City of Dunnellon
City of Dunnellon
Marion County
City of Dunnellon is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 1,928 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Dunnellon against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Dunnellon is the authority having jurisdiction 96% confidence
- Holds
- Building, electrical, zoning/planning, and solar/PV permitting -- all self-performed by the City's own Community Development department (staffed under contract by SafeBuilt). Fire-related plan review/inspection on behalf of the Building Department is performed by Marion County Fire Rescue.
- Delegated to
- Marion County (fire function only, per FY2023 FS 553.80(7) report footnote); water/sewer utility service (NOT part of this AHJ survey's scope) is likewise no longer run by the city itself -- it is operated by the Florida Governmental Utility Authority (FGUA), a special district, per the city's own 'Water/Sewer Service with FGUA' page.
- Overridden by
- FS 163.04 (bars any HOA/deed-restriction/architectural-board refusal of solar; only siting within 45 degrees of due south may be dictated) applies statewide on top of any local historic/architectural review found at q24/q25.
- Why not higher
- Multiple current, authority-owned documents independently confirm self-performance: the city's own Solar/Photovoltaic permitting guide, its general permit application, its adopted fee resolution (RES2022-09), and its FS 553.80(7) Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report (FY2023: 730 applications, 728 issued, 3 dedicated FTE, only 8 of 728 inspections via a private provider). 'City of Dunnellon' is also present (as entry 2081) in the floridabuilding.org 392-entry statewide register of local governments that actually issue permits, with the register's stated positive controls (Polk City, Frostproof, Eagle Lake, Dade City) present and negative controls (Bowling Green, Wauchula, Zolfo Springs, St. Leo, San Antonio) absent, confirming the search itself works. The cheapest-first zoning-definitions grep for 'building permit' could NOT be run: library.municode.com returns a byte-identical 6,095-byte JS shell for every node id (confirmed on Dunnellon's own cited flood-code node URL), and dunnellon.elaws.us's search requires a paid subscription ('Your access is denied!'). A document that surfaced under Dunnellon's name purporting to be its electric utility chapter was checked by name-count and proved to be the City of OCALA's code (0 Dunnellon hits, 7 Ocala hits) -- discarded rather than used.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/952/638907801961670000
- Permit required
- Yes97%
- Permit cost
- 1.5% of construction cost (residential), $120 minimum; plus a separate plan-review fee of $75 for the first 2 hours and $35/additional hour;93%
- Portal
- BS&A Online (bsaonline.com)92%
- Electrical code
- 202390%
- Booking an inspection
- Email or phone82%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Where you file — BS&A Online (bsaonline.com) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes97% source
- What it costs
- 1.5% of construction cost (residential), $120 minimum; plus a separate plan-review fee of $75 for the first 2 hours and $35/additional hour;93% source
- Key document
- absence across authority's own published checklists + FS 163.04 cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 97% · authority's own department page + statewide register
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 95% · authority's own FS 553.80(7) report + permit application
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 97% · authority's own published guide
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 70% · authority's own permit application
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 55% · absence across authority's own published checklists + FS 163.04
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes 88% · authority's own published checklist
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Yes 85% · authority's own published checklist
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 80% · authority's own permit application
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? No 88% · authority's own department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 90% · authority's own published form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Site plan/plot plan (component locations, POI with electrical/water service); electrical diagram (array configuration, wiring methods, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signage, AC connection); manufacturer specification sheets for all components; wind-load calculations signed/sealed by a FL-registered design professional (all PV systems, ground-mount per ASCE 7 1609.1, roof-mount per ASCE 7 1510.7.1); construction drawings. Conditionally required: No-Rise Certificate (floodway work), Owner-Builder Disclosure (owner-builder), Proof of Ownership (mismatch with Marion Co. Property Appraiser), Solar Roof Truss Affidavit (pool heaters), Historic Preservation Board review (historic district/designated property), Notice of Commencement ($5,000+). 92% · authority's own published checklist
- How many copies, and in what format? No specific copy count published. Applications are accepted by email (planning@dunnellon.org), in person, or by carrier (USPS/UPS/FedEx); the application must be notarized. 72% · authority's own department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes -- a site plan/plot plan is required showing the location of solar system components and the location of other mechanical equipment on the structure, particularly the point of interconnection with electrical or water service and the location of that service equipment. 92% · authority's own published checklist
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 92% · authority's own published checklist
