Town of Yucca Valley
San Bernardino County
Town of Yucca Valley is a city authority in the State of California, serving 21,738 residents. 3,082 residential solar installs are on record here. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — Yucca Valley Permit Center (yuccavalley.cts.city), used together with SolarAPP+ for automated residential solar permitting Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $250.00 base Solar Permit Fee (roof or ground mount, residential small system, under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus a general $88.00 Permit Issuance Fee90% source
- Key document
- municipal code cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · municipal code
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both (Building and Electrical, self-performed in-house); fire-code function is more ambiguous — see jurisdiction block 82% · department page + municipal code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · municipal code
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 65% · fee schedule
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 95% · municipal code
- Is there a historic-district review? No — the Town's Development Code contains no Historic Preservation, Landmark, or Cultural Resources chapter at all 70% · municipal code (table of contents)
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No formal wind/windstorm certification; only a self-verification requirement 80% · municipal code
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Yes, conditionally — the Building Official may require a Development Code use permit if the small residential rooftop solar system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health and safety 88% · municipal code
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? 10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal is the eligibility GATE for Ch. 8.15's expedited administrative pathway (single/duplex-family dwellings only); separately, zoning Chapter 9.42 gives ALL accessory solar systems of any size a 20-foot height cap (ground/pole mount, at maximum tilt) and caps ground/pole-mount surface area at half the principal structure's building footprint; the Master Fee Schedule uses a third, uncoordinated 15kW fee-tier threshold 90% · municipal code (solar chapter + zoning chapter) + fee schedule
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 80% · department handout + permit application form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp threshold specified; the ordinance requires only applicant self-verification, not a licensed engineer's stamp 78% · municipal code
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No PE stamp threshold specified; same self-verification standard applies to electrical 78% · municipal code
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Yucca Valley Permit Center (yuccavalley.cts.city), used together with SolarAPP+ for automated residential solar permitting 92% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 92% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $250.00 base Solar Permit Fee (roof or ground mount, residential small system, under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus a general $88.00 Permit Issuance Fee 90% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Flat up to a 15kW threshold, then Tiered (per additional kW) above it 88% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee, separate from the $250.00 Solar Permit Fee 90% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 365 days from issuance (or 365 days from last work / 180 days past last inspection before abandonment); one 180-day extension allowed 82% · municipal code
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Southern California Edison (SCE) 93% · department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? No dependency (Town permit approval is independent of, and does not include, utility interconnection approval) 88% · municipal code
28 questions answered against Town of Yucca Valley’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTown's Building & Safety Division issues building/electrical permits under Town Code Title 8 (California Building/Residential/Electrical/Fire/WUI Codes, 2025 Editions, adopted by Ord. No. 332, 11-11-2025) and Chapter 8.15 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems, Ord. No. 318, 10-1-2024).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25356
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both (Building and Electrical, self-performed in-house); fire-code function is more ambiguous — see jurisdiction block
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own Building & Safety Division page names in-house staff on the town phone/domain (Paul Osterman, Building Official; Shawn Koedel, Building Inspector; Sandy Heller, Permit Technician) — no third-party plan-check/inspection firm found anywhere. The Town's own Fire Code chapter (8.02.120) is adopted directly by the Town with NO cross-reference to San Bernardino County Fire (SBCoFD) and no local amendments at all — unlike neighboring Twentynine Palms, which incorporates SBCoFD's own amended Fire Code by name. However, the Town's own 'Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements' handout instructs applicants to contact 'the San Bernardino County Fire Department at (909) 386-8465' for a required 'Fire Letter of Conditions', and Ch. 8.15.060 allows a solar final inspection to be 'a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal' — so fire review/inspection function appears to be routed to SBCoFD in practice, even though the Town retains fire-code ADOPTION itself. Reported as a genuine open nuance, not resolved as cleanly as Twentynine Palms.
department page + municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/business/building-permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code Ch. 8.15 (Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy Systems) establishes the permit/review process; the Master Fee Schedule carries dedicated 'Solar Plan Review Fees' and 'Solar Permit Fees' line items (#145, #148-152).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule's general note reads: 'Permit Issuance Fee: (In addition to the fees prescribed in the Electric, Mechanical, Plumbing and Solar energy schedules for each permit on a single application form)' — grouping Solar alongside Electric/Mechanical/Plumbing as fee sub-schedules under one application/permit, and Ch. 8.15 treats the whole system as a single administratively-approved permit. Not stated explicitly as 'combined' anywhere, so moderate confidence.
