City of Largo
City of Largo
Pinellas County
City of Largo is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 82,485 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Largo against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Largo is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, performed in-house by the City's own Building Division (no third-party contract firm found in staff email domains or the FY building-permit-utilization report)
- Overridden by
- State floors and preemptions apply on top of the City's own process: FS 163.04 bars any city ordinance or HOA/deed restriction from prohibiting solar collectors (HOA may only control roof placement/orientation); HB 803 (2026, eff. 1 Jul 2026) rewrites FS 553.79(1)(c) (1-year permit validity for a municipality-issued single-family permit) and FS 553.792 (5-business-day review for existing single-family electrical work under $15,000, else 30 business days) and adds a $7,500 no-permit exemption that explicitly EXCLUDES electrical work — so it cannot be used to skip a solar permit; FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 sets a state-floor interconnection/net-metering sequence and equipment-listing requirement for the investor-owned utility.
- Why not higher
- The City runs its own Building Division under the Community Development Department (largo.com/building_services/), with its own fee schedule, own LCAP/EnerGov portal, and its own named inspection staff (Inspector Directory lists 'Daniel Johnson', 'Jeff Blakey', an 'Assistant Building Official' line, all on City extensions) — not a CGA/CAP-Government style contract shown anywhere in the pages, forms, or the FY25 Building Permit and Inspection Utilization Report (which reports $1,814,800 in personnel costs, i.e. City employees, not a vendor invoice line). Pinellas County's own building-services page (pinellas.gov/building-services, redirects from www.pinellas.gov/building-services/) is a separate department with its own Accela portal reference; nothing on either site indicates the County permits inside Largo's incorporated limits. Deduction from 95: I could not pull the County's own explicit list of municipalities it permits for (the brief's suggested list) because Pinellas' page is a heavy Accela/JS shell and I relied on the absence of any Largo-County cross-reference instead of a positive county-side list naming Largo as NOT served.
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required92%
- Permit cost
- Valuation-based, no PV-specific flat fee: $50 flat for jobs valued $0–$1,000; $100 for $1,001–$12,000;88%
- Plan review
- Initial completeness acceptance ~1–2 business days; first substantive review typically 10–14 business days; resubmittals another 10–14 business days.85%
- Portal
- Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service instance at cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net95%
- Electrical code
- Most likely 2020 NEC (as incorporated by reference into the 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, Chapter 27/35), but the City's own pages never name an NEC edition50%
- Own placard wording
- No — I found no City-specified placard wording for PV anywhere on largo.com62%
- Booking an inspection
- Portal — through LCAP (all inspections except Infrastructure permits)92%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes, a permit is required Q3 Electrical and building permits — Either — solar is grouped under the City's 'Mechanical, Electrical & Plumbing' permit type (an Electrical permit in LCAP), Q4 Plan review — Initial completeness acceptance ~1–2 business days; first substantive review typically 10–14 business days; resubmittals another 10–14 business days. Q18 Where you file — Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service instance at cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net Q20
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required92% source
- What it costs
- Valuation-based, no PV-specific flat fee: $50 flat for jobs valued $0–$1,000; $100 for $1,001–$12,000;88% source
- Plan review turnaround
- Initial completeness acceptance ~1–2 business days; first substantive review typically 10–14 business days; resubmittals another 10–14 business days. The City states it does not offer expedited review85% source
- Key document
- department FAQ page cited by 9 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — the City of Largo Building Division is the AHJ for residential solar within Largo's corporate limits 92% · department FAQ page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both — Building and Electrical are permitted and inspected in-house; Planning/Zoning and Fire plan review route separately within the City for projects that need them 88% · department FAQ page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes, a permit is required 92% · City permit-exemption handout (undated internally, filename/content reflect HB 803 effective 1 Jul 2026)
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Either — solar is grouped under the City's 'Mechanical, Electrical & Plumbing' permit type (an Electrical permit in LCAP), but a roof-mount racking attachment can also trigger a Building permit component 55% · department permit-types page
- Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? No HOA/architectural approval can block the installation outright — FS 163.04 bars any deed restriction, covenant, or HOA-type entity from prohibiting solar collectors; an HOA may only dictate roof placement/orientation (south-facing ±45°) if doing so doesn't impair performance 80% · Florida Statutes, current chapter text
