Duval County
Duval County
State of Florida
Duval County is the 6th largest jurisdiction in Florida — 995,567 residents. This page is the permit route for that jurisdiction: the fifteen steps from working out who has a say over an address through to permission to operate, the documents this authority publishes, and 62 answers taken from those documents and dated.
Jurisdiction & key facts
The standing 62-question set, answered for Duval County against this authority’s own published documents. Every answer carries the confidence it was recorded at and the document it came from. Where nothing is published we say so and show where we looked — a blank here is a finding, not a gap.
Duval County is the authority having jurisdiction 90% confidence
- Holds
- Building and Electrical, held directly by the City of Jacksonville's Public Works Department — Building Inspection Division — for essentially all of Duval County, EXCEPT the four municipalities that opted to stay independent at the 1968 city-county consolidation: Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, Jacksonville Beach, and the Town of Baldwin. Each of those four runs its own separate building department, its own zoning code, and its own permit fee schedule, entirely outside the City of Jacksonville's Building Inspection Division, despite sitting inside Duval County's boundary. Fire-code-triggered review is a separate function of the Jacksonville Fire and Rescue Department (Fire Prevention Division / Fire Marshal), engaged before building-permit issuance for work requiring a Fire Permit; the City's own Fire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page does not address residential rooftop PV or battery/ESS specifically. Zoning sits with the City's Planning Department (Chapter 656, Zoning Code); a ground-mounted PV system would fall under the general 'accessory use/structure' rules of Sec. 656.403, since no PV-specific zoning provision was found. Florida's statewide FS 553.791 also lets a property owner substitute a licensed private provider for the City's own plan review and/or inspection; the City is statutorily required to accept that provider's results, but floodplain, planning, environmental, and fire review cannot be delegated this way.
- Overridden by
- JEA (Jacksonville Electric Authority), a MUNICIPALLY-OWNED electric utility serving Duval County, sits in the interconnection sequence strictly after the City's own building/electrical inspection. This is a real correction to the Florida baseline given for this brief: FL PSC Rule 25-6.065 (interconnection/net metering) does NOT govern JEA the way it governs an investor-owned utility (as it did for Duke Energy Florida in the Ocoee run) — Rule 25-6.065 applies to Florida investor-owned electric utilities, and only its subsection (10) reporting requirement extends to municipal utilities. JEA instead operates under Fla. Stat. §366.91 (which independently requires municipal utilities to publish their own standardized interconnection/net-metering program) and its own 'JEA Distributed Generation Policy,' with its own qualification thresholds, application process (PowerClerk), and equipment requirements. Separately, FS 471.003(2)(h) exempts a licensed electrical contractor from a PE-stamp requirement, statewide, for electrical work valued at $125,000 or less with aggregate service capacity of 600 amperes (240V) or less on a residential system, regardless of any city default.
- Why not higher
- Confirmed the brief's named department is correct and current: jacksonville.gov's own Codes, FAQs, Residential Permits, and Checklists pages all show the Building Inspection Division sitting under Public Works and administering both building and electrical permitting/inspection directly, through one shared portal (JaxEPICS) for both trades. Jacksonville and Duval County consolidated into one government in 1968 — confirmed on the City's own Checklists, Forms and Documents page footer, which reads '© 2026 Official City of Jacksonville and Duval County Government Website.' That consolidation dissolves the usual county-vs-city jurisdiction question (there is no separate 'Duval County building department' to check against), but it also means the four municipalities that opted OUT of the 1968 consolidation are NOT covered by COJ's Building Inspection Division at all, despite lying inside Duval County's boundary. That is the finding this brief asked for: 'Duval County' as an authority label really means 'the City of Jacksonville, consolidated, minus four carve-out municipalities' — not a county layer sitting under or beside a separate city one. Held below 95 because Chapter 320 of the City's Ordinance Code (cited repeatedly as '320.409' throughout the City's own fee schedule, the apparent local building-permit ordinance) was not independently reviewed for technical local amendments beyond fees, and JFRD's specific posture on battery/ESS review was not confirmed either way.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division
- Permit required
- Yes75%
- Permit cost
- No PV-specific fee line exists. A residential PV job is billed under the general Electrical and Building fee formulas: Electrical 'Residential Service Charge' (e.g., $80 for 0-100A,68%
- Plan review
- 25-30 business days for first review; resubmissions in about 10 business days or less80%
- Portal
- JaxEPICS, at https://jaxepics.coj.net/92%
- Electrical code
- NFPA 70 - 2020 National Electrical Code95%
- Booking an inspection
- By phone ((904) 255-8500, option 4, weekdays 7am-4pm) or online at https://buildinginspections.coj.net/85%
Permitting 5 steps · 28 questions
Whether a permit is needed — Yes Q3 Electrical and building permits — Separate Q4 Plan review — 25-30 business days for first review; resubmissions in about 10 business days or less Q18 Where you file — JaxEPICS, at https://jaxepics.coj.net/ Q20
- Permit required
- Yes75% source
- What it costs
- No PV-specific fee line exists. A residential PV job is billed under the general Electrical and Building fee formulas: Electrical 'Residential Service Charge' (e.g., $80 for 0-100A,68% source
- Plan review turnaround
- 25-30 business days for first review; resubmissions in about 10 business days or less80% source
- Key document
- department FAQ page cited by 5 open the document
-
Confirm who has a say over your address
A city address is usually permitted by the city, not the county — but not always, and some authorities keep building and hand electrical to someone else. Getting this wrong costs the whole submittal, because every requirement below belongs to whoever actually holds jurisdiction. Check the overlays in the same pass: an HOA, a historic district, a windstorm certification or a system-size cap can reshape the design, and all of them are cheaper to find now than after the array is laid out.
- Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Yes, for property within the consolidated City of Jacksonville — the Public Works Building Inspection Division holds building and electrical directly. It is NOT the AHJ for property inside Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, or the Town of Baldwin, which are inside Duval County geographically but kept their own building departments at the 1968 consolidation. 88% · department page
- What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? The City permits and inspects both building and electrical itself through the Building Inspection Division (Public Works); the Fire Prevention Division (JFRD) separately reviews any work requiring a Fire Permit. Nothing is delegated to a county department, because Duval County has no separate building department post-consolidation. Florida's statewide FS 553.791 lets an owner elect a licensed private provider in place of the City's own plan review/inspection (which the City must accept), but that is an owner election, not a jurisdictional delegation by the City. 80% · department forms page
- Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Yes 75% · department FAQ page
- Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Separate 85% · department page
- Is there a historic-district review? Likely yes for property inside a locally designated Historic District or Landmark: a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) is required for 'any work done to the exterior of a building,' which would functionally include roof-mounted solar; no solar-specific exemption or procedure is published. 60% · department FAQ page
- Is a wind or windstorm certification required? No separate windstorm certification appears to apply: Duval County sits outside Florida's High-Velocity Hurricane Zone (HVHZ is statutorily limited to Miami-Dade and Broward Counties), so standard statewide FBC wind-load design (per the ASCE 7 wind map) applies without an HVHZ-style additional certification. 50% · inference from statutory HVHZ scope; checked City's own checklist/forms inventory for any windstorm-specific document (none found)
- Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? No flat kW cap; the effective ceiling is utility interconnection capacity: JEA's Distributed Generation Policy requires a system's gross power rating not exceed 90% of the customer's utility distribution service rating (and it must fall in JEA's DG-1 tier, up to 2 MW) 75% · utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext)
-
Check who is allowed to apply
Several authorities require the electrical permit to be pulled by a licensed electrician, or require the contractor to be registered with them BEFORE applying. Registration is not same-day. This is second on the list rather than fourth because it is the step most likely to stop the job before the drawings matter.
- Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? A licensed/registered electrical contractor 78% · department FAQ page
- Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Yes 88% · department FAQ page
- Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Partially. A homeowner may pull the BUILDING permit in their own name on their owner-occupied, non-rental primary residence (Owner's Affidavit), but electrical work itself is stated to require a certified/licensed electrical contractor — the City's material gives no indication that self-permitting extends to the electrical trade specifically. 65% · department page
-
Build the submittal package
Almost everywhere wants a site plan, a one-line or three-line electrical diagram, equipment cut sheets with listings, and a structural attachment detail. Build it against the published checklist rather than the last jurisdiction you worked in — the checklist is what the reviewer marks against.
- What documents make up a complete submittal? No PV-specific submittal package is published. For a general residential permit the Residential Permits page lists: two complete sets of architectural plans; a site plan with scaled dimensions showing distances from property lines; three sets of energy calculations and Manual J for heated/cooled space; septic tank permit/re-certification if applicable; FEMA Elevation Certificate if in a flood zone; water/sewer capacity documentation or a JEA release; and proof of Homestead Exemption for existing structures. 48% · department page (general, not solar-specific)
- How many copies, and in what format? Electronic only, through JaxEPICS; all documents must be submitted in PDF format 85% · department page
- Is a site plan required, and what must it show? A site plan with scaled dimensions showing distances from property lines is required for general building permits; no PV-specific reduced version is published for a rooftop retrofit 52% · department page (general, not solar-specific)
- Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Statewide floor: no PE stamp required for electrical work performed by a licensed EC where the electrical system value is $125,000 or less AND aggregate service capacity is 600 amperes (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h)) 65% · Florida Statute
-
Apply and pay
Most authorities now take the whole application through a portal, and several states cap or constrain what a residential solar permit may cost. Check whether plan check is billed separately before you quote the job.
- Which permit portal does this authority use? JaxEPICS, at https://jaxepics.coj.net/ 92% · portal landing page
- Can the whole application be completed online? Yes 82% · department page
- What does a residential solar permit cost? No PV-specific fee line exists. A residential PV job is billed under the general Electrical and Building fee formulas: Electrical 'Residential Service Charge' (e.g., $80 for 0-100A, $100 for 101-150A/151-200A, +$20 per additional 50A) if a service alteration is involved, plus the Building alteration fee ($2.00 per $1,000 of construction cost) if any structural/roof work is permitted, plus a plan-review fee (67% of the BID permit fee or $90, whichever is greater) and an ~8-15% Development Services Fee. 68% · City fee schedule (city-fees page)
- How is the fee calculated? Mixed — ampere-tiered for the electrical service/alteration component, valuation-based (per $1,000 of construction cost) for the building/structural alteration component 72% · City fee schedule
- Is there a separate plan-check fee? Yes 80% · City fee schedule
-
Plan review — and start the utility in parallel
Interconnection is a separate process from the permit and usually the longer pole. Where the utility does not depend on the permit being issued, running both at once is the single biggest saving available on a residential job.
