City of Hialeah
City of Hialeah
Miami-Dade County
City of Hialeah is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 223,109 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Hialeah against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Hialeah is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
- Holds
- Building AND Electrical, plus Fire Prevention Code enforcement through its own Fire Department. Hialeah is one of Miami-Dade County's ~34 independently-permitting municipalities (named as such in the County's own 'County Municipal Approval' materials) — it is NOT one of the three cities (Bal Harbour, Miami, Miami Lakes) that route applications through the County's e-Municipal electronic system. Hialeah runs its own Building Department (own contractor registration, own fee sheets per trade including a dedicated EL03P 'Photovoltaic' electrical fee code, own permit application, own Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service portal at hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net) and its own Planning & Zoning Division. Miami-Dade County retains only the pieces it holds countywide regardless of municipality: the 30-year/40-year building recertification standard (Miami-Dade Code §8-11(f), cited on Hialeah's own recertification page) and the HVHZ Product Control Notice-of-Acceptance (NOA) registry used as the wind-product-approval path statewide.
- Overridden by
- F.S. §163.04 (Florida Solar Rights Act) preempts any HOA/deed-restriction requirement that would prohibit or gate solar installation. Hialeah's own Sec. 14-2 folds specific Miami-Dade County Code building sections into its 'latest edition of the FBC' adoption, and its Roofing Permit Fee-Sheet and Package are explicitly headed/embedded with 'High Velocity Hurricane Zone' forms and a Product Control NOA submittal requirement — Hialeah sits inside the two-county HVHZ (Miami-Dade + Broward only, per FBC), so PV racking needs HVHZ-track product approval, not the lower statewide approval. Florida Power & Light (FPL), named directly in Hialeah's own Code of Ordinances (Sec. 98-2205, FPL easements), controls interconnection and Permission-to-Operate outside city control. HB 803 (Ch. 2026-63, in force 1 July 2026) sets statewide permit-review-clock and permit-exemption rules (FS §553.79/553.792) that apply on top of whatever the City publishes locally — Hialeah's own current Permit Exemption page already cites HB 803 by name.
- Why not higher
- Corroborated from three independent angles: (1) Hialeah's own current (March 2026) trade fee sheets and contractor-registration/permit-application forms, all issued and administered by the City; (2) Miami-Dade County's own published materials naming Hialeah among its ~34 self-permitting municipalities and confirming it is not one of the three e-Municipal cities; (3) Hialeah's Code of Ordinances (via the Municode API, current through Ordinance 2025-057 / Supplement 44) showing the City adopts the FBC/fire code by its own ordinance rather than deferring review to the County. Docked from 95 because I could not reach a Hialeah- or FPL-specific document addressing utility interconnection sequencing today (fpl.com paths 404'd), so the utility side of the jurisdiction picture rests on the City's own ordinance naming FPL plus general industry knowledge rather than a document I read this session.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $455 flat, OR 3% of job cost88%
- Portal
- Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service (hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net) — Hialeah's own instance, separate from Miami-Dade County's e-Municipal portal85%
- Electrical code
- 202080%
- Booking an inspection
- Phone / Email82%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Where you file — Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service (hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net) — Hialeah's own instance, separate from Miami-Dade County's e-Municipal portal Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $455 flat, OR 3% of job cost88% source
- Key document
- fee schedule (absence of reference) cited by 7 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 90% · fee schedule / department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 70% · permit application
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No 75% · state statute
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes 80% · city ordinance
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Yes — via HVHZ Product Control approval, not a separate 'certification' 70% · fee schedule / permit package
- Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? No 55% · fee schedule (absence of reference)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either 60% · permit application
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 90% · department form
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 60% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
Nothing recorded for City of Hialeah on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service (hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net) — Hialeah's own instance, separate from Miami-Dade County's e-Municipal portal 85% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 55% · portal
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $455 flat, OR 3% of job cost 88% · fee schedule
- How is the fee calculated? Tiered 75% · fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? No 60% · fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Power & Light (FPL) 80% · city ordinance
28 questions answered against City of Hialeah’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah has its own Building Department, its own contractor-registration process, its own permit application and fee schedules, and a dedicated electrical fee code (EL03P 'Photovoltaic (Solar panel systems)') — it is the AHJ for residential PV within city limits, not Miami-Dade County.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah issues and inspects its own Building AND Electrical permits (own fee sheets for each trade, own EL03P photovoltaic fee code) and enforces its own adopted Fire Prevention Code (Sec. 38-31) through its own Fire Department. Zoning/Planning review is Hialeah's own Planning & Zoning Division, not delegated to the County. Only county-retained items are the countywide 30-year/40-year recertification standard (Miami-Dade Code §8-11(f), cited on Hialeah's own recertification page) and HVHZ Product Control Notice-of-Acceptance (NOA) numbering, which is a county-run wind-product-approval registry used statewide as the HVHZ approval path, not a city-vs-county permitting split.
