City of Casselberry
City of Casselberry
Seminole County
City of Casselberry is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 28,794 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Casselberry against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Casselberry is the authority having jurisdiction 87% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, in-house, through the City's own Building Division (housed inside the Community Development department). The Building Division page states plainly it "manages the construction or alteration of buildings and other structures" and its own current fee schedule prices Building, and Electrical/HVAC/Plumbing/Gas permits together, all issued and inspected by City staff through the City's own CitizenServe portal (installationID=221) -- no county or private firm appears anywhere in this material. The City's own statutory FS 553.80(7)(b) Building Permit & Inspection Utilization Report (posted at casselberry.org/873, titled Fiscal Year 2020, page last modified 2023-09-15) shows 5 personnel dedicated to code enforcement, $279,955 in personnel costs, and ZERO building inspections conducted by a private provider -- the report proves IN-HOUSE operation in both directions per this brief's own test, even though it is stale (no FY has been posted since 2020). Fire is NOT a Casselberry department at all -- the City's own department directory (casselberry.org/8/Departments) lists Administration, Community Development, Finance, Police, Public Works, Recreation, Utilities and the CRA, but no Fire Department. The City's own site search returns, as its own indexed description: "The Seminole County Fire Department provides fire and rescue services to Casselberry residents." This is corroborated by Seminole County's own current Fire Station Listing (PDF), which places three of the County's own stations -- No. 21 (681 Seminola Blvd), No. 22 (7122 Hwy 17-92 S), and No. 25 (1055 Red Bug Lake Rd) -- physically inside Casselberry. Fire-code plan review for fire-alarm/sprinkler work and special events is handled by the Seminole County Fire Prevention Division (named directly on the City's own 'Special Events - Seminole County Fire Prevention Division Requirements' handout), consistent with the prior Seminole County finding (Winter Springs) that fire sits with the County rather than the city.
- Delegated to
- Fire only: Seminole County Fire Department (and its Fire Prevention Division for fire-code plan review) -- not a City department. Building and Electrical are NOT delegated.
- Overridden by
- FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 (state floor governing Duke Energy Florida, the investor-owned utility serving Casselberry) requires customer-owned renewable generation to be 'inspected and approved by local code officials prior to its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility' -- i.e. the City's inspection gates Duke's energization, not the reverse. FS 471.003(2)(h) statewide exempts electrical work valued at $125,000 or less with an aggregate service capacity of 600A or less on a residential system from a PE-stamp requirement, regardless of city rule. FS 553.791 (Alternative plans review and inspection) lets an OWNER elect a registered private provider for plan review/inspection on a single job in place of the City's own Building Division -- Casselberry's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees (footnote 4) acknowledges fee refunds/adjustments 'due to use of a private provider,' but cites the authorizing law as 'Florida Statute 553.80' rather than 553.791 (553.80(7)(b) is the utilization-report statute, not the private-provider election statute) -- worth flagging as the City's own document miscites its authority, though the underlying private-provider option is real and city-endorsed.
- Why not higher
- Direct evidence: the City's own Building Division page (casselberry.org/668), its embedded current Schedule of Building Permit Fees, its own FS 553.80(7)(b) Utilization Report (casselberry.org/873), its own Departments directory (no Fire Dept listed), its own site-search index describing County fire service, and Seminole County's own current Fire Station Listing PDF placing three county stations inside city limits. Held below 90 because (a) the Utilization Report is stale (FY2020 data on a page last touched Sep 2023, despite an annual statutory duty), and (b) the Unified Land Development Regulations (zoning: setbacks, ground-mount-as-structure, system-size caps, historic review) sit on library.municode.com, an Angular SPA that returns empty content to curl/WebFetch; a rendered-browser attempt was made per this brief's own guidance but was disrupted twice by tab contention with other concurrent govbot runs sharing the same browser session before Section 1-4.3 (Building Permits) or the zoning articles could be read, so those specific sub-questions could not be independently confirmed today.
