Town of Portola Valley
San Mateo County
Town of Portola Valley is a city authority in the State of California, serving 4,456 residents. 651 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — PVMC 15.21.060(B): the Building Department must issue the permit within 3 business days of a complete application, Q18 Where you file — No dedicated online permit portal for Town building/solar permits was found -- applications go by email to planbuild@portolavalley.net (or in person). Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- Building/electrical permit cost from the Town's own Master Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026) could not be retrieved this run -- see not_found.60% source
- Plan review turnaround
- PVMC 15.21.060(B): the Building Department must issue the permit within 3 business days of a complete application, 'including review by Woodside Fire Protection District.' However,78% source
- Key document
- municipal code vs. fire-district page (conflicting) cited by 6 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 78% · department page + municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · municipal code
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No (not required by the Town as a permit gate) 70% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, conditionally 82% · municipal code
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No 85% · municipal code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally: PVMC 15.21.060(C) lets the Building Official require a 'use permit' if there is substantial evidence the solar system would have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety; a denial of that use permit may be appealed to the Planning Commission. 90% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No hard citywide size cap on residential solar generation; 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the EXPEDITED (3-business-day) review path defined at PVMC 15.21.020(B), not a ceiling on system size generally. 85% · municipal code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 50% · municipal code (inference from silence)
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 80% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Per the Town's Building Permit FAQ: a completed Building Permit application, payment of filing/plan-check/inspection fees and any professional-service deposits, and 'wet signed and stamped building plan sets, structural calculations, and Title 24 calculations.' 55% · department FAQ page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? No dedicated online permit portal for Town building/solar permits was found -- applications go by email to planbuild@portolavalley.net (or in person). The Town does run OpenGov Citizen Portal for business licenses (portolavalleyca.portal.opengov.com). On the fire side, Woodside Fire Protection District runs its own Accela Citizen Access Portal (live since 10 Mar 2025) for fire construction permits and inspections covering Town-issued building permits. 78% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? No (for the Town's own building/solar permit -- email/in-person submittal only). The fire-safety half of the process can be completed online via WFPD's Accela portal. 72% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Building/electrical permit cost from the Town's own Master Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026) could not be retrieved this run -- see not_found. The fire-safety side is confirmed: Woodside Fire Protection District's own current fee schedule (effective 1 Jul 2026) lists 'Photovoltaic Systems -- Residential' at $449 flat (includes 1 plan review + 1 inspection), separate from the Town's building-permit fee. 60% · fire district fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat (confirmed for the fire-district portion only) 65% · fire district fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No (for the fire-district portion): WFPD's $449 residential PV fee is bundled and 'includes 1 inspection' with no separate plan-review line. The Town's own building-side plan-check fee status is unconfirmed. 55% · fire district fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? PVMC 15.21.060(B): the Building Department must issue the permit within 3 business days of a complete application, 'including review by Woodside Fire Protection District.' However, WFPD's own current submittal-requirements page separately states its own 'plan review process and issuance of a fire construction permit may take approximately 14 days' -- a direct conflict between the codified 3-day figure and the fire district's own stated turnaround. 78% · municipal code vs. fire-district page (conflicting)
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (inferred: unamended CBC §105.5 / CRC §R105.5 default; the Town's own ch. 15.04 amendments to the 2025 CBC/CRC do not touch the standard permit-expiration section) 55% · municipal code (inference)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) 72% · fire district page (secondary confirmation, not the utility's own map)
28 questions answered against Town of Portola Valley’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.030: 'This chapter applies to the permitting of all small residential rooftop solar energy systems in the town of Portola Valley,' and the Town's Planning & Building Department issues the permits directly.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town issues one 'building permit' covering both building and electrical scope for small residential rooftop solar (PVMC 15.21.060(B)). However, plan-check is contracted to Kutzmann and Associates (per the Town's own overview page) and a separate fire-safety inspection is delegated by ordinance to Woodside Fire Protection District (15.21.060(G)) -- so while the Town self-permits both trades, two functions are delegated out. Not higher because the schema forces a single choice and this arrangement is genuinely split.
