City of Boynton Beach

Palm Beach County · Florida ← All authorities

City of Boynton Beach

Palm Beach County

Verified Aug. 5, 2026

City of Boynton Beach is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 80,380 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Boynton Beach against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Boynton Beach is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
Holds
Both (building and electrical, combined in one Building Division)
Overridden by
FL state law: FS 553.79/125.56 (HB 803, one-year permit validity, eff. 1 Jul 2026) supersedes the City's own 180-day local amendment; FS 163.04 (Florida Solar Rights Act) preempts any HOA/deed-restriction denial of solar; FPL's PSC-filed tariff governs interconnection/PTO independent of the City
Why not higher
The City's own Building Department runs permitting end-to-end via its SagesGov portal (sagesgov.com/boyntonbeach-fl) and publishes its own adopting ordinance (Ordinance No. 23-023, Administrative Amendments to FBC 8th Ed. (2023), effective 31 Dec 2023) and its own fee schedule with a 'Solar Voltaic Systems (1 and 2 Family Residential)' line. This is not a Palm Beach County contract-city arrangement -- unlike some PBC municipalities, Boynton Beach has its own full Building Division, its own inspectors, and its own portal. I could not reach the County's own list of contract municipalities (discover.pbcgov.org connections were unreliable in this session) so I did not use it to prove the negative; the positive is instead proved from Boynton's own primary documents. Note the brief's suggestion that Boynton might be a SolSmart-determination city like Boca Raton did not pan out: no dedicated solar/PV page, no SolarAPP+ evidence, and no zoning-permit-type for solar were found anywhere in the City's 506-URL sitemap.

https://www.boynton-beach.org/202/Building-Department

Permit required
Yes95%
Permit cost
$150 minimum, or 2.3% of construction value (capped at $400)90%
Portal
SagesGov (https://www.sagesgov.com/boyntonbeach-fl)95%
Electrical code
Not specified by the City to a year; local ordinance only says 'National Electrical Code Standard 70, Current Edition' with no edition/year named45%
Own placard wording
No75%
Booking an inspection
Portal (SagesGov)92%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — SagesGov (https://www.sagesgov.com/boyntonbeach-fl) Q20

Permit required
Yes95% source
What it costs
$150 minimum, or 2.3% of construction value (capped at $400)90% source
Key document
portal landing page cited by 4 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 80% · department page
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department page
    • Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · fee schedule
    • Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No outright HOA veto -- state law preempts denial 85% · state statute
    • Is there a historic-district review? Yes, but only for locally/nationally designated historic properties -- reviewed by the Historic Resources Preservation Board (HRPB); not a citywide requirement 65% · department page
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm certification (not a TX-style TDI/WPI-8 system); wind design is verified through FBC/ASCE 7-22 load calculations at plan review 65% · county/city technical bulletin
    • Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No -- solar is not among the City's Zoning Permit types (Fence, Shed, Banners/Temp Signs, Artificial Turf, Landscape/Tree Removal); it appears to be permitted by right through the building permit alone, without a Council/SUP step 55% · department page
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Licensed electrician or licensed solar contractor (state law, not a Boynton-specific statement) 50% · state statute (not authority-specific)
    • Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 60% · department page
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, generically (F.S. 489.103 owner-builder), not solar-specific 55% · form
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    • How many copies, and in what format? Digital only -- online submittal in unprotected (but signed/sealed where required) PDF format; no paper copies 85% · department page
    • Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No numeric threshold published; FBC administrative amendment (105.3/104.11) leaves it to the Building Official's judgment for work found 'hazardous or complex,' at which point sealed engineering documents are required 55% · adopting ordinance
  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? SagesGov (https://www.sagesgov.com/boyntonbeach-fl) 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 88% · portal landing page
    • What does a residential solar permit cost? $150 minimum, or 2.3% of construction value (capped at $400) 90% · fee schedule
    • How is the fee calculated? Tiered/Valuation (minimum fee OR percentage of construction value, whichever applies, capped) 85% · fee schedule
    • Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes -- general Plan Review Fee applies to all primary permits 70% · fee schedule
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days (six months) per the City's own local amendment -- but this conflicts with new state law 80% · adopting ordinance
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Power & Light (FPL) 95% · utility tariff
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel for initial application, but final interconnection/PTO is gated on proof of AHJ approval 75% · utility tariff / DG manual