- What is the stated plan-review turnaround? 25-30 business days for first review; resubmissions in about 10 business days or less 80% · department FAQ page
- How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? 180 days from issuance 82% · department FAQ page
- Which utility handles interconnection here? JEA (Jacksonville Electric Authority) — a municipally-owned utility, not an investor-owned utility 90% · utility program page
- Where does the utility sit in the sequence? After the City's permit inspection, before energization: the customer's electrical contractor must notify the City's permit office; once the permit office inspects and approves the electrical work, it sends JEA an official notification, and 'JEA will not proceed until we receive that notification.' JEA then conducts its own interconnection inspection before installing the dual-register meter. 85% · utility program page
28 questions answered against Duval County’s own published documents
Q1 Is this authority the AHJ for residential solar at this address? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes, for property within the consolidated City of Jacksonville — the Public Works Building Inspection Division holds building and electrical directly. It is NOT the AHJ for property inside Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, or the Town of Baldwin, which are inside Duval County geographically but kept their own building departments at the 1968 consolidation.
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly evidenced by the City's own Codes, FAQs, and Residential Permits pages (all under /departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/), none of which mention any county-level department, plus independent confirmation that Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach, Jacksonville Beach and Baldwin operate separate building departments after the 1968 consolidation.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division
Q2 What does this authority permit itself, and what does it delegate? Core Jurisdiction & scope
The City permits and inspects both building and electrical itself through the Building Inspection Division (Public Works); the Fire Prevention Division (JFRD) separately reviews any work requiring a Fire Permit. Nothing is delegated to a county department, because Duval County has no separate building department post-consolidation. Florida's statewide FS 553.791 lets an owner elect a licensed private provider in place of the City's own plan review/inspection (which the City must accept), but that is an owner election, not a jurisdictional delegation by the City.
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the Codes/FAQs/Checklists pages (building+electrical both administered by BID) with the Fire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page (separate fire review) and the City's own Private Provider Forms and Documents section (Notice to Building Official / Plan Compliance Affidavit), which exist specifically to process FS 553.791 elections.
department forms page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/checklists,-forms-and-documents
Q3 Is a permit required for a residential rooftop PV system? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherNo solar/PV exemption was found anywhere in the City's material. The FAQ and Residential Permits pages both treat electrical work generically as requiring its own permit with no carve-out for renewable generation, and Contractor Registration is required before any permit application.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q4 Is there a separate electrical permit, or is it combined? Core Jurisdiction & scope
Separate
Why the confidence is not higherThe Residential Permits page states verbatim that 'Licensed or registered contractors hired by the owner to provide electrical, plumbing and mechanical...work, or other subcontracted work requiring a permit (roofing), must also obtain their own permits' associated to the homeowner's building permit — building and electrical are two distinct permits, and the City's own Checklists/Forms page lists 'Electrical Permit Forms and Documents' as a wholly separate category from 'Building Permit Forms and Affidavits.'
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/residential-permits
Q5 Who is allowed to pull the electrical permit? Core Who may apply
A licensed/registered electrical contractor
Why the confidence is not higherThe FAQ states electrical work 'must be done only by contractors and craftsmen certified in those trades and require separate permits'; the Residential Permits page repeats that licensed/registered contractors hired for electrical work must obtain their own permit. Not solar-specific, but no exception is published for PV.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q6 Must the contractor be registered with this authority before applying? Core Who may apply
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe FAQ states contractors must register by submitting a completed New Contractor Registration Form, Florida construction license, picture ID, and proof of workers' comp insurance or exemption, either in person or notarized, before permits can be pulled in their name.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q7 Is a homeowner permitted to self-install and self-permit? Who may apply
Partially. A homeowner may pull the BUILDING permit in their own name on their owner-occupied, non-rental primary residence (Owner's Affidavit), but electrical work itself is stated to require a certified/licensed electrical contractor — the City's material gives no indication that self-permitting extends to the electrical trade specifically.
Why the confidence is not higherResidential Permits page describes the owner-builder building-permit path; the FAQ separately and unconditionally states electrical work 'must be done only by contractors and craftsmen certified in those trades.' Neither document addresses solar/PV by name, so this is an inference combining two general statements.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/residential-permits
Q8 What documents make up a complete submittal? Core Submittal package
No PV-specific submittal package is published. For a general residential permit the Residential Permits page lists: two complete sets of architectural plans; a site plan with scaled dimensions showing distances from property lines; three sets of energy calculations and Manual J for heated/cooled space; septic tank permit/re-certification if applicable; FEMA Elevation Certificate if in a flood zone; water/sewer capacity documentation or a JEA release; and proof of Homestead Exemption for existing structures.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is the City's GENERAL residential submittal list; it does not mention solar, PV, or electrical-alteration-only submittals (a PV retrofit would not need most new-construction items like Manual J or septic re-cert). Treated as a general-framework inference, not a confirmed PV list.
department page (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/residential-permits
Q9 How many copies, and in what format? Submittal package
Electronic only, through JaxEPICS; all documents must be submitted in PDF format
Why the confidence is not higherThe Online Permit Submission page states plainly: 'Online (electronic) permit submission is now required for all permit types' and 'All documents submitted must be in PDF format.' Not PV-specific, but stated as a universal requirement for all permit types.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/online-permit-submission
Q10 Is a site plan required, and what must it show? Core Submittal package
A site plan with scaled dimensions showing distances from property lines is required for general building permits; no PV-specific reduced version is published for a rooftop retrofit
Why the confidence is not higherSourced from the Residential Permits page's general new-work submittal list; a simple existing-home rooftop PV retrofit would likely not need the full package, but the City publishes no PV-specific version.