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Either — a licensed electrical contractor registered with the City, or the homeowner as owner-builder 75% · department FAQ page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 92% · department page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes 78% · department FAQ page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? An online LCAP application plus plans/specifications; the City accepts only electronically submitted plans bearing a valid digital signature and digital seal — 'Plans with wet signatures, scanned signatures, handwritten signatures, or non-digital seals are not accepted.' No PV-specific checklist is published (see not_found) 55% · department FAQ page
- How many copies, and in what format? Digital only, through LCAP — one electronically signed and sealed PDF set; no hard copies or wet seals are accepted 88% · department FAQ page
- Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Not stated as a fixed valuation/size threshold; the City says only that 'engineering calculations' are required 'as applicable' depending on project scope 45% · department FAQ page
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service instance at cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net 95% · portal landing page, confirmed via City's own redirect
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 85% · department FAQ page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? Valuation-based, no PV-specific flat fee: $50 flat for jobs valued $0–$1,000; $100 for $1,001–$12,000; then $10.00/$1,000 (or fraction) up to $100,000, sliding down to $7.00/$1,000 above $20,000,001 — plus a 30% plan-review fee, a 5% engineering review fee where applicable, and mandatory state surcharges (FS 468.631 1.5% min $2, FS 553.721 1% min $2) 88% · City fee schedule PDF, masthead 'Updated 04/19/23'
- How is the fee calculated? Valuation 90% · City fee schedule PDF
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes — 30% of the permit fee, due at time of application 90% · City fee schedule PDF
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Initial completeness acceptance ~1–2 business days; first substantive review typically 10–14 business days; resubmittals another 10–14 business days. The City states it does not offer expedited review 85% · department FAQ page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? The City does not publish its own permit-validity period on any page I could find. The applicable statutory floor as of 1 Jul 2026 (FS 553.79(1)(c), added by HB 803) is that a municipality-issued single-family-dwelling building permit expires 1 year after issuance or on the effective date of the next FBC edition, whichever is later 60% · enrolled bill text (HB 803, 2026, Section 9 amending FS 553.79)
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Duke Energy Florida 68% · City utility billing page (by omission) + regional utility-territory knowledge
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Parallel with a gate: the utility interconnection application/agreement can proceed alongside the building/electrical permit, but the state floor requires the system be inspected and approved by local code officials BEFORE the utility allows parallel operation 80% · Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065 (F.A.C., last substantively amended 4-7-08)
28 questions answered against City of Largo’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — the City of Largo Building Division is the AHJ for residential solar within Largo's corporate limits
Why the confidence is not higherCity runs its own building_services department, fee schedule, and LCAP portal; permits_faq.php tells applicants to check the Property Appraiser's 'Current Tax District' for 'LARGO(LA)' to confirm the address is in the City's jurisdiction, implying the City — not the County — is the permitting authority for in-city addresses
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both — Building and Electrical are permitted and inspected in-house; Planning/Zoning and Fire plan review route separately within the City for projects that need them
Why the confidence is not higherpermits_faq.php: 'depending on the type, [a permit] may go back to one of five divisions for review: Building, Planning, Fire, Engineering, and Landscape'; the FY25 utilization report and inspector directory show City staff performing the work directly, not a delegated third party
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, a permit is required
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's two 'Work Exempt from (Building) Permits' handouts (2026-dated text and a separately-filed 'Work Exempt from Permits' PDF revised 03/25/2026) list every exemption and neither lists solar or photovoltaic; the newer document explicitly states its own HB 803 $7,500 no-permit exemption 'does not include ... electrical ... work' — and a PV system is permitted as electrical work, so it can never qualify for even that exemption. Controls in the same documents: positive control 'electrical' appears (in the HB803 exclusion clause and the like-for-like receptacle exemption), fabricated control 'zzqqx' returns nothing, confirming the search/read was sound
