City of Apopka

Orange County · Florida ← All authorities

City of Apopka

Orange County

Verified Aug. 5, 2026

City of Apopka is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 54,873 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Apopka against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Apopka is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
Holds
Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing and Gas permits are all issued, plan-reviewed and inspected in-house by the City's own Building-Safety Department (Building Official John Hanson) under Community Development Services — not delegated to Orange County. Fire plan review (Apopka Fire, Risk Reduction Division) is scoped, in the department's own words, to 'new commercial building plans and multi residential units' — so it does not apply to a typical single-family residential rooftop PV retrofit. Planning & Zoning (also Community Development Services) administers separate 'Development Design Guidelines' architectural standards; no city document found ties rooftop PV on an existing single-family home to that review.
Overridden by
FL PSC Rule 25-6.065, F.A.C. sets the statewide interconnection/net-metering sequence, equipment-listing and manual-disconnect-location rules for Duke Energy Florida (the investor-owned utility documented for this City — see Q22); Duke's own DG/interconnection manual pages returned 404 on every route tried (checked 12 Sep 2026), so the state rule is cited as the floor, not Duke's own text. Separately, Florida HB 803 (2026) amended FS 553.79(1)(c)/125.56(4)(d) to set a 1-year permit-validity floor effective 1 Jul 2026, which conflicts with the City's own Requirements page, still stating 180 days (citing FBC 105.10.3.1) as of the date checked — recorded as a live, unresolved conflict, not resolved by picking one.
Why not higher
The Building-Safety Department page names Building Official John Hanson and states the department administers the Florida Building Code through its own OpenGov permitting portal; the Types page (apopka.gov/264/Types) lists Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing and Gas as the five permit types, all under Building-Safety — nothing on the City's site refers a residential permit to Orange County. Fire's own 'Fire Building Review' page (apopka.gov/794) states its review scope is 'new commercial building plans and multi residential units' only, which I read as excluding a single-family PV retrofit. I could not check the Land Development Code / Code of Ordinances, which the City's own site-search resolves to library.municode.com and www.municode.com — both return 'User-agent: ClaudeBot / Disallow: /' in robots.txt (fetched 12 Sep 2026) — so zoning/overlay questions for solar are recorded as not_found rather than guessed, and this caps my confidence below 90.

https://www.apopka.gov/222/Building-Safety

Permit required
Yes — a permit is required85%
Permit cost
$7.50 per $1,000 of the contracted/valuation cost of the work, minimum $75 (e.g., roughly $150 on a $20,000 residential PV contract);78%
Portal
OpenGov (apopkafl.portal.opengov.com)93%
Own placard wording
No evidence of any City-specified placard wording — because no solar-specific ordinance, handout or checklist exists at all on apopka.gov68%
Booking an inspection
Phone — via the Building Division's Automated Inspection Line55%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes — a permit is required Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate — Building and Electrical are listed as distinct permit types, and the City instructs subcontractors to 'use the application for the trade for which you… Q4 Where you file — OpenGov (apopkafl.portal.opengov.com) Q20

Permit required
Yes — a permit is required85% source
What it costs
$7.50 per $1,000 of the contracted/valuation cost of the work, minimum $75 (e.g., roughly $150 on a $20,000 residential PV contract);78% source
Key document
fee schedule (page text, undated) cited by 4 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — the City of Apopka's own Building-Safety Department is the AHJ for residential solar inside city limits 92% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical are permitted, plan-reviewed and inspected by the City itself; nothing is delegated to Orange County 88% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes — a permit is required 85% · fee/permitting policy page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate — Building and Electrical are listed as distinct permit types, and the City instructs subcontractors to 'use the application for the trade for which you are applying' on OpenGov 62% · department page
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — a licensed contractor (state-certified/registered, with Orange County competency license), or the property owner as owner-builder 68% · department page
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 92% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 85% · department page
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • How many copies, and in what format? Electronic, via the OpenGov portal — no paper-copy count is published 52% · department page
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? OpenGov (apopkafl.portal.opengov.com) 93% · department page + portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes, for application submission — the City states the whole application can be started and submitted through OpenGov 68% · department page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $7.50 per $1,000 of the contracted/valuation cost of the work, minimum $75 (e.g., roughly $150 on a $20,000 residential PV contract); plan review adds a further 50% of that building-permit fee for residential work 78% · fee schedule (page text, undated)
    • How is the fee calculated? Valuation — a percentage of the contracted/valuation cost of the work 82% · fee schedule (page text, undated)
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — plan review is a separate charge, 50% of the building permit fee for residential work (100% for commercial) 78% · fee schedule (page text, undated)
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