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/10001/639189238444500000
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Town Code Ch. 8.15 (all 7 sections), the Building Permits/Building & Safety page and the SolarAPP+ page for a statement on who specifically may pull the electrical permit — none found.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building Permits page, the 'Apply for a Building Permit' page, the SolarAPP+ page, and the Residential Building Permit Application PDF for a statement requiring a Town business license before a contractor may apply — none found (contrast neighboring Twentynine Palms, which states this explicitly). The Master Fee Schedule does show general 'Business Registration' fee lines, but no page ties that to a precondition for pulling a building/solar permit.
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTown publishes an 'Owner - Builder Property Owner's Package' ('Disclosures and forms for owner/builder applying for construction permits') on its Permit Applications and Documents page, and the Town's own Residential Building Permit Application form contains a 'Licensed Contractor's Declaration' with an explicit owner-builder exemption citing California Business and Professions Code §7044 (Contractor's License Law). Not solar-specific, but confirms the general CA owner-builder self-permit route is recognized by this Town.
department handout + permit application form checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/2820/637009510700830000
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 8.15.040(D)/.050(A) state documents 'shall be made available on the publicly accessible Town website' but do not enumerate contents in codified text. The only linked 'Checklist' document (id 8580) is a generic national SolarAPP+ SAMPLE template for the City of Menifee, not a Yucca-Valley-specific submittal-package list (see Q57). A genuine package list may exist only inside the login-gated Permit Center (yuccavalley.cts.city).
https://www.yucca-valley.org/our-town/departments/community-development/building-and-safety/solarapp
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q8. Ch. 8.15.050(B) describes 'electronic submittal' generally but states no copy count/format specific to solar; the general (non-SolarAPP+) Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements PDF calls for 'three complete sets of plans' but that document is dated to the 2019 code cycle and covers general residential construction, not solar specifically.
https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/7083/638040358812830000
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 8.15 in full for a site-plan content requirement specific to solar — none stated. The general Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements PDF lists generic 'Site and Grading Plan' content items for standard construction, not scoped to a PV array's siting.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 8.15 in full — no mention of a one-line/three-line diagram requirement for solar specifically; the generic Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements PDF's 'Electrical Plan' item mentions a 'single-line wire diagram' but only as a general building-permit item, not solar-specific, and that document is dated to the 2019 code cycle.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 8.15 in full — no mention of string/conductor calculation requirements.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp threshold specified; the ordinance requires only applicant self-verification, not a licensed engineer's stamp
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(E)(1): prior to submitting, the applicant shall 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction through the use of standard engineering evaluation techniques that the support structure... is stable and adequate to transfer all wind, seismic, and dead and live loads.' No PE-stamp trigger or valuation threshold is stated anywhere in the chapter (full text read).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
No PE stamp threshold specified; same self-verification standard applies to electrical
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(E)(2) requires the applicant, at their own cost, to 'verify to the applicant's reasonable satisfaction using standard electrical inspection techniques' that the existing electrical system can carry the new PV load — a self-verification, not a licensed-engineer stamp requirement.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$250.00 base Solar Permit Fee (roof or ground mount, residential small system, under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus a general $88.00 Permit Issuance Fee
Why the confidence is not higherTown of Yucca Valley Master Fee Schedule, effective 7/1/2026 (PDF ModDate 8 June 2026), items #145 ($200 Solar Plan Review, 'residential small system (all)'), #148 ($250 Solar Permit, 'residential small system (under 15KW)'), #149 (+$15/kW over 15KW), and #1 ($88 general Issuance Fee).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/10001/639189238444500000
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat up to a 15kW threshold, then Tiered (per additional kW) above it
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule item #148 is a flat $250 for 'residential small system (under 15KW)'; item #149 tiers at $15.00 per additional kW over 15KW. Note this 15kW fee-tier threshold is a different, uncoordinated number from the ordinance's own 10kW AC/30kW-thermal eligibility gate in Ch. 8.15.020 — reported as two separate figures, not reconciled (same shape as neighboring Twentynine Palms).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/10001/639189238444500000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee, separate from the $250.00 Solar Permit Fee
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule lists 'Solar Plan Review Fees' (item #145, $200) as a distinct line-item category from 'Solar Permit Fees' (item #148, $250).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/10001/639189238444500000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked the Building & Safety page, the SolarAPP+ page, the Application Process Timeline page (Planning), and Ch. 8.15 for a stated plan-review turnaround for solar — none found (contrast Twentynine Palms' explicit '10 working days for photovoltaic').
