City of Lakeland
City of Lakeland
Polk County
City of Lakeland is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 112,641 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Lakeland against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Lakeland is the authority having jurisdiction 92% confidence
- Holds
- Building and electrical. The Building Inspection Division (within the Community & Economic Development Department, not a separately named 'Building Department') reviews plans and issues one permit application (via iMS/ePlan) covering the structural and electrical scope of a residential PV installation, and performs its own inspections, within the Lakeland city limits.
- Overridden by
- FS 553.791 (2025 HB 683) lets an owner route plan review/inspection to a registered private provider instead of city staff (City's own Private Provider page implements this) — but the City remains AHJ of record. Lakeland Electric (municipal utility) gatekeeps parallel/grid connection and will not allow interconnection until it receives written proof of the City's Final Electrical Inspection, i.e. the utility sits AFTER the City's permit/inspection, not instead of it. HB 803's FS 553.79(1)(c)/125.56(4)(d) one-year permit-validity floor is already met/exceeded by the City's own rule (1 year or until the next FBC cycle, whichever is later).
- Why not higher
- City's own Building Inspection FAQ states in terms: 'If the address is inside the city limits, all permitting is done by the City of Lakeland. If the address is outside the city limits, all permitting is done by the Polk County Building Department.' The department sits in 'Community & Economic Development,' matching the brief's slug; no CDA/PWA-style split was found here. Deduction of 8: I could not independently re-verify the Polk County side (polkfl.gov building page 404'd on this pass), so the county-side half of the boundary claim rests on Lakeland's own statement rather than a Polk County document.
https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
- Permit required
- Yes95%
- Permit cost
- $72.00 flat, listed as 'Photovoltaic (residential and commercial)' under the Electrical/Miscellaneous fee table,75%
- Plan review
- Approximately 7 days per plan-review cycle for City-conducted plan review75%
- Portal
- iMS (ims.lakelandgov.net) for permit application, payment, status and inspection scheduling; ePlan ProjectDox for plan review/document upload95%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC95%
- Own placard wording
- No80%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal (iMS, 24/7), Phone (IVR automated call-in, 863-226-1519, 24/7), or Text (SelectTXT, 877-667-1720, 24/7)95%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Combined Q4 Plan review — Approximately 7 days per plan-review cycle for City-conducted plan review Q18 Where you file — iMS (ims.lakelandgov.net) for permit application, payment, status and inspection scheduling; ePlan ProjectDox for plan review/document upload Q20
- Permit required
- Yes95% source
- What it costs
- $72.00 flat, listed as 'Photovoltaic (residential and commercial)' under the Electrical/Miscellaneous fee table, plus a separate Plan Review fee of $31.50 (or 25% of the building permit fee,75% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Approximately 7 days per plan-review cycle for City-conducted plan review75% source
- Key document
- department checklist page cited by 8 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — City of Lakeland Building Inspection Division is the AHJ for residential solar inside the city limits 95% · department FAQ page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical. The City's Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist runs one application through iMS/ePlan covering structural (roof/array) and electrical (one-line, calcs) scope; not delegated 85% · department checklist page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 95% · department checklist page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Combined 60% · fee schedule page (dated 'current as of June 2026')
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, generically — within a Local Historic Landmark or Historic District, a Certificate of Review (design review) is required for any material exterior alteration and 'must be granted prior to the issuance of building and demolition permits.' No solar-specific carve-out or exemption was found on the Historic Preservation pages 60% · department page
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No AHJ-side (zoning) size cap was found. The UTILITY imposes size limits: Lakeland Electric's interconnection tiers cap Tier 1 at <10 kW, Tier 2 at 10-100 kW, Tier 3 at 100 kW-2 MW, and separately requires immediate notice to LE if a system exceeds 10 kW; total PV-ESS size may not exceed 100% of the customer's annual consumption 70% · utility interconnection agreement
