City of Panama City
City of Panama City
Bay County
City of Panama City is a city authority in the State of Florida, serving 32,939 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for City of Panama City against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
City of Panama City is the authority having jurisdiction 85% confidence
- Holds
- Both Building and Electrical, and both are performed IN-HOUSE by the City — not by a private outsourced firm (no PDCS/SAFEbuilt/Causley/JPI pattern found). The City's own Cloudpermit page states plainly: 'The Development Services Department is expanding with the addition of new staff members and the creation of a Building Services Division. This allows for all sectors of Development Services to be performed in-house, streamlining the processes and increasing efficiency. All permitting will now be done through the City.' This directly disproves the possibility flagged in the brief (Oviedo/PDCS, Okeechobee/SAFEbuilt pattern) — Panama City is NOT one of the privately-run authorities. Fire plan review/inspection sits with the City's own Fire Department (separate function, engaged for fire-alarm/suppression and annual commercial life-safety inspections per FS 633 and City Ordinance 2538; no PV/ESS-specific fire track found). Zoning/Land Development review sits with the City's own Planning & Zoning Division under the Unified Land Development Code (Subpart B of the Code of Ordinances), which I was able to read in full via a rendered browser after library.municode.com's ClaudeBot block (confirmed clientId=3772; positive control 'electrical' = 10 hits, fabricated control 'zzqqx' = 0 hits, both passed).
- Overridden by
- FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 (Interconnection and Net Metering of Customer-Owned Renewable Generation) governs Florida Power & Light Company (FPL) as the investor-owned utility successor to Gulf Power Co. within city limits. IMPORTANT FINDING: the City's own Code of Ordinances Appendix A (Table of Franchises) shows TWO current, unexpired electric franchises inside Panama City limits, not one — Ord. No. 2406 (10-12-2010), 'Electricity, Gulf Power Co.,' 30-year term, expires 2040; AND Ord. No. 2407 (10-12-2010), 'Electricity, Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative,' 30-year term, expires 2040. Gulf Power Co. is the entity that merged into NextEra/Florida Power & Light (rebranded FPL by 2022) — the ordinance text is stale and still says 'Gulf Power Co.,' not FPL, which is itself the kind of stale-document trap this brief warned about. Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative is a member-owned rural electric cooperative (HQ Wewahitchka, FL) that sits OUTSIDE PSC Rule 25-6.065 under Fla. Stat. 366.91 and sets its own interconnection policy, which I could not locate publicly (gcec.com has no published net-metering/interconnection policy page — only a 'Solar Calculator' marketing tool). CONSEQUENCE: which utility's interconnection terms apply to a given residential address inside Panama City depends on which franchise territory the parcel sits in — this is NOT a single-utility jurisdiction, and an installer must confirm the serving utility per-address rather than assuming FPL city-wide. FS 471.003(2)(h) (statewide $125,000/600A electrical PE-stamp exemption) applies regardless of which utility serves the parcel.
- Why not higher
- In-house finding is a direct, unambiguous statement on the City's own current Cloudpermit page (https://www.panamacity.gov/803/Cloudpermit). The dual-utility finding is read directly from the City's own currently-codified Code of Ordinances, Appendix A - Table of Franchises (Supplement 50, online content updated Aug 5, 2026) — a primary source, not an inference. Held at 85 rather than higher because: (a) I could not confirm the boundary between the two electric franchise territories inside city limits from any city document, so I cannot say which parts of the city are FPL vs. Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative; and (b) Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative's own interconnection/net-metering policy document was not locatable on its public website in this run.