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
365 days from issuance (or 365 days from last work / 180 days past last inspection before abandonment); one 180-day extension allowed
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.02.020(B)(2) amends CBC Section 105.5 (Expiration): permit becomes invalid unless work commences within 365 days of issuance, or if suspended/abandoned/uncompleted for 365 days after commencement or 180 days past the last required inspection; Building Official may grant one 180-day extension. This is the general building-permit rule; Ch. 8.15 does not state a solar-specific validity period.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1959
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Yucca Valley Permit Center (yuccavalley.cts.city), used together with SolarAPP+ for automated residential solar permitting
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own SolarAPP+ page instructs applicants to 'Create an account and login to the Yucca Valley Permit Center' (linking to yuccavalley.cts.city) to submit the SolarAPP+ ID, upload the SolarAPP+ checklist, pay fees and request inspections; general (non-SolarAPP+) applicants use the same Permit Center.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/our-town/departments/community-development/building-and-safety/solarapp
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolarAPP+ page walks through a fully online flow: create an account, submit application, upload SolarAPP+ ID and checklist, pay fee, digitally sign, and request inspections — all inside the Yucca Valley Permit Center; no in-person submission step described for SolarAPP+-eligible projects.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/our-town/departments/community-development/building-and-safety/solarapp
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Southern California Edison (SCE)
Why the confidence is not higherTown's own 'Utilities' page lists 'Southern California Edison (SCE), 6999 Old Woman Springs Road, Yucca Valley, CA 92284, (800) 655-4555' as a utility serving the town — a direct town-side source, cross-checked against the general San Bernardino high-desert pattern of no municipally-owned electric utility or CCA. (PowerToChoose was not used.)
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/services/utilities
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
No dependency (Town permit approval is independent of, and does not include, utility interconnection approval)
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(B): administrative approval and permit issuance 'shall not include any necessary approval or permission by a local utility provider to connect the small residential rooftop energy system to the provider's electricity grid. The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(C): 'Staff's approval of an application shall not be based or conditioned on the approval of an association, as defined in California Civil Code Section 4080.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
No — the Town's Development Code contains no Historic Preservation, Landmark, or Cultural Resources chapter at all
Why the confidence is not higherFull Title 9 (Development Code) chapter-by-chapter table of contents was read end to end (Preface through Chapter 9.99 Definitions, plus all Chapters 9.01-9.99) — no chapter titled Historic Preservation, Landmark, or Cultural Resources appears anywhere. This is a chapter-name-level absence, not a full-text search of every chapter, so moderate rather than high confidence; a parcel-specific historic designation elsewhere (e.g., a Specific Plan) cannot be ruled out.
municipal code (table of contents) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-2622
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No formal wind/windstorm certification; only a self-verification requirement
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(E)(1) requires the applicant (not a certifying third party) to verify via 'standard engineering evaluation techniques' that the support structure can transfer 'all wind, seismic, and dead and live loads' — a self-attestation, not a TDI-style formal wind certification. No wind-specific solar handout was found on the Town's site (contrast Banning's 130-mph Special Wind Region handout).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Yes, conditionally — the Building Official may require a Development Code use permit if the small residential rooftop solar system could have a 'specific, adverse impact' on public health and safety
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(A): 'The Building Official may require an applicant to apply for a use permit pursuant to the Town of Yucca Valley Development Code, if the Building Official finds, based on substantial evidence, that the small residential rooftop solar energy system could have a specific, adverse impact upon the public health and safety.' No separate CUP-escalation-by-height clause (like Twentynine Palms' freestanding-collector CUP) was found in the Town's Accessory Solar Energy Systems zoning chapter (9.42).
