City of Milton
City of Milton
Santa Rosa County
City of Milton is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 10,197 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Milton against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Milton is not the permitting authority for residential solar here 92% confidence
- Holds
- Zoning / Unified Development Code (UDC) review and the 'City development permit' (land-use sign-off), plus sign permits, fence permits, driveway permits (non-county-road), land-disturbing permits, tree removal, historic-district Certificate of Appropriateness, and Board of Adjustment special exceptions/variances. The City does NOT issue the building or electrical permit itself. The City's own Unified Development Code, Article 3, Sec. 3.2, Table 3.2.1 'Summary of Approval Authority' lists 'Building permit' against 'Santa Rosa County Building Dept.' for ALL THREE development categories (Minor Development Activity, Major Development Activity, and Major Subdivisions/PDPs) -- the identical wording appears three times in the same table. Sec. 3.2(B)(9) confirms the sequence: 'Upon determination of compliance with the public works manual and receipt of approval by the city's Florida Life Safety Code Officer, the Planning and Development Department shall authorize the issuance of a building permit' -- i.e. the City clears zoning/UDC conformance and (for non-single-family work only) fire life-safety, and the County Building Department then issues the actual building/electrical permit. Sec. 3.6(B)(1) independently confirms this split by naming 'the county building official' as the party who cancels an expired building permit. Milton's own Chapter 12 ('Buildings and Building Regulations') contains no Florida Building Code or electrical-code adoption at all (only multi-family maintenance, unsafe buildings, and property numbering) and the City's Forms & Permits page (miltonfl.org/315) lists zoning/planning forms only (Board of Adjustment, Development Approval, Change of Use, Historic, Driveway, Fence, Land Disturbing, Sign, Temporary Use, Tree Removal) with no building or electrical permit application anywhere -- corroborating the UDC table rather than resting on it alone. The Fire Department's own Inspections/Forms/Permits page (the site the brief pointed to) independently states that a commercial change-of-occupancy 'must also be reviewed by the Santa Rosa County Building Department,' a third independent corroboration.
- Delegated to
- Santa Rosa County Building Department / Santa Rosa County Inspection Department (Building Official) -- holds Building, Electrical, Mechanical, Plumbing and Gas permitting and inspection for the incorporated City of Milton, per the City's own UDC.
- Why not higher
- This is not an inference from a county portal's silence -- it is the City's own current, codified UDC table naming the County by name three times, corroborated by the City's building-forms page carrying no building/electrical forms and by the Fire Department's own page. Confidence is not higher only because I could not reach a Santa Rosa County document that states the reciprocal fact in the county's own words (e.g. an interlocal agreement or the county's own scope statement naming Milton as one of its served municipalities) -- I looked for one and did not find it in the time available.
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required (issued by Santa Rosa County, not the City). The county's Florida Building Code chapter requires a permit for the erection, alteration,75%
- Portal
- My Government Online (MGO) -- the county's permitting software since May 2022. Milton has no permit portal of its own because it does not issue the building/electrical permit.85%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC (carried forward at reduced confidence, not verified as a standalone Milton or Santa Rosa County clause).55%
- Own placard wording
- Yes, for the battery placard: FPL specifies the exact wording 'Battery storage utilized in this facility.' For the disconnect-switch sign,80%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes, a permit is required (issued by Santa Rosa County, not the City). The county's Florida Building Code chapter requires a permit for the erection, alteration, Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate. Santa Rosa County's own permitting guidance lists Electrical as one of five distinct permit types (Electrical, Gas, Mechanical, Plumbing, Q4 Where you file — My Government Online (MGO) -- the county's permitting software since May 2022. Milton has no permit portal of its own because it does not issue the… Q20
- Permit required
- Yes, a permit is required (issued by Santa Rosa County, not the City). The county's Florida Building Code chapter requires a permit for the erection, alteration,75% source
- Key document
- department page cited by 3 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? No. The City of Milton is not the AHJ for building or electrical permitting on a residential rooftop PV job; Santa Rosa County Building Department is. The City retains only zoning/UDC development review over the same job. 92% · Unified Development Code (city ordinance)
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? City of Milton permits itself: UDC/zoning conformance review and the 'City development permit', sign permits, fence permits, driveway permits (city-maintained streets), land-disturbing permits, tree removal permits, historic-district Certificates of Appropriateness (Historic Preservation Board), and Board of Adjustment special exceptions/variances/appeals. It delegates to Santa Rosa County Building Department: the building permit and, per the county's Obtain-a-Permit page, the separate Electrical, Gas, Mechanical and Plumbing trade permits that go with it. 88% · department page (forms list)
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes, a permit is required (issued by Santa Rosa County, not the City). The county's Florida Building Code chapter requires a permit for the erection, alteration, or installation of any electrical system (Sec. 105.1), and the code's list of work exempt from permit (Sec. 105.2) does not include solar/PV or any renewable-generation carve-out. 75% · code (county Florida Building Code adoption, Ch. 1 Scope & Administration)