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — a licensed contractor registered with the City, or the homeowner as an FS 489.103 owner-builder 85% · department FAQ page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 85% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes, with conditions — FS 489.103 owner-builder: property must be deeded to the owner, Homestead-exempt, not offered for sale/lease within 1 year of completion; no valuation cap for 1-2 family residences 80% · department FAQ page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? Complete Set of Sealed Plans (structural plan, roof plan, electrical calculations, one-line electrical diagram, array/module plan, overcurrent protection plan — all signed/sealed by an Architect or Engineer, one page per file, uploaded to ePlan ProjectDox); Site Plan showing outline of structure and panel locations; Manufacturer Spec Sheets for all equipment; a completed/signed Lakeland Electric PV Interconnection Agreement; a Notice of Commencement if job value exceeds $5,000 (recorded with Polk County Clerk of Courts) 90% · department checklist page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only via ePlan ProjectDox — all documents in .pdf format; plan sheets/drawings uploaded one page per file (landscape) into the Drawings folder; other documents (site plan, calcs) may be multi-page in the Documents folder; no paper submittals accepted 85% · department FAQ page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes — 'A drawing of the outline of the structure and indicate where the solar panels are to be installed or modified/altered' 90% · department checklist page
- Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Yes 90% · department checklist page
- Are string and conductor calculations required? Yes — 'electrical calculations' and an 'overcurrent protection plan' are named submittal items 85% · department checklist page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes, for every residential PV permit — no stated dollar/kW threshold. The checklist requires 'a structural plan ... signed and sealed by the Architect or Engineer' as part of every submittal 80% · department checklist page
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Yes, for every residential PV permit — no stated threshold. Electrical calculations and the one-line diagram are part of the same sealed-plan requirement 80% · department checklist page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? iMS (ims.lakelandgov.net) for permit application, payment, status and inspection scheduling; ePlan ProjectDox for plan review/document upload 95% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 90% · department FAQ page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? $72.00 flat, listed as 'Photovoltaic (residential and commercial)' under the Electrical/Miscellaneous fee table, plus a separate Plan Review fee of $31.50 (or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater) for 1- and 2-family residential — total roughly $103.50 for a typical residential PV permit before any State surcharge (2.5% of building/plan-review fees) 75% · fee schedule page (dated current as of June 2026)
- How is the fee calculated? Flat, for the $72 Photovoltaic electrical fee itself; the accompanying plan-review fee is Tiered/valuation-based (flat $31.50 floor or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater) 70% · fee schedule page
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — 'One and Two-Family Residential and Accessory Structures: $31.50 or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater' 85% · fee schedule page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Approximately 7 days per plan-review cycle for City-conducted plan review 75% · department page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 1 year from the date of issue, or until the effective date of the next Florida Building Code, whichever is later, for a residential permit (commercial permits: 180 days) 95% · department FAQ page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Lakeland Electric — the City of Lakeland's own municipal electric utility 95% · utility interconnection agreement (Rev. 12/18/2019, per document's own footer stamp — this is the version currently linked from Lakeland Electric's live Solar p
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After permit — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement makes 'written documentation that it has had a Final Electrical Inspection from the City/County' a precondition of parallel/grid connection, alongside the signed Agreement and its appendices 90% · utility interconnection agreement
28 questions answered against City of Lakeland’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — City of Lakeland Building Inspection Division is the AHJ for residential solar inside the city limits
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection FAQ: 'If the address is inside the city limits, all permitting is done by the City of Lakeland.'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — Building and Electrical. The City's Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist runs one application through iMS/ePlan covering structural (roof/array) and electrical (one-line, calcs) scope; not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherSolar checklist on the Forms & Checklists page requires a single sealed plan set with structural plan, roof plan, electrical calculations and one-line diagram uploaded to one permit; FAQ describes Building Inspection as reviewing plans, issuing permits and inspecting 'residential and commercial construction' generally, not split by trade for PV specifically