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
10 kW AC nameplate / 30 kW thermal is the eligibility GATE for Ch. 8.15's expedited administrative pathway (single/duplex-family dwellings only); separately, zoning Chapter 9.42 gives ALL accessory solar systems of any size a 20-foot height cap (ground/pole mount, at maximum tilt) and caps ground/pole-mount surface area at half the principal structure's building footprint; the Master Fee Schedule uses a third, uncoordinated 15kW fee-tier threshold
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.020 defines 'Small Residential Rooftop Solar Energy System' (the only category eligible for Ch. 8.15's expedited review) as 'no larger than ten (10) kilowatts alternating current nameplate rating or thirty (30) kilowatts thermal', installed on 'a single or duplex family dwelling.' Zoning Chapter 9.42.030(A)/(C)(2) separately caps ground/pole-mount height at 20 feet and coverage at half the principal building's footprint, with no kW limit stated. The Master Fee Schedule's fee tier breaks at 15kW (items #148/#149). Three uncoordinated figures, cross-checked across three of the Town's own documents.
municipal code (solar chapter + zoning chapter) + fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-16816
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code) 88% · adopting ordinance
- Which building code edition is in force? 2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code 95% · adopting ordinance
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2025 California Fire Code, adopted by reference with NO local amendments found 88% · adopting ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes for Building; No local amendments found for Fire or the Wildland Urban Interface Code 90% · municipal code
- What is the installation judged against? The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC (as locally amended) plus Town Code Ch. 8.15's Title-24 solar-specific standards and zoning Chapter 9.42's development standards 90% · municipal code
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
- What ridge setback and access pathways are required? No local ridge-setback or PV-specific fire-access-pathway amendment found; governed by the unamended (base) 2025 California Fire Code 82% · municipal code
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC (NEC §690.12); not separately re-stated or amended locally 75% · adopting ordinance / inference
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 82% · municipal code
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material 82% · municipal code
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes — equipment must conform to standards set by the California Electrical Code, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g., UL) 85% · municipal code
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? No local battery/ESS-specific provision found in the Town's own code; whether SBCoFD's own R-3 residential fire-permit exemption (found codified in neighboring Twentynine Palms) applies here cannot be confirmed from Yucca Valley's own code, because Yucca Valley's Fire Code chapter contains no equivalent local amendment at all 65% · municipal code (absence, cross-checked against neighboring authority)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely treated as an accessory structure for setback purposes, though the zoning chapter never uses the word 'structure' explicitly to classify it 68% · municipal code (zoning)
- Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? No local rule found on service-upgrade or busbar sizing 85% · municipal code
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing spec found beyond a general structural self-verification duty 70% · municipal code
20 questions answered against Town of Yucca Valley’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.02.040(A): 'The California Electrical Code, 2025 Edition... is hereby adopted... as the Electrical Code of the Town of Yucca Valley' (Ord. 332, 11-11-2025). California's 2025 Title 24 electrical cycle is based on the 2023 NEC; no NEC edition number is stated verbatim locally. Note a drafting inconsistency recorded as written: subsection (B) of the same section still refers to 'the California Electrical Code, 2022 Edition, Annex H' for administrative/penalty provisions — an internal lag not reconciled in the codified text.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1968
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2025 California Building Code and California Residential Code
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.02.020(A) and 8.02.030, both adopted by Ord. No. 332, 11-11-2025, 'California Building Code, Volumes 1 & 2, 2025 Edition' and residential equivalent.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1959
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2025 California Fire Code, adopted by reference with NO local amendments found
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.02.120: 'the California Fire Code, 2025 Edition, published by the California Building Standards Commission is hereby adopted by reference' (Ord. 332, 11-11-2025). Unlike neighboring Twentynine Palms (which incorporates San Bernardino County Fire's own amended Fire Code by cross-reference, including a battery/ESS operational-permit amendment), Yucca Valley's Fire Code section contains only the bare adoption clause — no 'B. Fire Code Amended' subsection, confirmed by a full-text read and control check (7 'fire' hits, 0 fabricated 'zzqqx' hits) plus a search of Title 11 (Peace, Morals and Safety) finding no separate fire chapter either.
