamp trigger was found.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.04 (code-adoption and permit-application sections) read in full — no electrical PE-stamp threshold specified, distinct from the general discretionary engineer/architect provision at 15.04.110(B).
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$196 flat (residential photovoltaic electrical permit fee)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (Resolution 2023-90, adopted 27 Jun 2023; image-only PDF, OCR-extracted and cross-checked at 400dpi), Section 5 (Building) > Electrical Permit Fees: 'Photovoltaic Systems Residential (each) $196', unchanged from the June 2022 schedule. A separate 'Photovoltaic Commercial System' line (percentage/per-kW basis) exists for commercial only.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/finance-department/documents/master-fee-schedules/2023-90-master-fee-schedule-for-fiscal-year-2023-24-exhibit-a-2023-06-27.pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule's only residential PV line is a flat $196 'each' fee under Electrical Permit Fees, distinct from the valuation-based New Construction table elsewhere in the same schedule.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/finance-department/documents/master-fee-schedules/2023-90-master-fee-schedule-for-fiscal-year-2023-24-exhibit-a-2023-06-27.pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Master Fee Schedule lists the residential PV fee as a single flat $196 line with no separate plan-check charge shown; by contrast the Fire Department's own construction fee schedule explicitly bundles 'plan check, 1 resubmittal, and X inspections' into its line items, and no equivalent PV line appears there at all. Absence of a distinct plan-check fee is inferred from the schedule's structure, not stated outright.
fee schedule inference checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/finance-department/documents/master-fee-schedules/2023-90-master-fee-schedule-for-fiscal-year-2023-24-exhibit-a-2023-06-27.pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Same day (if the application meets the approved checklist) or within 3 business days for electronic applications after a complete application is received
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390(F)(1): 'The building official shall issue a building permit...the same day for applications that meet the requirements of the approved checklist or within three business days for electronic applications...after receipt of a complete application.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
2 years (730 days) from date of issuance
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.130: 'Permits for all occupancy groups shall be valid for two years from the date of their issuance provided that the time limits of starting work or work stoppage are met.' This is the general building-permit validity rule; the solar ordinance does not set its own separate validity period.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page: 'Click here to access the Permit Application Portal' links to cityofsuisuncityca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice.
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service portals of this type generally support full online application submittal and payment; not independently confirmed by walking through an application (portal requires an account/login), so treated as inference from the platform.
portal landing page, inferred from platform type checked 2026-08-31 https://cityofsuisuncityca-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's own adopted General Plan Background Report, Vol. 2, Ch. 11 (Community Facilities): 'Electricity: Pacific Gas & Electric Co.' and 'Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) provides electricity and natural gas to the City of Suisun City.' No CCA (e.g. MCE) was found named on any current city page (Building Dept, Get-a-Building-Permit, Planning, Fee Schedule) — this document is dated 2015 in the General Plan background series, so treated as good but not current-dated evidence.
adopted General Plan background report checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/development-services/documents/background_reports_fin_-_vol_2_-_ch_11_-_community_facilities.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel, with PTO gated on the AHJ's final inspection clearance
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Section D.13.b (current tariff sheet, effective 29 Aug 2025, downloaded and grepped in full): Distribution Provider approval for Interconnection (Permission to Operate) requires, among other things, 'evidence of Applicant's final electric inspection clearance from the Governmental Authority having jurisdiction over the Generating Facility.' This is a PG&E-wide rule, not Suisun-specific.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.04.390(F)(6), which addresses HOA/association review only as a limit on association authority (45-day deemed-approval rule) rather than as a city-imposed prerequisite; the city itself does not require HOA/architectural approval before permitting. Recorded as a qualified 'No' at confidence below the answer threshold rather than asserted outright, since no document states this in so many words for the CITY'S own process.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes (administrative-level review)
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 18.60.020: 'Solar technologies may be installed in a designated historic district subject to administrative review by the development services director to ensure that the installation does not alter the character-defining features of historic resource values'; 18.60.090 details what is allowed. The city's historic/design-review regime (Ch. 18.78, Architectural Review Board) is itself scoped only to the Waterfront District Specific Plan (Old Town) area, and 18.78.020(A) lets the ARB delegate 'minor actions' to the development services director — consistent with the solar chapter's administrative-only pathway rather than a full ARB hearing.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT18ZO_ARTIVSPARSPUSRE_CH18.60REENOL
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo wind/windstorm certification requirement was found anywhere in the adopted-codes chapter (SCMC 15.04); positive control ('roof', 4 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the extraction and search were working. This is consistent with California jurisdictions generally, which do not impose a separate windstorm certification (unlike coastal/Gulf-state AHJs).
ordinance, control-proven absence checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390(F)(1): the building official 'may require an applicant to apply for a use permit if the official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety,' appealable to the city council.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal cap for the expedited 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' pathway; system must also not exceed the maximum legal building height and must be on a single or duplex-family dwelling. This is a gate to the expedited path, not an absolute ceiling — larger systems simply route to standard plan review (not explicitly detailed in any document found).