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate. Santa Rosa County's own permitting guidance lists Electrical as one of five distinct permit types (Electrical, Gas, Mechanical, Plumbing, Residential/commercial building), and Sebring-style 'circle the utility' style combined solar-specific permit types were not found for this county. 65% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes, a historic-district review mechanism exists (Historic Preservation Board, established under UDC Article 11.4), but it applies to 'regulated historic structures' within the City's historic district, not to every residential parcel citywide. UDC Sec. 3.2(I): the Board 'shall issue a certificate of appropriateness for renovations or alterations to regulated historic structures,' and the development approval authority 'shall require evidence of a certificate of appropriateness prior to authorizing development order or building permit approvals for historic structures.' Whether a rooftop PV array specifically triggers COA review (as opposed to only exterior-visible alterations) was not confirmed. 65% · Unified Development Code (city ordinance)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 7 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? My Government Online (MGO) -- the county's permitting software since May 2022. Milton has no permit portal of its own because it does not issue the building/electrical permit. 85% · department page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Largely yes for the permit application itself -- MGO lets an applicant create an account, apply for or search permits, and (for contractors) register a license online -- but I could not confirm whether plan documents, inspections scheduling and payment are all completed online end-to-end for a solar job specifically. 55% · department page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- Which utility handles interconnection here? Florida Power & Light (FPL), as successor to Gulf Power Company. The City of Milton does not sell electricity itself (it runs its own Natural Gas, water, wastewater and sanitation utilities, but no electric utility appears anywhere on its site). 90% · franchise ordinance (Appendix A)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Sequential and permit-gated: FPL requires the customer to complete an interconnection application and agreement, obtain a building permit, and (once construction is complete) submit proof that the local building department has electrically/mechanically signed off before FPL will install the bi-directional meter. FPL's own guidelines state: 'Operation of the renewable generation system, except for testing and inspection, prior to the installation of a new bi-directional meter is strictly prohibited.' So the AHJ's (county's) inspection sign-off comes before FPL's meter swap and before the system may be operated. 90% · utility guidelines (first-party)
28 questions answered against City of Milton’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
No. The City of Milton is not the AHJ for building or electrical permitting on a residential rooftop PV job; Santa Rosa County Building Department is. The City retains only zoning/UDC development review over the same job.
Why the confidence is not higherSee jurisdiction block -- UDC Table 3.2.1 names 'Santa Rosa County Building Dept.' as the building-permit authority for every development category, corroborated by the City's own building-forms page carrying no building/electrical forms.
Unified Development Code (city ordinance) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/milton/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_PTIIIUNDECO_ART3COADEN_3.2DUVAINBOAGADUNDECO
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
City of Milton permits itself: UDC/zoning conformance review and the 'City development permit', sign permits, fence permits, driveway permits (city-maintained streets), land-disturbing permits, tree removal permits, historic-district Certificates of Appropriateness (Historic Preservation Board), and Board of Adjustment special exceptions/variances/appeals. It delegates to Santa Rosa County Building Department: the building permit and, per the county's Obtain-a-Permit page, the separate Electrical, Gas, Mechanical and Plumbing trade permits that go with it.
Why the confidence is not higherUDC Table 3.2.1 plus the City's Forms & Permits page (which lists exactly the zoning-type forms above and nothing building/electrical) plus the County's own 'Obtain a Permit' page listing Electrical/Gas/Mechanical/Plumbing/Building as the permit types it issues.
department page (forms list) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.miltonfl.org/315/Forms-Permits
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, a permit is required (issued by Santa Rosa County, not the City). The county's Florida Building Code chapter requires a permit for the erection, alteration, or installation of any electrical system (Sec. 105.1), and the code's list of work exempt from permit (Sec. 105.2) does not include solar/PV or any renewable-generation carve-out.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral FBC permit-required and exemption-list language read at the county level; no Milton- or Santa-Rosa-specific 'solar permit required' sentence was found, so this is inference from the general rule plus the absence of an exemption, not a document that names solar by name.
code (county Florida Building Code adoption, Ch. 1 Scope & Administration) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate. Santa Rosa County's own permitting guidance lists Electrical as one of five distinct permit types (Electrical, Gas, Mechanical, Plumbing, Residential/commercial building), and Sebring-style 'circle the utility' style combined solar-specific permit types were not found for this county.