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required. No PV-specific exemption exists anywhere in the City's published material, and the site's own search index (positive control 'electrical' = 2 hits,70%
- Permit cost
- No PV-specific fee exists. A residential PV retrofit would be billed under the general schedule: 'Residential Addition, Alteration' building permit at $70 per 100 SF,75%
- Portal
- CitizenServe Portal (installationID=221), reachable at www4/www5.citizenserve.com/Portal, linked directly from the Building Division page.90%
- Electrical code
- Not independently stated by the City -- Casselberry's own Building Division page names only the Florida Building Code ('Florida Building Code 2023' / '8th Edition') and the Florida Fire…58%
- Booking an inspection
- Through the CitizenServe online portal (the same portal used to apply and pay), which the Building Division page states supports scheduling inspections online.78%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes, a permit is required. No PV-specific exemption exists anywhere in the City's published material, Q3 Electrical and building permits — Unclear from published material -- likely separate/sub-permit. The City's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees lists 'HVAC/Electric/Plumbing/Gas' as a… Q4 Where you file — CitizenServe Portal (installationID=221), reachable at www4/www5.citizenserve.com/Portal, linked directly from the Building Division page. Q20
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required. No PV-specific exemption exists anywhere in the City's published material, and the site's own search index (positive control 'electrical' = 2 hits,70% source
- What it costs
- No PV-specific fee exists. A residential PV retrofit would be billed under the general schedule: 'Residential Addition, Alteration' building permit at $70 per 100 SF,75% source
- Key document
- department page (general, not solar-specific) cited by 12 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes -- the City of Casselberry's Building Division (Community Development) is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting and inspection inside city limits, including rooftop PV. Fire is a separate matter, held by Seminole County Fire Department, not the City. 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Permits and inspects Building and Electrical itself, in-house, through its own Building Division. Delegates Fire-code review/permitting/inspection to Seminole County Fire Department / Fire Prevention Division (not a City function at all). No county Certificate-of-Competency layer for contractor licensing was found; contractors need only a current State of Florida license (city registration is explicitly NOT required). 82% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes, a permit is required. No PV-specific exemption exists anywhere in the City's published material, and the site's own search index (positive control 'electrical' = 2 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, both confirming search works) returns zero results for 'solar' -- a proven absence of any PV exemption or PV-specific process. 70% · department page + site search controls
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Unclear from published material -- likely separate/sub-permit. The City's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees lists 'HVAC/Electric/Plumbing/Gas' as a single $200 flat fee line distinct from the base 'Residential Addition, Alteration/100 SF' building-permit fee, implying electrical is priced and presumably issued as its own trade permit, but no City document states explicitly whether it is a standalone permit or a sub-permit tied to a building permit. 50% · fee schedule
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? A Florida state-licensed electrical contractor (or a contractor otherwise licensed to perform electrical work) -- the City requires State license and insurance documentation to be uploaded with every permit application, and imposes no separate local qualification. 72% · department page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No -- the City explicitly states contractors are NOT required to register with the City, though they must upload current State license, workers' comp, and general liability documentation with every permit application. 92% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Not addressed by any Casselberry-specific document found. Florida's general owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103/489.503) statewide allows an owner-occupant to act as their own contractor on a one- or two-family residence, but no Casselberry-specific owner-builder form or statement was found on the City's site. 50% · Florida Statute (state floor, not city-specific)
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No PV-specific submittal checklist is published. The only documented submittal requirement found is the general contractor-document set required with EVERY application: current State license, Workers' Comp (or exemption certificate) naming the City as certificate holder, General Liability naming the City as certificate holder, and Business Tax Receipt. 48% · department page (general, not solar-specific)
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, through the CitizenServe online portal -- Casselberry publishes no downloadable/printable building-permit application PDF at all; applications, fee payment, and inspection scheduling are stated to be entirely online. 55% · department page
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Statewide floor: no PE stamp required for electrical work by a licensed contractor valued at $125,000 or less with aggregate service capacity of 600A (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h)). No Casselberry-specific threshold was found (the ULDR section that might set a stricter local rule is Municode-hosted and could not be read today -- see jurisdiction.why). 62% · Florida Statute
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? CitizenServe Portal (installationID=221), reachable at www4/www5.citizenserve.com/Portal, linked directly from the Building Division page. 90% · department page + portal
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes -- the City states the online system offers checking permit-application status, scheduling inspections, searching past permits, and that all permitting fees must be paid online. 80% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? No PV-specific fee exists. A residential PV retrofit would be billed under the general schedule: 'Residential Addition, Alteration' building permit at $70 per 100 SF, PLUS a flat $200.00 'HVAC/Electric/Plumbing/Gas' permit fee for the electrical trade. 75% · City fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Mixed: the base Building Permit fee is valuation/size-based ($70 per 100 SF of the addition/alteration), while the Electric/HVAC/Plumbing/Gas trade fee is a flat $200.00 regardless of job size or value. 78% · City fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Duke Energy Florida 85% · City department page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit -- Duke may not place customer-owned renewable generation in parallel operation until it has been inspected and approved by the local AHJ. 72% · Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor; Duke's own DG/net-metering guideline document not reached)