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390(A)(2): definition of 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' — no larger than 10 kW AC nameplate or 30 kW thermal, single/duplex dwelling only, does not exceed max legal building height. This is the codified AB 2188-era figure.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (via the 2022 California Electrical Code), per the codified local adoption — SCMC 15.04.030(D). NOTE: this citation is codified through Ord. No. 801 (8 Aug 2023) and the code is codified through Supplement 23 / Ord. No. 820 (17 Jun 2025) with no visible newer building/electrical-code adoption ordinance; the statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle (2025 CEC, based on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026 and applies automatically as a matter of state law even though the local codification text has not caught up. 68% · ordinance, with lag noted
- Which building code edition is in force? 2022 CBC (referencing 2021 IBC), per SCMC 15.04.030(A) — same code-cycle-lag caveat as Q29: statewide 2025 CBC took effect 1 Jan 2026 and the local ordinance text has not been updated to reflect it. 68% · ordinance, with lag noted
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2022 CFC (referencing 2021 IFC), per SCMC 15.04.030(H), together with Chapters 1, 2 and Appendices B, C, D, E — same code-cycle-lag caveat: statewide 2025 CFC took effect 1 Jan 2026 and the local text has not been updated. 68% · ordinance, with lag noted
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2022 California Electrical Code (2020 NEC) and the equipment/performance standards named in SCMC 15.04.390(D) — CEC, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL) — plus, for the expedited pathway, conformance to the checklist and standard plans in the current California Solar Permitting Guidebook per 15.04.390(E)(5). 75% · ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Suisun City on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2020 NEC (§690.12) via the 2022 CEC (SCMC 15.04.030(D)); no local amendment to this requirement was found. 78% · ordinance, inferred from adopted NEC edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes, conditionally — a visible manual disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E operating practices. 72% · utility tariff
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 82% · ordinance
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference 68% · ordinance, inferred from zoning definition
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Roof-mounted panels/thermal tanks must be mounted no more than 10 inches from the roof surface. 85% · ordinance (zoning design chapter)
20 questions answered against Suisun City’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC (via the 2022 California Electrical Code), per the codified local adoption — SCMC 15.04.030(D). NOTE: this citation is codified through Ord. No. 801 (8 Aug 2023) and the code is codified through Supplement 23 / Ord. No. 820 (17 Jun 2025) with no visible newer building/electrical-code adoption ordinance; the statewide 2025 Title 24 cycle (2025 CEC, based on the 2023 NEC) took effect 1 Jan 2026 and applies automatically as a matter of state law even though the local codification text has not caught up.
Why the confidence is not higherGenuine code-cycle lag: local text still reads '2022 California Electric Code which references the National Electrical Code, 2020 Edition' while the statewide base code has since moved to the 2025 cycle (2023 NEC). Flagging both facts rather than picking one.
ordinance, with lag noted checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2022 CBC (referencing 2021 IBC), per SCMC 15.04.030(A) — same code-cycle-lag caveat as Q29: statewide 2025 CBC took effect 1 Jan 2026 and the local ordinance text has not been updated to reflect it.
Why the confidence is not higherSame lag issue as the NEC citation.
ordinance, with lag noted checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2022 CFC (referencing 2021 IFC), per SCMC 15.04.030(H), together with Chapters 1, 2 and Appendices B, C, D, E — same code-cycle-lag caveat: statewide 2025 CFC took effect 1 Jan 2026 and the local text has not been updated.
Why the confidence is not higherSame lag issue as Q29/30.
ordinance, with lag noted checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04 contains numerous local amendments to the adopted model codes: e.g. 15.04.160/.170 (CBC §111.1/CRC §R110.1, certificate of occupancy), 15.04.180 (final inspection), 15.04.190/.200 (roofing, standard plans), 15.04.220 (UAC §204, new materials/appeals), 15.04.230 (CFC amendments), 15.04.304/.310 (fire code modifications/appeals).
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2022 California Electrical Code (2020 NEC) and the equipment/performance standards named in SCMC 15.04.390(D) — CEC, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g. UL) — plus, for the expedited pathway, conformance to the checklist and standard plans in the current California Solar Permitting Guidebook per 15.04.390(E)(5).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly codified basis for judging the installation.
