City of Kissimmee

Osceola County · Florida ← All authorities

City of Kissimmee

Osceola County

Verified Aug. 5, 2026

City of Kissimmee is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 79,226 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.

Jurisdiction & key facts

The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Kissimmee against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.

City of Kissimmee is the authority having jurisdiction 88% confidence
Holds
Building and electrical, in-house, city-wide within Kissimmee's incorporated limits. The City's Development Services / Permitting Division issues its own permits (EnerGov portal, permitting@kissimmee.gov, 407-518-2379), and its own FY2025 Ch.553 utilization report shows 25 local-government personnel dedicated to Florida Building Code enforcement, with about 25% of inspections (3,137 of 12,490) conducted by a private provider under FS 553.791 rather than a named contract firm -- no CGA/CAP-Government-style outsourcing arrangement was found the way it exists in some other FL cities.
Overridden by
KUA (Kissimmee Utility Authority), the municipally-owned electric utility, gatekeeps interconnection/PTO and requires its own Application for Interconnection, Tier 1/2/3 Interconnection Agreement and Tri-Party (FMPA) Agreement in addition to the City's permit; KUA's net-metering application instructions state a 'Notice of Commencement/Issued permit status must be achieved in order to submit application', i.e. the City's permit issuance is a precondition of KUA's own process. Osceola County's Doing Business > Building and Permits page (its own building department, phone 407-742-0200) is a separate function serving unincorporated county and does not claim Kissimmee.
Why not higher
City's own Business & Development > Permits & Inspections pages, 'Types of Permits' page (lists 'Solar Panel' and 'Electrical' as City-issued permit categories), and EnerGov self-service portal (cityofkissimmeefl-energovweb.tylerhost.net) are the City's own primary sources, all live and dated 2026. Osceola County's building page was checked directly and contains no statement claiming jurisdiction inside Kissimmee city limits, and lists a different contact number, which is the 'prove it from both sides' evidence the brief asked for. Confidence held at 88 rather than higher because the County's page is thin (WebFetch summarized it, not full raw text) and I could not verify a formal interlocal delegation document either way.

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Permit required
Yes90%
Plan review
5 business days if project value is under $15,000 (rare for residential PV); otherwise the general FS 553.792 residential review period applies (up to 30 business days for a dwelling under…55%
Portal
Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service95%
Electrical code
2020 NEC (inferred -- Kissimmee does not itself name an NEC edition)50%
Booking an inspection
Portal -- 'Log into your project portal in EnerGov to request an inspection'85%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions

Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Plan review — 5 business days if project value is under $15,000 (rare for residential PV); otherwise the general FS 553.792 residential review period applies (up to 30 business… Q18 Where you file — Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service Q20

Permit required
Yes90% source
Plan review turnaround
5 business days if project value is under $15,000 (rare for residential PV); otherwise the general FS 553.792 residential review period applies (up to 30 business days for a dwelling under 7,500 sq…55% source
Key document
department page (permit-type list) cited by 2 open the document
  1. Confirm who has a say over your address

    A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.

    • Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes 92% · department page
    • What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both 80% · Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025
    • Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 90% · department page (permit-type list)
    • Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm/HVHZ certification -- Osceola County (and Kissimmee) are outside the Florida High-Velocity Hurricane Zone, which by statute is limited to Miami-Dade and Broward Counties; standard FBC wind-load design (ASCE 7 wind speed maps) applies instead 65% · state statute (HVHZ definition)
  2. Check who is allowed to apply

    Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.

    • Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either -- Florida's owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103(7)) lets a homeowner pull their own permit for their own detached single-family residence; otherwise a licensed electrical or PV solar contractor is required 55% · state statute
    • Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, under Florida's statewide owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103(7)) 50% · state statute
  3. Build the submittal package

    Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.

    Nothing recorded for City of Kissimmee on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Apply and pay

    Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.

    • Which permit portal does this authority use? Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service 95% · portal landing page
    • Can the whole application be completed online? Yes (with moderate confidence) -- the City's 'File a Permit Application' link goes directly into the EnerGov self-service application flow, which Tyler's EnerGov Citizen Self-Service product supports end-to-end (upload plans, pay fees) for most permit types 60% · portal
  5. Plan review — and start the utility in parallel

    Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.