28 questions answered against City of Casselberry’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes -- the City of Casselberry's Building Division (Community Development) is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting and inspection inside city limits, including rooftop PV. Fire is a separate matter, held by Seminole County Fire Department, not the City.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division's own overview page, its fee schedule, and its FS 553.80(7)(b) utilization report (5 dedicated personnel, 0 private-provider inspections) all point to the same in-house City operation; no county or contractor appears anywhere in the building/electrical material.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Permits and inspects Building and Electrical itself, in-house, through its own Building Division. Delegates Fire-code review/permitting/inspection to Seminole County Fire Department / Fire Prevention Division (not a City function at all). No county Certificate-of-Competency layer for contractor licensing was found; contractors need only a current State of Florida license (city registration is explicitly NOT required).
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Division page + fee schedule confirm in-house building/electrical; City's own site-search snippet and Seminole County's Fire Station Listing PDF confirm fire delegation; Contractor Registration section of the Building Division page states contractors upload state license/insurance but are not required to register with the City.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, a permit is required. No PV-specific exemption exists anywhere in the City's published material, and the site's own search index (positive control 'electrical' = 2 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, both confirming search works) returns zero results for 'solar' -- a proven absence of any PV exemption or PV-specific process.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the absence of any PV exemption combined with the general rule that any electrical/structural work requires a permit; the City publishes no PV-specific statement either way.
department page + site search controls checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Unclear from published material -- likely separate/sub-permit. The City's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees lists 'HVAC/Electric/Plumbing/Gas' as a single $200 flat fee line distinct from the base 'Residential Addition, Alteration/100 SF' building-permit fee, implying electrical is priced and presumably issued as its own trade permit, but no City document states explicitly whether it is a standalone permit or a sub-permit tied to a building permit.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fee schedule's line-item structure only; no City text (unlike Ocoee's 'a separate permit must be secured for ELECTRICAL WORK...' language) makes this explicit, and no static building-permit application form exists to check (Casselberry's applications are entirely inside the CitizenServe portal, which requires a login).
fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
A Florida state-licensed electrical contractor (or a contractor otherwise licensed to perform electrical work) -- the City requires State license and insurance documentation to be uploaded with every permit application, and imposes no separate local qualification.
Why the confidence is not higherContractor Registration section of the Building Division page: contractors must upload 'Current State License,' Workers' Comp and General Liability documentation with every application; no city-specific electrician credential is mentioned.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No -- the City explicitly states contractors are NOT required to register with the City, though they must upload current State license, workers' comp, and general liability documentation with every permit application.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Building Division page: 'Contractors are not required to register with the City. However, contractors must upload the following documentation with every building permit application...' This is notably different from many other Florida cities (e.g. Ocoee) that DO require local contractor registration.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Not addressed by any Casselberry-specific document found. Florida's general owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103/489.503) statewide allows an owner-occupant to act as their own contractor on a one- or two-family residence, but no Casselberry-specific owner-builder form or statement was found on the City's site.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the statewide owner-builder statute only, not from a City document; a sitemap/search pass found no Casselberry-specific owner-builder affidavit (unlike Ocoee's dedicated form).
Florida Statute (state floor, not city-specific) checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0489/Sections/0489.103.html
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No PV-specific submittal checklist is published. The only documented submittal requirement found is the general contractor-document set required with EVERY application: current State license, Workers' Comp (or exemption certificate) naming the City as certificate holder, General Liability naming the City as certificate holder, and Business Tax Receipt.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the City's general contractor-documentation requirement, not a PV-specific submittal package; no drawings/engineering checklist for PV was found anywhere on the site (solar search = 0 results).
department page (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only, through the CitizenServe online portal -- Casselberry publishes no downloadable/printable building-permit application PDF at all; applications, fee payment, and inspection scheduling are stated to be entirely online.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the Building Division page's repeated statements ('Building permit applications are submitted through our online portal,' 'All permitting fees must be paid online') and the absence of any static application PDF anywhere on the site (confirmed via site search for 'building permit application', 'permit application').