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherCity's Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist states plainly: 'A permit is needed for the installation, modification, or alteration of a photovoltaic system.' Also, the City's new July 2026 small-project permit exemption (FS-driven, <$7,500) explicitly excludes 'Any Electrical ... or Structural work,' which a PV install always is
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Combined
Why the confidence is not higherThe solar checklist describes one application/one sealed plan set covering both structural and electrical scope; however the only fee line item found for PV ($72, 'Photovoltaic (residential and commercial)') sits under the Electrical fee table with no separate Building-permit valuation line for PV, so I cannot be fully certain there isn't a nominally separate building permit issued alongside it. Not stated explicitly either way
fee schedule page (dated 'current as of June 2026') checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permit-fees/
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either — a licensed contractor registered with the City, or the homeowner as an FS 489.103 owner-builder
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ 'Can I apply for a permit myself as a homeowner?' walks through the owner-builder route (homestead exemption required, no valuation cap for 1-2 family); permitting-step-by-step page requires contractors to be registered with the City to use iMS
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPermitting Step-by-Step: 'Registered contractors ... can apply for every type of permit through iMS. If you are a contractor but are not yet registered with the City of Lakeland, please contact the Building Inspection Division.' FAQ lists the registration document requirements (application, state license copy, insurance certs)
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permitting-step-by-step/
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes, with conditions — FS 489.103 owner-builder: property must be deeded to the owner, Homestead-exempt, not offered for sale/lease within 1 year of completion; no valuation cap for 1-2 family residences
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ Owner-Builder section states these qualifications in full; this is the general owner-builder rule, not a solar-specific statement, but the solar checklist does not exclude the owner-builder route
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Complete Set of Sealed Plans (structural plan, roof plan, electrical calculations, one-line electrical diagram, array/module plan, overcurrent protection plan — all signed/sealed by an Architect or Engineer, one page per file, uploaded to ePlan ProjectDox); Site Plan showing outline of structure and panel locations; Manufacturer Spec Sheets for all equipment; a completed/signed Lakeland Electric PV Interconnection Agreement; a Notice of Commencement if job value exceeds $5,000 (recorded with Polk County Clerk of Courts)
Why the confidence is not higherCity's 'Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist' section on the Forms & Checklists page lists each item verbatim under its own heading
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only via ePlan ProjectDox — all documents in .pdf format; plan sheets/drawings uploaded one page per file (landscape) into the Drawings folder; other documents (site plan, calcs) may be multi-page in the Documents folder; no paper submittals accepted
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ 'What are the requirements for submitting my building plans?' states this format explicitly; general rule, not solar-specific, but the solar checklist itself directs uploads to ePlan ProjectDox the same way
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes — 'A drawing of the outline of the structure and indicate where the solar panels are to be installed or modified/altered'
Why the confidence is not higherSolar checklist, 'Site Plan' item, quoted directly
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSolar checklist requires 'a structural plan, roof plan, electrical calculations, one-line electrical diagram, array and module plan, and overcurrent protection plan' as part of the sealed plan set
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Yes — 'electrical calculations' and an 'overcurrent protection plan' are named submittal items
Why the confidence is not higherSame checklist sentence as q11; conductor sizing/overcurrent protection is named directly, string calculations are implied within 'electrical calculations' but not spelled out by that term
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Yes, for every residential PV permit — no stated dollar/kW threshold. The checklist requires 'a structural plan ... signed and sealed by the Architect or Engineer' as part of every submittal
Why the confidence is not higherChecklist language applies to all PV permits without a size carve-out; I found no separate small-system exemption for the structural-stamp requirement specifically