28 questions answered against City of Apopka’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes — the City of Apopka's own Building-Safety Department is the AHJ for residential solar inside city limits

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Safety page names a City Building Official (John Hanson) and describes the department's own plan review, permitting (OpenGov portal) and inspection function for 'the City of Apopka'; the Types page lists five self-administered permit types (Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing/Gas) with no reference to Orange County issuing permits inside the city.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/222/Building-Safety

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both — Building and Electrical are permitted, plan-reviewed and inspected by the City itself; nothing is delegated to Orange County

Why the confidence is not higherTypes page (apopka.gov/264/Types) lists Building and Electrical as two of the City's five self-administered permit types; Building-Safety page states the department's mission is administering the Florida Building Code directly. No solar-specific document exists to confirm this for PV in particular (see Q8/Q38 absences), so this is the general-permitting answer applied to solar, not a solar-specific statement by the City.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/264/Types

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes — a permit is required

Why the confidence is not higherThe Permitting Fees page states permits are required to 'erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace any required impact-resistant coverings, electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing system, the installation of which is regulated by the Florida Building Codes' — rooftop PV wiring and mounting both fall under FBC/NEC-regulated electrical and building work. No solar-specific exemption is published; the Submittal page separately cites FBC 105.1 ('A permit is required prior to the construction, enlargement, alteration or repair of any building structure or part thereof') as the general rule.

fee/permitting policy page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Separate — Building and Electrical are listed as distinct permit types, and the City instructs subcontractors to 'use the application for the trade for which you are applying' on OpenGov

Why the confidence is not higherTypes page lists Building and Electrical separately (along with Mechanical/Plumbing/Gas); the Permitting page tells subcontractors to apply under the specific trade application in OpenGov. No document states in terms that a residential PV job specifically requires two permits (vs. one combined Building permit covering the electrical scope), so this is an inference from the City's general permit-type structure rather than a solar-specific statement.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/253/Permitting

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either — a licensed contractor (state-certified/registered, with Orange County competency license), or the property owner as owner-builder

Why the confidence is not higherRequirements page: 'The individual signing the permit application must be qualified in accordance with the city, county, and state codes' and requires an 'Orange County competency license for the type of work being performed.' Submittal page separately states an exception: 'If the owner of a single-family dwelling ... is performing the work himself/herself, an owner/builder may apply.' The City's legacy Building Permit Application form (PDF) also carries a signature line for 'SIGNATURE OF OWNER (IF OWNER BUILDER)'. None of these are solar-specific.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/260/Requirements

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherRequirements page states verbatim: 'All contractors must be registered with the City of Apopka,' and separately requires a current certificate of insurance naming the City as certificate holder, plus a copy of the contractor's state license and Orange County competency license.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/260/Requirements

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal page, 'Requirement Exception': 'If the owner of a single-family dwelling ... is performing the work himself/herself, an owner/builder may apply for Ownership (Warranty Deed or Tax Bill) [Owner/Builder Affidavit].' Not solar-specific, but no carve-out excludes electrical/PV work from the general owner-builder route.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/262/Submittal

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding-Safety, Permitting, Requirements, Submittal, Types pages; apopka.gov site search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'solar checklist'/'PV checklist' (controls: positive 'electrical'=30, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0); OpenGov portal shell (apopkafl.portal.opengov.com) returns no server-rendered content to curl/WebFetch

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Electronic, via the OpenGov portal — no paper-copy count is published

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Safety page: 'Apply for Building Permits Online with OpenGov Portal. Use our new portal to apply for your Apopka Building Permit.' This states the City has moved to electronic submission but does not state a copy count/format requirement anywhere I found; inferred from the migration to an online-only portal, not stated directly.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/222/Building-Safety

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages/search as Q8; no site-plan content list published for any residential permit type, let alone solar

https://www.apopka.gov/262/Submittal

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages/search as Q8; a one-line-diagram requirement would live in the adopted NEC edition (Code of Ordinances), hosted on library.municode.com/www.municode.com, both of which return 'User-agent: ClaudeBot / Disallow: /' in robots.txt (fetched 12 Sep 2026)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q11 — code-dependent, Municode-hosted, robots.txt disallow

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q11 — code-dependent, Municode-hosted, robots.txt disallow; no City fee-schedule or checklist item names a structural-PE threshold