Why the confidence is not higherDrawn from the county's general 'Permitting Guidelines' page listing permit types; I did not find a solar-specific permit-type page or fee line confirming whether county issues one combined 'solar' permit number covering both trades or two separate permit numbers.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/172/Obtain-a-Permit
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSanta Rosa County FBC Ch. 1 Scope & Administration (Sec. 5-26/5-27) for a 'who may apply' clause; county Contractor Licensing page (santarosa.fl.gov/156) was found in the site's sitemap but its content was not opened this run
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty Obtain-a-Permit and Permitting & Building Compliance pages; the county's 'Local Competency Card Renewals' page title was found on the site's sitemap but not opened
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/1045/Local-Competency-Card-Renewals
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 permit-exemption list (Sec. 105.2), which lists work exempt from permit but does not address who (owner vs. licensed contractor) may pull an electrical permit
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty Obtain-a-Permit / Permitting-Building-Compliance pages; no solar-specific submittal checklist or application form was located or opened
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8 -- no county solar application PDF was located
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q8
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 administrative amendments (Sec. 5-27) read for a PE-stamp threshold; state FS 471.003(2)(h) figure not independently re-verified against a county document this run
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q13
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty Development-Services-Fee-Schedule page was found in the sitemap but not opened this run
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/1116/Development-Services-Fee-Schedule
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q15
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/1116/Development-Services-Fee-Schedule
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q15
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/1116/Development-Services-Fee-Schedule
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty Permitting & Building Compliance page mentions 'increased plan review times' generally but gives no stated turnaround time
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/170/Permitting-Building-Compliance
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 (Sec. 105) read for permit-expiration language; a generic 180-day-inspection / 90-day-abandonment definition exists but no solar-specific validity period was confirmed
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
My Government Online (MGO) -- the county's permitting software since May 2022. Milton has no permit portal of its own because it does not issue the building/electrical permit.
Why the confidence is not higherCounty's own Permitting Guidelines page states plainly: 'My Government Online is the new permitting software as of May 2022. To apply or search for permits please create an account.' No County-specific solar/PV workflow within MGO was verified in the time available.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/172/Obtain-a-Permit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Largely yes for the permit application itself -- MGO lets an applicant create an account, apply for or search permits, and (for contractors) register a license online -- but I could not confirm whether plan documents, inspections scheduling and payment are all completed online end-to-end for a solar job specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherBased only on the county's own description of MGO's account/registration workflow; I did not log into or drive the portal itself.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/172/Obtain-a-Permit
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
Florida Power & Light (FPL), as successor to Gulf Power Company. The City of Milton does not sell electricity itself (it runs its own Natural Gas, water, wastewater and sanitation utilities, but no electric utility appears anywhere on its site).
Why the confidence is not higherMilton's Code of Ordinances Appendix A, Article I is Ordinance No. 1155-04 (passed 6/8/2004), 'AN ORDINANCE GRANTING TO GULF POWER COMPANY... THE RIGHT AND FRANCHISE TO MAINTAIN AND OPERATE AN ELECTRIC PLANT... IN THE CITY OF MILTON.' Gulf Power was absorbed into Florida Power & Light in the 2021 FPL/Gulf Power merger; no separate FPL franchise ordinance superseding the 2004 grant was found (unlike Niceville's 2026 replacement), so FPL holds the franchise as Gulf Power's successor-in-interest. The City's own sitemap lists a 'Natural-Gas' public-works page but no electric-utility page, and there is no municipal electric department anywhere in the city's org chart.
franchise ordinance (Appendix A) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/milton/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_APXAFRAG_ARTIGUPOCO
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
Sequential and permit-gated: FPL requires the customer to complete an interconnection application and agreement, obtain a building permit, and (once construction is complete) submit proof that the local building department has electrically/mechanically signed off before FPL will install the bi-directional meter. FPL's own guidelines state: 'Operation of the renewable generation system, except for testing and inspection, prior to the installation of a new bi-directional meter is strictly prohibited.' So the AHJ's (county's) inspection sign-off comes before FPL's meter swap and before the system may be operated.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own current Net Metering Guidelines page, retrieved directly for this run (both the mainland fpl.com page and the /northwest/ regional page carry this identical text -- see note below).