28 questions answered against City of Boynton Beach’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity's own Building Department administers building and electrical permitting via SagesGov; own adopting ordinance and fee schedule confirm self-administration.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/202/Building-Department

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherNo separate Electrical Department exists; the Residential/Commercial Checklists pages list 'Electrical' as a sub-category filed under the Building Department's own Checklists page, and the fee schedule has a single 'Building Division Fees' schedule (no separate Electrical Division schedule) with one 'Solar Voltaic Systems' line covering the whole permit.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/926/Residential-Checklists

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherLegacy Permits page lists 'Photovoltaic (solar) systems' among the typical projects requiring a permit; fee schedule has a dedicated 'Solar Voltaic Systems (1 and 2 Family Residential)' fee line. Note the same page separately lists 'Solar for swimming pools and water heaters' -- a different, non-PV item -- confirming the PV line was read correctly and not conflated.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/422/Legacy-Permits

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Combined

Why the confidence is not higherInferred: the fee schedule shows one 'Solar Voltaic Systems' fee line, not a separate building fee plus a separate electrical fee line, suggesting one combined permit review covers both trades. No page states this in so many words.

fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Licensed electrician or licensed solar contractor (state law, not a Boynton-specific statement)

Why the confidence is not higherNo city page states this for solar specifically. Answer rests on Florida statewide contractor-licensing law (F.S. Ch. 489) rather than a Boynton document, so this is a lower-confidence inference, not a city citation.

state statute (not authority-specific) checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0489/0489.html

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

No

Why the confidence is not higherNeither the Sages Permits page nor the Building Department page describes a contractor pre-registration step; the process described is: pick project type in SagesGov, submit, pay, get inspected. Absence checked directly on both pages (positive control 'register'/'permit' present, fabricated control 'zzqqx' absent).

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes, generically (F.S. 489.103 owner-builder), not solar-specific

Why the confidence is not higherCity publishes the standard F.S. 489.103 Owner-Builder Affidavit as a general building form; nothing on it or elsewhere excludes solar/PV work. Not confirmed as commonly used for solar specifically.

form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/685

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Forms/Applications/Documents page, Residential Checklists, Commercial Checklists, Legacy Permits, Sages Permits -- none publish a solar/PV-specific submittal checklist; only generic electrical checklist categories (Low Voltage, Meter Placement, Service Change, EV Charger, Wiring, Temp Pole) exist, none named Solar/Photovoltaic

https://www.boynton-beach.org/435/Building-Forms-Applications-Documents

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Digital only -- online submittal in unprotected (but signed/sealed where required) PDF format; no paper copies

Why the confidence is not higherSages Permits page: 'all submittals must be submitted online in an unprotected PDF format' and 'This document does not need to be scanned, uploaded or submitted' (referring to the digital Universal Permit Application built into SagesGov).

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q8; no PV-specific site-plan requirement found (driveway-permit process page does require a survey/site plan but that is a different, unrelated permit type)

https://www.boynton-beach.org/435/Building-Forms-Applications-Documents

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame pages as Q8 -- no PV checklist exists to specify a one-line/three-line diagram requirement

https://www.boynton-beach.org/435/Building-Forms-Applications-Documents

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q11

https://www.boynton-beach.org/435/Building-Forms-Applications-Documents

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

No numeric threshold published; FBC administrative amendment (105.3/104.11) leaves it to the Building Official's judgment for work found 'hazardous or complex,' at which point sealed engineering documents are required

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 23-023 (Local Amendment to FBC 8th Ed. 2023) states plans are to be sealed by a design professional when 'in the opinion of the Building Official... hazardous or complex' -- a discretionary, not numeric, trigger. No PV-specific racking/attachment threshold was found.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance (full text, 3299 lines) -- general engineer-seal language found (Q13) but no separate electrical-PE threshold stated

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

$150 minimum, or 2.3% of construction value (capped at $400)

Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division Fee Schedule, 'Solar Voltaic Systems (1 and 2 Family Residential)' line: 'Minimum Fee 150.00' / '2.3% On Construction Value / Max 400'. Page footer dated Effective: March 16, 2022 -- older than the current FBC 8th Ed. (2023) cycle, but it is the fee schedule currently linked and served by the City.

fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Tiered/Valuation (minimum fee OR percentage of construction value, whichever applies, capped)

Why the confidence is not higherSame fee-schedule line as Q15: minimum $150 or 2.3% of construction value, max $400 -- a valuation-based fee with a floor and a ceiling.

fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Yes -- general Plan Review Fee applies to all primary permits

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule p.1: 'Plan Review Fee... will be credited against the actual cost of the building permit at the time of permit issuance' with a $75 minimum or 1.0%/0.50%/0.25% tiered rate by construction value. This is a general primary-permit fee, not stated as solar-specific, but nothing exempts solar from it.

fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBuilding Department, Sages Permits, Permitting Resources pages -- the only stated plan-review turnaround found ('up to 15 calendar days') is on the Permitting Resources page and is explicitly for the residential driveway permit process, not building/electrical/solar

https://www.boynton-beach.org/764/Permitting-Resources

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

180 days (six months) per the City's own local amendment -- but this conflicts with new state law

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 23-023 (Local Amendment to FBC, sec. 105.4/105.5): 'Every permit issued shall become invalid unless the work authorized by such permit is commenced within six months (180 Days)... Permits that remain inactive or expired for more than six months (180 Days) shall lose all rights.' This is the City's own published rule (effective 31 Dec 2023) and it is NOT yet updated for HB 803's new one-year minimum (FS 553.79(1)(c) / FS 125.56(4)(d)), which takes effect 1 Jul 2026 -- recording the conflict per instructions, not resolving it.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

SagesGov (https://www.sagesgov.com/boyntonbeach-fl)

Why the confidence is not higherCity migrated off its paper 'Legacy' system in May 2021; all current applications, plan review, issuance, inspections, close-out and certificates run through SagesGov.

portal landing page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes

Why the confidence is not higher'As our permitting process has transitioned to a paperless system, all submittals must be submitted online.' No in-person/paper submittal path is described for standard permits (paper Legacy system only applies to permits filed before 22 May 2021).

portal landing page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Florida Power & Light (FPL)

Why the confidence is not higherFPL's PSC-filed tariff, Section 7 'Communities Served,' explicitly lists 'Boynton Beach' under the PALM BEACH county column.

utility tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section7.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

Parallel for initial application, but final interconnection/PTO is gated on proof of AHJ approval

Why the confidence is not higherFPL's Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement (current filed Tariff Section 9, Sheet 9.050 s.3.4): 'The Customer agrees to provide Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation. The certification shall reflect that the local code official has inspected and certified that the installation was permitted, has been approved, and has met all electrical and mechanical qualifications.' So the FPL application itself is not blocked on the city permit, but energization/PTO requires the city's final sign-off first.

utility tariff / DG manual checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section9.pdf

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

No outright HOA veto -- state law preempts denial

Why the confidence is not higherF.S. 163.04(2) (Florida Solar Rights Act): a deed restriction/covenant/HOA 'may not prohibit or have the effect of prohibiting' solar collectors; the HOA may only dictate roof location/orientation (within 45 deg of due south) if that doesn't impair operation. This is state law, applicable to Boynton Beach as to every FL municipality; the City publishes nothing of its own on HOA review for solar.

state statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0100-0199/0163/Sections/0163.04.html

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Yes, but only for locally/nationally designated historic properties -- reviewed by the Historic Resources Preservation Board (HRPB); not a citywide requirement

Why the confidence is not higherHistoric Preservation page: HRPB 'is responsible for maintaining the heritage of our locally or nationally-designated historic buildings and sites... through design review and guidance.' Page does not mention solar/PV specifically -- applies to alterations of designated properties generally.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/336/Historic-Preservation

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No separate windstorm certification (not a TX-style TDI/WPI-8 system); wind design is verified through FBC/ASCE 7-22 load calculations at plan review

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's published Windload Chart (hosted by Boynton, produced by PBC Planning, Zoning & Building) sets Wind Vult = 170 mph (3-sec gust), Exposure C, per ASCE 7-22 and FBC (2023) for detached 1-2 family dwellings -- used as design input, not a separate field certification.

