City of Fernandina Beach
City of Fernandina Beach
Nassau County
City of Fernandina Beach is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 13,052 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Fernandina Beach against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Fernandina Beach is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical (in-house Building Department, 8 dedicated FTE per its own FS 553.80(7)(b) utilization report — no sign of PDCS/SAFEbuilt-style private outsourcing); Fire (in-house Fernandina Beach Fire Department with its own Fire Chief and Fire Marshal, not delegated to Nassau County); and, distinctly, Historic District review for any property inside the Downtown or Old Town Historic District or the CRA Overlay, run by the City's own Historic District Council (HDC) under LDC Chapter 8. A live public permit record recovered from the City's own portal (Application ELER-2024-0439, 'Connection to Solar PV 7.9KW', 2751 W 5th St, Finaled 12/18/2024) confirms the City itself issues and finals residential solar electrical permits.
- Overridden by
- FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 governs Florida Public Utilities Company (FPU), the investor-owned electric utility whose own current filed Electric Tariff (created 2 Apr 2026) states its Northeast Florida Division 'serves Amelia Island, located in Nassau County' — this is the city's territory. Under the rule and FPU's own tariff, customer-owned renewable generation must be inspected and approved by the City before parallel operation with FPU, so utility interconnection follows rather than overrides City permitting. Separately, a portion of land carrying a Fernandina Beach mailing address is unincorporated Nassau County or Amelia Island proper (not city limits) — the Key West run in this survey found the same mailing-address trap — so address-level confirmation of city limits (via the Nassau County Property Appraiser's GIS parcel layer, which the City's own HDC binder page also directs users to) is needed before assuming City jurisdiction from a mailing address alone.
- Why not higher
- Building/Electrical/Fire in-house status and the HDC's separate statutory role are drawn directly from the City's own current department pages, its FS 553.80(7)(b) Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report (OCR'd from a scanned original, FY2025 figures), LDC Chapter 8 (hosted on the City's own site, not Municode), and one live, real permit record pulled from the City's own CityView portal. Held at 90 rather than higher because the City-limits-vs-unincorporated-county boundary at any given 'Fernandina Beach' address was not independently verified against a parcel map in this run.
- Permit required
- Yes.92%
- Permit cost
- Standalone electrical (trade) permit: $7.50 per $1,000 of cost of construction up to $5,000,000 (higher tiers above that), minimum $45.00,80%
- Portal
- CityView Portal (cityview.fbfl.city/Portal), live since approximately 31 Aug 2026, replacing the City's prior Tyler EnerGov-based 'Citizens Self-Serve' (CSS) system…88%
- Electrical code
- Not stated by the City in any document found (the Building page's material discusses FBC 8th Ed. 2023 but never names the NEC edition).55%
- Booking an inspection
- By phone or email to the Building Department (904-310-3135 / buildinginspections@fbfl.city), or via the online portal.78%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes. Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate electrical permit (not folded into an all-inclusive building permit unless part of new construction). Q4 Where you file — CityView Portal (cityview.fbfl.city/Portal), live since approximately 31 Aug 2026, replacing the City's prior Tyler EnerGov-based 'Citizens Self-Serve' (CSS) system… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes.92% source
- What it costs
- Standalone electrical (trade) permit: $7.50 per $1,000 of cost of construction up to $5,000,000 (higher tiers above that), minimum $45.00,80% source
- Key document
- City fee schedule + live portal record cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — the City of Fernandina Beach Building Department is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting inside city limits, including rooftop PV, and its Historic District Council is a second, mandatory gate for any property inside the Downtown or Old Town Historic District or CRA Overlay. 90% · department page + live portal record
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? The City itself permits and inspects Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, and Fire (its own Fire Department, own Fire Marshal). It does not delegate any of these to Nassau County. It additionally requires — separately from the building/electrical permit — a Certificate of Approval (COA) from its own Historic District Council for any exterior work, including solar, on a property inside a locally designated historic district or the CRA Overlay (LDC Sec. 8.03.03.A: 'A Certificate of Approval is required before a permit is issued...'). 92% · codified land development code
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes. 92% · department page quoting FBC + live portal record
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate electrical permit (not folded into an all-inclusive building permit unless part of new construction). 85% · City fee schedule + live portal record