department page + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/overview-of-building-planning
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.030 applies the permitting chapter to all small residential rooftop solar systems; routine operation/maintenance and like-kind replacement are the only exemptions.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(B) speaks of a single 'building permit or other nondiscretionary permit' issued for the whole solar system; I found no separate stand-alone electrical-permit process specific to solar (the Town does publish a generic separate 'Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical Application' form used for standalone electrical work, but nothing indicates solar is split across two permits). Not higher because the Town's fee schedule, which would confirm this definitively, was inaccessible this run (see not_found q15/q17).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherNo PVMC provision restricts small-residential-solar electrical permitting to licensed electricians only; California's general Contractors State License Law (B&P Code) allows a licensed contractor or an owner-builder to pull permits statewide absent a local restriction, and I found none in ch. 15.04 or 15.21. This is an inference from the absence of a restriction, not a Town statement naming who may apply -- the Town's own Building Permit Application form (which would show a Contractor/Owner-Builder split) was inaccessible this run.
municipal code (inference from silence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town's Business License page states the Municipal Code 'requires obtaining a business license and paying the required fees prior to transacting, engaging in, or carrying on any business within the Town,' and its own application instructions tell applicants to 'make sure you have added your contractors license number' and to upload a copy of their State Contractor License. This applies to any contractor (including a solar installer) performing work in Town, not something specific to solar permitting itself.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/business/apply-for-a-business-license
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTown's Building Permit FAQ page and the Building Applications/Checklist list -- no owner-builder-specific statement (unlike some CA cities that publish a dedicated 'Considering Becoming an Owner-Builder?' handout) was found on the Town's site this run.
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Per the Town's Building Permit FAQ: a completed Building Permit application, payment of filing/plan-check/inspection fees and any professional-service deposits, and 'wet signed and stamped building plan sets, structural calculations, and Title 24 calculations.'
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the Town's general answer for ALL building permits (from its published FAQ page), not a solar-specific submittal list -- the Town's actual 'Applications Submittal Checklist' and 'Building Permit Application Checklist' PDFs, which would give the solar-specific package, returned an Access-Denied edge response under curl, headless-Chrome/CDP, and WebFetch retrieval every way I tried this run.
department FAQ page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/resource-center/general-information-and-handouts/building-permit-faqs
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Applications page lists PDF titles ('Applications Submittal Checklist,' 'Building Permit Application Checklist') but the page text itself doesn't state copy count or format, and every one of those PDFs returned an Access-Denied (Akamai) response under curl with browser headers, CDP-driven headless Chrome (including a warm-up navigation to establish session cookies first), WebFetch, and third-party proxy retrieval this run.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Town's 'Building Permit Application Checklist' PDF, which would name site-plan requirements, was Access-Denied under every retrieval method tried this run (see q9).
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame blocked checklist PDF as q10; PVMC ch. 15.21 itself does not itemize drawing requirements (it only requires the Building Department to adopt a checklist substantially conforming to the CA Solar Permitting Guidebook, per 15.21.050(E), which I could not independently verify was followed).
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame blocked checklist PDF as q10/q11.
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame blocked checklist PDF; PVMC ch. 15.04/15.21 state no structural-PE-stamp threshold in their own text.
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame blocked checklist PDF; no electrical-PE-stamp threshold found in the codified chapters I could read.
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Building/electrical permit cost from the Town's own Master Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026) could not be retrieved this run -- see not_found. The fire-safety side is confirmed: Woodside Fire Protection District's own current fee schedule (effective 1 Jul 2026) lists 'Photovoltaic Systems -- Residential' at $449 flat (includes 1 plan review + 1 inspection), separate from the Town's building-permit fee.