    • What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 5 business days if project value is under $15,000 (rare for residential PV); otherwise the general FS 553.792 residential review period applies (up to 30 business days for a dwelling under 7,500 sq ft) -- Kissimmee does not publish its own separate turnaround time 55% · state statute
    • How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 1 year from issuance (or through the effective date of the next FBC edition, whichever is later) -- statewide floor under FS 553.79(1)(c) as amended by HB 803, effective 1 Jul 2026. Kissimmee does not publish its own permit-validity period. 60% · state statute
    • Which utility handles interconnection here? Kissimmee Utility Authority (KUA) -- a municipally-owned electric utility, not FPL 95% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit -- KUA's own net-metering application instructions state 'Notice of Commencement/Issued permit status must be achieved in order to submit application.' Final grid connection (bidirectional meter set / PTO) additionally requires BOTH KUA's approval of the Application for Interconnection AND the system's final building permit to be complete, per KUA's Solar page: 'Once the Application for Interconnection is fully approved by KUA and the system has received a final permit from either the City or County permitting office, we will set the bidirectional meter.' 85% · utility DG program page

28 questions answered against City of Kissimmee’s own published documents

Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higherCity of Kissimmee runs its own Development Services permitting division (permitting@kissimmee.gov, 407-518-2379), its own EnerGov citizen self-service portal, and its own published 'Types of Permits' list including a 'Solar Panel' category. Osceola County's building department page makes no claim over Kissimmee and lists a different phone number (407-742-0200).

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Both

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Types of Permits' page lists 'Electrical' as a standalone permit category it issues (alongside Building, Mechanical, Plumbing, Fire Protection). Its FY2025 Ch.553 utilization report shows 25 personnel 'dedicated by the local government to enforce the Florida Building Code' and no named outside contract firm, unlike the CGA/CAP-Government pattern found in some other FL cities -- so this reads as in-house Building+Electrical, not delegated.

Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/files/assets/kissimmee/v/1/documents/docs-development-services/utilization-report-2025.pdf

Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Yes

Why the confidence is not higher'Solar Panel' ('Installation of panels and its components used to generate electricity') is a listed permit type under Miscellaneous Accessory Structure on the City's own Types of Permits page. Separately, the City's own 'New Permitting Rules (July 1, 2026)' page implementing HB 803 states any project involving 'Electrical...work' requires a permit 'no exceptions', and PV always involves electrical work, so the narrow HB 803 exemption path does not apply to solar regardless of value.

department page (permit-type list) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's 'Types of Permits' page lists 'Solar Panel' and 'Electrical' as two separate permit-type entries with one-line descriptions each and no cross-reference explaining whether a solar job needs both permits or one combined permit

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply

Either -- Florida's owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103(7)) lets a homeowner pull their own permit for their own detached single-family residence; otherwise a licensed electrical or PV solar contractor is required

Why the confidence is not higherCould not reach the City's own contractor-registration page to confirm local practice (both known URLs for it, /government/development-services/building-division/contractor-registration and /departments/development-services/building-permits/business-licenses-2238, returned 404 live), so this is inferred from statewide law rather than a City document.

state statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0599/0489/Sections/0489.103.html

Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedBoth known URLs for the City's contractor-registration page returned 404 live: /government/development-services/building-division/contractor-registration and /departments/development-services/building-permits/business-licenses-2238 (found via Wayback CDX of kissimmee.gov, both pre-redesign paths)

https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/business-licenses-2238

Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply

Yes, under Florida's statewide owner-builder exemption (FS 489.103(7))

Why the confidence is not higherSame limitation as Q5 -- the City's own contractor-registration/owner-builder page could not be reached live (404 on both known URLs), so this is the statewide default rather than a City-specific confirmation.

state statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0599/0489/Sections/0489.103.html

Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we looked'Types of Permits' page (one-line item, no checklist); site-wide Wayback CDX scan of kissimmee.gov (~10,000 unique historical URLs, positive control 'inspection'=58 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx'=0 hits) found no dedicated solar/PV submittal checklist page or PDF

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame checklist search as Q8 -- no published copies/format instructions found for a solar submittal

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame checklist search as Q8 -- no published site-plan requirement specific to solar found

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame checklist search as Q8 -- no one-line/three-line diagram requirement published

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame checklist search as Q8 -- no string/conductor calculation requirement published

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo structural PE-stamp threshold found on the City's permit pages; the governing local-amendment text would sit in the Municode-hosted Code of Ordinances, which returns 'Disallow: /' to ClaudeBot in robots.txt and was not bypassed

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame as Q13 -- Municode disallow