- Is there a historic-district review? YES — and this is the headline finding for this authority. The City's Historic District Council (HDC) requires a Certificate of Approval (COA) BEFORE a building/electrical permit may be issued for any property inside the Downtown Historic District, Old Town Historic District, or the CRA Overlay (LDC Sec. 8.03.03.A, codified: 'A Certificate of Approval is required before a permit is issued for work on a historic landmark or site, any property in a historic district (either contributing or noncontributing), or any property in the CRA Overlay.' — required 'even when a building permit is not required for the proposed work'). Unlike Key West and St. Augustine, Fernandina Beach's codified Certificate of Approval Matrix (Table 8.03.03(B)) NAMES 'SOLAR COLLECTORS' explicitly as a line item, and routes it to full HDC (board) review — NOT staff-level approval — for BOTH Contributing and Non-Contributing properties alike (the only two X's on that row both fall in the HDC columns, matching the treatment given to 'WIND GENERATORS' and unlike most other line items, which give Non-Contributing properties a lighter staff-only track). The Certificate of Approval Matrix is itself codified text; the *substantive* visibility/placement criteria for solar are NOT in the code — they live in a separate 'Historic Downtown Design Guidelines' document (readopted 21 Jul 2026, PDF metadata confirms creation 20 Feb 2026 / last modified 29 Jul 2026 — genuinely current, unlike St. Augustine's 2012-dated guideline) and a separate, older 'Old Town Preservation and Development Guidelines' (PDF metadata: created 10 Jul 2013, last modified 20 Nov 2013 — 13 years old, not refreshed alongside the Downtown document). Both guideline documents instruct that solar panels/shingles are acceptable only if 'not readily visible from the street,' concealed 'behind roof parapet walls' (commercial) or otherwise 'out of public view' (residential), with a stated preference for rear elevations. LDC Sec. 8.01.01.02.C.1 states the Old Town guideline is 'hereby adopted by reference and incorporated herein' — the Downtown guideline is required for 'compliance' but is not given that identical 'incorporated herein' phrasing. HDC board review occurs only monthly (3rd Thursday) with a 45-day-in-advance application deadline, meaning a solar job in either historic district can face a materially longer timeline than the standard building-department review. Search controls in the same run: 'window' returned 202 hits and 'zzqqx' returned 0 in the current Downtown Guidelines PDF, and 'electrical' returned 29 hits with 'zzqqx' returning 0 in the full combined LDC text, confirming both extractions and searches were sound. 93% · codified land development code + design guidelines PDFs
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Not found as a City-specific requirement; the standard statewide Florida Product Approval / wind-borne-debris process applies (Nassau/Amelia Island sits in the ASCE 7 Wind-Borne Debris Region, NOT the Miami-Dade/Broward High-Velocity Hurricane Zone). 50% · inference from state floor
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No — no Specific Use Permit or City Commission approval was found required for residential rooftop solar. The LDC's only conditional-use-permit process found applies to wireless telecommunications macrocells, not solar. Under the codified Certificate of Approval Matrix, 'NEW CONSTRUCTION' (not solar specifically) routes to full 'BOARD' review, and 'PUBLIC (GOVERNMENT AGENCY) PROJECTS' route to HDC — neither is a City Commission/Council-level approval. 68% · codified land development code, full-text search with controls
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? A licensed electrical contractor (state-licensed), or an owner acting under Florida's owner-builder statute for work on their own homestead — not solar-specific. 55% · inference from general permitting framework
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Not confirmed for solar specifically; Florida's general owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103/489.503) is a statewide route the City's own site does not disclaim, but no Fernandina Beach document was found stating whether an owner-builder may self-pull the ELECTRICAL sub-permit for a PV system. 45% · state statute inference, not city-confirmed
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic/online only. 85% · department page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? No City-specific structural PE-stamp threshold was found; the applicable floor is the statewide FS 471.003(2)(h) exemption ($125,000 job value / 600A aggregate service capacity, residential). 55% · Florida Statute (state floor)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Same statewide floor as Q13 — FS 471.003(2)(h): no PE stamp required for a licensed EC's work at or below $125,000/600A on a residential system. 55% · Florida Statute (state floor)
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? CityView Portal (cityview.fbfl.city/Portal), live since approximately 31 Aug 2026, replacing the City's prior Tyler EnerGov-based 'Citizens Self-Serve' (CSS) system (egselfservice.fbfl.us/energovprod). 88% · live permit portal + department bulletins
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes — apply, estimate fees, upload submittals, search applications, and (per the portal's own description) schedule inspections and check status entirely online. 82% · live portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Standalone electrical (trade) permit: $7.50 per $1,000 of cost of construction up to $5,000,000 (higher tiers above that), minimum $45.00, plus a $35.00 non-refundable residential Admin Processing Fee, plus state DBPR (1.5%, $2 min) and DCA (1%, $2 min) surcharges. 80% · City fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation-based (cost of construction). 82% · City fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No separate plan-check fee for standard City review (plan review is bundled into the permit fee); using a private provider (FS 553.791) for plan review instead costs 50% of the Building Permit Fee, and private-provider inspections-only costs $35.00 per passed required inspection. 75% · City fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Public Utilities Company (FPU), Northeast Florida Division — investor-owned, PSC-regulated. 92% · utility's own filed tariff
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After City permit/inspection, before FPU parallel operation. The customer/installer must also notify FPU at least 10 days before initially placing the system in parallel operation. 85% · utility's own filed tariff
28 questions answered against City of Fernandina Beach’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — the City of Fernandina Beach Building Department is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting inside city limits, including rooftop PV, and its Historic District Council is a second, mandatory gate for any property inside the Downtown or Old Town Historic District or CRA Overlay.