department page (general, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/residential-permits
Q11 Is a one-line / three-line diagram required? Core Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecklists, Forms and Documents page (full inventory read: General Forms, Building Permit Forms and Affidavits, Electrical Permit Forms and Documents, Mechanical Permit Forms, four '1 & 2 Family' Checklists, Private Provider Forms) — no document requires or even mentions a one-line/three-line diagram; the New Building - 1 & 2 Family Checklist PDF was downloaded and text-extracted (pdftotext) and contains no electrical-diagram requirement (it is a new-construction structural/foundation checklist). Residential Permits page also silent.
Q12 Are string and conductor calculations required? Drawings & calculations
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame documents as q11 — no string or conductor calculation requirement is stated anywhere in the City's checklist/forms inventory or the Residential Permits page.
Q13 Is a structural PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Core Engineering & stamps
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCodes page and full Checklists/Forms inventory — no numeric structural PE-stamp threshold is stated by the City; Chapter 320 of the City's Ordinance Code (cited in the fee schedule as the source of building-permit fee provisions, and a plausible home for such a threshold) was not independently retrieved and reviewed for this run.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q14 Is an electrical PE stamp required, and at what threshold? Engineering & stamps
Statewide floor: no PE stamp required for electrical work performed by a licensed EC where the electrical system value is $125,000 or less AND aggregate service capacity is 600 amperes (240V) or less on a residential system (FS 471.003(2)(h))
Why the confidence is not higherCited directly from the Florida Legislature's own statute text, applicable statewide absent a stricter local threshold. Chapter 320 (Ordinance Code) — where a stricter Jacksonville-specific threshold might be codified — was not independently reviewed for this provision.
Florida Statute checked 2026-09-12 http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0400-0499/0471/Sections/0471.003.html
Q15 What does a residential solar permit cost? Core Fees
No PV-specific fee line exists. A residential PV job is billed under the general Electrical and Building fee formulas: Electrical 'Residential Service Charge' (e.g., $80 for 0-100A, $100 for 101-150A/151-200A, +$20 per additional 50A) if a service alteration is involved, plus the Building alteration fee ($2.00 per $1,000 of construction cost) if any structural/roof work is permitted, plus a plan-review fee (67% of the BID permit fee or $90, whichever is greater) and an ~8-15% Development Services Fee.
Why the confidence is not higherControls run in the same session on the City's own fee schedule page: 'electrical' = 5 hits (positive control passed), 'zzqqx' = 0 hits (fabricated control passed), and 'solar'/'photovoltaic' = 2/0 hits, both of which are 'Solar water heater' ($21, Plumbing) and 'Solar collector system' ($22, Mechanical) — confirming no dedicated PV fee line exists and a PV job is billed under general electrical/building formulas.
City fee schedule (city-fees page) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/finance/city-fees
Q16 How is the fee calculated? Core Fees
Mixed — ampere-tiered for the electrical service/alteration component, valuation-based (per $1,000 of construction cost) for the building/structural alteration component
Why the confidence is not higherBoth fee structures are read directly from the City's own fee schedule text: Electrical Permit Fees are tiered by ampere service size; Building 'Alterations, Tenant Build-Out, Converting Use' fee is $2.00 per $1,000 of cost.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/finance/city-fees
Q17 Is there a separate plan-check fee? Fees
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherThe fee schedule repeatedly states a 'Plan review fee' as a percentage of the BID permit fee (typically 67%) or a flat minimum, whichever is greater, charged in addition to the permit fee itself.
City fee schedule checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/finance/city-fees
Q18 What is the stated plan-review turnaround? Core Timeline & validity
25-30 business days for first review; resubmissions in about 10 business days or less
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly quoted from the FAQ: 'Due to the current volume of building permit submissions, please expect 25-30 business days for the first review of a building permit. Resubmissions are reviewed in about 10 business days or less.' Not solar-specific, and stated as a current-volume-driven figure rather than a fixed SLA.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q19 How long is an issued permit valid before it expires? Timeline & validity
180 days from issuance
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the FAQ page as the permit validity period.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q20 Which permit portal does this authority use? Core Portal & process
JaxEPICS, at https://jaxepics.coj.net/
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed directly from the Building Inspection Division page and repeated across the FAQ, Online Permit Submission, and Checklists pages as the single portal used for all permit types, both building and electrical.
portal landing page checked 2026-09-12 https://jaxepics.coj.net/
Q21 Can the whole application be completed online? Core Portal & process
Yes
Why the confidence is not higherOnline submission is mandatory for all permit types ('Online (electronic) permit submission is now required for all permit types'), and inspections can also be requested online via buildinginspections.coj.net — covering the application-through-inspection lifecycle end to end.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/online-permit-submission
Q22 Which utility handles interconnection here? Core Utility interconnection
JEA (Jacksonville Electric Authority) — a municipally-owned utility, not an investor-owned utility
Why the confidence is not higherConfirmed directly from JEA's own Distributed Generation / Solar Options pages, which describe JEA as the interconnecting utility for residential and commercial customer-owned renewable generation across its service territory (essentially all of Duval County). Per this brief's own warning, PowerToChoose was NOT used as a source.