City permit-exemption handout (undated internally, filename/content reflect HB 803 effective 1 Jul 2026) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Community%20Development/Building/Applications%20%26%20Forms/Exempt%20from%20Permits%202026.pdf?t=202607201527170
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Either — solar is grouped under the City's 'Mechanical, Electrical & Plumbing' permit type (an Electrical permit in LCAP), but a roof-mount racking attachment can also trigger a Building permit component
Why the confidence is not higherpermit_types.php lists 'Mechanical, Electrical & Plumbing' as one permit-type heading with no separate PV line; LCAP's contractor registration flow has applicants 'search for your contractor type (e.g., Electrical Contractor)'. No City document states outright whether a roof PV job is single-permit or dual-permit
department permit-types page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permit_types.php
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Either — a licensed electrical contractor registered with the City, or the homeowner as owner-builder
Why the confidence is not higherpermits_faq.php: 'Can an owner act as their own contractor? Yes' (with the standard FL owner-occupied, non-rental, self-performed conditions and a Homeowner Builder Affidavit); LCAP registration flow lists 'Electrical Contractor' as a licensable trade type
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not highercontractor_registration.php: 'Contractors must be registered to work in the City of Largo' before applying, submitted through LCAP with State License, local Business Tax Receipt, Certificate of Insurance, and PCCLB card; permits_faq.php repeats 'They must register with the City of Largo prior to submitting for a permit'
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/contractor_registration.php
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherpermits_faq.php: an owner may act as their own contractor if the property is owned in the owner's own name (not an LLC), not for rent/sale within a year, and the owner does or supervises the work, accompanied by a signed Homeowner Builder Affidavit. Not solar-specific — it is the City's general owner-builder policy
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
An online LCAP application plus plans/specifications; the City accepts only electronically submitted plans bearing a valid digital signature and digital seal — 'Plans with wet signatures, scanned signatures, handwritten signatures, or non-digital seals are not accepted.' No PV-specific checklist is published (see not_found)
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral electrical-permit submittal rule from permits_faq.php, not a PV-specific checklist — the City's own 'Permit Types' page groups solar under general Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing without a distinct document list
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Digital only, through LCAP — one electronically signed and sealed PDF set; no hard copies or wet seals are accepted
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from permits_faq.php: 'No. The City does not require or accept hard copies with wet seals. We accept only electronically submitted plans that contain a valid digital signature and digital seal'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedpermit_types.php, permits.php, permits_faq.php, and the full 35-document 'Building Services' document-center category (Building Permit Applications & Forms sub-category, 17 docs) — none describes a site-plan requirement specific to a rooftop or ground-mount PV system
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full document sweep as Q10 plus the OCR'd LCAP Permit Application Guide (14-page walkthrough, no PV screens shown) — no mention of a one-line/three-line diagram requirement
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep as Q10/11 — no mention of string or conductor calculations
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Not stated as a fixed valuation/size threshold; the City says only that 'engineering calculations' are required 'as applicable' depending on project scope
Why the confidence is not higherpermits_faq.php: 'Are additional supporting documents required (COMcheck, energy calculations, etc.)? Yes, as applicable. Supporting documents may include ... engineering calculations ... depending on project scope' — no numeric threshold given anywhere I found
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedpermits_faq.php's general engineering-calculation answer ('as applicable') and the permit fee schedule's 5% Engineering Review Fee line — neither gives an electrical PE-stamp threshold
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Valuation-based, no PV-specific flat fee: $50 flat for jobs valued $0–$1,000; $100 for $1,001–$12,000; then $10.00/$1,000 (or fraction) up to $100,000, sliding down to $7.00/$1,000 above $20,000,001 — plus a 30% plan-review fee, a 5% engineering review fee where applicable, and mandatory state surcharges (FS 468.631 1.5% min $2, FS 553.721 1% min $2)
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from the City's Permit Fees schedule, internally dated 'Updated 04/19/23' (masthead checked, not just the filename); the document points to 'Code of Ordinances No. 2023-30' as the fee ordinance of record. No PV-specific line item exists — confirmed by reading the full one-page schedule, which is entirely a valuation table plus flat surcharge lines