adopting ordinance checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-2052
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes for Building; No local amendments found for Fire or the Wildland Urban Interface Code
Why the confidence is not higherExtensive local CBC amendments exist in 8.02.020(B) (liability, permit expiration/365-180 day rule, roof-covering Class A, grading Appendix J additions referencing Western Joshua Tree clearing permits). By contrast, both 8.02.115 (WUI Code) and 8.02.120 (Fire Code) are adoption-only — full-text read of each, control-checked ('fire'/'wildland' hits present, 'zzqqx' absent), found no amendment subsection in either.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1959
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The adopted 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC (as locally amended) plus Town Code Ch. 8.15's Title-24 solar-specific standards and zoning Chapter 9.42's development standards
Why the confidence is not higher8.15.030(A): 'All small residential rooftop solar energy systems shall comply with the applicable standards and requirements for solar energy systems as set forth in the California Building Standards Code, Title 24.' Read together with Title 8's code-adoption chapter and zoning Ch. 9.42.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
No local rule found on service-upgrade or busbar sizing
Why the confidence is not higherFull read of Town Code 8.02.040 (Electrical Code adoption and amendment section) found no busbar-minimum or service-upgrade clause of the kind Palm Springs (PSMC 8.04.055) carries. Positive control ('electrical', 10 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved as expected, so the absence is not a search failure. General Electrical Permit Fee schedule includes only a 'Panel Upgrade' fee tier by amperage, with no minimum-busbar mandate attached.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1968
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No specific mounting-system or attachment-spacing spec found beyond a general structural self-verification duty
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(E)(1) requires only that the applicant verify the support structure is 'stable and adequate' via standard engineering evaluation — no numeric spacing or attachment-type standard is stated. Zoning Ch. 9.42.030 separately regulates height/setback/visibility/coverage but not attachment spacing.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
No local ridge-setback or PV-specific fire-access-pathway amendment found; governed by the unamended (base) 2025 California Fire Code
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the Fire Code adoption chapter (8.02.120, adoption-only) and the Fire Safety Overlay District zoning chapter (9.17, full text read) were searched for 'ridge', 'setback', 'pathway', 'photovoltaic' and 'panel' — none found beyond the chapter's own nav-link mention of the separate Accessory Solar Energy Systems chapter. Positive control ('fire', 28 hits in Ch. 9.17) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) confirm the search worked.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-15276
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, rapid shutdown is required as part of the adopted 2023 NEC-based 2025 CEC (NEC §690.12); not separately re-stated or amended locally
Why the confidence is not higherNo local text mentions '690.12' or 'rapid shutdown' anywhere in Title 8 sections read (Ch. 8.02.040 Electrical Code, Ch. 8.15 solar chapter) — the requirement is inherited wholesale from the state-adopted 2025 CEC per 8.02.040(A), not independently confirmed by locally quoted text.