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMilton UDC Article 3 (Sec. 3.2) and Article 11 (Historic/Resource Protection) read; no HOA/architectural-review-first requirement specific to solar was found, though the Historic Preservation Board's Certificate of Appropriateness (Sec. 3.2(I)) applies to regulated historic structures generally
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes, a historic-district review mechanism exists (Historic Preservation Board, established under UDC Article 11.4), but it applies to 'regulated historic structures' within the City's historic district, not to every residential parcel citywide. UDC Sec. 3.2(I): the Board 'shall issue a certificate of appropriateness for renovations or alterations to regulated historic structures,' and the development approval authority 'shall require evidence of a certificate of appropriateness prior to authorizing development order or building permit approvals for historic structures.' Whether a rooftop PV array specifically triggers COA review (as opposed to only exterior-visible alterations) was not confirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherUDC Sec. 3.2(I) read in full; the City's site independently confirms an active Historic District and Historic Preservation Board (miltonfl.org/491 and /351). Confidence held below 'high' because the COA trigger for solar specifically (vs. only for painting/fencing/window-type alterations, as some other Florida historic boards limit it to) was not verified against Article 11.4's own text.
Unified Development Code (city ordinance) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/milton/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_PTIIIUNDECO_ART3COADEN_3.2DUVAINBOAGADUNDECO
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSanta Rosa County LDC search for 'wind speed' / 'windstorm'; County has a 'Wind Speed Maps' page (title only, sitemap) not opened; no windstorm-certification-for-solar clause found
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMilton UDC Sec. 3.2 (Board of Adjustment / City Council special-exception authority) and County LDC Ch. 5.07.00 Conditional Uses (which does list a 'Solar Electrical Generation Facility' conditional use, but that use appears aimed at utility-scale/ground facilities in agricultural districts, not accessory residential rooftop PV -- not confirmed either way for a rooftop system)
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSanta Rosa County LDC Ch. 1 definitions, Ch. 2 zoning-use table, Ch. 4 Sec. 4.02.00(L) design standards and Ch. 5 Sec. 5.07.00(9) conditional-use standards for 'Solar Electrical Generation Facility' -- these provisions exist but were not fully read for a residential accessory-system size cap; the LDC section text itself was not opened past the search-result snippets
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC (carried forward at reduced confidence, not verified as a standalone Milton or Santa Rosa County clause). 55% · code (floating adoption) + cross-authority baseline inference
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- floating reference, not a fixed year frozen in the text. 82% · code (county Florida Building Code adoption)
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code (current edition; the City's own page does not print an edition number). Statewide floor is the 8th Edition (2023). 55% · department page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes. Santa Rosa County Sec. 5-27, 'Local administrative amendments to Florida Building Code,' rewrites the entire Chapter 1 (Scope and Administration) of the FBC -- e.g. it creates the 'Santa Rosa County Inspection Department' and 'building official' (Sec. 103.1), sets local permit-exemption thresholds, and adds county-specific definitions ('Board of Appeals', 'Santa Rosa County Inspection Department', etc.). This is the County's amendment, since the County -- not the City -- is the building-code administrator here; no separate Milton-specific electrical/building amendment was found because Milton has no building code chapter of its own. 90% · code (local administrative amendment)
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? For Tier 2/3 systems, a warning sign at the manual AC disconnect noting its location and warning that both sides may be energized. For any battery storage installation, a placard permanently affixed to the meter enclosure. No AHJ-specific (city or county) placard requirement beyond FPL's was found. 75% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Yes, for the battery placard: FPL specifies the exact wording 'Battery storage utilized in this facility.' For the disconnect-switch sign, FPL requires 'a warning sign indicating that both sides of the switch may be energized' and a sign 'noting the location of the disconnect switch' but does not print exact wording for that one. 80% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Not specified by FPL (no letter height, color or material given for either the disconnect sign or the battery placard) and no city/county placard-materials spec was found. 60% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Yes -- FPL's disconnect-sign and battery-placard requirements exist independent of, and in addition to, whatever the AHJ (Santa Rosa County) requires. I could not confirm whether Santa Rosa County itself layers on any additional placard requirement of its own. 70% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Where must the labels be placed? Disconnect sign: at/near the manual disconnect switch itself, which must be mounted separate from but adjacent to the FPL meter. Battery placard: permanently affixed to the meter enclosure. 80% · utility guidelines (first-party)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Tier 1 (<=10 kW AC) systems need NO AC disconnect at all under FPL's tariff/guidelines. Tier 2 and Tier 3 systems require a manual, visible, load-break-type disconnect switch mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket, lockable in the open position with a single FPL padlock. 88% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Inverters must be a utility-interactive type certified for automatic grid isolation; battery storage must carry NRTL certification to the current UL 1741 standard (or be DC-coupled behind a UL 1741-listed device). 75% · utility guidelines (first-party)
- Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Yes, batteries are permitted under FPL's published policy, subject to conditions that vary by whether the battery is integrated with a renewable system, used purely for backup, or continuously grid-interconnected on its own. Integrated-with-PV batteries may not export power to the grid; backup-only batteries need no interconnection agreement; stand-alone grid-charging batteries require notice/application and are not net-metered. 78% · utility guidelines (first-party)
20 questions answered against City of Milton’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC (carried forward at reduced confidence, not verified as a standalone Milton or Santa Rosa County clause).