City fee schedule PDF, masthead 'Updated 04/19/23' checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Permit%20Fees%202023.pdf?t=202405161943250
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Valuation
Why the confidence is not higherSame fee schedule: fee tiers keyed entirely to 'TOTAL VALUATION' bands using ICC Building Valuation Data, with no per-kW or per-panel line for PV
City fee schedule PDF checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Permit%20Fees%202023.pdf?t=202405161943250
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes — 30% of the permit fee, due at time of application
Why the confidence is not higherFee schedule line 'PLAN REVIEW FEE — 30% of permit fee. Paid at time of application'
City fee schedule PDF checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Permit%20Fees%202023.pdf?t=202405161943250
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Initial completeness acceptance ~1–2 business days; first substantive review typically 10–14 business days; resubmittals another 10–14 business days. The City states it does not offer expedited review
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote from permits_faq.php. Note for context (not part of the City's own claim): FL HB 803 (eff. 1 Jul 2026) caps municipal review of an existing single-family electrical permit at 5 business days if valued under $15,000, else 30 business days for structures under 7,500 sq ft — most residential PV jobs exceed $15,000 and a single-family home is under 7,500 sq ft, so the City's stated 10–14 days sits inside, not in violation of, that 30-day statutory cap
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
The City does not publish its own permit-validity period on any page I could find. The applicable statutory floor as of 1 Jul 2026 (FS 553.79(1)(c), added by HB 803) is that a municipality-issued single-family-dwelling building permit expires 1 year after issuance or on the effective date of the next FBC edition, whichever is later
Why the confidence is not higherSearched building_services/index.php, permits.php, permit_types.php, permits_faq.php and both exemption PDFs — none states a validity/expiration period in days. Value given is the state-law floor from the enrolled bill text, not a City statement
enrolled bill text (HB 803, 2026, Section 9 amending FS 553.79) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2026/803/BillText/er/PDF
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP) — a Tyler Technologies EnerGov Citizen Self Service instance at cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net
Why the confidence is not higherlargo.com/LCAP redirects (301) to https://cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home; permits_faq.php names it 'Tyler Enterprise Permitting & Licensing/Civic Access Portal'
portal landing page, confirmed via City's own redirect checked 2026-09-12 https://cityoflargofl-energovweb.tylerhost.net/apps/selfservice#/home
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherSubmittal, contractor registration/renewal, subcontractor addition, plan revisions, and inspection scheduling are all described as done through LCAP; the City states it accepts only electronic plan submittal ('does not require or accept hard copies')
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Duke Energy Florida
Why the confidence is not higherLargo's own Utility Rates & Billing page covers only water, sewer, reclaimed water and stormwater — no electric line item — consistent with the City not being the electric provider and an investor-owned utility serving the area directly. Duke Energy Florida is the long-standing investor-owned electric utility for Pinellas County (successor to Progress Energy Florida/Florida Power Corp). I could not confirm this from Duke's own site: every Duke territory/interconnection URL I tried (duke-energy.com/home/billing/net-metering, duke-energy.com/our-company/about-us/service-territory) returned a branded 404, matching prior runs' experience that duke-energy.com is broadly unreachable. Marked down accordingly — this is elimination plus general-knowledge inference, not a document that names Largo
City utility billing page (by omission) + regional utility-territory knowledge checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/financial_center/utility_rates_and_billing.php
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Parallel with a gate: the utility interconnection application/agreement can proceed alongside the building/electrical permit, but the state floor requires the system be inspected and approved by local code officials BEFORE the utility allows parallel operation
Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(a): the investor-owned utility's Standard Interconnection Agreement must require that 'customer-owned renewable generation must be inspected and approved by local code officials prior to its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility.' This is the state floor for all FL investor-owned utilities including Duke Energy Florida; I could not reach Duke's own DG manual to confirm Duke states the same sequence in its own document (site unreachable — see Q22)
Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065 (F.A.C., last substantively amended 4-7-08) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