utility program page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/environment/solar_options/distributed_generation/apply_for_distributed_generation/
Q23 Where does the utility sit in the sequence? Core Utility interconnection
After the City's permit inspection, before energization: the customer's electrical contractor must notify the City's permit office; once the permit office inspects and approves the electrical work, it sends JEA an official notification, and 'JEA will not proceed until we receive that notification.' JEA then conducts its own interconnection inspection before installing the dual-register meter.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from JEA's own 'Requirements After Installation' page. This differs from the Ocoee/Duke Energy (investor-owned) pattern: it is the City's PERMIT OFFICE, not the installer/customer directly, that notifies JEA — see also q62.
utility program page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/environment/solar_options/distributed_generation/requirements_after_installation/
Q24 Is a HOA or architectural approval required first? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedResidential Permits page and FAQ page (both read in full) — neither mentions HOA or architectural-review approval as a precondition or disclaimer; the City's actual Building Permit Application PDF (which might carry an Ocoee-style HOA disclaimer) was not located/downloaded during this run.
Q25 Is there a historic-district review? Overlays & special cases
Likely yes for property inside a locally designated Historic District or Landmark: a Certificate of Appropriateness (COA) is required for 'any work done to the exterior of a building,' which would functionally include roof-mounted solar; no solar-specific exemption or procedure is published.
Why the confidence is not higherThe City's own Historic Preservation FAQ states COAs are required for exterior work generally (siding, fencing, driveways, sheds) but does not name solar/PV specifically — held below the 'own document says it plainly' band because I had to infer that 'exterior work' extends to rooftop PV rather than finding it stated by name.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/planning-department/community-planning-division/historic-preservation-section/historic-preservation-faq
Q26 Is a wind or windstorm certification required? Overlays & special cases
No separate windstorm certification appears to apply: Duval County sits outside Florida's High-Velocity Hurricane Zone (HVHZ is statutorily limited to Miami-Dade and Broward Counties), so standard statewide FBC wind-load design (per the ASCE 7 wind map) applies without an HVHZ-style additional certification.
Why the confidence is not higherThis is inferred from the statutory scope of the HVHZ definition, not from a Jacksonville-specific document stating 'no windstorm certification is required.' No COJ page or form was found addressing this question directly either way.
inference from statutory HVHZ scope; checked City's own checklist/forms inventory for any windstorm-specific document (none found) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/checklists,-forms-and-documents
Q27 Is a Specific Use Permit or Council approval ever required? Overlays & special cases
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedZoning Code Sec. 656.403 (accessory uses/structures, read in full via elaws.us) and Zoning FAQ search results — no Specific Use Permit or Council-approval trigger for residential rooftop or ground-mount PV was found; the broader Chapter 656 text was not exhaustively searched for a solar-specific use category.
Q28 Is there a system-size cap on residential generation? Overlays & special cases
No flat kW cap; the effective ceiling is utility interconnection capacity: JEA's Distributed Generation Policy requires a system's gross power rating not exceed 90% of the customer's utility distribution service rating (and it must fall in JEA's DG-1 tier, up to 2 MW)
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from JEA's Distributed Generation Policy PDF (Qualifications section): '1. Does not exceed 90 percent of the customer's utility distribution service rating. 2. Falls into one of the following generation ranges: DG-1 - Less than or equal to 2 MW...' No separate zoning-code size cap was found for residential PV.
utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/Pdf/Download/12884923000
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Install 5 steps · 20 questions
-
Build to the code editions actually in force here
The NEC edition a jurisdiction enforces is often a cycle behind the newest one published, and local amendments sit on top of it. Rapid shutdown, conductor sizing and labelling all change between editions, so the edition in force is the first thing to establish, not the last.
- Which NEC edition is in force? NFPA 70 - 2020 National Electrical Code 95% · department codes page
- Which building code edition is in force? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023) 95% · department codes page
- Which fire code edition is in force? 2023 Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition 88% · department codes page
- Are there local amendments to any of the above? At least on fees and administrative provisions, yes: the City's own fee schedule repeatedly cites 'Section 320.409' (the Ordinance Code / Building chapter) as the basis for building, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permit fees, which is itself a local ordinance layered on top of the state-model codes. The extent of technical (non-fee) local amendments to the FBC/NEC text itself was not confirmed. 60% · City fee schedule (ordinance section citations)
- What is the installation judged against? Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023), and NFPA 70 - 2020 NEC 90% · department codes page
-
Fire access, setbacks and pathways
Ridge setbacks and roof access pathways are fire-service requirements and they constrain the array layout. They are the most common cause of a redesign after the fire department comments on a plan set.
Nothing recorded for Duval County on this step yet — 1 question checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Rapid shutdown
Which rapid-shutdown rule applies follows directly from the NEC edition in force, and the initiation device has to be at a location the fire service can reach and identify. This is inspected, and it is labelled.
- Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Yes, under NEC 2020 Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown of PV systems on buildings), which is the electrical code edition the City currently enforces 62% · inference from confirmed NEC edition; no city-specific rapid-shutdown document found
-
Labels and placards
The NEC sets a baseline for permanent markings at the service equipment and the disconnecting means. On top of that, an authority may specify its own wording, and the utility may specify more again. Where any of them writes its own text, a generic off-the-shelf label set will not pass — this is the detail most often fixed on a return visit.
- Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? For residential-scale systems (JEA's <50kW residential DG tier), no placard/label spec is published by JEA beyond the general policy text. JEA's Distributed Generation Policy only specifies an 'externally accessible, lockable a/c disconnect device located in close proximity to the meter location' for systems over 100 kW — a scale well above typical residential rooftop PV. 65% · utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext)
-
Disconnect, storage and listed equipment
Where the AC disconnect must sit relative to the meter is usually the utility's rule, not the building department's. Battery storage frequently carries its own permit, its own inspection and its own fire conditions.
- Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Not specified for typical residential (<50kW/<100kW) systems by either the City or JEA. JEA's Distributed Generation Policy only requires an externally accessible, lockable AC disconnect 'located in close proximity to the meter location' for systems over 100 kW — a commercial-scale threshold. Below that, placement would default to NEC 2020's general disconnecting-means requirements rather than a City- or JEA-specific location rule. 58% · utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext)
- Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Likely yes, as a general accessory structure — no PV-specific zoning provision exists, so a ground-mounted array would fall under Zoning Code Sec. 656.403 ('Accessory uses and structures'), which sets setback/height rules for any accessory structure not otherwise addressed (e.g., under 15 ft: rear/side yard only, minimum 5 ft from a lot line). 55% · zoning ordinance text (via elaws.us mirror; general accessory-use provision, not solar-specific)
20 questions answered against Duval County’s own published documents
Q29 Which NEC edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
NFPA 70 - 2020 National Electrical Code
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's own current Codes page as the enforced electrical code, alongside the current FBC 8th Edition (2023) cycle.
department codes page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q30 Which building code edition is in force? Core Code editions in force
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023)
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's own current Codes page, effective January 1, 2024.
department codes page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q31 Which fire code edition is in force? Code editions in force
2023 Florida Fire Prevention Code, 8th Edition
Why the confidence is not higherStated plainly on the City's own current Codes page. The separate Fire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page only references 'the current edition' without a year, so the Codes page is the more specific citation.
department codes page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q32 Are there local amendments to any of the above? Core Code editions in force
At least on fees and administrative provisions, yes: the City's own fee schedule repeatedly cites 'Section 320.409' (the Ordinance Code / Building chapter) as the basis for building, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permit fees, which is itself a local ordinance layered on top of the state-model codes. The extent of technical (non-fee) local amendments to the FBC/NEC text itself was not confirmed.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the fee schedule's repeated citation of a City ordinance section number governing permit fees; Chapter 320's substantive/technical amendment content was not independently reviewed.
City fee schedule (ordinance section citations) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/finance/city-fees
Q33 What is the installation judged against? Core Electrical
Florida Building Code, 8th Edition (2023), and NFPA 70 - 2020 NEC
Why the confidence is not higherCombines the two direct citations on the City's own current Codes page.
department codes page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q34 Is there a local rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing? Electrical
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedCity's own fee schedule (city-fees page, full text extracted and searched) — Electrical Permit Fees section lists only ampere-tiered service/service-charge fees, with no stated rule on service upgrades or busbar sizing beyond those tiers.
Q35 Is a specific mounting system or attachment spacing required? Structural & mounting
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecklists, Forms and Documents page (full inventory) and the four published '1 & 2 Family' checklists — none addresses a mounting system or attachment-spacing specification; no solar/PV-specific checklist exists at all.
Q36 What ridge setback and access pathways are required? Core Fire pathways & setbacks
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page, read in full directly from jacksonville.gov — covers means of egress, fire walls, fire department access and hydrant locations for commercial/life-safety review generally, but does not address ridge setback or PV access pathways for residential rooftop systems.
Q37 Is rapid shutdown required, and to which NEC edition? Core Rapid shutdown
Yes, under NEC 2020 Article 690.12 (rapid shutdown of PV systems on buildings), which is the electrical code edition the City currently enforces
Why the confidence is not higherThe requirement follows from the City's own confirmed adoption of NEC 2020 (see q29); no City-specific document was found separately restating or modifying the 690.12 requirement, so this is the national-code requirement under the confirmed local edition, not a locally-authored rule.
inference from confirmed NEC edition; no city-specific rapid-shutdown document found checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/Departments/public-works/Building-Inspection-Division/Codes
Q38 Which placards does this authority require at the service equipment? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull Checklists, Forms and Documents inventory (every listed item read by title) — no solar/PV placard document exists; Fire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page also silent on placards.
Q39 Does the authority specify placard wording of its own? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 — no placard wording is published anywhere on the City's site.
Q40 Does it specify letter height, colour or material? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 — no letter-height/colour/material spec published by the City.
Q41 Is a site plan / facility map placard required, and what must it show? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q38 — no facility/site-plan placard spec published by the City.
Q42 Does the UTILITY specify placards beyond the AHJ's? Core Labels Signage & labelling
For residential-scale systems (JEA's <50kW residential DG tier), no placard/label spec is published by JEA beyond the general policy text. JEA's Distributed Generation Policy only specifies an 'externally accessible, lockable a/c disconnect device located in close proximity to the meter location' for systems over 100 kW — a scale well above typical residential rooftop PV.
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the JEA Distributed Generation Policy PDF's 'Additional Requirements for Systems over 100 kW' section; the policy's residential-tier description (Application section) contains no placard or disconnect-location language at all.
utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/Pdf/Download/12884923000
Q43 Where must the labels be placed? Core Labels Signage & labelling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedJEA Distributed Generation Policy PDF (fully extracted with pdftotext) — the only label/disconnect placement language applies to systems over 100 kW ('close proximity to the meter location'), a scale above typical residential rooftop PV; no residential-scale label-placement spec was found from either the City or JEA.