Why the confidence is not higherWFPD's fee page is the district's own live, dated (7/1/2026), first-party document and is unambiguous. The Town-side building/electrical fee -- the larger and more relevant part of the total cost -- is genuinely unknown this run because every retrieval method (curl with browser headers, CDP-driven headless Chrome after warm-up navigation, WebFetch, third-party proxies) hit the same Akamai 'Access Denied' response on the Town's showpublisheddocument endpoint.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/fee-schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat (confirmed for the fire-district portion only)
Why the confidence is not higherWFPD's Energy Systems fee table charges a flat $449 per residential PV system regardless of size (no per-kW component). The Town's own building-fee calculation method (flat/valuation/tiered) could not be confirmed this run because the Master Fee Schedule PDF was unreachable.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/fee-schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No (for the fire-district portion): WFPD's $449 residential PV fee is bundled and 'includes 1 inspection' with no separate plan-review line. The Town's own building-side plan-check fee status is unconfirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherWFPD's fee page states plainly under 'Energy Systems (All fees include 1 inspection)' that the PV fee is a single line item. The Town's Master Fee Schedule, which would show whether its own building-side fee bundles plan check, was unreachable this run.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/fee-schedule
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
PVMC 15.21.060(B): the Building Department must issue the permit within 3 business days of a complete application, 'including review by Woodside Fire Protection District.' However, WFPD's own current submittal-requirements page separately states its own 'plan review process and issuance of a fire construction permit may take approximately 14 days' -- a direct conflict between the codified 3-day figure and the fire district's own stated turnaround.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth figures come from first-party sources dated to the current run (the codified ordinance and WFPD's live submittal page); I am reporting both rather than picking one, since they genuinely disagree and I have no way to resolve which is operative in practice.
municipal code vs. fire-district page (conflicting) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days (inferred: unamended CBC §105.5 / CRC §R105.5 default; the Town's own ch. 15.04 amendments to the 2025 CBC/CRC do not touch the standard permit-expiration section)
Why the confidence is not higherI confirmed, by reading the full text of PVMC 15.04.020 and 15.04.030's amendment lists, that the Town amends Sections 101.1, 105.2, 109.6/R108.5, 111.3/R110.3, 112.1/R112.1, 113.4/R113.4 and several R3xx sections, but never 105.5/R105.5 (permit validity/expiration) -- so the unamended state-code default should control. This is an inference from an amendment list rather than a Town statement of the figure itself.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
No dedicated online permit portal for Town building/solar permits was found -- applications go by email to planbuild@portolavalley.net (or in person). The Town does run OpenGov Citizen Portal for business licenses (portolavalleyca.portal.opengov.com). On the fire side, Woodside Fire Protection District runs its own Accela Citizen Access Portal (live since 10 Mar 2025) for fire construction permits and inspections covering Town-issued building permits.
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town's own Applications & Checklists page instructs 'email all building applications to planbuild@portolavalley.net' with no portal link, while its Business License page and WFPD's submittal page each name a specific different portal for their own function -- three distinct, sourced systems for three distinct functions.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/resource-center/applications-checklists
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
No (for the Town's own building/solar permit -- email/in-person submittal only). The fire-safety half of the process can be completed online via WFPD's Accela portal.
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as q20: the Town's applications page names only an email address for building applications, no portal.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/resource-center/applications-checklists
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E)
Why the confidence is not higherWoodside Fire Protection District -- which explicitly serves Portola Valley -- names PG&E on its own Public Safety Power Shut-Off page as the utility whose PSPS events affect the district's jurisdiction. San Mateo County has no municipal electric utility; Peninsula Clean Energy is the county's Community Choice Aggregator for generation billing, but PG&E remains the wires/interconnection utility. I did not pull PG&E's own service-territory map this run, so this rests on a fire-district secondary source plus general knowledge of the region rather than a PG&E-side confirmation.
fire district page (secondary confirmation, not the utility's own map) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/preparedness-education/public-safety-power-shut-offs
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTown's Renewable Energy resource page and WFPD's submittal-requirements page -- neither describes where PG&E interconnection sits relative to Town permit issuance. PG&E's own Rule 21/DG interconnection manual was not fetched this run.