adopting ordinance / inference checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-1968
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched Ch. 8.15 (all sections) and the Fire Code adoption chapter (8.02.120) for a placard/signage spec at the service equipment — none found.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherFull read of Ch. 8.15 (all sections, 8.15.010-.070) and the Fire Code adoption chapter (8.02.120) found no city-specified placard wording anywhere; a control-proven absence across both.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material
Why the confidence is not higherSame full-chapter read as Q39; no such specification found in either the solar chapter, the zoning accessory-solar chapter (9.42), or the Fire Code adoption chapter.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSearched Ch. 8.15 and the Fire Code adoption chapter for a site-plan/facility-map placard requirement — none found locally; likely governed only by the unamended base CEC §705.10, not independently confirmed here.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages are known to soft-404 (playbook-documented pattern); did not substitute another utility's placard spec per standing guidance. Checked sce.com generally without success within this run's time budget.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38/41 — no local label-placement spec found; likely base-code-only.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes — equipment must conform to standards set by the California Electrical Code, IEEE, and accredited testing laboratories (e.g., UL)
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.020, 'SMALL RESIDENTIAL ROOFTOP SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM' definition, item 2: system must conform to 'applicable safety and performance standards established by the California Electrical Code, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and accredited testing laboratories such as Underwriters Laboratories.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
No local battery/ESS-specific provision found in the Town's own code; whether SBCoFD's own R-3 residential fire-permit exemption (found codified in neighboring Twentynine Palms) applies here cannot be confirmed from Yucca Valley's own code, because Yucca Valley's Fire Code chapter contains no equivalent local amendment at all
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text, control-checked reads of Ch. 8.15 (solar), Ch. 9.42 (zoning accessory solar), Ch. 8.02.120 (Fire Code adoption) and Ch. 8.02.115 (WUI Code adoption) found zero genuine 'battery'/'energy storage' hits (apparent 'ess' matches were all false positives inside unrelated words, e.g. 'process', 'address'); the Master Fee Schedule likewise carries zero battery/ESS fee lines. Twentynine Palms' R-3 exemption is codified specifically because it cross-references San Bernardino County Fire's OWN amended Fire Code (TWPA MC Ch. 18.04, adding CFC §105.5.4A) — Yucca Valley's Fire Code chapter has no such cross-reference or added section, so the exemption is not independently verifiable as Yucca Valley's own codified law, even though the Town's submittal handout suggests SBCoFD performs fire review here in practice. Genuinely unresolved, flagged rather than assumed to mirror Twentynine Palms.
municipal code (absence, cross-checked against neighboring authority) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-2052
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 8.15, Ch. 9.42, the Fire Code adoption chapter, and the Master Fee Schedule for a separate ESS permit/inspection requirement — none found (see Q45 for the full control-checked absence and the R-3-exemption ambiguity relative to Twentynine Palms).
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-2052
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely treated as an accessory structure for setback purposes, though the zoning chapter never uses the word 'structure' explicitly to classify it
Why the confidence is not higherZoning Ch. 9.42.030(B): 'Solar energy systems must meet the accessory structure setback for the zoning district and primary land use associated with the lot'; ground-mounted systems 'may not extend into the front, side and street side setbacks.' This subjects ground-mount to accessory-STRUCTURE setback standards without an explicit 'shall be considered a structure' sentence (contrast Twentynine Palms' TWPA MC 19.68.020(C)(2)(b), which explicitly frames a freestanding solar collector as a height/setback-regulated structure).
municipal code (zoning) checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-16816
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSCE's own DG/interconnection pages soft-404 (a known pattern for this utility); did not substitute another utility's AC-disconnect-location spec per standing guidance, and no Town-side document was found addressing this either.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone 90% · department page
- How much notice is required? No minimum advance-notice period stated beyond calling by 7:00 a.m. the same day 65% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Yes — same-day inspections are explicitly offered 90% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 88% · municipal code
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated for the building/electrical inspection itself; a fire marshal (in practice, San Bernardino County Fire) may jointly participate in an optional consolidated inspection 75% · municipal code
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? One consolidated inspection (Building Official, optionally joined by the fire marshal) for systems eligible under Ch. 8.15's expedited pathway; a failed inspection allows one subsequent re-inspection 85% · municipal code
- Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? No 85% · municipal code
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Partial/qualified Yes — the Town's SolarAPP+ page references an 'Eligibility Checklist' and links a 'Checklist' PDF, but that PDF is a generic, unlocalized national SolarAPP+ SAMPLE Inspection Checklist for the City of Menifee, CA (11.2 kW example system, NEC 2017), not a Yucca-Valley-specific document 55% · linked document (found to be a generic template, not the authority's own)
- What must be on site at inspection? The approved SolarAPP+ Checklist (printed) and any other related documents 90% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/applicant 85% · municipal code