fee schedule / department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe current (Revised March 20, 2026) Electrical Permit Fee-Sheet carries its own line item, EL03P, 'Photovoltaic (Solar panel systems) or 3% of job cost … $455.00 each' — a permit is required and priced specifically for solar.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah's permit application form requires the applicant to 'Choose only One' permit type (Building / Electrical / Mechanical / Plumbing-Gas / etc.). A rooftop PV retrofit is priced and issued under the Electrical fee code EL03P as its own Electrical permit; a Building permit is only pulled in addition if the racking triggers structural (roof truss) work, which is not documented as automatic for a routine residential PV job.
permit application checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3124/Permit-Application-PDF
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either
Why the confidence is not higherFlorida's owner-builder statute (F.S. 489.103(7)) and Hialeah's own permit application include an 'Owner-Builder' checkbox with no trade carve-out, so a resident owner-occupant may pull the electrical permit themselves; otherwise it must be a licensed electrical contractor registered with the City. No Hialeah-specific bar on owner-builder electrical work (of the kind Miami imposes) was found.
permit application checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3124/Permit-Application-PDF
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe Building Department's 'Required Items for Contractor Registration' form requires state- or county-licensed contractors to register with the City (state license or Miami-Dade Certificate of Competency, liability/workers' comp insurance naming the City, Business Tax Receipt, and — for county-licensed contractors — a City of Hialeah Municipal Contractor's License) before they may pull permits.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3128/Contractor-Registration-PDF
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Permit Application has an 'Owner-Builder' option and the Permit Requirements page confirms owner-builder eligibility generally (owner must reside at the property, valid FL driver's license matching the address). This is the general Florida owner-builder allowance (F.S. 489.103(7)); it is not solar-specific and Hialeah does not publish a solar exception to it.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/773/Permit-Requirements
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHialeah Building Department 'Forms & Documents' page (full DocumentCenter listing checked) and 'Apply For' page — no solar/PV-specific submittal checklist is published; only a generic Permit Application form and generic Permit Requirements page exist.
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame DocumentCenter listing as Q8 — no solar-specific checklist exists to specify copies/format.
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedPermit Requirements page and Forms & Documents listing — no PV-specific site-plan requirement published (state zoning-hearing survey requirements in Ch. 98 apply only to rezoning/variance hearings, not routine PV electrical permits).
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedNo solar-specific submittal checklist published (see Q8); FBC/NEC plan-review practice would ordinarily call for one, but no Hialeah document states it.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q11 — no published solar-specific submittal checklist exists to confirm this requirement in Hialeah's own materials.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee schedule, permit application (Architect/Engineer block has no valuation threshold printed) and Code of Ordinances Ch. 14 — no PE/structural-stamp valuation threshold specific to Hialeah was found (contrast Miami's published $50,000 threshold).
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3124/Permit-Application-PDF
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q13 — no electrical PE-stamp threshold published by Hialeah.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3124/Permit-Application-PDF
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$455 flat, OR 3% of job cost
Why the confidence is not higherCurrent 'ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEE-SHEET' (Revised March 20, 2026), fee code EL03P: 'Photovoltaic (Solar panel systems) or 3% of job cost. $455.00 each.' Minimum fee for all electrical permits is stated as $300.00 elsewhere on the same sheet.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Tiered
Why the confidence is not higherEL03P is priced as '$455.00 … or 3% of job cost' — a flat fee with a percentage-of-valuation alternative; the sheet's wording does not make explicit whether it is applicant's choice or the greater-of, which is why this isn't scored higher.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
No
Why the confidence is not higherThe current Electrical Fee-Sheet has no separate 'plan review' line item for EL03P or any other electrical code; the only related charges in either the 2016 or 2026 fee schedules are 'Plans Revision' ($130, old schedule) and 'Shop Drawing Review' ($130), both of which apply only if revisions are requested after initial submittal, not as an upfront plan-check fee.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page, Permit Requirements page, and Apply-For page — no stated plan-review turnaround (business days) is published for any trade, including electrical/PV.