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Required for ALL photovoltaic systems (no dollar/size threshold stated) -- wind-load calculations must be 'signed and sealed documentation from a Florida state registered design professional' showing the wind uplift zone and pressure for the roof location (rooftop: ASCE 7 / FBC 1510.7.1) or ground-mount compliance (ASCE 7 / FBC 1609.1). 88% · authority's own published checklist
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? BS&A Online (bsaonline.com) 92% · authority's own department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Partial 65% · authority's own department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? 1.5% of construction cost (residential), $120 minimum; plus a separate plan-review fee of $75 for the first 2 hours and $35/additional hour; plus an Administration Fee ($0 under $120, $50 base for $120-200, $50 + 2% above $200). 93% · adopted fee resolution
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 93% · adopted fee resolution
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 90% · adopted fee resolution
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 6 months 78% · authority's own permit application
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Duke Energy Florida, LLC (dominant -- ~96.7% of the city's land area) and SECO Energy (minor -- ~3.2% of the city's land area, likely a fringe/annexation sliver) 80% · county GIS + city budget revenue lines (cross-checked)
28 questions answered against City of Dunnellon’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity of Dunnellon Community Development issues its own building/electrical/solar permits via a contracted Building Official/Plans Examiner (SafeBuilt). Confirmed by: its own Solar/PV guide, its own permit fee resolution, its own FS 553.80(7) utilization report (3 dedicated FTE, 730 applications/728 issued in FY2023), and presence on the floridabuilding.org 392-entry statewide register of governments that actually issue building permits (positive/negative controls both passed).
authority's own department page + statewide register checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/services/building-permits
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherThe city issues building AND electrical permits itself (single combined general permit application with trade checkboxes including 'Electric' and 'Solar'), plus its own zoning permits. It does NOT delegate building/electrical to Marion County. However, per the FY2023 FS 553.80(7) report footnote, some fire-related plan review/inspection expense on behalf of the Building Department is performed by the County Fire Department -- fire is the one function split out to the county.
authority's own FS 553.80(7) report + permit application checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/952/638907801961670000
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher'A Solar/Photovoltaic permit is required to add or modify any solar pool heater, solar hot water heater, rooftop HVAC collector, or any photovoltaic power system for any residential or commercial property.'
authority's own published guide checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThere is one 'Electrical Permit Application Checklist' that is in fact the SAME universal building-permit form used for all trade types (checkboxes for Electric, Solar, Mechanical, Roofing, etc., one Permit # field). This points to a single combined application/permit-number process rather than a separate stand-alone electrical permit track, but the fee schedule does not itemize a distinct 'electrical permit' fee line, so I cannot rule out that the office issues a second permit number for the electrical trade. Downgraded confidence for this ambiguity.
authority's own permit application checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherThe application requires State License # / County Cert # for the Electric subcontractor line, but the form also has an explicit 'Owner-Builder' checkbox and an Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement is a standard attachment -- so a licensed electrician/contractor pulls it in the ordinary case, but an owner-builder may self-pull per FS 489.103 exemption.
authority's own permit application checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
No
Why the confidence is not higher'Per Florida Statute Title XXXII, Chapter 489, the City of Dunnellon Building Department does not require contractor registration and related fees for State Certified Contractors only.' Registration IS required (as an annual Business Tax Receipt) for persons who are not state-certified contractors.
authority's own department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/departments/community-development/contractor-registration
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe universal permit application has an 'Owner-Builder' project-type checkbox, and the city publishes its own Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement (citing FS 489.103(7c) and 489.503) as a standard permit attachment, including for solar.
authority's own published form checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Site plan/plot plan (component locations, POI with electrical/water service); electrical diagram (array configuration, wiring methods, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signage, AC connection); manufacturer specification sheets for all components; wind-load calculations signed/sealed by a FL-registered design professional (all PV systems, ground-mount per ASCE 7 1609.1, roof-mount per ASCE 7 1510.7.1); construction drawings. Conditionally required: No-Rise Certificate (floodway work), Owner-Builder Disclosure (owner-builder), Proof of Ownership (mismatch with Marion Co. Property Appraiser), Solar Roof Truss Affidavit (pool heaters), Historic Preservation Board review (historic district/designated property), Notice of Commencement ($5,000+).