Why the confidence is not higherNeither Milton's UDC nor Santa Rosa County's Chapter 5 codifies a standalone electrical-code section naming an NEC year; both incorporate the Florida Building Code 'as adopted by the Florida Building Commission, as amended from time to time' as a floating reference (County Sec. 5-26, Ord. 2024-08). Per this baseline's own cross-authority evidence (70+ Florida runs), the NEC edition riding inside the current FBC 8th Edition (2023) cycle is 2020, effective 31 Dec 2023. This is a floor-level inference from the adopting mechanism, not a document that states '2020 NEC' for this county by name -- flagged accordingly.
code (floating adoption) + cross-authority baseline inference checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) -- floating reference, not a fixed year frozen in the text.
Why the confidence is not higherSanta Rosa County Sec. 5-26 (Ord. No. 2024-08, adopted 4-11-2024): 'The Florida Building Code, as adopted by the Florida Building Commission, as amended from time to time, is hereby adopted in its entirety by reference.' Milton's own UDC Sec. 1.4 independently incorporates 'the most recent edition of the Florida Building Code as adopted by Santa Rosa County' by reference, so the City's base tracks the County's floating adoption. Current statewide edition per the Florida Building Commission is the 8th Edition (2023).
code (county Florida Building Code adoption) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code (current edition; the City's own page does not print an edition number). Statewide floor is the 8th Edition (2023).
Why the confidence is not higherMilton Fire Department's own Inspections page states 'The department currently enforces the Florida Fire Prevention Code' without citing an edition year; the 8th Ed. (2023) figure is carried forward from this survey's baseline (state floor), not independently confirmed against a dated Milton or Santa Rosa County fire-code document in this run.
department page checked 2026-09-13 https://www.miltonfl.org/178/Inspections-Forms-Permits
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes. Santa Rosa County Sec. 5-27, 'Local administrative amendments to Florida Building Code,' rewrites the entire Chapter 1 (Scope and Administration) of the FBC -- e.g. it creates the 'Santa Rosa County Inspection Department' and 'building official' (Sec. 103.1), sets local permit-exemption thresholds, and adds county-specific definitions ('Board of Appeals', 'Santa Rosa County Inspection Department', etc.). This is the County's amendment, since the County -- not the City -- is the building-code administrator here; no separate Milton-specific electrical/building amendment was found because Milton has no building code chapter of its own.
Why the confidence is not higherFull text of Sec. 5-27 read directly; it is dozens of pages of administrative amendments to FBC Chapter 1, quoted in the jurisdiction/answers above.
code (local administrative amendment) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 adoption (Sec. 5-26/5-27) -- installation is judged against the floating Florida Building Code (incl. FBC Residential/Building and, via reference, NEC), but no separate 'installation judged against X' sentence specific to solar/PV was found
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 amendments (Sec. 5-27) skimmed for a service-upgrade/busbar rule; none found in the portion read
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q34; no mounting-system/attachment-spacing rule found
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty LDC and FBC amendments; no ridge-setback/fire-pathway rule specific to PV was found (this is normally a Fire Prevention Code provision, and Milton's fire-code edition itself could not be pinned to a dated document -- see Q31)
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFPL guidelines (which cite NEC Article 690 generally but do not name 'rapid shutdown' or NEC 690.12 specifically) and County FBC amendments; rapid-shutdown requirement not independently confirmed for this authority
https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
For Tier 2/3 systems, a warning sign at the manual AC disconnect noting its location and warning that both sides may be energized. For any battery storage installation, a placard permanently affixed to the meter enclosure. No AHJ-specific (city or county) placard requirement beyond FPL's was found.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines (the utility, not the AHJ) -- confirmed identical on both the mainland and /northwest/ FPL pages for this run. County/City-specific placard requirements were searched for but not found in the time available (see not_found).