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Yes, for every residential PV permit — no stated threshold. Electrical calculations and the one-line diagram are part of the same sealed-plan requirement
Why the confidence is not higherSame checklist paragraph: 'All plan documents must be signed and sealed by the Architect or Engineer,' referring to the whole plan set including the electrical portions
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
$72.00 flat, listed as 'Photovoltaic (residential and commercial)' under the Electrical/Miscellaneous fee table, plus a separate Plan Review fee of $31.50 (or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater) for 1- and 2-family residential — total roughly $103.50 for a typical residential PV permit before any State surcharge (2.5% of building/plan-review fees)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule page states it is 'current as of June 2026.' The PV line sits distinctly from two other solar-adjacent lines — 'Solar Heat or Heat Recovery System' $40.50 (Mechanical) and 'Solar Engineering System' $40.50 (Plumbing/other) — both of which read as solar water-heating, not PV; I used the one explicitly labelled 'Photovoltaic.' Not fully certain whether the plan-review fee is actually charged in addition for a PV permit specifically, since the schedule does not cross-reference the two line items for solar
fee schedule page (dated current as of June 2026) checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permit-fees/
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Flat, for the $72 Photovoltaic electrical fee itself; the accompanying plan-review fee is Tiered/valuation-based (flat $31.50 floor or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule text quoted directly for both components
fee schedule page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permit-fees/
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — 'One and Two-Family Residential and Accessory Structures: $31.50 or 25% of the building permit fee, whichever is greater'
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule Plan Review section, general (not solar-specific) but applies to all residential permits including PV given the checklist requires plan review/sealed plans
fee schedule page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permit-fees/
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Approximately 7 days per plan-review cycle for City-conducted plan review
Why the confidence is not higherPrivate Provider Information page states City-conducted turnaround times: 'Plan Review (each cycle): Approximately 7 days.' This is a general figure, not solar-specific, given on the page that exists to contrast it with the private-provider alternative
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/private-provider-information/
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
1 year from the date of issue, or until the effective date of the next Florida Building Code, whichever is later, for a residential permit (commercial permits: 180 days)
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'How long is an issued permit valid? A residential permit is valid for 1 year from the date of issue or until the effective date of the next Florida Building Code, whichever is later.' This meets/exceeds the HB 803 statutory floor (FS 553.79(1)(c)/125.56(4)(d))
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
iMS (ims.lakelandgov.net) for permit application, payment, status and inspection scheduling; ePlan ProjectDox for plan review/document upload
Why the confidence is not higherNamed throughout the Building Inspection section of the site (Applications Hub, FAQ, permitting-step-by-step)
portal landing page checked 2026-09-11 https://ims.lakelandgov.net/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'All permits are applied for online via the iMS permitting system. We are unable to accept any paper permit applications or building plans.'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Lakeland Electric — the City of Lakeland's own municipal electric utility
Why the confidence is not higherCity's solar checklist directs applicants to 'a completed and signed Lakeland Electric PV Interconnection Agreement form'; confirmed from Lakeland Electric's own PV-ESS Agreement document, not from PowerToChoose (Lakeland is inside its own municipal service territory, not served by an IOU)
utility interconnection agreement (Rev. 12/18/2019, per document's own footer stamp — this is the version currently linked from Lakeland Electric's live Solar p checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After permit — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement makes 'written documentation that it has had a Final Electrical Inspection from the City/County' a precondition of parallel/grid connection, alongside the signed Agreement and its appendices
Why the confidence is not higherPV-ESS Agreement, clause 2: 'The PV-ESS can only be connected in parallel with the LE distribution system once the following conditions are met: a. The Customer provides written documentation that it has had a Final Electrical Inspection from the City/County...'