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed from the City's own Building Department page, its FS 553.80(7)(b) utilization report showing 8 dedicated in-house personnel, and a real, dated, Finaled solar electrical permit (ELER-2024-0439) recovered from the City's own CityView portal.
department page + live portal record checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/76/Building
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
The City itself permits and inspects Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing, and Fire (its own Fire Department, own Fire Marshal). It does not delegate any of these to Nassau County. It additionally requires — separately from the building/electrical permit — a Certificate of Approval (COA) from its own Historic District Council for any exterior work, including solar, on a property inside a locally designated historic district or the CRA Overlay (LDC Sec. 8.03.03.A: 'A Certificate of Approval is required before a permit is issued...').
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding/Electrical/Fire in-house status is stated on the City's own department pages and its utilization report; the historic pre-permit gate is codified verbatim in LDC Chapter 8, hosted directly on the City's own DocumentCenter (not Municode).
codified land development code checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/16371
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's Permits page quotes FBC Chapter 1 Sec. 105.1 verbatim requiring a permit before any person may 'erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace any electrical...system'; a live, real solar electrical permit (ELER-2024-0439) exists in the City's own portal confirming this is enforced in practice.
department page quoting FBC + live portal record checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/79/Permits
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate electrical permit (not folded into an all-inclusive building permit unless part of new construction).
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own fee schedule states the 'All-inclusive Building Permit' bundles structure/roofing/plumbing/mechanical/electrical only for NEW CONSTRUCTION, ADDITIONS, REMODELS, etc.; a standalone retrofit (like adding PV to an existing home) is billed and issued as a 'Stand Alone Trade Permit.' The one real solar record found (ELER-2024-0439) is issued purely as Application Type 'Electrical', confirming PV-only jobs get a standalone electrical permit.
City fee schedule + live portal record checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
A licensed electrical contractor (state-licensed), or an owner acting under Florida's owner-builder statute for work on their own homestead — not solar-specific.
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar-specific statement found; inferred from Florida's general electrical contractor licensing framework and the fact the City requires contractor registration (below) before any permit is pulled. Not independently confirmed from a Fernandina Beach solar document because none exists.
inference from general permitting framework checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/79/Permits
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermits page, Building fee schedule, general contractor-registration language not found solar-specific; the City's registration requirement was documented at Ocoee-style authorities but no equivalent statement located for Fernandina Beach in the pages and forms reached (Permits, Building Applications page, DocumentCenter Index/22)
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Not confirmed for solar specifically; Florida's general owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103/489.503) is a statewide route the City's own site does not disclaim, but no Fernandina Beach document was found stating whether an owner-builder may self-pull the ELECTRICAL sub-permit for a PV system.
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document was found either allowing or barring homeowner self-permitting of solar specifically; this is the state floor only.
state statute inference, not city-confirmed checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/79/Permits
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department Forms index (DocumentCenter/Index/22), Building page 'Helpful Links' list (Foundation Staking Plan Memorandum, Commercial Application Requirements memo, DBPR Energy Conservation notice) — none is a PV-specific submittal checklist; only the separate Historic District Council COA checklist (2020) was found, which is not electrical/PV-specific either
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic/online only.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Building Department page states plainly: 'All permitting is done online at this time,' via the CityView Portal (migrated live around 31 Aug 2026).
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/76/Building
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding page Helpful Links, Fee Schedule — no PV-specific site-plan content requirement found; general new-construction site plan requirements exist but were not confirmed to apply to a PV-only retrofit
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department Forms index and fee schedule — no explicit one-line/three-line diagram requirement statement found for Fernandina Beach (the general FBC/NEC submittal norm was not independently confirmed from a City document)
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q11 — no City document states a string/conductor calculation requirement
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
No City-specific structural PE-stamp threshold was found; the applicable floor is the statewide FS 471.003(2)(h) exemption ($125,000 job value / 600A aggregate service capacity, residential).