No HOA/architectural approval can block the installation outright — FS 163.04 bars any deed restriction, covenant, or HOA-type entity from prohibiting solar collectors; an HOA may only dictate roof placement/orientation (south-facing ±45°) if doing so doesn't impair performance
Why the confidence is not higherVerbatim from FS 163.04(1)-(2), state law that overrides any local/HOA rule to the contrary. Not a Largo-specific document — this is the statewide floor, which is what actually controls here since the City's own zoning code (Comprehensive Development Code on Municode) was not accessible (see not_found)
Florida Statutes, current chapter text checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0100-0199/0163/Sections/0163.04.html
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedWanted the Comprehensive Development Code (historic-district overlay chapter) linked from building_services/permits.php and forms/index.php, both pointing to library.municode.com/fl/largo/codes/comprehensive_development_code. library.municode.com/robots.txt carries 'User-agent: ClaudeBot / Disallow: /', so per instructions I did not fetch it
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode disallow as Q25 blocks the zoning/wind-overlay text; the City's own building pages mention only the general Florida Product Approval system (for roofing/windows), never a PV-specific wind certification
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode disallow as Q25/26 blocks any Special Use Permit/Council-approval provision specific to solar
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Municode disallow blocks the zoning code's residential-generation size cap, if any exists; note FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 sets a utility-interconnection Tier 1 cutoff at 10 kW AC gross power rating, but that is an interconnection tier, not a City zoning cap
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? Most likely 2020 NEC (as incorporated by reference into the 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, Chapter 27/35), but the City's own pages never name an NEC edition 50% · absence across every City document checked, cross-referenced against statewide FBC/NEC pairing
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 95% · department FAQ page
- Which fire code edition is in force? The 'current edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code' — the City does not publish a specific edition number on any page I found 50% · Fire Rescue plan-review page
- What is the installation judged against? The 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, including its electrical provisions (which incorporate the NEC by reference) 75% · department FAQ page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Largo on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Largo on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? No — I found no City-specified placard wording for PV anywhere on largo.com 62% · absence across full department page/document sweep with controls
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Per the state floor: a visible-load-break manual disconnect must be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket — BUT inverter-based Tier 1 systems (≤10 kW AC, i.e. almost all residential rooftop PV) are exempt from this specific utility-required switch unless the utility itself pays to install it. NEC-driven disconnect/rapid-shutdown requirements at the service equipment are separate and not addressed by any City document I found 70% · Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Yes, at the interconnection-equipment level: customer-owned renewable generation equipment must be submitted by its manufacturer to a nationally recognized testing/certification laboratory and listed for continuous interactive operation (UL 1741 / IEEE 1547 compliance) before the utility will interconnect it 75% · Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065
20 questions answered against City of Largo’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Most likely 2020 NEC (as incorporated by reference into the 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, Chapter 27/35), but the City's own pages never name an NEC edition
Why the confidence is not higherChecked building_services_permit_types.php, permits_faq.php, contractor_registration.php, the LCAP Permit Application Guide PDF (OCR'd, no hit), and every 'Building Services' document-center form — none names NFPA 70 or an NEC year. The 2020 figure rests entirely on the well-established statewide pattern (FBC 8th Ed. (2023) pairs with 2020 NEC) documented elsewhere for this county (e.g. Clearwater's Codes Enforced page), not on a Largo-specific statement. Held below 60 because this is inference from a comparable authority, exactly the caution the brief raises
absence across every City document checked, cross-referenced against statewide FBC/NEC pairing checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote, permits_faq.php: 'What are the current building codes? The City currently enforces the 8th Edition Florida Building Code (2023) and applicable Florida Fire Prevention Code'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
The 'current edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code' — the City does not publish a specific edition number on any page I found
Why the confidence is not higherlargo_fire_rescue/plan_review.php: 'all structures regulated under the current edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code' and 'Current edition of the Florida Fire Prevention Code (FFPC) and all applicable code references within chapter two of the FFPC' — both instances use 'current edition' with no year/edition number given