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHialeah's own 'Permit Extension Application' cites FBC §105.3.2 and §105.4.1.1 for extension procedure (max 90 days per extension, $75 fee) but does not itself restate the base permit-validity period, and no Hialeah ordinance amending the FBC default was found — recording the commonly-cited '180 days' here would be repeating a figure without a Hialeah-specific primary source, per the brief's caution.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/15319/Permit-Extension-Formpdf
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Tyler EnerGov Citizen Self Service (hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net) — Hialeah's own instance, separate from Miami-Dade County's e-Municipal portal
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Online Services' page links directly to https://hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice, including an 'applicationAssistant' (moduleId=3) route consistent with online permit application intake.
portal landing page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/1159/Online-Services
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe EnerGov Citizen Self Service instance exposes an 'applicationAssistant' module (moduleId=3, 'All' categories) typical of Tyler EnerGov's online permit-application intake; I was not able to complete a full end-to-end submission this session (the Angular app renders most content client-side), so this is inferred from the module's presence rather than confirmed by walking the flow.
portal checked 2026-09-11 https://hialeahfl-energovpub.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Florida Power & Light (FPL)
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah's own Code of Ordinances names 'Florida Power and Light Company (FPL)' directly (Sec. 98-2205, regulating parking in FPL easements within the city) — FPL is also the sole investor-owned utility serving essentially all of Miami-Dade County; there is no municipal electric utility in Hialeah.
city ordinance checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH98ZO_ARTVISUDIRE_DIV10PA_S98-2205PIPAARFPEA
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCould not reach FPL's own interconnection/net-metering process pages this session (fpl.com paths for service-territory and DG technical requirements returned 404 to both curl and WebFetch) — do not have a source I actually read to confirm sequencing, so this is left unanswered rather than repeating the general industry pattern without a citation.
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherFlorida Statute §163.04 expressly prohibits any ordinance, deed restriction, covenant, or HOA-type agreement from prohibiting solar-collector installation (an association may only control siting orientation, not require approval as a gate to permitting); Hialeah's permitting materials do not require HOA sign-off as part of the submittal.
state statute checked 2026-09-11 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0100-0199/0163/Sections/0163.04.html
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances Ch. 46 (Historical Preservation) establishes a Historic Preservation Board and a 'Certificate of Appropriateness' review process (Sec. 46-67) applicable citywide to any individually-designated historic property or district (Sec. 46-4: 'applicable to all property located in the city' when so designated). This is a general-preservation trigger, not solar-specific, so it would only apply if the subject property carries a historic designation.
city ordinance checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH46HIPR
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Yes — via HVHZ Product Control approval, not a separate 'certification'
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah's own current Roofing Permit Fee-Sheet is headed 'ROOFING PERMIT FEE-SHEET — High Velocity Hurricane Zone' and states 'A Product Control "Notice of Acceptance" and method of installation must be provided at time of permit application and posted at job site for inspection.' The Roofing Permit Package also embeds the state 'Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) High-Velocity Hurricane Zone Uniform Permit Application Form.' No PV-specific wind-cert document was found, so this is scored on the general HVHZ/NOA framework the City visibly enforces.
fee schedule / permit package checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21528/Roofing-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
No
Why the confidence is not higherNo evidence that a routine residential rooftop PV installation triggers Special Use Permit or City Council review; Ch. 98's Special/Conditional Use Permit divisions (Div. 5–6) are not referenced anywhere in the City's building/electrical/roofing fee sheets or forms in connection with solar.
fee schedule (absence of reference) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull heading-level review of Code of Ordinances Ch. 98 (Zoning, 814 nodes) and the Land Development Code (78 nodes) via the Municode API — no solar-specific section and no system-size cap on residential generation was found in either.