Why the confidence is not higherSTATE FLOOR, not confirmed from a Fernandina Beach document — no City fee schedule, permit application, or LDC chapter reached in this run states a structural PE-stamp threshold of its own.
Florida Statute (state floor) checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0471/Sections/0471.003.html
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Same statewide floor as Q13 — FS 471.003(2)(h): no PE stamp required for a licensed EC's work at or below $125,000/600A on a residential system.
Why the confidence is not higherSTATE FLOOR only; no City-specific electrical PE-stamp document found.
Florida Statute (state floor) checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0471/Sections/0471.003.html
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Standalone electrical (trade) permit: $7.50 per $1,000 of cost of construction up to $5,000,000 (higher tiers above that), minimum $45.00, plus a $35.00 non-refundable residential Admin Processing Fee, plus state DBPR (1.5%, $2 min) and DCA (1%, $2 min) surcharges.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the City's own current Building Department Schedule of Fees (Revised 10/01/2024, Ord. 2024-17). No PV-specific fee line exists; positive control 'electrical' returned 4 hits and fabricated control 'zzqqx' returned 0 in the same document, confirming the search was reliable and the absence of a dedicated solar line is real.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation-based (cost of construction).
Why the confidence is not higherThe Stand Alone Trade Permit fee table in the City's own fee schedule is a straight $/$1,000-of-valuation tiered formula; there is no per-kW or flat solar fee.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No separate plan-check fee for standard City review (plan review is bundled into the permit fee); using a private provider (FS 553.791) for plan review instead costs 50% of the Building Permit Fee, and private-provider inspections-only costs $35.00 per passed required inspection.
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule's 'Private Provider Refund' section implies standard City plan review has no separate line-item fee, and states the private-provider alternative pricing explicitly. Private Provider use must be pre-approved by the Building Official at time of permit application.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermits page, Building page, Fee Schedule — none states a plan-review turnaround time for residential or PV permits
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee schedule and Permits page do not state a general permit-validity/expiration rule; the one real solar permit record (ELER-2024-0439) showed an Issued Date of 11/07/2024 and Expiration Date of 06/16/2025 (~7 months) but this could reflect FBC's standard administrative expiration rule rather than a City-specific policy, which was not separately located
https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/Permit/Status?permitId=2388
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
CityView Portal (cityview.fbfl.city/Portal), live since approximately 31 Aug 2026, replacing the City's prior Tyler EnerGov-based 'Citizens Self-Serve' (CSS) system (egselfservice.fbfl.us/energovprod).
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Permits page describes the CityView migration in detail with an anticipated go-live of Monday, 31 Aug 2026, and the live CityView Portal itself confirms 'City of Fernandina Beach Web Portal / Powered by CityView.' A Building Department bulletin dated 25 Nov 2025 (before the migration) still directs applicants to the legacy Tyler EnerGov CSS portal, confirming the prior system and dating the transition.
live permit portal + department bulletins checked 2026-09-12 https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes — apply, estimate fees, upload submittals, search applications, and (per the portal's own description) schedule inspections and check status entirely online.
Why the confidence is not higherCityView Portal home page lists 'Apply for a Building Permit / Estimate Fees / Application Search / Upload Submittals' under Building Department, and the City's Permits page states all permitting is now done online.
live portal checked 2026-09-12 https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Florida Public Utilities Company (FPU), Northeast Florida Division — investor-owned, PSC-regulated.
Why the confidence is not higherFPU's own current filed Electric Tariff (Original Volume No. II, created 2 Apr 2026) states verbatim: 'The Northeast Florida Division serves Amelia Island, located in Nassau County.' Fernandina Beach's own 'Utilities' department (water/wastewater/stormwater only, per its own page) is NOT the electric utility — a distinct trap this survey has hit before at Riviera Beach.
utility's own filed tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After City permit/inspection, before FPU parallel operation. The customer/installer must also notify FPU at least 10 days before initially placing the system in parallel operation.