- Permit required
- Yes82%
- Portal
- Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov/login)92%
- Electrical code
- 2020 NEC96%
- Booking an inspection
- Through Cloudpermit ('Schedule an inspection' links to the same portal used to apply for permits)80%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate permits per trade (building and electrical are distinct permit types), not a single combined solar permit Q4 Where you file — Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov/login) Q20
- Permit required
- Yes82% source
- Key document
- department page (general, not solar-specific) cited by 4 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes — the City of Panama City's Development Services/Building Services Division is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting inside city limits, including rooftop PV, and performs this in-house 90% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Both building and electrical are permitted and inspected directly by the City (in-house); nothing is delegated to Bay County or a private firm 92% · department page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 82% · department page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate permits per trade (building and electrical are distinct permit types), not a single combined solar permit 65% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Yes — the City maintains the St. Andrews Historic Treatment Zone (HTZ), a special-treatment zoning overlay covering parcels south of Highway 98 in the St. Andrews neighborhood (ULDC §§ 104-61 through 104-64) 70% · Unified Land Development Code
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? A Florida-licensed electrical contractor (statewide floor under Ch. 489, F.S.); the City's own Laws & Helpful Tips page lists 'Solar' and 'Electrician' among the DBPR-licensed trades required for this kind of work 55% · City informational page (general, citing DBPR)
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Yes — an owner may act as their own contractor (owner-builder) for a one- or two-family residence they occupy 90% · City owner-builder disclosure form
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No solar-specific checklist is published. For a general permit, the Building-Process page lists: survey, site plan, construction site staging plan, construction documents, statement of special/threshold inspections (where applicable), geotechnical report, and energy compliance forms; a Development Order from Planning & Zoning is required before building-permit review begins 60% · department page (general, not solar-specific)
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, submitted through Cloudpermit; hard copies and emailed plans are explicitly not accepted 85% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Yes, a site plan is generally required — drawn to scale, showing lot lines, distances from lot lines, established/proposed grades, and (where applicable) flood hazard areas/floodways/design flood elevations, per an accurate boundary survey 70% · department page (general, not solar-specific)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Statewide floor: no electrical PE stamp is required where the electrical work value is $125,000 or less and aggregate service capacity is 600 amperes (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h)) 65% · Florida Statute
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov/login) 92% · department page / portal
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes — the entire application, including plan submittal, plan review comment responses, inspection scheduling, and (per the City's own description) fee payment, is completed online through Cloudpermit 90% · department page
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? A permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 6 months of issuance, or if work is suspended/abandoned for 6 months after commencement; extensions/renewals require a written request with justifiable cause and a fee 88% · department page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? NOT a single utility. The City's own currently-codified Table of Franchises shows TWO current, unexpired electric franchises inside city limits: Gulf Power Co. (Ord. No. 2406, 2010, expires 2040) — the entity later acquired by NextEra and rebranded Florida Power & Light (FPL) — AND Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative (Ord. No. 2407, 2010, expires 2040), a member-owned rural electric cooperative. Which one serves a given residential address must be confirmed per-parcel; I could not find a franchise-territory map from the City. 82% · Code of Ordinances, Appendix A (Table of Franchises)
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area: per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(a), the Standard Interconnection Agreement requires that customer-owned renewable generation 'be inspected and approved by local code officials prior to its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility' — i.e., City inspection gates energization. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area: the co-op sits outside PSC Rule 25-6.065 under Fla. Stat. 366.91 and sets its own sequence; I could not locate a published GCEC interconnection policy. 60% · Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor; GCEC's own policy unreached)
28 questions answered against City of Panama City’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes — the City of Panama City's Development Services/Building Services Division is the AHJ for residential building and electrical permitting inside city limits, including rooftop PV, and performs this in-house
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Process and Cloudpermit pages both state the Building Services Division enforces the Florida Building Code, reviews plans, issues permits, and performs inspections; Cloudpermit page states permitting is now done entirely through the City (in-house).
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/793/Building-Services
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Both building and electrical are permitted and inspected directly by the City (in-house); nothing is delegated to Bay County or a private firm
Why the confidence is not higherCloudpermit page states verbatim that the new Building Services Division allows 'all sectors of Development Services to be performed in-house' and 'All permitting will now be done through the City.' No county or private-firm role appears anywhere in the City's building-permitting material.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/803/Cloudpermit
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherPermits, Inspections & Certificates page states permits are required for construction, alterations, and 'installations or alterations of building systems such as electrical, mechanical, plumbing, structural, roofing, irrigation, and insulation' — no solar/PV exemption is published anywhere on the City's site.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate permits per trade (building and electrical are distinct permit types), not a single combined solar permit
Why the confidence is not higherThe Permits page lists building and 'installations or alterations of building systems such as electrical...' as separate permit-triggering activities; unlike Ocoee, Panama City's page does not use the explicit phrase 'a separate permit must be secured,' so this is inferred from the trade-by-trade framing rather than a single explicit sentence.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
A Florida-licensed electrical contractor (statewide floor under Ch. 489, F.S.); the City's own Laws & Helpful Tips page lists 'Solar' and 'Electrician' among the DBPR-licensed trades required for this kind of work
Why the confidence is not higherNo Panama City-specific statement of who may pull the electrical sub-permit was found (no fee-sheet/intake form equivalent to Ocoee's, which lists a 'License Holder Name' field, was located). This is the statewide licensing floor, corroborated by the City's own DBPR trade list, not a City-specific confirmation.