Fire Rescue plan-review page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/largo_fire_rescue/plan_review.php
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedpermits_faq.php and the adopting-ordinance references on largo.com; found only that the City 'enforces the 8th Edition (2023) FBC' and 'applicable FFPC' with no statement of whether local amendments exist. Comprehensive Development Code / Code of Ordinances chapters that might hold local amendments sit on library.municode.com, disallowed to ClaudeBot
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
The 8th Edition (2023) Florida Building Code, including its electrical provisions (which incorporate the NEC by reference)
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from Q30's direct FAQ statement; no separate document states 'installations are judged against' language specifically for electrical/PV work
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full Building Services sweep as Q10 — no local rule on service-panel/busbar sizing for PV found
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep — no mounting-system/attachment-spacing rule published; would likely sit in Municode's building-code-amendment chapter (disallowed)
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedlargo_fire_rescue pages (plan_review.php, fire_inspections.php, faqs.php, services_provided.php) and the Fire Plan Review fee page — none states a ridge-setback or access-pathway figure for rooftop PV
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame full Building Services and Fire Rescue sweep — 'rapid shutdown' never appears on any largo.com page I fetched, including the OCR'd LCAP guide and Inspection List
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep as Q39 — no City-specified placard/label list at the service equipment; Duke Energy Florida's own DG interconnection manual, which would be the other place this could be specified, returned a 404 on every URL I tried
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
No — I found no City-specified placard wording for PV anywhere on largo.com
Why the confidence is not higherSwept every Building Services page (index, permits, permit_types, permits_faq, contractor_registration, inspections, private_provider_information, permit-utilization-report), the 35-document 'Building Services' document-center category, and the Fire Rescue pages (index, services_provided, plan_review, take-charge, fire_inspections, faqs) for 'solar', 'photovoltaic', 'placard'. Positive control 'electrical' hits repeatedly across these same pages; fabricated control 'zzqqx' and a Wayback CDX site-wide query for 'photovoltaic' both return zero. No dedicated PV packet exists to carry placard wording
absence across full department page/document sweep with controls checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permit_types.php
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep — no letter-height/colour/material spec found anywhere on largo.com
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep — no facility-map/site-plan placard requirement found beyond the generic NEC 705.10 baseline, which the City does not restate locally
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedAttempted duke-energy.com/home/billing/net-metering and duke-energy.com/our-company/about-us/service-territory — both returned HTTP 404 (branded 'Page not found', React app shell) to a standard browser UA fetch; FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 covers the manual disconnect switch (used for Q48) but does not itself specify placard content
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame sweep as Q38/40/41 — no label-placement instruction found on any City page
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Yes, at the interconnection-equipment level: customer-owned renewable generation equipment must be submitted by its manufacturer to a nationally recognized testing/certification laboratory and listed for continuous interactive operation (UL 1741 / IEEE 1547 compliance) before the utility will interconnect it
Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(3) and (4)(b) — a state floor binding on Duke Energy Florida as an investor-owned utility, not a City-specific listing requirement; the City publishes no separate equipment-approval list
Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedlargo_fire_rescue's Lithium-Ion Battery Safety / 'Take C.H.A.R.G.E.' page is consumer safety education about portable devices and e-bikes, not a residential ESS/home-battery permitting policy; no permit-side battery/ESS rule found anywhere in Building Services pages or the Inspection List
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe 2018-dated (but currently linked) Permit Inspection List was OCR'd in full (7 pages) — it has no battery/ESS/energy-storage inspection code (only unrelated 'HAZARDOUS GASEOUS/LIQUID STORAGE DISPENSING' codes 350-352), consistent with no separate ESS permit type existing as of that list's vintage
https://www.largo.com/Inspection%20List.pdf?t=202405161815100
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedComprehensive Development Code accessory-structure provisions, which would classify a ground-mount PV array, sit on library.municode.com, disallowed to ClaudeBot