Why the confidence is not higherFPU's own Tier 1 and Tier 2 Standard Interconnection Agreement text (within its filed tariff) states the customer 'shall notify the Company at least 10 days prior to initially placing Customer equipment...in parallel operation,' consistent with the PSC Rule 25-6.065 state floor requiring City inspection/approval before parallel operation.
utility's own filed tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedGeneral Building Permit Application language, Fee Schedule — no HOA/architectural-approval precondition or disclaimer statement was located for Fernandina Beach specifically (unlike some other Florida authorities' boilerplate)
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
YES — and this is the headline finding for this authority. The City's Historic District Council (HDC) requires a Certificate of Approval (COA) BEFORE a building/electrical permit may be issued for any property inside the Downtown Historic District, Old Town Historic District, or the CRA Overlay (LDC Sec. 8.03.03.A, codified: 'A Certificate of Approval is required before a permit is issued for work on a historic landmark or site, any property in a historic district (either contributing or noncontributing), or any property in the CRA Overlay.' — required 'even when a building permit is not required for the proposed work'). Unlike Key West and St. Augustine, Fernandina Beach's codified Certificate of Approval Matrix (Table 8.03.03(B)) NAMES 'SOLAR COLLECTORS' explicitly as a line item, and routes it to full HDC (board) review — NOT staff-level approval — for BOTH Contributing and Non-Contributing properties alike (the only two X's on that row both fall in the HDC columns, matching the treatment given to 'WIND GENERATORS' and unlike most other line items, which give Non-Contributing properties a lighter staff-only track). The Certificate of Approval Matrix is itself codified text; the *substantive* visibility/placement criteria for solar are NOT in the code — they live in a separate 'Historic Downtown Design Guidelines' document (readopted 21 Jul 2026, PDF metadata confirms creation 20 Feb 2026 / last modified 29 Jul 2026 — genuinely current, unlike St. Augustine's 2012-dated guideline) and a separate, older 'Old Town Preservation and Development Guidelines' (PDF metadata: created 10 Jul 2013, last modified 20 Nov 2013 — 13 years old, not refreshed alongside the Downtown document). Both guideline documents instruct that solar panels/shingles are acceptable only if 'not readily visible from the street,' concealed 'behind roof parapet walls' (commercial) or otherwise 'out of public view' (residential), with a stated preference for rear elevations. LDC Sec. 8.01.01.02.C.1 states the Old Town guideline is 'hereby adopted by reference and incorporated herein' — the Downtown guideline is required for 'compliance' but is not given that identical 'incorporated herein' phrasing. HDC board review occurs only monthly (3rd Thursday) with a 45-day-in-advance application deadline, meaning a solar job in either historic district can face a materially longer timeline than the standard building-department review. Search controls in the same run: 'window' returned 202 hits and 'zzqqx' returned 0 in the current Downtown Guidelines PDF, and 'electrical' returned 29 hits with 'zzqqx' returning 0 in the full combined LDC text, confirming both extractions and searches were sound.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly sourced from the City's own current codified LDC Chapter 8 (hosted on the City's own DocumentCenter, not Municode) and the City's own current and prior Design Guidelines PDFs, with PDF-internal metadata read via pdfinfo for each. Held at 93 rather than higher only because the exact Certificate of Approval application fee amount was not independently recovered (the HDC's own application forms are dynamic FormCenter webforms, not static fee-bearing PDFs, in this run).
codified land development code + design guidelines PDFs checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/16371
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Not found as a City-specific requirement; the standard statewide Florida Product Approval / wind-borne-debris process applies (Nassau/Amelia Island sits in the ASCE 7 Wind-Borne Debris Region, NOT the Miami-Dade/Broward High-Velocity Hurricane Zone).
Why the confidence is not higherNo Fernandina Beach document was found requiring a wind/windstorm certification beyond the standard statewide Florida Product Approval framework; this is a floor-level inference, not a City confirmation.
inference from state floor checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No — no Specific Use Permit or City Commission approval was found required for residential rooftop solar. The LDC's only conditional-use-permit process found applies to wireless telecommunications macrocells, not solar. Under the codified Certificate of Approval Matrix, 'NEW CONSTRUCTION' (not solar specifically) routes to full 'BOARD' review, and 'PUBLIC (GOVERNMENT AGENCY) PROJECTS' route to HDC — neither is a City Commission/Council-level approval.
Why the confidence is not higherFull-text search of the combined LDC (16,303 lines) for 'conditional use permit' and 'special use permit' surfaced only the wireless-macrocell process; no solar-specific SUP or Council-approval requirement exists in the code.