county/city technical bulletin checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1158/Windload-Chart-2020

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

No -- solar is not among the City's Zoning Permit types (Fence, Shed, Banners/Temp Signs, Artificial Turf, Landscape/Tree Removal); it appears to be permitted by right through the building permit alone, without a Council/SUP step

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the absence of a solar entry on the Zoning Permits page, which otherwise lists every zoning-triggered residential permit type by name.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/466/Zoning-Permits

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedZoning Permits page and Boynton's zoning code (Land Development Regulations) -- the LDR itself is presumed to be hosted on library.municode.com, which disallows ClaudeBot in robots.txt (User-agent: ClaudeBot / Disallow: /); did not crawl it per that instruction, and no city-hosted PDF stating a residential generation size cap was found

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? Not specified by the City to a year; local ordinance only says 'National Electrical Code Standard 70, Current Edition' with no edition/year named 45% · adopting ordinance
    • Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 95% · adopting ordinance
    • Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code (referenced by cross-reference in the City's building ordinance; edition not named in Boynton's own document) 55% · adopting ordinance
    • Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 90% · adopting ordinance
    • What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) as locally amended by Ordinance 23-023, plus NEC ('Current Edition', year unspecified) 80% · adopting ordinance
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Boynton Beach on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    • Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown applies via NEC 690.12 as adopted by reference (edition/year not named by the City -- see Q29); no city-specific rapid-shutdown provision found 50% · adopting ordinance (inference)
  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 75% · adopting ordinance
    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes, partially -- FPL requires a permanent weather-proof relocation plaque at the meter socket when the manual disconnect can't be sited adjacent to the meter 70% · utility tariff / DG manual
    • Where must the labels be placed? Manual disconnect switch mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, at an agreed location with a relocation plaque installed adjacent to the meter socket) 75% · utility tariff / DG manual
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Adjacent to (but mounted separate from) the FPL meter socket; readily accessible to FPL and lockable in the open position with an FPL padlock 80% · utility tariff / DG manual

20 questions answered against City of Boynton Beach’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Not specified by the City to a year; local ordinance only says 'National Electrical Code Standard 70, Current Edition' with no edition/year named

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 23-023 sec. (definition of low-voltage systems): 'as defined in the National Electrical Code Standard 70, Current Edition' -- no year given. The two electrical checklist PDFs (Service Change, Wiring) also say only 'per NEC' with no edition. This matches the documented statewide Palm Beach County gap; re-proven here from Boynton's own documents rather than inherited.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 23-023, 'Administrative Amendments to the Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023),' Effective December 31, 2023, 'Beginning with Permit No. 23-0001.'

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Florida Fire Prevention Code (referenced by cross-reference in the City's building ordinance; edition not named in Boynton's own document)

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance 23-023 sec.101.4.5: 'For provisions related to fire prevention, refer to the Florida Fire Prevention Code.' No edition/year is given in the City's own text; the statewide-current 8th Edition (2023), based on NFPA 1 (2021), is a state fact not confirmed in a Boynton document.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherOrdinance No. 23-023 is itself titled 'Administrative Amendments to the Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023)' -- confirming local amendments exist (administrative chapter only; no technical/solar-specific amendment found).

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) as locally amended by Ordinance 23-023, plus NEC ('Current Edition', year unspecified)

Why the confidence is not higherCombines Q30 and Q29 findings, both sourced to the City's own adopting ordinance.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance full text -- no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule found beyond generic NEC-by-reference language

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance (administrative chapter only, no technical/structural amendments); Building Forms/Checklists pages -- no mounting-system or attachment-spacing document found

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance (fire-prevention section defers wholesale to the Florida Fire Prevention Code, sec.101.4.5); Fire & Life Safety and Fire Rescue pages checked directly for 'solar'/'photovoltaic'/'setback' -- no hits, positive control 'fire' present, fabricated control 'zzqqx' absent

https://www.boynton-beach.org/406/Fire-Life-Safety

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Rapid shutdown applies via NEC 690.12 as adopted by reference (edition/year not named by the City -- see Q29); no city-specific rapid-shutdown provision found