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $169.00 (general Reinspection Fee) 82% · fee schedule
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Written correction notice at the application-review stage, detailing deficiencies; a failed field inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection 85% · municipal code
14 questions answered against Town of Yucca Valley’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone
Why the confidence is not higherTown's Building & Safety page: 'Inspection Requests Call (760) 365-1339 by 7:00 a.m. for same-day inspections.' No portal-based inspection-scheduling function was found described on the Building & Safety department page itself, though the SolarAPP+ page separately describes requesting inspections through the Permit Center for SolarAPP+ projects specifically — see Q52-54.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/business/building-permits
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
No minimum advance-notice period stated beyond calling by 7:00 a.m. the same day
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building & Safety page states same-day inspections are available if called in 'by 7:00 a.m.' — implying effectively same-day service rather than a multi-day advance-notice requirement, but no explicit 'X business days' notice period is stated anywhere on the page.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/business/building-permits
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Yes — same-day inspections are explicitly offered
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding & Safety page: 'Call (760) 365-1339 by 7:00 a.m. for same-day inspections... Sites to be ready for inspection by 7:30 a.m.' Inspection hours Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/business/building-permits
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.060(A): 'One inspection shall be required and performed by staff for small residential rooftop solar energy systems eligible for expedited review... which may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal.' 'Staff' = the Town's own named in-house Building & Safety personnel.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated for the building/electrical inspection itself; a fire marshal (in practice, San Bernardino County Fire) may jointly participate in an optional consolidated inspection
Why the confidence is not higherSame citation as Q52 — 'may include a consolidated inspection by the building official and fire marshal' implies a fire marshal (per the Town's own submittal handout naming San Bernardino County Fire as the agency for fire plan review) may jointly participate, but does not replace the Town's own building inspector.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
One consolidated inspection (Building Official, optionally joined by the fire marshal) for systems eligible under Ch. 8.15's expedited pathway; a failed inspection allows one subsequent re-inspection
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.060(A)/(C): single inspection requirement, with (C) allowing 'a subsequent inspection... authorized but need not conform to the requirements of this Section' if the first fails.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
No
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.060 provides for only ONE inspection for eligible small residential rooftop solar systems — no separate rough-in or mid-roof inspection is mentioned or required by the codified text.
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecked Ch. 8.15.060 (the inspection section) and the Building & Safety page — neither describes what is checked at inspection (labels, listings, etc.); presumably standard practice but not documented publicly.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Partial/qualified Yes — the Town's SolarAPP+ page references an 'Eligibility Checklist' and links a 'Checklist' PDF, but that PDF is a generic, unlocalized national SolarAPP+ SAMPLE Inspection Checklist for the City of Menifee, CA (11.2 kW example system, NEC 2017), not a Yucca-Valley-specific document
Why the confidence is not higherDownloaded and read the linked PDF (pdftotext -layout, 30 pages, ModDate 19 Dec 2024): every page is watermarked 'SAMPLE' and addressed to 'Menifee, CA' with a Menifee approval ID (SA20211118-7-411-447-A) — identical to the playbook-documented 'generic undated national SolarAPP+ eligibility PDF' trap seen on Oakley's own page. Flagged explicitly rather than laundered as Yucca Valley's own checklist; a genuine city-specific inspection checklist may still exist inside the login-gated Permit Center, which was not accessible in this run.
linked document (found to be a generic template, not the authority's own) checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/8580/638715100896470000
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The approved SolarAPP+ Checklist (printed) and any other related documents
Why the confidence is not higherTown's SolarAPP+ page, inspection-request instructions: 'Please print a copy of the approved SolarAPP+ Checklist, and any other related documents, and have on site for the inspection.'
department page checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/our-town/departments/community-development/building-and-safety/solarapp
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$169.00 (general Reinspection Fee)
Why the confidence is not higherMaster Fee Schedule (effective 7/1/2026), General Fees item #4: 'Reinspection Fee... $169.00.' Not a solar-specific line, but the generally applicable building reinspection fee; no separate solar-specific reinspection fee line was found (control-checked: 'electrical' 13 hits, 'zzqqx' 0 hits across the full schedule).
fee schedule checked 2026-08-31 https://www.yucca-valley.org/home/showpublisheddocument/10001/639189238444500000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Written correction notice at the application-review stage, detailing deficiencies; a failed field inspection authorizes a subsequent re-inspection
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(A): 'Upon receipt of an incomplete application, the building official shall issue a written correction notice detailing all deficiencies in the application and any additional information required to be eligible for expedited permit issuance.' 8.15.060(A)/(C) covers the inspection-stage equivalent ('a subsequent inspection is authorized').