Q44 Must equipment be on a specific approved list? Equipment listing
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedChecklists/Forms inventory and Codes page — no equipment-approved-list requirement (state or city) was found beyond the generic statewide Florida Product Approval system referenced implicitly via FBC adoption; no PV-specific equipment list exists.
Q45 Are batteries permitted, and under what conditions? Core Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFire and Rescue Plan Review Procedures page (read in full) and full Checklists/Forms inventory — neither addresses batteries or ESS by name or condition.
Q46 Is there a separate ESS permit or inspection? Battery / ESS
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q45 — no separate ESS permit or inspection type is named anywhere in the City's published material.
Q47 Is a ground mount treated as a structure? Core Ground mount
Likely yes, as a general accessory structure — no PV-specific zoning provision exists, so a ground-mounted array would fall under Zoning Code Sec. 656.403 ('Accessory uses and structures'), which sets setback/height rules for any accessory structure not otherwise addressed (e.g., under 15 ft: rear/side yard only, minimum 5 ft from a lot line).
Why the confidence is not higherRead directly from the current text of Jacksonville Zoning Code Sec. 656.403, retrieved via an elaws.us mirror since library.municode.com disallows automated retrieval; the section makes no mention of solar or PV by name, so this is an inference that the general accessory-structure category would apply to a ground mount, not a confirmed PV-specific rule.
zoning ordinance text (via elaws.us mirror; general accessory-use provision, not solar-specific) checked 2026-09-12 http://jacksonville.elaws.us/code/coor_zose_ch656_pt4_subptb_sec656.403
Q48 Where must the AC disconnect be, relative to the meter? Core Utility equipment
Not specified for typical residential (<50kW/<100kW) systems by either the City or JEA. JEA's Distributed Generation Policy only requires an externally accessible, lockable AC disconnect 'located in close proximity to the meter location' for systems over 100 kW — a commercial-scale threshold. Below that, placement would default to NEC 2020's general disconnecting-means requirements rather than a City- or JEA-specific location rule.
Why the confidence is not higherSame JEA Distributed Generation Policy PDF section as q42/q28; no City of Jacksonville document was found specifying AC-disconnect placement for any system size.
utility policy document (PDF, extracted with pdftotext) checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/Pdf/Download/12884923000
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
Inspection 5 steps · 14 questions
-
Book it
Booking is a portal, a phone call or an email depending on the authority, and the notice required is rarely zero. Book before the work is finished rather than after — the lead time, not the work, is usually what sets the date.
- How is an inspection booked? By phone ((904) 255-8500, option 4, weekdays 7am-4pm) or online at https://buildinginspections.coj.net/ 85% · department page
-
Know who turns up
Some authorities inspect their own solar work; some delegate it, and a few do not inspect the PV equipment itself at all. Who is coming determines what they will look at.
- Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Yes, by the City's own Building Inspection Division field inspectors — unless the owner has elected a licensed private provider under FS 553.791, whose results the City is statutorily required to accept in lieu of its own inspection 72% · department page
- If delegated, to whom? Not delegated by the City by default. On the owner's own election, a Florida-licensed private provider under FS 553.791 may substitute for the City's plan review and/or inspection (the City must accept qualifying results); floodplain, planning, environmental, and fire review may NOT be handled this way. 68% · department forms page + statewide statute
-
Work the stages in order
A rough-in or mid-roof inspection, where one is required, has to happen before the work it covers is closed up. Missing a stage means opening something back up, and it is the most expensive kind of correction.
Nothing recorded for Duval County on this step yet — 2 questions checked and found unpublished. The guidance above is general.
-
Have the paperwork on site
The approved plan set, the permit, and the equipment listings should be on site and reachable. Inspectors routinely verify that installed equipment matches what was approved, and that the labels are the ones the plan set promised.
- What must be on site at inspection? The complete set of legible, approved permit documents in a weatherproof container, plus the posted permit and the filed Notice of Commencement (NOC) — a copy of the filed NOC must also be submitted to the Building Inspection Division before requesting inspections 82% · department FAQ page
-
Sign-off, and permission to operate
Passing gives you a final or an equivalent sign-off. That is not the same as permission to operate: PTO comes from the utility, and who tells the utility the inspection passed varies. A system left switched off for weeks is usually waiting on this handover.