Why the confidence is not higherNo Boynton document states a rapid-shutdown requirement in its own words; this rests on the fact that NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown is a standard feature of any recent NEC edition adopted 'by reference, Current Edition' per Ordinance 23-023.

adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance full-text search for 'placard' (2 hits, both unrelated -- see Q39); FPL's Electric Service Standards manual (guessed URLs all 404'd, could not locate a stable link in this session)

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No

Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the 76-page Local Amendment ordinance (3299 lines) finds 'placard' only twice, both for unrelated purposes (mobile-home-park permit labels; unsafe-building notices) -- never for solar/PV or service equipment. Positive control ('fire', 68 hits) and fabricated control ('zzqqx', 0 hits) both behaved correctly.

adopting ordinance checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q39 -- since no city-specified placard exists, no letter-height/colour/material spec exists either

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance and Building Forms pages -- no city-specific facility-map/site-plan placard requirement beyond the generic NEC 705.10 (by reference, edition unspecified per Q29)

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Yes, partially -- FPL requires a permanent weather-proof relocation plaque at the meter socket when the manual disconnect can't be sited adjacent to the meter

Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tariff Section 9, Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement sec. 5.3 (Sheet 9.051): '...the customer shall install a permanent weather-proof plaque adjacent to FPL's meter socket indicating the location of the manual disconnect switch or switches.' I could not reach FPL's separate 'Electric Service Standards' manual in this session (repeated 404s on guessed URLs) so I am not citing its more detailed meter/DER-disconnect placard wording -- only what I could verify directly.

utility tariff / DG manual checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section9.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Manual disconnect switch mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, at an agreed location with a relocation plaque installed adjacent to the meter socket)

Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tariff Section 9, Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement secs. 5.2-5.3.

utility tariff / DG manual checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section9.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance, Building Forms, Checklists pages -- no city statement of a specific approved-equipment list for PV beyond generic FBC product-approval/research-report language (sec.104.11.1, 104.12)

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal Amendment ordinance full-text search for 'battery'/'batteries' (2 hits, both unrelated -- low-voltage recharging devices and electric-fence chargers, not ESS); Fire & Life Safety and Fire Rescue pages -- no hits for 'battery' or 'energy storage', positive control 'fire' and fabricated control 'zzqqx' both behaved correctly

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q45 -- no separate ESS permit or inspection type found anywhere on the permitting pages or fee schedule

https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBoynton's zoning code (Land Development Regulations), presumed hosted on library.municode.com which disallows ClaudeBot (robots.txt Disallow: /); not crawled per that instruction. No city-hosted page states whether a ground mount is treated as an accessory structure.

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

Adjacent to (but mounted separate from) the FPL meter socket; readily accessible to FPL and lockable in the open position with an FPL padlock

Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tariff Section 9, Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement sec. 5.2: 'The manual disconnect switch shall be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket... capable of being locked in the open position with a single FPL utility padlock.' Tier 2/Tier 3 (Sheets 9.057, 9.067) both require this switch unconditionally (no UL-1741 exemption), unlike Tier 1.

utility tariff / DG manual checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section9.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal (SagesGov) 92% · department page
    • How much notice is required? By 3:00 PM the business day before the desired inspection date 88% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? A specific inspector and time window (not exact clock time) is posted the morning of the inspection, at 8:00 AM, via the SagesGov portal (also visible without login under the 'Reports' tab); not same-day bookable 82% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department page
    • If delegated, to whom? N/A -- not delegated (see Q52) 82% · department page
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    Nothing recorded for City of Boynton Beach on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • Is there a published inspection checklist? No 78% · department page
    • What must be on site at inspection? The printed, approved permit documents from SagesGov must be on site and available to the field inspector 80% · department page
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • What is issued on pass? Final inspection approval closing out the permit (no CO issued, since this is an accessory retrofit on an existing single-family dwelling, not new construction) 50% · adopting ordinance (inference)
    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Customer -- FPL requires the customer to submit the AHJ's inspection certification to FPL before FPL will complete interconnection 78% · utility tariff / DG manual
    • Is there a re-inspection fee? $50 first re-inspection, $100 second, $200 third and subsequent (without correction done) 90% · fee schedule

14 questions answered against City of Boynton Beach’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal (SagesGov)

Why the confidence is not higher'please ensure the required inspections are scheduled online, via your SagesGov portal.'