https://www.portolavalley.net/sustainability/resources-for-everyone/renewable-energy
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No (not required by the Town as a permit gate)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town's own 'Homeowners' Associations' resource page describes HOA review as something applicants 'should' obtain 'ideal[ly]... prior to submitting an application' -- advisory, not stated as a Town-enforced prerequisite for permit issuance. Several active HOAs exist in Town (Westridge, Portola Valley Ranch, Blue Oaks, Oak Hills, Hayfields, Portola Green Circle) that may independently require their own approval under their own CC&Rs, which the Town does not police.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/resource-center/general-information-and-handouts/homeowners-associations
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 18.64.010(9) requires Architectural and Site Control Commission (ASCC) review for 'building permits for properties with historic resources as identified in the historic element of the general plan.' The same section's full trigger list (buildings/additions >=400 sq ft or 2+ stories, commercial buildings, arterial-road frontage, large antennas, specific-plan areas, tennis courts, CUPs, nonconforming reconstruction, historic resources) does NOT independently list rooftop solar as a trigger, so ordinary residential PV on a non-historic property would not require ASCC/historic review.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT18ZO_CH18.64ARSIPLRE
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town's own locally-completed CRC Table R301.2 (Climatic and Geographic Design Criteria), codified at PVMC 15.04.030(H), fills in 'No' for Special Wind Region, Wind-borne Debris Zone, and Topographic Effects -- i.e., the Town has affirmatively certified it has none of the conditions that would trigger a windstorm-style certification.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally: PVMC 15.21.060(C) lets the Building Official require a 'use permit' if there is substantial evidence the solar system would have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health/safety; a denial of that use permit may be appealed to the Planning Commission.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text, verbatim from the Town's codified solar chapter -- this is the state-law-mandated 'specific adverse impact' exception built into AB 2188/Gov. Code §65850.5, not a Town-specific extra hurdle.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No hard citywide size cap on residential solar generation; 10 kW AC / 30 kW thermal is only the eligibility threshold for the EXPEDITED (3-business-day) review path defined at PVMC 15.21.020(B), not a ceiling on system size generally.
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.020(B) defines 'small residential rooftop solar energy system' at that threshold specifically 'for purposes of' the expedited chapter; nothing in Title 15 or 18 prohibits larger residential systems, which would simply fall outside the expedited path and go through standard plan review.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 95% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IRC) 95% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC) 95% · municipal code (code-adoption chapter)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? PVMC 15.21.040(C): solar-electric systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the public utilities commission regarding safety and reliability.' 92% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No Town-specific ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway figure was found for residential PV; defaults to the unamended 2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC) as adopted by reference. 76% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, via the unamended NEC (2023 edition, adopted as the 2025 CEC) -- NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown applies by reference. The Town's own code and solar chapter (ch. 15.21) do not separately restate or emphasize the rapid-shutdown requirement in their own words. 78% · municipal code (inference from code adoption)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? None beyond the unamended 2025 CFC / 2023 NEC baseline (e.g., standard NEC 690.56/705.10 disconnect and rapid-shutdown labeling); the Town has not added any placard requirement of its own. 74% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 78% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No 78% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
- Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Not specified by the Town locally; governed only by the unamended 2023 NEC §705.10 facility-map/placard requirement as adopted by reference. 68% · municipal code (control-checked absence)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 90% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, permitted. The Town's locally-amended CRC §R330.1 (PVMC 15.04.030(P)) reads: 'Energy storage systems (ESS) shall comply with the provisions of this section. Exceptions: 1. ESS less than 1 kWh (3.6 megajoules).' On the fire side, Woodside Fire Protection District charges a distinct 'Electrical Energy Storage System (ESS)' construction-permit fee of $449 (effective 7/1/2026), separate from its PV fee. 82% · municipal code + fire district fee schedule
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Yes, at least on the fire-district side: WFPD's fee schedule lists 'Electrical Energy Storage System (ESS)' ($449) as a fee/permit line distinct from 'Photovoltaic Systems -- Residential' ($449). Whether the Town's own building-side permit is likewise split for solar-plus-storage jobs could not be confirmed this run. 68% · fire district fee schedule
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes, by inference 60% · municipal code (inference)
20 questions answered against Town of Portola Valley’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.04.010(D): '2025 California Electrical Code (Part 3 of Title 24) ... Based on the 2023 National Electrical Code (NEC),' adopted by Ord. 2025-454, current as of the 21 Jul 2026 Municode update.
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code (based on the 2024 IBC) and 2025 California Residential Code (based on the 2024 IRC)
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.04.010(B)-(C), adopted by Ord. 2025-454 §3, 2026.
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code (based on the 2024 IFC)
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.04.010(J) and 15.04.090, adopted by the same Ord. 2025-454.
municipal code (code-adoption chapter) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local amendments confirmed by direct read of PVMC 15.04.020/.030 (permit-exemption lists, refund rules, temporary-occupancy conditions, board-of-appeals designation as Town Council, violation penalties, ADU sprinkler exception, R330.1 ESS exception) and 15.04.120 (WUI roof-covering exceptions).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
PVMC 15.21.040(C): solar-electric systems 'shall meet all applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories and, where applicable, rules of the public utilities commission regarding safety and reliability.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect, current ordinance text.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Town publishes a titled handout, 'Building Code 2022 -- Requirements for New or Upgraded Main Electrical Panel,' which by its title likely answers this -- but the PDF returned an Access-Denied response under every retrieval method tried this run, so its content is unverified (existence of the handout is confirmed; content is not).