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q13

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$7.50 per $1,000 of the contracted/valuation cost of the work, minimum $75 (e.g., roughly $150 on a $20,000 residential PV contract); plan review adds a further 50% of that building-permit fee for residential work

Why the confidence is not higherPermitting Fees page, verbatim: 'These permits shall be calculated at $7.50 per $1,000 of actual contracted cost... The minimum permit fee shall not be less than $75... Plan review fees for residential projects will be 50% of the building permit fee.' Page is undated (no effective-date stamp visible) and is not solar-specific — it is the City's general building/electrical/mechanical/plumbing/gas fee rule applied to a PV job by inference.

fee schedule (page text, undated) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Valuation — a percentage of the contracted/valuation cost of the work

Why the confidence is not higherPermitting Fees page states the rate as '$7.50 per $1,000 of actual contracted cost' with a $75 floor, i.e. a valuation-based calculation, not flat, per-kW or per-panel.

fee schedule (page text, undated) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes — plan review is a separate charge, 50% of the building permit fee for residential work (100% for commercial)

Why the confidence is not higherPermitting Fees page: 'Plan review fees for residential projects will be 50% of the building permit fee.' Charged as a percentage add-on rather than a flat separate line, and not solar-specific.

fee schedule (page text, undated) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding-Safety, Permitting, Requirements pages — none state a plan-review turnaround time in business days

https://www.apopka.gov/222/Building-Safety

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days from the date issued, or 90 days after the last approved inspection, per the City's own Requirements page (citing FBC 105.10.3.1) — but Florida HB 803 (2026) amended FS 553.79(1)(c)/125.56(4)(d) to set a 1-year minimum floor for local-government-issued permits, effective 1 Jul 2026, which the City's page had not been updated to reflect as of the date checked

Why the confidence is not higherRequirements page, verbatim: 'Permits are valid for 180 days from the date issued or 90 days after the last approved inspection. If your permit expires, a new permit application and permit fee will be required (FBC 105.10.3.1).' This is a live conflict with the new state floor, recorded rather than resolved, per this brief's instruction on HB 803.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/260/Requirements

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

OpenGov (apopkafl.portal.opengov.com)

Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal and Building-Safety pages both link to and name 'OpenGov' as the City's new online permitting system: 'Builders, sub-contractors, businesses, and homeowners can now use our online permitting portal OpenGov to apply for Apopka Building Permits, Community Development Permits, Apopka Fire Permits, and Business Tax Receipts.' The portal itself is a JavaScript single-page app (ViewPointCloud/OpenGov) that returns no server-rendered content to curl or WebFetch, so I could not enumerate its internal permit-type list or confirm a solar-specific category exists inside it.

department page + portal landing page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/253/Permitting

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes, for application submission — the City states the whole application can be started and submitted through OpenGov

Why the confidence is not higherPermitting page: 'Builders, sub-contractors, businesses, and homeowners can now use our online permitting portal OpenGov to apply for Apopka Building Permits ... Visit our new portal to learn more, create an account, and apply today!' I could not confirm whether inspection scheduling also happens inside OpenGov or by phone (see Q49), since the OpenGov app itself would not render for me outside a login session.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/253/Permitting

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Duke Energy Florida

Why the confidence is not higherTwo of the City's own documents name Duke Energy directly for electric service in Apopka: the FAQ 'Who do I call for streetlights that are out?' states 'Street lights in the City of Apopka are serviced by Duke Energy,' and the City's own Building Division 'Certification of Service Disconnect' form (used to coordinate demolition-permit utility disconnects) lists 'Duke Energy' with contact bsuccst@duke-energy.com alongside the City's own water utility and Lake Apopka Natural Gas. I found zero mentions of OUC anywhere on apopka.gov (site-search control: 'OUC' = No results found, vs. 'electrical' = 30 results and fabricated 'zzqqx' = 0, confirming the search itself works), so I did not find evidence Apopka is split between Duke and OUC the way the brief warns some Orange County cities are — but I could not rule it out from a utility-side source, since Duke's own DG territory map pages 404.

City FAQ + City interdepartmental form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/faq.aspx?qid=174

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

After permit — the utility's parallel-operation/PTO step follows local permit issuance and inspection

Why the confidence is not higherDuke Energy's own DG/interconnection manual and net-metering pages all returned 404 (duke-energy.com/home/products/net-metering, /home/products/renewable-energy/solar, /business/products/renewable-energy/solar, /site-map all checked 12 Sep 2026), so this is sourced from the statewide floor that binds all Florida investor-owned utilities including Duke: FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(a), F.A.C.: 'A requirement that customer-owned renewable generation must be inspected and approved by local code officials PRIOR TO its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility.' This is a state rule, not Duke's own published sequence, hence capped confidence.