codified land development code, full-text search with controls checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/23313/LDC-COMBINED_MAY-2022
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCombined LDC (16,303 lines, full-text search for 'kilowatt', 'kw', 'generation capacity' — zero relevant hits) and FPU's tariff (which sets interconnection TIERS at 10kW/100kW but not a hard zoning cap on residential generation size)
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/23313/LDC-COMBINED_MAY-2022
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Not stated by the City in any document found (the Building page's material discusses FBC 8th Ed. 2023 but never names the NEC edition). STATE FLOOR: NEC 2020, effective 31 Dec 2023 (per this survey's cross-authority Florida baseline, corroborated from floridabuilding.org). 55% · state floor (no local confirmation found)
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023). 92% · department page + City analysis document
- Which fire code edition is in force? Not stated by name/edition on the Fire Department's own pages; STATE FLOOR is the Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Edition (2023). 50% · state floor (no local confirmation found)
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes — LDC Chapter 8's Certificate of Approval Matrix and pre-permit COA gate is itself a local amendment layered on top of the FBC permitting process, and the City's floodplain ordinance (LDC/Code Ch. 22, amended by Ordinance 2019-26) imposes freeboard (+2' for Flood Design Class 1-2, +3' for FDC 3-4) and a +0.4' rounding correction to FIRM BFEs that exceed the bare federal/state floor. 78% · Building Official bulletin citing Code of Ordinances Ch. 22
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), plus the state-floor NEC (2020, not locally confirmed), plus — where applicable — the Historic District Council's Certificate of Approval Matrix and Design Guidelines, plus the local floodplain freeboard amendments in Code Ch. 22. 78% · department page + codified LDC + Building Official bulletin
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Fernandina Beach on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Not mentioned in any City or utility document reached in this run. NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown does not appear anywhere in the 16,303-line combined LDC text nor in FPU's 100-page current filed Electric Tariff. 60% · controlled absence across codified LDC and utility tariff
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? No AHJ-specified placard requirement was found in any City of Fernandina Beach document. See Q42 for the utility side. 55% · controlled absence in City material
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? No placard/plaque specification was found in FPU's own current filed Electric Tariff (100 pages, string-searched for 'placard' and 'plaque' — zero hits). 55% · utility's own filed tariff (partial coverage — service-standards manual not reached)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Tier 1 (≤10 kW, the great majority of residential rooftop PV): FPU EXEMPTS the system from a mandatory manual disconnect switch (though FPU 'recommends' installing one at customer expense). Tier 2 (>10-100 kW): a manual, visible, load-break-type disconnect switch IS required, 'mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket,' readily accessible to and lockable by FPU with a single Company padlock. 90% · utility's own filed tariff
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Not solar-specific, but the LDC's general definition of 'Structure' ('anything constructed, installed or portable, the use of which requires a location on a parcel of land') is broad enough to sweep in ground-mounted PV racking. 62% · codified definitions, general inference
20 questions answered against City of Fernandina Beach’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Not stated by the City in any document found (the Building page's material discusses FBC 8th Ed. 2023 but never names the NEC edition). STATE FLOOR: NEC 2020, effective 31 Dec 2023 (per this survey's cross-authority Florida baseline, corroborated from floridabuilding.org).
Why the confidence is not higherSTATE FLOOR, not independently reproved from a Fernandina Beach document in this run. No City permit form, bulletin, or LDC chapter naming an NEC year was found.
state floor (no local confirmation found) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/76/Building
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023).
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly and repeatedly on the City's own current material: its Building-in-the-Floodplain page ('The 8th Edition of the Florida Building Code (FBC) is the current edition in effect for all building code regulations'), and its own 'Analysis of Changes for the 8th Edition 2023 Florida Building Code' document (PDF created 22 Jan 2024).
department page + City analysis document checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/988/Building-in-the-Floodplain
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Not stated by name/edition on the Fire Department's own pages; STATE FLOOR is the Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Edition (2023).
Why the confidence is not higherThe Fire Department and Fire Marshal pages describe services and fees but do not cite a specific Fire Prevention Code edition; this is the state floor from the cross-authority Florida baseline, not a City confirmation.
state floor (no local confirmation found) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/83/Fire
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes — LDC Chapter 8's Certificate of Approval Matrix and pre-permit COA gate is itself a local amendment layered on top of the FBC permitting process, and the City's floodplain ordinance (LDC/Code Ch. 22, amended by Ordinance 2019-26) imposes freeboard (+2' for Flood Design Class 1-2, +3' for FDC 3-4) and a +0.4' rounding correction to FIRM BFEs that exceed the bare federal/state floor.
Why the confidence is not higherBoth amendments are documented directly: LDC Chapter 8 (hosted on the City's own site) for the historic-district gate, and Building Official Bulletin 2021.03 (dated 17 Mar 2021, still the current guidance referenced from the City's Quick Links) for the flood freeboard/rounding amendment.