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/16998/638084486169770000
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Town's Building Permit Application Checklist PDF (blocked, see q10) and full-text search of ch. 15.04/15.21 -- no mounting-system or attachment-spacing requirement found in the codified text; the checklist that would carry it was unreachable.
https://www.portolavalley.net/home/showpublisheddocument/1415/638107551911700000
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No Town-specific ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway figure was found for residential PV; defaults to the unamended 2025 California Fire Code (based on 2024 IFC) as adopted by reference.
Why the confidence is not higherControl-checked: exported the full text of every section in ch. 15.04 (building/fire/WUI code adoption, ~35,000 characters) and the full ch. 15.21 solar chapter and searched for 'pathway', 'ridge', 'setback' in a PV context -- zero on-topic hits, against a positive control of 37+ hits for 'electrical' and 0 hits for the fabricated term 'zzqqx' in the same corpus. The Town's WUI amendments (15.04.120) touch roof-covering-replacement percentages and exterior wall coverings, not PV fire pathways.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, via the unamended NEC (2023 edition, adopted as the 2025 CEC) -- NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown applies by reference. The Town's own code and solar chapter (ch. 15.21) do not separately restate or emphasize the rapid-shutdown requirement in their own words.
Why the confidence is not higherThe 2023 NEC (which contains §690.12) is adopted wholesale and without amendment at PVMC 15.04.010(D)/15.04.040; the same full-text search described in q36 found zero hits for 'rapid shutdown' or '690.12' anywhere in the Town's own drafted amendments, meaning the requirement flows from the adopted national code, not local emphasis.
municipal code (inference from code adoption) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
None beyond the unamended 2025 CFC / 2023 NEC baseline (e.g., standard NEC 690.56/705.10 disconnect and rapid-shutdown labeling); the Town has not added any placard requirement of its own.
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked full-text search as q36/q37 found zero hits for 'placard' anywhere in ch. 15.04 or ch. 15.21. I also confirmed the Town's codified Municipal Code has no Title 16 (Signs) at all -- the title numbering runs 1,2,3,5,6,8,9,10,12,13,14,15,17,18, skipping a signs title entirely -- and neither the 'General Information and Handouts' list nor the 'Building Applications & Checklists' list names any solar-specific document that might carry a placard spec.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as q38 -- no Town-authored placard wording found anywhere in the codified Title 15, and no solar-specific handout exists on the Town's own published handout/checklist lists.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherSame control-checked absence as q38/q39 -- no letter-height, color, or material specification found in the Town's own code.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by the Town locally; governed only by the unamended 2023 NEC §705.10 facility-map/placard requirement as adopted by reference.
Why the confidence is not higherSame full-text search found no local facility-map or site-plan placard requirement beyond the standard state-adopted electrical code.
municipal code (control-checked absence) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDid not fetch PG&E's own DG interconnection / Greenbook manual this run.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Town document specifies label placement beyond the unamended NEC; PG&E's own interconnection specification (which typically governs label placement relative to the meter) was not fetched this run.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.040(C) requires solar-electric equipment to meet standards of 'accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories' -- a listing requirement.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, permitted. The Town's locally-amended CRC §R330.1 (PVMC 15.04.030(P)) reads: 'Energy storage systems (ESS) shall comply with the provisions of this section. Exceptions: 1. ESS less than 1 kWh (3.6 megajoules).' On the fire side, Woodside Fire Protection District charges a distinct 'Electrical Energy Storage System (ESS)' construction-permit fee of $449 (effective 7/1/2026), separate from its PV fee.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text plus the fire district's own current, dated fee schedule.
municipal code + fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.04BUCO
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Yes, at least on the fire-district side: WFPD's fee schedule lists 'Electrical Energy Storage System (ESS)' ($449) as a fee/permit line distinct from 'Photovoltaic Systems -- Residential' ($449). Whether the Town's own building-side permit is likewise split for solar-plus-storage jobs could not be confirmed this run.
Why the confidence is not higherWFPD's own current (7/1/2026) fee table shows ESS and PV as two separate named line items under 'Energy Systems.'