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSearched kissimmee.gov CDX index for 'fee-schedule'/'fee_schedule' (0 hits) and browsed the Permits & Inspections and Building Permits pages, which reference a 'Pay Permit Fees' related-service link but no fee amounts or a fee-schedule document; that link itself 404'd live

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections

Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo fee schedule found (see Q15) so no fee-calculation method could be read

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections

Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo fee schedule found (see Q15) so plan-check-fee-separateness could not be confirmed

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections

Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity

5 business days if project value is under $15,000 (rare for residential PV); otherwise the general FS 553.792 residential review period applies (up to 30 business days for a dwelling under 7,500 sq ft) -- Kissimmee does not publish its own separate turnaround time

Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from FS 553.792 as amended by HB 803 (2025), which reads 'Within 5 business days after receiving a complete and sufficient application... for an existing single-family residential dwelling if the value of the work is less than $15,000: structural, accessory structure, alarm, electrical...'. Most residential PV jobs exceed $15,000 so the longer statutory period applies. I could not find a City-published turnaround figure of its own -- checked the Permits & Inspections landing page and the July-2026 rules-change page, neither states one.

state statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0553/Sections/0553.792.html

Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity

1 year from issuance (or through the effective date of the next FBC edition, whichever is later) -- statewide floor under FS 553.79(1)(c) as amended by HB 803, effective 1 Jul 2026. Kissimmee does not publish its own permit-validity period.

Why the confidence is not higherFS 553.79 text (checked directly): 'A building permit issued by a local government for a single-family dwelling expires 1 year after the issuance of the permit or on the effective date of the next edition of the Florida Building Code, whichever is later.' No Kissimmee-specific validity figure was found on the Permits & Inspections pages or the July-2026 rules-change page.

state statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0553/Sections/0553.79.html

Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process

Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'File for a Permit' page links directly to https://cityofkissimmeefl-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice?sectionName=All&moduleId=2&categoryName=All&showTemplates=false for filing, and to the same host for 'Check Permit Status'. Verified the tenant name (cityofkissimmeefl) appears in the URL itself, not a generic demo tenant.

portal landing page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit

Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process

Yes (with moderate confidence) -- the City's 'File a Permit Application' link goes directly into the EnerGov self-service application flow, which Tyler's EnerGov Citizen Self-Service product supports end-to-end (upload plans, pay fees) for most permit types

Why the confidence is not higherThe portal is JavaScript-rendered past the login/category shell, so WebFetch could only confirm the entry point and category navigation, not walk an actual application to completion. Confidence held below 70 for that reason.

portal checked 2026-09-12 https://cityofkissimmeefl-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice?sectionName=All&moduleId=2&categoryName=All&showTemplates=false

Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection

Kissimmee Utility Authority (KUA) -- a municipally-owned electric utility, not FPL

Why the confidence is not higherKUA's own Standard Interconnection Agreement recital states 'KUA operates an electric system serving the City of Kissimmee and portions of surrounding Osceola County.' KUA is not PSC-rate-regulated the way FPL is; it is a body politic under Ch. 163/166 F.S. Parts of unincorporated Osceola County outside Kissimmee may be OUC or Duke Energy Florida territory, but that is not relevant to a Kissimmee address.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection

After permit -- KUA's own net-metering application instructions state 'Notice of Commencement/Issued permit status must be achieved in order to submit application.' Final grid connection (bidirectional meter set / PTO) additionally requires BOTH KUA's approval of the Application for Interconnection AND the system's final building permit to be complete, per KUA's Solar page: 'Once the Application for Interconnection is fully approved by KUA and the system has received a final permit from either the City or County permitting office, we will set the bidirectional meter.'

Why the confidence is not higherTwo of KUA's own current pages agree on the substance (permit precedes/accompanies interconnection processing, and PTO is gated on both); quoted verbatim from both to avoid picking one over the other. Net Metering page last verified 12 Sep 2026; Solar landing page dateModified stamp in its own JSON-LD reads 2026-07-28.

utility DG program page checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/energy-conservation/net-metering/

Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo HOA/architectural-review requirement found on City permit pages; governing text would be in the Municode-hosted zoning code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo historic-district review requirement found on City permit pages for solar specifically; governing text would be in the Municode-hosted code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases

No separate windstorm/HVHZ certification -- Osceola County (and Kissimmee) are outside the Florida High-Velocity Hurricane Zone, which by statute is limited to Miami-Dade and Broward Counties; standard FBC wind-load design (ASCE 7 wind speed maps) applies instead

Why the confidence is not higherHVHZ is defined in FBC/FS 553 as Miami-Dade and Broward only; Osceola is inland central Florida. I did not find a Kissimmee-specific wind-certification requirement beyond ordinary FBC structural review (which itself sits behind the Municode robots.txt block -- see not_found list), so this is a state-definition-based answer rather than a City document confirming the absence.

state statute (HVHZ definition) checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0500-0599/0553/Sections/0553.844.html

Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo mention of a Specific Use Permit or Council approval requirement for residential solar on any City permitting page reached

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo system-size cap found on City permitting pages; governing text (if any) would be in the Municode-hosted code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Install 5 steps · 20 questions
  1. Build to the code editions actually in force here

    The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.

    • Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (inferred -- Kissimmee does not itself name an NEC edition) 50% · department page (silent on edition)
    • Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- statewide, via Ch. 553 F.S. 60% · department page + state code cycle
    • What is the installation judged against? The currently adopted Florida Building Code and Florida Statutes Chapter 553, as referenced by the City's own Building Permits page 75% · department page
  2. Fire access, setbacks and pathways

    Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.

    Nothing recorded for City of Kissimmee on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  3. Rapid shutdown

    Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.

    Nothing recorded for City of Kissimmee on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Labels and placards

    The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.

    • Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? No -- KUA's own interconnection documents specify hardware (a lockable manual disconnect switch, mounted adjacent to the meter) but no placard, label wording, letter height, colour or facility-map requirement beyond that 70% · utility interconnection agreement
  5. Disconnect, storage and listed equipment

    Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.

    • Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? The AC disconnect (manual, visible load-break type) must be mounted separate from the meter socket, on an exterior surface adjacent to the meter, readily accessible to KUA and capable of being locked open with a KUA padlock 90% · utility interconnection agreement
    • Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, per KUA's own interconnection requirements (not a Kissimmee ordinance): PV modules must comply with UL 1703; inverters/interconnection equipment must be UL 1741-listed and IEEE 1547 (2018)/1547.1 (2012) conformant 65% · utility interconnection agreement

20 questions answered against City of Kissimmee’s own published documents

Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

2020 NEC (inferred -- Kissimmee does not itself name an NEC edition)

Why the confidence is not higherChecked the City's own Building Permits landing page and the File-for-a-Permit page: both say only that work must meet 'current Florida Building Codes as adopted by the State of Florida requirements of Chapter 553, Florida Statutes' with a pointer to floridabuilding.org, and name no NEC/NFPA 70 edition. FS 553.73(7)(a) itself also names NFPA 70 with no year. 2020 is carried here as the edition referenced by the current (8th Edition, 2023) Florida Building Code cycle, per the pattern the brief already established from other FL authorities' mastheads -- not from a Kissimmee document, so confidence is capped at 50 as instructed.

department page (silent on edition) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/permits-2239

Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force

Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- statewide, via Ch. 553 F.S.

Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Permits page states compliance is with 'current Florida Building Codes as adopted by the State of Florida requirements of Chapter 553, Florida Statutes,' pointing to floridabuilding.org, but does not itself print the edition number. The 8th Edition (2023) is the statewide cycle in force through the 2026 update; I could not independently re-verify the live floridabuilding.org page (it 403/404'd on fetch), so this is the City's pointer plus the known statewide cycle rather than a directly quoted edition number.

department page + state code cycle checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/permits-2239

Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedFire code edition not stated on the City's Fire Department pages (checked docs-fire folder of the CDX index -- annual/quarterly reports and consumer-safety flyers only, e.g. lithium-ion battery safety, no fire-code-edition or PV-placard bulletin) or the Building Permits page

https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/fire-department-2196

Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedLocal amendments would be recorded in the Municode-hosted Code of Ordinances, which returns 'Disallow: /' to ClaudeBot in robots.txt

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical

The currently adopted Florida Building Code and Florida Statutes Chapter 553, as referenced by the City's own Building Permits page

Why the confidence is not higherDirect (if general) statement from the City's own page: work must be done in compliance with 'current Florida Building Codes as adopted by the State of Florida requirements of Chapter 553, Florida Statutes.'