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.04 (adopted-codes and amendments chapter, full text) and the Master Fee Schedule electrical section — no local rule on service-panel upgrades or busbar sizing was found; positive control ('electric', 11 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the search worked.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Roof-mounted panels/thermal tanks must be mounted no more than 10 inches from the roof surface.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 18.60.080(A): 'Solar panels and tanks for solar thermal systems must be mounted at a distance of no more than ten inches from the roof surface.' This sits in the zoning design-guideline chapter (18.60), not the building/electrical code.
ordinance (zoning design chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT18ZO_ARTIVSPARSPUSRE_CH18.60REENOL
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.80 (Fire Prevention chapter, full text) and the Fire Department's own 2022-23 Construction Fee Schedule — no locally amended ridge setback or fire-access pathway requirement was found for PV specifically; positive control ('fire', 20 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) on Ch. 15.80 confirm the search worked. The adopted 2022 CFC (by reference) carries baseline access-pathway rules, but no local customization was found.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required under the adopted 2020 NEC (§690.12) via the 2022 CEC (SCMC 15.04.030(D)); no local amendment to this requirement was found.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the adopted NEC edition; positive control ('electric', 11 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) on the code-adoption chapter confirm no local rapid-shutdown-specific text exists to read (neither confirming nor contradicting the state-code baseline).
ordinance, inferred from adopted NEC edition checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.80 (Fire Prevention), SCMC 15.70 (Safety Assessment Placards — proved to be post-disaster red/yellow/green tags, unrelated to solar), the Fire Department's own construction fee schedule, and a full sitemap crawl for a dedicated solar/PV handout — none specify AHJ-required placards at the service equipment beyond whatever the adopted 2022 CEC (§705) requires by reference.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no city-authored placard wording was found.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no letter height/colour/material specification was found.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement was found.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes, conditionally — a visible manual disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E operating practices.
Why the confidence is not higherPG&E Electric Rule 21, Section H.1.d (current tariff, effective 29 Aug 2025, downloaded and grepped in full): 'Producer shall furnish and install a ganged, manually-operated isolating switch...The device must...include markings or signage that clearly indicates open and closed positions.' This is triggered 'when required by Distribution Provider's operating practices' rather than unconditionally, and is PG&E-wide rather than Suisun-specific.
utility tariff checked 2026-08-31 https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q38 for the AHJ side; PG&E Rule 21 (§H.1.d) requires a visible disconnect with open/closed markings but does not specify a precise mounting location relative to the meter in the portion reviewed.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390(D)(3): PV systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.80 (Fire Prevention) and SCMC 15.04 (adopted codes) — no local battery/ESS-specific ordinance was found; the adopted 2022 CFC (Chapter 12, by reference) would carry the state baseline, but no city-specific ESS conditions document was found.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMaster Fee Schedule (OCR'd in full) and the Fire Department's own construction fee schedule — no separate ESS permit or inspection fee line exists; positive control ('electrical', 9 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) on the Master Fee Schedule OCR confirm the search worked.
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, by inference
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 18.04 defines 'Structure' broadly as 'Anything constructed or erected, the use of which requires location on or in the ground or attachment to something having location on or in the ground, but not including any trailer or tent' — this would capture a ground-mounted array. The solar zoning chapter (18.60.100) sets ground-mount design standards (screening, uniform arrays, low profile) but does not itself restate that a ground mount is 'a structure.'
ordinance, inferred from zoning definition checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT18ZO_ARTIGEPR_CH18.04DE
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's public Rule 21 tariff (reviewed in full) specifies a visible, marked disconnect near the point of interconnection but the precise meter-relative placement spec (comparable to the gated PG&E Greenbook TD-7001M referenced in other GovBot runs) was not located in the public tariff text.
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (Tyler EnerGov self-service) or phone 82% · authority's own department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Delegated 75% · authority's own department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for the expedited pathway, only one consolidated inspection is required; general (non-expedited) construction follows the standard multi-stage sequence (foundation, underfloor, frame, insulation, sheetrock nailing, final) from the general building-permit handout. 82% · ordinance
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 78% · ordinance, inferred
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The Inspection Card must be on site at the time of inspection. 88% · authority's own department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $130 per hour 82% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against Suisun City’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (Tyler EnerGov self-service) or phone
Why the confidence is not higherGet a Building Permit page: 'Inspections may be requested by calling 707-421-7319 or through the online portal.'
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGet a Building Permit page and the generic 2024 building-permit handout — neither states a required advance-notice period for scheduling an inspection.
https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as Q50 — no mention of same-day or AM/PM inspection windows.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Delegated
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Department page: the Building Division 'consists of a Permit Technician, a contract Inspector, and contract plan check services' — inspections are performed by a contracted inspector rather than in-house city staff.