https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH98ZO
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 80% · department form
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 90% · city ordinance + department forms
- Which fire code edition is in force? South Florida Fire Prevention Code (Miami-Dade/Broward-amended Florida Fire Prevention Code), edition not stated in the ordinance 60% · city ordinance
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes 85% · city ordinance
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) + NEC 2020 (via FBC Ch. 27) + the South Florida Fire Prevention Code, all as adopted by reference in Code of Ordinances §§14-2 and 38-31, plus Miami-Dade HVHZ Product Control (NOA) approval for wind-rated products 80% · city ordinance
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Hialeah on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, per NEC 2020 (Art. 690.12) 70% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
Nothing recorded for City of Hialeah on this step yet — 6 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes 78% · permit package
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Yes 68% · city ordinance definitions
- Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? No PV-specific mounting/spacing spec published; general HVHZ rule applies — a Product Control Notice of Acceptance and its stated method of installation must be submitted at permit application and posted at the job site 60% · fee schedule
20 questions answered against City of Hialeah’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah's own 'Special Inspector' notice form and the Roofing Permit Package both identify the currently-referenced code as 'Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023)'; the FBC 8th Edition (2023) incorporates the NEC 2020 by reference in FBC Chapter 27. No Hialeah document names the NEC edition directly, so this is one inferential step from the City's own dated forms.
department form checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/18849/Special-Inspector-Form-FBC-8TH-Edition-2023pdf
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances Sec. 14-2 adopts 'the latest edition of the Florida Building Code' by floating reference; Hialeah's own dated 2026 forms (Special Inspector notice; Roofing Permit Package's embedded HVHZ Uniform Permit Application Form) both name 'Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023)' as the code currently in effect.
city ordinance + department forms checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH14BUBURE_S14-2ADBURECO
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
South Florida Fire Prevention Code (Miami-Dade/Broward-amended Florida Fire Prevention Code), edition not stated in the ordinance
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances Sec. 38-31 adopts by reference, 'as amended from time to time,' the South Florida Fire Prevention Code, F.S. ch. 633, and NFPA standards 'adopted by reference by Miami-Dade County.' The floating adoption clause means the specific numbered edition is not stated in the ordinance text itself.
city ordinance checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH38FIPRPR_ARTIIFICO_S38-31AD
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSec. 14-2 folds in specific Miami-Dade County Code building sections (§§8-5, 8-13, 8-31(A) 604.4, and Ch. 8 Arts. II & IV) alongside 'the latest edition' of the FBC; Sec. 14-8 adds extra foundation/soil standards for a defined 'annexed area' due to blasting from adjacent limerock mining; Sec. 38-31 folds county fire-code amendments into the base state/NFPA codes. All three are local amendments layered onto the state-model codes.
city ordinance checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH14BUBURE_S14-2ADBURECO
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) + NEC 2020 (via FBC Ch. 27) + the South Florida Fire Prevention Code, all as adopted by reference in Code of Ordinances §§14-2 and 38-31, plus Miami-Dade HVHZ Product Control (NOA) approval for wind-rated products
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Sec. 14-2 FBC adoption, the FBC 8th Ed. (2023) confirmed on the City's own current forms, and the HVHZ/NOA requirement documented on the current Roofing Fee-Sheet.
city ordinance checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH14BUBURE_S14-2ADBURECO
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCode of Ordinances Ch. 14 (Buildings) full section list and current Electrical Fee-Sheet — no local rule on service-upgrade sizing or busbar/backfeed limits (e.g., 120%-rule language) specific to Hialeah was found.