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes, for the battery placard: FPL specifies the exact wording 'Battery storage utilized in this facility.' For the disconnect-switch sign, FPL requires 'a warning sign indicating that both sides of the switch may be energized' and a sign 'noting the location of the disconnect switch' but does not print exact wording for that one.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines, Key Guidelines and Battery Systems sections, verbatim.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Not specified by FPL (no letter height, color or material given for either the disconnect sign or the battery placard) and no city/county placard-materials spec was found.
Why the confidence is not higherAbsence read directly in FPL's guidelines document, which is otherwise detailed on placement and wording; no separate FPL Electric Service Standards document (the more technical document that in other Florida counties carries dimensional specs) was checked in this run.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFPL guidelines read in full; no site-plan/facility-map placard requirement was stated (this is more often an AHJ inspection-checklist item, which was not located for the County)
https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Yes -- FPL's disconnect-sign and battery-placard requirements exist independent of, and in addition to, whatever the AHJ (Santa Rosa County) requires. I could not confirm whether Santa Rosa County itself layers on any additional placard requirement of its own.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's guidelines are the utility's own published document, self-evidently separate from any AHJ requirement; a county-level placard spec was searched for (Ch. 5 Florida Building Code adoption and amendments) and not found, recorded honestly under not_found rather than assumed absent.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Disconnect sign: at/near the manual disconnect switch itself, which must be mounted separate from but adjacent to the FPL meter. Battery placard: permanently affixed to the meter enclosure.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines, verbatim.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Inverters must be a utility-interactive type certified for automatic grid isolation; battery storage must carry NRTL certification to the current UL 1741 standard (or be DC-coupled behind a UL 1741-listed device).
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines, Key Guidelines and Battery Systems sections; this is the utility's interconnection requirement, not confirmed as also an AHJ (county) equipment-listing requirement.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Yes, batteries are permitted under FPL's published policy, subject to conditions that vary by whether the battery is integrated with a renewable system, used purely for backup, or continuously grid-interconnected on its own. Integrated-with-PV batteries may not export power to the grid; backup-only batteries need no interconnection agreement; stand-alone grid-charging batteries require notice/application and are not net-metered.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines, 'Battery systems for personal use' section, read in full.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFPL guidelines read in full for a separate ESS permit/inspection requirement distinct from the interconnection application; none stated beyond the Small Generator Interconnection Application/Agreement route for stand-alone grid-charging batteries
https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty LDC Ch. 4/5 solar provisions (search snippets only, not opened in full) for a ground-mount-as-structure clause
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Tier 1 (<=10 kW AC) systems need NO AC disconnect at all under FPL's tariff/guidelines. Tier 2 and Tier 3 systems require a manual, visible, load-break-type disconnect switch mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the FPL meter socket, lockable in the open position with a single FPL padlock.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines Key Guidelines section, verbatim, confirmed identically on both the mainland fpl.com page and the /northwest/ regional page for this run.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? No -- the City of Milton does not perform any final solar/building/electrical inspection. Santa Rosa County's Inspection Department (Building Official) performs it, since the county holds the building/electrical permit. 85% · code (county Florida Building Code adoption)
- If delegated, to whom? Delegated to Santa Rosa County's Inspection Department / Building Official for building and electrical. For fire life-safety review, the City's own Florida Life Safety Code Officer reviews plans, but Milton's UDC Sec. 3.2(D) expressly limits that officer's review to 'site plans and construction plans and specifications, OTHER THAN single-family residential' -- so a single-family rooftop PV job does not appear to route to the City's fire/life-safety reviewer at all. 80% · Unified Development Code (city ordinance)
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Milton on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? The customer/installer, not the AHJ. FPL requires the customer to supply a copy of the approved permit (or a screenshot from the local authority's portal showing electrical/mechanical inspection sign-off) before FPL will install the bi-directional meter and allow operation. 70% · utility guidelines (first-party)
14 questions answered against City of Milton’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty Obtain-a-Permit page (MGO portal) -- inspection-scheduling mechanics not opened
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q49
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q49
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
No -- the City of Milton does not perform any final solar/building/electrical inspection. Santa Rosa County's Inspection Department (Building Official) performs it, since the county holds the building/electrical permit.