Why the confidence is not higherEnumerated item-by-item in the city's own 'Solar-Photovoltaic System and Heaters Application and Permitting Guide.'
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
No specific copy count published. Applications are accepted by email (planning@dunnellon.org), in person, or by carrier (USPS/UPS/FedEx); the application must be notarized.
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Permits page describes submission channels and the notarization requirement but does not state a required number of copies (unlike some FL authorities that specify e.g. 2 hard copies).
authority's own department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/services/building-permits
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes -- a site plan/plot plan is required showing the location of solar system components and the location of other mechanical equipment on the structure, particularly the point of interconnection with electrical or water service and the location of that service equipment.
Why the confidence is not higherItem 1 of the city's Solar/PV guide.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherItem 2 of the Solar/PV guide requires an 'Electrical Diagram' showing PV array configuration, wiring methods, overcurrent protection, inverter, disconnects, required signage, and AC connection to the building.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/Photovoltaic guide (item 2, electrical diagram scope) and the general electrical permit checklist; neither uses the phrase 'string calculations' or 'conductor sizing calculations' as a distinct required submittal separate from the electrical diagram.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Required for ALL photovoltaic systems (no dollar/size threshold stated) -- wind-load calculations must be 'signed and sealed documentation from a Florida state registered design professional' showing the wind uplift zone and pressure for the roof location (rooftop: ASCE 7 / FBC 1510.7.1) or ground-mount compliance (ASCE 7 / FBC 1609.1).
Why the confidence is not higherItem 4 of the Solar/PV guide -- stated as a required document for 'Photovoltaic Systems Only' with no exemption threshold given.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide and general electrical permit checklist; both require an 'Electrical Diagram' but neither states a separate electrical PE-stamp requirement or threshold distinct from the structural wind-load PE requirement.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
1.5% of construction cost (residential), $120 minimum; plus a separate plan-review fee of $75 for the first 2 hours and $35/additional hour; plus an Administration Fee ($0 under $120, $50 base for $120-200, $50 + 2% above $200).
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule 'A' Building Fee Schedule, Resolution #RES2022-09 (adopted 10 Oct 2022, still the current schedule -- the city's Fee Schedule page links this exact document and no newer resolution supersedes it).
adopted fee resolution checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/169/638325378477770000
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherStandard Construction: 'Residential Construction: 1.5% of construction costs.' There is no flat/per-kW/per-panel/tiered alternative offered for solar in this schedule.
adopted fee resolution checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/169/638325378477770000
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPlan Review: '$75.00 First two (2) hours, $35.00 each additional hour,' listed as its own line item (I.D) in Schedule A, separate from the 1.5%/1.75% construction permit fee.
adopted fee resolution checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/169/638325378477770000
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits page, Fee Schedule page, and Resolution RES2022-09 -- none publishes a stated plan-review turnaround time in business days.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
6 months
Why the confidence is not higher'Permits expire 6 months after issuance. You are responsible for the completion of the permit, inspections, and all re-inspection fees' -- printed on the general/electrical permit application signature block, which is the universal application used for all permit types including solar.
authority's own permit application checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
BS&A Online (bsaonline.com)
Why the confidence is not higher'City of Dunnellon is now accepting online permit applications through BS&A' with a direct link to bsaonline.com/?uid=3180, repeated on both the Building Permits and Zoning Permits pages.
authority's own department page checked 2026-09-13 https://bsaonline.com/?uid=3180
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Partial
Why the confidence is not higherThe city advertises 'online permit applications through BS&A,' but the Building Permits page simultaneously instructs applicants to 'Submit a completed, NOTARIZED application with required attachments to the City via email, in person or by carrier' -- a wet-notarized paper document is still built into the process, so full end-to-end online completion is not unambiguous. Downgraded confidence for this internal tension.