Florida Administrative Code rule text (PSC Rule 25-6.065, current as of amendment 4-7-08, retrieved via flrules.org gateway 12 Sep 2026) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'homeowners association'/'architectural review' (fuzzy word-level matches only, no real hit); Planning & Zoning page (apopka.gov/281) mentions general 'Development Design Guidelines' but nothing solar-specific; Land Development Code is Municode-hosted and disallowed to this agent

https://www.apopka.gov/281/Planning-Zoning

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedPlanning & Zoning page has no historic-district program named; Land Development Code Municode-hosted and disallowed

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City page addresses wind/windstorm certification for PV; Florida Building Code wind-speed maps and any local amendment live in the Municode-hosted Code of Ordinances, disallowed to this agent

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q26 — code-dependent

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q26 — code-dependent; also checked site search for 'generation cap' (fuzzy noise only)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • What is the installation judged against? The Florida Building Code (current edition) generally, and the Florida Fire Prevention Code/NFPA for fire-related aspects — no specific year is named on any City-published page 58% · department page + legacy permit application form
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Apopka on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    Nothing recorded for City of Apopka on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

20 questions answered against City of Apopka’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding-Safety, Fire Prevention/Inspection pages (name 'NFPA' and 'Florida Fire Prevention Code' generically, no NFPA 70 edition year); legacy Building Permit Application PDF says only 'current Florida Building Codes'; site search 'NFPA 70' returns only fuzzy word-level noise; Code of Ordinances Municode-hosted and disallowed

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q29 — no City page names a specific FBC edition/year; site search '8th Edition' returns only fuzzy word-level noise (newsletters, budget documents)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Prevention/Inspection page names 'Florida Fire Prevention Code' with no edition year; Code of Ordinances Municode-hosted and disallowed

https://www.apopka.gov/280/Prevention-Inspection

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCode of Ordinances / Land Development Code, Municode-hosted (library.municode.com, www.municode.com), both Disallow: ClaudeBot in robots.txt (fetched 12 Sep 2026) — cannot confirm presence/absence of local amendments

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The Florida Building Code (current edition) generally, and the Florida Fire Prevention Code/NFPA for fire-related aspects — no specific year is named on any City-published page

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Fire Prevention Division page states it 'enforces all applicable life safety and fire protection requirements of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Florida Fire Prevention Code, the Florida Building Code and the City of Apopka Municipal Codes and Ordinances.' The legacy (2011) Building Permit Application PDF states 'Plans must meet all current Florida Building Codes, as well as any other referenced codes, standards and ordinances.' Neither names a code year or edition; the specific adopted-edition text lives in the Code of Ordinances on library.municode.com, which Disallows ClaudeBot (see Q29/Q30 not_found).

department page + legacy permit application form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/280/Prevention-Inspection

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q32 — code-dependent

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q32 — code-dependent; no solar-specific document exists to state this directly either

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire Fees / Fire Building Review pages address only commercial/multi-family fire plan review fees, nothing on ridge setbacks/access pathways for residential PV; Fire Code amendments Municode-hosted and disallowed

https://www.apopka.gov/912/Fire-Fees

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City page mentions rapid shutdown; site search 'rapid shutdown' returns only fuzzy word-level noise; NEC edition itself unconfirmed (Q29)

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=rapid%20shutdown

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedapopka.gov site search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (controls: positive 'electrical'=30, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0, 'solar'=1 non-PV calendar hit, 'photovoltaic'=0); no placard specification of any kind exists for solar on the City's site

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No evidence of any City-specified placard wording — because no solar-specific ordinance, handout or checklist exists at all on apopka.gov

Why the confidence is not higherControls run on the City's own site-search endpoint (apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=): 'solar' returns exactly 1 result — a 2021 calendar listing for a vendor workshop mentioning the unrelated 'Solar & Energy Loan Fund' financing program — and 'photovoltaic' returns 0 results, while the positive control 'electrical' returns 30 results and the fabricated control 'zzqqx' returns 0 ('No results found.'), confirming the search mechanism itself works. No solar-specific placard/labeling document exists to specify wording.