Building Official bulletin citing Code of Ordinances Ch. 22 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/22406/BFE-Clarification
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), plus the state-floor NEC (2020, not locally confirmed), plus — where applicable — the Historic District Council's Certificate of Approval Matrix and Design Guidelines, plus the local floodplain freeboard amendments in Code Ch. 22.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the confirmed FBC 8th Ed. citation with the codified historic-review layer and floodplain amendments documented above.
department page + codified LDC + Building Official bulletin checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/988/Building-in-the-Floodplain
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCombined LDC and Fee Schedule — no service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule specific to Fernandina Beach was found
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCombined LDC, Building Department Forms index — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing document exists
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Department and Fire Marshal pages (full text read), Fire fee schedule — no ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule for rooftop PV found; Fire Prevention Code chapter (if separately codified outside the LDC) was not reached in this run
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Not mentioned in any City or utility document reached in this run. NEC 690.12 rapid shutdown does not appear anywhere in the 16,303-line combined LDC text nor in FPU's 100-page current filed Electric Tariff.
Why the confidence is not higherA genuine, controlled absence: the combined LDC's only 'solar' hit is the Table 8.03.03(B) matrix row (no technical content), and a direct string search of FPU's tariff for '690.12' and 'rapid shutdown' returned zero hits. This mirrors the Leesburg/Miami Lakes pattern in this survey where the governing utility paper predates NEC 690.12 (FPU's tariff cites only UL 1741 (2005) and IEEE-1547 as its technical standards). This is a documented gap, not proof the requirement doesn't apply — rapid shutdown is a national NEC requirement enforced at inspection regardless of local silence.
controlled absence across codified LDC and utility tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No AHJ-specified placard requirement was found in any City of Fernandina Beach document. See Q42 for the utility side.
Why the confidence is not higherNo fee schedule, LDC chapter, or Building Department bulletin reached in this run specifies any solar/PV placard.
controlled absence in City material checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence basis as Q38 — no City document specifies placard wording
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38/39 — no letter height/colour/material spec found in City material
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38-40 — no facility/site-plan placard spec published by the City
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No placard/plaque specification was found in FPU's own current filed Electric Tariff (100 pages, string-searched for 'placard' and 'plaque' — zero hits).
Why the confidence is not higherPer this survey's own FPL lesson (the FPL battery placard lives in a separate Electric Service Standards document, not the tariff), FPU may likewise publish a placard spec in a separate service-standards manual not reached in this run — so this is recorded as an absence FROM THE TARIFF specifically, not proof no placard requirement exists anywhere at FPU.
utility's own filed tariff (partial coverage — service-standards manual not reached) checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame absence basis as Q38/42 — neither the City nor FPU's tariff specifies label placement beyond the AC-disconnect placement covered under Q48; FPU's separate service-standards manual (if one exists, per the FPL precedent in this survey) was not reached
https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCombined LDC and Fee Schedule — no equipment-approved-list requirement specific to solar found
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/23313/LDC-COMBINED_MAY-2022
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Department/Fire Marshal pages, combined LDC (searched 'battery', 'energy storage', 'ESS' — no solar/PV battery-specific hits) — no battery/ESS permitting condition found
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q45 — no separate ESS permit or inspection type named anywhere reached
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Not solar-specific, but the LDC's general definition of 'Structure' ('anything constructed, installed or portable, the use of which requires a location on a parcel of land') is broad enough to sweep in ground-mounted PV racking.
Why the confidence is not higherInference from the LDC's general Chapter 1 definitions section; no solar-specific ground-mount provision exists anywhere in the 16,303-line combined code (confirmed absent with passing controls).
codified definitions, general inference checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/16364
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Tier 1 (≤10 kW, the great majority of residential rooftop PV): FPU EXEMPTS the system from a mandatory manual disconnect switch (though FPU 'recommends' installing one at customer expense). Tier 2 (>10-100 kW): a manual, visible, load-break-type disconnect switch IS required, 'mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket,' readily accessible to and lockable by FPU with a single Company padlock.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from FPU's own current filed Electric Tariff (Original Sheet Nos. 8.011 and equivalent Tier 2 sheet) — a fresh, dated, first-party source, not the generic PSC rule.
utility's own filed tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? By phone or email to the Building Department (904-310-3135 / buildinginspections@fbfl.city), or via the online portal. 78% · Building Department bulletin (portal name now superseded by CityView)
- How much notice is required? Requests must be received by 3:30 PM for next-business-day inspection; requests received after 3:30 PM are scheduled two business days out. 75% · Building Department bulletin
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes. 85% · statutory utilization report (OCR'd scan) + live portal record
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; the City's own Building Department performs the inspection in-house. 82% · statutory utilization report
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Fernandina Beach on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Fernandina Beach on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? The permit is marked 'Finaled' and the application status is set to 'Closed' — Fernandina Beach's own terminology, as shown on a real permit record. No separate Certificate of Occupancy is issued for a PV-only electrical retrofit (a CO applies to new structures/occupancy changes, not this scope of work). 78% · live portal record
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? The customer (in practice, via the installer) — FPU's own tariff places the ≥10-day pre-parallel-operation notice obligation on the Customer, not on the City. 68% · utility's own filed tariff
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $50.00 per failed inspection, applying to all permit types. 85% · City fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Fernandina Beach’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
By phone or email to the Building Department (904-310-3135 / buildinginspections@fbfl.city), or via the online portal.