https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH14BUBURE
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
No PV-specific mounting/spacing spec published; general HVHZ rule applies — a Product Control Notice of Acceptance and its stated method of installation must be submitted at permit application and posted at the job site
Why the confidence is not higherThis is stated for roofing systems generally on the current Roofing Permit Fee-Sheet ('A Product Control "Notice of Acceptance" and method of installation must be provided at time of permit application and posted at job site for inspection on all roofing system[s]'). No PV-racking-specific attachment-spacing table was found published by the City, so this is extended from the roofing rule by inference, not a PV-specific citation.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21528/Roofing-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCode of Ordinances Ch. 38 (Fire Prevention and Protection), Art. II (Fire Code) — no ridge-setback/pathway table specific to rooftop PV was found; the fire code is adopted by floating reference to the South Florida Fire Prevention Code/NFPA, whose current pathway requirements were not independently retrieved this session.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, per NEC 2020 (Art. 690.12)
Why the confidence is not higherRapid shutdown is a mandatory NEC 690.12 requirement under the 2017/2020/2023 NEC cycles; since Hialeah's currently-referenced code cycle is the FBC 8th Ed. (2023), which incorporates NEC 2020, rapid shutdown per NEC 2020 690.12 applies. No Hialeah-specific rapid-shutdown bulletin was found, so this is an inference from the adopted NEC edition rather than a city document naming it.
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH14BUBURE_S14-2ADBURECO
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Documents listing, Building Department page, Ch. 14 and Ch. 38 of the Code of Ordinances — no Hialeah-specific placard/labeling schedule for PV service equipment is published; only the generically-adopted NEC 690/705 labeling requirements would apply as enforced through plan review.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no city-authored placard wording was found.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no letter-height/colour/material spec was found.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement beyond the generic NEC 705.10 was found published by the City.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted to reach FPL's own Electric Service Standards / DG technical-requirements pages directly this session; fpl.com paths tried (service-area, rates, DG technical, solar customer pages) all returned 404 to curl and WebFetch, so I could not independently confirm FPL's placard/disconnect-distance specification with a source I actually read.
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q38 — no city-specific label-placement instruction was found; NEC governs by default.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah's current Roofing Permit Package requires a Product Control 'Notice of Acceptance' number and stated installation method at the time of permit application (posted at the job site for inspection), and separately embeds the state 'Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) High-Velocity Hurricane Zone Uniform Permit Application Form.' Because Hialeah sits inside Miami-Dade County, HVHZ-track approval (a Miami-Dade NOA or a Florida Product Approval evaluated for HVHZ) is required rather than the lower statewide approval; no PV-specific equivalent form was found published by the City itself, so this is extended from the roofing evidence.
permit package checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21900/Roofing-Package-Code-2023pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCode of Ordinances Ch. 38 (Fire Prevention, incl. Art. III Hazardous Materials) and Forms & Documents — no battery/ESS-specific ordinance or conditions were found published by the City; ESS would default to whatever NFPA 855/Florida Fire Prevention Code edition is currently in force under the floating Sec. 38-31 adoption, which was not independently retrieved this session.
https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH38FIPRPR
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame search as Q45 — no separate ESS permit/inspection type is listed on any of the City's current fee sheets (Electrical, Mechanical, Building).
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCode of Ordinances Sec. 98-1 defines 'Building' broadly as 'anything constructed or erected, the use of which demands a permanent location on or in the land … The term "building" includes the term "structure,"' and Sec. 98-1666 caps accessory buildings/structures at 35% of the main structure's size (max 500 sq ft) with setback rules elsewhere in Ch. 98. A ground-mounted PV array permanently attached to land would fall under this definition; no PV-specific ground-mount ordinance exists, so this is inference from the general zoning definitions.
city ordinance definitions checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH98ZO_ARTIINGE_S98-1DE
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedTried to reach FPL's own interconnection/meter-equipment placement requirements directly (see Q23/Q42) — fpl.com paths returned 404 this session, and no Hialeah document specifies AC-disconnect placement relative to the meter, so this is left unanswered rather than repeating the brief's un-verified figure.
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Phone / Email 82% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 82% · department practice
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; Hialeah performs its own inspections 88% · department practice
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Hialeah on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? No 62% · absence — checked DocumentCenter listing
- What must be on site at inspection? Notice of Commencement (recorded, required on site for the first inspection if job value ≥ $5,000), the permit card/approved plans 72% · department page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final 60% · inference from department practice
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer 55% · industry practice (utility source unreachable this session)
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $60 65% · fee schedule
14 questions answered against City of Hialeah’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Phone / Email
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Recertification/Inspections page lists 'Request Inspection by Email' alongside the Department's phone number (305-883-5825) and email (buildingdepartment@hialeahfl.gov); no separate online-portal inspection-scheduling module was confirmed working this session (see Q21 note on the EnerGov app).