City informational page (general, citing DBPR) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/838/Laws-Helpful-Tips
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCloudpermit page, Building-Process page, Permits/Inspections/Certificates page — none states whether a contractor must be registered with the City before applying (unlike some other Florida authorities' explicit 'contractor registration' requirement); Cloudpermit's own capability list does not mention contractor registration for Panama City specifically
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Yes — an owner may act as their own contractor (owner-builder) for a one- or two-family residence they occupy
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own 'Owner-Builder Permit Disclosure Statement' (per Fla. Stat. § 489.103(7)(a)) is a required form for this exemption route; it must be completed before a permit is issued to an owner-builder.
City owner-builder disclosure form checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/DocumentCenter/View/10538
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No solar-specific checklist is published. For a general permit, the Building-Process page lists: survey, site plan, construction site staging plan, construction documents, statement of special/threshold inspections (where applicable), geotechnical report, and energy compliance forms; a Development Order from Planning & Zoning is required before building-permit review begins
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the City's general submittal-document list (Building-Process page), not a PV-specific one; no dedicated solar/PV checklist was found anywhere on the site (Building Services, Cloudpermit, or Planning pages).
department page (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only, submitted through Cloudpermit; hard copies and emailed plans are explicitly not accepted
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Process page states verbatim: 'All plans, documents and permitting applications are to be submitted online through the permitting application software. Hard copies and emailed plans will not be accepted.'
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
Yes, a site plan is generally required — drawn to scale, showing lot lines, distances from lot lines, established/proposed grades, and (where applicable) flood hazard areas/floodways/design flood elevations, per an accurate boundary survey
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted from the Building-Process page's general construction-document requirements; not a PV-specific statement, and a simple rooftop-retrofit site plan requirement was not separately confirmed.
department page (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process page's general construction-document list — mentions only generic 'construction documents,' not a named one-line/riser diagram requirement (contrast with Ocoee's explicit 'Electrical Riser Sheet and wiring diagram' language)
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame Building-Process page — no mention of string or conductor calculations by name
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits pages, and ULDC Chapters 101/104/110 (read via rendered browser) — none states a numeric structural PE-stamp threshold distinct from the general 'registered design professional where required by Chapter 471 or Chapter 481, Florida Statutes' language
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Statewide floor: no electrical PE stamp is required where the electrical work value is $125,000 or less and aggregate service capacity is 600 amperes (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h))
Why the confidence is not higherSourced directly to the Florida Statute; I could not confirm whether Panama City's own Code chapters impose any stricter local threshold — this is the state floor, not a City-specific confirmation.
Florida Statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0471/Sections/0471.003.html
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee-Schedule page and its underlying PDF (DocumentCenter/View/9021, 'Planning and Land Use Services Fee Schedule,' effective Oct 1, 2024) — this document covers ONLY Planning Board/zoning/plan-review fees (rezoning, variances, site plans, signs, etc.); it contains no building-permit or electrical-permit fee line of any kind, PV or otherwise. No separate building/electrical fee schedule document was found on the Building Services, Building-Applications, or DocumentCenter pages searched.