authority's own department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/services/building-permits
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Duke Energy Florida, LLC (dominant -- ~96.7% of the city's land area) and SECO Energy (minor -- ~3.2% of the city's land area, likely a fringe/annexation sliver)
Why the confidence is not higherMarion County's own authoritative 'Electric Service Areas' GIS layer (gis.marionfl.org) shows two polygons intersecting the TIGERweb Incorporated-Places (layer 25) boundary for 'Dunnellon city': Duke Energy and SECO Energy, measured to the PLACE POLYGON not the centroid (96.7176% / 3.1698% of city land area respectively, summing to ~99.9%). This is corroborated by a city-side instrument: the city's own FY2025-26 adopted budget carries revenue lines 'FRANCH. FEES: ELECTRICITY' ($260,800 budgeted) and 'UTIL. TAXES: ELECTRICITY' ($319,800 budgeted) -- a non-zero electric franchise/utility-tax revenue line proves the city itself is NOT the seller. I could not locate the underlying city franchise ordinance itself (Municode is unreachable -- confirmed by control: the byte-identical 6,095-byte JS shell returns for every node id; a document surfaced by search under Dunnellon's name and titled 'ARTICLE VI. ELECTRICITY' turned out on name-check to be the City of OCALA's code, 0 hits for 'Dunnellon' vs 7 for 'Ocala' -- discarded). Because the seller identity rests on GIS + budget rather than a named franchise ordinance, confidence is capped below the 'authority's own document plainly says it' band.
county GIS + city budget revenue lines (cross-checked) checked 2026-09-13 https://gis.marionfl.org/public/rest/services/General/Electric_Service_Areas/MapServer/0
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedDuke Energy Florida's Tier 1 Standard Interconnection Agreement (OCR'd first-hand from the PDF, no text layer, rendered at 300dpi) and the city's own permit documents -- neither states explicitly whether interconnection happens before, after, or parallel to city permitting, beyond P7's requirement that the customer furnish Duke with the local Building Code Official's inspection/certification (implying inspection precedes Duke's final sign-off, but the ORDER relative to permit ISSUANCE itself is not stated).
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo AHJ-administered architectural review board or HOA-approval precondition appears in the Solar/PV guide, the general checklist, or the zoning-permits list. Note: FS 163.04 separately bars any deed restriction, HOA, or COA from denying solar installation outright (only the location within 45 degrees of due south may be dictated) -- so even where a private HOA process exists, it cannot function as a refusal gate. Confidence lowered because this is drawn from absence in the checklists rather than an authority statement that no such review exists.
absence across authority's own published checklists + FS 163.04 checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes
Why the confidence is not higher'If the project is within the Historic District or is a Designated Historic Property, follow the regulations for Historic District properties within the City of Dunnellon city code' (Solar/PV guide item 10); the general Permit Attachment Requirements matrix separately notes 'Properties in the Historic District may require Historic Board approval if changing exterior appearance.' A Certificate of Appropriateness fee ($75) is listed in the fee schedule. Note FS 163.04 constrains what such review may actually refuse for a solar installation.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherWind-load documentation signed/sealed by a FL-registered design professional is required for ALL PV systems (ground-mount: ASCE 7 / FBC 1609.1; roof-mount: ASCE 7 / FBC 1510.7.1), functioning as the windstorm certification for this jurisdiction.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide, general Permit Attachment Requirements matrix, and Schedule A fee list -- none names a Special Use Permit or Council-approval trigger specific to residential solar. The Zoning Permits page lists a generic 'Zoning Verification Request' and 'Special Event Permit' but nothing solar-specific.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide, Schedule A fee list, and Zoning Permits page -- none states a system-size (kW or panel-count) cap on residential generation; Municode (the likely home of any such zoning cap) is unreachable (confirmed by control -- see q22 note).