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/201/Building-Recertification-Forms
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and Recertification/Inspections page — no stated advance-notice requirement (e.g., '24 hours', '1 business day') for booking an inspection was published.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/201/Building-Recertification-Forms
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as Q50 — no AM/PM or same-day window language was found; only the Department's general hours (M–F 7:30 a.m.–3:30 p.m.; first Saturday of the month 9 a.m.–1 p.m.) are published.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/201/Building-Recertification-Forms
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherHialeah performs its own building/electrical inspections through its own Building Department inspectors — the Contractor Registration process, fee sheets, and inspection-request contact information are all the City's own, with no indication of delegation to Miami-Dade County for electrical/PV work.
department practice checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3128/Contractor-Registration-PDF
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; Hialeah performs its own inspections
Why the confidence is not higherSee Q52 — Hialeah is an independent AHJ with its own Building Department inspectors.
department practice checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/3128/Contractor-Registration-PDF
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedReviewed the current Electrical, Roofing, and Mechanical Fee-Sheets, each of which lists required inspections per trade (e.g., roofing: Tin Cap/In-Progress/Final) but none names a solar-specific inspection sequence (e.g., rough electrical vs. final for a PV retrofit).
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21522/Electrical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee sheets as Q54 — no PV-specific statement on whether a rough-in or mid-roof inspection is required was found; roofing categories list a 'Tin Cap'/'In-Progress' step generally, but nothing PV-specific.
https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21528/Roofing-Fee-Sheet-Revised-March-20-2026pdf
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and inspection-related forms — no published statement that the inspector verifies labels/listings specifically (this is standard NEC-compliance practice everywhere but not documented by Hialeah as a checklist item).
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
No
Why the confidence is not higherChecked the Forms & Documents DocumentCenter listing, the Apply-For page, and the Building Department page for a published inspection checklist of any kind (solar or general electrical) — none was found; the City publishes fee sheets with a short list of required inspection stages per trade, but not a pass/fail checklist.
absence — checked DocumentCenter listing checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/204/Forms-Documents
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Notice of Commencement (recorded, required on site for the first inspection if job value ≥ $5,000), the permit card/approved plans
Why the confidence is not higherPermit Requirements page: 'If the job value is $5,000 or more, a Notice of Commencement must be filed with the Miami-Dade County Recorder's Office and must be present at the job site for the first inspection.' General practice (approved plan set/permit card on site) is standard but not separately restated for solar.
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/773/Permit-Requirements
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$60
Why the confidence is not higherBoth the 2016 and the current (Revised March 20, 2026) fee sheets apply a consistent $60 re-inspection fee across Building (BD908), Roofing (RF908), Plumbing (PL230) and Mechanical (ME908 on the current sheet) after the first 1–2 free re-inspections; the current Electrical Fee-Sheet does not list its own re-inspection code, so this is extended from the consistent citywide pattern rather than an electrical-specific line item.
fee schedule checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/DocumentCenter/View/21523/Mechanical-Fee-Sheet-Revised-3-20-2026pdf
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Department page and forms listing — no published description of how correction notices are issued or cleared (e.g., portal comment, printed red-tag, email) was found.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final
Why the confidence is not higherFor a routine PV retrofit on an already-occupied single-family home, no new Certificate of Occupancy is triggered; the Department's own TCO/Re-Occupancy application materials are used only for new construction or occupancy changes, so a passed final inspection simply closes/finals the permit. No Hialeah document states this in so many words for solar specifically.
inference from department practice checked 2026-09-11 https://www.hialeahfl.gov/201/Building-Recertification-Forms
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer
Why the confidence is not higherStandard practice for FPL-territory interconnection (and for investor-owned utilities generally) is that the installer/customer — not the AHJ — submits FPL's interconnection/net-metering application and requests Permission to Operate after the City finals its electrical inspection. I was not able to reach FPL's own interconnection-process page this session to confirm with a source I actually read (see Q23/Q42), so this is scored on general industry practice rather than a verified FPL document.
industry practice (utility source unreachable this session) checked 2026-09-11 https://library.municode.com/fl/hialeah/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_CH98ZO_ARTVISUDIRE_DIV10PA_S98-2205PIPAARFPEA
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.