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity Building Inspection FAQ, forms-checklists solar section, and permit-requirements page — none mention HOA or architectural-review approval as a precondition; I did not have access to the Land Development Code text itself (Municode's library.municode.com Cloudflare-blocks both curl and headless fetch, and api.municode.com's search endpoint returned 0 hits even on the positive control 'electrical', so I could not use it to confirm or rule this out)
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, generically — within a Local Historic Landmark or Historic District, a Certificate of Review (design review) is required for any material exterior alteration and 'must be granted prior to the issuance of building and demolition permits.' No solar-specific carve-out or exemption was found on the Historic Preservation pages
Why the confidence is not higherDesign Review page states the general rule; I ran positive control 'historic' (27 hits) and fabricated control 'zzqqx' (0 hits) on both the Design Review and Historic Preservation FAQ pages — both passed — and 'solar'/'photovoltaic' scored 0 hits on both, so the absence of a solar-specific rule is real, but I am inferring that the generic exterior-alteration rule extends to rooftop PV rather than reading it stated for PV by name
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/historic-preservation/design-review/
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and Helpful Links & Publications page — Polk County/Lakeland is not a High-Velocity Hurricane Zone (that is Miami-Dade/Broward only) and no separate 'windstorm certification' document or step was named; only the general sealed structural-plan requirement was found
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection FAQ, permit-requirements, and forms-checklists pages — no mention of a Specific Use Permit or Council-approval step for residential PV; could not check the Land Development Code itself (Municode blocked to automated fetch — Cloudflare challenge page returned in place of content; api.municode.com search API returned 0 hits on its own positive control 'electrical', so treated as broken rather than a real absence)
https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/land-development-code/
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No AHJ-side (zoning) size cap was found. The UTILITY imposes size limits: Lakeland Electric's interconnection tiers cap Tier 1 at <10 kW, Tier 2 at 10-100 kW, Tier 3 at 100 kW-2 MW, and separately requires immediate notice to LE if a system exceeds 10 kW; total PV-ESS size may not exceed 100% of the customer's annual consumption
Why the confidence is not higherThis is a utility-side gatekeeping rule (Lakeland Electric PV-ESS Agreement clauses 1 and 5), not a City zoning cap; I could not access the Land Development Code text itself (see method note) to confirm whether zoning separately caps residential generation, so the AHJ-side half of this answer is unconfirmed rather than proven absent
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC 95% · department FAQ page
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 95% · department publications page
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition, effective Dec 31, 2023 95% · department publications page
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), National Electrical Code 2020, and Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Edition (2023), plus 'any applicable city ordinances or state laws in effect at the time of application' 90% · department checklist page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Lakeland on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 2020 §690.12, which the City has adopted as its electrical code; no City-specific amendment to the rapid-shutdown provisions was found 75% · inference from adopted code edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No 80% · department checklist page + utility interconnection agreement, both checked with controls
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? No — neither letter height, colour nor material is specified by the City or by Lakeland Electric 80% · utility interconnection agreement, checked with controls
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? No — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Interconnection Agreement (the closest document to a DG manual) specifies only the External Disconnect Switch hardware (manual, lockable, load-break, visible, adjacent to the meter) and does not add any placard/label requirement beyond that 75% · utility program page + interconnection agreement, checked with controls
- Where must the labels be placed? Not specified as a placard — but the required External Disconnect Switch itself must be 'visible, accessible to Lakeland's employees and[,] adjacent to existing utility meter' 70% · utility interconnection agreement
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? The External Disconnect Switch must be located adjacent to the existing utility meter, and must be visible and accessible to Lakeland Electric employees 90% · utility interconnection agreement
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, per the utility — Lakeland Electric requires UL 1741-listed inverters, UL 1703-listed PV modules, and UL 1642-listed ESS batteries as a condition of interconnection. No separate City-maintained 'approved equipment list' was found 75% · utility interconnection agreement
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, under Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement — ESS is covered in the same agreement as PV ('Photovoltaic Generator and/or an Energy Storage System'), must be UL 1642-listed, and is combined into the same Tier size classification as the PV array. No City-specific fire-code ESS conditions (e.g. NFPA 855 siting) were found on the pages checked 65% · utility interconnection agreement