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page states inspection and plan-check are contracted out, but no firm name was found on the department page, the staff directory, the FY2023-24 proposed budget, or the ClearGov budget-book executive overview.
https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a small residential rooftop solar system eligible for the expedited pathway, only one consolidated inspection is required; general (non-expedited) construction follows the standard multi-stage sequence (foundation, underfloor, frame, insulation, sheetrock nailing, final) from the general building-permit handout.
Why the confidence is not higherSCMC 15.04.390(F)(8): 'For a small residential rooftop solar energy system eligible for expedited review, only one inspection shall be required...and should include consolidated inspections. If inspection fails, a subsequent inspection is authorized.'
ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with SCMC 15.04.390(F)(8) limiting an expedited small residential rooftop system to a single consolidated inspection; no separate rough-in/mid-roof inspection is specified for solar.
ordinance, inferred checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/suisun_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04PENICO
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGet a Building Permit page and the general building-permit handout — neither states explicitly that the inspector verifies labels/listings as a distinct checked item (though SCMC 15.04.390(D)(3) requires listed equipment, that is a design requirement, not a stated inspection-checklist item).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull sitemap crawl of suisun.com (515 URLs) plus the Building Department and Get-a-Building-Permit pages — no published solar-specific inspection checklist was found, despite SCMC 15.04.390(E)(1) requiring the building official to publish required documents on the city website.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The Inspection Card must be on site at the time of inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherGet a Building Permit page: 'You must have the INSPECTION CARD on site at time of inspection.'
authority's own department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department/Get-a-Building-Permit
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$130 per hour
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (Resolution 2023-90, adopted 27 Jun 2023), Section 5 (Building) > Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing 'Other Inspections and Fees': 'Reinspection Fee (per hour) $130', unchanged from June 2022. Confirmed at 400dpi OCR re-scan since the standard 200dpi pass dropped the dollar-amount column.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.suisun.com/files/sharedassets/suisuncity/v/1/departments/finance-department/documents/master-fee-schedules/2023-90-master-fee-schedule-for-fiscal-year-2023-24-exhibit-a-2023-06-27.pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGet a Building Permit page and general handout — no description found of how corrections are issued/cleared beyond the general 'no work beyond the point of inspection until approved' rule (SCMC 15.04, Permit Inspection Requirements).
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCMC 15.04.160/.170 requires a Certificate of Occupancy for occupying 'any building or structure,' but no document states what is issued specifically on a residential PV retrofit permit passing final (an already-occupied home does not obviously need a new CO); no solar-specific 'what is issued' statement was found.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPG&E's Rule 21 process implies the Applicant/installer submits the interconnection request including AHJ final-inspection evidence, but no Suisun City-specific or PG&E consumer-facing document was found stating who — installer vs. AHJ — formally notifies PG&E for PTO.
https://www.pge.com/tariffs/assets/pdf/tariffbook/ELEC_RULES_21.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Suisun City against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Suisun City is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (self-issued permits; inspection and plan-check functions are contracted out to an unnamed firm/individual per the Building Department's own description)
- Overridden by
- PG&E Electric Rule 21 gates Permission-to-Operate on the AHJ's final inspection clearance (utility-level, statewide rule, not a jurisdiction override); the state Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714/§4600) and AB 2188 constrain both the city's own review authority and any private HOA's authority per SCMC 15.04.390.
- Why not higher
- Suisun City runs its own in-house Building Division (permit technician + contracted inspector/plan-checker) under SCMC Title 15, Ch. 15.04, and its own Fire Department (SCMC Ch. 2.28 and Ch. 15.80), with a named Fire Marshal (Jose Colin, jcolin@suisun.com) on the city's own domain — no evidence of delegation to Solano County or Fairfield-adjacent fire agencies was found on either the city's own Fire pages or a domain check. Suisun City is Solano County's own incorporated city, and Solano County is AHJ only for unincorporated territory (not independently re-confirmed in this run, but standard CA structure and not contradicted by anything found).
https://www.suisun.com/Departments/Development-Services/Building-Department
- Permit required
- Yes90%
- Permit cost
- $196 flat (residential photovoltaic electrical permit fee)85%
- Plan review
- Same day (if the application meets the approved checklist) or within 3 business days for electronic applications after a complete application is received90%
- Portal
- Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service92%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC (via the 2022 California Electrical Code), per the codified local adoption — SCMC 15.04.030(D). NOTE: this citation is codified through Ord. No.68%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (Tyler EnerGov self-service) or phone82%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 72%
Yes, conditionally — a visible manual disconnect near the point of interconnection with markings/signage clearly indicating open and closed positions, when required by PG&E operating practices.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.