- What is issued on pass? A Certificate of Occupancy or Certificate of Completion 62% · department page
- Who notifies the utility for PTO? The City's own permit office — not the installer directly. JEA states: 'Confirm that your electric contractor has notified the appropriate permit office for your system to be inspected. After the electric work is inspected and approved, the permit office will send JEA an official notification. JEA will not proceed until we receive that notification.' 85% · utility program page
- Is there a re-inspection fee? $45 85% · department page
14 questions answered against Duval County’s own published documents
Q49 How is an inspection booked? Core Booking & scheduling
By phone ((904) 255-8500, option 4, weekdays 7am-4pm) or online at https://buildinginspections.coj.net/
Why the confidence is not higherDirectly stated on the City's own Inspections page.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q50 How much notice is required? Core Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page (read in full) — states how to request an inspection (phone/online) but does not state any required advance-notice period.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q51 Are same-day or AM/PM windows offered? Booking & scheduling
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q50 — no AM/PM or same-day scheduling window is described anywhere on the Inspections page.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q52 Does this AHJ perform its own final solar inspection? Core Who inspects
Yes, by the City's own Building Inspection Division field inspectors — unless the owner has elected a licensed private provider under FS 553.791, whose results the City is statutorily required to accept in lieu of its own inspection
Why the confidence is not higherThe Inspections and Checklists pages describe City staff performing inspections via 'hand held mobile units' and list a dedicated 'Private Provider Forms and Documents' section (Notice to Building Official, Plan Compliance Affidavit) implementing the statewide FS 553.791 alternative — meaning the City's own inspection is the default, not the only possible route.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q53 If delegated, to whom? Core Who inspects
Not delegated by the City by default. On the owner's own election, a Florida-licensed private provider under FS 553.791 may substitute for the City's plan review and/or inspection (the City must accept qualifying results); floodplain, planning, environmental, and fire review may NOT be handled this way.
Why the confidence is not higherInferred from the City's Private Provider Forms and Documents (Notice to Building Official, Plan Compliance Affidavit, Standard Operating Private Provider Audit Procedures) combined with the statewide scope/limits of FS 553.791; this is an owner election available statewide, not a City-initiated delegation.
department forms page + statewide statute checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/checklists,-forms-and-documents
Q54 Which inspections are required, and in what order? Core Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections page — references 'a matrix of typical required inspections by project type' but the specific sequence/dependency detail for electrical or PV work was not extractable from the fetched page content.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q55 Is a rough-in or mid-roof inspection required? Stages & sequence
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedSame as q54 — no rough-in/mid-roof inspection requirement is stated for PV or roofing generally in the material reviewed.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q56 Does the inspector verify labels and listings? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedInspections and FAQ pages — neither states that the inspector verifies equipment labels/listings as a discrete checked item.
https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q57 Is there a published inspection checklist? Core What is checked
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedFull Checklists, Forms and Documents inventory — the only published checklists are Aluminum Enclosure, New Building (1&2 Family), Swimming Pool/SPA, and Tubular Steel Structures; none is a general or PV-specific inspection checklist.
Q58 What must be on site at inspection? Core Documents on site
The complete set of legible, approved permit documents in a weatherproof container, plus the posted permit and the filed Notice of Commencement (NOC) — a copy of the filed NOC must also be submitted to the Building Inspection Division before requesting inspections
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from the FAQ and Inspections pages; general requirement, not PV-specific.
department FAQ page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/faqs
Q59 Is there a re-inspection fee? Corrections & re-inspection
$45
Why the confidence is not higherStated directly on the Inspections page: 'If you fail an inspection, a $45 reinspection fee must be paid at the Building Inspection Division. All fees must be paid prior to the request for a final inspection.' City-wide, not PV-specific.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q60 How are corrections issued and cleared? Corrections & re-inspection
Nothing published by this authority.
Where we lookedOnline Permit Submission and FAQ pages — Online Permit Submission mentions a resubmission review timeframe (~10 business days) implying a portal-based correction cycle, but neither page describes how corrections are actually issued to the applicant or how they are marked cleared.
Q61 What is issued on pass? Core Final sign-off & PTO
A Certificate of Occupancy or Certificate of Completion
Why the confidence is not higherThe Inspections page references a 'Certificate of Occupancy or Completion' on passing final inspection but does not detail which applies to an electrical-alteration-only job like a PV retrofit, nor the issuance mechanics.
department page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jacksonville.gov/departments/public-works/building-inspection-division/inspections
Q62 Who notifies the utility for PTO? Core Final sign-off & PTO
The City's own permit office — not the installer directly. JEA states: 'Confirm that your electric contractor has notified the appropriate permit office for your system to be inspected. After the electric work is inspected and approved, the permit office will send JEA an official notification. JEA will not proceed until we receive that notification.'
Why the confidence is not higherQuoted directly from JEA's own 'Requirements After Installation' page. This is a notable difference from the Ocoee/Duke Energy Florida pattern (where the customer/installer notifies the utility directly under the PSC's Standard Interconnection Agreement) — for JEA territory the AHJ's permit office is the one that pings the utility, since JEA sits outside PSC Rule 25-6.065's main jurisdiction.
utility program page checked 2026-09-12 https://www.jea.com/environment/solar_options/distributed_generation/requirements_after_installation/
Lines marked with a percentage were read off this authority’s own published documents. Unmarked guidance is general good practice, not this jurisdiction’s rule — always confirm against the authority before you submit.
No change record for this authority yet. Values arrive here as they are researched, and each one is dated.
Labels & placards for this authority
Wording None%
Size, colour & material None%
Where they go None%
What the utility wants on top 65%
For residential-scale systems (JEA's <50kW residential DG tier), no placard/label spec is published by JEA beyond the general policy text. JEA's Distributed Generation Policy only specifies an 'externally accessible, lockable a/c disconnect device located in close proximity to the meter location' for systems over 100 kW — a scale well above typical residential rooftop PV.
Each figure above is sourced and dated in the full answer set below (questions 38–43). Where an authority’s own published sheet is older than the code it has adopted, the answer says so.
Their website
Solar Requirements
Average approval time — application to PTO
From the CPUC interconnection record. Bars show the average days taken each year; a year with no recorded projects is left blank rather than drawn as zero.