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2023 90% · authority's own permit application
- Which building code edition is in force? 2023 Florida Building Code, 8th Edition -- BUT FLAGGED: the city's own Solar/PV guide cites an OLDER edition for the mechanical/solar chapter ('CHAPTER 14 SOLAR SYSTEMS - 2020 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE, MECHANICAL, 7TH EDITION'), while the general electrical permit application header prints '2023 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE 8TH ED.' These are two different code cycles (2020 FBC 7th ed. vs 2023 FBC 8th ed.) cited in two of the authority's own current documents. 75% · conflict between two of the authority's own current documents
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes (at minimum for the Solar/PV chapter reference) 55% · inference from conflicting authority documents
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Dunnellon on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Required under NEC 2023 Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown) 65% · inference from confirmed NEC edition (no local amendment found)
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Required signage is called for on the Electrical Diagram submittal ('Required signage' is listed explicitly as one of the diagram's required elements) but the specific placard(s) are not enumerated by the authority. 55% · authority's own published checklist (partial)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? No utility-specific placard requirement found in Duke Energy Florida's Standard Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement (the dominant seller for ~96.7% of the city, per q22) -- the agreement's disconnect clause (P15) describes switch placement and accessibility but does not mandate an engraved or lettered placard. 70% · utility's own tariff (OCR'd)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Where Duke Energy elects to install a utility-side manual disconnect switch (at Duke's own expense), it 'shall be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the Company's meter socket.' 75% · utility's own tariff (OCR'd)
- Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? No separate ESS permit/inspection code found 60% · authority's own private-provider inspection catalogue (proved by enumeration)
20 questions answered against City of Dunnellon’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023
Why the confidence is not higherThe city's general/electrical permit application header reads '2023 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE 8TH ED.'; the Solar/PV guide separately cites 'National Electric Code (NFPA 70) (2023).'
authority's own permit application checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2023 Florida Building Code, 8th Edition -- BUT FLAGGED: the city's own Solar/PV guide cites an OLDER edition for the mechanical/solar chapter ('CHAPTER 14 SOLAR SYSTEMS - 2020 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE, MECHANICAL, 7TH EDITION'), while the general electrical permit application header prints '2023 FLORIDA BUILDING CODE 8TH ED.' These are two different code cycles (2020 FBC 7th ed. vs 2023 FBC 8th ed.) cited in two of the authority's own current documents.
Why the confidence is not higherDirect conflict between two of the city's own currently-published documents; the general application (8th ed./2023) is the more likely to reflect the live cycle since Florida's statewide code cycle moved to the 8th Edition (2023) on 31 Dec 2023, but the Solar guide itself has not been updated to match. Confidence reflects this unresolved internal conflict rather than a clean single-document answer.
conflict between two of the authority's own current documents checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide, Fee Schedule, and general checklist -- none states the adopted Florida Fire Prevention Code edition. Per the FY2023 FS 553.80(7) report, fire-related plan review/inspection work 'on behalf of the City Building Department' is performed by the COUNTY Fire Department, so the adopting instrument may sit in Marion County's code rather than Dunnellon's -- not chased down within this run.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/952/638907801961670000
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes (at minimum for the Solar/PV chapter reference)
Why the confidence is not higherThe Solar/PV guide's own citation of the SUPERSEDED 2020 FBC 7th Edition Chapter 14 (see q30) while the general application already runs on the 2023 FBC 8th Edition is itself evidence of an un-reconciled local document rather than a straight statewide adoption with no local variance -- but I did not locate an actual local-amendment ordinance to cite directly (Municode unreachable).
inference from conflicting authority documents checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide and general electrical checklist give required SUBMITTALS (diagram, manufacturer specs) but do not state the installation standard the inspector judges against beyond 'applicable codes' generally.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo local service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule found in the authority's published solar or electrical materials.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide requires wind-load documentation (q13/q26) but does not specify a particular mounting system or attachment spacing of its own.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway requirement found in the authority's published solar materials; the Florida Fire Prevention Code chapter that would carry this (see q31) was not reachable this run.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Required under NEC 2023 Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city has confirmed NEC 2023 in force (q29). No LOCAL amendment to the rapid-shutdown requirement was found, so this answer is the statewide/national NEC 2023 default rather than a Dunnellon-specific rule -- flagged accordingly.
inference from confirmed NEC edition (no local amendment found) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/1104/638986321747530000
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Required signage is called for on the Electrical Diagram submittal ('Required signage' is listed explicitly as one of the diagram's required elements) but the specific placard(s) are not enumerated by the authority.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar/PV guide item 2 lists 'Required signage' as a diagram element without further specification; no separate placard spec sheet was found on the Building Permits or Fee Schedule pages.
authority's own published checklist (partial) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide and general checklist require 'signage' generically (see q38) but do not print the authority's own placard wording.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo letter-height, color, or material specification for placards found in the authority's published solar materials.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide requires a site plan/plot plan (q10) but does not separately describe a 705.10-style facility/site-plan placard requirement of its own.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No utility-specific placard requirement found in Duke Energy Florida's Standard Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement (the dominant seller for ~96.7% of the city, per q22) -- the agreement's disconnect clause (P15) describes switch placement and accessibility but does not mandate an engraved or lettered placard.