Why the confidence is not higherStated in the Building Department's own bulletin (dated 25 Nov 2025) describing the (then-current) Citizens Self-Serve portal booking process; the underlying portal has since migrated to CityView, but the phone/email booking channel and Building Department contact remain live and current on the City's own site.
Building Department bulletin (portal name now superseded by CityView) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/25585/Inspections-Memo-112525
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Requests must be received by 3:30 PM for next-business-day inspection; requests received after 3:30 PM are scheduled two business days out.
Why the confidence is not higherStated verbatim in the City's own Building Department Bulletin dated 25 Nov 2025. This predates the CityView migration but describes City practice/policy that is unlikely to have changed with the portal swap alone.
Building Department bulletin checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/25585/Inspections-Memo-112525
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department bulletin (25 Nov 2025) and Building Inspections contact info — no AM/PM or same-day inspection window option described
https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/25585/Inspections-Memo-112525
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own FS 553.80(7)(b) Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report (OCR'd from the original scan) shows 8 personnel to enforce code/issue permits/conduct inspections and real, substantial in-house personnel expenditure (~$883,912 FY2025) — the mirror image of the $0-personnel, all-contractual signature that identifies a PDCS/SAFEbuilt-style outsourced department elsewhere in this survey. A real Finaled solar electrical permit (ELER-2024-0439) exists in the City's own portal.
statutory utilization report (OCR'd scan) + live portal record checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/25127/Building-Utilization-Report-
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; the City's own Building Department performs the inspection in-house.
Why the confidence is not higherFollows directly from Q52's utilization-report evidence.
statutory utilization report checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/25127/Building-Utilization-Report-
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department pages, Fee Schedule, and the one real permit record found (ELER-2024-0439, which showed a single Electrical permit type with no separately itemized rough-in/final stages in the public-facing view) — no published inspection-sequence list was located
https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/Permit/Status?permitId=2388
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 — the one real record's public view did not show a rough-in/mid-roof step, but this may reflect what the portal displays publicly rather than the true required sequence
https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/Permit/Status?permitId=2388
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department pages and bulletins — none states that the inspector verifies labels/listings as a discrete checked item
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department Forms index (DocumentCenter/Index/22) — no published PV or general inspection checklist was found (the only checklist found in this run was the Historic District Council's COA checklist, which is not an inspection checklist)
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department pages and bulletins — no stated list of documents required on-site at inspection for a PV job
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$50.00 per failed inspection, applying to all permit types.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the City's own current Building Department Schedule of Fees under 'Inspections: Re-Inspection Fees apply to all permit types: Each Failed Inspection — $50.00.'
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fbfl.us/DocumentCenter/View/24774/Fee-Schedule-2024-2025
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department bulletins and Permits page — no explicit description of how plan-review corrections are issued/cleared was found beyond the general CityView 'Upload Submittals' capability
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The permit is marked 'Finaled' and the application status is set to 'Closed' — Fernandina Beach's own terminology, as shown on a real permit record. No separate Certificate of Occupancy is issued for a PV-only electrical retrofit (a CO applies to new structures/occupancy changes, not this scope of work).
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly observed on the City's own CityView Portal record for ELER-2024-0439 ('Application Status: Closed', 'Permit Status: Finaled', 'Date Finaled: 12/18/2024').
live portal record checked 2026-09-12 https://cityview.fbfl.city/Portal/Permit/Status?permitId=2388
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The customer (in practice, via the installer) — FPU's own tariff places the ≥10-day pre-parallel-operation notice obligation on the Customer, not on the City.
Why the confidence is not higherFPU's Standard Interconnection Agreement text (Tier 1 and Tier 2) states the Customer 'shall notify the Company at least 10 days prior to initially placing Customer equipment...in parallel operation.' No Fernandina Beach document states the City performs this notification on the customer's behalf.
utility's own filed tariff checked 2026-09-12 https://fpuc.com/wp-content/uploads/FPU-Electric-Tariff_ADA-2.pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 55%
No placard/plaque specification was found in FPU's own current filed Electric Tariff (100 pages, string-searched for 'placard' and 'plaque' — zero hits).
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.