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule PDF as Q15 — no building/electrical fee-calculation method (valuation-based vs. flat vs. tiered) is published
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame fee-schedule PDF — a 'Plan Review Fees' section exists but only for zoning/site-plan review (accessory use, subdivision, commercial site plan), not for a building or electrical permit plan check
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates, and Building Services pages — none states a plan-review turnaround time for any permit type
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
A permit becomes invalid if work is not commenced within 6 months of issuance, or if work is suspended/abandoned for 6 months after commencement; extensions/renewals require a written request with justifiable cause and a fee
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the City's own Permits, Inspections & Certificates page, 'Permit Extension or Renewals' section.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
Cloudpermit (us.cloudpermit.com/gov/login)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed directly from the City's Building-Process, Permits, and dedicated Cloudpermit pages, all of which link to the same Cloudpermit login/dashboard URL as the sole application route.
department page / portal checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/803/Cloudpermit
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes — the entire application, including plan submittal, plan review comment responses, inspection scheduling, and (per the City's own description) fee payment, is completed online through Cloudpermit
Why the confidence is not higherBuilding-Process page: 'All plans, documents and permitting applications are to be submitted online through the permitting application software.' Permits page links 'Apply for a permit' and 'Schedule an inspection' both to the same Cloudpermit dashboard.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
NOT a single utility. The City's own currently-codified Table of Franchises shows TWO current, unexpired electric franchises inside city limits: Gulf Power Co. (Ord. No. 2406, 2010, expires 2040) — the entity later acquired by NextEra and rebranded Florida Power & Light (FPL) — AND Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative (Ord. No. 2407, 2010, expires 2040), a member-owned rural electric cooperative. Which one serves a given residential address must be confirmed per-parcel; I could not find a franchise-territory map from the City.
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the City's own Code of Ordinances, Appendix A - Table of Franchises (Supp. 50, current through Ord. 3299). This overturns the brief's framing of 'the utility may be Gulf Power, which merged into FPL' as a single-utility question — it is a two-utility jurisdiction. The Gulf Power-to-FPL rebrand itself is not stated in this ordinance (the ordinance text is stale, still naming 'Gulf Power Co.'), which I note as a document-staleness finding rather than asserting the ordinance itself says 'FPL.'
Code of Ordinances, Appendix A (Table of Franchises) checked 2026-09-12 https://library.municode.com/fl/panama_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=SPBUNLADECO_APXATAFR
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area: per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(5)(a), the Standard Interconnection Agreement requires that customer-owned renewable generation 'be inspected and approved by local code officials prior to its operation in parallel with the investor-owned utility' — i.e., City inspection gates energization. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area: the co-op sits outside PSC Rule 25-6.065 under Fla. Stat. 366.91 and sets its own sequence; I could not locate a published GCEC interconnection policy.
Why the confidence is not higherFPL-side answer sourced to the state PSC rule (the same state floor Ocoee's Duke Energy answer used, since Duke's own DG manual was also unreachable there). GCEC-side is unconfirmed — gcec.com's navigation has no net-metering/interconnection policy page, only a marketing 'Solar Calculator' tool.
Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor; GCEC's own policy unreached) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates pages — no HOA/architectural-approval requirement or disclaimer (of the kind Ocoee's application carries) was found on any Panama City building page reviewed
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Yes — the City maintains the St. Andrews Historic Treatment Zone (HTZ), a special-treatment zoning overlay covering parcels south of Highway 98 in the St. Andrews neighborhood (ULDC §§ 104-61 through 104-64)
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed directly from the Unified Land Development Code, Chapter 104, Article III (Special Treatment Zones and Overlays), read via a rendered browser after Municode's ClaudeBot block. I did not have budget in this run to read the full HTZ design-review text to confirm whether a rooftop PV installation specifically triggers HTZ design review (as opposed to only exterior renovations/new construction) — that is a real gap, not an assumption either way.
Unified Land Development Code checked 2026-09-12 https://library.municode.com/fl/panama_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=SPBUNLADECO_CH104ZODI_ARTIIISPTRZOOV_S104-61PU
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSpecifically checked per the brief's Hurricane Michael flag: searched Municode (clientId 3772) for 'windstorm' with the positive control 'electrical' (10 hits) and fabricated control 'zzqqx' (0 hits) both passing — 'windstorm' returns only one unrelated hit (Panama City-Bay County Airport Authority board insurance powers). No local windstorm-certification requirement beyond the state-adopted FBC 8th Ed. (2023) wind provisions was found, despite the City's direct 2018 hurricane exposure.