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- no site-plan requirement stated for a PV retrofit specifically; no PV or general new-construction submittal handout (unlike Ocoee's SFR Requirements PDF) exists on this site to infer from
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page + site search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (0 of ~sitewide results) -- no one-line/three-line diagram requirement published, PV-specific or general
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q11 -- no string/conductor calculation requirement published
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page + fee schedule (both read in full, no numeric PE threshold stated); Sec. 1-4.3 of the City Code, cross-referenced by the fee schedule's own footnote 5, sits on library.municode.com, an Angular SPA returning no content to curl/WebFetch -- a rendered-browser attempt was disrupted twice by tab contention with other concurrent govbot runs before this section could be read
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Statewide floor: no PE stamp required for electrical work by a licensed contractor valued at $125,000 or less with aggregate service capacity of 600A (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h)). No Casselberry-specific threshold was found (the ULDR section that might set a stricter local rule is Municode-hosted and could not be read today -- see jurisdiction.why).
Why the confidence is not higherSourced directly to the Florida Statute; Casselberry's own Chapter 1 (Sec. 1-4.3, referenced by its own fee-schedule footnote 5) could not be reached due to the Municode Angular SPA plus tab contention with concurrent runs.
Florida Statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0471/Sections/0471.003.html
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
No PV-specific fee exists. A residential PV retrofit would be billed under the general schedule: 'Residential Addition, Alteration' building permit at $70 per 100 SF, PLUS a flat $200.00 'HVAC/Electric/Plumbing/Gas' permit fee for the electrical trade.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the City's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees, embedded on the Building Division page. No 'solar' or 'photovoltaic' line exists (site search for 'solar' = 0 results, positive control 'electrical' = 2 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, confirming the absence is real and search is functioning).
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Mixed: the base Building Permit fee is valuation/size-based ($70 per 100 SF of the addition/alteration), while the Electric/HVAC/Plumbing/Gas trade fee is a flat $200.00 regardless of job size or value.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect read of the City's own current fee schedule line items.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees (read in full) -- a $100.00 'Plan Review Fee' exists but is stated specifically under the Temporary Certificate of Occupancy line item, not as a general plan-check fee applicable to standard building/electrical permits; no general plan-review fee was found
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- no plan-review turnaround time (business days) is stated for any permit class
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and fee schedule (both read in full) -- no permit-validity/expiration period is stated; the ULDR chapter that might codify FBC-adopted-by-reference expiration rules sits on Municode and was not reachable today
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
CitizenServe Portal (installationID=221), reachable at www4/www5.citizenserve.com/Portal, linked directly from the Building Division page.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect link on the City's own Building Division page ('Access the online permitting system'), confirmed live (HTTP 200) at both www4 and www5 citizenserve.com hostnames.
department page + portal checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes -- the City states the online system offers checking permit-application status, scheduling inspections, searching past permits, and that all permitting fees must be paid online.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Building Division page's description of the online permitting system's capabilities.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Duke Energy Florida
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own FAQ ('How do I report a street light outage?') and its Street Light Program page both state plainly that 'Street lights within the City of Casselberry are owned and maintained by Duke Energy' -- direct first-party confirmation of Duke as the area electric utility. Duke's own residential net-metering/DG interconnection page could not be reached with interconnection-specific content (see q23); per this brief's own caution, PowerToChoose was NOT used as a source.
City department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/509/Street-Light-Program
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit -- Duke may not place customer-owned renewable generation in parallel operation until it has been inspected and approved by the local AHJ.
Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(a), the state floor binding Duke Energy Florida as an investor-owned utility: Standard Interconnection Agreements must require that 'customer-owned renewable generation must be inspected and approved by local code officials prior to its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility.' Duke's own generate-your-own/net-metering pages returned 200 (nav/marketing content only, no interconnection specifics) and several guessed direct PDF paths for Duke's net-metering guidelines returned 404 today -- recorded as dead ends per this brief's instruction, falling back to the state rule.
Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor; Duke's own DG/net-metering guideline document not reached) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- no HOA/architectural-approval precondition or disclaimer is stated anywhere in the available material (unlike Ocoee's explicit disclaimer)
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull sitemap.xml (284 URLs) grepped for 'histor' -- only '/33/History' (a general city-history page) exists; no historic-preservation board, district, or review page appears in the City's page inventory. The ULDR itself (where a historic-overlay chapter would legally live) was not directly checked -- Municode blocked, see q13
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and fee schedule (full text) -- no wind/windstorm certification distinct from standard Florida Product Approval is mentioned; ULDR/Chapter 1 technical provisions not reachable (Municode blocked)
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedULDR Chapter I, Articles I-II (the only portion successfully read via a rendered browser before the tab was closed by contention with another concurrent run) describes general conditional-use/variance/site-plan-approval procedures via the Planning & Zoning Commission, but no PV-specific Specific Use Permit requirement was found in the portion read; the zoning-district articles that would state this were not reached
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, fee schedule, sitemap -- no residential generation system-size cap document found; the ULDR district regulations that would set any such cap were not reachable today (Municode blocked, see q13)
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Not independently stated by the City -- Casselberry's own Building Division page names only the Florida Building Code ('Florida Building Code 2023' / '8th Edition') and the Florida Fire Prevention Code; it never names an NEC edition at all. The statewide floor is NEC 2020, effective 31 December 2023, under the FBC 8th Edition (2023) -- corroborated across 70+ prior Florida GovBot runs from floridabuilding.org, the Florida Building Commission's own site. 58% · department page (silent on NEC year) + statewide baseline
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- 'As of January 1, 2024, all plans must comply with the 2023 Florida Building Code 8th Edition.' 95% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023), effective December 31, 2023. 88% · state fire marshal's own site, linked directly from the City's page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? At least administratively, yes -- Sec. 1-4.3 of the City Code (referenced directly by the City's own current fee schedule footnote 5) governs local permit fees and private-provider fee adjustments. Whether there are local TECHNICAL amendments to the FBC/NEC/FFPC beyond fees could not be confirmed: Sec. 1-4.3 itself and the Unified Land Development Regulations sit on library.municode.com (an Angular SPA returning empty content to curl/WebFetch), and a rendered-browser attempt today was disrupted twice by tab contention with other concurrent govbot runs before Section 1-4.3 could be read. 50% · fee schedule cross-reference
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) for the structural/building scope, and the National Electrical Code (edition not independently named by the City; statewide floor is NEC 2020) for the electrical scope. 68% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Casselberry on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Casselberry on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Casselberry on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? State floor (Duke Energy Florida, per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a)): where a manual AC disconnect is required, it must be 'mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket.' Tier 1 (inverter-based, <=10kW -- the great majority of residential rooftop PV) is exempt from the disconnect-switch requirement unless the utility installs it at its own expense; Tier 2/3 systems require it. 68% · Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor)
20 questions answered against City of Casselberry’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Not independently stated by the City -- Casselberry's own Building Division page names only the Florida Building Code ('Florida Building Code 2023' / '8th Edition') and the Florida Fire Prevention Code; it never names an NEC edition at all. The statewide floor is NEC 2020, effective 31 December 2023, under the FBC 8th Edition (2023) -- corroborated across 70+ prior Florida GovBot runs from floridabuilding.org, the Florida Building Commission's own site.
Why the confidence is not higherCasselberry's silence on the NEC year is itself notable: unlike Winter Springs, Melbourne Village, and Cutler Bay (whose own current forms print '2023' for the NEC, conflating the FBC cycle label), Casselberry's page avoids the trap by never naming a year -- but that also means there is no city-specific primary-source confirmation of NEC 2020 to cite, only the statewide floor.
department page (silent on NEC year) + statewide baseline checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- 'As of January 1, 2024, all plans must comply with the 2023 Florida Building Code 8th Edition.'
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the City's own current Building Division page, which links directly to the Florida Building Code 2023 reference material.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition (2023), effective December 31, 2023.