site search (controls run: positive 'electrical'=30, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0, 'solar'=1 non-PV, 'photovoltaic'=0) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified — no City document addresses letter height, colour or material for any solar/PV label

Why the confidence is not higherSame controls as Q39 (positive 'electrical'=30, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0, 'solar'=1 non-PV calendar hit, 'photovoltaic'=0) establish there is no solar-specific signage document on apopka.gov to specify this in.

site search (controls run) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=solar

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Not specified — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement is published by the City

Why the confidence is not higherSame site-search controls (Q39/Q40) found no solar-specific document of any kind; the only NEC 705.10-type facility-map/placard requirement that would apply is whatever the (unreachable, Municode-hosted) adopted NEC edition itself requires, which I could not check — see Q29 not_found.

site search (controls run) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedDuke Energy's own DG interconnection/net-metering pages returned 404 on every route tried (duke-energy.com/home/products/net-metering, /home/products/renewable-energy/solar, /business/products/renewable-energy/solar, /site-map — checked 12 Sep 2026); FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 (the reachable state floor) specifies only a manual disconnect switch location (see Q48), not a placard/label spec, so I cannot confirm whether Duke's unreachable manual specifies more

https://www.duke-energy.com/home/products/net-metering

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q38/Q42 — no solar-specific labeling document from the City; Duke's own manual unreachable

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=photovoltaic

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes, at the state-utility level — customer-owned renewable generation equipment must be tested and listed by a nationally recognized testing/certification laboratory to qualify for expedited interconnection

Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(4)(b): equipment 'shall be considered certified for interconnected operation if it has been submitted by a manufacturer to a nationally recognized testing and certification laboratory, and has been tested and listed by the laboratory.' This is a state interconnection rule that binds Duke Energy Florida, not a City-of-Apopka permitting requirement — I found no City page stating an approved-equipment-list requirement independently.

Florida Administrative Code rule text (PSC Rule 25-6.065) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite search for 'battery energy storage'/'ESS' (fuzzy noise only, 'ESS' = 0 results); no City fire-fee or building page names a battery/ESS permit condition

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=ESS

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q45 — no separate ESS permit/inspection named anywhere on apopka.gov

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=ESS

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedGround-mount treatment as a structure would be defined in the Land Development Code / Code of Ordinances, Municode-hosted and disallowed to this agent

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

The AC/manual disconnect must be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket

Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a): a required manual disconnect switch 'shall be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket and shall be readily accessible to the investor-owned utility.' Sourced from the state rule because Duke Energy's own DG manual pages 404'd on every route tried (see Q23); Tier-1 (<=10 kW) inverter-based systems are explicitly exempted from the manual-disconnect-switch requirement itself under the same subsection.

Florida Administrative Code rule text (PSC Rule 25-6.065) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    Nothing recorded for City of Apopka on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? No — no published solar/PV-specific inspection checklist exists on apopka.gov 75% · site search (controls run)
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final (a final inspection approval) — since a rooftop PV retrofit on an existing, already-occupied single-family home would not generate a new Certificate of Occupancy 45% · inference from general permitting-fee page, no solar-specific statement found
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? No fee is labeled 're-inspection'; the closest published analog is the correction-notice fee: $65 for an initial rejection/correction notice, rising to $120 if a correction notice is issued a third time for the same violation on the same job (Florida Statute 550.80(2)(c) cited) 50% · fee schedule (page text, undated)
    • How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are issued as a written rejection/correction notice; repeat notices for the same violation on the same job escalate in fee ($65 initial, $120 on the third occurrence) 55% · fee schedule (page text, undated)

14 questions answered against City of Apopka’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Phone — via the Building Division's Automated Inspection Line

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's legacy Building Permit Application and other Building Division forms carry the masthead '407-703-1713 Phone -- 407-703-1791 Fax -- 407-703-1815 Automated Inspection Line.' I could not confirm whether OpenGov also supports online inspection requests for permits pulled through the new portal, since the OpenGov SPA would not render outside a login session for me.

legacy Building Permit Application form masthead (Rev. 8-12-11) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/documentcenter/view/4043

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Division inspection-line masthead gives only a phone number, no stated notice-lead-time; Requirements/Submittal/Permitting pages silent on this

https://www.apopka.gov/documentcenter/view/4043

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q50 — no AM/PM or same-day window policy published

https://www.apopka.gov/documentcenter/view/4043

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes — the City performs its own final inspections; not delegated

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Safety page: 'certified Multiple Code Inspectors' with 'combined trade and code training of several decades' work for the department; the FS 553.80 Utilization Report FY2024 shows 11 City personnel dedicated to enforcing the FBC and conducting inspections, versus 800 of 28,351 total inspections performed by a private provider (about 2.8%) — i.e. inspections are overwhelmingly in-house, not solar-specific.