Why the confidence is not higherOCR'd first-hand from Duke Energy Florida's Standard Interconnection Agreement for Tier 1 Customer-Owned Renewable Generation Systems (Third Revised Sheet No. 7.310-7.313, effective 29 Apr 2013; PDF has no text layer, rendered at 300dpi and OCR'd this run). SECO Energy's own Tier-1-equivalent tariff (the minor ~3.2%-of-area seller) was not retrieved this run.
utility's own tariff (OCR'd) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.duke-energy.com/-/media/pdfs/for-your-business/generate-your-own-renewable/florida/tier-1-contract.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNeither the city's Solar/PV guide nor Duke's Tier 1 agreement states a specific label PLACEMENT location beyond 'adjacent to the Company's meter socket' for the disconnect switch itself (q48).
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo equipment-approved-list requirement found beyond the generic UL 1741 / IEEE 1547 listing language in Duke's interconnection agreement (which is a utility, not AHJ, requirement).
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo battery/ESS-specific provision found in the Solar/PV guide, general checklist, or fee schedule; the private-provider inspection catalogue's numbered list (Building/Electrical/Mechanical/Pool categories) has no distinct battery/ESS line either.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
No separate ESS permit/inspection code found
Why the confidence is not higherThe Private Provider's numbered inspection catalogue (Building, Electrical, Sign, Dock, Mechanical/Plumbing, Pool/Spa categories) contains no dedicated battery/ESS inspection code, and no ESS permit type appears on the general permit application's checkbox list.
authority's own private-provider inspection catalogue (proved by enumeration) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar/PV guide addresses ground-mount wind-load compliance (ASCE 7 1609.1) but does not state whether a ground-mounted array is classified as an 'accessory structure' for setback/zoning purposes.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Where Duke Energy elects to install a utility-side manual disconnect switch (at Duke's own expense), it 'shall be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the Company's meter socket.'
Why the confidence is not higherOCR'd first-hand, Duke Energy Florida Tier 1 Standard Interconnection Agreement, paragraph 15. This describes the UTILITY's optional disconnect, not necessarily the AHJ's required AC-disconnect placement for code compliance, which was not separately stated by the city.
utility's own tariff (OCR'd) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.duke-energy.com/-/media/pdfs/for-your-business/generate-your-own-renewable/florida/tier-1-contract.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Email or phone 82% · authority's own department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes / Delegated (split) 80% · authority's own FS 553.80(7) report
- If delegated, to whom? Marion County Fire Rescue (fire-related plan review/inspection performed on behalf of the City Building Department only) 70% · authority's own FS 553.80(7) report
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? For a rooftop PV/solar job the private-provider inspection catalogue's applicable codes are '130-Engineering/Strap/Tie down,' '199-Final Building,' and '305-Final Electrical' -- there is NO dedicated solar/PV inspection code in the authority's own numbered catalogue. 75% · authority's own inspection catalogue (proved by enumeration)
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes (for private-provider work) 70% · authority's own published checklist
- What must be on site at inspection? A recorded Notice of Commencement (jobs $5,000+, or $14,999+ for HVAC repair/replacement) must be posted on the job site before the first inspection; for private-provider jobs, a posted Permit Card with each completed inspection record (pass/fail) is also required on site. 82% · authority's own published guide
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Customer 78% · utility's own tariff (OCR'd)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $50 for the first re-inspection, $75 for the second, $150 for each subsequent re-inspection on the same Corrective Action Notice. 92% · adopted fee resolution
- How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections are issued via a 'Corrective Action Notice'; re-inspection is required once the corrective work is complete, and is fee-escalating for repeat failures on the same notice (see q59). 80% · adopted fee resolution
14 questions answered against City of Dunnellon’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Email or phone
Why the confidence is not higher'To schedule all inspections, please email the Building Department / Inspections or call the office at (352) 465-8500 x1010.'
authority's own department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/services/building-permits
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Permits page gives the scheduling contact (q49) but does not state a required advance-notice period in business days.
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo AM/PM or same-day inspection window information published.