20 questions answered against City of Lakeland’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection FAQ: 'As of June 1, 2026, the current codes in use are the Florida Building Code 8th Edition 2023, the National Electrical Code 2020, and the Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Edition 2023.' Stated directly, not inferred from the FBC cycle
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherSame FAQ sentence, and the Helpful Links & Publications page lists all eight FBC 8th Edition (2023) volumes (Building, Residential, Existing Building, Plumbing, Mechanical, Fuel Gas, Energy Conservation, Accessibility)
department publications page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/helpful-links-publications/
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition, effective Dec 31, 2023
Why the confidence is not higherSame FAQ sentence; also listed by name on the Helpful Links & Publications page
department publications page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/helpful-links-publications/
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Inspection FAQ and Helpful Links & Publications page list the adopted state code editions (FBC 8th Ed. 2023, NEC 2020, FL Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. 2023) but do not state whether the City has adopted local amendments to any of them; no local-amendments ordinance/schedule was found on the Building Inspection pages, and the Land Development Code (where such amendments would likely sit) was inaccessible via Municode (Cloudflare-blocked)
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023), National Electrical Code 2020, and Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Edition (2023), plus 'any applicable city ordinances or state laws in effect at the time of application'
Why the confidence is not higherSolar checklist states plans 'must be compliant with the current Florida Building Code, National Electrical Code, Florida Fire Prevention Code and any applicable city ordinances or state laws in effect at the time of application'
department checklist page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and fee schedule — no rule on service-upgrade or busbar sizing found; Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement addresses transformer-bank/service-cable capacity (90% threshold triggers customer-paid upgrades) but that is a utility interconnection cost allocation, not an AHJ electrical-installation rule
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist — requires a generic 'structural plan' and 'array and module plan' but specifies no mounting-system brand, attachment type, or spacing requirement of its own
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedHelpful Links & Publications page (names the Florida Fire Prevention Code 8th Ed. edition only, not its text) and the solar checklist — no ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway figures stated anywhere on the Building Inspection pages checked; would likely sit in the Fire Prevention Code / NFPA 1 §605.11 text itself, which I did not obtain a copy of
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Rapid shutdown is required under NEC 2020 §690.12, which the City has adopted as its electrical code; no City-specific amendment to the rapid-shutdown provisions was found
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the confirmed 2020 NEC adoption (see q29) — NEC 2020 690.12 is the mandatory rapid-shutdown rule for that edition. No City document states 'rapid shutdown' by name; this is a code-edition inference, not a quoted local rule
inference from adopted code edition checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist and Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Interconnection Agreement, both read in full with controls (positive controls 'permit'=115 and 'inverter'=19 succeeded; fabricated control 'zzqqx'=0 on both; 'placard'/'engrav'/'decal'=0 on both). Neither document names a required placard by title (e.g. no 'DUAL POWER SOURCE' / 'RAPID SHUTDOWN' placard language of its own) — only the External Disconnect Switch hardware requirement was found (see q48)
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No
Why the confidence is not higherNeither the City's Solar Photovoltaic Permit Checklist nor Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Interconnection Agreement specifies placard wording. Controls run on both documents: positive control ('permit' = 115 hits on the checklist page; 'inverter' = 19 hits in the LE Agreement) succeeded, fabricated control ('zzqqx') scored 0 on both, and 'placard'/'engrav'/'decal' scored 0 on both; the few 'label'/'sign' hits found were unrelated (street labels on site plans, contract signature blocks)
department checklist page + utility interconnection agreement, both checked with controls checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/forms-checklists/
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — neither letter height, colour nor material is specified by the City or by Lakeland Electric
Why the confidence is not higherSame control run as q39 (0 hits for placard/engrav/decal in both documents). Lakeland Electric's only physical specification for the interconnection point is that the required External Disconnect Switch be 'manual, lockable, load break' and 'visible' and 'adjacent to' the meter — a hardware spec, not a placard/label spec
utility interconnection agreement, checked with controls checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist's 'Site Plan' item speaks to the building-permit site plan (structure outline + panel locations) but nothing on the City's pages frames this, or any other document, as an NEC 705.10 facility/directory placard; no such placard was named on either the City's or Lakeland Electric's pages
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Interconnection Agreement (the closest document to a DG manual) specifies only the External Disconnect Switch hardware (manual, lockable, load-break, visible, adjacent to the meter) and does not add any placard/label requirement beyond that
Why the confidence is not higherSame control run as q39/q40 on the LE agreement; Lakeland Electric's own Solar program page links only to this Agreement, the rate tariff, residential rates and the service-area map — no separate technical/DG-interconnection standards PDF was found