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Per the state floor: a visible-load-break manual disconnect must be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket — BUT inverter-based Tier 1 systems (≤10 kW AC, i.e. almost all residential rooftop PV) are exempt from this specific utility-required switch unless the utility itself pays to install it. NEC-driven disconnect/rapid-shutdown requirements at the service equipment are separate and not addressed by any City document I found
Why the confidence is not higherFL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a): exact language as summarized; this is Duke Energy Florida's regulatory floor as an IOU, since Duke's own DG interconnection manual was unreachable (see Q22 note)
Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Portal — through LCAP (all inspections except Infrastructure permits) 92% · department inspections page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes — the City performs its own final solar/electrical inspections; not delegated 88% · department staff directory page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; performed by City of Largo Building Division staff 85% · department staff directory page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
- Which inspections are required, and in what order? The City's Permit Inspection List enumerates dedicated PV codes: 'PHOTO-VOLTAIC PANEL' (code 151), 'SOLAR FINAL INSPECTION' (code 991), and 'SOLAR FINAL RE-INSPECTION' (code 990), alongside the general 'FINAL ELECTRIC' (901) and 'FINAL BUILDING' (997) codes used for other trades 70% · City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF (internal date stamp: 3 Apr 2018), OCR-extracted
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- Is there a published inspection checklist? Yes — a City-published Permit Inspection List names every inspection type/code used, including the PV-specific ones 68% · City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF, OCR-extracted
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? Final — the Inspection List shows 'FINAL ELECTRIC' (901) and 'SOLAR FINAL INSPECTION' (991) as the pass milestones for a PV retrofit; a residential PV retrofit on an existing home would not typically receive a new Certificate of Occupancy 65% · City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF, OCR-extracted
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/customer — the customer (or their contractor as agent) must execute the utility's Standard Interconnection Agreement and notify the utility before beginning parallel operation; no City document assigns this role to the Building Division 50% · Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $75 for a first red-tagged re-inspection; if a second re-inspection is needed for the same code violation, the fee doubles, capped at $300 maximum 90% · department FAQ page
- How are corrections issued and cleared? A failed inspection is 'red-tagged' when work isn't ready or a requirement (e.g. an affidavit) is missing; corrections/documentation are then uploaded to the record in LCAP and a re-inspection is scheduled through the portal, subject to the $75/$300 re-inspection fee schedule 68% · department FAQ page
14 questions answered against City of Largo’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Portal — through LCAP (all inspections except Infrastructure permits)
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote, building_services/inspections.php: 'Inspections are scheduled through the Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP)'; permits_faq.php: 'All inspections (except Infrastructure permits) will be scheduled through the Largo Civic Access Portal (LCAP)'
department inspections page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/inspections.php
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedinspections.php and permits_faq.php's inspection-scheduling answer describe only the LCAP scheduling mechanism, not a minimum-notice figure
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages as Q50 — no mention of same-day booking or AM/PM windows
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes — the City performs its own final solar/electrical inspections; not delegated
Why the confidence is not higherInspector Directory lists named City staff by trade/extension (e.g. 'Daniel Johnson' — Engineering, 'Jeff Blakey' — Landscape, an 'Assistant Building Official' line) rather than a third-party contract firm; the FY25 Utilization Report shows $1,814,800 in personnel costs (in-house employees) with no vendor named anywhere on the Building Services pages, unlike some other FL cities that contract to CGA/CAP Government
department staff directory page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/inspector_directory/index.php
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; performed by City of Largo Building Division staff
Why the confidence is not higherSame evidence as Q52 — no delegation found anywhere in the Building Services pages, forms, or the utilization report
department staff directory page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/inspector_directory/index.php
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
The City's Permit Inspection List enumerates dedicated PV codes: 'PHOTO-VOLTAIC PANEL' (code 151), 'SOLAR FINAL INSPECTION' (code 991), and 'SOLAR FINAL RE-INSPECTION' (code 990), alongside the general 'FINAL ELECTRIC' (901) and 'FINAL BUILDING' (997) codes used for other trades