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

By 3:00 PM the business day before the desired inspection date

Why the confidence is not higher'please ensure the required inspections are scheduled online, via your SagesGov portal, by 3:00 PM the day prior to your desired inspection date.'

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

A specific inspector and time window (not exact clock time) is posted the morning of the inspection, at 8:00 AM, via the SagesGov portal (also visible without login under the 'Reports' tab); not same-day bookable

Why the confidence is not higher'At 8:00 AM, the day of your inspection, an updated schedule displaying both your inspector and window of time will be provided on the SagesGov portal.'

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes

Why the confidence is not higher'Upon permit issuance, all approved documents must be printed... and be made available to our field inspectors' -- the City's own Building Division staffs and performs its own field inspections; no delegation language found anywhere on the permitting pages.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

N/A -- not delegated (see Q52)

Why the confidence is not higherDirect consequence of Q52 finding.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSages Permits, Building Department, Checklists pages -- no PV-specific inspection sequence (e.g. rough-in, final) is published; only the generic scheduling mechanics (Q49-51) are described

https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q54 -- no statement on whether a rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required for PV

https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q54 -- no statement that the inspector verifies labels/listings specifically

https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

No

Why the confidence is not higherThe Residential and Commercial Checklists pages each list six Electrical checklist categories (Low Voltage, Meter Placement, Service Change, EV Charger, Wiring, Temporary Pole) -- no Solar/Photovoltaic checklist exists on either page.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/926/Residential-Checklists

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

The printed, approved permit documents from SagesGov must be on site and available to the field inspector

Why the confidence is not higher'Upon permit issuance, all approved documents must be printed from the SagesGov portal and be made available to our field inspectors.'

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/428/Sages-Permits

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

$50 first re-inspection, $100 second, $200 third and subsequent (without correction done)

Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule, 'Inspection and Plan Review Fees / Re-Inspection Fees.' Page footer dated Effective: March 16, 2022.

fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1308/Building-Division-Fee-Schedule

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSages Permits page and Local Amendment ordinance -- the correction/resubmission mechanic is described only for the (unrelated) driveway permit workflow ('Reapply for a permit on Sages Gov with the improved plans'); no general building/electrical corrections process statement was found stated independently of that example

https://www.boynton-beach.org/764/Permitting-Resources

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Final inspection approval closing out the permit (no CO issued, since this is an accessory retrofit on an existing single-family dwelling, not new construction)

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general permit-closure language in Ordinance 23-023 (secs. 105.5, 105.5.2 on 'Closing Out or Resolving' permits) -- no solar-specific pass/fail document was found.

adopting ordinance (inference) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.boynton-beach.org/DocumentCenter/View/1277/Boynton-Beach-local-Amendment-2023-FBC-Building-chapter-1

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer/Customer -- FPL requires the customer to submit the AHJ's inspection certification to FPL before FPL will complete interconnection

Why the confidence is not higherFPL Tariff Section 9, Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement sec. 3.4: 'The Customer agrees to provide Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation.' The AHJ does not push this to FPL itself; the customer/installer carries it over.

utility tariff / DG manual checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/content/dam/fplgp/us/en/rates/pdf/electric-tariff-section9.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.

Labels & placards for this authority

Wording 75%

No

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go 75%

Manual disconnect switch mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket (or, if relocated, at an agreed location with a relocation plaque installed adjacent to the meter socket)

What the utility wants on top 70%

Yes, partially -- FPL requires a permanent weather-proof relocation plaque at the meter socket when the manual disconnect can't be sited adjacent to the meter

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Solar Requirements
Required placards
Building Department | Boynton Beach, FL Skip to Main Content Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more. Website Sign In Home Government Departments Building Department Building Department Welcome to the Building Department The mission of the City of Boynton Beach’s Building Department is to protect the lives and safety of the residents and visitors o
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Palm Beach County
Regions covered
Authority Contact
Building Department
Direct Phone
561-742-6000
Booking & Scheduling