utility program page + interconnection agreement, checked with controls checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandelectric.com/programs-and-services/solar
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified as a placard — but the required External Disconnect Switch itself must be 'visible, accessible to Lakeland's employees and[,] adjacent to existing utility meter'
Why the confidence is not higherLE PV-ESS Agreement, Appendix A, 'External Disconnect Switch' clause, quoted directly. There is no separate label/placard placement rule to report since none is specified (see q39-42)
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes, per the utility — Lakeland Electric requires UL 1741-listed inverters, UL 1703-listed PV modules, and UL 1642-listed ESS batteries as a condition of interconnection. No separate City-maintained 'approved equipment list' was found
Why the confidence is not higherPV-ESS Agreement Appendix A, 'Standards and Codes' section, lists these UL/IEEE standards by number for inverters, modules and ESS
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, under Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement — ESS is covered in the same agreement as PV ('Photovoltaic Generator and/or an Energy Storage System'), must be UL 1642-listed, and is combined into the same Tier size classification as the PV array. No City-specific fire-code ESS conditions (e.g. NFPA 855 siting) were found on the pages checked
Why the confidence is not higherLE PV-ESS Agreement covers ESS throughout (Appendix A definitions, Appendix B application fields for 'ESS Name/Model', 'ESS DC Power', 'ESS location'); City's own solar checklist and fee schedule make no separate mention of batteries/ESS
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSolar checklist and fee schedule — no separate ESS/battery permit or inspection line item found; PV and ESS appear to travel under the same PV permit per the checklist and the combined LE PV-ESS Agreement, but no page states this affirmatively for permitting purposes specifically
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Checklists and FAQ pages — no statement on whether a ground-mounted array is treated as an accessory structure (setbacks, height, etc.); this would sit in the Land Development Code, which was inaccessible via Municode (Cloudflare block on library.municode.com; api.municode.com search returned 0 hits on its own positive control)
https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/land-development-code/
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
The External Disconnect Switch must be located adjacent to the existing utility meter, and must be visible and accessible to Lakeland Electric employees
Why the confidence is not higherLE PV-ESS Agreement, Appendix A: 'The load break device shall be visible, accessible to Lakeland's employees and, adjacent to existing utility meter.'
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal (iMS, 24/7), Phone (IVR automated call-in, 863-226-1519, 24/7), or Text (SelectTXT, 877-667-1720, 24/7) 95% · department page
- How much notice is required? Same-day, if requested by 6:00 am; otherwise most inspections are completed within 24 hours of the request 85% · department page
- Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Same-day scheduling is offered (cutoff 6:00 am); no AM/PM time-window option is mentioned 75% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes 85% · department FAQ page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated by default. Optional: a property owner may elect and pay for a City-registered Private Provider (FS 553.791) to perform plan review and/or inspections in lieu of City staff 70% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Lakeland on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The permit, along with all stamped/approved plans (if applicable), must be posted at the job site for the inspector 90% · department FAQ page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final (a passed final inspection shown as 'Approved'/complete on the iMS Milestone bar) — this is an alteration/addition to an existing residence, not new construction, so no separate Certificate of Occupancy is issued for the PV work itself 55% · inference from department FAQ page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/Customer — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement places the burden on the Customer (typically acting through their installer) to supply proof of the City's Final Electrical Inspection and to sign/return the Agreement before LE will approve parallel operation; LE does not state that it 'pulls' this information itself 70% · utility interconnection agreement
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $31.50 (general re-inspection fee; no PV-specific re-inspection line was found) 65% · fee schedule page
- How are corrections issued and cleared? For Express-permit types: email a completed Revision/Correction form to the Building Inspection Division. For plan-reviewed permits (which residential PV is, per the checklist): upload a revision narrative plus revised/corrected plan sheets to ePlan ProjectDox 75% · department FAQ page
14 questions answered against City of Lakeland’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal (iMS, 24/7), Phone (IVR automated call-in, 863-226-1519, 24/7), or Text (SelectTXT, 877-667-1720, 24/7)
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling & Requirements page lists all three methods by name with the numbers given
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/inspection-scheduling/
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Same-day, if requested by 6:00 am; otherwise most inspections are completed within 24 hours of the request
Why the confidence is not higherInspection Scheduling page: 'Most inspections are completed within 24 hours of the request... Same-day inspection scheduling is available until 6:00 am' (stated three times, once per channel)