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/permits-2239

Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City statement found on service-upgrade/busbar-sizing rules; governing text would be in the Municode-hosted code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City-specific mounting/attachment-spacing requirement found; not in KUA's interconnection documents either (searched full text of KUA's Application for Interconnection/Standard Interconnection Agreement for 'mounting'/'attachment' -- not present)

https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo ridge-setback/fire-access-pathway requirement found on the City's Fire Department pages or Building Permits pages; governing text would be in the Municode-hosted fire code amendments, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City statement on rapid shutdown found. NEC 690.12 would apply by default under whichever NEC edition is in force (see Q29, itself only inferred at 50 confidence), but no City document states this directly

https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/permits-2239

Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite-wide Wayback CDX scan of kissimmee.gov for 'placard' and 'label' paths (0 hits each; positive control 'inspection'=58 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0 hits) plus a full-text read of KUA's Application for Interconnection/Standard Interconnection Agreement (grep for label|placard|signage|marking = 0 hits) found no placard specification from either the City or KUA beyond generic disconnect-switch hardware requirements (see answered Q48)

https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no placard wording specified by the City

https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSame search as Q38 -- no letter-height/colour/material specification found

https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City-specific site-plan/facility-map placard requirement found beyond the generic NEC 705.10 baseline, which is not separately stated by the City anywhere reached

https://www.kissimmee.gov/departments/development-services/building-permits/permits-2239

Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling

No -- KUA's own interconnection documents specify hardware (a lockable manual disconnect switch, mounted adjacent to the meter) but no placard, label wording, letter height, colour or facility-map requirement beyond that

Why the confidence is not higherFull text of KUA's current (Jan 2026) Application for Interconnection, Standard Interconnection Agreement and Tri-Party Agreement was extracted with pdftotext and grepped for label|placard|signage|marking|warning sign -- zero hits. The document is thorough on the disconnect switch itself (Clause 16, three tiers) but silent on any placard/label beyond that, so this reads as a genuine absence rather than a search miss.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo label-placement instruction found beyond the AC-disconnect physical-location rule already answered at Q48; searched KUA's interconnection documents specifically for 'label' (0 hits)

https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing

Yes, per KUA's own interconnection requirements (not a Kissimmee ordinance): PV modules must comply with UL 1703; inverters/interconnection equipment must be UL 1741-listed and IEEE 1547 (2018)/1547.1 (2012) conformant

Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from Section 6.A of KUA's Application for Interconnection of RGS. This is the utility's equipment-listing requirement, not a City of Kissimmee building/electrical-permit requirement -- I could not find an equivalent statement from the City itself.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City statement on battery/ESS permitting conditions found on the Types of Permits or Building Permits pages; the City's only battery-related document found is a Fire Department consumer-safety flyer on lithium-ion batteries (general safety tips, not a permit/installation standard); governing fire-code text would be in the Municode-hosted code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://www.kissimmee.gov/files/assets/kissimmee/v/1/documents/docs-fire/lithiumion-battery-safety-english.pdf

Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we looked'Types of Permits' page lists no separate ESS/battery-storage permit category distinct from Electrical or Solar Panel

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/File-for-a-Permit/Types-of-Permits

Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo City statement found on whether a ground-mounted array is treated as a structure; governing text would be in the Municode-hosted code, blocked by robots.txt (see Q13)

https://library.municode.com/robots.txt

Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment

The AC disconnect (manual, visible load-break type) must be mounted separate from the meter socket, on an exterior surface adjacent to the meter, readily accessible to KUA and capable of being locked open with a KUA padlock

Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim, Clause 16 of KUA's Standard Interconnection Agreement (same language repeated for Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3 systems). This is the utility's DG manual/agreement, the expected source kind for this question.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
  1. Book it

    Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.

    • How is an inspection booked? Portal -- 'Log into your project portal in EnerGov to request an inspection' 85% · department page
    • Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? No dedicated AM/PM window selection found; inspections run within standard hours '7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday - Friday, excluding holidays,' with staff making 'every effort to perform the inspection on the requested day and time.' After-hours inspection requires a special written request to the Building Official. 70% · department page
  2. Know who turns up

    Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.

    • Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes, predominantly self-performed, with a private-provider (FS 553.791) option available 80% · Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025
    • If delegated, to whom? Not delegated by default; Florida's private-provider alternative (FS 553.791) is available and was used for roughly 25% of the City's FY2025 building inspections, per the City's own numbers 70% · Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025
  3. Work the stages in order

    A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.

    Nothing recorded for City of Kissimmee on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.

  4. Have the paperwork on site

    The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.

    • What must be on site at inspection? 'Approved plans and permits' must be on-site and accessible to the inspector 78% · department page
  5. Sign-off, and permission to operate

    Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.

    • Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Customer -- the customer must give KUA a copy of the local Building Code Official's inspection and certification of installation before KUA will authorize parallel operation/PTO 78% · utility interconnection agreement

14 questions answered against City of Kissimmee’s own published documents

Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling

Portal -- 'Log into your project portal in EnerGov to request an inspection'

Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the City's own 'Request an Inspection' page; phone (407-518-2379) and email (permitting@kissimmee.gov) are offered for assistance rather than as the primary booking channel.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's Request an Inspection page describes booking via the EnerGov portal and standard operating hours (7am-4pm M-F) but states no minimum advance-notice period in business days

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling

No dedicated AM/PM window selection found; inspections run within standard hours '7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday - Friday, excluding holidays,' with staff making 'every effort to perform the inspection on the requested day and time.' After-hours inspection requires a special written request to the Building Official.

Why the confidence is not higherDirect text from the City's own Request an Inspection page.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects

Yes, predominantly self-performed, with a private-provider (FS 553.791) option available

Why the confidence is not higherFY2025 Ch.553 utilization report: 12,490 of 13,846 requested Building Inspections/Reinspections were conducted, of which 3,137 (about 25%) were 'conducted by a Private Provider' -- meaning roughly 75% were done by the City's own 25 dedicated FBC-enforcement personnel.

Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/files/assets/kissimmee/v/1/documents/docs-development-services/utilization-report-2025.pdf

Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects

Not delegated by default; Florida's private-provider alternative (FS 553.791) is available and was used for roughly 25% of the City's FY2025 building inspections, per the City's own numbers

Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the same FY2025 utilization report line ('Building Inspection conducted by a Private Provider: 3,137') -- the City does not name who the private providers are, only that the statutory route exists and is used.

Ch. 553 F.S. utilization report, FY2025 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/files/assets/kissimmee/v/1/documents/docs-development-services/utilization-report-2025.pdf

Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's Request an Inspection page lists general residential inspection-stage names (Foundation, Slab/Floor Framing, Lintel/Tie Beam, Framing, Insulation, Final, plus trade inspections including Electrical) but does not lay out a solar-specific sequence

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo statement found on whether a rough-in/mid-roof inspection is required for PV specifically

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo statement found on whether the inspector verifies labels/listings as part of the visit

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedSite-wide Wayback CDX scan of kissimmee.gov for 'checklist' returned only a disaster-supply-kit checklist (docs-city-managers-office); no building/electrical/solar inspection checklist found (positive control 'inspection'=58 hits, fabricated 'zzqqx'=0 hits, confirming the scan itself was working)

https://www.kissimmee.gov/files/assets/kissimmee/v/1/documents/docs-city-managers-office/disaster-supply-kit-checklist-2022.pdf

Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site

'Approved plans and permits' must be on-site and accessible to the inspector

Why the confidence is not higherDirect text from the City's own Request an Inspection page; not solar-specific, and no further itemized list (labels, listings, manufacturer manuals) is given.

department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo fee schedule found (see Q15) so no re-inspection fee could be confirmed

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections

Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedNo published description of how corrections are issued/cleared beyond the general EnerGov portal workflow implied by 'Check Permit Status'

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Check-Permit-Status

Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Nothing published by this authority.

Where we lookedCity's Request an Inspection page lists 'Final' as a generic inspection stage for residential phases but does not state what document/tag is issued specifically for a solar-only accessory permit (CO is not applicable since no new occupancy is created)

https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections/Request-an-Inspection

Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO

Installer/Customer -- the customer must give KUA a copy of the local Building Code Official's inspection and certification of installation before KUA will authorize parallel operation/PTO

Why the confidence is not higherKUA's Standard Interconnection Agreement, Clause 22: 'The Customer agrees to provide KUA with a copy of the Local Building Code Official inspection and certification of installation.' The City itself does not notify KUA directly under this document.

utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-12 https://kua.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/New-Application-for-Interconnection-Fillable-Form.pdf

Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.

No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.

Labels & placards for this authority

Wording None%

Size, colour & material None%

Where they go None%

What the utility wants on top 70%

No -- KUA's own interconnection documents specify hardware (a lockable manual disconnect switch, mounted adjacent to the meter) but no placard, label wording, letter height, colour or facility-map requirement beyond that

Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.

Their website
Solar Requirements
Notes
Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections --- Fetch failed: HTTPError: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kissimmee.gov/Business-Development/Permits-Inspections
Average approval time — application to PTO

From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.

About this authority
Type
City
County
Osceola County
Regions covered
Authority Contact
Building Department
Direct Phone
407-518-2379
Booking & Scheduling