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCh. 8.15 does not name what document/tag is issued on a passing inspection (no 'Final', 'green tag', or 'CO' language appears anywhere in the chapter); not found on the Building & Safety page or the SolarAPP+ page either. The general Ch. 8.02.020 amendments mention 'Certificate of Occupancy' only in the context of new-construction utility connections, not a solar retrofit on an already-occupied home.
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/applicant
Why the confidence is not higherTown Code 8.15.040(B): Town approval/permit issuance 'shall not include any necessary approval or permission by a local utility provider... The applicant is responsible for obtaining such approval or permission from the local utility provider.'
municipal code checked 2026-08-31 https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/yuccavalleyca/latest/yuccavalley_ca/0-0-0-25382
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Town of Yucca Valley against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Town of Yucca Valley is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, self-performed in-house by named Town staff (Paul Osterman, Building Official; Shawn Koedel, Building Inspector; Sandy Heller, Permit Technician — town phone (760) 365-0099, town domain). Fire-code ADOPTION is also held by the Town itself (Ch. 8.02.120 adopts the 2025 CFC directly, with no local amendments and no cross-reference to San Bernardino County Fire), but the Town's own Residential Plan Check Submittal Requirements handout instructs applicants to contact 'the San Bernardino County Fire Department' for a required Fire Letter of Conditions, and Ch. 8.15.060 allows an optional consolidated solar inspection with 'the fire marshal' — so fire plan-review/inspection FUNCTION appears to be routed to SBCoFD in practice even though the Town holds fire-code adoption. This is a genuinely different, less clean-cut shape than neighboring Twentynine Palms, which incorporates SBCoFD's own amended Fire Code by name (including a codified R-3 battery/ESS exemption) — Yucca Valley's own code has no equivalent amendment at all, so county-wide uniformity does not hold even between adjacent San Bernardino County towns.
- Delegated to
- Fire plan-review/inspection function only (by practice/handout reference to San Bernardino County Fire Department, not by codified cross-reference)
- Overridden by
- State Solar Rights Act (Civil Code §714) and the AB 2188/Gov. Code §65850.5 family constrain the Town's discretion, codified directly into Ch. 8.15 (including a fee-cap cross-reference at 8.15.070(A) — drafted with an apparent citation error, 'Government Code Sections 65950.55' rather than the correct §65850.55, recorded as written). No county or other agency overrides the Town's building/electrical jurisdiction inside town limits; Marine Corps land and other federal/BLM desert land nearby is outside town (and county) jurisdiction entirely, but no city page was found instructing applicants to verify parcel ownership/jurisdiction before applying.
- Why not higher
- Town's own Building & Safety department page names in-house staff, phone, and location performing plan check, permit issuance, and field inspection; Town Code Title 8 codifies the Town's adoption of the 2025 CBC/CRC/CEC/CFC/WUI codes and its own Chapter 8.15 solar-permitting chapter; the Town's own submittal-requirements handout and Ch. 8.15.060's 'fire marshal' language are the only evidence of a county fire role, and that evidence points to San Bernardino County Fire rather than a self-standing town fire department (the Town has none).
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $250.00 base Solar Permit Fee (roof or ground mount, residential small system, under 15kW; +$15.00/kW over 15kW) plus a separate $200.00 Solar Plan Review Fee plus a general $88.00 Permit…90%
- Portal
- Yucca Valley Permit Center (yuccavalley.cts.city), used together with SolarAPP+ for automated residential solar permitting92%
- Electrical code
- 2023 NEC (via the 2025 California Electrical Code)88%
- Own placard wording
- No82%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone90%
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 82%
No
Size, colour & material 82%
Not specified — no local ordinance addresses placard letter height, colour, or material
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.