Why the confidence is not higherOCR'd from the City's own 'Permit Inspection List' PDF (image-based, no text layer — pdffonts showed zero embedded fonts, so I rendered each of the 7 pages to PNG at 200dpi and ran tesseract; positive control 'electrical'-family terms and dozens of other inspection names OCR'd cleanly around the solar entries). The document itself carries an internal page-footer stamp reading 'Tuesday, April 3, 2018' — it is old but is the current file linked live from the 'Building Permit Applications & Forms' document-center category with no newer version findable, and code 151/990/991 match the numbering style still used by other codes on the same sheet, so I treat it as still representative of current LCAP inspection-type naming rather than superseded
City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF (internal date stamp: 3 Apr 2018), OCR-extracted checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Inspection%20List.pdf?t=202405161815100
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe Inspection List shows a distinct 'PHOTO-VOLTAIC PANEL' code (151) separate from 'SOLAR FINAL INSPECTION' (991)/'SOLAR FINAL RE-INSPECTION' (990), which suggests a rough/mounting-stage inspection may exist, but no City document states the required sequence or labels code 151 as mandatory rough-in versus optional
https://www.largo.com/Inspection%20List.pdf?t=202405161815100
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedpermits_faq.php and inspections.php — neither states whether the inspector specifically verifies equipment labels/listings at a solar final; this is asserted general practice in many jurisdictions but not documented here
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Yes — a City-published Permit Inspection List names every inspection type/code used, including the PV-specific ones
Why the confidence is not higherSame document as Q54; it is a flat list of inspection names and codes rather than a step-by-step 'what the inspector checks' checklist, and it is dated 2018 internally though still linked live
City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF, OCR-extracted checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Inspection%20List.pdf?t=202405161815100
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedThe City documents on-site requirements for roofing (Roofing Nailing Affidavit) and general Notice of Commencement, but nothing PV-specific about what must be on site at a solar inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$75 for a first red-tagged re-inspection; if a second re-inspection is needed for the same code violation, the fee doubles, capped at $300 maximum
Why the confidence is not higherDirect quote, permits_faq.php: 'Red tag inspections require a $75 fee to be paid before another inspection is called in. If a re-inspection was added for the same noted code violation. The fee will be double the previous amount, up to $300 (max)'
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
A failed inspection is 'red-tagged' when work isn't ready or a requirement (e.g. an affidavit) is missing; corrections/documentation are then uploaded to the record in LCAP and a re-inspection is scheduled through the portal, subject to the $75/$300 re-inspection fee schedule
Why the confidence is not higherInferred by combining the FAQ's red-tag definition/fee with its separate description of the roofing-affidavit process ('Failure to upload the required documentation before the inspection will result in a red-tagged inspection, and a reinspection fee will be assessed') — no single City page states the correction/clearance workflow end-to-end for solar specifically
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/building_services/permits_faq.php
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Final — the Inspection List shows 'FINAL ELECTRIC' (901) and 'SOLAR FINAL INSPECTION' (991) as the pass milestones for a PV retrofit; a residential PV retrofit on an existing home would not typically receive a new Certificate of Occupancy
Why the confidence is not higherRead off the same OCR'd 2018 Inspection List; no City document states in terms what document/tag is physically issued to the homeowner on a passed solar final (e.g., a green tag vs. a portal status change) — inferred from the inspection-code naming convention only
City 'Permit Inspection List' PDF, OCR-extracted checked 2026-09-12 https://www.largo.com/Inspection%20List.pdf?t=202405161815100
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/customer — the customer (or their contractor as agent) must execute the utility's Standard Interconnection Agreement and notify the utility before beginning parallel operation; no City document assigns this role to the Building Division
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(7)(d): 'The customer must execute the Standard Interconnection Agreement and return it to the investor-owned utility ... at least 30 calendar days prior to beginning parallel operations.' This is the state-floor structure, not a Largo-specific or Duke-specific statement (Duke's own DG portal/manual was unreachable — see Q22)
Florida Administrative Code, Rule 25-6.065 checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording 62%
No — I found no City-specified placard wording for PV anywhere on largo.com
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top None%
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.