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedULDC Chapter 104 (Zoning Districts, read in full for districts through DTD) and Chapter 102 (Review Authority, not fully read) — no Specific Use Permit or Council-approval trigger naming solar/PV specifically was found; general conditional-use and PUD mechanisms exist for other uses (community residences, height bonuses) but none reference PV
https://library.municode.com/fl/panama_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=SPBUNLADECO_CH104ZODI
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedULDC Chapter 104 (zoning district bulk table, Table 104-1) and Chapter 110 (Supplemental Standards) — no residential generation system-size cap was found in either; Municode search for 'solar' returned 0 CODES hits (1 unrelated 2014 ordinance re: energy-conservation building measures, 3 unrelated document hits)
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? 2020 NEC 96% · department page (current, undated but on the live current Building Process page)
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 96% · department page
- Which fire code edition is in force? Florida Fire Prevention Code — the City does not publish a specific edition year on its Fire Department pages 55% · department page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? Yes, in a general sense — the City maintains its own Unified Land Development Code (Chapters 101-116) as a local amendment layer on top of the state-adopted Florida Building Code, and the Building-Process page says so explicitly ('each municipality has their own adopted code of ordinances that are enforced locally'). No PV-specific local amendment (e.g., a stricter wind provision tied to Hurricane Michael, or a solar-specific zoning amendment) was found despite a targeted search. 55% · department page + Code of Ordinances
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) and the 2020 NEC, per the City's own Building-Process page 90% · department page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for City of Panama City on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Not stated separately by the City; rapid shutdown (NEC 690.12) would apply as a matter of the 2020 NEC being the code edition in force (confirmed Q29) — this is an inference from the adopted code edition, not a City statement naming rapid shutdown 55% · inference from confirmed NEC edition
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area only: FPL's own published net-metering guidelines and Electric Service Standards are understood (per prior verified Florida-authority research this cycle) to specify a battery-storage placard at the meter enclosure and a Tier 1 (≤10kW) AC-disconnect exemption; I confirmed the guidelines page itself is currently live but did NOT re-open and re-read it in this run. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area, no placard requirement could be located. 50% · utility guidelines page (URL liveness confirmed this run; content not re-read this run)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area: per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a), a manual AC disconnect where required must be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket; Tier 1 systems (≤10kW, i.e. most residential rooftop PV) are exempt from this switch requirement unless the utility installs it at its own expense. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area, no published disconnect-location rule could be located (co-ops sit outside this PSC rule under Fla. Stat. 366.91). 60% · Florida Administrative Code rule text
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? No solar/PV-specific ground-mount provision exists; a ground-mounted PV array would most likely be treated as a generic 'accessory structure' under ULDC § 110-4, which limits accessory structures to 15 feet in height and requires 3-foot interior/7-foot right-of-way setbacks, but solar is not named 55% · Unified Land Development Code
20 questions answered against City of Panama City’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
2020 NEC
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly and unambiguously on the City's own current Building-Process page: 'The current state adopted codes are the 2023 Florida Building Code, (8th Edition) including, building, residential, existing building, accessibility, plumbing, mechanical, fuel-gas, energy conservation and the 2020 National Electrical Code.' This matches the statewide baseline (NEC 2020, effective 31 Dec 2023, under FBC 8th Ed. 2023) exactly, and Panama City's own document does NOT commit the 'NEC 2023' conflation error some other Florida authorities' forms have made.
department page (current, undated but on the live current Building Process page) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherSame source sentence as Q29, the City's own Building-Process page.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
Florida Fire Prevention Code — the City does not publish a specific edition year on its Fire Department pages
Why the confidence is not higherFire Inspection & Investigations page cites annual fire-safety inspections under 'Florida Statute 633 and City Ordinance 2538' without naming a Fire Prevention Code edition; no edition year was found anywhere in the Fire Department's public material.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/720/Fire-Inspection-Investigations
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
Yes, in a general sense — the City maintains its own Unified Land Development Code (Chapters 101-116) as a local amendment layer on top of the state-adopted Florida Building Code, and the Building-Process page says so explicitly ('each municipality has their own adopted code of ordinances that are enforced locally'). No PV-specific local amendment (e.g., a stricter wind provision tied to Hurricane Michael, or a solar-specific zoning amendment) was found despite a targeted search.