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes / Delegated (split)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city performs its own building/electrical final inspections via its contracted Building Official (SafeBuilt) -- confirmed by the FY2023 utilization report (728 of 730 applications resulted in inspections conducted, only 8 by a private provider). Fire-related plan review/inspection work is delegated to the County Fire Department per the same report's footnote.
authority's own FS 553.80(7) report checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/952/638907801961670000
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Marion County Fire Rescue (fire-related plan review/inspection performed on behalf of the City Building Department only)
Why the confidence is not higherFY2023 FS 553.80(7) report, footnote 1: 'Includes expenses performed on behalf of the City Building Department by County Fire Department.' Scope of exactly which fire inspections this covers was not further detailed in the report.
authority's own FS 553.80(7) report checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/952/638907801961670000
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
For a rooftop PV/solar job the private-provider inspection catalogue's applicable codes are '130-Engineering/Strap/Tie down,' '199-Final Building,' and '305-Final Electrical' -- there is NO dedicated solar/PV inspection code in the authority's own numbered catalogue.
Why the confidence is not higherEnumerated by reviewing the full numbered Building/Electrical inspection catalogue attached to the city's own 'Notice to Building Official of Use of Private Provider' package -- proved by enumeration (no 'Solar' or 'PV' code exists among the ~40 codes listed across Building, Electrical, Sign, Dock, Mechanical/Plumbing, and Pool/Spa categories).
authority's own inspection catalogue (proved by enumeration) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe inspection catalogue lists many discrete codes (e.g., 101-Foundation, 105-Rough Framing) but does not label any as specifically a 'rough-in' or 'mid-roof' inspection required for solar.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo statement found on whether the inspector specifically verifies labels/listings at final electrical inspection.
https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes (for private-provider work)
Why the confidence is not higherThe city publishes a formal numbered 'Private Provider - List of Building Inspections' checklist (4 pages, by trade) as part of its Notice to Building Official of Use of Private Provider package. Whether an equivalent published checklist exists for CITY-conducted inspections specifically was not found.
authority's own published checklist checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/745/638638910527570000
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
A recorded Notice of Commencement (jobs $5,000+, or $14,999+ for HVAC repair/replacement) must be posted on the job site before the first inspection; for private-provider jobs, a posted Permit Card with each completed inspection record (pass/fail) is also required on site.
Why the confidence is not higherSolar/PV guide (NOC threshold) and the Private Provider Inspection Report instructions ('Post each completed inspection record on the Permit Card posted on site').
authority's own published guide checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/741/638633823421170000
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$50 for the first re-inspection, $75 for the second, $150 for each subsequent re-inspection on the same Corrective Action Notice.
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule A, Section II.A of Resolution #RES2022-09.
adopted fee resolution checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/169/638325378477770000
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Corrections are issued via a 'Corrective Action Notice'; re-inspection is required once the corrective work is complete, and is fee-escalating for repeat failures on the same notice (see q59).
Why the confidence is not higherSchedule A, Section II.A, Resolution #RES2022-09.
adopted fee resolution checked 2026-09-13 https://www.dunnellon.org/home/showpublisheddocument/169/638325378477770000
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo published statement of exactly what document/tag is issued on a passing final solar inspection (CO vs. Final vs. Green Tag vs. Letter) was found in the authority's materials reviewed this run.
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/Customer
Why the confidence is not higherDuke Energy Florida's Tier 1 Standard Interconnection Agreement, paragraph 7: 'The Customer agrees to provide Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation. The certification shall reflect that the local code official has inspected and certified that the installation was permitted, has been approved, and has met all electrical and mechanical qualifications.' PTO therefore proceeds from the customer/installer furnishing proof of the AHJ's sign-off to Duke, not from the AHJ notifying Duke directly. This covers the dominant seller (~96.7% of city land area, q22); SECO Energy's equivalent process was not checked.
utility's own tariff (OCR'd) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.duke-energy.com/-/media/pdfs/for-your-business/generate-your-own-renewable/florida/tier-1-contract.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 70%
No utility-specific placard requirement found in Duke Energy Florida's Standard Tier 1 Interconnection Agreement (the dominant seller for ~96.7% of the city, per q22) -- the agreement's disconnect clause (P15) describes switch placement and accessibility but does not mandate an engraved or lettered placard.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.