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/inspection-scheduling/
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Same-day scheduling is offered (cutoff 6:00 am); no AM/PM time-window option is mentioned
Why the confidence is not higherSame page as q50; no AM/PM window language appears anywhere on the Inspection Scheduling page
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/inspection-scheduling/
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding Inspection FAQ: the Division 'review[s] and approve[s] building plans, issue[s] permits, and conduct[s] inspections on residential and commercial construction projects within the city limits of Lakeland.' An owner may instead opt into the FS 553.791 private-provider route at their own expense, but that is an owner election, not a standing delegation
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated by default. Optional: a property owner may elect and pay for a City-registered Private Provider (FS 553.791) to perform plan review and/or inspections in lieu of City staff
Why the confidence is not higherPrivate Provider Information page: 'Florida Statute 553.791 allows for a property owner to use private providers for plan review and/or inspections in lieu of the municipal building department personnel... Property owners that opt for Private Provider services must pay for those services independently'
department page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/private-provider-information/
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ and Inspection Scheduling pages describe how to schedule inspections and that 'the permit and inspection list' appear in iMS's Files section once issued, but no page lists the actual named inspection stages/sequence for a PV permit (e.g. rough-in vs. final)
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as q54 — no mention of a rough-in or mid-roof inspection requirement specific to PV, or generally
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFAQ, forms-checklists, and inspection-scheduling pages — none state that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings as part of the final inspection; this is standard NEC/inspector practice but I found no City document that says so in terms
https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedForms & Checklists page contains a submittal (pre-permit) checklist for solar but I found no separate published inspection checklist (a document an inspector works from) anywhere on the Building Inspection section of the site
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The permit, along with all stamped/approved plans (if applicable), must be posted at the job site for the inspector
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'Do I need to have any documents available for the inspector? Yes, the permit along with all stamped approved plans (if applicable) must be posted at the job site for the inspector.'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$31.50 (general re-inspection fee; no PV-specific re-inspection line was found)
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule lists 'Re-inspection fee $31.50' as a general Miscellaneous/Electrical line item; not stated as PV-specific but no separate solar re-inspection fee exists on the schedule
fee schedule page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/permit-fees/
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
For Express-permit types: email a completed Revision/Correction form to the Building Inspection Division. For plan-reviewed permits (which residential PV is, per the checklist): upload a revision narrative plus revised/corrected plan sheets to ePlan ProjectDox
Why the confidence is not higherFAQ: 'I have an issued permit, but I need to make a change to my project/plans. How can I submit a revision?' answered exactly this way for both permit types
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final (a passed final inspection shown as 'Approved'/complete on the iMS Milestone bar) — this is an alteration/addition to an existing residence, not new construction, so no separate Certificate of Occupancy is issued for the PV work itself
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the general iMS milestone/status description in the FAQ ('the blue Milestone bar... will show the status as Issued' and later stages); no page states in terms what document/tag is issued specifically on passing a PV final inspection
inference from department FAQ page checked 2026-09-11 https://www.lakelandgov.net/departments/community-economic-development/building-inspection/faqs/
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/Customer — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Agreement places the burden on the Customer (typically acting through their installer) to supply proof of the City's Final Electrical Inspection and to sign/return the Agreement before LE will approve parallel operation; LE does not state that it 'pulls' this information itself
Why the confidence is not higherPV-ESS Agreement clause 2: 'The Customer provides written documentation that it has had a Final Electrical Inspection...' places the action with the Customer
utility interconnection agreement checked 2026-09-11 https://cdn.kubra.com/a/lakelandelectric/assets-docs/LE%20Photovoltaic%20(PV)%20Agreement%20(ALL%20TIERS).pdf
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 80%
No
Size, colour & material 80%
No — neither letter height, colour nor material is specified by the City or by Lakeland Electric
Where they go 70%
Not specified as a placard — but the required External Disconnect Switch itself must be 'visible, accessible to Lakeland's employees and[,] adjacent to existing utility meter'
What the utility wants on top 75%
No — Lakeland Electric's PV-ESS Interconnection Agreement (the closest document to a DG manual) specifies only the External Disconnect Switch hardware (manual, lockable, load-break, visible, adjacent to the meter) and does not add any placard/label requirement beyond that
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.