Why the confidence is not higherCasselberry's own Building Division page links directly to the Florida Fire Prevention Code reference; the edition and effective date come from the State Fire Marshal's own current page (myfloridacfo.com), the same page the City links to. Note: the Fire Marshal's site shows FFPC 9th Edition rulemaking already underway as of mid-2026, with no adoption date yet -- the 8th Edition (2023) remains current today.
state fire marshal's own site, linked directly from the City's page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/sfm/bfp/florida-fire-prevention-code
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
At least administratively, yes -- Sec. 1-4.3 of the City Code (referenced directly by the City's own current fee schedule footnote 5) governs local permit fees and private-provider fee adjustments. Whether there are local TECHNICAL amendments to the FBC/NEC/FFPC beyond fees could not be confirmed: Sec. 1-4.3 itself and the Unified Land Development Regulations sit on library.municode.com (an Angular SPA returning empty content to curl/WebFetch), and a rendered-browser attempt today was disrupted twice by tab contention with other concurrent govbot runs before Section 1-4.3 could be read.
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule directly cites Sec. 1-4.3 for administrative/fee rules; the technical-amendment question remains genuinely unconfirmed rather than a proven absence.
fee schedule cross-reference checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) for the structural/building scope, and the National Electrical Code (edition not independently named by the City; statewide floor is NEC 2020) for the electrical scope.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Building Division page's explicit FBC 8th Ed. (2023) citation with the statewide NEC 2020 floor, since the City names no NEC year of its own.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee schedule (full text, itemized by amperage/trade only) -- no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule stated beyond the flat electrical fee; Municode ULDR/Chapter 1 not reachable
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page + sitemap search for 'solar'/'photovoltaic' (0 hits) -- no mounting-system or attachment-spacing document published
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and the Fire Alarm/Fire Sprinkler permit form pages (FormCenter, interactive-only, no static text extractable) and Seminole County Fire Prevention Division's Special-Events handout -- no ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule for rooftop PV found anywhere
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and Florida Fire Prevention Code reference page -- rapid shutdown (NEC 690.12) is not named anywhere in the City's material, and the City does not name a specific NEC edition against which to check (see q29)
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, sitemap.xml full grep for 'solar'/'photovoltaic', and site search ('solar' = 0 of sitewide results, positive control 'electrical' = 2, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0) -- no placard requirement of any kind is published by the City
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 -- no placard wording published anywhere on the City's site
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 -- no letter height/colour/material spec published
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 -- no facility/site-plan placard spec published by the City
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDuke Energy Florida's own renewable-energy/'generate your own' pages (duke-energy.com) returned HTTP 200 but only marketing/navigation content, with no placard or interconnection-manual text found via direct-text search of the fetched page; several guessed direct PDF paths for Duke's net-metering/interconnection guidelines all returned 404 today. FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 (state floor, fully read) contains no placard specification beyond the manual-disconnect-switch location
https://www.duke-energy.com/home/products/renewable-energy/generate-your-own
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38/q42 -- no City or reachable-utility document specifies label placement beyond the PSC rule's AC-disconnect placement covered under q48
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and fee schedule -- no equipment-approved-list requirement (PV-specific or general) was found
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page, Fire Alarm Permit Application and Fire Sprinkler/Underground Fire Line Permit Application (FormCenter interactive forms, no static battery/ESS language extractable), and Seminole County Fire Prevention Division's Special-Events handout -- no battery/ESS-specific permitting language found anywhere
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q45 -- no separate ESS permit or inspection type is named anywhere in the City's or County Fire Prevention Division's reachable material
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedULDR (Unified Land Development Regulations) -- where the definition of 'structure' and any ground-mount treatment would legally live -- sits on library.municode.com; a rendered-browser attempt today reached only Chapter I, Articles I-II (general administration) before the tab was closed twice by contention with other concurrent govbot runs sharing the same browser session, before the district/definitions articles could be reached
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
State floor (Duke Energy Florida, per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a)): where a manual AC disconnect is required, it must be 'mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket.' Tier 1 (inverter-based, <=10kW -- the great majority of residential rooftop PV) is exempt from the disconnect-switch requirement unless the utility installs it at its own expense; Tier 2/3 systems require it.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the current PSC rule text. Duke's own DG interconnection manual, which might publish a more specific placement spec, could not be reached with substantive content today (its renewable-energy landing pages returned 200 but only marketing/nav content; several guessed direct document paths returned 404) -- recorded as dead ends, falling back to the state rule as instructed. Casselberry publishes no AC-disconnect placement rule of its own.
Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Through the CitizenServe online portal (the same portal used to apply and pay), which the Building Division page states supports scheduling inspections online. Phone contact (407-262-7700) is also available. 78% · department page
- How much notice is required? Inspections are performed Monday through Thursday only. Monday inspections must be requested by 4:00 p.m. the preceding Thursday -- effectively several days' notice for a Monday slot; same-week notice appears sufficient for Tuesday-Thursday inspections (not explicitly stated). 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes, for building/electrical -- the City's own Building Division performs its own inspections; no delegation is mentioned anywhere in the building/electrical material. 78% · department page + utilization report
- If delegated, to whom? N/A for building/electrical (not delegated -- see q52). For any fire-code aspect of a job (e.g. a battery/ESS installation that triggers fire review), it is delegated to Seminole County Fire Department / Fire Prevention Division, not a City function. 78% · department page + county fire station listing
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Casselberry on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Casselberry on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? The installer/customer -- not the AHJ. Under FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(b), the customer must notify the investor-owned utility (Duke) at least 10 days before initially placing customer-owned renewable generation in service. 55% · Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $50.00 for the 1st re-inspection, $100.00 for each additional re-inspection beyond the first (same noncompliance). 88% · City fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Casselberry’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Through the CitizenServe online portal (the same portal used to apply and pay), which the Building Division page states supports scheduling inspections online. Phone contact (407-262-7700) is also available.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect statement on the Building Division page about the online system's capabilities, cross-referenced with the general phone contact number given for the Division.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Inspections are performed Monday through Thursday only. Monday inspections must be requested by 4:00 p.m. the preceding Thursday -- effectively several days' notice for a Monday slot; same-week notice appears sufficient for Tuesday-Thursday inspections (not explicitly stated).
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from the Building Division page: 'Inspections are performed Monday-Thursday. Monday inspections must be scheduled by 4:00 p.m. on Thursday.'
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- only states inspections occur Monday-Thursday with a Thursday 4pm cutoff for Monday slots; no AM/PM or same-day window option is described
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes, for building/electrical -- the City's own Building Division performs its own inspections; no delegation is mentioned anywhere in the building/electrical material.
Why the confidence is not higherNo third party or county inspector is named anywhere on the Building Division page; the FS 553.80(7)(b) utilization report additionally shows 0 inspections performed by a private provider, corroborating in-house inspection.
department page + utilization report checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A for building/electrical (not delegated -- see q52). For any fire-code aspect of a job (e.g. a battery/ESS installation that triggers fire review), it is delegated to Seminole County Fire Department / Fire Prevention Division, not a City function.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding/electrical: follows directly from q52. Fire: per jurisdiction.why, confirmed via the City's own site-search description and Seminole County's Fire Station Listing.
department page + county fire station listing checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- no inspection sequence (rough-in, mid-roof, final, etc.) is listed for any trade including electrical/PV
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q54 -- no rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement stated for PV or roofing generally
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- does not state that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings as a discrete checked item
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page and full site search for 'inspection checklist' / 'permit application' -- no published inspection checklist of any kind (PV or general) was found on the City's site; static forms are minimal since applications route entirely through the CitizenServe portal
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- no statement of what documents must be on site at time of inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$50.00 for the 1st re-inspection, $100.00 for each additional re-inspection beyond the first (same noncompliance).
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted verbatim from the City's own current Schedule of Building Permit Fees: 'Reinspection Fee $50.00 (1st) & $100.00 (each additional >1st).'
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.casselberry.org/668/Building-Division
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) and CitizenServe portal homepage (login-gated, no correction-workflow text visible without an account) -- no description of how corrections are issued or cleared was found
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Division page (full text read) -- does not state what document (CO, Final, Green Tag, etc.) is issued upon passing a final electrical/PV inspection
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The installer/customer -- not the AHJ. Under FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(b), the customer must notify the investor-owned utility (Duke) at least 10 days before initially placing customer-owned renewable generation in service.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the state rule's placement of this obligation on the customer, not the City; Casselberry's own material never mentions the City notifying the utility for PTO.
Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.