Why the confidence is not higherSanta Rosa County FBC Sec. 103.1 creates 'the Santa Rosa County Inspection Department' with 'the official in charge... known as the building official'; Sec. 104.4 gives the building official inspection authority. Milton's own UDC Table 3.2.1 assigns 'Building permit' to the county for every category, and nothing in Milton's code establishes a parallel city building inspector.
code (county Florida Building Code adoption) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Delegated to Santa Rosa County's Inspection Department / Building Official for building and electrical. For fire life-safety review, the City's own Florida Life Safety Code Officer reviews plans, but Milton's UDC Sec. 3.2(D) expressly limits that officer's review to 'site plans and construction plans and specifications, OTHER THAN single-family residential' -- so a single-family rooftop PV job does not appear to route to the City's fire/life-safety reviewer at all.
Why the confidence is not higherUDC Sec. 3.2(D)(1)-(2), read in full, explicitly carves single-family residential out of the Florida Life Safety Code Officer's plan-review duty.
Unified Development Code (city ordinance) checked 2026-09-13 https://library.municode.com/fl/milton/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIICOOR_PTIIIUNDECO_ART3COADEN_3.2DUVAINBOAGADUNDECO
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 (Sec. 104.4 Inspections) states the building official 'shall make all of the required inspections' generically; no solar-specific inspection sequence (rough-in vs. final, etc.) was found
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 -- no published inspection checklist or explicit label/listing-verification clause was located for the county
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty site (Permitting & Building Compliance, Obtain-a-Permit, Forms-Documents pages) -- no published solar-specific inspection checklist PDF was located or opened in the time available; this remains open rather than proved absent
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 amendments; no explicit 'documents on site at inspection' clause located in the portion read
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty fee schedule page (title only, not opened) -- re-inspection fee not confirmed
https://www.santarosa.fl.gov/1116/Development-Services-Fee-Schedule
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 amendments; general 'notices and orders' clause (Sec. 104.3) exists but no specific correction/re-inspection clearance procedure was read in full
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCounty FBC Ch.1 definitions include 'Certificate of Occupancy' and 'Certificate of Completion' generically (Sec. 102.9) but no solar-specific 'what is issued on pass' statement was found
https://library.municode.com/fl/santa_rosa_county/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=COCO_CH5BUBURE
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The customer/installer, not the AHJ. FPL requires the customer to supply a copy of the approved permit (or a screenshot from the local authority's portal showing electrical/mechanical inspection sign-off) before FPL will install the bi-directional meter and allow operation.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL's own Net Metering Guidelines state the customer must 'provide a copy of the approved permit or a screen print from the local authority's website' after construction is complete, and that pre-meter operation is 'strictly prohibited' -- placing the notification burden on the customer/installer by omission of any city/county-initiated notification duty. No Milton or Santa Rosa County ordinance imposing a PTO-notification duty on the AHJ itself (of the kind seen at Lynn Haven or Callaway in this survey) was found.
utility guidelines (first-party) checked 2026-09-13 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
City of Milton writes its own placard wording. A standard NEC label set will not satisfy it — the exact text, and in most cases the size, colour and font, are specified below.
Wording 80%
Yes, for the battery placard: FPL specifies the exact wording 'Battery storage utilized in this facility.' For the disconnect-switch sign, FPL requires 'a warning sign indicating that both sides of the switch may be energized' and a sign 'noting the location of the disconnect switch' but does not print exact wording for that one.
Size, colour & material 60%
Not specified by FPL (no letter height, color or material given for either the disconnect sign or the battery placard) and no city/county placard-materials spec was found.
Where they go 80%
Disconnect sign: at/near the manual disconnect switch itself, which must be mounted separate from but adjacent to the FPL meter. Battery placard: permanently affixed to the meter enclosure.
What the utility wants on top 70%
Yes -- FPL's disconnect-sign and battery-placard requirements exist independent of, and in addition to, whatever the AHJ (Santa Rosa County) requires. I could not confirm whether Santa Rosa County itself layers on any additional placard requirement of its own.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.