FS 553.80(7)(b) Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report, Fiscal Year 2024 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7519

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A — not delegated; the City's own Building-Safety Department inspectors conduct final inspections in-house (a small private-provider share of ~2.8% of total inspections exists per the FY2024 utilization report, but this is general, not solar-specific or a formal delegation)

Why the confidence is not higherSame FY2024 Utilization Report: 'Number of building inspections conducted by a private provider: 800' against 28,351 total inspections conducted — private providers are used by choice under FS 553.791/HB 683 rather than the City delegating solar inspections specifically to anyone.

FS 553.80(7)(b) Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report, Fiscal Year 2024 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/DocumentCenter/View/7519

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published inspection-sequence document for building/electrical/PV work; OpenGov portal (where such a sequence might be configured per permit type) would not render outside a login session

https://apopkafl.portal.opengov.com/

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q54

https://apopkafl.portal.opengov.com/

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published inspection checklist exists at all (see Q57), so no practice statement on verifying labels/listings could be found

https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=solar%20checklist

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No — no published solar/PV-specific inspection checklist exists on apopka.gov

Why the confidence is not higherSite-search controls: 'solar checklist' and 'PV checklist' return 7-8 fuzzy word-level hits (unrelated items like 'Business Fire Safety Checklist', 'Landscape Requirements', hurricane 'Emergency Kit Checklist'), none of them an actual solar/PV checklist; 'photovoltaic' alone returns 0 results; fabricated control 'zzqqx' returns 0 ('No results found'); positive control 'electrical' returns 30 results, confirming the search mechanism works.

site search (controls run) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/Search/Results?searchPhrase=solar%20checklist

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published 'documents on site' requirement for any inspection type on apopka.gov

https://www.apopka.gov/222/Building-Safety

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

No fee is labeled 're-inspection'; the closest published analog is the correction-notice fee: $65 for an initial rejection/correction notice, rising to $120 if a correction notice is issued a third time for the same violation on the same job (Florida Statute 550.80(2)(c) cited)

Why the confidence is not higherPermitting Fees page, 'Citation, Rejection, Etc.' section: 'Rejection or Correction Notices Initial fee: $65 If a rejection or correction notice has to be issued for the same violation on the same job or project for a third time, the fee shall be $120.' This is not explicitly framed as a 're-inspection fee' and is not solar-specific, so treated as a moderate-confidence analog rather than a direct answer.

fee schedule (page text, undated) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Corrections are issued as a written rejection/correction notice; repeat notices for the same violation on the same job escalate in fee ($65 initial, $120 on the third occurrence)

Why the confidence is not higherSame Permitting Fees page text as Q59. The page describes the fee escalation for repeat correction notices but does not describe the mechanics of how a correction is cleared/re-submitted (e.g., through OpenGov vs. in person), which I could not confirm.

fee schedule (page text, undated) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final (a final inspection approval) — since a rooftop PV retrofit on an existing, already-occupied single-family home would not generate a new Certificate of Occupancy

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general Florida building-permit process (a CO applies to new construction/occupancy changes, not an electrical/PV retrofit on an existing occupied home); no City document states this for solar specifically, and no solar-specific document exists at all (see Q38-41 absences).

inference from general permitting-fee page, no solar-specific statement found checked 2026-09-12 https://www.apopka.gov/256/Fees

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNeither the City's own pages nor the reachable FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 text state who submits utility notification for PTO (the rule addresses the utility's and customer's mutual obligations under the Standard Interconnection Agreement, but not a specific 'who notifies' step); Duke's own process pages are unreachable (404)

https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.

Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 68%

No evidence of any City-specified placard wording — because no solar-specific ordinance, handout or checklist exists at all on apopka.gov

Size, colour & material 65%

Not specified — no City document addresses letter height, colour or material for any solar/PV label

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top None%

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building-Safety | Apopka, FL Skip to Main Content Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Home Departments Community Development Services Building-Safety Building-Safety Mission Statement Under the leadership of Building Official John Hanson, the mission of the City of Apopka Building Safety Department is to safeguard the health, s
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Orange County
Regions covered
Authority Contact
Building Department
Direct Phone
407-703-1713
Booking & Scheduling