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/fee-schedule
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes, by inference
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 18.04.490 defines 'structure' broadly as 'anything constructed or erected which requires location on the ground or which is attached to something having location on the ground' (excluding vehicles) -- a definition wide enough to capture ground-mount racking, with no PV-specific carve-out found anywhere in Title 18. This is inference from a general zoning definition, not a Town statement naming ground-mount solar specifically.
municipal code (inference) checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT18ZO_CH18.04DE_18.04.490ST
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo local amendment on AC-disconnect placement was found in ch. 15.04's electrical amendments; this is normally a PG&E Rule 21/service-equipment requirement, and PG&E's own manual was not fetched this run.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How much notice is required? 2 business days 90% · municipal code
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No open-ended same-day option; the ordinance guarantees a 2-3 hour scheduled inspection window within 2 business days of the request. 85% · municipal code
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 95% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? Woodside Fire Protection District (for the fire-safety inspection component only -- the building inspection itself is self-performed by the Town, see q52) 88% · municipal code + fire district page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One final building inspection performed by the Town's Building Department, plus one separate final fire-safety inspection performed by Woodside Fire Protection District; the ordinance does not specify which must occur first. 80% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 90% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No dedicated, published solar inspection checklist was found 62% · department page (title-level absence, PDFs unverified)
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Is there a re-inspection fee? Woodside Fire Protection District: $374 per 'Additional Inspection / Re-inspection Fee,' effective 7/1/2026. The Town's own building-side re-inspection fee could not be retrieved this run. 62% · fire district fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For an incomplete application: PVMC 15.21.060(B) requires the Building Department to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application.' For a failed inspection: 15.21.060(G) requires 'an additional, follow-up inspection' if the installation does not conform to approved plans or current code. 82% · municipal code
14 questions answered against Town of Portola Valley’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPVMC 15.21.060(H) gives a scheduling SLA (2 business days, see q50) but does not name the booking channel; no separate 'Building Inspections' departmental page describing a booking method (portal/phone/email/walk-in) was found on the Town's site this run.
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
2 business days
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(H): 'An inspection will be scheduled within two business days of a request and provide a two- to three-hour inspection window.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
No open-ended same-day option; the ordinance guarantees a 2-3 hour scheduled inspection window within 2 business days of the request.
Why the confidence is not higherSame PVMC 15.21.060(H) text.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building department AND one separate inspection is required by the Woodside Fire Protection District' -- the Town's Building Department self-performs its own required inspection; WFPD independently and separately performs its own. This is a genuine dual-inspection model, distinct from the single-inspection shape seen in most other CA cities surveyed.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Woodside Fire Protection District (for the fire-safety inspection component only -- the building inspection itself is self-performed by the Town, see q52)
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(G), corroborated by WFPD's own submittal-requirements page naming 'Town of Portola Planning / Building' as one of the three jurisdictions whose permits it inspects.
municipal code + fire district page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/submittal-requirements
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One final building inspection performed by the Town's Building Department, plus one separate final fire-safety inspection performed by Woodside Fire Protection District; the ordinance does not specify which must occur first.
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(G)-(H).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherPVMC 15.21.060(G): 'Only one inspection shall be required and performed by the building department ... for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review' -- no separate rough-in or mid-roof stage, unless the installation is later found nonconforming, which triggers one additional follow-up inspection.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPVMC 15.21.040(C) requires UL-listed equipment but no code text or department page affirmatively states the inspector checks labels/listings as a discrete inspection step.
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No dedicated, published solar inspection checklist was found
Why the confidence is not higherThe Town's 'Building Applications' checklist page names every other permit type's checklist individually (e.g., 'Swimming Pool Permit Submittal Checklist,' 'Building Permit Application Checklist') but no solar-specific checklist title appears anywhere on that page or on the 'General Information and Handouts' page, despite PVMC 15.21.050(D) requiring the Building Department to 'adopt a standard plan and checklist' for solar. This may be a compliance gap rather than a true absence -- I could not open any of the generic checklist PDFs to confirm solar content isn't folded into one of them, since all showpublisheddocument PDF downloads returned Access Denied this run.
department page (title-level absence, PDFs unverified) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department/resource-center/applications-checklists/building-applications
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Town 'day-of-inspection' requirements page (ladder, permission-to-enter form, etc., of the kind some other CA cities publish) was found on the Town's Planning & Building Department pages this run.
https://www.portolavalley.net/departments/planning-building-department
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Woodside Fire Protection District: $374 per 'Additional Inspection / Re-inspection Fee,' effective 7/1/2026. The Town's own building-side re-inspection fee could not be retrieved this run.