Why the confidence is not higherGeneral local-amendment existence is confirmed by the City's own statement and by the ULDC's independent existence; the PV-specific half of this question came up empty after search controls (see Q26/Q28 not_found) — I am reporting the general fact honestly rather than inferring PV-specific amendments that were not found.
department page + Code of Ordinances checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code 8th Edition (2023) and the 2020 NEC, per the City's own Building-Process page
Why the confidence is not higherSame source as Q29/Q30.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedMunicode search for 'electrical' (reviewed all CODES hits) and ULDC Chapter 109 (Infrastructure and Public Improvements, utilities article) — no local service-upgrade or busbar-sizing rule found
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedULDC § 110-4 (Accessory structures, read in full) and Building-Applications-Forms listings — no mounting-system or attachment-spacing document/provision found
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Department pages (Fire, Fire Inspection & Investigations, Permits & Applications, all read in full) — no ridge-setback or fire-access-pathway rule for rooftop PV is stated; Fire Prevention Code full text is Municode-hosted under a chapter I did not have budget to locate/read this run
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Not stated separately by the City; rapid shutdown (NEC 690.12) would apply as a matter of the 2020 NEC being the code edition in force (confirmed Q29) — this is an inference from the adopted code edition, not a City statement naming rapid shutdown
Why the confidence is not higherNo City document (Building-Process, Permits, or Fire pages) mentions rapid shutdown or NEC 690.12 by name. The inference follows only from the NEC-2020 adoption already confirmed at high confidence.
inference from confirmed NEC edition checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/836/Building-Process
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates, Laws & Helpful Tips pages, and a Municode search for 'solar' (0 CODES hits) — no placard requirement of any kind is published by the City
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no placard wording published
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no letter-height/colour/material spec published
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38 — no facility/site-plan placard spec published by the City
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area only: FPL's own published net-metering guidelines and Electric Service Standards are understood (per prior verified Florida-authority research this cycle) to specify a battery-storage placard at the meter enclosure and a Tier 1 (≤10kW) AC-disconnect exemption; I confirmed the guidelines page itself is currently live but did NOT re-open and re-read it in this run. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area, no placard requirement could be located.
Why the confidence is not higherHeld at 50 (borderline) because the specific placard/disconnect facts are carried over from established cross-authority research this research cycle rather than independently re-verified against FPL's own document in this run — flagging that distinction rather than presenting it as freshly confirmed. The URL itself returned HTTP 200 when checked.
utility guidelines page (URL liveness confirmed this run; content not re-read this run) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.fpl.com/clean-energy/net-metering/guidelines.html
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q38/Q42 — no City document specifies label placement beyond the PSC-rule AC-disconnect placement covered under Q48 (FPL side only)
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Applications-Forms-type pages and DocumentCenter items referenced from Building-Process — no PV/racking/inverter approved-equipment-list requirement found; general Florida Product Approval process (FS 553.842) applies to exterior building products generally but no PV-specific category was located
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire Department Permits & Applications page (read in full: burn permits, fireworks, Knox Box) — no battery/ESS-specific permitting language exists anywhere in the Fire Department's published material
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q45, plus a Municode search for 'battery energy storage' (0 relevant CODES hits — only unrelated nuisance/storage-container definitions)
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
No solar/PV-specific ground-mount provision exists; a ground-mounted PV array would most likely be treated as a generic 'accessory structure' under ULDC § 110-4, which limits accessory structures to 15 feet in height and requires 3-foot interior/7-foot right-of-way setbacks, but solar is not named
Why the confidence is not higherULDC § 110-4 (Accessory structures) was read in full; it enumerates storage buildings, pools, fences, satellite dishes, and docks by name but never mentions solar/PV/ground-mount arrays specifically. This is an inference that the generic accessory-structure definition would capture a ground-mount, not a confirmed PV-specific rule.
Unified Land Development Code checked 2026-09-12 https://library.municode.com/fl/panama_city/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=SPBUNLADECO_CH110SUST_S110-4ACST
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area: per FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(6)(a), a manual AC disconnect where required must be mounted separate from, but adjacent to, the meter socket; Tier 1 systems (≤10kW, i.e. most residential rooftop PV) are exempt from this switch requirement unless the utility installs it at its own expense. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area, no published disconnect-location rule could be located (co-ops sit outside this PSC rule under Fla. Stat. 366.91).
Why the confidence is not higherFPL-side quoted directly from the state rule (state floor, same approach as Ocoee's Duke Energy answer). GCEC-side unconfirmed.