Why the confidence is not higherWFPD's fee page is current and first-party; the Town's Master Fee Schedule PDF (also effective 7/1/2026) was unreachable under every method tried.
fire district fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.woodsidefire.org/our-district/fire-prevention-division/fee-schedule
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For an incomplete application: PVMC 15.21.060(B) requires the Building Department to 'issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application.' For a failed inspection: 15.21.060(G) requires 'an additional, follow-up inspection' if the installation does not conform to approved plans or current code.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect ordinance text covering both the pre-issuance and post-inspection correction scenarios.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://library.municode.com/ca/portola_valley/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=TIT15BUCO_CH15.21SMREROSOSY
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPVMC 15.21.060 describes pass/fail of the inspection but never names the specific document issued on a pass (Final / CO / Green Tag / Letter) for solar specifically.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo Town or WFPD page found this run describing who (installer, homeowner, or the AHJ) submits interconnection/PTO paperwork to PG&E.
https://www.portolavalley.net/sustainability/resources-for-everyone/renewable-energy
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Town of Portola Valley against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Town of Portola Valley is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical permitting for residential solar (PVMC Title 15, ch. 15.04 and 15.21). The Town's own Building Inspector/Building Official is described as a full-time Town position, but plan-check review is contracted out to a private firm, Kutzmann and Associates. A codified, mandatory SEPARATE fire-safety inspection and application review is performed by the Woodside Fire Protection District (PVMC 15.21.060(B) and (G)) -- not merely a referral, a second required inspection distinct from the Town's own.
- Delegated to
- Plan check: Kutzmann and Associates (private consulting firm, per the Town's own 'General Information, Requirements and Costs' page). Fire-safety review/inspection: Woodside Fire Protection District (codified at PVMC 15.21.060).
- Overridden by
- CA Gov. Code §65850.5 (Solar Rights Act / AB 2188, 2014) is the basis for PVMC ch. 15.21's expedited process. Gov. Code §65850.52 (SB 379, 2022) separately requires an automated, instant online permitting pathway; the Town's own current pages show applications going by email (planbuild@portolavalley.net) with no SolarAPP+/Symbium-style automated portal found -- ch. 15.21 itself is unamended since its original 2015 adoption (Ord. 2015-409) and predates SB 379, a possible compliance gap worth a follow-up check rather than an asserted violation. AB 130 (Stats. 2025, Ch. 22) froze more-restrictive local residential amendments 1 Oct 2025-1 Jun 2031; the Town wholesale-readopted Title 15 (Ord. 2025-454, adopted 14 Jan 2026) inside that freeze window -- whether every amendment qualifies for one of AB 130's exceptions is unresolved here.
- Why not higher
- The Town's own 'Overview of Building & Planning' page and codified PVMC ch. 15.04/15.21 (fetched via the Municode API, ClientID 9428 / productId 13781) agree: the Town issues building and electrical permits itself, contracts plan-check to Kutzmann and Associates, and PVMC 15.21.060(G) explicitly requires 'one separate inspection ... by the Woodside Fire Protection District' in addition to the Town's own single building inspection. WFPD's own site independently names 'Town of Portola Planning / Building' as one of the three jurisdictions whose permits it reviews. Not 95+ because I could not independently confirm San Mateo County disclaims jurisdiction (Portola Valley is an incorporated town, so county jurisdiction would not normally apply, but I did not pull a county-side confirming document this run).
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- Building/electrical permit cost from the Town's own Master Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026) could not be retrieved this run -- see not_found.60%
- Plan review
- PVMC 15.21.060(B): the Building Department must issue the permit within 3 business days of a complete application, 'including review by Woodside Fire Protection District.' However,78%
- Portal
- No dedicated online permit portal for Town building/solar permits was found -- applications go by email to planbuild@portolavalley.net (or in person).78%
- Electrical code
- 202395%
- Own placard wording
- No78%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 78%
No
Size, colour & material 78%
No
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.