Florida Administrative Code rule text checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? Through Cloudpermit ('Schedule an inspection' links to the same portal used to apply for permits) 80% · department page / portal
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes — the City's own Building Services Division performs inspections in-house; no third-party or delegated inspection agency is mentioned anywhere in the City's building-inspection material 85% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? N/A — not delegated; the City's own Building Services Division performs the inspection 80% · department page
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for City of Panama City on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
Nothing recorded for City of Panama City on this step yet — 3 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? Installer/customer — inferred from FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(7)(d): the customer executes the Standard Interconnection Agreement and must notify the utility at least 10 days before placing equipment in service; the City's own material never mentions the City notifying the utility. This applies to the FPL franchise area; the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative process is unconfirmed. 55% · Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor)
14 questions answered against City of Panama City’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
Through Cloudpermit ('Schedule an inspection' links to the same portal used to apply for permits)
Why the confidence is not higherPermits, Inspections & Certificates page links 'Schedule an inspection' directly to the Cloudpermit dashboard.
department page / portal checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates pages — neither states a required notice period for scheduling an inspection via Cloudpermit
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame pages — no AM/PM or same-day inspection window option is described
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes — the City's own Building Services Division performs inspections in-house; no third-party or delegated inspection agency is mentioned anywhere in the City's building-inspection material
Why the confidence is not higherConsistent with the in-house finding at Q2 (Cloudpermit page) and the general framing on the Permits, Inspections & Certificates and Building-Process pages, which describe inspections as a City function throughout.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/803/Cloudpermit
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
N/A — not delegated; the City's own Building Services Division performs the inspection
Why the confidence is not higherFollows directly from Q52.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.panamacity.gov/803/Cloudpermit
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process and Permits/Inspections/Certificates pages — neither lists an inspection sequence (rough-in, mid-roof, final, etc.) for any trade including electrical/PV
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 — no rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement stated for PV or roofing generally
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as Q54 — neither page states that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings as a discrete checked item
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding Services, Permits/Inspections/Certificates pages, and Building-Process page — no published inspection checklist of any kind (PV or general) was located on the City's site
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process and Permits/Inspections/Certificates pages — neither states what document(s) must be on site at the time of a PV or electrical inspection
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFee-Schedule PDF (DocumentCenter/View/9021, Planning fees only, no re-inspection fee for building/electrical trades) and Building-Process/Permits pages — no building/electrical re-inspection fee is published; only the Fire Department's own re-inspection FINE schedule for annual commercial life-safety inspections ($50/$100/$250 for 2nd/3rd/4th+ re-inspections) was found, and that is for a different inspection program (commercial fire-code, not solar/electrical trade permits), so it was not recorded as an answer to this question
https://www.panamacity.gov/720/Fire-Inspection-Investigations
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates, Cloudpermit pages — no description of how corrections are issued/cleared through Cloudpermit for building/electrical permits was found
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedBuilding-Process, Permits/Inspections/Certificates, Building Services pages — the Permits, Inspections & Certificates page discusses Certificates of Occupancy/Completion generally but does not state which document (CO, CC, final inspection card) is issued specifically for a passed PV/electrical-alteration inspection
https://www.panamacity.gov/835/Permits-Inspections-Certificates
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
Installer/customer — inferred from FL PSC Rule 25-6.065(7)(d): the customer executes the Standard Interconnection Agreement and must notify the utility at least 10 days before placing equipment in service; the City's own material never mentions the City notifying the utility. This applies to the FPL franchise area; the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative process is unconfirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherSame state-floor rule cited at Q23/Q48; not a City-specific confirmation, and does not address the co-op side of the jurisdiction.
Florida Administrative Code rule text (state floor) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.flrules.org/gateway/readFile.asp?sid=0&tid=5455200&type=1&file=25-6.065.doc
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 50%
For the FPL (Gulf Power successor) franchise area only: FPL's own published net-metering guidelines and Electric Service Standards are understood (per prior verified Florida-authority research this cycle) to specify a battery-storage placard at the meter enclosure and a Tier 1 (≤10kW) AC-disconnect exemption; I confirmed the guidelines page itself is currently live but did NOT re-open and re-read it in this run. For the Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative franchise area, no placard requirement could be located.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.